View Full Version : Details of Drogs new stadium
Right this is going to be painfull.... Turners Cross for one. Tolka would be a better overall ground.
Never been to Turners Cross. I would disagree about Tolka to be honest, I thought it was in an awful state when we played in the Setanta final there.
10/03/2006, 8:27 AM
Flancare is a grand ground as well. Would be even better if they covered a bit more of it.
The problem with Dalymount is that it's too big. I know that sounds stupid but unless its for a really big game the crowd looks lost in it.
Tolka and Turners Cross have the benefit of being much more compact.
Flancare is a grand ground as well. Would be even better if they covered a bit more of it.
The problem with Dalymount is that it's too big. I know that sounds stupid but unless its for a really big game the crowd looks lost in it.
Tolka and Turners Cross have the benefit of being much more compact.
Agree totally about Longford. We were fortunate in that the weather was ok when we were there but I don't fancy being there when it is raining. If it was covered it would be a great wee stadium and the perfect size.
Where would you class as better?
Millenium Stadium Cardiff, Nou Camp etc... eL was never mentioned... ;)
09/04/2008, 6:42 PM
Bump.
What's the latest on this?
(Drogheda's new ground, not the petty political point scoring)
TheBoss
09/04/2008, 10:44 PM
I think they are still waiting for Planning Permission.
09/04/2008, 11:12 PM
No it's in Drogheda - in the north east of our country.
Typical partitionist Free-stater....:o
09/04/2008, 11:18 PM
What part of this was causing confusion? :rolleyes:
What's the latest on this?
(Drogheda's new ground, not the petty political point scoring)
pateen
10/04/2008, 11:31 AM
does anyone have a picture of the design?
Yep- there's one HERE (http://static.flickr.com/29/57171544_a08886e63f_o.jpg).
10/04/2008, 12:38 PM
Yep- there's one HERE (http://static.flickr.com/29/57171544_a08886e63f_o.jpg).
It's funny because it's true. :D
SeanDrog
10/04/2008, 12:40 PM
hoho hehe - coming form a Harps fan who experenced various delays with your own planning no less.
According to Meath Co. council website a decision is due in April - I need to find it again to see the exact date but as anyone who has gone through planning there is no guarantee that there will be some delay or another.
€38,000 planning fee had to be submitted with the planning application so I think its safe to say that the club are very serious about this - now if planning can be obtained or not is the great question. There were a number of objections and I am sure some of these will probably appeal if we get planning and it will be delayed more - but c'est la vie and those bridges will have to be cross as they arise.
Check out the meath website for details
What can I say- I saw the open goal and went for it. :)
Genuinely hope it works out for ye though.
SeanDrog
10/04/2008, 12:49 PM
Found the link - the 24th is the decision date
http://www.meath.ie/ePlan40/FileRefDetails.aspx?file_number=SA70455&LASiteID=0
Just beginning to build my own house and it took me nearly 3 years to get planning - the slightest thing can cause serious delays - amazing anything gets built in Ireland.
Sniffer
10/04/2008, 12:52 PM
You're using the wrong materials; all you need is a brown paper bag:)
10/04/2008, 12:54 PM
I assume the FAI are super, super serious about ye having to maybe think about possibly moving to a Premier Division standard ground over the next 3 to 5 years possibly, maybe, this time?
Just beginning to build my own house and it took me nearly 3 years to get planning - the slightest thing can cause serious delays - amazing anything gets built in Ireland.
Interesting that stuff has been lumped in with the stadium:
Development Description: The development consists of the following elements on a site area of c25.925 HA with a total gross floor area of c25864.38 N2; a 10,068 seat football stadium (including associated club, hospitality and ancillary facilities) with a building footprint of 1.981 HA and an external façade height of c11m above ground level (AGL) and four no. lighting columns of c35m (AGL); a three story ;leisure centre with a floor area of 3390m2 and height of c14.8m (AGL); a three storey (mezzanine levels) multi-plex cinema (with 12 no. screens) with a floor area of 4351.98m2 and a height of c22.5m (AGL); a single storey (with mezzanine level) retail warehouse park that consists of 10 no. retail warehouse units, with a total floor area of 16285m2 a height of c14.10m (AGL); a single storey motor service station compromising 4 no sets of fuel pumps, a canopy with an area of c344m2 and a height of c6m (AGL), an ancillary retail unit with a floor area of c214m2 and a height of c4.5m (AGL), a 47.5m2 floor area. Significant further information and revised plans, in relation to the application has been submitted.
Burnsie
10/04/2008, 1:57 PM
"If you build it, they will come"?
What has changed since last attempt at planning? Location?
Juanace
10/04/2008, 3:08 PM
"If you build it, they will come"?
I will!!:D
Best of luck with it, though ill believe it when i see it to be honest..in fact i reckon Drogs could be the new Shelbourne if they're not careful, where they getting all their money for their massive squad, wages, staff, fulltime set-up and now 10,000 stadium (whats the average gate, can they even expect 5000 in such a big stadium??
Respect the ambition but very sceptical:confused:
10/04/2008, 4:17 PM
What has changed since last attempt at planning? Location?
I think at the last application stage, more information was asked for. The notes on the website seem to indicate more has been given. Whether that's enough to see permission granted is another thing.
(whats the average gate, can they even expect 5000 in such a big stadium??)
Can't get 2000 at the moment. If the ground goes ahead, it'll be mostly empty. But ambition and reality are often confused in this league.
Buller
10/04/2008, 4:30 PM
Can't get 2000 at the moment. If the ground goes ahead, it'll be mostly empty. But ambition and reality are often confused in this league.
Yeah I agree, they should strive to build something like UCD's new "stadium". Ambition isn't a bad thing...
Isn't that because they have some sort of crowd restrictions? Good quote above of build and they will come.It should be the case for a regional stadium really. They will have a lot of work to do though to try and attract crowds.
As for ambition, clubs have to be ambitious. Another belfield bowl would be a disaster!:rolleyes:
Isn't that because they have some sort of crowd restrictions?
No, its because of the s*** facilities. Im not a great believe in build it and they will come but the facilities in united park never gave us a chance to attract families,women, etc - for example no womens jacks in home end, etc (thoug hthey put in those manky portable jacks for them last year)
One only has to walk around the town to see the amount of drogs gear worn around the place to see how popular the club is here (and this is before we won the league)
But a new stadium wont automatically increase our attendances - but it will help.
As regards the latest on stadium. Meath county council wanted a few things changed in original submission - the club are confident theyve sorted these things out and a decision is going to be made this month by meath county council.
Btw theres not one house in the submission
SPXcyan
10/04/2008, 5:19 PM
id say your average would rise alot with this new stadium! people do prefer pretty stadiums and will show up more :p watch and see :d
Boh_So_Good
10/04/2008, 5:53 PM
they should strive to build something like UCD's new "stadium".
even Thomas Davis doesn't want it.
10/04/2008, 6:01 PM
Ambition isn't a bad thing...
Show me where I said it wasn't?
But then, having sly digs at others while ignoring the point being made is about the best you can hope for these days. I blame American TV.
SeanDrog
11/04/2008, 7:39 AM
If I have my info right - one of the further information things related to the council wanting more car park spaces.
In relation to the leisure club, shops etc again I I have heard right, these will provide income for the club (rental I presume).
If we get planning great but I firmly believe we still have a long long long way to go in terms of obtaining it.
10,000 seats is a lot of seats and sure we have around 2000 at the moment and that will the challenage for the club to get at least (IMO) 6000 - 8000 per game - given this is a soccer region, growing town it is achievable but again like the planning - still an unknown if it is attainable.
amaccann
11/04/2008, 8:18 AM
Are there plans to use / lease the stadium to other sports teams and sporting events? Aside from underage internationals that is, though I'm not sure what sports mind you :)
Whats the plans to make up the loss on the 8,000 spare seats every two weeks, how about another price increase, this time from eur 20 to eur 50 admission, that should help.
WindmillWarrior
11/04/2008, 9:28 AM
Our crowds haven't increased feck all from when we were fighting relegation to when we were fighting for the title! Mainly because United Park is a bit of a dump. The new stadium will increase crowds no doubt. And whats the big deal about empty seats? You should all be well used to it, this is the LOI ffs!
Straightstory
11/04/2008, 11:41 AM
It's fair to point out that Drogheda brought more fans to a Cup Final than any team in probably the last fifty years. (An attendance of nearly 24,000 at the 2005 final v Cork - mostly from Drogheda).
Also, if the restrictions on capacity at United Park hadn't been so ridiculously low, perhaps 9,000 to 12,000 would have been at each of the final two games of last season to see the title being won. But the 'bread and butter' attendances at United Park are lower than what should be expected.
11/04/2008, 12:00 PM
It's fair to point out that Drogheda brought more fans to a Cup Final than any team in probably the last fifty years. (An attendance of nearly 24,000 at the 2005 final v Cork - mostly from Drogheda).Uh, what? We had more fans, and we aren't an hour down the road.
WindmillWarrior
11/04/2008, 12:03 PM
Uh, what? We had more fans, and we aren't an hour down the road.
We actually sold more tickets than you. Not by much though so it was more or less a 50/50 split. An anyways I think the crowd was 25,000.
Great f*ckin day.
Also, if the restrictions on capacity at United Park hadn't been so ridiculously low, perhaps 9,000 to 12,000 would have been at each of the final two games of last season to see the title being won..
I accept ye brought more fans to the Cup final. maybe 12k v 9k or similar when exclude neutrals.
Are you seriously suggesting that you would get 3 or 4 times average attendance for title winning games? Give me a break. At most you would have got 5k. I was at the game ye beat us & has several spare tickets from City allocation which I could not sell in the pub to locals.
This is no pop at Drogs but until you see the buildings start work no guarantees with any stadium developments in this country & even at that we have Tallaght situation.
It's fair to point out that Drogheda brought more fans to a Cup Final than any team in probably the last fifty years. (An attendance of nearly 24,000 at the 2005 final v Cork - mostly from Drogheda).
Also, if the restrictions on capacity at United Park hadn't been so ridiculously low, perhaps 9,000 to 12,000 would have been at each of the final two games of last season to see the title being won. But the 'bread and butter' attendances at United Park are lower than what should be expected.
Lower than what ? You cant even average 2,000, the demand is simply not there from the public. Pie in the Sky stuff.
PS : St Francis and Bray had 30,000 between them in 1990, the drogs fai cup final was a once off, their attendances at all european games sicne were poor.
You cannot create thousands of extra fans, ourselves included, we`d be doing well to get 2,000 if we get promoted next season.
Get used to 8,000 empty seats on avg.
Whatever about the weekly crowds- the extra capacity certainly does make big money spinners like major friendlies and possibly concerts a lot more viable. Even cup finals could end up at the venue depending on the teams involved, although I'd imagine FAI cup finals will be at Lansdowne once it's complete.
Oh sweet mother of devine Jesus! Drogheda are operating on a reduced capacity in a horrible ground. How can you even try to suggest that 2,000 is the attendance they will get in a bright shiny purpose built stadium?
Curiosity alone will bring people out in droves at the start and I can imagine that once people start going to watch Drogheda The powers that be up there will do their utmost to keep em comin!
Is there any hint of The GAH HEADS trying to scupper this with planning opposition?
I live in Meath and I dont think the local GAH heads are best pleased at the prospect of Drogheda playing on their doorstep.
Buller
11/04/2008, 3:26 PM
Oh sweet mother of devine Jesus! Drogheda are operating on a reduced capacity in a horrible ground. How can you even try to suggest that 2,000 is the attendance they will get in a bright shiny purpose built stadium?
Curiosity alone will bring people out in droves at the start and I can imagine that once people start going to watch Drogheda The powers that be up there will do their utmost to keep em comin!
Is there any hint of The GAH HEADS trying to scupper this with planning opposition?
I live in Meath and I dont think the local GAH heads are best pleased at the prospect of Drogheda playing on their doorstep.
Hopefully not! Tallaght was delayed for 3 years before PP was granted in 2000. Many people are unaware that the GAA was behind this. The people who run these gah clubs really do HATE football. I can nearly understand why. Its such a big threat as on a level playing field, the best sport wins... I hope drogs get this PP and move into their new stadium without delays. United Park is an absolute hole - its not suprising if they get low crowds in that place. I can see a doubling of their attendence in a new stadium after the "interest" surrounding such a development disipates.
Straightstory
11/04/2008, 4:02 PM
Sorry - I forgot about the 30,000 at the St Francis game. I think if Drogheda could get 12,000 to a Cup Final, then a similar figure to see them win their first ever title is not unreasonable. I remember a club official at the time saying they could have got 9 or 10 thousand for the Bray game. But as I also said, the average gates are low, and a poor reflection on the local support. Actually, I think Dublin supporters are the worst in the country. A population of well over a million in a supposedly cosmopolitan city where Champions' League football should be more than viable, yet their clubs get attendances which would shame a Conference side. (As I've said elsewhere, they're all watching the 'Dubs' v Laois instead of Bohs or Rovers v Real Madrid or Juventus). It's an extraordinarily insular and parochial outlook for a city that prides itself on being modern and European.
11/04/2008, 4:04 PM
I've just re-read the start of this thread and I'd recommend looking at thejollyrodger's posts on the first couple of pages. Hilarious stuff. :D
Candystripe
11/04/2008, 5:13 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Straightstory View Post
It's only been just over a year when Derry sold over 12,000 for the windy cup final V St Pats!
I wont even go there about the '88 final V Dundalk (the dodgy pen final)
Buller
11/04/2008, 5:29 PM
Lower than what ? You cant even average 2,000, the demand is simply not there from the public. Pie in the Sky stuff.
PS : St Francis and Bray had 30,000 between them in 1990
Does anyone know why there was such a massive turnout for that final? Both didnt exactly have prolific support...
HarpoJoyce
11/04/2008, 5:42 PM
Does anyone know why there was such a massive turnout for that final? Both didnt exactly have prolific support...
You mean for their league games, their was a poorer turnout.
First Final for both sides.
The St.Francis publicity machine had started months early, with their away win in Kilkenny in round (3?, 5?)
Excellent price for tickets. IR5 for an Upper Tier ticket.
Nice day weather-wise
It was the first final at Lansdowne Road Stadium.
Two sides with fans whose traditional support lived near Dublin.
Curiosity value for others/neutrals. Neither side had too much LoI baggage yet. St. Francis were still Leinster senior.
To be fair it was mostly Bray/ St. Francis support but soccer supporters in Dublin identified Lansdowne as a happy-place for football (IRL qualification). On the day there was generous over-spill onto the N and S terraces.
oriel
12/04/2008, 10:21 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Straightstory View Post
It's only been just over a year when Derry sold over 12,000 for the windy cup final V St Pats!
I wont even go there about the '88 final V Dundalk (the dodgy pen final)
Yes more good examples of much bigger one team support and in some cases bigger overall cup final attendance. That Derry v Dundalk 1988 game (dodgy peno indeed, martin bayley barely touched Larry Wyse, shocking decision) anyway the crowd that day was over 25,000 with Derry taking easily 17,000 an incredible support for a team only 3 years back in senior football. I`m also sure Sligo took huge numbers to the 94 final with Derry, again this was well over 20,000.
Im pretty sure there were numerous 40,000 + crowds too in the 60`s at cup finals.
Older Waterford and Rovers fans will know more.
gilberto_eire
12/04/2008, 5:25 PM
Yes more good examples of much bigger one team support and in some cases bigger overall cup final attendance. That Derry v Dundalk 1988 game (dodgy peno indeed, martin bayley barely touched Larry Wyse, shocking decision) anyway the crowd that day was over 25,000 with Derry taking easily 17,000 an incredible support for a team only 3 years back in senior football. I`m also sure Sligo took huge numbers to the 94 final with Derry, again this was well over 20,000.
Im pretty sure there were numerous 40,000 + crowds too in the 60`s at cup finals.
Older Waterford and Rovers fans will know more.
That would mean basically every man, woman and child from Sligo at the game if there was 20,000
Its certainly gone all quiet on the Drogheda Stadium Front. Sure isnt it already built pre fab style and waiting to be shipped according to Drogs fans!
Patrick Dunne
12/04/2008, 5:44 PM
20,000 was the total attendance at the 1994 final.
Anway, there are probably closer to 60,000 people living in Co. Sligo.
20,000 was the total attendance at the 1994 final.
Thats what I meant.