View Full Version : Derry v Gretna Live on Setanta

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

10/08/2006, 10:00 PM
Motherwell forum (http://www.welltrustfc.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=20427&pid=252039&st=0&#entry252039) - Derry fans "the best ever to visit Fir Park"

sonofstan
10/08/2006, 10:11 PM
The stuff from - relative - neutrals on the hearts and Motherwell boards was great to read - have a feeling though that whereas real football fans in Scotland will begin to respect our league, the average barstooler here will remain oblivious

10/08/2006, 10:13 PM
Just saw a quick clip of the third (?) goal on the telly too - Derry fans massed behind the one goal, taking up the entire stand, a sea of red. Superb sight. But for Sky, it could be happening here on a regular basis too. Still, something to aim at.

10/08/2006, 10:14 PM
I think were Gretna to turn this around against a team yet to drop a point at home this season, it'd be a record turnaround in Europe ever. So hoping I amn't getting too far ahead of myself, here's the seeding for Round 1 (http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/seeduc2006.html)... Some great money ties there (where would Derry play, say, Newcastle?); will obviously have to wait for results to see who's in (including from CL3) and see who's beatable. Livorno/Chievo maybe? (Chievo already 2-0 down) CSKA Sofia? Brondby?

I see Vaduz lost 1-0 away to FC Basel tonight, a team who were in the Second Group stages of the CL just a couple of years ago, knocking Liverpool and Celtic out and, I think, beating Juve at home.

Soper
10/08/2006, 10:17 PM
Anyone for a bit of Derry .v. Rangers in the next round?

10/08/2006, 10:20 PM
Saw Deery & Martyn goals & the free kick was a rocket from 30 yards when include the angle into the top corner!

Derry getting a lot of respect on the Motherwell forum.

Any barstooler who does not respect a 5-1 away in europe is waste of time anyway.

Very few opposition in the 1st round that could be considered beatable but even a draw would be big boost to club & country ranking.

ger121
10/08/2006, 10:21 PM
I think were Gretna to turn this around against a team yet to drop a point at home this season, it'd be a record turnaround in Europe ever. So hoping I amn't getting too far ahead of myself, here's the seeding for Round 1 (http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/seeduc2006.html)... Some great money ties there (where would Derry play, say, Newcastle?); will obviously have to wait for results to see who's in (including from CL3) and see who's beatable. Livorno/Chievo maybe? (Chievo already 2-0 down) CSKA Sofia? Brondby?

I see Vaduz lost 1-0 away to FC Basel tonight, a team who were in the Second Group stages of the CL just a couple of years ago, knocking Liverpool and Celtic out and, I think, beating Juve at home.

I see Spurs are unseeded. Some big draws in that round. Would be difficult to get throught to group stages but could be good for Derry financially and the co-effecient if they could get some sort of result in their 2 legs

10/08/2006, 10:24 PM
I see Spurs are unseeded. Some big draws in that round.

If any seeded team loses in this round i think unseeded teams such as Spurs & West Ham would be bumped up

10/08/2006, 10:25 PM
Any barstooler who does not respect a 5-1 away in europe is waste of time anyway.

Like a lot of posters here they're utterly dismissive of the Scottish game compared to "their" EPL so they'll probably give them little credit. Prematch coverage of both team's UEFA Cup ties tonight were on the 5 page from the back in the Herald, after they had covered Liverpool's game and a highly speculative story on a possible foray into management for Roy Keane.

10/08/2006, 10:28 PM
John Terry as new England captain to make the main back page story tomorrow? Or perhaps Duff's debut for Newcastle?

sonofstan
10/08/2006, 10:40 PM
Very few opposition in the 1st round that could be considered beatable but even a draw would be big boost to club & country ranking.

Not sure if I totally understand the UEFA list stu posted, but if there's two Israeli teams in it, then they could be beatable given they'll have to play their home legs in Cyprus or some such

10/08/2006, 10:43 PM
Not sure if I totally understand the UEFA list stu posted, but if there's two Israeli teams in it, then they could be beatable given they'll have to play their home legs in Cyprus or some such

That's a good call if you ask me. Domzale of Slovenia beat an Israeli side 2-1 "away" (wherever if was played) tonight. I'd hate to see Derry draw Newcastle. I'd never rule out an upset but chances are they could get beaten by a few goals and I think it would just give barstoolers a stick to beat the league with. I'd love to see Derry get the weakest possible opponent and go though.

el punter
10/08/2006, 10:51 PM
How many more ties do they have to win to qualify for groups?

10/08/2006, 10:54 PM
How many more ties do they have to win to qualify for groups?

The UEFA Cup group phase is the second round proper of the competition i.e. the round after the next one. Feckers at UEFA always put the big one just one reach too far for the wee clubs.

ger121
10/08/2006, 10:55 PM
Saw the goals on TV3 some crackers. Question for any of the Derry lads who might be on here. Why did you not have your names on the back of your shirts? You normally do in the League.

David
10/08/2006, 10:56 PM
Absolutely superb from Derry, they outplayed Gretna all over the pitch. I don't think even the most optimistic Derry fan expected that scoreline. I thought you were in with a real chance but that was unbelieveable. Well done Stephen Kenny and Derry City. Your support was once again a credit to your club by the way.

4tothefloor
10/08/2006, 11:00 PM
Fair play to Derry City, unbelievable result. Didn't see the game as don't have Setanta and just missed Sports Tonight. Hopefully they'll show them again tomorrow

10/08/2006, 11:24 PM
They showed the goals on Tv3, normal coverage, 5 beauties.

They showed 2 or 3 goals on the late Rte news, all from the camera behind the goal (closer to the corner flag), crap coverage, an insult to the achievement.

10/08/2006, 11:30 PM
I agree, watched the tv3 coverage and while not amazing was good and their usual effort and seemed genuinely pleased, turned on rte "and derry won heres 3 brief clips" and have more athletics. Thanks.

Wondr if they will show the second leg now? Or any of the second legs?

10/08/2006, 11:45 PM
Derry could take Lovech if they drew them. We played them a few years back and they were nothing special. Only scoring 2 90th minute goals to kill the tie off as we were up the other end trying to get the winner.

Would be a great draw for Derry.

SPXcyan
11/08/2006, 12:28 AM
the goals were super sweet!!!! TV3 did ok with their coverage!! was the exact same on sky sports news! 5 fab goals

11/08/2006, 12:56 AM
That's the difference between the cream of the LOI, and the Scottish lower divisions. Mind you, for a while, they might have needed the tomatoes ready to pelt at the team on their arrival in City of Derry airport, if they lost 1-0. :D

The NL side romp home as I said in advance, and our national team boss persists with picking players from Scottish clubs for international duty. :rolleyes:

Gretna 1-5 Derry

SuperBlooper Gretna, comments please??? :D

Soper
11/08/2006, 9:08 AM
So, any notable coverage of the result in the papers today?

11/08/2006, 9:33 AM
So, any notable coverage of the result in the papers today?Sadly, but predictably, a lot less than in the Scottish media.

My particular favourite headline being the back page of the early edition Scottish Sun which ran with "Oh Deery".

11/08/2006, 9:48 AM
I was reading some Scottish paper this morning with nowt but praise for Derry and their fans. Basically said they were embarassed to have written Derry off in the days running up to it, due to presumption son their part. Had 4 1/2 pages about how amazing everything red&white was.

hoops1
11/08/2006, 9:55 AM
Fantastic Result
Everyone connected to DCFC should be proud of themselves
Now.
I think the second leg is really important for the league
If Derry were to go out and hammer them again we would gain
loads more positive coverage home and abroad!
God knows when the next chance we would have to rub their noses in it.
So more of the same please Derry, this time for the EL

11/08/2006, 10:07 AM
When Pats beat Derry on Sunday we'll officialy be the best team in Europe.

Jeesh

11/08/2006, 10:49 AM
Fabulous result, was listening on the radio and all you could hear was Derry songs. The goals were stunners too, as good as you'll see anywhere, are there any highlights on the web (more than just the goals)?

sonofstan
11/08/2006, 10:55 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/tm_objectid=17544727%26method=full%26siteid=66633% 26headline=scarytale-name_page.html

and this:

http://sport.scotsman.com/index.cfm?id=1167012006

11/08/2006, 11:04 AM
PA announcer decided to play "You Had A Bad Day".I'd forgotten about that, the only time I've smiled at hearing that song. :D

ger121
11/08/2006, 11:11 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/tm_objectid=17544727%26method=full%26siteid=66633% 26headline=scarytale-name_page.html

and this:

http://sport.scotsman.com/index.cfm?id=1167012006

Great article that in the dailyrecord. Shame you would never see something like that in one of the Irish papers:(

sonofstan
11/08/2006, 11:15 AM
it's the lead sports story in both those papers - it's not even the lead football story on Unison.ie

11/08/2006, 11:17 AM
It was on the back page of the Star this morning with another page on it inside. Pics from both games last night

11/08/2006, 11:35 AM
Great night, but the sad truth is that the joke's still on us, in the sense that Derry's thumping of some no-mark Scotch outfit will garner more respect among barstoolers than a far more laudable double over IFK Gothenburg. And let's not kid ourselves, if Kenny Deucher were Irish (or could plausibly make that claim) he would have been elevated to international status on a tide of popular and media opinion...

sonofstan
11/08/2006, 11:39 AM
Great night, but the sad truth is that the joke's still on us, in the sense that Derry's thumping of some no-mark Scotch outfit will garner more respect among barstoolers than a far more laudable double over IFK Gothenburg. And let's not kid ourselves, if Kenny Deucher were Irish (or could plausibly make that claim) he would have been elevated to international status on a tide of popular and media opinion...

point taken - really hope get a winnable draw in the next round rather than a 'glamour' one, so the press here don't have a chance to go into potential giantkillers/ gallant little Derry mode if the go out to team like Roma or Newcastle with 100 times their budget

11/08/2006, 12:12 PM
roddy must have given the gretna scouts some great advice:) :)

Hee Hee.:D Himself and Keely will probably just go on about how bad Gretna were, which is absolute cack of course. 5-1 away to ANYBODY in Europe is a fantastic result and ANY team in Europe would have been happy with that scoreline, and those goals, last night. Congratulations Derry, fabulous stuff.

11/08/2006, 12:40 PM
Not sure if I totally understand the UEFA list stu posted
Try to explain it for you so!

Obviously, we don't know who's in the First Round draw yet. It will, however, be -

(a) the teams who enter at that stage, like Sevilla (they have no mark beside them)
(b) the teams who win the QR2 games (like Derry, touch wood) and (marked ** or *, depending on the round they entered at)
(c) the teams who lose the QR3 Champions' League games. (marked ***)

What yer man has done is to assume that, in every case, the higher seeded team will win their tie. So he's ranked all the teams that gives him by their club coefficient (related to country coefficient). That's why Gretna are in, but Derry aren't.

Half the teams will be seeded; the other half won't. Every game will be seeded team v unseeded team. The seeded teams are listed on the left of the list; the unseeded teams on the right. Derry will be unseeded - likely the lowest-ranked team in the entire competition, as Cork were last year - and will draw one of the seeded teams. So take your pick from any team on the left.

However, it will change as the results come in. For example, Chievo are seeded, but are 2-0 down to some Bulgarian team from their first leg in the UEFA Cup. If they lose, they'll drop out of that list and the Bulgarian team will take their place. That'd likely move Spurs one up the list - i.e. to being seeded.

Make sense?

11/08/2006, 12:49 PM
Sorry - scratch the Chievo bit; they're losing to a higher-ranked Bulgarian team in the CL. The rest of it's good though!

11/08/2006, 1:36 PM
Sorry - scratch the Chievo bit; they're losing to a higher-ranked Bulgarian team in the CL. The rest of it's good though!

I think you can assume the vast majority of the team listed on the left will be in the draw & if not will be replaced possibly by harder teams such as Spurs, West Ham etc...