View Full Version : Details of Drogs new stadium
SeanDrog
08/03/2006, 7:17 AM
hopefully the planning permission won't take long, the town planners have been fully involved to date to can't see any reason it will be rejected - also no houses etc in the area of the proposed new grounds. Looking good - here's hoping all goes to plan. Anyway here are the details from the drogs website for anyone interested
Exciting details of the brand new stadium were launched at a Press reception at the D Hotel today. Compere Terry Collins conveyed the huge pride that the town still feels after winning the FAI Cup and was very confident that United will soon be THE number one club in Ireland.
Edward McCarthy from Sports Facilities International outlined the details and drawings of The Drogheda United Stadium which is due to be completed in 2007.
"Once planning permission has been granted the stadium will be built in six or seven months" McCarthy explained. "It will have covered seating on alll four sides with 20 hospitality boxes included. It will be a stadium that the club and town will be very proud of and will conform to all the UEFA Criteria .No other Irish club will be able to match the playing surface or the facilities ".
Director Jim McArdle outlined further improvements including the relocation of club offices to the spacious Bayview House on the Dublin Road & also the full time appointment of Terry Collins as PRO for the club. Chairman Vincent Hoey conveyed how much the FAI Cup win really meant to the people of Drogheda and thanked Murphy Environmental and all the other sponsors for the huge part they are playing off the field for the club and town.He also praised the tremendous spirit and "the feel good factor" in the club.
Paul Doolin paid tribute to the directors,Vincent Hoey, Chris Byrne, Jim McArdle & Eugene O'Connor for their huge input and remarked how so few players were willing to sign for Drogheda just a short time ago. "We want the best for the club and town. It's really a good time for the club because of the sound financial support from the directors & sponsors,but also from the well organised structure within the club. We are not complacent after winning the cup. We have some distance to go yet but the main thing is that Drogheda United are most definitely on the right track".
Mayor Tommy Murphy concluded the briefing by explaining how proud of the club and town he was and assured us that the Drogheda Borough Council would do everything in its power to ensure that the club's dreams do come true.
Dj Duffer
08/03/2006, 7:34 AM
Sounds good, what will its capacity be do ya know??
SeanDrog
08/03/2006, 7:39 AM
10,000 all seater (covered). there is a bit more info in todays Metro;
it will cost 10million, (7million coming from the sale of Utd park. There will also be a hotel, fitness club, busines sunits and housing.
They reckon we will be in by 2007 (personaly i would love to see it but it is a very tight time frame).
08/03/2006, 8:04 AM
They reckon we will be in by 2007 (personaly i would love to see it but it is a very tight time frame).
Doesn't the construction company involved specialise in building sports stadiums in a short time frame.
Some revolutionary building method (hopefully not involving lego bricks:D )
08/03/2006, 9:15 AM
It sounds almost too good to be true. Best of luck with this one. Whereabouts is it being built? On the outskirts of the town?
Celdrog
08/03/2006, 9:31 AM
It sounds almost too good to be true. Best of luck with this one. Whereabouts is it being built? On the outskirts of the town?
About 3/4 mile north of United Park at the edge of the town. It is also about 3/4 mile from the motorway exit just after the bridge. Will be very accessible for away fans - no more 40 minute delays going thorugh the town :)
harpskid
08/03/2006, 9:57 AM
Great to see! Fair play to Drogheda.
Is this on the Dundalk side of the town?
Celdrog
08/03/2006, 10:08 AM
Great to see! Fair play to Drogheda.
Is this on the Dundalk side of the town?
Yes I can confirm that it is indeed on the Craptown side of Drogheda :D and very much in county Louth, so we will still be the pride of Louth, although that is changing and we are really the pride of the North East :D :D
08/03/2006, 11:28 AM
any artists impressions of the final stadium ?
Are Drogheda serious about a 6-7 building timeline? Is it going to be timberframed with a roof? ;)
08/03/2006, 11:36 AM
we will still be the pride of Louth, although that is changing and we are really the pride of the North East :D :D
Is the new stadium in Belfast then.....? :confused:
Are Drogheda serious about a 6-7 building timeline? Is it going to be timberframed with a roof? ;)
Timberframe? Doubt it, check out the site of the construction company here (http://www.meccano.com/)
Drogheda new Town Centre...
08/03/2006, 11:45 AM
Best of luck with it. Sounds a great addition to the league. Timing is everything and with the Cup win this should be the catalyst for the stadium. With the increasing population there no reason why Drogheda (I fcuking hate that drogs sh1t) cant be one of the big clubs soon.
08/03/2006, 11:50 AM
Congratulations, Hope you enjoy your new home
Celdrog
08/03/2006, 2:23 PM
Is the new stadium in Belfast then.....? :confused:
No it's in Drogheda - in the north east of our country.
08/03/2006, 2:31 PM
HAHA :D
They will never fill it though !!
08/03/2006, 2:35 PM
I'm gonna miss the terracing in the away section - devastating loss :(
*RR stands for a minute silence - wipes tear away*
08/03/2006, 2:52 PM
Anyone else see the irony in this?!
Celdrog
08/03/2006, 2:56 PM
Coming from a supporter who despite domestic and european success have one of the smallest supports of any of the bigger clubs this is priceless.
It will mean we will be able to accomodate when Cork/Derry/Bohs/Rovers/Craptown come to town. For yourselves we will reserve two rows in the corner which will be sufficient.
How many at your opening Setanta game again??????
manic da hoop
08/03/2006, 3:27 PM
From a Shels fan of all people...priceless!!!
I believe this is supposed to be a jokes as shels fans don't defend poor crowds anymore.
08/03/2006, 3:31 PM
kearney seems happy enough to play in front of that small crowd;)
Thats because hes a small player.
iceman
08/03/2006, 5:51 PM
Its a new concept , similar to Gloucester RFC , cantilever style , built off site and assembled on site. Aparently its just amatter of pouring the foundations then a fleet of trucks arrives with the sections , a crane hangs them and they are bolted together. Hence the short time scale.
08/03/2006, 7:46 PM
Lads you will be all crying when we move into a top stadium and are hosting the top clubs of Europe.
FORZA SHELS !!!
Bald Student
08/03/2006, 7:50 PM
There's one thing I don't understand. I had a look at the artist's picture of it there and it actually looks like a real stadium.
What's the deal? Do yee not know that it's traditional in this league to build one stand and then to let it fall apart? Your stadium is going to look out of place.
monkey magic
08/03/2006, 8:21 PM
Thats because hes a small player.
POTM:D
im nominating it right now..
SeanDrog
09/03/2006, 7:09 AM
here is an oldish post from the drogs mb,halfwy down through the thread is the artists impression og the stadium which was published in the local paper a few months back
http://www.irishfootienetwork.com/viewtopic.php?t=2316
Is the new stadium in Belfast then.....?
No it's in Drogheda - in the north east of our country.Do you know the difference between the country and the state?? NI is part of your / our country, even if there are two different states.
Do you know the difference between the country and the state?? NI is part of your / our country, even if there are two different states.
Here we go :)
SeanDrog
09/03/2006, 8:20 AM
looked up a dictionary (just to be sure) and the following applied for a country
:A nation or state.
The territory of a nation or state; land
So yes the republic of Ireland is a country. In fact its our country with our own borders, government, citizens, passports, ports, airports, army, gardai etc etc etc
Live with it.
09/03/2006, 8:21 AM
Website for the construction company.
www.sportsfi.com
:A nation or state.
The territory of a nation or state; land
So yes the republic of Ireland is a country. In fact its our country with our own borders, government, citizens, passports, ports, airports, army, gardai
OK, you're right, I'm wrong. We should just build a big 10 meter high wall all the way around the border, because "up there" has got absolutely nothing to do with the 26-counties. It could float off all the way to Iceland for all you give a damn... :rolleyes:
Except that, oh wait, anyone from the North is entitled to be an Irish citizen, hold an Irish passport, join the Gardai or the Army, run for - and become - President of your completely seperate country.
Let's also forget that almost every other sport in "these countries" is organised on an all-Ireland basis (our own beautiful game being one of the few exceptions).
Oh, and in case you need recourse to the legal basis upon which all this is based, perhaps you'd like to read the basic law (http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/upload/publications/297.htm) of your country:
It is the entitlement and birthright of every person born in the island of Ireland, which includes its islands and seas, to be part of the Irish Nation.
It is the firm will of the Irish Nation, in harmony and friendship, to unite all the people who share the territory of the island of IrelandAnd that's the wording since 1998, I'm sure you remember that before 1998 the wording was a hell of a lot stronger. Now, I'm not saying that we live in a 32-county utopia, but nor do we live in a 26 county state that has absolutely nothing to do with the North-East of the country - the situation in Ireland is at best ambiguous.
Live with it!
Here we go :)Sorry, it had to be done :o Nice stadium plan BTW!
SeanDrog
09/03/2006, 11:10 AM
OK, you're right, I'm wrong. We should just build a big 10 meter high wall all the way around the border, because "up there" has got absolutely nothing to do with the 26-counties. It could float off all the way to Iceland for all you give a damn... :rolleyes:
Except that, oh wait, anyone from the North is entitled to be an Irish citizen, hold an Irish passport, join the Gardai or the Army, run for - and become - President of your completely seperate country.
Let's also forget that almost every other sport in "these countries" is organised on an all-Ireland basis (our own beautiful game being one of the few exceptions).
Oh, and in case you need recourse to the legal basis upon which all this is based, perhaps you'd like to read the basic law (http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/upload/publications/297.htm) of your country:
And that's the wording since 1998, I'm sure you remember that before 1998 the wording was a hell of a lot stronger. Now, I'm not saying that we live in a 32-county utopia, but nor do we live in a 26 county state that has absolutely nothing to do with the North-East of the country - the situation in Ireland is at best ambiguous.
Live with it!
of coure you are welcome to be a citizen of our country but that doesn't mean that makes N'Ireland part of our country for that matter we would own the UK and the US becuase we have citizens there.
Fact is for now N'Ireland is another country , for now legally it is another country untill the majority in the north want to join the south. (and the majority of the south want them to join us)
David
09/03/2006, 11:11 AM
And that's the wording since 1998, I'm sure you remember that before 1998 the wording was a hell of a lot stronger. Now, I'm not saying that we live in a 32-county utopia, but nor do we live in a 26 county state that has absolutely nothing to do with the North-East of the country - the situation in Ireland is at best ambiguous.
Live with it!
I hate political crap, particularly on a football MB but this could just not be let go. Have articles 2 and 3 that you have quoted here not been removed as part of the GFA. Northern ireland and ROI are officially recognised as two separate countries hence the separate government, separate football teams and separate governing bodies.
David
09/03/2006, 11:12 AM
here is an oldish post from the drogs mb,halfwy down through the thread is the artists impression og the stadium which was published in the local paper a few months back
http://www.irishfootienetwork.com/viewtopic.php?t=2316
Looks excellent. Best of luck with it.
Celdrog
09/03/2006, 11:16 AM
Do you know the difference between the country and the state?? NI is part of your / our country, even if there are two different states.
Actually I didn't and I really appreciate the socio-political lesson. Now when you come on and ask is the new stadium is in Belfast what the hell sort of reaction did you expect ....We have been over this sort of crap time and time again. Derry fans (understandably) hate it but you brought it up this time. The only reason Drogs fans bait you is that we do not forgive Mr Roddy for his inconsistency in going after the Drogs a few years ago. Saw nothing of a personal crusade against Rovers last year. Anyway thanks for the compliment on the stadium and we look forward to beating you in our state / country / whatever both home and away:D
And - if the ten foot wall is ever built and the whole thing is floated off to Iceland is there any chance that they could come about four miles south and include Dundalk?:D :D
09/03/2006, 11:24 AM
I hate political crap, particularly on a football MB but this could just not be let go. Have articles 2 and 3 that you have quoted here not been removed as part of the GFA.
Not removed, just amended.
I think the current wording is here
http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/upload/publications/297.htm
David
09/03/2006, 11:29 AM
Not removed, just amended.
I think the current wording is here
http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/upload/publications/297.htm
Shows how much interest I take in politics of this nature. ;)
Rochey
09/03/2006, 11:35 AM
why cant we just all get along :rolleyes:
09/03/2006, 1:20 PM
Shows how much interest I take in politics of this nature. ;)
To your credit you're more interested in important stuff.
Like football:D
Lads you will be all crying when we move into a top stadium and are hosting the top clubs of Europe.
FORZA SHELS !!!
I wouldn't call Dalymount a top stadium...
Celdrog
09/03/2006, 7:16 PM
LMAO :D :D
anto eile
10/03/2006, 12:02 AM
from a shels fan nonetheless:rolleyes:
good luck with the stadium.sounds impressive
anto eile
10/03/2006, 12:04 AM
FORZA SHELS !!!
:D :D :D
Quite a few EL grounds that I have not been to but what would you class as better than Dalymount. I would say it is probably the best out of those that I have been at.
The Jodi is a great stand, but the rest of the stadium is in an awful state. You obviously haven't had the "pleasure" of having to use the jacks in the Connaught Street side for an evening kick off! :eek:
Never actually been in it for a game. Have used the excellent social facilities on a few occasions and played in a 5-a-side competition there in December. Where would you class as better?