View Full Version : Derry's home game with Gretna
David
08/08/2006, 10:03 AM
Having been at the Brandywell twice for Linfield games there is no need whatsoever for police inside the ground, although outside I believe is a different matter.
Rights is the big problem.
TV3 might get the international contrac, but then not have/get the right for the CL, for example. They then can't show any games.
It's not an issue for the qualifying rounds though. iirc Five had Liverpools qualifying rounds for example. Also the UEFA Cup is done on a round by round basis - again look at last seasons on UK tele being split between five and ITV at different stages of the competition.
The rights is just an FAI excuse, when it is no issue for the UEFA Cup and only an issue for the Champions League proper. The FAI should tie proper domestic and european coverage with the international team contract. RTE (or TV3 or TG4) don't play ball than the FAI can walk away to any other broadcaster (sky or setanta) who will, with an exemption from protected rights. The FAI just don't care enough to make it an issue and are happy to trumpet as a success the pathetic coverage we currently get.
08/08/2006, 10:09 AM
To be fair, I strongly suspect that Gretna fans won't provide the same lure for the local scumbags that Linfield fans did, so Police won't be needed outside the ground either.
Iceman : we should be celebrating that, in this day and age, a major sporting event can take place without a police presence, not dogmatically condemning it because a certain type of uniform isn't on display along with the numerous other uniforms that are there. If it simply ain't needed then give it a feckin rest.
David
08/08/2006, 10:18 AM
To be fair, I strongly suspect that Gretna fans won't provide the same lure for the local scumbags that Linfield fans did, so Police won't be needed outside the ground either.
Fair point although I feel they should be on hand just in case as the mentality of these people is unpredictable to say the least.
stickyjoe
08/08/2006, 10:28 AM
If RTE don't show this game, they are a shower of barstooling mupets!...no wait.... I think we already knew that!
AFAIK its on Setanta
ndrog
08/08/2006, 10:32 AM
I never said anything about a possibility of crowd trouble - my point is that at such a high profile event there should be a PSNI presence ,to assist with all eventualities that may arise ,there will be a police presence at every other game in the round so why an exception for Derry?
iceman you need to go and do a bit of research into the history of derry and dcfc as to why there are no cops allowed in to the ground .Ive been there for games and felt safer than i have in other football grounds in Ireland .First game of the season against bohs in dalymount i was manhandled by a scumbag cop and told to " **** off back over to my side " .I felt really safe after that :eek:
08/08/2006, 10:34 AM
Fair point although I feel they should be on hand just in case as the mentality of these people is unpredictable to say the least.
Is it ?? Spend much time in the Brandywell, do you David ?
The local hoods are many things, but unpredictable is certainly not one of them. We've had up to 30 games a year for the last 20 years at the Brandywell. Care to guess how many of those have proven a lure for the local scumbags ?
The answer to that question gives a stronger indication as to whether a police presence would be required than your own (undedrstandable in this instance) prejudices.
Krstic
08/08/2006, 10:36 AM
I would say it's quite the opposite David, i think they are very Predictable.
They'll certainly not crawl from under their slimy little stones in order to have a go at a handful of fans from an unknown team.
You know the attraction Linfield has for these people, but what interest would they have in Gretna?
But David, keep throwing the mud.
garyderry
08/08/2006, 10:58 AM
They'll certainly not crawl from under their slimy little stones in order to have a go at a handful of fans from an unknown team.
And in fact when it comes to Linfield (no hassle at all with Glentoran) its constant comments like this everywhere that actaully raises tensions.
And in relation to hassle OUTSIDE grounds, is Dalymount not now the worst offender in the league, and the Brandywell this season (including the visits of Linfield and Glentoran) not been one of the most hassle free grounds in the league this season?
David
08/08/2006, 11:16 AM
I would say it's quite the opposite David, i think they are very Predictable.
You know the attraction Linfield has for these people, but what interest would they have in Gretna?
But David, keep throwing the mud.
What mud am I throwing? What happens outside the ground is completely beyond the remit and control of Derry City FC so it is certainly not a dig at Derry or their supporters . I have heard Eircom League club supporters mentioning that they have been attacked outside the ground which is why I said it is unpredictable.
Krstic
08/08/2006, 12:08 PM
What mud am I throwing? What happens outside the ground is completely beyond the remit and control of Derry City FC so it is certainly not a dig at Derry or their supporters . I have heard Eircom League club supporters mentioning that they have been attacked outside the ground which is why I said it is unpredictable.
David alot of your posts if not most and certainly recent, have been aimed at portraying Derry City as the other end of the spectrum to Linfield. Which we are not.
Your Club has a secatarian and Racism problem and after a century or so have now decided to take some proactive approach to address it and I applaud this belated attempt to rid your club of it's 'Little Rangers mentality'
Funny how your club have only done this since UEFA informed us that any Sectarian or Racist chants will be dealt with in the severist of manners.
But whatever reason I'm glad to see that Linfield are at last going to do something about it.
But do us all a favour, and stop attempting to bring the rest of us down to your level. There's only one team on the whole Island of Ireland that have a serious problem in relation to Sectarianisn or Racism and it's LINFIELD
So get it sorted before UEFA throw you out of European Competition......Oh that's right you're already out.
Aaaahhh ... jealousy is that what's driving this months attack on Derry City David, 'cause we're still in Europe.
Quare oul craic if we meet your big brother team in the next round, you'd have a field day **** stirring then.
We're all off to Scotland, we're all off to Scotland Nah Nah Nah:ball:
iceman
08/08/2006, 12:19 PM
Im not disputing the need (or no need) for a PSNI presence , just asking the question why did UEFA give a dispensation to Derry , can someone please explain.
David
08/08/2006, 12:32 PM
David alot of your posts if not most and certainly recent, have been aimed at portraying Derry City as the other end of the spectrum to Linfield. Which we are not.
Your Club has a secatarian and Racism problem and after a century or so have now decided to take some proactive approach to address it and I applaud this belated attempt to rid your club of it's 'Little Rangers mentality'
Funny how your club have only done this since UEFA informed us that any Sectarian or Racist chants will be dealt with in the severist of manners.
But whatever reason I'm glad to see that Linfield are at last going to do something about it.
But do us all a favour, and stop attempting to bring the rest of us down to your level. There's only one team on the whole Island of Ireland that have a serious problem in relation to Sectarianisn or Racism and it's LINFIELD
So get it sorted before UEFA throw you out of European Competition......Oh that's right you're already out.
Aaaahhh ... jealousy is that what's driving this months attack on Derry City David, 'cause we're still in Europe.
Quare oul craic if we meet your big brother team in the next round, you'd have a field day **** stirring then.
We're all off to Scotland, we're all off to Scotland Nah Nah Nah:ball:
You are obviously so clued in about everything going on at Windsor Park. Just for your info though, the True Blues is not in response to UEFA's 10 point plan, it was formed well before that came to light and was in response to some sectarian singing in the Setanta Cup. Considering that I am actually a member of the working committee for this I would say there is a fair chance that I know more about it than you do.
As for your other ridiculous accusations. We are the only club anywhere in Ireland with a sectarian problem? Is that the reason Derry City supporters have openly in this thread objected to the legitimate police force of the country being in the vicinity of the ground. Also, if you can manage to get a tape of the Shelbourne v Glentoran Champions League qualifier, have a wee listen to the Glentoran support and tell me we are the only club with a problem. We are the only club with a problem yet a member of Derry City FC can visit Windsor park and shout to other supporters to "buy f**k all of the huns". Supporters of Derry City can shout sectarian abuse at Linfield supporters at the Brandywell but sure you don't have a sectarian problem. May I suggest that the reason this problem is rarely apparent is that you are playing in a league in the Republic of Ireland where you do not come into contact with supporters of the other side. Have you been to a Linfield v Cliftonville game. If you had you would know yet again that we are not the only club with such a problem. As I said, we acknowledge we have a problem, others do not. When Derry City have a set up that even comes close to being as mixed as ours is then come and talk to me about it.
As for your childish European jibe, we were in a superior competition and therefore up against superior opposition. When we were in the UEFA Cup last season, we also win our opening tie but I suppose for Derry it is an achievement to be even playing in Europe, some of us are used to it.
One final point, we do not have a racism problem. In the past we had a problem with a handful of idiots and this was promptly dealt with. There have been no problems since.
Krstic
08/08/2006, 12:40 PM
Im not disputing the need (or no need) for a PSNI presence , just asking the question why did UEFA give a dispensation to Derry , can someone please explain.
Well why would anyone want to actually advertise the fact that the PSNI who are not acceptable to a large protion of People living in Northern Ireland, will be on duty in an area where there is a sizeable support for (R)IRA.
Trust me, everything that goes on on A match day at the brandywell has the full backing and assitance(if required) from the local PSNI.
The police are not requireed, therefore they don't come Fullstop.
Krstic
08/08/2006, 1:01 PM
As for your childish European jibe, we were in a superior competition and therefore up against superior opposition. When we were in the UEFA Cup last season, we also win our opening tie but I suppose for Derry it is an achievement to be even playing in Europe, some of us are used to it.
I've only quoted this part of your post 'cause it's so funny, the rest is just your usual 'I hate Derry City' drivel.
Gorica of Slovenia, such pedigree.
Can i remind you we beat twice UEFA Cup winners in our game
I've only quoted this part of your post 'cause it's so funny, the rest is just your usual 'I hate Derry City' drivel.
Gorica of Slovenia, such pedigree.
Can i remind you we beat twice UEFA Cup winners in our game
They are so good, they could not win their league. Not taking away from what was an excellent result but surely you can accept that you will face tougher opposition in the Champions league than you will in the UEFA Cup.
Krstic
08/08/2006, 2:28 PM
They are so good, they could not win their league. Not taking away from what was an excellent result but surely you can accept that you will face tougher opposition in the Champions league than you will in the UEFA Cup.
Possibly, but you didn't, you met an inferior team. A team where most of their star players from the previous season left to join Swedish teams.
Yet you failed to beat them.
Do I need my Passport to go to Scotland?:D
Possibly, but you didn't, you met an inferior team. A team where most of their star players from the previous season left to join Swedish teams.
Yet you failed to beat them.
Do I need my Passport to go to Scotland?:D
No, not for internal travel within the United Kingdom. ;)
By the way we played a team who have won their league the last 3 years in a row and Slovenian football is certainly not a bad standard. You have got to the same round in the UEFA Cup that we did last season.
One more fact of interest. When we were in your group in Setanta, we topped the group, you went out in third place. :p
08/08/2006, 5:36 PM
Aye,
And did our part time players go on holidays when we were in Europe?
Further Sweden's UEFA Coefficient is higher than than Slovenia's...........
Aye,
And did our part time players go on holidays when we were in Europe?
Further Sweden's UEFA Coefficient is higher than than Slovenia's...........
Fair enough, when you beat the reigning Swedish champions give me a shout, oh sorry that would involve you winning your own league first.
08/08/2006, 7:10 PM
Fair enough, when you beat the reigning Swedish champions give me a shout, oh sorry that would involve you winning your own league first.
No it wouldn't.
08/08/2006, 8:09 PM
And when Linfield beat anyone of substance in European competition, cryo-genically unfreeze me - will ya.........:rolleyes:
David
09/08/2006, 12:06 PM
And when Linfield beat anyone of substance in European competition, cryo-genically unfreeze me - will ya.........:rolleyes:
What like the reigning League of Ireland champions?
09/08/2006, 12:18 PM
What like the reigning League of Ireland champions?
Well, yes ! They beat the Cypriot champions and progressed to the 2nd round.
How did Linfield do in Europe this year? Feel free to chip-in the performance of any of the other IL Euro entrants to help you out, if you want.....:rolleyes:
Keep digging.....
*cough*
2003 Malmo
2004 Djurgardens
Both Swedish champions both fell to the sword of the mighty CCFC
*cough*
2003 Malmo
2004 Djurgardens
Both Swedish champions both fell to the sword of the mighty CCFC
Fair play to you, was directed towards the Derry fans though. :D
Well, yes ! They beat the Cypriot champions and progressed to the 2nd round.
My post was in reply to a request to who Linfield have beaten in Europe. I was merely pointing out that the last time we played against an Irish team in Europe we beat them, thanks to a goal by a certain David Jeffrey. :)
David Jeffrey. :)
He actually played football:eek: :D
Was on Man Utd's book when young before coming home and playing centre half for Linfield for many years. Was quite well known for his "robust" tackling. :p
Shelsman
09/08/2006, 4:56 PM
Lads, stop arguing.
With regards to Derry's home fixture if they get through, I would suggest Flancare Park -it is closer than Dublin and has a greater seated capacity than the Brandywell, not sure of the floodlights etc though it was good enough for Longford to play their Euro games there ( albeit in the first preliminary round each time ).
All in all, I'm sure everyone would agree that the best solution would be for Derry to get a greater seated capacity ( can ye not get a 100 year / long term lease from the council or something? ).
We're trying but the extra seats is probally to keep us quiet for a year or 2 which it wont. IF we go through, the game can be played earlier say 4.30 or something.:(
09/08/2006, 9:23 PM
Lads, stop arguing.
With regards to Derry's home fixture if they get through, I would suggest Flancare Park -it is closer than Dublin and has a greater seated capacity than the Brandywell, not sure of the floodlights etc though it was good enough for Longford to play their Euro games there ( albeit in the first preliminary round each time ).
Longford ?!?!? :eek: You forgot the smiley !
We'll be playing our games at Brandywell as long as there is any way whatsoever of doing so. City play in Derry.
09/08/2006, 9:24 PM
My post was in reply to a request to who Linfield have beaten in Europe. I was merely pointing out that the last time we played against an Irish team in Europe we beat them, thanks to a goal by a certain David Jeffrey. :)
Just you dwell on past 'glories' David........ :o
David
09/08/2006, 10:26 PM
Just you dwell on past 'glories' David........ :o
No need, we had enough glories last season to keep us going. When you have won a quarter of what we have won come and talk to me. Incidentally you seem happy enough talking about Gothenberg's past glories. Double standards there Steve?
10/08/2006, 12:57 AM
No need, we had enough glories last season to keep us going.
Like what - having fans partaking in medieval-style hand-to-hand on-pitch combat during the Irish Cup Final and failing to retain the Setanta Cup? Glory indeed....
Incidentally you seem happy enough talking about Gothenberg's past glories. Double standards there Steve?
Not at all. Because Gothenborg have won things of note (2 UEFA Cups ayone...?)
Or are you now trying to say that Linfield's history is on a par with theirs.....? :o
Keep digging.....
Like what - having fans partaking in medieval-style hand-to-hand on-pitch combat during the Irish Cup Final and failing to retain the Setanta Cup? Glory indeed....
Really have not got a notion what you are on about with regards to the Cup Final. :confused:
As for the Setanta, I thought we did quite well. Topped our group and put out in a close semi final to the eventual winners of the competition. We won it the year before so I think our Setanta record is better than anyone else.
Not at all. Because Gothenborg have won things of note (2 UEFA Cups ayone...?)
Or are you now trying to say that Linfield's history is on a par with theirs.....? :o
Keep digging.....
When exactly did they win it? 1986 was the last time. We could talk about beating Man City at Windsor Park in the ECWC, the then holders of the competition and only going out on away goals if you want to talk about playing clubs of real pedigree instead of a club who had success 20 years in the past.
charliesboots
10/08/2006, 8:33 AM
We could talk about beating Man City ..... if you want to talk about playing clubs of real pedigree
LOL
sorry Danny
LOL
sorry Danny
Try to keep up. At the time they were the holders of the Cup Winners at the time and one of the top clubs in Europe.
charliesboots
10/08/2006, 9:21 AM
It was actually a deliberate recycling of your post for humour's sake......but keep digging
10/08/2006, 10:50 AM
Try to keep up. At the time they were the holders of the Cup Winners at the time and one of the top clubs in Europe.
so your greatest achievement is loosing to Man City?
you sound like UCD going on about their Everton narrow moral victory!
David
10/08/2006, 10:58 AM
so your greatest achievement is loosing to Man City?
you sound like UCD going on about their Everton narrow moral victory!
I was talking about winning the home league. As for our greatest achievement in Europe, that was probably reaching the Quarter Final of the European Cup.
BohsFans
10/08/2006, 4:35 PM
One final point, we do not have a racism problem. In the past we had a problem with a handful of idiots and this was promptly dealt with. There have been no problems since.
I could hear racist chanting towards Ndo when Shels played at Linfield this season, and that was ON TV, I wasn't even @ the game! :eek: :mad:
sorry - that was me
i just dont like Ndo
David
10/08/2006, 10:58 PM
Which is the incident I have acknowledged and has now been dealt with, hence the anti racism display from our team at Tolka. One guy tried to start that night at Tolka and our entire support rounded on him.
CharlesThompson
10/08/2006, 11:50 PM
*ehrm*
So now that Derry are through, what is the story for additional seating at the Brandywell. I would surmise that you could fill the capacity of the ground at least 3 or 4 times over. Will there be a chance of one of the TV stations showing the match live as there's sure to be huge interest in it?
10/08/2006, 11:53 PM
*ehrm*
So now that Derry are through, what is the story for additional seating at the Brandywell. I would surmise that you could fill the capacity of the ground at least 3 or 4 times over. Will there be a chance of one of the TV stations showing the match live as there's sure to be huge interest in it?
Think they're getting 450 extra seats or something shíte like that :rolleyes:
higgins
10/08/2006, 11:56 PM
You wont be allowed play the UEFA Round 1 game in the Brandywell so you better get thinking :confused:
BohsFans
11/08/2006, 12:09 AM
Which is the incident I have acknowledged and has now been dealt with, hence the anti racism display from our team at Tolka. One guy tried to start that night at Tolka and our entire support rounded on him.
Fair play to your support for doing that! It's one thing that always really annoys me about "football fans".
However I don't think you can claim:
One final point, we do not have a racism problem.. It's easy to do away from home, but at home it's a different story with seemingly more people of his persuasion at it.
A banner doesn't change things, but the club should be applauded for being proactive, as well as the real supporters.
Fair play to your support for doing that! It's one thing that always really annoys me about "football fans".
However I don't think you can claim: . It's easy to do away from home, but at home it's a different story with seemingly more people of his persuasion at it.
A banner doesn't change things, but the club should be applauded for being proactive, as well as the real supporters.
The Ndo incident was thankfully an isolated one and I now feel the racism problem, small as it was, has now been dealt with as morons who would do this know that our supporters simply will not tolerate it. That is why I said we do not have a racism problem because I simply feel that we do not any longer and hopefully this will show if we happen to be up against Shels and Ndo in the next Setanta Cup.