View Full Version : Derry's home game with Gretna

BohsFans
04/08/2006, 2:31 PM
will it be played in Tolka, as Dalyer is be used by the Drogs the same night and Windsor would be out of the question?

Or will it go ahead @ the Brandywell?

2,500 people paying in, when demand would probably be 10,000+

Just doesn't add up!

Huge loss of badly needed revenue.

Dazzy
04/08/2006, 2:33 PM
Its going ahead in the Brandy, Why the hell would we want it in Dublin when Belfast would be a better option if it was moved.:rolleyes:

04/08/2006, 2:39 PM
And why the hell would we want it in Belfast, when having it in Derry makes so much more sense ? Particularly as we're unbeaten in the Brandywell this season.

Would we get sufficiently more than 2,500 people to justify the loss of atmosphere and financial cost in hiring any other ground ?? I doubt it.

Apparently the Council, club and FAI have approached UEFA to get a waiver on the 'no temporary seats' rule. If anything comes of that we might get another 1,200 or so in.

If we got through to the next round then it would be interesting, as the Brandywell floodlights wouldn't be up to the job. But we'll worry about that as and when.

Dazzy
04/08/2006, 2:43 PM
steve the seats will not be done in time, its just a DCC stall tactic to divert the problem away from them and make it look like they are doing something to benefit DCFC. Also on the floodlight thing, the game could be played earlier as games in Uefa Cup dont have to kick off at the same time.

BohsFans
04/08/2006, 2:44 PM
Its going ahead in the Brandy, Why the hell would we want it in Dublin when Belfast would be a better option if it was moved.:rolleyes:

Yes Derry City playing in Belfast :rolleyes:

After all the security arrangements and fuss for the Linfield game why would you bother? Also a risk to fans safety.

Dublin would be hassle free (except for the changing of money etc). Bus there and back.

Dazzy
04/08/2006, 2:45 PM
From my memory of travelling to Belfast twice for Derry games this season was no hassle, We had more trouble at Dalymount than Windsor!

BohsFans
04/08/2006, 2:54 PM
From my memory of travelling to Belfast twice for Derry games this season was no hassle, We had more trouble at Dalymount than Windsor!

probably because there was a lot more security in place going to Belfast.

Were Derry buses not attacked on the way home? Or was it the other way around?

04/08/2006, 3:03 PM
I see no reason to think could get 10,000 ceowd in Dublin.

ciaraa
04/08/2006, 3:30 PM
No way should Derry move the game. Keep it in yer home town lads!! We have to play in Dirty Dublin and its definitely disadvantageous despite doolins denials.

04/08/2006, 3:55 PM
If we got through to the next round then it would be interesting, as the Brandywell floodlights wouldn't be up to the job.

Absolute madness!! :mad:

So do floodlights only work in Derry in July and August, when they're barely needed? What's the point of having floodlights if you can't use them??

04/08/2006, 4:40 PM
Absolute madness!! :mad:

So do floodlights only work in Derry in July and August, when they're barely needed? What's the point of having floodlights if you can't use them??

It's the quality/strength of them - not their actual working order. They're fine for EL and early European games, but it seems the bar is set higehr once you get to the first round proper of UEFA (I'm guessing to assist TV coverage).

Correct me if I'm wrong, but didn't Shels have to play in Lansdowne against either Depor or Lille (I'm guessing Lille) because of their floodlights last year ?Seems it's not just a problem confined to Derry..... :rolleyes:

04/08/2006, 4:49 PM
It's the quality/strength of them - not their actual working order. They're fine for EL and early European games, but it seems the bar is set higehr once you get to the first round proper of UEFA (I'm guessing to assist TV coverage)

Knowing RTE's attitude to Irish football, there's no guarantee that the match will be televised at all. :rolleyes:

It's one of those crazy UEFA rules, that needs urgent changing. Like the one where the winners of the CL were not guaranteed entry into the next CL competition. They changed that when they had to. Or maybe Mr. Observer spends the whole 2 hours of the match, looking at the "strength" :rolleyes: of white light.

Leeza
04/08/2006, 7:45 PM
I'd go and see this game if it were in Tolka, but not in brandywell cos well... I wouldn't get a seat.

Hope its played in either Tolka or Windsor.

Roverstillidie
04/08/2006, 8:02 PM
windsor? are you lot on ****ing drugs?

the brandywell is a major asset for derry here. gretna arent used to noise where they come from, and when you take rent and other expenses out of moving to dublin they dont make a great deal.

dcfc_1928
04/08/2006, 8:07 PM
The match is NOT going to be moved.

The days of us being forced to play matches away from the Brandywell are over!

We left that shi*e behind when we left the Irish League

04/08/2006, 10:35 PM
steve the seats will not be done in time, its just a DCC stall tactic to divert the problem away from them and make it look like they are doing something to benefit DCFC. Also on the floodlight thing, the game could be played earlier as games in Uefa Cup dont have to kick off at the same time.

True.
This happened to City in our third tie v Slavia last year.
Though it was moved back, it actually went ahead at the later time in the end to facilitate Czech tv.
Proof that they make it up as they go along.

Buller
05/08/2006, 12:19 AM
I'm assuming RTE will be showing this match?! :confused:
I cant wait for it... :rolleyes:

EireBadBoy
05/08/2006, 10:25 AM
A local paper contacted RTÉ about showing Derry games and RTÉ said they would only show CL matches as that was all they could fit on their schedule. So no matter how far in the competition Derry progress they not be shown on TV here.

I'd like to add that we all know should Derry progress and draw an English team the media would be falling over themselves to show the game.

05/08/2006, 10:27 AM
Correct me if I'm wrong, but didn't Shels have to play in Lansdowne against either Depor or Lille (I'm guessing Lille) because of their floodlights last year ?Seems it's not just a problem confined to Derry..... :rolleyes:

That was a load of balls made up to try and excuse the fact that the Shels board were moving a "home" game away from home as to get more bums in seats and therefore make more money!!

Worked against Deportivo but they got greedy against Lille and it cost them in the end!

05/08/2006, 10:30 AM
A local paper contacted RTÉ about showing Derry games and RTÉ said they would only show CL matches as that was all they could fit on their schedule. So no matter how far in the competition Derry progress they not be shown on TV here.

I'd like to add that we all know should Derry progress and draw an English team the media would be falling over themselves to show the game.

Very true,Should/when Derry get through and if they were to draw Newcastle in the next round,RTE would change their schedule to accomadate Newcastle :rolleyes:

Sorry for the double post

05/08/2006, 12:28 PM
The BBC should cover the games. They have a Northern Ireland and Scotland audience for them.

BohsFans
05/08/2006, 3:22 PM
It's the quality/strength of them - not their actual working order. They're fine for EL and early European games, but it seems the bar is set higehr once you get to the first round proper of UEFA (I'm guessing to assist TV coverage).

So is it not a matter of just getting stronger bulbs?

05/08/2006, 4:30 PM
Worked against Deportivo but they got greedy against Lille and it cost them in the end!

Remember the marketing for the games:

v Coruna: "Don't go, it's Sold Out. This game is only for the Bandwagons"

v Lille: The begging method:

"Please, please, plllllleeeeeeeaaaaaaaasssssssseeeeeee, puhhlllllllleeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaasssssssssssseee go, or we'll lose a load of money. We've only sold 7,000 tickets. Yeah, we know we told you Shels fans to stay away for the last game, but pleeeeeaaaaaassssssseeeeeeeee fill Lansdowne now. Pleeassseeeeee."

SPXcyan
05/08/2006, 5:05 PM
RTE won't show it but what about Setanta?? they have a big interest in scottish football and Irish... so they surely would be thinking about this game.. id be very surprised if they dont show it

Dazzy
05/08/2006, 5:08 PM
Well be surprised.

Pedro m
05/08/2006, 11:40 PM
I am with a junior club who is putting floodlights at the moment and we were told that we'd need 300lux of light to play a game under lights but that we'd need 500lux to televise a game
its not just as simple as changing the bulbs as there'd be almost double the power used and existing cables might not be able for extra current.Also the bulbs required are up to €500 a piece

06/08/2006, 10:15 AM
Remember the marketing for the games:

v Coruna: "Don't go, it's Sold Out. This game is only for the Bandwagons"

v Lille: The begging method:

"Please, please, plllllleeeeeeeaaaaaaaasssssssseeeeeee, puhhlllllllleeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaasssssssssssseee go, or we'll lose a load of money. We've only sold 7,000 tickets. Yeah, we know we told you Shels fans to stay away for the last game, but pleeeeeaaaaaassssssseeeeeeeee fill Lansdowne now. Pleeassseeeeee."

Incredibly accurate :) :o

06/08/2006, 6:20 PM
I just find the whole thing so bloody annoying that the national broadcaster wont cover games involving teams from its national league as they have to show some god awful import show. It just gets me so ****ed off. They had no hassle showing liverpool in the UEFA cup or other english teams, celtic etc.

Watched a game from the serbian league today on RTS sat, a local station there. Yet we cant broadcast more than two games a year. ****ing ****es me off this country at times.

Rant over!

P.S. **** you RTE.

Pedro m
06/08/2006, 10:50 PM
I just find the whole thing so bloody annoying that the national broadcaster wont cover games involving teams from its national league as they have to show some god awful import show. It just gets me so ****ed off. They had no hassle showing liverpool in the UEFA cup or other english teams, celtic etc.

Watched a game from the serbian league today on RTS sat, a local station there. Yet we cant broadcast more than two games a year. ****ing ****es me off this country at times.

Rant over!

P.S. **** you RTE.
a possible solution would be the next TV contract for international matches should include compulsory cover of EL clubs in europe for the contracts duration

06/08/2006, 11:03 PM
a possible solution would be the next TV contract for international matches should include compulsory cover of EL clubs in europe for the contracts duration

Rights is the big problem.

TV3 might get the international contrac, but then not have/get the right for the CL, for example. They then can't show any games.

Any channel that gets the international rights and has Euro rights without showing any/all of our games should be made to do so, in my opinion. Although I think showing the likes of Shels etc versus some Latvian team in the first round of a European competition is of less interest/benefit to the league than showing a top domestic tie.

06/08/2006, 11:23 PM
I think the fact that there is about 4 matches shown a year on the natonal stations speaks volumes. It does not cost all that much to place 3 cameras and an uplink truck at a ground. They already have pre leased slots on the satellites. 34.5west being the main satellite for RTE to use.

The league badly needs a better show then the TV3 offering and while it is great to see them make the effort, 30 minutes at 11:30 on a monday night is a JOKE. A decent highlught program with two 15 min highlight of the weeks top games and then a goal round up at say a sensible hour of 7pm or even 8pm would be a big help but the companis wont as they can make more money out of some rehashed reality tv bull****. It is hard to know what will make it change and the fact that BOTH matches this week will not be on our national stations and end up on a Subscription service that is Setanta, and fair play for them showing it but if our broadcastes were of any decent standard it wouldnt be in question.

David
07/08/2006, 6:39 AM
probably because there was a lot more security in place going to Belfast.

Were Derry buses not attacked on the way home? Or was it the other way around?

The attack was nothing at all to do with the game, it happened in their own city. The game at Windsor was completely trouble free with a superb atmosphere and the Linfield supporters applauded Derry off the pitch.

For what it is worth I think Derry would be crazy to move this game as Brandywell obviously gives them a massive advantage.

Dee75
07/08/2006, 8:02 AM
Gretna vs Derry City is live Thursday 10th Aug on Setanta. It was mentioned during the Hearts - Celtic game yesterday

garyderry
07/08/2006, 3:32 PM
The attack was nothing at all to do with the game, it happened in their own city. The game at Windsor was completely trouble free with a superb atmosphere and the Linfield supporters applauded Derry off the pitch.

For what it is worth I think Derry would be crazy to move this game as Brandywell obviously gives them a massive advantage.

yeah i would second that, great night out at windsor had by all, trouble was with buses entering derry latter that night, driving past certain loyalist areas. That was put right when returning from the glentoran game. But there was no trouble at all outside or inside windsor.

All that said we would be crazy to give up home advantage for little financial gain.

risteard55
07/08/2006, 4:21 PM
As Dee75 said , Setanta are showing Gretna v Derry City and according to local news today they may also show the 2nd Leg on Aug 24th.
About the floodlights, they were upgraded last season for all UEFA games no matter what round it is.

07/08/2006, 6:58 PM
The remaining tickets went on general sale today,after season ticket holders had been given the chance to pick their tickets up.
Sold out in under an hour:eek:

anto eile
07/08/2006, 7:10 PM
is the caapcity set at 2500?
the cameras at brandywell tend to vary from one side to another dpending on circumstances. they should be set up facing the new stand for this game

iceman
07/08/2006, 8:31 PM
How can UEFA alllow this game to be played at the Brandywell without a PSNI presence? If I were a Gretna supporter travelling to the Brandywell I would like the reassurance that the police were in the ground if there was any kind of incident on the night.

Speranza
07/08/2006, 8:36 PM
The PSNI didn't feel the need to be in the ground for a match with Linfield so they won't be there for the Gretna match. You are very naive if you think the issue is as simplistic as getting the police in for this one match. UEFA are happy, DCFC are happy, PSNI are happy so why change it for fans who have no record whatsoever of crowd trouble?

Yes it is limited to 2,500 and it is all down to the inaction of our pathetic City Council who will no doubt be in the Brandy to watch the match unlike other interested fans. Anyone with any interest this could help us a small bit by firing off any sort of email to the council or the Derry Journal.....someone from outside the city showing interest may have twice the impact of a disgruntled City fan.

info@derrycity.gov.uk

http://www.derryjournal.com/contactus.aspx

07/08/2006, 9:29 PM
How can UEFA alllow this game to be played at the Brandywell without a PSNI presence? If I were a Gretna supporter travelling to the Brandywell I would like the reassurance that the police were in the ground if there was any kind of incident on the night.

Sweet mother of jesus.... :rolleyes:

07/08/2006, 9:51 PM
How can UEFA alllow this game to be played at the Brandywell without a PSNI presence?

We have a dispensation from UEFA in relation to this.

iceman
07/08/2006, 9:52 PM
PSNI are happy so why change it for fans who have no record whatsoever of crowd trouble?

I never said anything about a possibility of crowd trouble - my point is that at such a high profile event there should be a PSNI presence ,to assist with all eventualities that may arise ,there will be a police presence at every other game in the round so why an exception for Derry?

07/08/2006, 10:07 PM
I never said anything about a possibility of crowd trouble - my point is that at such a high profile event there should be a PSNI presence ,to assist with all eventualities that may arise ,there will be a police presence at every other game in the round so why an exception for Derry?

UEFA are happy.

The PSNI are in regular communication with the club and are happy.

If these two bodies are happy, you don't need to worry your little head about it.

07/08/2006, 10:12 PM
there should be a PSNI presence ,to assist with all eventualities that may arise .......alien landings, tsunamis, that kind of thing?

there will be a police presence at every other game in the round so why an exception for Derry?because we're special.
We also have a dispensation from UEFA to play in the Eircom League instead of the Irish League. Would you like to question that too?

It doesn't take a policeman to provide a secure environment to watch a game, and in our case, that would be more likely to provide an much less secure environment.

I'd have more sympathy for your question if either club had a history of trouble, but we don't.

iceman
07/08/2006, 10:48 PM
Calm down......Im only asking why?

If for some reason the game were played in Dublin would there be a Garda presence? or do you have a special dispensation for that eventuality as well?

07/08/2006, 11:14 PM
If for some reason the game were played in Dublin would there be a Garda presence? or do you have a special dispensation for that eventuality as well?Well we play in Dublin on average once a month and there's always a Gardai presence.

Go figure.

alabama rover
07/08/2006, 11:15 PM

If RTE don't show this game, they are a shower of barstooling mupets!...no wait.... I think we already knew that!

garyderry
07/08/2006, 11:15 PM
Calm down......Im only asking why?

If for some reason the game were played in Dublin would there be a Garda presence? or do you have a special dispensation for that eventuality as well?

Are you for real? and what business is it of yours anyway? (harry cavan reborn)

The FAI, Uefa and Eircom League are happy week in week, its a hell of a lot safer in the brandywell that most grounds in ireland, ask anyone who actaully attends games there, no trouble at all, and excellent stewarding at all times im glad to say, again unlike a lot of grounds around the country (with or without police)

08/08/2006, 2:57 AM
If RTE don't show this game, they are a shower of barstooling mupets.

The European Athletics Championships have to be shown, despite the fact that there is only a handful of Irish athletes competing, and they all have zero hope of winning a medal. :rolleyes:

charliesboots
08/08/2006, 9:54 AM
report here (http://www.rte.ie/sport/2006/0808/derrycity.html)

can somebody explain to iceman that the presence of the PSNI in the Brandywell would create a greater chance of a security problem rather than prevent one.

Think Black & Tans stewarding at an All-Ireland Final.