View Full Version : Gretna fans and Co

Pages : 1 2 [3]

Shelsman
01/08/2006, 4:38 PM
Actually, they'd finished last in the SPL, if memory serves. They avoided relegation because the league was expanded and they lost the Cup Final to Celtic.

I stand corrected.

Shelsman
01/08/2006, 4:41 PM
No that honour goes to boez with you lot catching up fast.

Are you sure? Do you mean quantity wise or as a percentage of matches lost out of those played?

Derry are on a hiding to nothing here IMO. If they go through it'll be great but if they go out it will give more ammunition for the ill informed cabbages...........KOH

Scarily very true, but this is always the case for clubs that are seen as 'bigger' when playing 'minnows'. Obviously in our case there are a lot of knobs and knockers out there!

Saint Tom
01/08/2006, 6:19 PM
we also had a memorable result against a scottish side in recent years 0-0 in celtic park :eek:

one to rank amongst the leagues finest moments

02/08/2006, 9:49 AM
FFS Tom we've drawn with Hearts since than get over it with ure bleedin Celtic obssession! :p

monkey magic
02/08/2006, 1:42 PM
I think it might have been the huns who beat them 4-0, and also it could have been that the club who should have been promoted hadn't got a good enough ground.
yep, falkirk if im not wrong

02/08/2006, 5:57 PM
Always rely on rsssf to settle an argument!

We're both right (http://www.rsssf.com/tabless/scot00.html). The league was expanded, but Aberdeen were to be in a play-off with Falkirk, which was not held as their ground wasn't up to scratch.

Aberdeen lost 4-0 to Rangers alright. Jim Leighton's last game, I think? (Broke his jaw after about ten minutes). They lost 2-0 to Celtic in the League Cup Final.

02/08/2006, 8:10 PM
best of luck to Gretna in the "Battle of Britain"I wish they could decide whether they are English or Scottish as well......

03/08/2006, 10:17 AM
our budget is bigger, our players are paid more and our team is better

Hmmm... where were you when your team were struggling against the likes of Stocksbridge Park Steels, Bamber Bridge and Witton Albion in Unibond Division 1? Eighteenth in your final Unibond season, wasn't it? But then you wouldn't know because you weren't one of the eighty-average crowd your lot "enjoyed" in that final, forgettable, English league season. :rolleyes:

Face it, without Brooks Mileson and his millions you would still be a pub team yourselves. That said, I've followed your team's rise with fascination and look forward to seeing you (getting gubbed) at Celtic Park before too long.

:ball: PP

05/08/2006, 3:45 PM
Jaysus, Gretna won 6-0 today.

hoopy
05/08/2006, 5:10 PM
That just lets them get an even bigger theory that they'll stuff Derry. Hopefully after 10 mins they'll realise that Derry are a lot better than any of the crap they'll play in their league

Dazzy
05/08/2006, 5:11 PM
Even Wes didnt want to stay around long in their league.

06/08/2006, 4:31 PM
Jaysus, Gretna won 6-0 today.

Two big things to take out of that game for me.

Firstly, a 6:0 win in their first game in the Scottish First Division will helpfully even further inflate the egos/expectations of everyone involved with what is essentially a pub/village team (though without even a village to belong to). Though it does also underline the fact that Gretna will be no pushover by any means.

Secondly : despite being the highest level of game Gretna have played to-date - within 5 days of their first ever Euro appearance - the crowd at that game was only 1,600. Not bad for a townland with a population of only 2,500, but it shows the utter finnacial folly of what Mileson is doing. With crowds like that the club will be in freefall when he inevitably pulls the plug at some point.

Also - City expect to bring as many away fans to the UEFA game in Glasgow as the total attendance at Gretna's first ever Scottish First Division home game. Who's the pub team now, eh....?

06/08/2006, 4:46 PM
If the EL Premier isn't better than the Scottish First, we might as well all give up! I will be very disappointed if Derry do not beat Gretna, given that they have already beaten better teams than Gretna this season in Europe.

JC_GUFC
06/08/2006, 6:05 PM
Gretna are only a Scottish Division 1 side in name, they beat Hamilton 6-0 in their first league game at the weekend. Realistically they would be as good as Kilmarnock/Aberdeen/Motherwell. Derry are a similar standard.

I'd recommend you to back Derry to win the 1st leg at 9/2 with William Hill though - the price must have been set by a Gretna fan! :p :D

06/08/2006, 6:11 PM
Also - City expect to bring as many away fans to the UEFA game in Glasgow as the total attendance at Gretna's first ever Scottish First Division home game. Who's the pub team now, eh....?

We have already sold more tickets for the away leg then there were at the game yesterday.

06/08/2006, 10:11 PM
We have already sold more tickets for the away leg then there were at the game yesterday.

Phenomenal news Maribor - how many gone so far ?

I've just ordered another one off you online.... :)

06/08/2006, 10:19 PM
If the EL Premier isn't better than the Scottish First, we might as well all give up! I will be very disappointed if Derry do not beat Gretna, given that they have already beaten better teams than Gretna this season in Europe.

We have no divine right to be arbitrarily better than any league or division. We'll be as good or as bad as the results show over the next two weeks. I don't know why people assume or believe Gretna will be beaten. They're a progressive club in the ascendancy. The very fact they're in European competition is testament to this. The fact they obliterated all opposition last year means you can't possibly judge their weakness. They may turn out to be not as good as they sound right now, but I don't know how anyone could know that for sure unless they've watched them play a fair few times over the last year.

Philly
07/08/2006, 12:08 PM
McMenamin signs for Gretna
Tuesday, August 1st, 2006

Former Newcastle United and Livingston forward Colin McMenamin signed for Gretna today from Shrewsbury Town on a free transfer.

McMenamin began his career at neighbours Annan Athletic alongside midfielder Ryan McGuffie before they both joined the Magpies. McMenamin also had a spell on loan at Falkirk in 2003.

He made 44 appearances for The Shrews last season, scoring 11 times.

McMenamin joins former Blackburn Rovers defender Craig Barr as manager Rowan Alexander’s fourth signing of the close season.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Seems like the sort of player that could cause Derry some problems.

Dazzy
07/08/2006, 12:48 PM
Seems like the sort of player that could cause Derry some problems.

No he wont, he cant play.

Philly
07/08/2006, 1:43 PM
You sure?

Dazzy
07/08/2006, 2:09 PM
I not sure if it was him but there is an article in the sunday mail with an interview with one of their players about not being allowed to play in the game.

/Edit: http://www.sundaymail.co.uk/sport/football/tm_objectid=17519865%26method=full%26siteid=64736-name_page.html
it is him.

07/08/2006, 8:53 PM
Interesting to see the Irish youth international Brendan McGill, scored 2 goals for Gretna in their 6-0 victory at the weekend. McGill played on the successful UEFA u-16 team in the late ninties, along with John O'Shea and Andy Reid. He was with Sunderland, where he was released to Carlise. He done well there but eventually fell out of favour and was sold to Gretna. Still a decent player iMO.

07/08/2006, 9:24 PM
I think it might have been the huns who beat them 4-0, .

:rolleyes: oh your oh so very mature on the northside

07/08/2006, 11:49 PM
Interesting to see the Irish youth international Brendan McGill, scored 2 goals for Gretna in their 6-0 victory at the weekend. McGill played on the successful UEFA u-16 team in the late ninties, along with John O'Shea and Andy Reid. He was with Sunderland, where he was released to Carlise. He done well there but eventually fell out of favour and was sold to Gretna. Still a decent player iMO.

I don't know anything about the lad, but I'd question whether anyone who's career trajectory saw them move from Sunderland to Carlisle and then onto Gretna was of much use, to be honest.

That's no doubt jinxed him to score against us on Thursday now..... :o

11/08/2006, 3:29 AM
Derry-Gretna: Mypost wisdom:

Full-timers, in season v Scottish lower league makeweights. Bit of a mismatch really. Derry should romp home both times.

Derry have not only the opportunity to win this round, but to do it convincingly.

I don't expect Derry to further embarrass the league by losing to a Scottish lower division team.

Derry City are one of the top teams in our league, Gretna are a lower league team in Scotland. Furthermore, they are only in the competition, because they happened to play Hearts in the Scottish Cup Final. Gretna's players will lack competitive match practice in comparison to Derry's going into it. Scoring a load of goals against the likes of Alloa, Arbroath, and Stirling Albion every week is one thing, winning in Europe at your first attempt is quite another.

And what did the Gretna defenders come up with?

its only Derry City, our budget is bigger, our players are paid more and our team is better. Im going to have a field day quoting all of "Patricks" posts when we knock these spud pickers out

Anyone who thinks these are naturally a "lower league" Scottish pushover are deluding themselves.

mypost, I'm getting sick of your ramblings. Are you too fcukin' lazy to go and find some info on Gretna? They STEAMROLLED the third division, then STEAMROLLED the second. Now will you stop talkin' sh!t and think about that? Please? Thank Christ theres someone on here with a realistic outlook on this tie - step forward Poor Student.

we're going on about Gretna fans talking crap and knowing nothing then we have eL lads coming out with stuff like this. They're not just a Scottish First Division side. They're Gretna, a club who are in the ascendancy rather than a stagnant first division midtable regular who are going nowhere. I don't know why people assume or believe Gretna will be beaten. Do you know anything about the global game?

My post, will you do some research and stop your inane babbling. Gretna have got to be favourites.

Another piece of superb logic brought to you by mypost!

Mypost proved right once again. Read carefully next time.

:D :D :D

11/08/2006, 1:04 PM
Good old tabloid nonsense from you - highlight the rare occasions you're right, ignore the copious times you're talking sh!te.

Like - you've taken my post completely out of context.

11/08/2006, 1:12 PM
Just because you made a wild assumption based on ignorance rather than actual knowledge and it happened to be correct it doesn't mean you deserve a pat on the back.

11/08/2006, 1:44 PM
I hope the foot.ie six enjoy their humble pie. :D

I didn't make any wild assumptions. I told you what would happen as soon as the draw was made. The result of it is what happens when you talk up clearly inferior opposition.

11/08/2006, 2:01 PM
Good old tabloid nonsense from you - highlight the rare occasions you're right, ignore the copious times you're talking sh!te.

Like - you've taken my post completely out of context.

We can play this game as well stu:

You can say it 'til you're blue in the face (:rolleyes: ), but Longford's defeat to Vaduz was down there with the worst results ever by LOI sides in European football. Vaduz are not Valencia. It wasn't a narrow defeat either, Longford were 4-0 down at one point, to a side that come from a "country" that bring nothing to either European or World football, (except the ability to constantly lose matches) and there's in-season Longford getting walloped by an out-of season Swiss 2nd division side!! Unbelievable.

If they don't win this tie, it will be the worst NL European result, since Longford were sent packing by Vaduz.

Sorry, but we will go on about it, ...for decades. No NL team should suffer the disgrace, humiliation, and embarrassment of losing to Vaduz.

Vaduz's translation in European football = shi-te. Shels and Cork would run rings around them. Vaduz represent a country with no national league, play in the Swiss lower divisions, and like Carmanthen, get walked all over by everyone else in Europe - bar Longford. :mad:

As far as I am concerned, there is no excuse for any team who doesn't win against Vaduz over two legs. :rolleyes:

Vaduz are permanent Eurotrash, and it's a disgrace to our league that you lost to them.

As regards Shels result against Hibernians, I excuse their defeat, as even though they should have progressed, they were very, very unlucky to lose the tie in the last minute. Even Real Madrid would struggle to come back from an 89th-minute winner against them!!

I could go on...

11/08/2006, 2:20 PM
Im going to have a field day quoting all of "Patricks" posts when we knock these spud pickers out :cool:

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Would you like fries with your Haggis? :D

11/08/2006, 3:09 PM
We can play this game as well stu:

I could go on...
And this is the same Vaduz who are still very much in with a chance of knocking Basle out, who I seem to remember beat Liverpool and Juventus a few years ago...

ciaraa
11/08/2006, 3:50 PM
Derry-Gretna: Mypost wisdom:

And what did the Gretna defenders come up with?

Mypost proved right once again. Read carefully next time.

:D :D :D

you can boast but this would have been ok except for your crazy vaduz synopsis. anyone with even the slightest knowledge of euro football can tell you that vaduz are a decent team.

nshoop
11/08/2006, 3:53 PM
It doesn't take a rocket scientist to realise derry are a better team and were always goin to win and probably comfortably and mypost is on a wind up with that vaduz sh*te,I wouldn't mind him

11/08/2006, 4:09 PM
It doesn't take a rocket scientist to realise derry are a better team and were always goin to win and probably comfortably and mypost is on a wind up with that vaduz sh*te,I wouldn't mind him

He's not on a windup with FC Vaduz

The amount of times he brings it up and his blinkered belief that they're all cuckoo clock makers down there suggests he truly believes his own hackneyed views

11/08/2006, 4:15 PM
you can boast but this would have been ok except for your crazy vaduz synopsis. anyone with even the slightest knowledge of euro football can tell you that vaduz are a decent team.

Indeed they are so Longford bashers should steer clear of the Vaduz stick to beat them with.

Carmarthen on the other hand........;)

11/08/2006, 5:17 PM
Indeed they are so Longford bashers should steer clear of the Vaduz stick to beat them with.

Carmarthen on the other hand........;)
That's a different story unfortunately :(

11/08/2006, 5:26 PM
It doesn't take a rocket scientist to realise derry are a better team and were always goin to win and probably comfortably
I genuinely don't understand this?

Derry were rank outsiders in the bookies and Gretna's wage bill is probably 5 times ours. I fancied us to squeeze it over 2 legs but never imagined how it would play out.

By downplaying Gretna you are also taking away from Derry's performance.

Their first half showed they are no bucket side and their movement up front caused us far more trouble than IFK.

11/08/2006, 9:56 PM
And this is the same Vaduz who are still very much in with a chance of knocking Basle out.

There's as much chance of them knocking Basle out, as Gretna have of overturning a 5-1 deficit in Derry. Vaduz are as good as Liechtenstein, and we know how good they are, don't we? I'm happy to say that I haven't needed to get the Vaduz-ometer out this year for an Irish club in Europe yet.

I'm sick of posters talking up inferior opponents against our teams, be it club or international. Why can't we admit to, and play like, the favourites we are? Derry were, are, and will continue to be a better side than Gretna, no matter what the competition. In David v Goliath games, the Goliath wins 9 times out of 10. Longford were playing in the 10th.

nshoop
11/08/2006, 10:03 PM
I genuinely don't understand this?

Derry were rank outsiders in the bookies and Gretna's wage bill is probably 5 times ours. I fancied us to squeeze it over 2 legs but never imagined how it would play out.

By downplaying Gretna you are also taking away from Derry's performance.

Their first half showed they are no bucket side and their movement up front caused us far more trouble than IFK.

Never said they were a bucket side and I'm well aware that they have good players with high wages but Derry a quality side that have everything from strenght to skill and passing ability, and finishing ability as we saw.It's a complement,take it.Yous were sh*te only 3 or 4 years ago with big dopes who'd kick you off the park and hoof the ball long and now you're getting picky about complements?Gretna were good,Derry outclassed them end of story.

12/08/2006, 11:52 AM
Vaduz are as good as Liechtenstein

Why is that, genius? Most of their players are foreign. They're as good as the 11 players they send out on the park. You're talking uninformed nonsense again.

13/08/2006, 1:00 AM
Vaduz are as good as Liechtenstein
So UCD are as good as Ireland. Yayyy! :)

20/07/2011, 9:36 AM
Since the recent demise of Continuity Home Farm, I've been wondering what to adopt as my new signature on Foot.ie.

Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, our good friend Gretna Gimp has presented me a gift from the Gods in the above quote. It will be my new signature if City beat the Cinderella English Kiddy-fiddling Townland of Gretna.

I love the whole "our budget is bigger, our players are paid more, so we must be better - right !?!" attitude. The look on the face of various Gothenborg players when they were well beaten 1:0 at home effectively said the same thing.

Your budget is bigger because you have a bored millionaire who took pity on your little English hamlet.

Your players are paid more because no fecker in their right mind would move themselves and their family to your kiddy fiddling little townland if you weren't throwing wedges of cash at them.

And as you'll soon discover, the above 2 facts unfortunately do not make your 3rd assertion re the quality of your side a fact either.

Roll on the 10th August !

The worry of a matured councillor might regret this previous post about kiddy-fiddling :D