View Full Version : Slovakia Away (8th September 2007) - Match Thread
Pages :
[
8]
zenokelly
27/06/2007, 2:11 PM
This may be of interest:
http://www.bratislavaguide.com/football-match-slovakia-germany-october-11-2006
Maybe someone could e-mail them and ask can they sort out a load of tickets for us. :)
Anyone e-mailed them yet?
Mayo_Bhoy
27/06/2007, 3:51 PM
Not necessarily..........if you were born in a stable, it doesn't mean you are a horse!
Mind you, it has been said that i'm a horse of a man.
lionelhutz
28/06/2007, 9:14 AM
classic. Can anyone tell me how to get into the summary of this thread?
28/06/2007, 9:30 AM
Well, i was born in Tuam hospital but id never call myself a Galway man!
i had my appendix out there, i dont call myself a mayo man, im a rossie! no one would want to call themselves a galway man would they?
ya they say that about van nistleroy too.....
AidoM
28/06/2007, 11:54 AM
Not necessarily..........if you were born in a stable, it doesn't mean you are a horse!;)
Oh Jesus :eek:
Paulie
28/06/2007, 4:24 PM
I rang the FAI earlier to find out when they would be notifying applicants as to whether they would be getting tickets or not. They said applicants would be notifed in the next couple of weeks. That's quicker than I expected. Here's hoping.
28/06/2007, 6:46 PM
classic. Can anyone tell me how to get into the summary of this thread?
You go into the thread summary thread in the forum contents.
citizenerased
29/06/2007, 2:42 PM
Stu when ya putting up the waiting list for tickets? Can ya throw me on the two lists please, thanks
DubJohn
29/06/2007, 10:10 PM
Stu when ya putting up the waiting list for tickets? Can ya throw me on the two lists please, thanks
Can you please put me on the lists for 4? Thanks..
Patience lads :p
I thought that under the rules the list goes up 2 Months before the games so if Stu is on the ball (as usual :cool:) there's less than a week to go for the Slovak waiting list and less than 2 for the Czech match
30/06/2007, 8:42 PM
Yeah. Yeah, I knew that...
What AidoM said. I'll make a note to open it on the 8th.
Also, 2 per person max.
dublinwanderer
01/07/2007, 6:42 PM
any meet up in centre of bratislava planned? any square or landmark???
stojkovic
02/07/2007, 11:36 PM
Booked today Dublin-Bratislava (Vienna) with Ryanair on the 6th and Prague-Stansted booked with Easyjet on the 13th all in for about 350euro. Booked the catamaran from Vienna to Bratislava on the 7th, got the last four seats I think for 18 blips each.
I take it there will be a good session in Vienna on the Thursday night.
Anyone planning a diversion to Auschwitz on the way to Prague, maybe a night in Krakow ? Any details on trains etc ?
Four countries in a week, marvellous.
Bear Eleven
03/07/2007, 7:49 AM
Do you have any details or website adress to book catamaran.
04/07/2007, 1:22 PM
Booked today Dublin-Bratislava (Vienna) with Ryanair on the 6th and Prague-Stansted booked with Easyjet on the 13th all in for about 350euro. Booked the catamaran from Vienna to Bratislava on the 7th, got the last four seats I think for 18 blips each.
Anyone planning a diversion to Auschwitz on the way to Prague, maybe a night in Krakow ? Any details on trains etc ?
I am flying To Vienna on the Thursday and heading to Bratislava on the Thursday or the Friday. Then on the Monday we are heading to Prague and from Prague to Krakow on the Thursday and home to Dublin on the Sunday.
stojkovic
04/07/2007, 8:18 PM
Do you have any details or website adress to book catamaran.
Yeah >
www.twincityliner.com
KildareRed
05/07/2007, 11:21 AM
Have our allocations been confirmed yet for both fixtures? They were meant to be confirmed this week
Sligo Hornet
05/07/2007, 11:30 AM
Have our allocations been confirmed yet for both fixtures? They were meant to be confirmed this week
I know mine......NONE and NONE !!:(
zenokelly
05/07/2007, 1:05 PM
Ya the allocation was supposed to be decided on Tuesday but I dont know when they'll tell us.
Claret Murph
05/07/2007, 2:44 PM
Just hate this waiting game , but if we miss out I can see four lads who are going to blame me :mad: yer shoot the mesenger . But whatever happens I am sure we will all pick up tickets along the way , by one way or another .
RogerMilla
06/07/2007, 10:34 AM
Just hate this waiting game , but if we miss out I can see four lads who are going to blame me :mad: yer shoot the mesenger . But whatever happens I am sure we will all pick up tickets along the way , by one way or another .
hook or crook being the two most likely methods!
Carlow Bhoy
06/07/2007, 2:35 PM
were travelling over on the morning of the 6th to Bratislava and staying in Vienna for the Thursday night. 8 of us going from Carlow
supasparx
06/07/2007, 10:22 PM
Have yis seen the price of tickets on worldticketshop.com? 135 and 175 euro. Scandalous!:eek:
Footymadlass
07/07/2007, 8:40 PM
We've our flight booked a while now. Flying in to Slovakia (thru U.k) and from there to Prague. HAvent got tickets yet tho. Anyone know how easy/hard it will be to get tickets here or over there? Only been to one away game before and we'd tickets before the game.
10/07/2007, 1:42 PM
This is flying in, not long to go :eek: :D
I wouldn't worry about tickets now, only hope for the best when we get there :p
11/07/2007, 9:31 AM
Slovakian girl just moved into my house and I have asked her to source me a couple of tickets over in Bratislava and in Prague. If I have any spare I will do as the rules require on the other thread.
galwayhoop
11/07/2007, 9:34 AM
Slovakian girl just moved into my house and I have asked her to source me a couple of tickets over in Bratislava and in Prague. If I have any spare I will do as the rules require on the other thread.
fcuk the tickets, ask her if she has any friends!! :D:D:D
11/07/2007, 9:38 AM
Of course she does, why do you think we voted for her to move in.
stiofain
11/07/2007, 10:25 AM
my thoughts exactly!
KoemansCC
12/07/2007, 3:10 AM
I think we booked the trip arseways :confused:, anyone heading to Budapest on the Thursday before the Slovakia game and heading to Brat by train on the Friday morning?...
Oh well, its just another country on the tour..........
Claret Murph
12/07/2007, 6:36 AM
Koemans think about it this way who else will be partying with the Bosnia ultra's on Thursday night in Budapest :) I think think you made a very good move and I am sure the rest of your group are very happy as well with it . ;);)
Sligo Hornet
12/07/2007, 7:45 AM
Koemans think about it this way who else will be partying with the Bosnia ultra's on Thursday night in Budapest :) I think think you made a very good move and I am sure the rest of your group are very happy as well with it . ;);
Wouldn't it be more likely to be the "Hungarian Head-the-Balls"?:confused:
12/07/2007, 10:50 AM
Will there be a waiting list for that too?
Dr. Ogba
12/07/2007, 11:51 AM
Will there be a waiting list for that too?
:D:D 2 for me please!
Claret Murph
12/07/2007, 12:08 PM
Wouldn't it be more likely to be the "Hungarian Head-the-Balls"?:confused:
No Hornet they would all be at home watching the telly it's the Bosnians who will be out in force as they will be playing Hungray a couple of days later ;)
Sligo Hornet
12/07/2007, 1:11 PM
No Hornet they would all be at home watching the telly it's the Bosnians who will be out in force as they will be playing Hungray a couple of days later ;)
Well in that case try to blend in with the Bosnia & Herzegovinian Ultras....perhaps lead a song......" Give us a B"..."Give us an O"......etc..then when they've all fallen asleep.......leg it!!:D
Mayo_Bhoy
12/07/2007, 2:46 PM
anyone heading to Budapest on the Thursday before the Slovakia game and heading to Brat by train on the Friday morning?...
15 Mayo lads heading to Budapest Thursday and train to Brat on Fri morning.
KoemansCC
12/07/2007, 7:14 PM
15 Mayo lads heading to Budapest Thursday and train to Brat on Fri morning.
EDIT: Anyone going to Budapest that are NOT from Mayo :p........
No seriously...we're staying in the City Hotel Matyas on the Thursday night and I'm sure you won't be too hard to spot....
there's bound to be at least 5 of the 15 lads wearing a Mayo jersey....
Bottle of Tonic
12/07/2007, 10:33 PM
Serious stalling, delaying and general jig-acting as usual from my bunch. If this bratislavan accommodation is as hard to come by as some previous posts insinuate, we might have to go camping. Anyone else resorting to that yet? We did it in Stuttgart and it was grand, obviously not as grand as a comfortable bed and a lovely non communal hot shower in the morning but grand all the same in a spirit of adventure kind of way. I'm away to have a nose about but anyone with anything already sorted post up!
HolylandsMan
12/07/2007, 10:54 PM
Think ya might have problems alright getting accomodation in Bratislava. I found it very tough a couple of weeks ago. Ended up booking a hostel that seems pretty much like a hippie commune - they have meditation rooms and all! Hostel Spirit - anybody know of anyone booked in it?
Dallasirish
13/07/2007, 12:46 AM
We are flying from Dallas are having serious problems getting rooms in Bratislava. There is some available in the raddison that are 250 euro per night. That was not really in the budget for a bed while under the influence. We have booked it as a last resort but if anyone knows of any available apts or hotels we would appreciate the info.
Claret Murph
13/07/2007, 9:16 AM
EDIT:
there's bound to be at least 5 of the 15 lads wearing a Mayo jersey....
I wouldn't worry about the Mayo lads on the whole as if I recall Mayo Bhoy is from Galway anyhow ;) so he should be easy to spot :)
aidz1
13/07/2007, 10:20 AM
We are flying from Dallas are having serious problems getting rooms in Bratislava. There is some available in the raddison that are 250 euro per night. That was not really in the budget for a bed while under the influence. We have booked it as a last resort but if anyone knows of any available apts or hotels we would appreciate the info.
a few available on travelsupermarket.com
we booked ours this week for about €75 each for 2 nights
Paulie
13/07/2007, 12:56 PM
Ended up booking a hostel that seems pretty much like a hippie commune - they have meditation rooms and all! Hostel Spirit - anybody know of anyone booked in it?
A Slovakian hostel you say..........I think I saw a movie about that.
Paulie
13/07/2007, 1:09 PM
For anyone travelling by train from Bratislava to Prague we booked our train earlier this week on http://www.bahn.co.uk/db_uk/view/index.shtml
This was the only site I could find, with English text, that I could make our booking on at this time (tickets already delivered). We decided to splash out and get 1st class seats as I'd say there will be a lot of people travelling that route on the Sunday and Monday and I don't fancy standing, hungover, on a cramped train for 4 hours. At least this way we're guaranteed seats and a little bit of room. It came to €60 each but we got the rest of the trip cheap enough so we're happy with that. As far as I know the economy seats are about €40 with this lot. If you wait to get the tickets at the train station in Bratislava I'd say you'd get them cheaper again as I presume the company I booked ours with are adding on some kind of a premium. I just wanted to get ours sorted before going over as it's less hassle. We're travelling on the 12:25pm on Monday the 10th of September.
I forgot to mention that you can't book these tickets over the internet as the website only allows you to book tickets for journeys within Germany. You'll have to either email them or give them a ring. The staff are very helpful though.
HolylandsMan
13/07/2007, 1:51 PM
A Slovakian hostel you say..........I think I saw a movie about that.
Would ya give over?!
One of the alds we're going with seriously think its about to be tortured by a crazed maniac :confused:
Hollywood has a lot to answer for!
Mayo_Bhoy
13/07/2007, 2:22 PM
wouldn't worry about the Mayo lads on the whole as if I recall Mayo Bhoy is from Galway anyhow so he should be easy to spot
I've no idea what you are trying to say Murph:confused:
Anyway as regards Koeman's comments.... i give up.:rolleyes:
Torn-Ado
13/07/2007, 2:28 PM
Serious stalling, delaying and general jig-acting as usual from my bunch. If this bratislavan accommodation is as hard to come by as some previous posts insinuate, we might have to go camping. Anyone else resorting to that yet? We did it in Stuttgart and it was grand, obviously not as grand as a comfortable bed and a lovely non communal hot shower in the morning but grand all the same in a spirit of adventure kind of way. I'm away to have a nose about but anyone with anything already sorted post up!
Camping is the way to go. I was thinking about that too. Pitch the tent, watch the game, get blind drunk and you won't feel a thing.
Not too sure if they will have too many camping sites in Slovakia or Czechland. Germany is different, as its a big camping country. I'll have a look.
stiofain
13/07/2007, 7:24 PM
Taken from fai.ie:
Demand for Euro Championship tickets exceeds supply despite increase
Date: Friday, 13 July 2007 Section: International
The FAI was today informed that the Association’s ticket allocation for September’s European Championship qualifying fixture against Slovakia has been increased by 3,500, meaning that a total of 6,000 tickets are now available for Irish fans.
This increase allows the Association to meet the full ticket demand from account holders received prior to the closing date of 22nd of June.
As the full quota of 6,000 tickets have been sold to account holders, there will be no tickets put on general sale and the Association regrets that no fresh applications for tickets can be accepted.
The FAI are currently in ongoing negotiations with the Czech FA in an endeavor to secure additional tickets to meet the huge demand from Irish fans for the European Championship qualifying fixture against the Czech Republic on September 12th.
At present the allocation is limited to 2,500 tickets, which is the 10% entitlement as per FIFA Rules.
The Association will not be able to meet the full ticket demand from this allocation.
In the event that additional tickets are secured from the Czech FA, this will enable the FAI to meet some of the current demand received prior to the closing date of 22nd June. As such, no new applications for tickets can be accepted.
Applicants for this fixture will be contacted in due course.
KoemansCC
13/07/2007, 7:29 PM
So in a nutshell, anyone that has applied for a ticket for the Slovakia game are guarenteed one.........