concanta
02/03/2006, 11:49 AM
Totally agreed and while I know friendlies are hard to judge
it looks like germany have serious problems
02/03/2006, 11:53 AM
Totally agreed and while I know friendlies are hard to judge
it looks like germany have serious problems
I think last nights result was more down to Italy's quality than anything else. They're definitely the best team in Europe on current form. I'm confident about facing the Germans though.
02/03/2006, 11:54 AM
2. Andy O'Brien - Poor last night and will be playing Championship football next season (not what we need). Also we have no decent cover if either himself or Dunne get injured/suspended.
3. No decent defensive option at left back.
4. No good aerial option up front.
I think Paddy McCarthy might be an option at CB, for the left back spot we have maybe Stephen Jordan, Clive Clarke or God forbid O'Shea.
I think Doyle is excellent in the air for a guy that is not particularly tall. Keane & Doyle look like our front two.
Also what about Mark Kennedy for centre midfield, playing there consistantly for Wolves and hopefully he has matured a bit.
02/03/2006, 11:58 AM
thats a fairly scandalous thing to say without backing it up
What a drama queen!
I don't need to back it up.
Anyone around the team on away trips can see it with their own eyes.
As a player, he drifts out of the game for long spells.
So many people think he's special because he can whip in the odd cross, yet the same people are often found in the anti Ian Harte Brigade.
02/03/2006, 11:58 AM
Stephen Jordan? I thought we'd identified that he's not Irish.
I hope Clarke gets into the picture at West Ham., What a plus that'd be if we stumbled across a quality left-back, though I have to say I thought Harte was good last night, as he was against Switzerland too.
02/03/2006, 12:00 PM
Jus out of curiosity what sort of things Does reid do on away trips then
concanta
02/03/2006, 12:03 PM
what are our next games
we should get a few more lined up
try and get good teams
i really dont mind playing a few away from homeeven if we get
beat we will learn
02/03/2006, 12:04 PM
Jus out of curiosity what sort of things Does reid do on away trips then
You'll just have to go away yourself to find out.
What happens on tour, stays on tour! :p
as_i_say
02/03/2006, 12:04 PM
Also what about Mark Kennedy for centre midfield, playing there consistantly for Wolves and hopefully he has matured a bit.
and
:eek: :eek:
Also i dont get the whole mccarthy thing-hes been knocking around for a good few years now and is playing with one of the worst sides in the championship albeit i dont know too much about him so...whats so good about him?
as_i_say
02/03/2006, 12:06 PM
though if kennedy did get a game he would be the only player to have gotten a game under jack,mick,kerr and stan. hows about that, fact fans.
02/03/2006, 12:12 PM
maybe Stephen Jordan
Stephen Jordan was certainly born in England, but I'm not aware of any international caps at any level for any country, a quick search of thefa.com doesn't reveal he's played for any of the English underage sides.
I don't know if he qualifies, but he'd certainly be an asset. Better than Ben Thatcher anyway. (I know, I know, he's Welsh)
youngirish
02/03/2006, 12:14 PM
though if kennedy did get a game he would be the only player to have gotten a game under jack,mick,kerr and stan. hows about that, fact fans.
Also i dont get the whole mccarthy thing-hes been knocking around for a good few years now and is playing with one of the worst sides in the championship albeit i dont know too much about him so...whats so good about him?
When did Kennedy play for Kerr? What about Gary Breen? He could also fall into that category.
I have seen Paddy Mc Carthy play a few times and he's nothing to get excited about. Bar a major improvement he'll never be more than another Andy O'Brien at best. Alternatively Paul McShane has the potential to be a decent Central Defender though he is a bit slow.
02/03/2006, 12:16 PM
Breen was given his debut by Mc Carthy as far as I know.
as_i_say
02/03/2006, 12:17 PM
When did he play for Kerr? Also what about Gary Breen? He could also fall into that category.
uh-oh. busted. he didnt did he. dont think breen played under jack?
02/03/2006, 12:51 PM
i dont get the whole mccarthy thing-hes been knocking around for a good few years now and is playing with one of the worst sides in the championship albeit i dont know too much about him so...whats so good about him? He's just about to complete his first full season! He was a U21 regular & started off very rough around the edges for Leicester. But with more experience & with improving form he's just been made captain. He used to get booked every game but is much more disciplined now. I think he'll do OK, but I agree that McShane has the most talent of the two. But McCarthy's age means he's closer I'd say. I'd read nothing into McCarthy's recent sending off - it was a bit harsh, Hulse (?) throwing himself to the ground very easily in the box.
Junior
02/03/2006, 1:13 PM
To find some negatives:
- Henderson was terrible. His one good save was really a poor larsson effort when you see the replay. He flapped at every cross to come his way.
Its all about opinions I suppose, but I just can't for the life of me work out how Henderson's performance can be seen as a negative?
A great point blank save from Larsson, he had little else to do after that. Made one great catch towards the back post later on in the game, that I can recall (no flapping at all).
Im not saying he's an irish goalie for the future, its the first time Ive ever seen him play,but he did nothing wrong in my book. He certainly made less mistakes than Joey O'Brien and from comments on here you'd swear he was the next Baresi.
Despite Stan suggesting he'll be building his midfield around O'Shea, I really think he should be building it around Steven Reid.
O dear God, he didn't really say he would be building the midfield around O'Shea, did he? :eek: I really hope he played him there last night to cement in his own mind that JOS cannot play CM at this level.
Its all about opinions I suppose, but I just can't for the life of me work out how Henderson's performance can be seen as a negative?
A great point blank save from Larsson, he had little else to do after that. Made one great catch towards the back post later on in the game, that I can recall (no flapping at all).
I thought was good save too at first. Seen on tv then & realised Larsson fecked up. His kicking was very very poor. Not valid to blame the pitch as was better than most Premiership or Championship pitches in england. He was nervous at crosses - he failed to come for balls on edge of 6 year box. He is young though & good to have young 3rd choice keeper. Options limited anyway.
02/03/2006, 2:04 PM
As regards goalies, Paddy Kenny is the nr 2, very highly rated by his manager and by many here. Paddy imo had a shaky first appearance.
For a goalkeeper making his debut, Henderson was fine. It's probably the most difficult positional debut to make.
Isn't it pretty clear that Kavanagh and Stephen Reid have moved to the top of the queue for cm. A. O Brien can play a lot better and our fears there are more about injuries to him or Dunne.
The performances of our experienced players, great to see but not unprecedented. The excitement for me was to see the assured performances of the new/newish caps. The biggest impact since Kelly, Mc Ateer, & Babb all those years ago.
How about Stephen Ireland for RM?
A subs bench including Kilbane, O'Shea, J.O'Brien, Miller, Mc Geady, Elliot/Doyle, looks strong.
02/03/2006, 2:20 PM
Great result last night. but if I had to take one negative from the game it was not the fault of the new management nor the team but us the fan's. There were lenghty periods of the game when you could have heard a pin drop. I know its only a friendly but come on "the best supporters in the world" and the best they could come with was a half hearted attempt at the usual moronic mantra of the masses Ole Ole and come on u boys..... Pathetic!!
02/03/2006, 2:24 PM
Great result last night. but if I had to take one negative from the game it was not the fault of the new management nor the team but us the fan's. There were lenghty periods of the game when you could have heard a pin drop. I know its only a friendly but come on "the best supporters in the world" and the best they could come with was a half hearted attempt at the usual moronic mantra of the masses Ole Ole and come on u boys..... Pathetic!!
What songs were you singing?
macdermesser
02/03/2006, 2:38 PM
What songs were you singing?
exactly .. This has been discussed a few times before, I have first hand experience of "Come on you boys in green" being messed up. Ffs the song only has one line. Ole Ole is more difficult to feck up and can be generally mastered even after heavy consumption of alcohol.
Maybe Foot.ie could use its creative pool of talents to come up with some new chants for us all too sing. A crowd always needs a few lads to get everyone else going,
Two songs, we only have two songs, we only have two songs, we only have two songs.
livehead1
02/03/2006, 2:41 PM
Keano, Keano, He Gets The Ball N Scores A Goal, Keano
I'm quite happy with the way thing look over all but O' Brien is a liabilty. The fact that he refuses to keep the ball on the ground when we've tiny strikers just compounds the situation.
I'd also like to see the old guard gradually phased out, probably after this next campaign. I hate to see guys there on reputation and that has to include Kilbane, Morrison and Harte.
livehead1
02/03/2006, 2:51 PM
For the limited ability he has, he does himself no favours with his attitude and general unprofessionalism.
i think reid has much more ability than for it to be labelled limited, limited is JOS
livehead1
02/03/2006, 2:54 PM
I'm quite happy with the way thing look over all but O' Brien is a liabilty. The fact that he refuses to keep the ball on the ground when we've tiny strikers just compounds the situation.
I'd also like to see the old guard gradually phased out, probably after this next campaign. I hate to see guys there on reputation and that has to include Kilbane, Morrison and Harte.
your first point regarding o'brien is valid, and a very good one.
however, your second seems to be a bit daft to me. There are a couple of players in the squad who are there on reputaton, this are not kilbane morrison or harte though. Morrison scored us a good few goals in last qualifiers, without him we would have been in SERIOUS trouble. Harte had a good game last night, and kilbane is good to have around the squad. If you want to talk about players who are in there on reputation then you need to be talking about JOS, who if he was not a man utd player would not be in there, andy o'brien, has made many errors in the premiership this season, liam miller, has done very little in the last 2 years, although im delighted for him with the goal.
02/03/2006, 3:05 PM
I believe it was Bobby Robson who brought O'Brien to Newcastle.
livehead1
02/03/2006, 3:07 PM
you believe correctly, at that time however, he was a young defender with much potential, a bit like titus bramble, neither have fulfilled it.
02/03/2006, 3:15 PM
I wouldn't call a centre half with poor distribution a liability. O'Brien is a no nonsense defender and dealt with everything last night.
livehead1
02/03/2006, 3:17 PM
I wouldn't call a centre half with poor distribution a liability. O'Brien is a no nonsense defender and dealt with everything last night.
i must disagree, a centre half who isn't comfortable on the ball, at international level can be the greatest type of liability. One of the key elements is holding onto the ball, i believe we had around 56% possession last night yet the amount of times o'brien hoofed the ball, agasint better sides this will be more costly, they will hold onto it better , work us harder and be far more creative than the awful side we saw against us last night.
your first point regarding o'brien is valid, and a very good one.
however, your second seems to be a bit daft to me. There are a couple of players in the squad who are there on reputaton, this are not kilbane morrison or harte though. Morrison scored us a good few goals in last qualifiers, without him we would have been in SERIOUS trouble. Harte had a good game last night, and kilbane is good to have around the squad. If you want to talk about players who are in there on reputation then you need to be talking about JOS, who if he was not a man utd player would not be in there, andy o'brien, has made many errors in the premiership this season, liam miller, has done very little in the last 2 years, although im delighted for him with the goal.
Whats daft about phasing these guys out after the next campaign. It may not be too relevant now but that doesn't hide the fact that Harte still has zero pace and a penchant for being caught out of position. With a fully fit squad I wouldn't him anywhere near the squad. Kilbane can do a job from the bench for now but thats it. Am I the only one who noticed how over weight he was last night? Morrison scored goals indeed but how far did that get us. We need another partner for Keane but he can still be a role player.
To be honest I'm over critical here because I dont fall to fall into a happy land where everything is great again. Most of these players just finished 4th in WC qualifying behind Israel. Graham Kavanagh is not the sort of midfielder to get us much further than that, Stephen Ireland has to potential to be. I haven't mentioned JOS because I despise him so much it makes me angry to say his name. We have the making of a good first 11 but we still have a tricky group to navigate.
youngirish
02/03/2006, 3:30 PM
Maybe Foot.ie could use its creative pool of talents to come up with some new chants for us all too sing. A crowd always needs a few lads to get everyone else going,
Yeah a few new songs are required. Any suggestions?
klein4
02/03/2006, 3:44 PM
at one stage last nite you could hear one guy singing on his own in the whole stadium.
yeah a couple a catchy songs wouldnt go astray as that boys in green one doesnt suit my vocal range.
I couldn't be arsed singing at a friendly. Then again i disagree with the while "worlds greatest fans" sh!te.
Been debated many times before but we get big crowds at internationals as for a lot of people (not all people) they may only go to 3-4 live games a year.
Ozymandias
02/03/2006, 3:50 PM
To the tune of 'Wonderwall'...
'Today is gonna be the day, that you are going to rue,
By now you should have somehow realised you are gonna lose,
I don't believe that anybody plays as bad as you,
Except ramblers
'You're just too good to be true,
Can't take the ball off of you,
You've got a heavenly touch,
beating defenders in rush,
When we're all p*ssed in the bars,
We thank the lord that you're ours,
You're just too good to be true,
Can't take the ball off of you,
Damien,Damien,Damien,Duff
youngirish
02/03/2006, 3:51 PM
In the jungle the mighty jungle O'Brien sleeps tonight
oooohhhhh ooooooooooooohhhhhhh oooooooohhhhhh ooooohhhhhh ooooohhhhhhh ooohhhh a John O'Shea
Imagine that going around Lansdowne Road during evening games everytime oul Andy was caught out of position? S**te but funny. I've started coming up with a few good ideas like that again since I stopped taking that medication.
klein4
02/03/2006, 3:57 PM
"Are you longford in disguise???" (at the opposition for the games in croker..)
02/03/2006, 4:15 PM
If you hate the FAI clap your hands.
we fcukin hate england we fcuking hate england we fcuking hate we fcuking hate england!
Ireland.......its just like watchin' Brazil it just like watchin Brazil (when the going's good):)
Ireland.......it's just like watchin' paint dry its just like watchin' paint dry (when it's not so good):mad:
when we're 4-0 up against Germany"Are you England in disguise":D
greatbleddyman
02/03/2006, 4:21 PM
With regards to the paucity of Irish centre halves, one of the best defenders in the cyhampionship is Irish. Graham Coughlan at Wednesday is a fantastic old-skool central defender. Mind you he is in a sh1t team but has performed heroics for them.
At 30 its probably a bit late to be breaking into the international team. Shame he damits himself that he did not put the work into his game when he was younger, think he regrets it now though. Could do a job if defenders get thin on the ground.
PS his book is an excellent read
02/03/2006, 4:26 PM
PS his book is an excellent read
Graham, don't be coming on here touting your book.
There are rules against that! :p
Junior
02/03/2006, 6:05 PM
what about "Hill 16 nah nah nah" repeat................ be great next year that one..........
Donegalcelt
02/03/2006, 10:51 PM
Longford have enough bother working out where there own games are, never mind being someone in disguise at croker
dr_peepee
03/03/2006, 12:15 AM
Only watched the game on tape this evening as I had to work last night.
Super stuff all round.
On last nights evidence I think Finnan plus Dunne, O'Brien and Harte will start against Germany in September. Dunne was a rock. Plus O'Brien wasn't as bas made out on this forrum and his form for Ireland warrants a run with Dunne at the heart. Ian harte was excellent I thought. A better right winger might have made a different story but you can only play the team infront of you and he played well last night. His header to set up Keane was alot better than it looked first team round and he was safe and supportive throughout.
The formation and tactics were unusual and hard to "tag", but obviously did the Job. Duff played as an out and out winger, and enjoyed the freedom of expression he's denied by Mourinho. Elliot done O.K but would like to see a fit and regularly playing Andy Reid there instead as I feel he offers a bit more in such a role. Steven Reid was the bright spot for me, taking nothing from Duff and Dunne but I think they raised the bar on themselves over the last couple of seasons where as Reid has flattered to deceive. His fist 10 or 15 minutes were ever so slightly shaky due to a couple of misplaced tackles and passes. But from then on he was excellent. He put himself about. He was feirce in the tackle. He was safe on the ball. His passing was good especially to set up Duff for the goal and he covered allot of ground. Still not quite convinced about O'Shea though, but him and Reid seemed to compliment each other. Kavanagh never really got going. Will Lee Carsley be an option when he's fit does anyone think? He's being playing that Makalele role longer than Makelele at this stage and might be a nice counter weight to Steve Stauntons new progressive thinking!!
Steven Ireland offered something very different to what we've had in a long time when he came on and for the next year or so at least will be a nice option as an impact sub if we're chasing a goal. Can't see him starting against the like of the Germans or Czechs just yet.
Keane played well and was buzzing about the place. The big test for Keane in his new role is when things aren't going so well. Doyle was also a positive and done himself no harm but if I'm honest I wouldn't be dropping Morrison for Doyle just yet. Morrison, like Andy O'Brien, is on the back of some good form for Ireland and it's easy to have a short memery in these situations. But there are a couple of games before september so things can and will change.
Hither green
03/03/2006, 9:12 AM
I may be wrong about this (and someone else may already have mentioned it) but I didn't spot Keane's trademark cartwheel & foreward roll on Wednesday (although I'd had a few and could have missed it). Is this another sign of him coming of age with the captaincy?
03/03/2006, 9:17 AM
You could be reading way too much in to that. I think that will be back for when he scores the winner in Stuttgart. He just ran to Mick Byrne to welcome him back. I think the Cartwheel he will back and I am glad cause it means he is scoring.
klein4
03/03/2006, 9:18 AM
said in interview with fanzine that his physio advised him to stop doing it...
03/03/2006, 9:21 AM
Yeah, I don't think he did it when he last scored for Spurs either. I never liked it to be honest. Thought it smacked of "Look at me, it's all about me" but that's just the opinion of an old cyber-crank.
Hither green
03/03/2006, 9:23 AM
You could be reading way too much in to that. I think that will be back for when he scores the winner in Stuttgart. He just ran to Mick Byrne to welcome him back. I think the Cartwheel he will back and I am glad cause it means he is scoring.
Like you I always welcome seeing it as it means he's scoring, but I've come across quite a few people who, not following Ireland, take the p1ss out of him for it and see him as a bit of a laughing stock. I wouldn't be sorry to seeing him dropping it and moving on.
03/03/2006, 9:28 AM
Have to say I agree with Dr_Peepee's synopsis though I'd be inclined to continue with Doyle over Morrison.
Interesting question about Carsley. I doubt he'll ever figure as a first choice. I really think Steven Reid has the opportunity in the coming months (friendly vs. Chile in May according to the Indo) to make sure he's a certain starter in midfield.
Den Perry said yesterday that his partner could well be Andy Reid & I'd agree.
But if Stephen Ireland is to figure I suspect S. Reid just has to be there too. Joey Barton's tireless running complement's Ireland's style at MCFC and I think Barton & Reid play a similar game.
03/03/2006, 9:45 AM
we fcukin hate england we fcuking hate england we fcuking hate we fcuking hate england!
When are we playing England in football? :confused: :confused: :confused: