View Full Version : Slovakia Away (8th September 2007) - Match Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12

01/06/2007, 11:44 AM
Finding somewhere to stay in Bratislava at this stage will be the biggest test........apart from getting match tickets of course!!:D

Are you staying in apartments like in Prague.

Sligo Hornet
01/06/2007, 1:06 PM
Are you staying in apartments like in Prague.

No, as we couldn't find an apartment with 2 bathrooms ( Mrs.Mule likes more privacy when around us drunken yobs! ):D

Staying at Hotel Arcus , which looks OK (www.hotelarcus.sk/vitaje.htm )..........where have you booked?

01/06/2007, 1:19 PM
We got this crowd. Looks good to me.

http://www.bratislava-apartments.sk/

Sligo Hornet
01/06/2007, 2:04 PM

They look fine.....which location number have you selected?

Moscow Mule
01/06/2007, 3:57 PM

Apartments will be a real challenge for Paul. Hotel rooms are one thing - apartments are a different class.

LuckOfTheIrish
02/06/2007, 7:35 AM
flights still available on expedia for about €210 inc all taxes and charges
dublin-amsterdam-vienna
and prague-paris-dublin
£141.40 is the price given. i can't get cheaper, so if you still have no travel booked this is probably best. i'm still not sure if i can go though, which is why i have nothing booked yet and am still looking.

(out friday, arrive 19:45, close enough to bratislava and depart 16:20 thursday back 22:05 in dublin)

Why not try something like Dublin London Stansted with Ryanair then on to Brno in the Czech Republic. Its just over an hour by train from Bratislava. The flight to Brno is with Ryanair also. Trains leave from Brno approx every hour and cost feck all................:rolleyes:

Bear Eleven
07/06/2007, 3:27 PM
Just 12 weeks to go to almighty session.

viagogo
08/06/2007, 8:43 PM
Anybody know for definite where Slovakia game is on. I emailed the Slovakia FA a couple of weeks ago and they said that they will decide after Germany V Slovakia. Have emailed them again.

09/06/2007, 8:58 AM
Why not try something like Dublin London Stansted with Ryanair then on to Brno in the Czech Republic. Its just over an hour by train from Bratislava. The flight to Brno is with Ryanair also. Trains leave from Brno approx every hour and cost feck all................:rolleyes:

I booked Belfast - Prague yesterday for a few of our lads who decided they are going.

Out on the 6th, back the 14th for 180 sterling all in

RogerMilla
12/06/2007, 2:32 PM
Slovakia confirm venue for Euro 2008 qualifier

----------------------------------------------------------------
----------------

Date: Tuesday, 12 June 2007 Section: International

----------------------------------------------------------------
----------------

The Slovak Football Federation has confirmed that the Euro 2008 qualifier between Slovakia and the Republic of Ireland on September 8 will take place in Bratislava. The kick-off time will be confirmed at a later date.
The match has been fixed for the Slovan Stadion, Tehelné Pole, Bratislava, and, under UEFA regulations, the FAI will receive a ticket allocation of 2,500 tickets which represents 10 per cent of the stadium s capacity for this game.

Because of the small allocation the FAI regrets that it will be unable to take orders from non-FAI block booker account holders for this game

smithy16jfc
13/06/2007, 10:09 AM
Any idea when tickets will go on sale to Slovakian fans? Also, anyone know if there is a Slovakian ticketmaster we could hi-jack, like the Germany game?

13/06/2007, 10:23 AM
Any idea when tickets will go on sale to Slovakian fans? Also, anyone know if there is a Slovakian ticketmaster we could hi-jack, like the Germany game?

http://www.ticketportal.sk/default.asp?lang=US

citizenerased
15/06/2007, 10:10 PM
lads when is the waiting list thread for tickets to the two matches starting, stu you said it would be the start of june..will ya throw me down for the two games(slovakia and czech), cheers

SuperDave
16/06/2007, 12:25 PM
http://www.ticketportal.sk/default.asp?lang=US

on their little interactive calendar, you can't click on september 8th... therefore no events that day they have tickets for yet.

stiofain
20/06/2007, 12:43 PM
Has anyone booked the Ibis hotel in Bratislava? A word of warning - they only have double beds in thier rooms.

I booked months ago after reading the description given on this website; http://www.bratislavahotels.com/bratislava-hotel-ibis, which claims they do 'single/double/twin' rooms. But after emailing them to request a twin room for me and my mate during our stay, i got a reply saying they only have double beds.

Its too late to book anywhere else now and i dont particulary fancy sharing a bed with my mate for issues of comfort more than anything else. Looks like the old air bed will be joining me on this trip.

zenokelly
20/06/2007, 1:49 PM
Its too late to book anywhere else now and i dont particulary fancy sharing a bed with my mate for issues of comfort more than anything else. Looks like the old air bed will be joining me on this trip.

You just presuming or has he jumped out of the closet?

Dazzy
20/06/2007, 1:59 PM
Thats the same in most Ibis hotels.

stiofain
20/06/2007, 2:40 PM
You just presuming or has he jumped out of the closet?

You cheeky swine! :D

shamrock17
20/06/2007, 4:17 PM
[QUOTE=stiofain;707360]Has anyone booked the Ibis hotel in Bratislava? A word of warning - they only have double beds in thier rooms.

i think most hotels in europe normally have doubles which are 2 singles pushed together, but i know that theres a warning on our confirmation that some double rooms have been booked and to be prepared for this as most of the bratislava hotels are booked solid for that weekend so its a case of first one in gets the bed!!! :D

lionelhutz
21/06/2007, 1:04 PM
Sorry lads, i know this is a little naive but how do i get into the summary of this thread?? I just need info on flights and accomodation for the game. By the looks of it, accommodation in bratislava is very hard to get at this stage??

citizenerased
21/06/2007, 1:25 PM
[QUOTE=stiofain;707360]so its a case of first one in gets the bed!!! :D

Why should one be rewarded for their inability to sustain the debauchary of an ireland away trip. I think last one in should get the bed...

shamrock17
21/06/2007, 2:11 PM
[QUOTE=shamrock17;707571]

Why should one be rewarded for their inability to sustain the debauchary of an ireland away trip. I think last one in should get the bed...

after a heavy night on the slovakian diesel im sure ud sleep on a bed of nails!!! and generally its a case of never see the bloody bed anyway so who cares who gets it!!:D

21/06/2007, 6:09 PM
Sorry lads, i know this is a little naive but how do i get into the summary of this thread?? I just need info on flights and accomodation for the game. By the looks of it, accommodation in bratislava is very hard to get at this stage??
Look up the thread summaries thread maybe?

HolylandsMan
22/06/2007, 12:05 PM
Are there many not staying in bratislava at all but using Prague as a base? Even if its a night match, from what I could see on the bus website, buses run all night to Prague. Think we'll just take Bratislava as a day trip and spend the week in Prague.

Paulie
22/06/2007, 12:41 PM
Are there many not staying in bratislava at all but using Prague as a base? Even if its a night match, from what I could see on the bus website, buses run all night to Prague. Think we'll just take Bratislava as a day trip and spend the week in Prague.

For what it's worth I know a couple of people that have been to Bratislava and I'm told it's a great spot. Also, getting there from Prague by bus is about a ten hour round trip.

citizenerased
22/06/2007, 12:51 PM
Yeah it will be great craic in brat after we beat em 1-0 !! rather that than a gruelling 10 hour bus journey!

shamrock17
22/06/2007, 1:11 PM

You must be mad!!!! :p missing out on a great few nights in Bratislava!!

22/06/2007, 3:38 PM
met a plastic paddy from London who said Bratislava is a great town smaller and not as big a rip off as prague.

stiofain
23/06/2007, 11:36 AM
Like most people i've booked three nights in both cities and personally i wouldnt do it any other way. I just think if your going to be there at all you may as well stay and experience a bit of the city.

We're nearly through June now, this trip is getting closer! I cant wait!

Moscow Mule
23/06/2007, 6:01 PM
Like most people i've booked three nights in both cities and personally i wouldnt do it any other way. I just think if your going to be there at all you may as well stay and experience a bit of the city.

We're nearly through June now, this trip is getting closer! I cant wait!

Good on you Stiofain. It will be great craic in both cities. How many of you going?

stiofain
23/06/2007, 11:51 PM
Good on you Stiofain. It will be great craic in both cities. How many of you going?

It'll be just myself and an English friend who's coming along for the craic though i'll be meeting up with a few uncles and cousins who are heading over from Ireland. Happy days!

I see your all booked yourself Moscow Mule, how many are in your crowd?

Moscow Mule
24/06/2007, 9:18 AM
It'll be just myself and an English friend who's coming along for the craic though i'll be meeting up with a few uncles and cousins who are heading over from Ireland. Happy days!

I see your all booked yourself Moscow Mule, how many are in your crowd?

There are 5 of us in total meeting up in Bratislava.

25/06/2007, 8:05 AM
The Famous Five.

Sligo Hornet
25/06/2007, 2:50 PM
The Famous Five.

If that's the case.......which one is "Dick"..........and who's the "Dog"?........aah,....poor Mr. & Mrs. Mule!!!:D

25/06/2007, 3:55 PM
Oh Very harsh!!!

Moscow Mule
25/06/2007, 8:26 PM
Oh Very harsh!!!

I hope there will be lashings of lemonade!

26/06/2007, 10:27 AM
lads what are most of you doing for tickets?

in italy for a wedding wth the missus up until the friday the 7th, thinking of getting a flight to bratislava from milan as its dead cheap. Is accomodation still alright or is it all booked up?

26/06/2007, 10:47 AM
I have applied through the FAI and also keeping an eye out for when tickets go on sale in Slovakia.

I would do a search for accomodation as soon as you can. I woudl book it as you can usually cancel if you cant go.

26/06/2007, 10:52 AM
thanks neil.

aidz1
26/06/2007, 1:00 PM
i see in the indo today, that this game is confirmed for a 20:30 k.o. local time..

26/06/2007, 1:25 PM
he Slovak Football Federation has confirmed that the Euro 2008 qualifier between Slovakia and the Republic of Ireland on September 8th will take place in Bratislava at 20.30, local time (19.30 Irish Time.) The match has been fixed for the Slovan Stadion, Tehelné Pole, Bratislava, and, under UEFA regulations, the FAI will receive a ticket allocation of 2,500 tickets which represents 10 per cent of the stadium’s capacity for this game.

Because of the small allocation the FAI regrets that it will be unable to take orders from non-FAI block booker account holders for this game.

Bear Eleven
26/06/2007, 2:19 PM
Going to be a another long day in the Pub with all the cheap beer and looking after AidoM when he gets drunk and starts sticking labels on anyone that moves ala San Marino.

Mayo_Bhoy
26/06/2007, 4:06 PM
thinking of getting a flight to bratislava from milan as its dead cheap. Is accomodation still alright or is it all booked up?

TBH honest Paul, id say accommodation in Bratislava will be next to impossible to get that weekened. We only started looking in early May and it took me about aweek to get anything sorted and that was with a couple of hours online every day. Good luck though. What part of God's own county are you from??

26/06/2007, 4:34 PM
What part of God's own county are you from??

im not. i was born in castlebar hosbibal though!!

AidoM
26/06/2007, 5:51 PM
Going to be a another long day in the Pub with all the cheap beer and looking after AidoM when he gets drunk and starts sticking labels on anyone that moves ala San Marino.

My one regret is that I didn't get one that could stick your lips together :D

26/06/2007, 6:02 PM
This may be of interest:
http://www.bratislavaguide.com/football-match-slovakia-germany-october-11-2006

Maybe someone could e-mail them and ask can they sort out a load of tickets for us. :)

rfkimble
26/06/2007, 6:41 PM
any1 hav a link on where to buy return train tickets from prague to bratislava on the day of the match. i can only find it in slovakian (prob need the czech one) + am not up to speed wit their lingo yet. 10 of us goin this way. cheers for help

Mayo_Bhoy
27/06/2007, 10:41 AM
im not. i was born in castlebar hosbibal though!!

Well, i was born in Tuam hospital but id never call myself a Galway man!:mad:

Claret Murph
27/06/2007, 11:54 AM
Well, i was born in Tuam hospital but id never call myself a Galway man!:mad:

Sorry you are going to have to change sign on as Galway lad from now on .;););

Sligo Hornet
27/06/2007, 12:07 PM
Sorry you are going to have to change sign on as Galway lad from now on .;););

Not necessarily..........if you were born in a stable, it doesn't mean you are a horse!;)