View Full Version : The Kevin Nolan saga

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9

02/04/2006, 10:26 PM
Incidentally there's a phone video clip of Eng.'s latest supposed saviour, singing a 'rebel' song during the last OF game, doing the rounds. Perhaps the 'cartoon character' is not as black as he's painted. Nor has he forgotten his Irish roots!;) :D

What is an 'OF game':confused:

livehead1
02/04/2006, 10:28 PM
i reckon old firm

02/04/2006, 10:53 PM
i reckon old firm

WTSPEIG

(well that sounds plausible enough I guess)

But a bit too obscure for me, I am not a member of MENSA!!

03/04/2006, 7:09 AM
But you were right PP, it was p1ss poor journalism nevertheless.That's not fair, I thought the article was very well written.

JT, sorry, S88.

/ends 03-April
London

No domestic League?

Ray Treacy?

What more clues do you want lads?

I was going to add that the reason Nolan wasn't selected for England was because Eriksson, a Swede, couldn't understand Nolan's scouse accent but that John Aldridge had volunteered to interpret for the FAI. I thought that would have given the game away though.

03/04/2006, 11:14 AM
That's not fair, I thought the article was very well written.
Of course Stuttgart your hoax was excellantly executed but still doesn't excuse Thompson's role :)

04/04/2006, 9:39 AM
The best part of this wind-up was that it brought us this fantastic bit of logical thinking.

The point is he is British.,.. therefore he has access to the Guardian... therefore he has no excuse for not knowing we have a domestic League.. do I have to spell everything out ?:confused:

Lee Trundle plays for Swansea... therefore he has access to Welsh women...therefore he has no excuse for not going out with Charlotte Church...do I have to spell everything out?:)

21/07/2006, 12:12 PM
On April Fool's day I poosted up a joke article on Nolan. This is serious this time. For info...

(oh, by the way, I'd take him. Sod it. We need someone in exactly that role.)

(ESP)-NOLAN KEEPS OPEN MIND ON IRISH QUESTION
2006-07-21 08:04 (New York)
NOLAN KEEPS OPEN MIND ON IRISH QUESTION
By Ian Parkes, PA Sport
Bolton captain Kevin Nolan is refusing to rule out the prospect of one day
playing for the Republic of Ireland.
Nolan was talked about as an England prospect prior to the World Cup in
Germany after an exemplary season in Wanderers' midfield.
The 24-year-old scored 11 goals last term for Bolton, but with Steven Gerrard,
Frank Lampard, Owen Hargreaves and Michael Carrick ahead of him, Nolan faces a
tough challenge to break into the England squad.
It is why he has already held talks with Republic of Ireland manager Steve
Staunton about pulling on a green jersey.
Nolan, who is eligible for Ireland through the grandparents ruling [S88 adds - I thjought it was parents, no?], concedes
he is willing to sit down with Staunton again to discuss the matter further.
``I have spoken to Steve Staunton a couple of times,'' confirmed Nolan.
``He has been to watch some of our matches, although he was obviously watching
Joey O'Brien as well.
``But it's something we've chatted about, and something we will have to
discuss more in depth, but it's probably a long way off.''
Nolan's first choice would understandably be to play for England, yet even
though his name was continually linked at the back end of last season, there
were no regrets about missing out on the World Cup.
``I can honestly say I did not once wish I was there,'' insisted Nolan.
``I had a brilliant summer with my missus and a few of the lads, so it never
entered my mind.
``I just enjoyed watching the World Cup. It's something you have to enjoy. It
was a fantastic occasion.''
With Sven-Goran Eriksson now gone, and new manager Steve McClaren taking up
the reins on August 1, a fresh outlook may give Nolan an opportunity.
But until it happens, it is not a matter that concerns him, adding: ``It (a
call-up) has not happened yet, so it's not an issue.
``Until it does happen, if it happens, then it will be something to think
about and look forward to.''
Nolan has also dismissed the speculation linking him with a move away from the
Reebok Stadium, with Manchester United, Arsenal and Tottenham having all been
mentioned as potential destinations.
``It doesn't bother me,'' Nolan said.
``It only affects me when my mum comes in and says `are you going to
Manchester United?'
``I think she is starting to believe the papers now, so I have to explain that
it's just a way of filling them up.'

bwagner
21/07/2006, 1:20 PM
this guys fukin makes me sick to my very core.
I was all up for for him but i have had enough at this stage .
who the hell does he think he is the sassnach scum.
HE COULDNT BE ANY MORE OF A LAGER LAGER ,OI OI ,IM A BIT OF A GEEZER ENGISH CHAV...nothing like kilbane or breen

DotTV
21/07/2006, 2:48 PM
It would be nice to tell him to go and fuk himself but unfortunately we're not in a position to be turning down players.

portadownbhoy
21/07/2006, 2:56 PM
He's a cracking player..I'd take him in a flash.

21/07/2006, 3:31 PM
You're right totalfootball, and what's worse, I knew it too.

I just saw the story on the newswires and stuck it up impulsively thinking there must have been recent contact. But reading the article again it's not even "new" news. The implication is that Stan spoke to him after Bolton games which would have been months ago. So it's not even news & not even relevant anyway.

SaucyJack
21/07/2006, 3:35 PM
just saw this on the U.T.V site but Stuttgart beat me to it, it'd be funny if he never gets a cap.

21/07/2006, 3:39 PM
Nolan would have qualified under the FIFA amnesty.

IF he decided to declare we could ask FIFA to allow him and it may be looked upon favourably. I belieeve they have made exceptions for people who would have qualified under the amnesty but faiiled to apply in time.

The Bit O'Red
23/07/2006, 7:02 PM
An english paper (i think maybe the mail or mirror) had a short column yesterday in the sports section saying that Nolan had held talks with Staunton about the possibilty of playing for ireland. I'd personaly like to see him declare for us.

Feech
23/07/2006, 9:20 PM
I'd personaly like to see him declare for us.

In the name of God, why?

Roverstillidie
23/07/2006, 9:33 PM
Im bored of this already (http://members.roadfly.org/viv/AwJeezNotThisSheetAgain1.jpg)

Fergie's Son
23/07/2006, 10:40 PM
McClaren will pick him for the next England squad.

He's English, good luck to him as an player for England.

4tothefloor
24/07/2006, 12:34 AM
Apparantly McLaren is trying to get Paul Scholes to reconsider international football. If Scholes agrees, that's the end of Nolans Engurland chances. Personally, I'd even put Joey Barton ahead of Nolan for an England place. Nolan is an attacking midfielder. That position is not a priority. England already have Gerrard, Lampard, Joe Cole in this area. The likes of Kieron Dyer and Shaun Wright-Phillips can't even get into the squad, and they're better than Nolan. You also have the emergence of Aaron Lennon, coupled with SWP, will surely push Beckham into a more central role. They do not need Nolan. What they do need is a midfield engine/Defensive player like Barton. Scott Parker is another who can't get near the squad. Nolan hasn't a hope...:rolleyes:

Do I think we should take him? Absolutely. Why? Because our midfield is abysmal and 'cos I want to go to Euro 2008 with us there. We need to start qualifying for finals lads. At this stage i'd take Alice Cooper if he could help qualification in any way.....

Irish Pride
24/07/2006, 1:24 PM
Another one of these stupid threads. I want Kevin Nolan to make a statement saying..........I WANT TO PLAY FOR IRELAND. then lets try and get him. Stan shouldnt go after him or anything else. All Nolan talks about is if he gets in the England squad then great......and if he doesnt then maybe Ireland.
But the FAI do have a case if he does want to play for us...

24/07/2006, 1:29 PM
I'd rather come bottom with a team of players that wanted to play for us than top the group with a bunch for whom playing for us was a career choice or because they werent considered good enough to play for their own country

CraftyToePoke
24/07/2006, 2:21 PM
I'd rather come bottom with a team of players that wanted to play for us than top the group with a bunch for whom playing for us was a career choice or because they werent considered good enough to play for their own country

strong words, but one things for certain, i definately dont want this guy representing me, ever. its just not right.

each time the Nolan subject crops up on here, the strength of feeling in the anti-Nolan camp strikes me, whereas the pro-Nolan lobby seem to just not get it, they see it as a club signing almost, and totally miss the point in the process.

i wonder if he knew how we felt, if he would finally just fuuck off? as im guessing from the arrogant comments and his general attitude towards playing for us, he has never considered that we may not want his second-hand services.

for example, in the last seasons, birmingham city fans blocked the signing of Boyer, and several clubs have been shamed into pulling out of friendlies with mk dons by their fans protests.

if the fai/Stauton and Nolan in particular were to be made aware of how many fans really really dont want this boyo next or near international honours for us, would it make him go away??

thoughts........

BaZmO*
24/07/2006, 2:55 PM
Thing I don't get about Nolan is when exactly is he gonna make up his mind whether or not he wants to play for us?

I don't mind him playing for us because if he qualifies under the rules well then he qualifies. Plenty of better players have played for the country of their parents or their grandparents so there's no problem there imo. But you have to want to play for the country you chose and I just don't think that Nolan wants to play for us.

24/07/2006, 2:57 PM
I would take him but as far as I'm concerned, anybody who doesn't bite the hand off you at an offer like that can fcuk off. I don't want Staunton to go begging to the guy and embarress us, the fact that he was indecisive all along should have told everybody something (that he'll only "use" us if all else fails). Who's the other fella again that Staunton was talking to for about 3 months??

24/07/2006, 3:07 PM
Clinton "O" Morrison Mk II?

24/07/2006, 3:41 PM
Thing I don't get about Nolan is when exactly is he gonna make up his mind whether or not he wants to play for us?

I don't mind him playing for us because if he qualifies under the rules well then he qualifies. Plenty of better players have played for the country of their parents or their grandparents so there's no problem there imo. But you have to want to play for the country you chose and I just don't think that Nolan wants to play for us.

Even worse than that though is that he doesn't qualify under the rules as they stand. So Staunton/FAI would need to appeal to FIFA to give Nolan an exemption because, um, he kinda might think about playing for us at some point in the future if he doesn't get picked for England before then...

24/07/2006, 3:47 PM
AND i SUPPOSE TONY CASCARINO and vINNY jones - to name but two from Saipan 88 and Jacks army should be ersed from the record books

they're as Irish as you or I is

24/07/2006, 3:50 PM
AND i SUPPOSE TONY CASCARINO and vINNY jones - to name but two from Saipan 88 and Jacks army should be ersed from the record books

they're as Irish as you or I is

What the hell does the above post mean, I can barely read it and what is Saipan 88 .

BaZmO*
24/07/2006, 3:51 PM
He doesn't qualify for us! What is so difficult to understand about that? It has been explained on this board, over and over again that, under the rules, he doesn't qualify for us.
Here, relax the kaks!! I said if he qualifies.

24/07/2006, 4:01 PM
Ah classic wws...

I concur

24/07/2006, 4:19 PM
Ah classic wws...

I concur

How is unreadable rubbish a classic. Vinny Jones never played for Ireland, Not sure what Saipan 88 is. The word classic is thrown about way to easily nowadays in my view.

thelimerick
24/07/2006, 5:45 PM
Martin Keown could have played for us, Paul Scholes could have played for us, Wayne Rooney could have played for us.
Should they have though?
No.
Why?
Because they're not Irish.
I agree with one poster who describes it as cheating. Had those player declared and we won something, it would be because we cheated.
My grandmother could be from Cameroon but it wouldn't make ME a.... a Camer..... a cameroo............a Camerooniranian !!!
Kevin Nolan grew up on the streets of England kicking ball with his English mates being watched with pride by his English parents. Just because he cant make the English team does not mean for one minute that he should declare for Ireland. The danger with this policy is that any half arsed English player with no hope of playing international football can just say to himself, oh well, i suppose i'd better check my roots and see what my options are.
I would grant players with serious cause for eligability, such as having Irish parents considering our history of emigration, but bargain basement hunting for England cast-offs is, in my opinion, not an option, no matter how tempting.

24/07/2006, 5:54 PM
I think its one of those that is hard to talk about as you cant have a hard and fast rule about it. As there are 2nd or 3rd generation people who are every bit as Irish as the a person born in the country. BUt I do agree there are guys like Nolan and others who have used it as a means to play international football. Some of these have gone on to be heroes in this country. The idea of nationality is so complex and very hard to come up with a form of words that would cater for the situation so its up to each individual association to decide if they want people who may not feel 100% German or Irish or whatever. Don't think its cheating though.

24/07/2006, 6:17 PM
How is unreadable rubbish a classic. Vinny Jones never played for Ireland, Not sure what Saipan 88 is
Because people like you reply like this.

25/07/2006, 7:26 AM
I hate this type of response, and especially from a moderator.

Back to Nolan: I fully understand and generally agree with the arguments against selecting him but equally, I'll be wondering in Stuttgart whether we should be more ruthless in utilising the rules when we'll be facing three Polish players who qualify for Germany, as far as I know, only by residence.

Anyway, we've been through this all before. I only started the thread on the basis of an article I saw saying that Staunton was still pursuing Nolan which I thought was newsworthy. I should have known better.

25/07/2006, 9:43 AM
well whatever the rights or wrongs he better hurry up and make a decision!!!

25/07/2006, 9:46 AM
Some people here appear to have very negative feelings towards Kevin Nolan.

A few ponts

1) He doesn't qualify today but an appeal to FIFA would probably mean he could qualify as he did qualify for the amnesty.

2) He is a quality player. One of the best uncapped players in England.

3) Vinny Jones tried to play for us but was turned down. he ended up watching one world cup in an Irish jersey in Cork and then became welsh through and through. :D

4) Cascarino was always eligible to play for us.

25/07/2006, 10:10 AM
The main point gspian is that he obviously doesn't WANT to be Irish, and obviously doesn't consider himself Irish. IMO after that the rest doesn't matter

25/07/2006, 10:37 AM

People like me what is that supposed to mean. As Stuttgart says not a very good response especially someone who is a moderator. I still do not know what Saipan 88 is and Vinny Jones never played for Ireland so not sure how or why the post from WWS is a classic. It does not makes sense on any level. Also Dodge you dont know me so less of the personal stuff please.

25/07/2006, 10:53 AM
Sorry, should have said "posters like you".

It is a VERY VERY OBVIOUS **** take on the whole "lets sign him up" brigade. Anybody who knows wws' posts from his classic period would be familiar with his work and not reply. In fact I can't believe anybody would bother replying to it as it was THAT obvious. You didn't get the joke, therefore you were "one of those people". I admit I should've used "posters"

TerryPhelan
25/07/2006, 12:24 PM
This is all getting a bit silly. Can we please stick with the issue (or what's left of it after having been picked apart yet again)?

We've been getting similar headlines and 'stories' about Nolan every once and a while for the last year, on and off. My initial reaction on reading about 'Nolan maybe in a green jersey someday possibly maybe' on elevenaside was one of annoyance at it being a total non-entity in terms of news; so, whatever about the role that Nolan's place of birth might play in your low opinion of the move to have him declare for us, try to set aside whatever (probably considerable) irritation you might feel towards the whole idea created by this over-reporting of a non-story. That was quite a convoluted sentence, but I hope I'm being clear. What I'm trying to say is that it is the press who keep running to Nolan asking about Ireland, not the other way around. So I think these calls for him basically to '**** off' or the like are overblown and irrational. There is no need to be so aggressive towards him!

Personally, I think from an entirely cold and pragmatic point of view, the Irish team is crying out for a player like Nolan, and a central midfield of Nolan and Stevie Reid would be very strong indeed, I think everyone can agree. Therefore, from that perspective, any move by Nolan in our direction is to be welcomed.

I realise the fundamental difficulty that people have with a player, who to all intents and purposes is English, playing for us on account of an Irish heritage he feels little or no connection to. Well and good. But I think it is an absolutely ridiculous thing to say (as has been alluded to earlier in this thread and in others) that it is somehow better for us all that an Irish team made up of only 'thoroughbred Irish' - players who have been wholly committed to Ireland/Irish culture/playing for Ireland their whole lives - finishes last and loses all their games; than for an Ireland team with a number (which is never going to be more than 1 or 2, for what it's worth) of English-born players who elected to declare for Ireland finishes first. This is a bizarre statement to make, in my view. While I understand the sentiment, I also feel you have to look around at other countries a little (I think it was Stuttgart88 who mentioned the Germans having 3 Polish lads in their team), as well as at our own post-Hand history, to realise that with immersion in a good set-up (hopefully Stan's counts here), a few good results and the patience of the fans, even 'foreign' (in attitude as well as by birth) players can become fully committed to the Irish cause.

I don't want to go on too long here, but I'll say this: if Stan's pursuit of Nolan is successful and he helps us qualify for Euro 2008 and World Cup 2010, I don't see why any right-thinking Irish football fan should feel disgruntled.

25/07/2006, 12:40 PM
if Stan's pursuit of Nolan is successful and he helps us qualify for Euro 2008 and World Cup 2010, I don't see why any right-thinking Irish football fan should feel disgruntled.
They have a right to be disgruntled if Irish football and not the national team, suffer as a result of more and more resources being spent on the national team. As long as the FAI have the option of begging players (and make no mistake this is what it is) to play for ireland, they won't be forced to deal with the seriousness of the ****hole that is Irish football today. If they sorted out the grass roots, they'd have ample players of international quality. Importing Nolan covers over the cracks and gives the FAi the option of saying "Of course Irish football's great, sure aren't we in the Euro finals!"

And I'll repeat myself again here; I have NO problem wahtsoever with 2g players who consider themselves Irish playing for their country.

25/07/2006, 1:20 PM
He is a quality player and would improve us no end but he's not exactly chomping at the bit to wear the green jersey. He is obviously waiting for the new England manager to name his 1st squad against Greece.......

can Stan wait that long? Surely he'd want him in the squad to face Holland in our warm up game.

25/07/2006, 1:25 PM
mercenary

it cheapens the jersey his carry on

4tothefloor
25/07/2006, 11:15 PM
strong words, but one things for certain, i definately dont want this guy representing me, ever. its just not right.

each time the Nolan subject crops up on here, the strength of feeling in the anti-Nolan camp strikes me, whereas the pro-Nolan lobby seem to just not get it, they see it as a club signing almost, and totally miss the point in the process.

Mattie Holland was the same, bet you weren't complaining when he smashed one past Cameroon in Japan? Ditto for Clinton Morrison. Ray Houghton is another, a few weeks ago he came out and said he considers himself Scottish. So why did he play for Ireland? Again, did we turn our backs to the game/tv when he scored against England and Italy? Did we fcuk! Some of you are very opinionated on this, but it has to be said, ye also have very very short, and selective, memories! Nolan is no different to the afore mentioned players. Being from Liverpool he probably has more Irishness about him than the players mentioned above had. And i'm pretty sure if he does declare that he'll put in as much effort and contribute as much as Houghton et al did.

The reason i'm willing to accept him is because it has been like this as long as I've been supporting Ireland and going to games in the early Charlton years. We've always had these kind of players, and it's done us more good than bad. I'm not going to pretend that we haven't in the past. Nor am I delusional and going to start romanticising about an all Irish team and only having 2G plyers with extra-strength Irish links. It's all a load of bull. If Nolan decides he wants to play for us, that's good enough for me. He could be another Townsend, and whats wrong with that? All I care about is being at Euro 2008.

Another thing - almost every second national side now has 2G players or players of other nationalities declaring. Some obvious ones are Alex - Japan, Deco - Portugal, Hargreaves - England, Scotland have an ass load of them, Klose/Podolski/Kuranyi - Germany, Viera and about 10 others - France, Senna - Spain etc etc etc. Again, Nolan is no worse than any of these examples especially Deco, Alex, Hargreaves and Senna....

25/07/2006, 11:29 PM
That might well be true but it still irks me that we are going cap in to him whilst he weighs up his options .Of course once a player joins up you are going to support them as its counter productive to do otherwise.

FarBeag
25/07/2006, 11:51 PM
That might well be true but it still irks me that we are going hand in cap to him whilst he weighs up his options .Of course once a player joins up you are going to support them as its counter productive to do otherwise.

Have to agree with you there. I just can’t get myself to accept this doughnut into the Irish setup. It really annoys me that people are willing to wait to see if he will be picked for the three lions before he make his decision.Fcuk that for a game of soldiers, I would rather we won nothing than have to depend on a clown like this for success.

26/07/2006, 10:10 AM
what are Nolan's Irish roots? Grandparents?

26/07/2006, 10:31 AM
Mattie Holland was the same, bet you weren't complaining when he smashed one past Cameroon in Japan? Ditto for Clinton Morrison. Ray Houghton is another, a few weeks ago he came out and said he considers himself Scottish. So why did he play for Ireland? Again, did we turn our backs to the game/tv when he scored against England and Italy? Did we fcuk! Some of you are very opinionated on this, but it has to be said, ye also have very very short, and selective, memories! So just because we don't think aperson should be playing for our country we're not entitled to celebrate our team scoring a goal? HOw does that work? Would you prefer I booed him everytime he touched the ball? Doesn't mean he deserves to be there

Nolan is no different to the afore mentioned players. Being from Liverpool he probably has more Irishness about him than the players mentioned above had. And i'm pretty sure if he does declare that he'll put in as much effort and contribute as much as Houghton et al did. Thats total ********. There's pockets of "Irishness" in parts of glasgow and maybe parts of London/Luton but do you know what estate this lad is from? Did he go to the local Irish youth centre. Stop making up stuff to justify it to yourself.

All I care about is being at Euro 2008.Thats the main problem with Irish football. I'd prefer to see all levels of Irish football flourish. See my earlier post why this kind of thing stops it

almost every second national side now has 2G players or players of other nationalities declaring. Some obvious ones are Alex - Japan, Deco - Portugal, Hargreaves - England, Scotland have an ass load of them, Klose/Podolski/Kuranyi - Germany, Viera and about 10 others - France, Senna - Spain etc etc etc. Again, Nolan is no worse than any of these examples especially Deco, Alex, Hargreaves and Senna....Nolan is 100 times worse than those mentioned. Deco, Alex, the Germans and all the French lads all gained citizenship through residence, meaning they have contributed to the country they represent. In an interview with Deco in 4-4-2 last year, he said that he saw playing for Portugal as a duty after all the country had given him. Has nolan even been to Ireland? The odd holiday here at most. Does he see it as a duty, does he ****. I'll repeat again, this is a club side, this is a team that is supposed to represent our country. As long as the FAI beg players who have no allegiance to the country to play for us, Irish football will continue to be in as bad a state as we're in now.

26/07/2006, 10:52 AM
Nolan is 100 times worse than those mentioned. Deco, Alex, the Germans and all the French lads all gained citizenship through residence, meaning they have contributed to the country they represent. In an interview with Deco in 4-4-2 last year, he said that he saw playing for Portugal as a duty after all the country had given him. Has nolan even been to Ireland? The odd holiday here at most. Does he see it as a duty, does he ****. I'll repeat again, this is a club side, this is a team that is supposed to represent our country. As long as the FAI beg players who have no allegiance to the country to play for us, Irish football will continue to be in as bad a state as we're in now.

Actually he has been here. Was part of Brian Kerr's youth team set up who were due to play big game in Dalymount. However on the eve of the game he said he didn't want to play and went home. So he has been messing around for about 7 or 8 years now.

CraftyToePoke
26/07/2006, 12:31 PM
Mattie Holland was the same, bet you weren't complaining when he smashed one past Cameroon in Japan? Ditto for Clinton Morrison. Ray Houghton is another, a few weeks ago he came out and said he considers himself Scottish. So why did he play for Ireland? Again, did we turn our backs to the game/tv when he scored against England and Italy? Did we fcuk! Some of you are very opinionated on this, but it has to be said, ye also have very very short, and selective, memories! Nolan is no different to the afore mentioned players. Being from Liverpool he probably has more Irishness about him than the players mentioned above had. And i'm pretty sure if he does declare that he'll put in as much effort and contribute as much as Houghton et al did.

The reason i'm willing to accept him is because it has been like this as long as I've been supporting Ireland and going to games in the early Charlton years. We've always had these kind of players, and it's done us more good than bad. I'm not going to pretend that we haven't in the past. Nor am I delusional and going to start romanticising about an all Irish team and only having 2G plyers with extra-strength Irish links. It's all a load of bull. If Nolan decides he wants to play for us, that's good enough for me. He could be another Townsend, and whats wrong with that? All I care about is being at Euro 2008.

Another thing - almost every second national side now has 2G players or players of other nationalities declaring. Some obvious ones are Alex - Japan, Deco - Portugal, Hargreaves - England, Scotland have an ass load of them, Klose/Podolski/Kuranyi - Germany, Viera and about 10 others - France, Senna - Spain etc etc etc. Again, Nolan is no worse than any of these examples especially Deco, Alex, Hargreaves and Senna....

just because it went on before doesnt mean its ok to continue capping guys like this, irish football needs to get its house in order and stop feeding of scraps of others to paper over the cracks.and your assertion that being from liverpool will have given him some sort of ''irishness'' is absolute rubbish.

he qualifies on paper, but he has not a scrap of feeling irish in any way shape or form about him, and has made no secret of this. so how then can you feel he can represent you? how can you as an irishman, feel equally represented by a guy like this, as you would by a Kilbane or a Kavanagh? its not possible, and he shouldnt be there.

and the examples you give of other nations players doesnt stand up either, as those players, as dodge has said, actually contributed something to their respective adopted countries, and they wanted and sought out the oppertunity to play for those nations, Nolan has not, and even at this late stage still uses his ''irishness'' purely to ratchet up pressure on england to play him. nonsense, and we shouldnt stand for it and as a nation, leave ourselves open to having the honour of playing for us devalued and mocked by career internationals like Nolan.

dont get me wrong, he would have been welcome, more than welcome, but seeing him in green now after he has placed so little value on it, would leave a sour taste.

anyway, this has been done to death 10 times over on him at this stage on here.