View Full Version : Cork players and supporters tonight

23/04/2006, 12:53 AM
Didn't see it myself but anyone else see it - apparently very clear on the tv

http://www.irishfootienetwork.com/viewtopic.php?t=3575&sid=ad8ee8951e037190b7c6a71cd1659cad

23/04/2006, 1:15 AM
Only click on that site when Georgies been on the wind up.

Couldn't suffer a second more after the final whistle myself.
I'd trust the posters on here more and the consensus seems to be that Danny Murphy took a swipe out at someone (Fahey??) for a late tackle and got repayment in kind from Fabio.

As for the fans spitting (have to see it myself), that's much more worrying.
Must be the rugger buggers up for the weekend.
Having said that there was an idiot pubescent tried to spit at Jim Crawford aswell the other week. Scuts!!! :mad:
Never seen that carry on before at the Cross.

Dr.Nightdub
23/04/2006, 1:27 AM
Lads, quit generalising from one or two individuals to the whole of the Cork team / support. Devine was in fairly sharpish to break up the kerfuffle at full time - and yes, Murphy was a sore-losing bonehead for throwing the dig in the first place. By the same token, the Cork fans created a great atmosphere on TV and yes, a couple of idiots lost it at the tunnel.

Some people around here would want to download Sense of Perspective for Windows version 1.0

hamish
23/04/2006, 1:30 AM
Well said Dr.Nightrub.:)

23/04/2006, 1:35 AM
What thread are you on about? Not this one?
Incidentally where's the thread about the match?
?????

sullanefc
23/04/2006, 2:17 AM
Lads, quit generalising from one or two individuals to the whole of the Cork team / support. Devine was in fairly sharpish to break up the kerfuffle at full time - and yes, Murphy was a sore-losing bonehead for throwing the dig in the first place. By the same token, the Cork fans created a great atmosphere on TV and yes, a couple of idiots lost it at the tunnel.

Some people around here would want to download Sense of Perspective for Windows version 1.0

Dr. Nightdub...A1 post.

Risteard, I honestly question you being a city fan. FFS did you even see the game.

23/04/2006, 8:12 AM
Windows version 1.0

Don't think there's too many using that any more. Is there an XP version?

23/04/2006, 9:23 AM

Well said. Hope we can have some less partisan discussion on foot.ie - If Drogs fans want to start winding up people then this is not the place.

All clubs have idiot supporters. Can chance we will have decent crowd segregation in Inchicore on friday? ;)

ColinR
23/04/2006, 9:32 AM
Well said. Hope we can have some less partisan discussion on foot.ie - If Drogs fans want to start winding up people then this is not the place.

All clubs have idiot supporters. Can chance we will have decent crowd segregation in Inchicore on friday? ;)

agreed, like when peader was wum-ing about trouble in united park, there shouldn't be an issue about a couple of idiots in a large crowd. the people involved last night have been caught on camera - ban them and shame them and move on

23/04/2006, 9:43 AM
There is nothing CCFC can do about poor stewarding in Tolka. Drogheda United can control the flow of people from United Park i.e. next time i am up there will refuse to leave the ground at the knacker end.

23/04/2006, 9:43 AM
agreed, like when peader was wum-ing about trouble in united park, there shouldn't be an issue about a couple of idiots in a large crowd. the people involved last night have been caught on camera - ban them and shame them and move on

that's my point - what are the odds on this thread being locked at some stage because its about the precious langers!

I think everyone on here would know that I'm always far from being a drama queen, but what goes around, comes around as they say :)

ColinR
23/04/2006, 9:48 AM
There is nothing CCFC can do about poor stewarding in Tolka. Drogheda United can control the flow of people from United Park i.e. next time i am up there will refuse to leave the ground at the knacker end.

don't want to go off topic, but my comment was about peader wum-ing about every club having problems at united park, but there have been just as much incidents in united park, as there have been at turners cross ( v shels) - its not a big issue to me, as you can't 100% control the actions of a few morons- just as we can't force away fans to park in the car-park outside united park - it just annoyed me that certain people are allowed to be wums on this board about certain clubs

23/04/2006, 9:49 AM
it just annoyed me that certain people are allowed to be wums on this board about certain clubs

Thats because their corkies and they can seem to get away with anything on here!

Anyway back on topic.............

23/04/2006, 9:50 AM
just as we can't force away fans to park in the car-park outside united park...

Well some people take offense at being paid to park in Drogheda after paying 15 euro into ground with no facilities. FFS theres even a toll to enter your county ;)

ndrog
23/04/2006, 10:38 AM
Well some people take offense at being paid to park in Drogheda after paying 15 euro into ground with no facilities. FFS theres even a toll to enter your county ;)

what more facilities do you want ? theres a shop , a toilet, a bar.What more has the fab turners cross have to offer .

23/04/2006, 10:40 AM
what more facilities do you want ? theres a shop , a toilet, a bar.What more has the fab turners cross have to offer .

15 euro terrace is most expensive in the league. Hot food is on the other side of the ground which is blocked to away fans. I've never had problems getting into the bar anytime i tried but other city fans have.

Anyway thats dragging this off topic.

23/04/2006, 10:41 AM
Lads, if this thread keeps on going down the road of a scrap between Cork and Drogheda, it WILL be locked, and you know damned well it won't be because of the ongoing dumbass Foot.ie conspiracy theory.

Discuss the issue at hand or, if you can't keep your mouth shut with the animosity, píss off to another site. It's pathetic, you all sound like Star readers.

23/04/2006, 11:49 AM
don't want to go off topic, but my comment was about peader wum-ing about every club having problems at united park, but there have been just as much incidents in united park, as there have been at turners cross ( v shels) - its not a big issue to me, as you can't 100% control the actions of a few morons- just as we can't force away fans to park in the car-park outside united park - it just annoyed me that certain people are allowed to be wums on this board about certain clubs
Have to say, I've never hadv a spot off trouble in United Park.

ColinR
23/04/2006, 12:11 PM
Have to say, I've never hadv a spot off trouble in United Park.

well, its simply because there is very very little trouble at any eL ground. there are always one or two idiots like last night, like at the drogs-cork league match in united park. fellow eL fans should be well aware about how well behaved (in general) our matches are and not generalise about any club. if a problem occurs deal with it, ban the perpertrators, try to learn how to prevent a similar situation happening again.

as a comparison have a look here at the actions of a few liverpool fans at OT yesterday:

http://manunitedfans.blogspot.com/

now, you never see that at an eL ground

23/04/2006, 1:46 PM
Risteard, I honestly question you being a city fan. FFS did you even see the game.
Yes i did, not the afters however.
Why's that?

iceman
23/04/2006, 5:46 PM
the people involved last night have been caught on camera - ban them and shame them and move on

Thats something that Cork City FC should look at , they are all clearly identifyable on video , and the club has a duty to take action - and pretty quick.

23/04/2006, 6:30 PM
City fans were 99% a credit last night. what an atmosphere that was created, it was like a home game for us.

as for the 1 or 2 guys at the end, its was the exception rather than the rule

23/04/2006, 6:41 PM
But as I'm sure Cork fans are quick enough to point out for fans of other clubs, something has to be done to stop it.

Celdrog
23/04/2006, 6:46 PM
City fans were 99% a credit last night. what an atmosphere that was created, it was like a home game for us.

as for the 1 or 2 guys at the end, its was the exception rather than the rule

Pablo -1% who were not a credit amounts to a lot more than 1 or 2. It will be interesting to see if Brian Lennox has the balls to attempt to sort these scum out.

It will also be interesting to see if that muppet Richardson can instill some discipline into the bunch of sore losers you call a team.
He should stop calling for protection for his drama queens until they learn to behave themselves.

iceman
23/04/2006, 7:30 PM
It was also interesting to see the Drog players applauding the City supporters at the end of the game , and in fairness , most of the fans that were left in the ground acknowledged it , but when the Drogs went up to get their medals and the Cup , the City players turned their backs and walked away. Sore losers.

Olander
23/04/2006, 7:43 PM
damien richardson had the cheek to come out and critise teams about hard tackles on george o callaghan and then danny murphy ( sore loser ) comes out and punches a drogs player , funny isnt it

higgins
23/04/2006, 10:06 PM
There were a good few nasty tackles for the Cork player through the game. Behan was very lucky at one stage that the ref didnt notice him leaving the leg in.

I find it very funny Rico is going on about his team getting roughed up when its fairly clear the tackles from the Cork players are every bit as bad. Its not a case of giving as good as you get because you certainly dished it out yesterday.

Great game by the way and I think Cork just shaded it for me even if they went home empty handed.

daveh
23/04/2006, 11:09 PM
It was also interesting to see the Drog players applauding the City supporters at the end of the game , and in fairness , most of the fans that were left in the ground acknowledged it , but when the Drogs went up to get their medals and the Cup , the City players turned their backs and walked away. Sore losers.

I saw that and your making it out as if they just walked away in a big sulk down the tunnel but thats not what happened at all.City players waited until Drogheda lifted the cup and then went over(a little hastidly yes!) to applaud us,whats wrong with that??

Speranza
23/04/2006, 11:26 PM
I find it very funny Rico is going on about his team getting roughed up when its fairly clear the tackles from the Cork players are every bit as bad. Its not a case of giving as good as you get because you certainly dished it out yesterday.

I'm not surprised at it at all. Rico saying his players are roughed up provides him with cover to say to his players to be aggresive. The media, opposition, ref e.t.c will only be thinking about Ricos comments regarding treatment of his own team while O'Donovan and that little rat Murphy kick their opponents off the pitch.

24/04/2006, 8:59 AM
The trouble at the end boiled down to Drogheda players coming over to that end with the cup as the City fans were leaving the ground at the tunnell end.
There were some niceties traded as one would expect, there were 1 or 2 Drogs fans there but were City fans for the most part trying to get the hell out of there. There was some spitting which is out of order. I was hit by one of those stupid jester hats thrown at the crowd by a Drogheda player, Connor obviously had a go and thats fair enough cos he gets it and takes it but O'Brien was openly goading the City fans exiting the ground. Everything you would expect from a captain, all that after punching Danny Murphy, he's a great example. Doolin to be fair saw this and rightly moved his players away from that end until all City fans had left the ground.
What I heard happened at the end of the match was that Murphy punched Fahey (not condoning this, action should be taken) then O'Brien punched Murphy, Gamble then stepped in to calm things down and got sent off. Nice one Dave.

24/04/2006, 10:06 AM
I did not think the game was over physical but that is judging against previous encounters.

We may have lost but theres no way we need to "fear" drogheda after out playing them for maybe 100 minutes or more.

CCFC banned a few supporters a couple of years ago after they threw bottles at Rovers fans. I think the clubs record in regard to crowd safety & reacting to incidents such as that are better than most clubs. I didn't see the incidents & doubt will be replayed on tv so can't comment on...

Referees do not win or lose games but i think McKeon was worst ref in major final in so many years. Fitzpatrick should have been sent off & Doolin subbed him seconds after McKeon let him away with another foul as he knew he was lucky too. Gaven was excellent defending but how can a referee talk to a player after 2 attempted elbows in the head while hes already on a yellow card.
The fact McKeon sent off Gamble instead of Murphy compounds his poor night - how could you mix those players up?

If i wanted to moan i could also raise the fact that Dan Connor should not have played as he struck Behan in the group stages & only got 1 match ban as no cameras present. How can you use video evidence for some incidents & not for others?

:(

24/04/2006, 10:43 AM
If i wanted to moan
Jeesh, imagine what thta post would've read like if you had've moaned...

24/04/2006, 11:05 AM

I clicked on this thread hoping to read about the absolute carnage that went on at the Setanta Cup final only to be confronted by this scurrilous piece of common sense. Not good enough.

24/04/2006, 12:05 PM
Jeesh, imagine what thta post would've read like if you had've moaned...

Thanks. :D

ndrog
24/04/2006, 12:37 PM
I did not think the game was over physical but that is judging against previous encounters.

We may have lost but theres no way we need to "fear" drogheda after out playing them for maybe 100 minutes or more.

CCFC banned a few supporters a couple of years ago after they threw bottles at Rovers fans. I think the clubs record in regard to crowd safety & reacting to incidents such as that are better than most clubs. I didn't see the incidents & doubt will be replayed on tv so can't comment on...

Referees do not win or lose games but i think McKeon was worst ref in major final in so many years. Fitzpatrick should have been sent off & Doolin subbed him seconds after McKeon let him away with another foul as he knew he was lucky too. Gaven was excellent defending but how can a referee talk to a player after 2 attempted elbows in the head while hes already on a yellow card.
The fact McKeon sent off Gamble instead of Murphy compounds his poor night - how could you mix those players up?

If i wanted to moan i could also raise the fact that Dan Connor should not have played as he struck Behan in the group stages & only got 1 match ban as no cameras present. How can you use video evidence for some incidents & not for others?

of course you should fear us.We have proved again that we are winners,and that when it really matters Cork cant beat us.You were undoubtedly the better side but thats what makes it even better.All the crap that rico and george have spouted about the fai cup final and how cork "just didnt show up " blah,blah.Well you showed up the other night and still couldnt score a goal .And you conveniently left out boy george leaving the leg in at least 2 tackles.Plus Behan put in a bad challenge aswell,but hey you probably didnt see that ?

24/04/2006, 1:07 PM
A couple of our players and some of our fans went a bit mad at the end in the heat of the moment. So what? It was nothing, get over it ffs.

People were p!ssed off that we lost a game we dominated a to sh!t team, it's understandable.

Speranza
24/04/2006, 1:15 PM
You would be the first to complain if $hels players acted in that way so don't be a hypocrite. It would be "typical Shels scum" but when the Corkies do it we are blowing it out of proportion.....get a grip.

24/04/2006, 1:18 PM
A couple of our players and some of our fans went a bit mad at the end in the heat of the moment. So what? It was nothing, get over it ffs.

People were p!ssed off that we lost a game we dominated a to sh!t team, it's understandable.

So you are walking home some night and come across a bloke whose wife has done the dirty on and he takes his anger out on you with a few digs? Is that alright?:rolleyes: :confused: :eek:

24/04/2006, 1:31 PM
So you are walking home some night and come across a bloke whose wife has done the dirty on and he takes his anger out on you with a few digs? Is that alright?

Of course the Drogheda players did absolutely nothing to provoke our players and fans!:rolleyes:

24/04/2006, 1:35 PM
Can remember you trying to shrug off that excuse last time in Inchicore Colm?

24/04/2006, 1:35 PM
You would be the first to complain if $hels players acted in that way so don't be a hypocrite. It would be "typical Shels scum" but when the Corkies do it we are blowing it out of proportion.....get a grip.

Fair point I think....

ndrog
24/04/2006, 1:41 PM
Of course the Drogheda players did absolutely nothing to provoke our players and fans!:rolleyes:

Yes they did ! they scored a great goal in a game you dominated.That was provacation enough .

24/04/2006, 1:46 PM
CCFC fans: were excellent throughout, don;t really know if the sound carried around the ground or on TV, but I thought we were great, even in defeat.

CCFC spitting 'fans': i guessed there were verbals being thrown when I saw the crowd near the tunnel, didn't see anyone spitting, but enough people have said that it's clear on the TV pictures, I personally thought McKeon had a mare, but if anyone can be identified from the TV pictures, they should be banned from EL grounds for the rest of the season.

CCFC players: Gamble's card was rescinded, he did nothing wrong, Danny was red-carded and will rightly serve a ban for his actions. Behan left the leg in at one stage alright, I think he was booked though, George was rightly booked for his challenge.

Stewards: There was one idiot steward in particular who, if it hadn't been for the actions of a poster on here could have gotten a slap. They handled the end of the game badly IMO.

Drogs fans: There was a section at the back of the ballybough and nearest the ballybough of the main stand who really made an effort though the sound didn't travel. the rest were quiet, bar when George messed up and for five minutes when they scored.

Drogs players: Gavin led with the elbow every single time he jumped and another ref would have sent him off, after being booked he connected with Behan's head at least twice and O'Donovan once. Apart from that, it was the best I've seen him play (scary to think Steven Gray couldn't make the first team). fitzpatrick shouldn't have been on the field to be substituted, and you all know it.

The scenes at the end were unwelcome, despite all the talk in the lead up there's clearly a lot of needle between the two teams, some among the CCFC contingent may be rightly classed as sore losers, but I hope that the TV picked up on some of the actions of the Drogs players at the end, O'Brien in particular was a disgrace, as has been said, even Doolin spotted it and moved them along.

24/04/2006, 1:52 PM
Can remember you trying to shrug off that excuse last time in Inchicore Colm?

There's a hell of a difference between a bit of argy bargy between players/a gang of fans shouting and spitting and a feel getting his head split open by a flying rock imho. However, it's probably best not to be mentioning that incident too much ahead of Fridays game.

There is no issue here really. City players were p!ssed off as were the fans, two punched were thrown by players and that was the worst of it.

Speranza
24/04/2006, 2:39 PM
You are still being hypocritical. Are you really trying to say that we all hate The People's Republic TM so much that we blow these things out of proportion? NO. We all give $hels abuse and especially Corkies who cream themselves at the oppurtunity to call Shels scum. There is no difference but just you continue to delude yourself.

daveh
24/04/2006, 3:13 PM
of course you should fear us.We have proved again that we are winners,and that when it really matters Cork cant beat us.You were undoubtedly the better side but thats what makes it even better.All the crap that rico and george have spouted about the fai cup final and how cork "just didnt show up " blah,blah.Well you showed up the other night and still couldnt score

Ye won the fai cup for the first time(i think) last year,and won a setanta final that ye deserved nothing out of and all of a sudden ye are winners!:rolleyes:

24/04/2006, 3:26 PM
of course you should fear us.We have proved again that we are winners,and that when it really matters Cork cant beat us.Let me take you back to Friday October 14th last year, it mattered and we beat ye.

Yes they did ! they scored a great goal in a game you dominated.That was provacation enough.If the Drogheda players had not been at the New Stand end then the City fans would have left the ground without incident. O'Brien in particular was an absolute disgrace. He was more "Tarzan" O'Brien than "Fabio"

24/04/2006, 3:57 PM
Ye won the fai cup for the first time(i think) last year,and won a setanta final that ye deserved nothing out of and all of a sudden ye are winners!:rolleyes:
When you are looking up the records in a few years time it will show:
2005 FAI Cup: Winners - Drogheda United, Runners-Up - Cork City
2006 Setanta CUP: Winners - Drogheda United, Runners-Up - Cork City

There will be no reference to Cork not turning up in 2005 or Cork playing Drogheda off the field for 100 minutes in 2006.

Football is a results business and on these two occasions Drogheda United were the winners and Cork City were the losers.

You Cork boys will have to learn to live with it! If you wanted to have a bit of class about it you would accept these defeats graciously! Was that a pig I just saw flying passed the window??:rolleyes:

ndrog
24/04/2006, 4:37 PM

Sour grape anyone ?

24/04/2006, 5:27 PM
Ye won the fai cup for the first time(i think) last year,and won a setanta final that ye deserved nothing out of and all of a sudden ye are winners!:rolleyes:In fairness to Drogheda, they have won the last 2 domestic trophies to be played. If that doesn't make them winners....?!

BTW Cork (deservedly, in case I'm accused of sour grapes) won the League for the 2nd time in their history last season. Its not like you've strung together 5 in a row or whatever Rovers did!!!

Bit of perspective wouldn't go amiss, otherwise you do come across as poor losers in the Shels mould.