View Full Version : Gretna fans and Co
30/07/2006, 2:51 PM
If they don't win this tie, it will be the worst NL European result, since Longford were sent packing by Vaduz.
Do you know anything about the global game? Vaduz were actually in a similar situation to Gretna. A progressive ambitous big spending club coming from the lower reaches of the Swiss league to the playoffs to play in the top flight. I know they took a dip last year but Vaduz have now reached the 2nd qualifying round for the 3rd successive year. I didn't consider Vaduz knocking out Longford an upset. I saw it as a near Swiss top flight team knocking out our weakest European team rather than Liechtenstein minnows humiliate Longford.
SPXcyan
30/07/2006, 3:14 PM
Ive seen gretna play last season.. and I tell you.. Gretna are a very good team.. and would challenge the title here!! plz dont underestimate these guys!!! they are much better than they seem!!
Roverstillidie
30/07/2006, 3:29 PM
Do you know anything about the global game? Vaduz were actually in a similar situation to Gretna. A progressive ambitous big spending club coming from the lower reaches of the Swiss league to the playoffs to play in the top flight. I know they took a dip last year but Vaduz have now reached the 2nd qualifying round for the 3rd successive year. I didn't consider Vaduz knocking out Longford an upset. I saw it as a near Swiss top flight team knocking out our weakest European team rather than Liechtenstein minnows humiliate Longford.
they lost to a team from litchenstien. you can fluff it up all you like, it was probably the lowest ebb ever for irish sides in europe
30/07/2006, 3:32 PM
they lost to a team from litchenstien. you can fluff it up all you like
There's no fluffing up. They lost to second best team in the Swiss 2nd flight, a team who are also professional and have a similar record to eL sides in Europe over the last few years.
they lost to a team from litchenstien. you can fluff it up all you like, it was probably the lowest ebb ever for irish sides in europe
No, losing to the welsh team was the lowest since Pats 0-10 against the Macedonians.
BohsFans
30/07/2006, 5:45 PM
No, losing to the welsh team was the lowest since Pats 0-10 against the Macedonians.
Moldovans
30/07/2006, 6:06 PM
See, we're going on about Gretna fans talking crap and knowing nothing then we have eL lads coming out with stuff like this.
By that, I take it you expect Gretna to win.
Another piece of superb logic brought to you by mypost!
This tie is effectively SPL v eL. Gretna are buying players by virtue of paying more than some SPL teams. Granted, they didn't meet any SPL teams en route to the Cup Final, but they only lost to Hearts on penalties. I would have Derry as slight favourites, because (a) I don't think Gretna - or any SPL side outside the top three - is as good as Göteborg, (b) because Gretna will only have one league game under their belts, (c) because they're playing 75 miles away from their home ground and (d) because Gretna are used to playing SD2 and SD3 teams and will have to step up their game to play Derry.
30/07/2006, 9:00 PM
Yes, not going to hide anything on this, the Carmarthen match was a disgrace but the defeat to Vaduz was not. They were an extremely good team.
SuperGretna
30/07/2006, 9:38 PM
Im going to have a field day quoting all of "Patricks" posts when we knock these spud pickers out :cool:
30/07/2006, 10:03 PM
I am sure the Bogside can be quiet intimidating to outsiders that never visited before...?
I'm sure it can be as well. But as we don't play there, it's a strange point to bring up.
nshoop
30/07/2006, 10:47 PM
Hopefully the mods will keep supergretna on the site until after derry beat them so that we can all have a laugh at the jock and then they can f*ck him out
Speranza
30/07/2006, 10:48 PM
Just to add to Steve's post...I am confused by that post Pete. Is it a claim that the republican surroundings of the Bogside would strike fear into a football team? You know full well we aren't about that and never will be, we will scare the **** out of Gretna in the same way we did to Goteburg but it will not be via sectarian/politcal means.
31/07/2006, 2:03 AM
I have said it before and will say it again, Vaduz would easily stand there ground in the eL, and IMHO be challenging for the title.
You can say it 'til you're blue in the face (:rolleyes: ), but Longford's defeat to Vaduz was down there with the worst results ever by LOI sides in European football. Vaduz are not Valencia. It wasn't a narrow defeat either, Longford were 4-0 down at one point, to a side that come from a "country" that bring nothing to either European or World football, (except the ability to constantly lose matches) and there's in-season Longford getting walloped by an out-of season Swiss 2nd division side!! :eek: Unbelievable.
Derry are better than Longford, and I don't expect Derry to further embarrass the league by losing to a Scottish lower division team.
31/07/2006, 3:21 AM
mypost, I'm getting sick of your ramblings. Tell me this, setting aside Rovers "unbelievable" history in Europe :rolleyes: , why would Derry getting beat by Gretna be an embarassment? Are you too fcukin' lazy to go and find some info on Gretna? They STEAMROLLED the third division, then STEAMROLLED the second, and I'd be very surprised if they aren't preparing for life in the SPL this time next year. They are being pure BANKROLLED and to an extent than NO Eircom League team can compare. Now will you stop talkin' sh!t and think about that? Please? and not just you...but a few others on here too!!!
31/07/2006, 3:42 AM
setting aside Rovers "unbelievable" history in Europe
What has Rovers' European history got to do with this topic?? :confused:
They STEAMROLLED the third division
Yeah, so what??
then STEAMROLLED the second
Yeah, so what??
why would Derry getting beat by Gretna be an embarassment?
Derry City are one of the top teams in our league, Gretna are a lower league team in Scotland. Furthermore, they are only in the competition, because they happened to play Hearts in the Scottish Cup Final. Gretna's players will lack competitive match practice in comparison to Derry's going into it, Gretna's pre-season form has hardly set pulses racing, and Derry are flying in our league. If you can handle Gothenburg, you can deal with Gretna. If you can't, you will have let the league down badly.
Ronnie
31/07/2006, 8:33 AM
My post, will you do some research and stop your inane babbling. FC Vaduz are a far stronger club than most EL sides. Gretna are a full time outfit, who will have started their season. Derry had a great result against Gothenberg, but as all Derry fans know they had to play extremely well in both games to achieve it. If Derry win through it will be a great achievement, but Gretna have got to be favourites.
CuanaD
31/07/2006, 9:32 AM
Gretna in the Scot.Div2 this year:
1st - Gretna - 88 points (36 games. goal dif: +67)
Second: - 70 points
Third: - 57 points
Definitly better than your average 2nd division team! - Look likely to win straight up to the Premier this year. They are going to be a very difficult proposition - more so because they are an unknown quantity. Like every eircom League fan I HOPE Derry can beat them, but I don't EXPECT it - should be two good games.:ball:
CuanaD
31/07/2006, 9:44 AM
Vaduz - this year have knocked out a Hungarian team 4:1 on agragate (won the 1st leg 4:0 AWAY, so were able to sit back for the second leg). They will now meet Basel in the next round (so two teams from the Swis leagues!)
They also won their first round last year - beating Moldovans 2:1 on agragate
lofty9
31/07/2006, 10:06 AM
This tie is up for grabs for both teams. The main factor favouring Derry IMO is the fact that Gretna have to play away from home in two matches. We are going to bring are relatively large vocal support to Motherwell and I know our players will relish taking on a Scottish team in Fir Park. At the Brandywell we can take on anybody, Gretna will have their work cut out to get a result there. There are plans to get an extra 1,500 - 2,000 seats installed for this game. The atmosphere created at the Branywell in the big games is something else. Here's to hoping.
31/07/2006, 10:50 AM
You can say it 'til you're blue in the face (:rolleyes: ), but Longford's defeat to Vaduz was down there with the worst results ever by LOI sides in European football. Vaduz are not Valencia. It wasn't a narrow defeat either, Longford were 4-0 down at one point, to a side that come from a "country" that bring nothing to either European or World football, (except the ability to constantly lose matches) and there's in-season Longford getting walloped by an out-of season Swiss 2nd division side!! :eek: Unbelievable.
Derry are better than Longford, and I don't expect Derry to further embarrass the league by losing to a Scottish lower division team.
Whatever you think yourself. You've probably never seen Vaduz play so you are just making stupid assumptions that they were a crap team. Thing is, they weren't crap.
31/07/2006, 11:03 AM
mypost, I'm getting sick of your ramblings. Tell me this, setting aside Rovers "unbelievable" history in Europe :rolleyes: , why would Derry getting beat by Gretna be an embarassment? Are you too fcukin' lazy to go and find some info on Gretna? They STEAMROLLED the third division, then STEAMROLLED the second, and I'd be very surprised if they aren't preparing for life in the SPL this time next year. They are being pure BANKROLLED and to an extent than NO Eircom League team can compare. Now will you stop talkin' sh!t and think about that? Please? and not just you...but a few others on here too!!!
FYI Rovers have won more games in Europe than any other Irish side.
Anyway sincerely hope Derry go through if only to shut up more barstoolers. However it will be tough cos as you rightly say they are being bankrolled. Three advantages Derry have though. One is that they have won twice in Europe already this season, two is that both games for gretna are away and three Derry are away first.
31/07/2006, 11:08 AM
Anyway sincerely hope Derry go through if only to shut up more barstoolers. However it will be tough cos as you rightly say they are being bankrolled. Three advantages Derry have though. One is that they have won twice in Europe already this season, two is that both games for gretna are away and three Derry are away first.
And 4 - we're md-season, whilst they've yet to begin.
And 5 - we'll probably be less cocky going into the game than their players will.
This match won't be the pushover that some people thingk. Gretna may be a Scottish Lower Division team, but their squad isn't and that league position is merely temporary. They're by far and away favourites for promotion to the SPL, and already have an SPL-standard team in-place for it.
Just to add to Steve's post...I am confused by that post Pete. Is it a claim that the republican surroundings of the Bogside would strike fear into a football team? You know full well we aren't about that and never will be, we will scare the **** out of Gretna in the same way we did to Goteburg but it will not be via sectarian/politcal means.
I am not trying to be political but it can be an unusual journey to outsiders not familiar with the area. I wasn't making the comment just because it was a scottish team either. Driving through the bogside would be the normal route to the Brandywell?
bluemovie
31/07/2006, 12:12 PM
Do you know anything about the global game?
Have you ever read mypost's league review?
BrayUnknowns
31/07/2006, 12:47 PM
Hey, I know we're crap and it's not necessary to imply it. I think my opinion is as valid as anyones here. I'm thinking of the league in general here. I was as delighted as anyone when you stuffed Gothenburg and even more delighted when I heard you got Gretna. We have enough Man U and Liverpool fans to contend with as it is without taking cheap pops at each other.
Nah your right Grey Boy, It's just the same way as when Carmanthan (spelling ?) trounced Longford last season, it's a real set back for the league in general.
Just in the same way that Derry and Drogheda's win's were real boosts for the league.
31/07/2006, 1:17 PM
I am not trying to be political but it can be an unusual journey to outsiders not familiar with the area. I wasn't making the comment just because it was a scottish team either. Driving through the bogside would be the normal route to the Brandywell?
Not at all - though it all depends on what direction you're travelling from and if you're walking or driving.
Most would go along the Foyle Rd, from either Craigavon Bridge or the Expressway along the river, through the edge of the Brandywell to the ground that way. I suspect the majority of vehciles would go this way.
You'd probably only go through the Bog if you were walking from town - though even then you'd be just as likely to go down Bishop St to the ground, and miss the Bog completely.
Why is it an unusual journey anyway ? In my experience people from outside the city love the Bogside, with its political history and intricately-drawn, unthreatening murals. The place was crawling with Gothenborg fans last Thursday.
Im going to have a field day quoting all of "Patricks" posts when we knock these spud pickers out :cool:
Why do you keep refering to Derry as spud pickers, aren't ther potatoes grown 7 picked in scotland? And in another post you use the term biggots biggotry is as common if not even more so in scottish life.
So do everyone a favour the f*ck up ya muppet jog on and go and eat you haggis with deep fried mars bar washed down with a nice glass of iron brew.
31/07/2006, 6:40 PM
Can anyone explain how a blatant WUM has gotten a four page thread of WUMming? Are people that unable to ignore idiots?!
This isnt half as bad as citychat. This guy is a complete and utter BALLBAG!! "IS it safe to bring a Union Jack to Derry". Wot u think u muppett!!
Dr.Nightdub
31/07/2006, 7:16 PM
Can't believe the complacency of some people here.
To win the Scottish Third, Gretna scored 130 goals in 36 games, nearly four a game. They slowed down to win the Scottish Second last year, scoring a mere 97 in 36 games, nearly three a game. They lost the Scottish Cup to Hearts on penos.
Anyone who thinks these are naturally a "lower league" Scottish pushover are deluding themselves.
nshoop
31/07/2006, 7:24 PM
To win the Scottish Third, Gretna scored 130 goals in 36 games, nearly four a game. They slowed down to win the Scottish Second last year, scoring a mere 97 in 36 games, nearly three a game. They lost the Scottish Cup to Hearts on penos.
Anyone who thinks these are naturally a "lower league" Scottish pushover are deluding themselves.
Most people acknowledge that they're a very good team in scottish division1 and that they gave hearts a good go but derry are quality especially at home and have to be favourites,I'd fancy them if they were playing hearts even!
It dosnt really matter if we underestimate them or not!! The fact is Stephen Kenny is the manager and he will drill it into the players that this will be a tough game!! Thats all that matters!
Patrick Dunne
31/07/2006, 7:44 PM
The second leg at home is major factor.
31/07/2006, 7:58 PM
Can anyone explain how a blatant WUM has gotten a four page thread of WUMming? Are people that unable to ignore idiots?!
That's a dangerous question. Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots.
SuperGretna
31/07/2006, 8:08 PM
Most people acknowledge that they're a very good team in scottish division1 and that they gave hearts a good go but derry are quality especially at home and have to be favourites,I'd fancy them if they were playing hearts even!
You'd fancy Derry to beat Hearts?
LOL, seriously how deluded are you?:D
31/07/2006, 8:11 PM
You'd fancy Derry to beat Hearts?
LOL, seriously how deluded are you?:D
And that's having watched SPL games for years. It's called an informed opinion.
How many Eircom league games have you seen recently GretnaGimp ? And how many of the zero involved Derry? 100%, I'd guess.....
31/07/2006, 8:15 PM
Scoring a load of goals against the likes of Alloa, Arbroath, and Stirling Albion every week is one thing, winning in Europe at your first attempt is quite another.
SuperGretna
31/07/2006, 8:18 PM
Actually i seen Shelbourne vs Cork live last year and it was one of the worst games of football i have seen ended 0-0, both in quality and chances it was extremely poor.
Cork went on to win the league didn't they? says it all really
I have also seen a few Irish games on Setanta, 90% of which have been poor.
Derry will struggle against us nevermind a team like Hearts who are going to qualify for the group stages of the Champions League.
SuperGretna
31/07/2006, 8:19 PM
Scoring a load of goals against the likes of Alloa, Arbroath, and Stirling Albion every week is one thing, winning in Europe at your first attempt is quite another.
Its not like we're playing Marseille, its only Derry City ffs, our budget is bigger, our players are paid more and our team is better:cool:
Its not like we're playing Marseille, its only Derry City ffs, our budget is bigger, our players are paid more and our team is better
I really hope ur players and manager take the same attitude cause if ye do ye r on a hiding to nothing. Just how lightly did Goteburg take us: two of their players were seen eating in McDonalds on day of the game!! only Derry City ffs, just ask 'wee niclas' if he enjoyed his holiday and ask Gothenburg fans are we to be taken lightly. BTW y havnt ye expressed ur views on the LOI like u did on citychat?
And WTF does ur budget and players wages got to do with this match? Do u consider Motherwell to be a better team than u?
31/07/2006, 9:01 PM
This thread is beginning to become one of those car crashes ye can't look away from!! :eek:
bigmac
01/08/2006, 9:18 AM
Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots.
POTM :D
thomas
01/08/2006, 9:34 AM
[QUOTE=dcfcsteve]And that's having watched SPL games for years. It's called an informed opinion.
QUOTE]
Roll on Derry hammering these guys.
01/08/2006, 12:11 PM
Actually i seen Shelbourne vs Cork live
You mean you saw Shelbourne v Cork. This English language is a tricky bugger, isn't it ?:p :p
best of luck to Gretna in the "Battle of Britain"
01/08/2006, 1:05 PM
Its not like we're playing Marseille, its only Derry City ffs, our budget is bigger, our players are paid more and our team is better:cool:
Since the recent demise of Continuity Home Farm, I've been wondering what to adopt as my new signature on Foot.ie.
Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, our good friend Gretna Gimp has presented me a gift from the Gods in the above quote. It will be my new signature if City beat the Cinderella English Kiddy-fiddling Townland of Gretna.
I love the whole "our budget is bigger, our players are paid more, so we must be better - right !?!" attitude. The look on the face of various Gothenborg players when they were well beaten 1:0 at home effectively said the same thing.
Your budget is bigger because you have a bored millionaire who took pity on your little English hamlet.
Your players are paid more because no fecker in their right mind would move themselves and their family to your kiddy fiddling little townland if you weren't throwing wedges of cash at them.
And as you'll soon discover, the above 2 facts unfortunately do not make your 3rd assertion re the quality of your side a fact either.
Roll on the 10th August !
Shelsman
01/08/2006, 1:10 PM
At a guess, I'd say that they've probably lost more games in Europe than any other Irish side too! :D
IMO For any team playing in Europe to draw a team from another country that is not playing in the other country's top flight ( and in Gretna's case -never has played in the SPL ), this can only be viewed as a good draw. The fact that they are so close geographically makes it a GREAT draw in that Derry can hopefully get a lot of fans over for the away match.
It may be a case that Derry and eL fans are underestimating Gretna somewhat ( myself included ), but you should also consider that their biggest attendance of all time was 2,307 fans in an FA Cup tie against Rochdale (?) according to their footymad website, so they are hardly GIANTS.
You must consider too that Bohs knocked out Aberdeen a few years ago ( who had obviously finished in the top four of the SPL ).
Also consider the matches that Shels played against Odense when compared to how Hibernians tie played out against them this year compares very favourably. Some of you might argue that Shels are a better side than Derry ( and certainly have a better European pedigree ) but Derry have had no problems beating Shels recently ( not to mention Gothenburg! ).
Just because Gretna strolled the 3rd and 2nd divisions in Scotland doesn't mean that they will do the same in the Scottish First Division -there are some relatively big clubs there who have been years trying to get out of it!
Gretna fans are probably kidding themselves about the prospect of the strolling the first division.
I guess we'll all find out how a team from the eL compares to a team in the Scottish First division in the next two weeks!
01/08/2006, 1:18 PM
At a guess, I'd say that they've probably lost more games in Europe than any other Irish side too! :D
No that honour goes to boez with you lot catching up fast.
Derry are on a hiding to nothing here IMO. If they go through it'll be great but if they go out it will give more ammunition for the ill informed cabbages...........
01/08/2006, 2:02 PM
You must consider too that Bohs knocked out Aberdeen a few years ago ( who had obviously finished in the top four of the SPL ).
Actually, they'd finished last in the SPL, if memory serves. They avoided relegation because the league was expanded and they lost the Cup Final to Celtic.
01/08/2006, 3:10 PM
Just because Gretna strolled the 3rd and 2nd divisions in Scotland doesn't mean that they will do the same in the Scottish First Division -there are some relatively big clubs there who have been years trying to get out of it!
Gretna fans are probably kidding themselves about the prospect of the strolling the first division.
Well - the bookies disagree with you there, as they all have Gretna as outrageous favourites.
And they're probably better informed than any Gretna 'fan' !