View Full Version : 3:0 Ireland
02/03/2006, 12:01 AM
I'd also go along with Réilteoirs Swedish friend, Sweden were atrocious.
At times Duff was given space enough to park his jeep, then it looked as if the defence came over just to 'Duff watch' when he was on the ball.
3-0, very good but I won't be getting carried away.
It's an excellent beginning, good team spirit, particularily with Miller and Ireland showing confidence and skill. We need more friendlies before September.
02/03/2006, 12:26 AM
What program do you need to play that file of the goals.. downloaded but can't play. No go on Windows Media Player.
You need RealPlayer as I found to my cost, when it did play (eventually) for me it was at very low quality (this was after a lenghty startup and registration process and much disk thrashing and internet access).
Anyway after if finished playing it crashed my computer in such a way
that it required a power off to restart it (followed by a lenghty scandisk)...
then it went into the "updatinig system please wait" as happens when
you do a major upgrade!! God knows what it was doing, I expect I will
find out later at a much more inconvenient time!!
I vowed not to use that piece of software again before and now I
know why!!
Anyway I have 're-disable it now'.
Of course you might not have such a problem with it, my system is pretty
old and maybe that is why, but I don't much like software which takes
such liberties with your system such as installing a start-up process
without asking you (txbell), God knows what else it had done!!
I have had less problems removing a virus from my system!!
I cannot see why people use it or what advantage it offers over say
mpg, for an 8 meg file it was low quality graphics (and slow frame rate)
on my system.
Of course it may work just fine for some people (such as Karlos above) but for me it is a bit of a nightmare unfortunately!!
I will see if I can get free prog to convert the .rmvb to .mpg but I have
got all the highlights recorded of Sky News anyway :)
Thanks for your efforts anyway Eireboy!
02/03/2006, 12:32 AM
I know there's strict rules about torrents on this site so I won't link directly to the torrent. The full match can be found on this site:
http://www.fbtz.com/forum/
Register and use the search function.
02/03/2006, 12:42 AM
I'd also go along with Réilteoirs Swedish friend, Sweden were atrocious.
At times Duff was given space enough to park his jeep, then it looked as if the defence came over just to 'Duff watch' when he was on the ball.
3-0, very good but I won't be getting carried away.
It's an excellent beginning, good team spirit, particularily with Miller and Ireland showing confidence and skill. We need more friendlies before September.
Maybe just maybe the Swedes were bashed because we gave them
a bashing rather than them playing bad.
Maybe Duff had space because he found it and the Swedes had other
players such as Keane, Doyle and Elliot to worry about?
I doubt too many teams look too good when they lose 3:0, maybe
folks would have been happier if we only won 1:0 :confused:
I can't remember the last time we won by 3 clear goals.
02/03/2006, 12:59 AM
There is a free prog called TMPGEnc which will convert .rmvb files and
most other video files to .mpg, I am running it now :) however it is
going to take about an hour to do it on my system :(
Be interesting to see if the quality is better!
soccerc
02/03/2006, 1:05 AM
That made me happy. As I'm sure we could all go on about the positives, just a couple of points that need tweaking.
Wayne Henderson. Not good enough for sub international but probably wont be seen much more.
Andy O' Brien. Was embarrassed next to Dunne. We really need another centre half.
Kilbane. This is actually a positive. Resembled the michilen man when he came on, get him out of here.
All in all a very good night.
So what game were you at?
ooops...................you watched it on D'telly?
Snoooooozzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.
Three statements - all negative - all wrong
Help, am I the only one who saw many positives from the above three mentioned players?
So what game were you at?
ooops...................you watched it on D'telly?
Snoooooozzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.
Three statements - all negative - all wrong
Help, am I the only one who saw many positives from the above three mentioned players?
If you're happy with a Brighton goalkeeper as your back up keeper then thats fine. I'd prefer a more experienced guy in that slot. H e made a good save but I'm hudging him on his career so far as a whole.
You might be the only one who has a good word for Andy O' Brien.
Likewise for Kilbane.
Sorry I couldn't get up to the match, had more important things to be doing which have nothing to do with you or football. Sorry for not getting to carried away, we've seen what can happen to us when we think we are actually world class. Stephen Ireland though - next midfield general.
02/03/2006, 6:35 AM
I thought Harte was excellent. I'm no fan of Harte but he and Duff had the beating of their Swedish counterparts everytime. He definately brought an extra attacking option to the team and really displayed how well he can spray the ball around when he's on song.
02/03/2006, 6:57 AM
In all fairness Henderson pulled off a quality save from Larsson.
Andy OB wasn't embarrassing, but he was a bit sloppy with possession. In comparison to Dunne, there was no comparison.:eek: :D
Killer did nothing wrong. Certainly made no gaffs, kept possesssssssion well when he got it.
Ps Surely Paddy Kenny is backup keeper? Regularily I mean. Plenty of time for Henderson to work on his kicking. Was no mouse either, he was barking the orders at the back four from the minute he came on. Dunne looked around at him at one stage as if to say" Jaysus wasn't expecting this".
02/03/2006, 7:10 AM
Plenty of time for Henderson to work on his kicking.
I've just logged on and am going from the last post first, but I thought I'd just say that having seen Henderson quite a few times, his kicking is excellent & he's got one of the longest kicks I've seen. The pitch was 100% to blame for both keepers' difficulty with their kicks. Shay always struggles on poor pitches - remember Greece away?
02/03/2006, 7:15 AM
Many positives and I'm starting to think we can put the fear of God into Germany and the Czech Rep.
Harte was very good, wasn't so sure on him before tonight but if he keeps up that kind of performance then he should be playing at LB again. Dunne and Duff were outstanding. Well done to Miller, he's had his critics but he has been one of the main cogs in the Leeds team pushing for promotion and deserved a break at international level at long last.
Last shout to S Reid, hopefully that cements his place in the centre of midfield (hopefully with Ireland and not O'Shea or Kavanagh.)
02/03/2006, 7:20 AM
I thought Harte was excellent too.
Dunne & Duff both top quality. I thought Reid took a while to get into it but once he did he was very effective. I think he can do a lot better still.
O'Shea did quite well but you can tell he's not an instinctive midfielder.
AOB was careless & lost his footing a few times but got away with a few errors. I'm sure he'll do better.
I liked the interaction of the front 3, plus Duff too, and I like Stan's thinking re-Kilbane.
Joey O'Brien did OK, but it's good to get his debut out of the way. I think the reason Reid went to right back was just to accomodate the chnages in midfield.
It'll be different story in September, but then again, the Germans got stuffed 4-0 last night.
Lawrenson took a very bearish tone but he's right for the most part: we really need these young lads to mature & mature quickly. It won't always be as easy as last night.
I hope Ibrahimovic's injury isn't serious. I want him fighting fit for England!
Adrianovic
02/03/2006, 7:24 AM
Yeah, bugger it, England look like they've got another really soft draw in the group.
Ade
02/03/2006, 7:29 AM
[QUOTE=Stuttgart88]
O'Shea did quite well but you can tell he's not an instinctive midfielder.
QUOTE]
I can't understand this. I just don't see why he was picked last night or any other night for that matter. He does nothing. He has zero aggression, and I'm pretty sure (I hope) that he didn't find any positive passes last night.
I hope he isn't selected in centre midfield ahead of Kavanagh or maybe Stephen Ireland.
Forever Dreamin
02/03/2006, 7:36 AM
How Dunne didnt get man of the match is unbelievble, Duff had a great game, but the honey monster snuffed out everything Sweeden threw at them and made it easier for the rest of the team. Great result, need another friendly or 2 in May, roll on Stuttgart!
I was thinking while watching the game last night that if Kerr was watching that he might have felt a tad short changed by Damien Duffs performance. Especially in light of Duffs recent interviews.
02/03/2006, 7:56 AM
I thought that O'Shea was tidy at times & put in some good tackles but as always put some passes astray. I thought he started the game better than Reid but once Reid got into the game he was by far the better of the two. O'Shea doesn't have an incisuive pass though, which I think a midfielder needs.
I'll ramble here for a bit: my colleague at work was coached as a kid at West Ham. He says that Bobby Moore used to always say that at all times during a game you should "know your out ball" i.e., even if the ball comes to you unexpectedly you'll know what to do with it.
I've been watching Kavanagh all season with this in mind. He always knows his "out ball". O'Shea doesn't, but when he has time O'Shea can give decent put not incisive passes, and he can use both feet. He has a decent touch too. But of the two, Kavanagh is a genuine midfielder, O'Shea is only "work in progress". Edit, adding: Stephen Ireland has the same quality.
But honestly, I thought O'Shea did quite well. No better, no worse.
klein4
02/03/2006, 8:26 AM
I didnt think o shea was that good last nite, in fact he was one of the few players to come out of the nite who didnt make an impression.
joey o brien looked a class act.
dunne is just gettin better and better. given seemed to be auditioning for irish rugby team. stephen ireland needs a bigger jersey. miller and reid looked good in midfield.
as_i_say
02/03/2006, 8:34 AM
I wont bother starting another thread cos there are so many knocking around this morning but anyone know why paddy kenny didnt get a run out? was he even on the bench/injured? also the lad Supple for Ipswich has effectively become their number one so this kid is another great prospect.
Playing for Brighton (henderson) I dont think is gonna cut it but he did well.
Hopefully not another nick colgan but i reckon so.
finlma
02/03/2006, 8:40 AM
Dunne should definitely have got man of the match - fantastic performance by the Honey Monster. I was really impressed by Harte too, Hopefully he gets back to the Premiership this summer.
Overall only positives can be taken from the game and its great to get a bit of enthusiasm behind the team.
I hope the idiot supporter that came onto the pitch gets a ban from Ireland internationals for a while.
klein4
02/03/2006, 8:41 AM
think henderson did alrite....and I think kenny had to go home yesterday morning.
I wont bother starting another thread cos there are so many knocking around this morning but anyone know why paddy kenny didnt get a run out? .
Injured
02/03/2006, 8:44 AM
On a side note I thought the Swedes served up some classic entertainment last night.
That dive from their right-full, Östlund, in the second half and Robbie Keane falling around in laughter after it was pure brillance.
Then that 2 minute long jig from Wilhelmsson after a Reid tackle at the start of the second. God almightly. They definately know their "Riverdance".
Dunne served up some crunching tackles but the way he knocked Rosenborg off the ball during a one-on-one race towards our goal really showed that last night's game was a case of "men against boys".
klein4
02/03/2006, 8:46 AM
what about duffs dive????????:D
Very impressed last night. Good performances all around especially from the first timers. I thought JOB did particularly well.
The one disappointment for me was the slection of JOS at CM.. He cannot pass the ball under pressure and never seems to be able to make room for himself when he gets the ball. I really hope Staunton doesn't persist with him in that position. Kavanagh is much better option. I thought the team had a much better balance to the team when he was brought on. Depending on how they progress I think Irekland and JOB would be good options.
02/03/2006, 8:55 AM
Just touching on a point someone else brought up. This sh!te of muppets running onto the pitch has to stop. When it happened after the first goal I kinda laughed. Then I thought about it and realised it wasn't that funny at all.
The second time was fcuking stupid. If you want attention join a fcuking circus. especially considering Duff was clean through the second time. Really thought one of the Swedes was going to go for the invader.
Donal81
02/03/2006, 9:00 AM
That was an excellent result for Stan and his team. They passed well, attacked strongly and defended just as well. Above all, they seemed to be enjoying it. It was the first game in ages that the North Terrace was an enjoyable place to be and that is extremely important.
Like a lot of us said when he was appointed, just give them a chance. New players are coming through and older players seem up for it like Reid, Duff and Keane.
What I will say, though, is not to get carried away with ourselves. Ireland beat Finland 3-0 after Saipan and it was largely heralded as a new dawn. In fact, it was the beginning of the end for McCarthy's team and the start of a decline from which we're still trying to escape. Some problems haven't gone away; our midfield is weak and our strikeforce isn't as strong as we'd want it to be. This isn't a criticism of Staunton, however, he deserves so much credit for last night.
02/03/2006, 9:07 AM
If you're happy with a Brighton goalkeeper as your back up keeper then thats fine. I'd prefer a more experienced guy in that slot. H e made a good save but I'm hudging him on his career so far as a whole.
You mean you're judging his entire career because he spent his first season of professional football playing for Brighton. "Wayne Henderson. Not good enough for sub international but probably wont be seen much more."
He's playing at the same level as Kevin Doyle, so what if he's not playing for a big club.
I was thinking while watching the game last night that if Kerr was watching that he might have felt a tad short changed by Damien Duffs performance. Especially in light of Duffs recent interviews.
Last nights performance was certainly not as good as his performance against Italy. Duff has always played well in friendlies so I doubt Kerr feels short changed. :) As I said already, this is his 4th man of the match award from the last 4 friendlies he has played.
as_i_say
02/03/2006, 9:12 AM
What I will say, though, is not to get carried away with ourselves. Ireland beat Finland 3-0 after Saipan and it was largely heralded as a new dawn. In fact, it was the beginning of the end for McCarthy's team and the start of a decline from which we're still trying to escape. Some problems haven't gone away; our midfield is weak and our strikeforce isn't as strong as we'd want it to be. This isn't a criticism of Staunton, however, he deserves so much credit for last night.
Indeed. It was just such a relief for the players to have stan in charge that it was a game that we were never gonna lose. Joey O brien is not a right back is he? I mean i'd hate for him to turn into another O Shea and be playing out of position for so long that it proves detrimental to his Ireland career. Is he a center mid?
Also agree with previos caller about Kilbane looking like the good year blimp or whatever when he came on but I noticed that a fair few of the players were also spouting man bosoms so its probably the jersey.
Stan is clearly a popular choice with the players but so was mccarthy and it took us 6 years to get to a tournament under him.
Cautious cautious optimism. Great to score a few goals though:cool:
02/03/2006, 9:19 AM
I enjoyed last night because it was a fresh start for everyone and the pressure was off.
Elliot is full of running and shows tremendous heart.
Stephen Reid always has a great work rate and last night was no exception. Although I think it took a while to settle in his new position, he worked his socks off and played a great ball to Duff for the first goal.
Robbie Keane did a lot of running and was very creative.
The role of captain seems to suit him.
Kevin Doyle did his job well and was unlucky not to score from a header at the back post, in the first half. He really looks the part.
Joey O'Brien was a joy to watch! Delighted for him and hope to see a lot more of him in the green of Ireland. Duffer was Duffer, nuff said. Ian Harte showed again that he still has a lot to offer this team.
Richard Dunne was rock all night. Another great performance from the big lad. He just gets better and better.
Everyone else had a very good game and can be positive about the future. We've seen 4 new faces go out and perform well, that's enough to warm the heart on even the coldest night.
One question remains for me though. How would you fit Andy Reid into that team? Is he destined to be a bench player?
02/03/2006, 9:22 AM
Have to say the most impressive thing about last night for me was the team spirit and the attacking formation and the movement of the front 4. I think Robbie playing as a attacking midfielder is something I have tried in Pro Ev many times and it has worked. I am glad to see that Staunton has tried it too. I thought Staunton may have got the job on the back of his Championship manager performance but it looks like it was Pro EV. Anyway I digress,
I though that Joey O Brien was solid and he is really benefitting from playing in a very tactically aware team and coach. He looked very solid.
Dunne was fantastic and on any other night he would have got man of the match. His tackling was fantastic and reading of the game was great. It was a top class performance.
O Brien was solid beside him without doing anything wrong. He lost his footing a few times but I would blame the pitch for this as it was happening to a few players also like Doyle.
Harte linked really well with Duff and it was his header that layed on Keane for the goal. He was first to the ball a lot of the time ahead of his man which is a good thing. I do think against a top class winger though he would struggle and I think Kilbane is an option here and he looked solid too and he as the pace to recover. Something wich Harte does not.
I though the midfield was solid once it got going and Reid had a very good game and was only surpassed maybe by Duff Dunne and Robbie Keane. HIs tackling was crisp and hard at time and should not have been booked for a great tackle. He also set up Duff for the goal with a lovely pass out to the wing. Certainly outshone O Shea how in my view was poor. Kavanagh for me every time there. Espiecially if we are playing this attacking formation. Kavanagh knows how to show for the ball and is calm on it. I think Stuttgart right about the out ball and its something you see even if you are playing football in the park or 5 a sides, some players know how to get out of trouble. I think Andy Gray says something about seeing a picture and Rooney has it in an attacking sense but O Shea seems to lack that awareness which you need and see the big picture.
Duff well what can you say great performance, now start showing it in the games that matter. Maybe I am being a bit critical but he does do the business in friendlies ever time but then does not show it in the games that matter. A joy to watch last night
Robbie Keane was great and I thought his positioning and movement was great and showed for the ball ever time. Took his goal really well and had a good relationship with the ref. Something which was not mentioned when he got the captaincy. I think we could see Robbie getting away with chatting or moaning to the ref as he is captain.
Doyle and Elliot looked very solid and impressive up front or out on the wing. They swapped really well and used the ball in an impressive manner in my view. Neither got a guilt edge chance and Elliot was a bit unlucky that the ball bounced right at his hand from Duffs Deflected cross at one point.
All in all a good night. However I was in Glasgow for Kerrs first game which ws a 2-0 away from home which is pretty impressive. We also had a great night in Amsterdam which was exciting. Football is a cruel game and can bite you on the bum but I suppose lets enjoy it and look forward to Holland and then Germany in the Autumn. Actually lets hope we have away game in May.
02/03/2006, 9:23 AM
Great result if only a friendly. Great to see Millar Robbie and Duffer score, Millar especially. I was particularly pleased to see Stan move away from the cautous approach and instead just throw on 3 players at a time without having a big think about it. Our best assets are going forward and attacking while defending we look suspect. Im happy enough with that though.
Great start
I said already, this is his 4th man of the match award from the last 4 friendlies he has played.I'm feeling a bit short changed myself now.
Think Finnan is the best RB available to us, Hartes display gave some hope last night but he wasn't tested. Not sure about Andy O'Brien, we'll see how Paddy McCarthy develops. Joey mightn't be bad on the right side of midfield but Steven Reid is in the best form of his career.
Doyler did ok, didn't look a bit out of place.
Stephen Ireland looked busy.
And lastly a plea to Sky Sports, can we please get Niall Quinn off the telly, his face is burning an image into my tv screen as his voice is on my brain , he's on so often.
As one of the lads in the office put it this morning.
"There were times last night listening to Quinn that I thought he was pleasuring himself live on air."
colster
02/03/2006, 9:38 AM
Was at the game last night. Only just defrosted :).
I thought it was a great performance. A great start for Staunton. The team seemed to be liberated to have a go.
It may have been only a friendly and we did play well in them under Kerr but never got a result like this. So I think we can take some encouragement but there are still some things to work on.
Duff absolutely destroyed their full back. I thought his crossing wasn't the best at times. Too close to the goalkeeper.
Keane was also good.
I thought Reid showed that he can play in CM.
Ireland showed what a great prospect he is and could force his way into the starting line up.
O'Brien was very good.
Den Perry
02/03/2006, 9:46 AM
I have to say that was a pretty impressive performance last night. Steven Reid is very impressive and looks a terrific athlete and very comfortable on the ball
jockser
02/03/2006, 9:56 AM
Lotta happy people in Louth especially tonight I reckon.:D
Yes it was a great performance even if it was a friendly and we are all delighted for Stan up here :)
One question remains for me though. How would you fit Andy Reid into that team? Is he destined to be a bench player?
I think thats what they call an oxymoron. :o
I suppose its better to win a friendly 3-0 instead of lose 3-0 however as we've seen before friendly results count for little when the real games start.
Tactics were straight out of the Mourinho playbook. Has Stan been reading those Chelsea tactics that been on the web?
To find some negatives:
- Sweden were abismal. Worst team i've ever seen at Lansdowne.
- Henderson was terrible. His one good save was really a poor larsson effort when you see the replay. He flapped at every cross to come his way.
- Morrisson was on the pitch 10-15 minutes & don't think he touched the ball. Seemed confused with new system
- O'Shea is still crap.
The probably with last nights performance is that was almost entirely due to Duff. France knew this so marked him out of the game with result that no other attackng options. In a friendly the opposition won't change their system to kill the game like that. Staunton needs to use the friendlies to develop an option without Duff.
O'Brien is 2nd choice centre back who will playing Championship football next season. The lack of virtually any tried options there is a major concern.
If players do not show enthuasism for new manager in 1st game then may as well give up. Players always do well for new manager as clean slate. If they win matches the moral improves. If they lose matches moral will soon sour - Staunton is nothing special in that.
Last point - hope Doyles performance makes the eL-knockers aware of the hidden quality in the National League. Less than a year ago 95% of the country didn't know who he was, now hes an International starter.
02/03/2006, 10:13 AM
Wanted read other views before coming back to my old chesnut - John O'Shea.
At the moment JOS is not an international footballer, never mind a CM player. His positional play and lack of incisiveness was embarrassing last night. If he could play CB there may be a case for giving him the nod ahead of Andy O'Brien, but he cannot play there either. At best he is now third choice for LB. He has definitely gone backwards in the last 18 months and even allowing for the fact that he has just returned from injury, I cannot see any positive signs.
It was interesting to see the ratings in the papers this morning. I am not sure what game Paul Lennon in the Star was watching, but he gave JOS 7 and gave Richard Dunne 7. Garry Doyle in The Mirror got it right for me with JOS getting 5 (and rated Irleand's poorest player) and Richard Dunne getting 9. I know football is all about opinions but to rate JOS the same as Richard Dunne in last night's game beggars belief.
02/03/2006, 10:15 AM
- Henderson was terrible. His one good save was really a poor larsson effort when you see the replay. He flapped at every cross to come his way.
He didn't have many crosses to deal with but if there's a crowded box Henderson will always punch. He rarely catches the ball which is more playing safe than flapping.
02/03/2006, 10:38 AM
One thing that I felt about last night which hasnt being the case in a good while is that we had decent options on the bench. Morrison, Kilbane, Ireland, Miller, Lawrence etc.....now I'm not saying any of these are world beaters but players that potentially could make a difference.
I still feel our midfield is quite weak, O'Shea is not a central midfielder for me, he played one or two good through balls that got O'Brien and Elliott through, but overall he is not able to hold onto the ball long enough and doesnt seem comfortable in midfield. I've always being a big fan of S Reid and he played well last night and for me has to be first choice in the centre. Who joins him is still open to debate.
Elliott also delivered one or two good crosses on the right, so he certainly looks a good option, I never have being a fan of playing a left footed player on the right (Reid and Duff), so Elliott could be an option although finnan and O'brien should also be tried there.
Overall a good night, best friendly game I've being at in a good while, just the pick us up Irish football required but there is still alot more to do.
Den Perry
02/03/2006, 10:48 AM
I think that Steven Reid/graham Kavanagh and Andy Reid are the best option for central midfield at the moment. Andy Reid is a very creative player and having watched him since he was a schoolboy I believe that centre of the parknis probably going to be his best position. Any comments?
ollie
02/03/2006, 10:52 AM
Great start.hope the team can build on this.they need to be full of confidence going into the qualifiers and tonight helped immensely with that.
funny when keane scored and went towards the dugout and the sky commentator says"and keane goes straight over to his manager to celebrate"
keane and the players run straight past staunton and to mick byrne:D
anyone notice that the jacket Staunton was wearing last night was about 20 years old with the the new badge glued on?
and when was the last time Graham Kavanagh did a bicycle kick?
02/03/2006, 11:01 AM
I suppose its better to win a friendly 3-0 instead of lose 3-0 however as we've seen before friendly results .... If they lose matches moral will soon sour - Staunton is nothing special in that.
Didn't want to quote your complete post Pete, but I believe this has been the best post-match post yet. Summed everything up in a neat little package.
02/03/2006, 11:04 AM
Andy Reid is a very creative player...
For the limited ability he has, he does himself no favours with his attitude and general unprofessionalism.
02/03/2006, 11:05 AM
On the subject of reserve goalies, Kenny had to go back to Sheffield as he's been carrying a knock now for a while & their season is running into a rocky patch. Henderson did well enough and who knows, he may or may not make it, but God, it's better to give him a chance rather than Colgan again.
Supple's playing well at Ipswich and is a super prospect. Randolph was on the bench for Charlton last week and despite Supple being a first-teamer, I think Randolph is the Irish U19 'keeper. He's extremely highly rated. With the U19 tournament approaching both of these lads should be allowed to focus on that, and their day-to-day careers.
Quigley & Doyle are slugging it out for the U21 jersey and they should be left to do so. There's no point in rushing kids into international action, in my opinion.
I think we've an abudance of talent coming through in this position but most of these lads are just kids. At least Henderson is a bit older & more experienced and according to Brighton fans has been doing well.
02/03/2006, 11:09 AM
I think that Steven Reid/graham Kavanagh and Andy Reid are the best option for central midfield at the moment. Andy Reid is a very creative player and having watched him since he was a schoolboy I believe that centre of the parknis probably going to be his best position. Any comments?Yep, I'd like to have seen how a fully fit (by his standards :)) Andy Reid would have done last night. Despite Stan suggesting he'll be building his midfield around O'Shea, I really think he should be building it around Steven Reid. I was thinking that there were many encouraging showings last night, including from Ireland & Miller, but remember too that McGeady & A. Reid were missing.
02/03/2006, 11:10 AM
I suppose its better to win a friendly 3-0 instead of lose 3-0 however as we've seen before friendly results count for little when the real games start.
Tactics were straight out of the Mourinho playbook. Has Stan been reading those Chelsea tactics that been on the web?
To find some negatives:
- Sweden were abismal. Worst team i've ever seen at Lansdowne.
- Morrisson was on the pitch 10-15 minutes & don't think he touched the ball. Seemed confused with new system
- O'Shea is still crap.
The probably with last nights performance is that was almost entirely due to Duff. France knew this so marked him out of the game with result that no other attackng options. In a friendly the opposition won't change their system to kill the game like that. Staunton needs to use the friendlies to develop an option without Duff.
O'Brien is 2nd choice centre back who will playing Championship football next season. The lack of virtually any tried options there is a major concern.
If players do not show enthuasism for new manager in 1st game then may as well give up. Players always do well for new manager as clean slate. If they win matches the moral improves. If they lose matches moral will soon sour - Staunton is nothing special in that.
Last point - hope Doyles performance makes the eL-knockers aware of the hidden quality in the National League. Less than a year ago 95% of the country didn't know who he was, now hes an International starter.
A lot of negatives there should you not balance it up with some positives maybe.
funny when keane scored and went towards the dugout and the sky commentator says"and keane goes straight over to his manager to celebrate" keane and the players run straight past staunton and to mick byrne:D
Noticed that too. On the radio were saying he ran to Staunton & then saw on tv3 he ran straight past almost completely ignoring Staunton. ;)
dynamo kerry
02/03/2006, 11:23 AM
For the limited ability he has, he does himself no favours with his attitude and general unprofessionalism.
for example
???
thats a fairly scandalous thing to say without backing it up
youngirish
02/03/2006, 11:36 AM
Henderson has been showing a lot of potential at Brighton (I live there) and definitely looks to be one for the future though he'll face stiff competition from some of the younger keepers coming through (Supple looks the pick of the bunch IMO not Randolph or Doyle).
On a more pessimistic note good result that it was I wouldn't get carried away by some meaningless friendly. Everyone seems to forget the 2-0 win in Amsterdam a few months before the start of the last qualification campaign against far stronger opposition than that on show last night. The 3-0 win against Finland a few years previously and the disastrous qualification campaign that followed should also be noted. Also the recent victories over Portugal and Croatia followed by far less impressive performances in games that actually mattered reflect the obvious fact that opposition teams in friendlies rarely seem to treat these games as seriously as us Irish.
On a more optimisitc note I reckon we do have the makings of a very good team in the near future though the Euro 2008 qualifiers may come a bit too early for us. Of the players on show last night I believe both Ireland and O'Brien will make the grade at the very top and I see them as our future midfield pairing. Elliot and Doyle have great potential but need to establish themselves as regular premiership players over the next season or two. Duff and Keane proved again that they are World Class. Dunne proved that can put in top performances at the highest level. If he continues to do that regularly and reduces the number of mistakes he makes then he could prove to be a good International defender.
Still have a few worries though:
1. John O'Shea - This man needs to go.
2. Andy O'Brien - Poor last night and will be playing Championship football next season (not what we need). Also we have no decent cover if either himself or Dunne get injured/suspended.
3. No decent defensive option at left back.
4. No good aerial option up front.
If we can get a couple of these problems sorted I think we should have enough quality to make qualification for Euro 2008 a real possibility.