View Full Version : Derry and Drogs UEFA matches -your prediction

Shelsman
13/07/2006, 12:56 PM
What do you think the results will be tonight lads?

I'd say:

IFK Gothenburg 2-1 Derry City

HJK Helsinki 1-1 Drogheda Utd ( though wouldn't be surprise by 0-0 or 0-1 for this one )

Glad to read that both Irish sides will be 'going for it'.

13/07/2006, 12:59 PM
what do the bookies think ?

we really need two wins for our co-efficent

13/07/2006, 1:04 PM
Two very tough games. Would be happy if both sides were in with a chance in the home leg. Though I see that MyPa only beat TNS of Wales 1-0 last night. They're currently level with HJK in the Finnish League. Bit of encouragement there!

Speranza
13/07/2006, 1:05 PM
We got a horrendous draw but we just don't play defensive football so I have faith in our ability to play at this level. We don't have Ciaran Martyn for the match and he is a far bigger loss to us than the lauded Pat Mc Court. It will be a hard slog but if we keep the tie alive for the second leg I'll be delighted.

13/07/2006, 1:05 PM
what do the bookies think ?

we really need two wins for our co-efficent
Paddy Power
HJK Helsinki v Drogheda United Home 2 - 5 Draw 11 - 4 Away 6 - 1
IFK Gothenborg v Derry City Home 2 - 9 Away 4 - 1 Draw 8 - 1

13/07/2006, 1:07 PM
Two wins ..... it has to be !! :ball:

13/07/2006, 1:09 PM
We got a horrendous draw but we just don't play defensive football so I have faith in our ability to play at this level. We don't have Ciaran Martyn for the match and he is a far bigger loss to us than the lauded Pat Mc Court.
I agree. Runners from midfield such as Martyn invaluable in Europe.

IFK Gothenburg 2-0 Derry City

HJK Helsinki 0-0 Drogheda United

ccfcgirl
13/07/2006, 4:08 PM
Hopfully 2 wins ....

higgins
13/07/2006, 4:10 PM
Can you get the games over internet radio does anyone know?

LMFM are doing updates but I cant find streaming for them :confused:

13/07/2006, 4:12 PM
Hopfully 2 wins ....

2 away wins against seeded opposition would be brilliant, especially for the coefficent.

2 draws would be very good. Realistically once both ties are alive for the 2nd leg is the main thing.

Real ale Madrid
13/07/2006, 4:14 PM
If anyone can post an update here it would be great, stuck at work.

13/07/2006, 4:16 PM
Just back from PP's there, €5 on Drugs to win and Derry to draw!

13/07/2006, 4:20 PM
Is the Drogs game taking place right now? Aertel says it starts at 5:00 but doesn't even show it as 0-0.:rolleyes:

Real ale Madrid
13/07/2006, 4:20 PM
Drogs play at 5, Derry at 6 AFAIK.

13/07/2006, 4:22 PM
Drogheda are 0-0 after 20 mins according to livescores.net. Aertel don't seem to have noticed that it's started yet. :rolleyes:

higgins
13/07/2006, 4:25 PM
MyPa only won 1-0 against TNS and HAKA something or other are now 2-0 down to the unseeded estonians at HT.

Seems like its Droghedas chance for success tonight.

and it will pocket me 190euro :)

13/07/2006, 4:38 PM
0-0 Drogheda atm, 36' mins.

bluemovie
13/07/2006, 4:42 PM
Over two legs, I'd say Drogheda will come through, but Derry won't - unlucky that they got a tough draw.

higgins
13/07/2006, 4:44 PM
I think Derry in the Brandywell can be a tough game for anyone.

They beat Drogheda 4-0 a couple of weeks back and Drogheda dont let too many in. I know it was the LC but I am 50/50 with Derry as long as they can maybe grab an away goal along the line.

13/07/2006, 4:46 PM
Drogs 1-0 UP just as half time approaches!!

http://www.livescore.com/default.dll?page=home

higgins
13/07/2006, 4:47 PM
190 euro on the way :p

Thanks to 'Robinson' for scoring

Real ale Madrid
13/07/2006, 4:48 PM
cheers EnDai - good stuff Drogs.

at work so i cant access hardly any websites. cept this one!:)

13/07/2006, 4:49 PM
190 euro on the way :p

Thanks to ' ' for scoring
Robinson scored.

13/07/2006, 4:49 PM
Drogs first ever goal in Euro competition.

Surely a standard question in Co. Louth table quizzes in the future will be "Who scored Drogs first ever..........?"

ccfcgirl
13/07/2006, 4:50 PM
Brilliant start for Drogs.

13/07/2006, 4:50 PM
Half time now, goal socred on 41'.

13/07/2006, 4:57 PM
Hopefully it stays the same and the the Derry games finishes a draw - I'll be €157 richer :) :cool:

adamcarr
13/07/2006, 5:03 PM
I have money on the Drogs aswell! Never thought Id say it but, Come on the Dro... nah I couldnt say it after all.:)

13/07/2006, 5:04 PM
Just KO'd in Derry. Second half must be ready to start in Helsinki...

// edit :: it has...

ccfcgirl
13/07/2006, 5:07 PM
Athmosphere sounds electric at Derry match.You can realy hear the Derry fans fair play.

13/07/2006, 5:08 PM
link?!

higgins
13/07/2006, 5:09 PM
where are you hearing that?

Super start for them 0-0 after 8 mins :)

ccfcgirl
13/07/2006, 5:11 PM
bbc foyle radio. Full match on it.

brandy86
13/07/2006, 5:12 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/radiofoyle/

13/07/2006, 5:12 PM

Click "Listen now"

13/07/2006, 5:15 PM

Is it being streamed or just updates? :confused:

13/07/2006, 5:16 PM
Live audio stream.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/aod/radiofoyle.shtml - direct audio link

13/07/2006, 5:18 PM
Live audio stream.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/aod/radiofoyle.shtml - direct audio link

Good man ;) only noticed your previous post above :)

13/07/2006, 5:26 PM
FC Haka (Finland) about to lose 2-0 away to an Estonian team (into injury time now).

MyPa (also Finland) beat TNS of Wales 1-0 at home yesterday.

Surprised by how poor the Finnish teams are doing this season. But not exactly disappointed! :)

13/07/2006, 5:28 PM
I won't make individual predictions but a similar overall performance to last year (3 wins and 2 draws) would be perfect & would be huge boost to rankings.

The most important thing is all 3 clubs contribute to the rankings.

ger121
13/07/2006, 5:34 PM
I take it that no posts is good news. Hell of a result if the drogs held on for the win. To think HJK were in the CL within the last 10 years.

13/07/2006, 5:34 PM
On that note...

Currently Ireland with one win and a draw - long way to go obviously.

Belarus (0.333 behind) with one win (20 mins to go) and one draw (result) - no gain/no loss.

Iceland (0.332 ahead) with one defeat (half an hour gone) and a tie away to Brondby yet to kick off - 0.5 points gain => at the moment, we stand to go ahead of them and be seeded in the CL next year.

Liechtenstein (0.002 ahead) winning - Vaduz winning 2-0 against Ujpest in Hungary! :eek: Doesn't count for the CL or the UEFA as far as we're concerned though.

Macedonia (1.000 ahead) drawing (2 mins gone) and losing at home (15 mins to go) - stand to gain 0.333.

Georgia are next and 1.333 ahead, so not going to look that far ahead.

Llanelli 1-0 down in Gefle (Sweden)

higgins
13/07/2006, 5:36 PM
Randers FC have also gone 1-0 up on an icelandic side :)

13/07/2006, 5:38 PM
Iceland (0.332 ahead) with one defeat (half an hour gone)
Way ahead of you!

That Belarus side - BATE, beaten by Bohs a couple of years back - are 2-0 up now.

higgins
13/07/2006, 5:39 PM
Liechtenstein (0.002 ahead) winning - Vaduz winning 2-0 against Ujpest in Hungary! :eek: Doesn't count for the CL or the UEFA as far as we're concerned though.

It does concern us ? :confused:

They are always used to balabce the groups after the fair play places are issued. If the northerm Group was uneven you would see them thrown in to even things up.

Thats how Longford got them and we must aim to get ahead of them too.

There total is always divided by one so its a hard ask.

13/07/2006, 5:41 PM
1-1 now.

13/07/2006, 5:42 PM
And still errortel have no updates of the drugs game :rolleyes:

13/07/2006, 5:42 PM
1-1 now. Five minutes to go.

13/07/2006, 5:43 PM
Helsinki score in the 85th! :(