View Full Version : Cork players and supporters tonight

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Dr.Nightdub
24/04/2006, 7:58 PM
... only to be confronted by this scurrilous piece of common sense. Not good enough.

Had a feeling you'd pull me up on that! ;)

Not to worry, it fell on deaf ears anyway.

24/04/2006, 9:40 PM
In fairness to Drogheda, they have won the last 2 domestic trophies to be played. .
Try again. :p

24/04/2006, 9:55 PM
Try again. :pSetanta is domestic, in my mind anyway, call me old fashioned but I`m a kinda 32 counties guy :p

24/04/2006, 10:13 PM
Setanta is domestic, in my mind anyway, call me old fashioned but I`m a kinda 32 counties guy :p
Paisley was right.
Give these nationalists an inch and they'll take a fecking mile.:D

Speranza
24/04/2006, 10:28 PM
Paisley was right.
Give these nationalists an inch and they'll take a fecking mile.:D

The Rebel Army you're havin a laugh..... ;)

24/04/2006, 10:38 PM
:p :p :p

All that everyone can agree on is that the video evidence should be used.
That way we can see that Fabio and Danny get their comeuppance along with clearing up the involvement of Joey and any saliva-donors.

24/04/2006, 11:22 PM
Tiktok's response sums it up perfectly for me. Good game, fantastic atmosphere although result was heartbreaking for us.

Anyone who spat is on camera and should be banned from all El grounds for the rest of the season if not life. Again didn't see this but however bad the ref was there is absolutely no excuse.

Danny was a sore loser as people have said and deserves his ban. Should learn from it. O' Brien deserves a reprimand too and should have been sent off.

Fair play to Drogheda ye took ye're chance and won the game. Congrats.

JoeSemi
24/04/2006, 11:33 PM
Keep producing langers lads and your day won't be long coming to an end.

Happy Drog hunting:p

daveh
24/04/2006, 11:34 PM
In fairness to Drogheda, they have won the last 2 domestic trophies to be played. If that doesn't make them winners....?!

BTW Cork (deservedly, in case I'm accused of sour grapes) won the League for the 2nd time in their history last season. Its not like you've strung together 5 in a row or whatever Rovers did!!!

Bit of perspective wouldn't go amiss, otherwise you do come across as poor losers in the Shels mould.

And where in my post did I say we were winning cups all over the shop??:confused:

All im saying is that Drogheda might need a bit of perspective themselves before they get carried away with all the hype

And sour grapes??If you look back at an earlier post you'll notice i managed to congradulate Drogheda twice in it,thats good goin for any city fan who was at that game!:)

ndrog
24/04/2006, 11:44 PM
And where in my post did I say we were winning cups all over the shop??:confused:

All im saying is that Drogheda might need a bit of perspective themselves before they get carried away with all the hype

And sour grapes??If you look back at an earlier post you'll notice i managed to congradulate Drogheda twice in it,thats good goin for any city fan who was at that game!:)

As drogs fans we have lots of perspective.I know where weve been in the very recent past.We where 5 mins from going bust a few years ago.We where the yo yo club of the leauge.We couldnt attract any decent players !We are not getting carried away with anything , we are however enjoying our recent success.The fact that both cups came against cork makes it even sweeter.You are the leauge champs and have the best 11 in the leauge.
The vast majority of Drogs fans dont think we will win the leauge but we will have a say and hopefully we can be there abouts.

25/04/2006, 1:38 AM
micls and tiktok are doing a good job in preventing me tarring ALL Cork supporters with the same brush in fairness. The majority of Cork fans have "congratulated" Drogs but pure begrudgingly with all this "Ye won - but ye didn't deserve it" sh*t. Theres always a parting shot. They scored 1 goal, ye scored NONE...Drogs deserved it 100%.

Also, I'd like to point out that I'm impressed by the fact that the Drogs fans aren't going out of their way to gloat about this win - unless provoked to obviously...so fair play to ye. (Can't believe I said that!!) :0

ColinR
25/04/2006, 7:21 AM
micls and tiktok are doing a good job in preventing me tarring ALL Cork supporters with the same brush in fairness.....

Also, I'd like to point out that I'm impressed by the fact that the Drogs fans aren't going out of their way to gloat about this win - unless provoked to obviously...so fair play to ye. (Can't believe I said that!!) :0

group hug everybody :D

Dazzy
25/04/2006, 8:15 AM
group hug everybody :D

Dont let Cosmo see that:eek: :p

coislaoi
25/04/2006, 9:05 AM
As drogs fans we have lots of perspective.I know where weve been in the very recent past.We where 5 mins from going bust a few years ago.We where the yo yo club of the leauge.We couldnt attract any decent players !We are not getting carried away with anything , we are however enjoying our recent success.The fact that both cups came against cork makes it even sweeter.You are the leauge champs and have the best 11 in the leauge.
The vast majority of Drogs fans dont think we will win the leauge but we will have a say and hopefully we can be there abouts.

Fair play and well said. We do need to get a bit of perspective here. A very small minority of all eircom league fans post on here. Despite the recent rivalry between the two clubs, I'm delighted for Drogheda and their current success (I just wish it wasn't at our expense:eek: ). Goals win games - ye got one and we didn't - the rest doesn't really matter. As well as that we can both take positives from the game. Ye won a game in which ye didn't play as well as ye can and we played good football at times during the game. A big test up in Derry for ye on Friday night - a draw wouldn't surprise me.;)

25/04/2006, 9:18 AM
All that everyone can agree on is that the video evidence should be used.
Video evidence should only be admissible if an agreed standard of coverage is available from every single game in a competition. Roy O'Donovan got an additional two game ban because video evidence was used but O'Connor only got a one game ban as no video evidence was available. If the disciplinary procedure isn't clear, concise and fair, it cannot be respected!

By the way, I get the distinct impression that a lot of the neutrals are just plain jealous that they haven't been involved in two of the biggest Cup Finals seen of this Island for many years.

25/04/2006, 10:38 AM
Video evidence should only be admissible if an agreed standard of coverage is available from every single game in a competition. Roy O'Donovan got an additional two game ban because video evidence was used but O'Connor only got a one game ban as no video evidence was available. If the disciplinary procedure isn't clear, concise and fair, it cannot be respected!

By the way, I get the distinct impression that a lot of the neutrals are just plain jealous that they haven't been involved in two of the biggest Cup Finals seen of this Island for many years.
Fair enough in a utopian world Peader, but we aren't there yet.

Even in the World Cup/Champions League 16 or so cameras sometimes fail to capture incidents, particularly off the ball, and that doesn't stop action being taken when the cameras do capture something.

Murphy deserves a long ban and he was caught red handed on camera, period.

25/04/2006, 11:03 AM
Murphy deserves a long ban and he was caught red handed on camera, period.And O'Brien too of course.

25/04/2006, 11:06 AM
And O'Brien too of course.
Of course, but I would expect him to get a shorter ban, as he didn't really connect as well as he should have......;)

Dricky
25/04/2006, 11:18 AM
This mail has been 5 minutes of my life wasted. Life seepage, time I will never get back.

Every match I go to I enjoy myself with City fans and opposition fans I don't buy into this crap. Morons exist!!! some play football some even referee and some are fans.
Do we have to put up with this rubbish every time a football match is play. The horse is a rotting corpse at this stage.

Dricky
25/04/2006, 11:26 AM
Murphy deserves a long ban and he was caught red handed on camera, period.

So the linesman has nothing to do??? he was given a red card he'll be banned.
what's a long ban?? a match 3 matches 6 months???? surely just cause he was caught on camera shouldn't extend or shorten his ban, that is what the refs report is for or would you have a vote for all those at home to see the length he should get, you a TV3 pole.... punches are thrown all the time in football, if the camera wasn't there should that person get less???

25/04/2006, 11:32 AM
He should get a 3 match Setanta Cup ban.

25/04/2006, 12:32 PM
I agree Danny Murphy should get 3 match Setanta Cup ban if hes struck a player as reported (i have not seen). However as has been stated previous it is unfair to use video evidence for one offense & not another. I believe this is why video evidence not used for eL offences.

daveh
25/04/2006, 1:36 PM

Well said and I know where your coming from.Back in the 95/96 season a lot of City fans will remember how close we were to being relegated and more than likely going bust after that.

I think we got a large shot of perspective then and thankfully Dave Barry came in and steadied the ship.Things have only improved since then and when Brian Lennox came in the future started looking very bright.

I see a lot of similarities between what is happening at Drogheda and what happened down here,but its happening at a much faster pace at ye obviously.
One question I would ask though is have the board at Drogheda said they were staying put for a considerable length of time or do they demand league success fairly quickly??

It would be a shame if for whatever reason you didnt manage to win the league in the next say 3 seasons and they pulled out

25/04/2006, 2:16 PM
Did they not say they'd stay for four seasons when they came in last year?
Doolins 3 year contract would bring it up to then.
Surely, they're going to stay on board until their ground opens anyway, whenever that is.

ndrog
25/04/2006, 2:48 PM
Did they not say they'd stay for four seasons when they came in last year?
Doolins 3 year contract would bring it up to then.
Surely, they're going to stay on board until their ground opens anyway, whenever that is.

The board are apparently staying for the long haul.There main objective ,after winning the leauge :) is to make sure we are financialy stable and can sustain our place in top flight football.The new stadium is the no 1 priority right now and that should start pretty soon.We hope !

hoopy
25/04/2006, 5:14 PM

That's a good point, sure at this stage I'd be going bananas if Rovers got into a League Cup final!

Celdrog
25/04/2006, 5:58 PM
One question I would ask though is have the board at Drogheda said they were staying put for a considerable length of time or do they demand league success fairly quickly??
It would be a shame if for whatever reason you didnt manage to win the league in the next say 3 seasons and they pulled out

Vincent Hoey who is the chairman has been around the Drogs on and off since the start (1963). A second director has been involved on and off with the club for 11 years. The third is also there a few years. Its only recently that they decided to put their money where their mouth was and go fulltime etc. The remaining directors stepped aside a couple of years ago to let these guys do their thing
These guys remember the bad times and are now enjoying the good times, like a lot of fans are so I don't think they are in an immediate hurry

26/04/2006, 12:20 AM
He should get a 3 match Setanta Cup ban.

He should get the same as Dan Connors ... what did he get ??

RedX
26/04/2006, 12:36 AM
Its clear to see....every thread ends up the same...its a fact that everyone is JEALOUS of Cork City FC because they are the best team in the country...keep the FAI Cup...keep the Setanta cup because we are the league champions and we will be playing in the champions league this season...if someone can take our title off us i will congradulate them but until then keep all of your jealousy to yourselves...as i said in a different thread recently the same posters on here are going around stirring everyone up all the time...look through the threads and you will see...Cosmo/Dodge and a few from the bitter losers last season..Derry i think there names are...its just jealousy...i wait to see the next thread they all try to gang up on City fans....;)

Roverstillidie
26/04/2006, 2:03 AM
Its clear to see....every thread ends up the same...its a fact that everyone is JEALOUS of Cork City FC because they are the best team in the country...keep the FAI Cup...keep the Setanta cup because we are the league champions and we will be playing in the champions league this season...if someone can take our title off us i will congradulate them but until then keep all of your jealousy to yourselves...

i thought it was shels we were jealous of?

im extremely jealous of your massive haul of 2 leagues in the 22 years a club from cork has managed to remain afloat. well done.

its not that long ago we enjoyed no seniour cork side. its even less long ago you were getting 150 at games. great to see a successful cork side, but its all too recent for you to start being a smartarse.

you posted after half one. i hope you were ****ed. really, i do.

Speranza
26/04/2006, 10:37 AM
You talk sense RTID.

26/04/2006, 10:43 AM
...sure at this stage I'd be going bananas if Rovers got into a League Cup final!

With a Setanta Sports Cup place at stake, I wouldn't blame you. ;)

26/04/2006, 4:31 PM
Dont let Cosmo see that:eek: :p

I'm actually getting over my dislike for derry city :eek:

26/04/2006, 5:11 PM
Its clear to see....every thread ends up the same...its a fact that everyone is JEALOUS of Cork City FC because they are the best team in the country...keep the FAI Cup...keep the Setanta cup because we are the league champions and we will be playing in the champions league this season...if someone can take our title off us i will congradulate them but until then keep all of your jealousy to yourselves...

Ye won the fai cup for the first time(i think) last year,and won a setanta final that ye deserved nothing out of and all of a sudden ye are winners!:rolleyes:

Hmmmmmm :rolleyes:

Speranza
26/04/2006, 5:42 PM
How can we be called jealous? Where you there when City fans shook hands and sung with the Cork fans in the Shed..... "keep the shed" "no dubs in europe" e.t.c Did you not see the widespread swapping of scarves and congratluting of Cork players and Rico on the pitch after the match.

Now compare that attitude to losing with spitting on refs and slapping opponents.

26/04/2006, 6:06 PM
Now compare that attitude to losing with spitting on refs and slapping opponents.

But there is alot of respect there between both clubs and sets of fans, the game in the Brandy last year was unreal aswell eve though we lost 3:1 ... the chanting after the game there and in the pubs was only to believed if witnessed. Sadly the respect seems to be missing between Drogs and City !!

26/04/2006, 6:41 PM
But there is alot of respect there between both clubs and sets of fans, the game in the Brandy last year was unreal aswell eve though we lost 3:1 ... the chanting after the game there and in the pubs was only to believed if witnessed. Sadly the respect seems to be missing between Drogs and City !!

Yeah best away game i've ever been at in the eL eventhough lost the game.

Speranza
26/04/2006, 7:19 PM
I agree about the mutual respect. It's brilliant and what domestic football is all about but IMO the reason this relationship doesn't exist between yourselves and Drogs is because of Georgie's previous with Drogheda and how he brings this onto the pitch. He dives and taunts which would wind anyone up.

As an aside...heard that last year in the hotel after the league decider Georgie was a gentleman and even posed with our home top for photos.

iceman
26/04/2006, 7:28 PM

Any word on what City are planning to do with the spitters , they are easily identifyable , are they the same ones that fired the vodka bottle at Dan Connor last season at the Cross? whatever happened to them?

26/04/2006, 8:52 PM
As an aside...heard that last year in the hotel after the league decider Georgie was a gentleman and even posed with our home top for photos.

He always has times for fans. Even puts up with the drunk ones annoying the hell out of him with a smile on his face. Whatever ye think of him on the pitch no one can dispute the effort he puts in off it especially of late.

26/04/2006, 9:12 PM
The whole George v Drogs thing started when Drogs tried to sign him he turned them down & ever since been taunting on both sides. Its football not cricket.

Celdrog
26/04/2006, 9:55 PM
The whole George v Drogs thing started when Drogs tried to sign him he turned them down & ever since been taunting on both sides. Its football not cricket.

Bull**** - Nobody really expected Georgie to sign for us, it showed how much we had progressed that we were even talking to a player like that

It all started when we won the cup and took your double away and then you guys started crying about not turning up, it being cold, pitch was bad, final was in Dublin, suspensions, injuries etc. etc..
You had no excuses this time, you turned up, you have more of a first 11 than we had. You had most of the posession and we still beat you.

Wake up, smell the roses or the coffee, offer a modicom of congratulations and lets move on. I love going to games in Cork and having Cork fans in Drogheda and I want it to stay that way.

26/04/2006, 10:10 PM
Bull**** - Nobody really expected Georgie to sign for us, it showed how much we had progressed that we were even talking to a player like that

It all started when we won the cup and took your double away and then you guys started crying about not turning up, it being cold, pitch was bad, final was in Dublin, suspensions, injuries etc. etc..
You had no excuses this time, you turned up, you have more of a first 11 than we had. You had most of the posession and we still beat you.

Wake up, smell the roses or the coffee, offer a modicom of congratulations and lets move on. I love going to games in Cork and having Cork fans in Drogheda and I want it to stay that way.

Congratulations !!

daveh
26/04/2006, 10:34 PM
Hmmmmmm :rolleyes:

Cant see your point dancinpants sorry:confused:

ndrog
26/04/2006, 10:35 PM
Congratulations !!

Yes well done .Great post there !

Celdrog
26/04/2006, 11:51 PM
Congratulations !!

Don't mind if I quote you??

Are we all friends again - and if so lets combine forces and tackle the barstoolers again:D

Dr.Nightdub
27/04/2006, 12:18 AM
Are we all friends again - and if so lets combine forces and tackle the barstoolers again:D

Thank god for that, this thread was getting completely hormonal at times.

27/04/2006, 12:20 AM
Don't mind if I quote you??

Now theres a plan !! :)

27/04/2006, 7:51 AM
Thank god for that, this thread was getting completely hormonal at times.

See you Friday night for some HRT. ;)

27/04/2006, 8:32 AM
Be nice Peadar