View Full Version : Ireland v Chile, 24/05/06
kilbane did well.
Forgot about Kilbane - I thought hd did pretty well and Id definitly have him in ahead of Harte
24/05/2006, 9:04 PM
time for stan to go ????
disapointing result but meaningless all the same
FarBeag
24/05/2006, 9:17 PM
[QUOTE=thejollyrodger]time for stan to go ????
Don't be so Fcuking pathetic and immature. Tell me what Staunton did wrong apart from experimenting for the first twenty minutes or more and giving a shlte interview pre and post match.
The players were horrendous apart from Given, Dunne, Mcgeady and Kilbane.The crowd were no better.O' Shea should take up ballet dancing because he is not a footballer. Enough said.
[QUOTE=thejollyrodger]time for stan to go ????
Don't be so Fcuking pathetic and immature. Tell me what Staunton did wrong apart from experimenting for the first twenty minutes or more and giving a shlte interview pre and post match.
The players were horrendous apart from Given, Dunne, Mcgeady and Kilbane.The crowd were no better.O' Shea should take up ballet dancing because he is not a footballer. Enough said.
I really hate when people cannot pick up on things even if its on a forum.
Maybe we'll be spared all the rubbish about how great Staunton is now. It's been making me sick ever since he got the job. Everything he did was a stroke of genius, everything Brian Kerr had done in two and a half years was crap. Culminated this morning in a typical piece of Dunphy nonsense - one of the main things Staunton has going for him is that he's not Kerr - Jésus wept. Ireland were totally outclsassed tonight. If Kerr had ended up with Kilbane at centre half he'd have been slaughtered by the media. (Though Kilbane was one of the few decent performances by an Irish player on the night.)
BTW - I'm not particularly anti Staunton. It's just that everything that's happened with the national team over the last few months has led me to the point where I honestly can't support the team anymore. I was quite happy when Chile scored, they deserved it.
FarBeag
24/05/2006, 9:42 PM
[QUOTE=FarBeag]
I really hate when people cannot pick up on things even if its on a forum.
Are you having a pop at me here? If so explain to me what your quote means.:confused:
24/05/2006, 9:50 PM
Kavanagh has to start against Germany. I kept an eye on him tonight and he was very good when he came on imo. I talk so much about Kav that people probably think I'm biased but I've no reason to be biased, I think he's much better than any other Irish player in his position. He was everywhere tonight and has all the mental attributes we need in the team with the likes of Keane and Cunningham gone.
Stuttgart88 was one of the few that never lost faith in S.Reid, fair play because he looks like he could boss out midfield for years to come.
If people thought McGeady was good than expect to see a lot more. He looked very nervous tonight and that's the least you'll get out of him.
And to the crowd in the north terraces - get a bloody voice.
Qwerty
24/05/2006, 10:04 PM
At least the result will keep us grounded, we are a long long way from a solid unit at the moment and our lack of depth and quality at center back and center midfield is absolutely frightening.
The bright spot of the eveing was Stan's quote:
"There were a lot of positives. Young McGeady came on and did well, Stephen Kelly made his debut and Kevin Kilbane filled in at centre-half. "
I'm fully behind Stan BTW.
24/05/2006, 10:28 PM
Doyle did well, Keane should have been taken off. Miller did well at the start but then faded away. Reid tried the spectacular pass too often. O'Shea was shocking- Kavanagh should have started.
onenilgameover
24/05/2006, 10:52 PM
Kavanagh has to start against Germany. I kept an eye on him tonight and he was excellent imo. I talk so much about Kav that people probably think I'm biased but I've no reason to be biased, I think he's much better than any other Irish player in his position. He was everywhere tonight and has all the mental attributes we need in the team with the likes of Keane and Cunningham gone.
Stuttgart88 was one of the few that never lost faith in S.Reid, fair play because he looks like he could boss out midfield for years to come.
If people thought McGeady was good than expect to see a lot more. He looked very nervous tonight and that's the least you'll get out of him.
EB I know ye go on about kav but my god you must have been watchin a different Kav from the one I was watchin. Didnt think Mc Geady was too nervous...........himself and J Byrne were there only positives and alot more negatives but again what does it matter...
Gareth
24/05/2006, 11:18 PM
Congrats to Jason Byrne on his second cap. He won a few headers and did well. Nice header on to Duff for his chance. McGeady was lively when he came on, but god our defence was rotten!!
24/05/2006, 11:24 PM
I thought we look more like team when Kav came on, we didn't seem to
have a holding midfielder before that, he kind of calmed things down a bit
and ensured we held on to the ball more where as before we were losing it
at every oppertunity. Overall we were pretty poor, we looked jaded but
we did pick up a bit in the second half. we couldn't seem to keep the ball at
all before Kav came on but Duff and Kilbane worked the left wiing quite well.
I thought Stephen Reid tried to take on too much at times. Over all we were
pretty poor and Chile seemed to be one step ahead of us all the time.
GK for the Town
24/05/2006, 11:44 PM
Didnt think anyone at all had a good game tonight. It was the worst, half hearted effort of a game i've seen in such a long time. It seemed like they all thought they were finished their seasons and they didnt want to play this game. I thought the subs brought some life into the game but even at that it was still hard to watch it. There might of been a lack of atmosphere in the crowd but the players played a big part in that. It was Very Very Poor !!!!
We have very little games and time to get ourselves together before the big games in the Euro Champs QF's and me for one, if We're going to pay decent money making the trips away, we would want some better performances throughout. The Sweden game is all forgotten now. Stan's dream start has gone. I hope the future is good but after tonight its not looking too promising.
I thought their No.10 was the best player on the pitch
Karlos
24/05/2006, 11:50 PM
I haven't seen the game but it sounds like we played pretty poor. How much of the performance was down to how Chile played? I work with two Chile fans who have been telling me for weeks that their team are on the up? Just interested from a objective footballing perspective. It's a great result for them to come this side of the world with a young team and get out with a win from Lansdowne :)
LeixlipRed
24/05/2006, 11:56 PM
if we played with any sort of desire and passion we could have easily beaten Chile. they had a few decent players but we let them play. we were god awful. o' shea is a shocking player. i was giving him some awful abuse from the terrace. i feel bad but then i remember its o shea so its ok. so many EL players who would give their left leg to play for ireland and then you look at o shea; no passion, no fight, no ability. an absolute joke. and well done jayo ya legend!! :D
TheJamaicanP.M.
24/05/2006, 11:57 PM
Kavanagh has to start against Germany. I kept an eye on him tonight and he was excellent imo. I talk so much about Kav that people probably think I'm biased but I've no reason to be biased, I think he's much better than any other Irish player in his position. He was everywhere tonight and has all the mental attributes we need in the team with the likes of Keane and Cunningham gone.
Eirebhoy, before tonight I might have disagreed with you about Kav but now I think you're right. Kav should be starting in midfield alongside Stephen Reid. O'Shea and Miller are just not up to it at this level. I was disappointed to see Reid start on the right wing tonight. I think he's restricted when he plays out wide. Even though Kav wasn't at his best tonight, he is the only player we have who can play the holding role. His composure along with his passing ability will be vital when we play Germany.
Despite poor service, I thought Kevin Doyle did well. He won a lot in the air and made some good runs into the channels. He might not be a natural goalscorer but he's a good creative forward.
As for McGeady, its clear the lad has a lot of potential. A bit like Duff in the early days, McGeady needs to work on the finished product. He's got great feet but his crossing is not always the best. By the end of the qualifying campaign, I'd expect McGeady to be a fixture on the right wing for the Irish team.
25/05/2006, 12:06 AM
How much of the performance was down to how Chile played? I work with two Chile fans who have been telling me for weeks that their team are on the up?
Lost their last 4 I think. haven't won away in 10 games. Definitely on the up
Karlos
25/05/2006, 12:21 AM
Lost their last 4 I think. haven't won away in 10 games. Definitely on the up
Yeah basically they have been telling me that the results have been poor but they have a bright future once the team clicks. They'll be over the moon with that win so. :)
gypsydownunder
25/05/2006, 12:25 AM
RED HOT CHILE PEPPERS Irish goal for 1-0 win.
[I'll get my coat]
Fergie's Son
25/05/2006, 4:40 AM
Went over to pub and watched the match.
Byrne did well but then he was playing against a decidely small back four.
I thought Kavanagh did ok but I was fiercely disappointed in O'Shea.
McGeady looked good be he simply lacks pace. I've said this numerous times on this board. Watch the replay and notice how he doesn't run at players but instead runs to the line. Every now and then he has to vary it.
Harte should not get his game for Ireland again.
Tough, ugly match.
25/05/2006, 6:02 AM
A nothing result in a nothing game, with a nothing performance to boot.
Agreed all round.
We will get better;this is usually a cr*p time for us to play games, competitive or friendly(:rolleyes: Finals to date, excluded), as the players are usually tired & disinterested.
Pedantic point - you mean "uninterested". What you have written implies that the players were impartial and objective, rather than tired and couldn't-give-a-toss (apart from Kav, KK, Doyle and Byrne when he came on).
However, good to sense a large dose of realism, as it will be a real struggle to make a serious impact on the Euro'08 group;Stan & the lads will do brilliantly to come 3rd, given the relative paucity of talent.
Agreed again. Maybe we should be looking towards the World Cup in four years time. The likes of Aiden McGeady and Owen Garvan should be firmly established by then alongside the old warhorses Robbie and Duffer. I think that represents our best chance at qualification for a tournament in the near future.
:ball: PP
25/05/2006, 7:11 AM
Positives
McGeady impressed me and I want him to start on the right but he needs to learn when to cross at the right moment.
Kilbane had a good game, his best for a long time. I'd let him play at LB, has the engine to get up and down no bother.
Doyle looks the business but needs the ball.
Given was his typical self.
Negatives
Miller and O'Shea.....didn't even know they were playing to be honest. Talk about strolling around John.
Kelly. Thank God we have Finnan. I can see why Spurs haven't renewed the contract with this fella. He might have been nervous but he needs to step up in games like this.
S Reid was not his normal self. A lot of poor passes but he'll be back to himself for September. He has to play in the Centre of midfield with Kavanagh.
25/05/2006, 7:17 AM
We play these friendlies to learn things. We've a big game in September and we had / have only 3 games to try new ideas & blood new players.
If the manager learns the lessons from these games then losing a friendly to Chile is no big deal.
So what did we learn last night? Well, this is what I took away from it:
1. Thank God Carr is still available for selection. Stephen Kelly was atrocious. Finnan, Carr & Joey O'Brien are way ahead of him. I hope this lad gets his club career sorted out.
2. I've been one of the more measured on this board about John O'Shea. But he just doesn't have the awareness or the passing skills required to be an international CM. When Kav came on, though he was by no means flawless, he showed for the ball and spread the ball around, usually accurately. A natural playmaker. I've seen Kav play a lot better but even last night he showed he's the best we have in this role. I said it only a couple of days ago, but the ability to give & take simple passes is underappreciated by most. I couldn't believe how often O'Shea misplaced or underhit straightforward passes. I thought Stan was right to give O'Shea a shot at this position, but now I hope he learns the lesson.
3. Steven Reid: didn't play well last night when he was out wide, but was far more effective centrally. Kavanagh & Steven Reid must be our central midfield pairing in the next game. Miller has no presence, Reid does in abundance.
4. We pretty much saw Miller & McGeady go head-to-head & McGeady won hands down for me.
5. Kilbane was decent enough at left back. It doesn't change that this is a problem position but he looked comfortable enough there.
Of course there were other notable observations but these are the most important in my opinion.
bwagner
25/05/2006, 7:19 AM
Bloody hell i hope to god john o' shea does not get to play in the qualifiers....
As he EVER played well in the green.
His role for Man utd next season well be bench warmer big time.
We have one of the weakest midfields Ireland has ever put together.
Its a pity becuase we have a great attacking unit in duff, keane , doyle and morrison.
Colbert Report
25/05/2006, 7:20 AM
I missed the first fifteen minutes of the match, however.....
Given played well, as always, until he came off.
Breen didn't play terribly but why the hell is he in there? How old is he now? He won't be around in four years for the world cup or even two years from now for euro 2008
Richard Dunne was solid at the back and showed great pace getting back for such a big man. He'll be the cornerstone of our defence for the next eight years, barring injury.
Kelly wasn't great but I don't think he was as bad as some of you lot seem to think. He got stronger as the game went on in my opinion. Realistically I don't see him making much of an impact on the senior team, what with finnan there.
O'Shea was absolutely invisible and as I missed the starting lineups I actually didn't know he was even playing until he was subbed off - I'm dead serious.
Duff was magic as always but our attack was far too one-dimensional. Until McGeady came on all our attack was down the left side, and he can't win every match for us by himself.
Kilbane was far and away our worst player today. I know he was playing out of position so it's not really fair to be too hard on him but early on the Chileans picked him apart down the right wing. He's not a defender at all and it showed today. I realize everyone else was injured but surely Staunton could come up with a better plan than hanging Kilbane out to dry.
Liam Miller didn't do anything, I realize he's coming off a long long season with Leeds but he failed to impress.
Reid looked absolutely amazing. I've never been a big fan of his but I'm starting to like him more and more everytime I see him play. I hope he doesn't leave to Spurs this summer, he needs regular first team football in the Premiership and he looks solid at Blackburn every time I see him play. Pass distribution was great and everything was running through him for the last half hour or so. Dare I say he could be the long term replacement for Roy?
Kevin Doyle didn't do anything and left me longing for Elliott to be healthy.
Robbie Keane didn't do much but that's the way he plays, won't do anything all match but might score twice the two times he does touch the ball. Failed to impress today.
Henderson didn't get much work so tough to give judgement on him.
Ian Harte, everyone seems to hate him, but I think he's well worth keeping around. He has tremendous heart and passion I think. A big reason he gets on is because of his free kick abilities, he only got to take one near the box and failed miserably, he must do better, but even the best mess it up sometimes. I thought he showed great chemistry with Duff when he pushed down the left side late on. Crossing ability is not that bad. Good thing his defensive capabilities were not tested.
Byrne looked good, kind of a poor man's Niall Quinn, but honestly, and no disrespect to anyone here, but if you're playing in Ireland do you really deserve to get a game for the international team?
Kav looked great, he's a real hard man, he was great winning balls and working box to box. It's a real pity he's not ten years younger, he could have had a great Ireland career if Roy hadn't been around in that holding midfield role. Not that I'd rather have Kavanaugh over Roy!
McGeady was the brightest spot of the match for me. He looked dead creative down the right wing, made lots of space for himself with his amazing skill. Someone pointed out that pace might be a problem for him and based on what I saw today, I'd have to agree. I can't wait for him to become a regular selection.
Andy Reid only got on for ten minutes so tough to critique his game but Christ he's heavy.
No reason to be ashamed of our performance, we certainly didn't play great but Chile were dead organized at the back. Sweden made us look good in the last match because they gave up after we scored our first goal. One more thing - where did the ref come up with six extra minutes at the end? Was it just because we were playing at home and were down a goal? I thought there would have been two or at the very most three minutes added on.
bwagner
25/05/2006, 7:24 AM
Speaking of red hot chilli peppers ...O ' shea's new theme..............................give it away, give it away, give it away now
Paddy Garcia
25/05/2006, 7:57 AM
I missed the first fifteen minutes of the match, however.....
Kilbane was far and away our worst player today.
Kav looked great, he's a real hard man, he was great winning balls and working box to box. It's a real pity he's not ten years younger, he could have had a great Ireland career if Roy hadn't been around in that holding midfield role. Not that I'd rather have Kavanaugh over Roy!
I thought Kilbane played really well, I'm amazed you view him as our worst player. He was excellent, worked hard the entire game & was playing out of position. O'Shea, Miller, Kelly, Kavanagh, Keane, Byrne were all much worse. Even S Reid was nothing like his usual self.
Totally agree with onenilgameover re-watching a different Kav. Kavanagh was hopeless, though I agree the will is there. He needs an extra touch every time he receives the ball, so is never able to play the first time ball. OK as a standby, but if he is in the starting 11 we have no chance.
Good that there is general agreement over McGeady, given some of the undeserved negative press he has received on these forums - things really only improved once he came on.
No reason to be ashamed of our performance, home and were down a goal?
Every reason to be ashamed - worst performance in ages. It's not that often we fold at home. I don't hold up much hope of us getting better in CM.
el punter
25/05/2006, 7:58 AM
What about Kevin Kilbane playing centre half after Harte came on eh? He didn't put a foot wrong in fairness to him....but what a zany idea to stick a recognized winger in as a centre back - stunning stuff!
Kavanagh made a big difference when he came on, just doing the simple things. But overall I agree with the consensus that many of the players had holidays rather than international football on their minds. Might have been better to start with the team that finished - at least those players showed an eagerness to impress (as did Doyle and Duff earlier in the game).
25/05/2006, 8:02 AM
Whats disappointing for me is that we are still no wiser on what our best team is. If Stan chooses a 4-4-2 formation for the qualifiers, there are, in my opinion, four positions up for grabs:
Given
Finnan-O'Brien-Dunne-?????
?????-Reid-?????-Duff
Keane-?????
Luckily we have a few strong candidates to play alongside Keane but we can't say this about the other three positions. Everyone knows this and whats going to happen in the qualifiers is that players are going to be playing out of position to fill in the gaps, that is, Finnan will be pushed-up to play on the right-wing (Carr will be right full), O'Shea will play in the centre and Kilbane at left full. We're not going to win many matches against the top teams when three players are playing out of position and we only have one creative force in the team - Duff. This is the challenge for Stan and where Kerr failed - that is, finding playing going enough for our problem areas and softening the burden on Duff's shoulders to create something.
cavan_fan
25/05/2006, 8:06 AM
Byrne looked good, kind of a poor man's Niall Quinn, but honestly, and no disrespect to anyone here, but if you're playing in Ireland do you really deserve to get a game for the international team?
I suspect this may get a response!
To be honest Byrne looked good, but I suspect it just showed that we need a big centre forward. At the moment he may be our best option for that role, mainly because he's our only option.
On the basis of waht I saw last night (I know its a friendly etc etc) and assuming everyone is fit, I'd guess we'll start with the following in Sept.
GK - Given
RB - Finnan
CB - Dunne
CB - O'Brien (bit of a weakness here)
Lb - O'Shea. In the end the fact he plays for Man U will mean he is seen as an automatic choice and I'm getting worried about his ability at CM. Don't see Kilbane as a choice in a competitive match.
RM - McGeady. This is the toughest call of all. The safe chocie is Finnan here and Carr at RB. Stan obviously doesnt rate Andy Reid and I just think he may go for one wild card choice but McGeady must be playing regularly for Celtic. Being honest if he cant get on the Celtic team he doesnt deserve to be on ours.
CM - S Reid. An automatic choice now, whcih presumably means he'll get injured!
CM - Kavanagh. another tough chocie and I'll mention the nam of Lee Carsley again but Kav has perhaps done enough.
LM - Duff, but last night looked more like his Chelsea displays of late.
CF - Keane.
CF - Doyle. Was Clinton injured last night? Seems Doyle is the other choice just not sure about him and Robbie as a partnership.
2 other random thoughts.
If we are so stretched at Centre Back to have to play Kilbane there shouldnt we pick Delap as a utility player.
Stan seems to suffer from new manager syndrome, just thought he tried too many things last night and the players were confused. Still best to get it out of his system
Colbert Report
25/05/2006, 8:14 AM
Just like to mention that I'm not trying to stir up any trouble, I know alot of people here are big fans of the EL and there's nothing wrong with that. I personally feel that even the fourth tier of English football if vastly superior to the EL and players get paid more there than here and hence the better players will move abroad. Good luck to Byrne but I don't think anyone could really put forth a strong argument that the next step in his career is anything except to get on with an English club.
Colbert Report
25/05/2006, 8:15 AM
Also - anyone know why there were six minutes added on at the end?
25/05/2006, 8:16 AM
I don't see the need for all the doom and gloom. It was an end of season friendly where most of the players haven't played for a few weeks so it was always going to be a struggle to get into your stride. Now if it had been a qualifier that would've been a different matter....
The result ultimately means nothing and it's all about what you learn and take from the match.
I'm sure Stan will have learned that Stephen Kelly still has a lot to do to make it at this level and Doyle is going to be a good foil for Keane. As Stuttgart (I think) said, he's not a "natural" goalscorer but he can still put the ball away and has got a creative spark. Potentially a Rush and Dalglish type partnership.
Paddy Garcia
25/05/2006, 8:22 AM
Just realised that Doyle was given man of the match!
Apart from being embarrased that we awarded it to ourselves, he never got the opportunity!
Between Duff, Dunne & Kilbane for me.
25/05/2006, 8:22 AM
Funnily enough cavan Fan, I've long felt Delap has always had the attributes to be a reserve centre-half. Similarly, in response to a post above, it wasn't that zany an idea to move KK to centre-back. He's tall & good in the air & we simply had no further CB options on the bench. It was late in a friendly so it was no big deal.
Again, I actually think Carr RHM and keeping Finnan at RB makes far more sense. Finnan is one of the most accomplished full backs going, and Carr's strength is pushing forward.
ifk101 - I think it'll be a while before we know our best XI. In fairness, we were never going to know going into the Germany game, 3 games was never going to be enough to try out the options. It'll probably just have to work its own way out in time.
However, fitness permitting, in September I expect the core of the side to be more experienced and far less speculative than last night: Given, Finnan, Dunne, Andy O'Brien, Robbie, Duff, Steve Reid are certainties. Kilbane, Kavanagh, Carr are very likely. That's a lot more physically imposing and experienced. Then add Morrisson, Elliott, Doyle, McGeady, Joey O'Brien to the options and it looks better. In my opinion anyway.
25/05/2006, 8:23 AM
Just like to mention that I'm not trying to stir up any trouble, I know alot of people here are big fans of the EL and there's nothing wrong with that. I personally feel that even the fourth tier of English football if vastly superior to the EL and players get paid more there than here and hence the better players will move abroad. Good luck to Byrne but I don't think anyone could really put forth a strong argument that the next step in his career is anything except to get on with an English club.
I'm not going to enter into an argument with you because you don't know what you're talking about.
As for Byrne, I'm all for LOI players coming into the international squad but there are at least four better players available to us than Byrne in that particular position.
Paddy Garcia
25/05/2006, 8:37 AM
However, fitness permitting, in September I expect the core of the side to be more experienced and far less speculative than last night: Given, Finnan, Dunne, Andy O'Brien, Robbie, Duff, Steve Reid are certainties. Kilbane, Kavanagh, Carr are very likely. That's a lot more physically imposing and experienced. Then add Morrisson, Elliott, Doyle, McGeady, Joey O'Brien to the options and it looks better. In my opinion anyway.
Good points - but I don't think that the starting 11 was really that speculative last night, apart from Kilbane at FB. The team you suggest (barr O'Shea) is basically what Stan went with given availability - O'Brien & the others you mention were injured & Carr is unavailable. And we all know by now what Kavanagh, Breen & Harte can do. More old hat than speculative.
Speculative would have been giving Foley a start together with the likes of Garvan (though think poss. injured) or some other young players a run like Long or Rooney.
cavan_fan
25/05/2006, 8:38 AM
I know this is an obvious point but would Niall Quinn please go ahead and buy Sunderland and then perhpas he wont have to be on Sky any more.
Just to pick one of his irritating comments, he seemed to think it was a good thing we could only play 442, rather than an embarassment for professional players (and Jason Byrne! Sorry just trying to wind people up)
25/05/2006, 8:46 AM
rather than an embarassment for professional players (and Jason Byrne! Sorry just trying to wind people up)
Jason Byrne is a professional player and on better wages than every working person in Cavan (that's when he gets paid).
25/05/2006, 8:48 AM
I know this is an obvious point but would Niall Quinn please go ahead and buy Sunderland and then perhpas he wont have to be on Sky any more.
Just to pick one of his irritating comments, he seemed to think it was a good thing we could only play 442, rather than an embarassment for professional players (and Jason Byrne! Sorry just trying to wind people up)
Sky's Irish coverage is poor in general. The studio pundits are ex-Ireland players but have nowhere near enough knowledge of the players in or around the squad to have an opinion worth listening to.
Paddy Garcia
25/05/2006, 8:50 AM
[QUOTE=drinkfeckarse]
The result ultimately means nothing and it's all about what you learn and take from the match.
QUOTE]
This may be true, but I don't think Roy Keane (or Fr Jack for that matter) would agree & perhaps that is the main problem or rather challenge for Stan.
In the latter qualifiers the will to win was not as evident as in recent years, and the displays characterised by a lack of ambition, creativity and general nervousness.
The winning character we want needs to be displayed in all our games both competitive and friendly if it is to become embedded in our culture again. We may still lose, but not hopefully so meekly.
25/05/2006, 8:50 AM
Sorry just trying to wind people up)
I would advice you to avoid doing so in future.
25/05/2006, 9:10 AM
Totally agree with onenilgameover re-watching a different Kav. Kavanagh was hopeless, though I agree the will is there. He needs an extra touch every time he receives the ball, so is never able to play the first time ball. OK as a standby, but if he is in the starting 11 we have no chance.
Can I just ask if you were at the game? I want to know if he looked poor on TV as I have a feeling he wouldn't have looked great. He was up and down the pitch more than anyone though and you don't get to see that on the telly. You say we have no chance with him, I don't think we have a chance without him tbh. It's his off-the-ball abilities I'm talking about. The Gatusso type play that we would need and that O'Shea doesn't offer. Reid and Kavanagh could boss a midfield for us as they're not afraid to get stuck in, O'Shea is, Miller is. btw, he doesn't need an extra touch, that's his style of play when he plays the holding role.
Maybe I just like the aggressive players. I don't rate Frank Lampard as highly as most because he's a bit of a pussy tbh. :)
My man of the match would have been the Chile no.6. Anyone know his name? Good to see Kilbane do well at left back and all Doyle needs now is a goal.
Kavanagh has to start against Germany. I kept an eye on him tonight and he was very good when he came on imo
Aye, those 2 balls he played along the 6 yard line yo no-one when defending in the box were very smart.:confused:
25/05/2006, 9:25 AM
While I agree the result means absolutely nothing, the attitude of the players does really bother me. They really looked as if they didn't want to be there.
I would be deeply suspicious about Steve Finnan's injury. I think when he heard Stan was going to play him out of position, he decided he was having none of it, and declared himself injured. He has a point. Why should he be shifted around to make way for the cantankerous scut Carr.
I have always thought it was a flawed decision to appoint Stan, a man with no managerial experience. Even in the prematch interview, Robson said Ireland were SURPRISINGLY going to play 3-4-3. He seemed to be distancing himself with the tactic. Don't know why Stephen Reid did not play in his best position in the centre. Miller is never going to be more than a fringe player. He looked lost. Sadly Stehen Kelly was hopeless. Like a rabbit stunned by the headlights. We need Andy O'Brien back there to steady things up. Kilbane was his usual hard-working self. Duff tried all night, but he seems to have lost that extra yard to take him away from defenders. Robbie seemed to have his mind on the afters in Tamagoes. Doyle showed flashes of promise. JOS anonymous. Dunne done well, but doesn't seem to be an organiser.
Of the subs, Maceady showed flashes of promise. Byrne didn't let himself down. Harte hopeless. Kav done well, not the answer though. Henderson nothing to do. And finally Andy Reid. I'm really worried about this player. He seems to be really piling on the weight, and is known to be fond of the good life. Stan didn't have him for Sweden, but still only gave him 5-6 minutes last night. Unless he sorts himself out I can see Andy back playing EL football in about 3 years at this rate.
Anyway sorry about such a negative post, but I think decisions made by that moran Delaney will be coming home to roost fairly soon.
Paddy Garcia
25/05/2006, 9:29 AM
Can I just ask if you were at the game? I want to know if he looked poor on TV as I have a feeling he wouldn't have looked great. He was up and down the pitch more than anyone though and you don't get to see that on the telly. You say we have no chance with him, I don't think we have a chance without him tbh. It's his off-the-ball abilities I'm talking about. The Gatusso type play that we would need and that O'Shea doesn't offer. Reid and Kavanagh could boss a midfield for us as they're not afraid to get stuck in, O'Shea is, Miller is. btw, he doesn't need an extra touch, that's his style of play when he plays the holding role.
No, watched it on sky. And he did not come across well.
I agree with you about his willingness, bite & work rate - no problem there. It's not enough though at the top .
The point I was making is that he takes an extra touch every time. Last night he sat on the ball longer than anyone else in midfield. As a consequence you could see the options being closed down. In comparison to the passing by the Chilie midfield he was very pedestrian, and it stunted the Irish attacks. Maybe this is unfair but the memory of Roy Keane using the ball has not quite disippated. That use of the ball is surely essential for someone playing in CM.
I think he can certainly come in and do a job (e.g. as he used to cover R Keane or M Holland) as a one off, but to be the mainstay for an entire qualifying campaign is asking too much of him. He was very badly overrun/bossed in the League Cup final (I think possibly it was by O'Shea).
Drumcondra_Blue
25/05/2006, 9:44 AM
That applies for the whole crowd last night! My first ever time at Lansdowne and it was a funeral home for most of the match (bar about the last 10 minutes or so)
A few things I noticed :
1. The amount of Celtic tops, as many as Ireland tops, if not more of them
2. A Celtic banner in the ground
3. Being greeted to a trainful of kids and a few adults singing the fields
of athenrye (which is fine, apart from the fact they were singing with a Sinn Fein/IRA add on)
4. The lack of noise the crowd made, it was like being at a funeral most of the match!
I don't know what the fans attitude is toward people wearing Celtic tops etc. to a match, but I felt at times last night like I was at Parkhead!
Chile ran the first half of the match and Ireland started finally playing around the hour mark.
An enjoyable night overall though, and thanks again to 4tothefloor for sorting me out with tickets for it. It was certainly interesting to see Lansdowne and the public transport was spot on.
25/05/2006, 9:44 AM
Yeah, I couldn't argue with most of that but it doesn't take away from the fact that he's better than O'Shea, Miller and anyone else that can play in that position atm.
That applies for the whole crowd last night!
Not really. Most sections of the crowd at least tried to get something going, even the west side of the north terrace. I was over the opposite side of the north terrace and I'd try sing the first line of whatever the rest of the crowd were trying to get going and I was just embarassing myself. Compared to the Sweden match when I sang a line and everyone else would join in. :)
It was the worst, half hearted effort of a game i've seen in such a long time
This was an end of season friendly and you need to put it into context. Remember Cyprus away and Switz home in the last campaign.
He is probably one of the better pundits on that station. He is always well balanced, I find.
Sky's Irish coverage is poor in general.
An what do you think of RTE's friendly coverage. Sky are putting money into the game in this country when they buy ALL our home games. RTE werent bothered buying the friendlies.
Last night was an end of season friendly. However after last night it is clear that Kav and Reid is our best central midfield partnership for the qualifiers. Kav is very solid defensive midfielder and Reid is turning into an excellent passing attacking midfielder and I think he will only get better under the mentorship of Hughes. The back 4 were a shambles all night but when the likes of Finnan, O' Brien (* 2) , Carr are back in things will tighten up. Personally I would play Finnan left back. He is one of a rare breed in that he can actually play with both feet. For me the team should be :
Given
Carr or O' Brien (depending on who's playing reg for club)
O' Brien
Dunne
Finnan
Mc Geady/ perhaps Carr
Kav
Reid
Duff
Keane
Doyle (or Morrison)
25/05/2006, 9:49 AM
I would be deeply suspicious about Steve Finnan's injury. I think when he heard Stan was going to play him out of position, he decided he was having none of it, and declared himself injured. He has a point. Why should he be shifted around to make way for the cantankerous scut Carr.
I have always thought it was a flawed decision to appoint Stan, a man with no managerial experience. Even in the prematch interview, Robson said Ireland were SURPRISINGLY going to play 3-4-3. He seemed to be distancing himself with the tactic.
Total speculation about Finnan.
Only surprising thing about 3 at the back was that we are known as a 4 at the back team. I'd read nothing sinister into Robson's comment at all.