View Full Version : Ireland squad vs Holland
theworm2345
08/08/2006, 4:07 PM
Murphy, Connolly, Long, Hunt, and Byrne all deserve to be there over Lee, Dixon, and Alan O'Brien, they're all on hot form right now, theres no question in my mind there with those 5 > the the other 3
I got a bad feeling that Sweden was all luck, Chile was real, and Bobby Robson is too old to help out Stan, who might maybe be the one who finally lets Cyprus beat Ireland. Perhaps we should bring back Brian Kerr :o
colster
08/08/2006, 4:11 PM
Yet chose to cap Byrne?
Stan is nothing but a token capping tosser like his predecessor. He brings an out of form Byrne into the squad, caps him, he sets up two chances and is one of our best players when he plays. He then goes back to his club and hits the form of his life. He's then left out, and in his place are proven utter no marks (Lee) or players lucky to be in reserve teams (Dixon).
It's typical of the joke set up and attitudes within the Irish camp. How can he justify leaving him out and including these players? Why did he cap him in the first place?
The more things change the more they stay the same. It's a joke.
As far as I see it, he gave Byrne a chance and wasn't impressed. Lee is a different type of player. He's a better target man. Something that we may need and someone to take a look at. He was injured for the last squad. Before that he had a very good spell with Ipswich. As for Dixon, Staunton is obviously impressed with him and made a judgement call. Thats his perogative. The non selection of Byrne is hardly going to damage our prospects of qualifying. If Byrne wasn't playing in EL there would be no fuss what so ever.
It strikes me as far as the EL is concerned any Irish manager is damned if he does and damned if he doesn't.
08/08/2006, 4:22 PM
As far as I see it, he gave Byrne a chance and wasn't impressed. Lee is a different type of player. He's a better target man. Something that we may need and someone to take a look at. He was injured for the last squad. Before that he had a very good spell with Ipswich. As for Dixon, Staunton is obviously impressed with him and made a judgement call. Thats his perogative. The non selection of Byrne is hardly going to damage our prospects of qualifying. If Byrne wasn't playing in EL there would be no fuss what so ever.
It strikes me as far as the EL is concerned any Irish manager is damned if he does and damned if he doesn't.
He 'wasn't impressed'? How? If he wasn't impressed in training, why did he cap him? If he wasn't impressed by what he saw when he did cap him, he's an idiot.
Alan Lee isn't a better anything than Jason Byrne.
As for Dixon, why is he in the squads? He wont play any part in this team for years if at all. What's the point in having youth squads if you're going to put people like him in the senior panel?
The non selection of Byrne wont damage our qualifying prospects, but it shows Staunton is as big a patronising token gestureing clown as the last manager. Not that it matters a jot to anyone, but this team can forget about having my support for it ever again. It's just a fecking insult to one of our own to treat him like this. He never had an intention to do anything other than cap him in one friendly and discard him, he could be an Irish Ronaldinho or an even worse version of Gary Doherty, Staunton just wanted to get his little token gesture out of the way and move onto the 'real' players like Dixon, Lee and O'Brien. That's an insult. If he didn't want to view him as a proper squad member, just leave him out entirely (I'd disagree with his judgement in doing so, but that would be about it), don't treat him like some kind of special case who you will then ignore when the proper matches come around in favour of some utter no marks having done him the favour of granting him a cap in a friendly when you'd no intention of ever judging him on his own merits.
Roverstillidie
08/08/2006, 4:24 PM
a farce of a squad from a farce of a management team.
08/08/2006, 4:28 PM
They're all valid points but so what if he's giving him a few token gesture caps? One things for sure, Byrne wouldn't say no to a cap in a friendly as much as the next Irishman. Fenlon said Byrne was as high as a kite when he came back from the Poland friendly and that was certainly a token gesture.
If you felt Byrne was good enough for the squad than argue that point but I don't see anything wrong with capping a player if he's in the squad. I haven't been impressed with Byrne in Europe and I don't think he's up to international standards.
My guess is, as you say, Stan called Byrne up to please the Eircom league fans after the stick other managers of senior and underage Ireland teams have took. He can't win really.
08/08/2006, 4:32 PM
Luckily we've a load of international class proven players like Dixon and Lee to step in though...
Believe it or not, people don't like being treated like idiots just because they play in the EL, if you don't believe me just ask Jason Byrne what he thinks of Brian Kerr. He was probably high as a kite as he didn't think that'd be the last time he ever got near a squad under Kerr, he certainly is no fan of our former manager, that's for sure. Why not hand out token gesture caps? Because it's a f*cking insult, that's why not.
colster
08/08/2006, 4:35 PM
How so?
08/08/2006, 4:39 PM
Luckily we've a load of international class proven players like Dixon and Lee to step in though...
Believe it or not, people don't like being treated like idiots just because they play in the EL, if you don't believe me just ask Jason Byrne what he thinks of Brian Kerr. He was probably high as a kite as he didn't think that'd be the last time he ever got near a squad under Kerr, he certainly is no fan of our former manager, that's for sure. Why not hand out token gesture caps? Because it's a f*cking insult, that's why not.
Whether Jason Byrne got that cap against Chile or not, Shels fans would still be reacting like this to the squad. The "token gesture" thing is just a bit more ammo. The probably reason Stan gave him the cap against Chile was so he didn't come across as someone who ignores the Eircom League because he seen the stick Kerr and Givens got. He doesn't think Jason Byrne is good enough, end of story. Again, forget the Chile cap, you'd still be moaning if he had never been called up at all under Stan.
colster
08/08/2006, 4:43 PM
Staunton gave him a few minutes. Kerr brought him on for the last 30 seconds. Still Staunton can't win. Staunton is looking for a target man. Byrne is not a target man. Lee is. He wants to give Lee a shot.
As for Dixon and O'Brien well Staunton has said he wants to familiarise young players with the Ireland squad. I think he's right. These guys are the future. Byrne if he is going to do anything with Ireland should be doing it now.
Roverstillidie
08/08/2006, 4:46 PM
Staunton gave him a few minutes. Kerr brought him on for the last 30 seconds. Still Staunton can't win. Staunton is looking for a target man. Byrne is not a target man. Lee is. He wants to give Lee a shot.
As for Dixon and O'Brien well Staunton has said he wants to familiarise young players with the Ireland squad. I think he's right. These guys are the future. Byrne if he is going to do anything with Ireland should be doing it now.
so why bother with an underage set up if we are going to blood 16 year olds at senior level?
08/08/2006, 4:47 PM
Whether Jason Byrne got that cap against Chile or not, Shels fans would still be reacting like this to the squad. The "token gesture" thing is just a bit more ammo. The probably reason Stan gave him the cap against Chile was so he didn't come across as someone who ignores the Eircom League because he seen the stick Kerr and Givens got. He doesn't think Jason Byrne is good enough, end of story. Again, forget the Chile cap, you'd still be moaning if he had never been called up since that Poland game.
I'd be questioning his judgement, yes, as Byrne is better than some who are ahead of him. But I wouldn't be so disullusioned by yet another clown in charge were it not for his token gestureing. It's patronising and an insult by someone typically ignorant of his own domestic league.
If he gave him a cap as a PR exercise, and well there's no if about it, he's a tool. I wish nothing but failure on him, how dare he use one of our own leagues top players and treat him as nothing but a PR tool to be thrown away right after? This is Byrnes reward for turning down moves to Brighton and Djurgardens where Staunton would probably be begging him to be in this squad just by virtue of the fact he plays for one of those teams. I hope there's an injury crisis up front before one of our games and Byrne tells him to go f*ck himself (after he's finished scouring the English lower league U12 sides for potential internationals of course).
If he simply doesn't think Byrne is good enough, say so, and don't cap him in the first place. He is of course wrong however, when 'good enough' consists of a proven failure and someone who is barely considered a reserve player in England. However, that would be his judgement.
Instead, embarassing the player by calling him up, have him come on in a game and be one of our best players who were it not for poor finishing would have had one or two assists in what, 30 minutes of football? Then throwing him away as he'd served his PR exercise. That's pathetic.
08/08/2006, 4:49 PM
Staunton can easily win. He can treat Jason Byrne like a footballer, not a f*cking PR rep.
And as has been said before whats the point in an underage setup if we're calling these people up to the squad with ('d imagine) NO intention of blooding them for at least a couple of years.
theworm2345
08/08/2006, 4:50 PM
Agreed, how bout we all band together, and get all of the guys left out, play Ireland with that team, and once we beat them, actually make a good combined squad. The sad thing is, we could do it (if we got the guys) :o
The "other team" that we would make (because of lack of extra defenders I can think of off the top of my head, well add another midfielder)
Someone from this forum who plays keeper (who helped round up the team ;))
Colin Doyle
Dean Kiely
Kevin O'Connor (the Brentford one)
Paul McShane
Gary Breen (he told EPL.com Connolly and Cunningham are his best friends in football, they could convince him to come back)
Joey O’Brien
Gary Doherty (can double as a forward, we would be lacking in defenders, we need someone, dont slag me for this)
Paddy McCarthy
Alan Mahon
Mark Kennedy
Kevin O'Connor (Wolves)
Michael Doyle
Willo Flood
Stephen McPhail
Sean Thornton
Liam Lawrence
Rory Delap
Daryl Murphy
Jason Byrne
Steve Hunt
Shane Long
Colin Larkin
David Connolly
colster
08/08/2006, 4:53 PM
so why bother with an underage set up if we are going to blood 16 year olds at senior level?
Staunton said when he was picking the squad for the summer training camp that he wanted to reward the top performers at each of the under age levels. As far as I remember the other under age teams were involved in qualifiying campaigns so it turned out that Dixon was the only one available.
I think it's a good idea to give good young players a chance to train with the senior players. It's another incentive for them to do well at youth level. It could also help them in progressing their careers.
colster
08/08/2006, 5:03 PM
Staunton can easily win. He can treat Jason Byrne like a footballer, not a f*cking PR rep.
And as has been said before whats the point in an underage setup if we're calling these people up to the squad with ('d imagine) NO intention of blooding them for at least a couple of years.
As far as I can see he did treat him like a footballer. He brought him away on a weeks training camp and gave him 30 minutes of football. Thats a lot more than Kerr gave him. If Byrne were playing with Brighton or Djurgardens (as you referenced in another comment) there would be no problems with not selecting him in this squad.
colster
08/08/2006, 5:04 PM
Agreed, how bout we all band together, and get all of the guys left out, play Ireland with that team, and once we beat them, actually make a good combined squad. The sad thing is, we could do it (if we got the guys) :o
No chance.
youngirish
08/08/2006, 5:05 PM
I think the fuss regarding Byrne is pointless. Byrne, Lee or Dixon are not going to be worth a boll** against the decent international defenders in our group. If we need to call on any of the above in any meaningful match we are f**ked and any suggestion otherwise is dellusional.
Long would have been a better option at least he has time on his side and the potential to be decent (in the near future).
I'm more worried about defence anyway we have far better striking options than Jason Byrne thank f**k.
This game is too close to the qualifiers so Staunton should be playing strongest team that he feels he will play in Germany.
Any ideas what that will be?
colster
08/08/2006, 5:12 PM
This game is too close to the qualifiers so Staunton should be playing strongest team that he feels he will play in Germany.
Any ideas what that will be?
From the make up of the squad I would not be surprised with the following
Given
Carr Dunne O'Brien Harte
Finnan Reid O'Shea Duff
Doyle Keane
08/08/2006, 5:16 PM
Robbie Keane's early success didn't see any calls for disbanding the U21 team, did it?
Roy Keane was mediocre at 16, but developed later into a top player.
Different players, different rates of development, different treatment, different setup.
I think Stan just picks Dixon as needs a ballboy for squad training sessions.
08/08/2006, 5:22 PM
I think the fuss regarding Byrne is pointless. Byrne, Lee or Dixon are not going to be worth a boll** against the decent international defenders in our group. If we need to call on any of the above in any meaningful match we are f**ked and any suggestion otherwise is dellusional.
Long would have been a better option at least he has time on his side and the potential to be decent (in the near future).
I'm more worried about defence anyway we have far better striking options than Jason Byrne thank f**k.
Apart from Robbie Keane i dont think we have any strikers that are "far" better than Byrne
colster
08/08/2006, 5:24 PM
Firstly, I have to say that I disagree with this. In my opinion, the only reason for these friendlies should be to prepare for the upcoming competitive games. Ireland is not a club, we are an international team and only have a very small number of days to prepare. Full focus should be on the upcoming games. We don't have time to waste with making some young children welcome in the squad.
Secondly, Dixon has already trained with the big boys. He doesn't need to meet them all again, and become their friends again. If making him feel welcome is the big idea, well it is already done. Can we get on with the football?
Thirdly, Shane Long will probably be playing in the English Premiership in a few weeks, you know the Best League in the World and all that. He is young, has pace, scores goals, and is bang on form. Also, he hasn't met all the lads in the squad, and apparently that is very important. So why is he not in the squad? As far as I can see, the answer is, he is Irish-born and his parents are Irish. There is already a de-facto ban on anyone playing football in Ireland being chosen to play competitively for Ireland. Now it seems that even if you play in the Best League in the World, you are at a disadvantage if you happen to be 100% Irish.
Firstly, it's a 24 man squad. The normal squad is 23 so there is room for a young player. If A.Reid were fit then I doubt Alan O'Brien would have been picked.
Is Long any better than Dixon? I don't know. I've seen neither of them play. Staunton has looked at both of them and he's picked Dixon. Long will get his chance. Is it beyond the bounds of possibility that Staunton was impressed with Dixon during the training camp and feels he deserves to be picked again?
08/08/2006, 5:27 PM
Robbie Keane's early success didn't see any calls for disbanding the U21 team, did it?
You're comparing Robbie Keane to Terry Dixon!?!? :D :D
Robbie Keane was a regular in his club side and would soon be in the premiership and a regular, argubley a star, when he was called up. He was ready for international football by virtue of being better than what we had at the moment of his call up, ergo he was in the squad on merit, he did not need to be in the U21 squad.
Terry Dixon is someone who is, afaik, not a regular in his sides reserve team. He is not ready for international football by virtue of being worse than numerous players in his position. He is not in the squad on merit. He needs the underage setup. If he doesn't, and it is deemed beneath him, there is no point in having one. It's there for players like him, players who in a few years maybe international worthy but are currently not.
08/08/2006, 5:28 PM
Is it beyond the bounds of possibility that Staunton was impressed with Dixon during the training camp and feels he deserves to be picked again?
No. It's all a conspiracy to screw over the eircom League.
08/08/2006, 5:40 PM
It's a 23 player squad, yet so much focus on the 24th, an invited player from the youth set up.
FootballsKing
08/08/2006, 5:50 PM
If A.Reid were fit then I doubt Alan O'Brien would have been picked.
not likely!
and with referance to that starting 11 I would pick Stephen Elliot ahead of Doyle any tday of the week, wait till Elliot gets more games and we will be crying out for him. I agree that Dixon is a joke since he is unproven at any sort of level and it would be far more sensible to 'waste' the suppposed space on someone like O'dea, Long, Stokes, Gibson- would Dixon even make the Under 21 squad that players like this dominate. I personally dont think he would get a game. And as for players like Byrne- he will never play a role for Ireland so why even bother. So in short, Dixon over Byrne, but no point in either
08/08/2006, 6:01 PM
Regarding Alan O'Brien, he came on in the last 15 minutes for Newcastle
(for Duff) when they were 3:1 down.
I believe he forced the two corners which resulted in the two goals
to bring it back to 3:3.
That alone seems a fairly good reason for inclusion in the squad for me
He got the same rating as Duff (6) here:-
http://www.newcastle-online.com/news.php?subaction=showfull&id=1154964411&archive=&start_from=&ucat=
Always nice to add to our vast collection of left wingers though, maybe
we will have 11 left wingers starting a match one day?
08/08/2006, 6:22 PM
christ you'd think Staunton just assassinated the whole of our 1990 World cup squad going by some of the reactions on here!!!
He must have seen something in Byrne that he didn't rate and so hasn't bothered to give him the nod this time. Hopefully Byrne can prove the man wrong by taking the next chance he is given with both hands when wearing the green jersey.
Surely it would make more sense to include Dixon and O'Brien as non-playing members of the squad. How the hell is Dixon in the squad ahead of Byrne - he was great when he came on against Chilie - what more does he have to do ffs ?
Also, Shane Long, Daryl Murphy - (I know he has only scored 1 or 2 goals for Sunderland so far but he definitly has potential and looks to be an important player for Sunderland this season - number 11 jersey, started at weekend, scored and a new 5 year contract) deserve to be included ahead of someone who has never played reserve for Tottenham.
Also O'Brien failed to make the last 3 u21 squads iirc.
Only two recognised CB in the squad - 3 if you count O'Shea - why the hell was McCarthy - the captain of Leicester left out?
Total joke IMO
EDIT: Alan Bennett is definitly worthy of a place. Im sure if he moves to Bolton/ Ipswich hel be in the squad after a reserve game
Also, Stephen Kelly was cack on his debut and is a defensive liability.
Is Joey O'Brien injured?
08/08/2006, 6:48 PM
christ you'd think Staunton just assassinated the whole of our 1990 World cup squad going by some of the reactions on here!!!
He must have seen something in Byrne that he didn't rate and so hasn't bothered to give him the nod this time. Hopefully Byrne can prove the man wrong by taking the next chance he is given with both hands when wearing the green jersey.
Slight mistake there, you've mistaken Jason Byrne for a professional footballer, not the publicity stunt pawn that he actually is. He can have all the hands in the world, there will not be a next chance. Though thats slightly misleading, the word next implies there was a chance in the first place.
Roverstillidie
08/08/2006, 6:56 PM
the squad is a shambles, 2 1/2 centre halves, 3 right backs and a 16 year old that wont feature at any level for us for a hell of a long time.
what is the point of having anyone in that squad if they arent in the frame to feature v germany?
and then you look at who he left at home and why.
farce. but what did we really expect.
Closed Account 2
08/08/2006, 7:06 PM
Dixon is very good lads, he'll be a great player within the next year or so.
I've no problems with Stan picking him against the Dutch, the kid should be involved asap - he is our future.
theworm2345
08/08/2006, 8:14 PM
I've no problems with Stan picking him against the Dutch, the kid should be involved asap - he is our future.
So you should leave 3 current and one ex-EPL (Murphy never really played that often) strikers off for him?
Roverstillidie
08/08/2006, 8:47 PM
so put him in the u18's and u21's until he is ready for it.
how many kids have been the 'future' in the last 10 years?
ilovejam
08/08/2006, 10:34 PM
lads i dont think you get it. Alan O' Brien has a very good 'adviser'! Pat Devlin his name is, just so happens Devlin sorted Stan out a bit through his career and now Devlin is 'B' Team manager.... The FAIreland is one big corrupt circle of clowns
Qwerty
08/08/2006, 10:42 PM
Byrne out Lee in is not a surprise, I said so on this forum a couple of weeks ago. Stan has said that Lee fills a specific function; target man who is all elbows and awkwardness, the type of player that defenders hate.
There are some very odd selections however, Alan O'Brien isn't going to make it at the top level, twelve months from now nobody will remember him, you can quote me on that :) What is wrong with Alan Quinn as an option on the left or Michael Doyle?
Paddy McCarthy though he has some shortcomings had to be in this squad for experience, I'm baffled. :eek: Unless Stan just doesn't rate McCarthy? He was chasing Cahill, who would be in the squad if he opted for us??
Tonight I know I'll have nightmares of Kilbane playing center back. Stan has me worried.
Imagine a back 4 of Kelly O'Shea Kilbane and Harte. :D
theworm2345
08/08/2006, 11:25 PM
lads i dont think you get it. Alan O' Brien has a very good 'adviser'! Pat Devlin his name is, just so happens Devlin sorted Stan out a bit through his career and now Devlin is 'B' Team manager.... The FAIreland is one big corrupt circle of clowns
Perhaps the same with Dixon?
brine3
09/08/2006, 12:56 AM
that'll be great for joey o'brien's confidence... talking stephen carr out of retirement so you can pick him ahead of joey. christ.
If hes so good why hasnt he played reserve yet?
Id have no problem with him being brought along as a non playing member of the squad
09/08/2006, 7:53 AM
I believe he forced the two corners which resulted in the two goals
to bring it back to 3:3.
That alone seems a fairly good reason for inclusion in the squad for me
Forcing 2 corners is now good enough to earn you a call up :eek:
nedder
09/08/2006, 8:00 AM
According to the Independent, Joey O'Brien and Andy Reid are both injured. O'Brien is also a doubt to make the Germany game.
RogerMilla
09/08/2006, 8:04 AM
kilbane is a decent footballer with huge experience , he has to be tried out again at centre half and at left full , this is surely what stan will do against the dutch. dixon seems to be a bit of a walcott-esque selection, if he gets a run though then it is the definite excercise of an option during a friendly game , jayo can still force his way back in to the german squad. O'brien must be injured or it is very negligent by stan , lets face it we know very little about his managerial style , he will get the benefit of my doubt until xmas . some right kneejerk reactions on here
Dr. Ogba
09/08/2006, 8:11 AM
kilbane is a decent footballer with huge experience , he has to be tried out again at centre half and at left full , this is surely what stan will do against the dutch. dixon seems to be a bit of a walcott-esque selection, if he gets a run though then it is the definite excercise of an option during a friendly game , jayo can still force his way back in to the german squad. O'brien must be injured or it is very negligent by stan , lets face it we know very little about his managerial style , he will get the benefit of my doubt until xmas . some right kneejerk reactions on here
:eek: :eek: :eek:
Kilbane at centre half?????? Is this what we're reduced to??!! At left-back he could do a job for us fair enough but to put him in one of the most important positions in the team at which he has no experience AT ALL is just pure madness!!! Dont get me wrong I've always been a fan of the fellah but thats just crazy talk!
As someone mentioned earlier, where's the ginger pele? Thought he was playing well regularly at CB for Norwich and has a fair bit of international experience....surely he's an option?
RogerMilla
09/08/2006, 8:25 AM
Dr. I was never a kilbane fan but would deffo prefer him to the Doc.. Even at centre forward!!
Dr. Ogba
09/08/2006, 8:38 AM
Dr. I was never a kilbane fan but would deffo prefer him to the Doc.. Even at centre forward!!
The thing is, I don't rate the doc as a centre forward, never have . But I do believe that, considering the dearth of centre-halves coming through at the moment Gary Doherty is the only Irish centre half around (apart from O'Brien and Dunne) playing regularly for his club AND with senior international experience.
But sure Kilbane's tall sure why not give him a shot there! Actually I see now why Lee's in the squad, he's a big lad so he must be there as CB cover as well....Its all starting to make sense now!
RogerMilla
09/08/2006, 8:45 AM
starting to panic !! in fairness i never really felt safe watching andy o'brien play centre half for ireland , we should just put o'shea and dunne there and be done with it.
I'm not a regualr poster on this forum but I found it interesting to read the views expressed on this thread.
Some outraged, some disappointed, some seemingly angry (?) and quite a few non-plussed by Stan's squad.
Isn't this always the case though.
He isn't in the job to pick a team that will suit everyone.
I'm sure he has reasons for leaving out Byrne for instance or picking Dixon but every manager of every club/national side cannot please everyone.
Indeed they shouldn't even be trying to please everyone.
Personally the most concerning thing about this squad is the central defence positions because if we have injuries there we are in serious trouble. In fact I'm working up a cold sweat just thinking about the alternatives :eek:
09/08/2006, 9:41 AM
Breen exits stage as O'Brien enters
Emmet Malone Soccer correspondent
As 21-year-old Alan O'Brien came from almost nowhere to claim a place in Steve Staunton's squad for next week's friendly international against the Netherlands in Dublin, Gary Breen quietly drew the curtain on 10 years of international football yesterday when the Ireland manager passed on the news that the 32-year-old had decided to retire.
Breen had made his debut for the Republic in the summer of 1996 and in the intervening decade won 63 caps, scoring seven goals.
His best performances came during the 2002 World Cup qualification campaign and at the tournament itself, but he rarely figured under Brian Kerr, and Staunton admitted yesterday his decision to depart the scene was far from unexpected.
"He'd been thinking long and hard about it, but said he'd be happy enough to come in for the first few games after I took over.
"He'll be missed, but it's something really that I knew to expect when I came in and there are a few other options there."
As the Wolves defender called it a day, the return of Steve Carr was confirmed, with the 29-year-old Newcastle defender included in the panel for next week's game after, having talked with Bobby Robson, he reversed his decision to retire.
"It didn't take too much work really because Bobby had signed him for Newcastle and he had that bit of an in with him," said Staunton.
Added to the St James' Park contingent in the squad, meanwhile, is young winger Alan O'Brien, who has featured in fewer than a dozen first-team games since moving to England from St Joseph's Boys in Dún Laoghaire - most of those coming during a loan spell at Carlisle United at the start of last season.
Staunton put his inclusion down to positive feedback from the other Irish players at the club and a report from Ireland B manager Pat Devlin, who has seen him play on a number of occasions during Newcastle's pre-season.
Devlin, in fact, was instrumental in the player's move from Ireland to the northeast of England, as he has been in quite a number of such transfers, but Staunton said that the former Bray Wanderers boss was no longer involved in advising the midfielder and that the decision to include him in the squad had been entirely his own.
"The lad is not in purely on the say so of Pat, he's in on merit," said Staunton. "There's no conflict of interest here, Pat's still involved with Duffer - he wanted to stick with him because he had him all the way through - but he's taken a back seat on the rest of it (advising players) since he took this job.
"O'Brien," Staunton observed, "has frightening pace" and should, he hopes, make considerable progress over the coming months.
Terry Dixon, meanwhile, retains his place on the basis of his performance while with the squad at the warm-weather training camp in May when he persuaded the Ireland manager that he is "above any 16-year-old in Ireland or England".
Of those more likely to contribute to the team's fortunes in the short term, Andy Reid misses out on this occasion with an ankle injury, while Bolton's Joey O'Brien is still working on regaining his fitness.
Staunton said he was not aware of Reid's prognosis at this stage, but said he was hopeful the Tottenham winger would be available for the trip to Stuttgart where Ireland will play their first European Championship qualifier at the start of September.
Omitted for other reasons are Gary Doherty, Mark Kennedy and David Connolly. Leicester City captain Paddy McCarthy has also been passed over on this occasion with Staunton observing that he is not quite ready to make the step up to international football quite yet. "We'll be watching how he does for his club over the coming season," he says.
Sunderland striker Daryl Murphy, he said, is another player who may be included in the near future, but Jason Byrne appears to have slipped back in the pecking order again despite his outstanding form for Shelbourne.
Most of those on the periphery of the squad, Staunton said, will get a chance to impress in B internationals being organised for the autumn.
Details will be confirmed in the coming weeks, but it has been reported Ireland may send a team to an invitation tournament in Portugal.
"When we get the B international going, which should be in the next couple of months, we'll have a proper look at all the players."
Staunton said he would be selecting the squad for those games after which "I'll leave Pat to get on with it"