View Full Version : Best covers of songs?

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

11/07/2007, 7:11 PM
arctic monkeys - love machine

Marked Man
11/07/2007, 8:22 PM
Lots of good covers on The Bad Seeds' "Kicking Against the *****s." My favorites are Hey Joe and Muddy Water.

Both Minor Threat and The Sex Pistols do excellent versions of Stepping Stone.

Spizz does a good version of Kraftwerk's "The Model".

Who did the original version of Mr. Pharmacist?

MojoPin
11/07/2007, 8:25 PM
Who did the original version of Mr. Pharmacist?

was that by FALL?

11/07/2007, 8:50 PM
The Lemonheads - Brass Buttons (Gram Parsons song)
The Trash Can Sinatras - To Sir With Love
Teenage Fanclub - Have You Ever Seen The Rain
Elvis Costello - My Funny Valentine, (What's So Funny Bout) Peace Love and Understanding, I'm Your Toy.

Marked Man
11/07/2007, 8:57 PM
was that by FALL?

According to Noby's post above, The Fall covered it.

11/07/2007, 10:08 PM
George Clinton - Because
RHCP - Love Rollercoaster (Don't like RHCP but this is a brilliant version of a brilliant song)
Prince - Betcha By Golly Wow
Sun Ra - Early Autumn, China Gates, Frisco Fog, Prelude To A Kiss
Wheatus - A Little Respect
Rammstein - The Model (you have to hear it to believe it)
The Blues Brothers - Jailhouse Rock
Nirvana - The Man Who Sold The World (Don't like Nirvana but it's a really good version)
David Bowie - Wild Is The Wind, Let's Spend The Night Together

noby
12/07/2007, 8:41 AM
was that by FALL?
It was by The Other Half, a '60s garage/psychedelic band.
The Fall have done a lot of covers. I only mention this one because I recently got a copy of the original.
Actually, they do a great version of Lost in Music.

12/07/2007, 10:47 AM
...i think he now holds a fake cult status due to his popularity mainly from liverpool winning the CL...
What the hell has Johnny Cash got to do with Liverpool?

...as i have said i think his cover of "i see a darkness" is one of the best cover versions ever but when ever i some one elses hears it there like thats **** put on ring of fire... most of his own songs are dark. but his most famous ones are either funny or cheesy
And some people like the cheesy ones, be they A Boy Named Sue, or Ring of Fire or Ballad of a Teenage Queen or whatever. You don't have to like Man in Black to be a Johnny Cash fan. You sound like one of those pathetic fans who decry people who like the same things as "not real fans", pretending that they're somehow superior out of some fear that 'their' thing is being invaded.

12/07/2007, 10:57 AM
to be fair to mojo especially in cobh any night out you will hear liverpool fans go de de de de then alrite alrite in scouse acsent, then team of crraghers then back to johnny cash it is annoying the way they think its a club song type thing. i like johnny cash myself btw, possibly the film opened my eyes to him more.

12/07/2007, 11:32 AM
Not fond of our fans doing Ring of Fire at games either, especially when they're doing it whilst only drawing 2-2 at home to Shelbourne

12/07/2007, 11:42 AM
David Bowie - Sorrow made the song his own.
Roxy Music - Jealous Guy nicer arrangement than the original
Something Happens - Borderline( originally by Madonna)....
just guitar and voice works well.
Annie Lennox - No More I love You's.... made the song her own
Rolling Stones - It's All Over Now.. one of my favourite's by them

Wolfie
12/07/2007, 1:09 PM
Manic Street Preachers - Last Christmas
Manic Street Preachers - Suicide is Painless
Manic Street Preachers - Raindrops keep falling on my head
Oasis - My Generation
Oasis - I am the Walrus
Happy Mondays - Stayin Alive
Travis - Hit me baby one more time

stann
12/07/2007, 2:38 PM
Marked Man reminds me of Big Black's blistering version of The Model.

Also:
Thin White Rope - Yoo Doo Right
The Kingsmen - Louie Louie

Marked Man
12/07/2007, 4:55 PM
Actually, they do a great version of Lost in Music.

Yes, that is a classic alright.

Some other good ones:

Megadeth: These Boots Are Made For Walking
Beatles: Money
AC/DC: Baby Please Don't Go

12/07/2007, 5:56 PM
As a bonus track on Manics new album theres a hidden cover of John Lennon's Working Class Hero. Quite good it is too. Id put White Stripes, I Dont Know What To Do With Myself in there too.

Dick Long
12/07/2007, 7:23 PM
Gary Jules - Mad World (Tears for Fears)
-
Wet Wet Wet - Love is all around (The Troggs)
Made them plenty of money anyway!

eh.... Whitney Houston - I will always love you (Dolly Parton)

anything by Jive Bunny
"Come on everybody, c-c-come on everybody"

DaveyCakes
12/07/2007, 8:06 PM
The Sisters of Mercy - Gimmie Shelter
The Sisters of Mercy - 1969
The Sisters of Mercy - Sister Ray
The Sisters of Mercy - Jolene
The Sisters of Mercy - Gimmie Gimmie Gimmie (A Man After Midnight)

SaucyJack
12/07/2007, 8:24 PM
There's gotta be hundred's of covers I really like, but being as I watched this today, I'll start with the Afghan whigs cover of the Supreme's My world is empty without you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bYa3nZ5UYRY&mode=related&search=

Neish
12/07/2007, 9:38 PM
Been thinking about this the last day or two, some quality covers not mentioned yet

Last Kiss- Pearl Jam---(Orignal version - J. Frank Wilson & Cavaliers)
Renegades of funk- Rage against the Machine----(Orignal version - Africa Bumbata)
Louie. Louie - The Kingsmen-----(Orignal version - Richard Berry)
Stop Breaking down - The white Stripes----(Orignal version - Robert Johnson)
Hey Joe - Jimmi Hendrix -----(Orignal version - The leaves)
I Fought the law-The Clash ---(Orignal version - The Crickets)

12/07/2007, 9:42 PM
bruce springsteen - viva las vegas

lofty9
12/07/2007, 9:58 PM
Best : Guns N Roses with Dylan's Knocking on Heavens door.

Worst : Cheryl Crowe doing same song.

Marked Man
13/07/2007, 6:51 AM
Some I was reminded of today:

Cramps: Human fly, Garbageman
Conflict: Reality whitewash (originally by Crass)
Bauhaus: Ziggy Stardust

13/07/2007, 5:18 PM
Been thinking about this the last day or two, some quality covers not mentioned yet

Last Kiss- Pearl Jam---(Orignal version - J. Frank Wilson & Cavaliers)

Good call.

13/07/2007, 8:31 PM
Best:

Mark Ronson - Stop Me If You Think You've Heard this One Before

I really really hated it at first, but its different and grew to really like after all. Even Morrissey liked it.

[B]Worst[/B

Mark Ronson - Oh My God feat Lily Allen

Undid your good work mate. terrible terrible cover. Lily singing like she cant be arsed. And those blaring horns! Make it stop!

14/07/2007, 7:18 PM
Made them plenty of money anyway!

That's a pish version. REM did a much better one on their MTV UNplugged session, with Mike Mills singing lead.

red metal
15/07/2007, 7:40 AM
Metallica whiskey in the jar the video is not bad either!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cswkEL1O4Hk

15/07/2007, 8:40 AM
Mark Ronson - Stop Me If You Think You've Heard this One Before
Mark Ronson - Oh My God feat Lily Allen
Guns N Roses with Dylan's Knocking on Heavens door.
Whitney Houston - I will always love you (Dolly Parton)
Oasis - My Generation

...should all be on a compilation called 'Rock N Rolls Greatest War Crimes'.

Opportunistic pub rock, grand scale karaoke and cynical basking in the afterglow of greater talent.

Neish
15/07/2007, 2:31 PM
Just reading the Observer Music monthly, they are doing a vote for the best 50 cover versions ever, check out link below to vote

http://guardian.waidev4.com/cover_bands/site/

Made me think of another few covers
Gloria-Patti Smith----(Orginal version Them)
Step On-The Happy Mondays---(original version Johm Kongos)
Police & Theives-The Clash-----(Original version Junior Murvin)
Tears of a clown-The Beat---(Original version Smokey Robinson)

16/07/2007, 7:18 AM
http://guardian.waidev4.com/cover_bands/site/

Very annoying, badly designed page. Like a fussy Bebo site.

Neish
16/07/2007, 11:48 AM
Just heard a nomination for worst cover version

How soon is now - Love Spirt -----(Orginak version The Smiths).

Its the theme tune to American show Charmed, have a Tv in the canteen at work and a load of woman watching the show, wanted to throw the TV though the window when I heard the tune. :mad:

16/07/2007, 11:52 AM

Its the theme tune to American show Charmed, have a Tv in the canteen at work and a load of woman watching the show, wanted to throw the TV though the window when I heard the tune. :mad:

It's vile indeed. Horrible faux-metal poser muck.

Wolfie
16/07/2007, 12:44 PM
...should all be on a compilation called 'Rock N Rolls Greatest War Crimes'.

Opportunistic pub rock, grand scale karaoke and cynical basking in the afterglow of greater talent.

Steady Lionel!! - some of your tender love ballads are not above criticism!!!! :D

16/07/2007, 2:03 PM
Steady Lionel!! - some of your tender love ballads are not above criticism!!!! :D

More sinned against than sinned. Faith No Mores' pointless regurgation of 'Easy' comes to mind. ;)

RogerMilla
16/07/2007, 2:12 PM
Other faves, not already mentioned, off the top of me head:
The Futureheads - Hounds Of Love

absolute genius !

also richard cheese and stephan hawking " the girl is mine" LOL

RogerMilla
16/07/2007, 2:16 PM
bruce springsteen - viva las vegas

bruce springsteen . jersey girl.

Marked Man
16/07/2007, 6:58 PM
Sonic Youth: Into The Groove(y)

stann
16/07/2007, 8:17 PM
Neish, Marked Man, read the thread through lads! :P

Didn't know 'Step On' was a cover though, you really do live and learn! :D

DaveyCakes
16/07/2007, 8:23 PM

tATu's version isn't bad. It's exactly how you'd imagine a tATU cover of How Soon is Now to sound,

17/07/2007, 12:08 AM
Jimmy Eat World - Last Christmas - Wham
Goo Goo Dolls - A Million Miles Away - The Plimsouls (nothing to do with The Offspring)
The Get Up Kids - Regret - New Order
Stabbing Westward - Bizarre Love Triangle - New Order
Therapy? - Diane - Hisker Du
The Lemonheads - Mrs.Robinson - Simon & Garfunkel
Everclear - Brown Eyed Girl - Van Morrison
Me First And The Gimme Gimmes - The Rainbow Connection - Kermit The Frog
The Ataris - Boys of Summer - Don Henley
Feeder - Can't Stand Losing You - The Police
Foo Fighters - Baker Street - Uh... I'm not sure actually... Jerry Refferty?
Faith No More - I Started A Joke - Not sure again but The Bee Gees wrote it
Quietdrive - Time After Time - Cyndi Lauper
Limbeck - I Want It That Way - Backstreet Boys
Social Distortion - Pretty In Pink - Psycedelic Furs
Codeseven - Boys of Summer - Don Henley

and the greatest cover of all time is:

Lit - Pictures of You - The Cure

noby
17/07/2007, 7:40 AM
Didn't know 'Step On' was a cover though, you really do live and learn! :D

They didn't exactly advertise the fact.

17/07/2007, 8:11 AM
Sonic Youth's (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=hHZNWimbhUE) cover of Superstar by the Carpenters is pretty damn good.

17/07/2007, 8:18 AM
Channel 4 (I think) did a feature on Eurovision a few years back and it featured two excellent Cover Versions. Keneckie did Brotherhood of Mans' 'Save All Your Kisses For Me' and Shane McGowan and The Popes did Johnny whatsisface' 'What's Another Year?'

I detest Eurovision but both those were quality.

17/07/2007, 11:35 AM
Ian Brown - Billie Jean
Oasis - I Am The Walrus (circa 94)
The Lemonheads - Mrs Robinson

Does "Walking with Jesus" - Spiritualized actually count or is Spacemen 3 too close?

Lots of Cash ones on the "American" albums. I would've put down his coming back to prominence down to those albums rather than the film tbh, but I wouldn't have thought he slipped that far from the consciousness of music people, would he? The scousers would claim credit for feckin anything if they're attempting to claim credit for the Cash revival...

Marked Man
17/07/2007, 4:51 PM
Leather Nun: Gimme Gimme Gimme (Abba)

Billsthoughts
17/07/2007, 10:55 PM
there is a country band called hem who have an album waiting for tom. has two cracking cover versions on it.
south central rain - REM and the criminally underated - radiation vibe by the fountains of wayne.
check them out on itunes - well worth the 1.98€

18/07/2007, 7:53 AM
Leather Nun: Gimme Gimme Gimme (Abba)

Gabba (http://www.gabba.co.uk/) -Gimme Gimme Gimme Shock Treatment at Midnight

anto1208
19/07/2007, 9:11 AM
Not sure if this has been up all ready as im not reading through all the posts but this is my favourite song at the momment

Israel Kamakawiwo'ole :- somewhere over the rainbow/ what a wonderfull world .

The Good Son
19/07/2007, 9:56 AM
Every cover version The Clash did.
California Über Alles - The Disposable Heroes of Hiphoprisy
It's A Heartache - Arab Strap
Shiny Happy People - Fatima Mansions

stann
19/07/2007, 10:28 AM
The Klaxons - It's Not Over Yet.
Isn't this a dance tune from a few years back that I thought at the time was yer wan from Texas but wasn't? It's a better version if so.

19/07/2007, 12:38 PM
It was a hit around 1995 as i recall , Grace I think the artist was called,
Some other ones I like
Jose Gonzalez - Heartbeats
Futureheads - Hounds of Love
Placebo - Running up that Hill
Manic Street Preachers - Suicide is Painless