View Full Version : Slovakia Away (8th September 2007) - Match Thread
Pages :
[
6]
SuperDave
18/05/2007, 3:47 PM
sent SLovakian FA an e-mail about getting tickets and they told me that tickets for internationals are dealt with through this website : so ill keep an eye on it anyway!!
www.marstravel.sk
you know there is no "slovak-english" translation on babelfish?
just out of interest, did they tell you whether it would be in bratislava or trnava?
SuperDave
18/05/2007, 3:49 PM
Believe me ive tried everything and not a thing and we are not fussy.
hostelworld.com
even if you can only find two near one another, big deal. you don't have to sleep in the same place, it's not like you'll be there the whole time (or even for much more than the time you spend sleeping)
shamrock17
18/05/2007, 8:32 PM
Had alook on their site but cant find any email address or contact details of any kind??? Do you have an email??
bookings@pilgrimsabroad.com
it is on there on the contact page
hope it helps!
galwayhoop
18/05/2007, 8:48 PM
Yeah, us as well. Apartments are the way to go.
any links??
18/05/2007, 8:58 PM
any links??
http://www.bratislava.info/apartments/
http://www.bratislava-apartments.sk/index.html
Just google bratislava apartments ;)
SuperDave
20/05/2007, 1:03 PM
The following may be of interest to people travelling to both games:
http://idos.datis.cdrail.cz/Route.asp?cl=E5&tt=1&i=64551&c=1&s1=5872&s2=36173
details of the overnight train between bratislava and prague. it's probably cheaper than the cost of a night's accomodation + day train ticket. it takes over eight hours so more than enough time for decent kip, though it does stop and start a fair bit. just drink until you reach the border, then fall asleep after the guards have seen your passport. hell, if there were 500 Irish fans on the train, they'd just wave you on through if they saw the shirt.
Sligo Hornet
24/05/2007, 6:45 AM
Does anyone have any further news ( inside information? ) on the venue yet.?.:confused:................hoping that the last rumour that we would be in Bratislava turns out to be true!;)
24/05/2007, 11:09 AM
Yeah me too. Do you need a passport to get out of Bratislava. Hope not. !!!!!!
Sligo Hornet
24/05/2007, 11:14 AM
Yeah me too. Do you need a passport to get out of Bratislava. Hope not. !!!!!!
No,.......just a jacket!:D
24/05/2007, 3:15 PM
Dear Mr ,
I refer to your request for an application form for the Euro 2008 qualifier away to Slovakia on 8th September 2007.
Due to the small allocation of tickets allocation of tickets we expect to receive for this fixture we are unable to take orders from non-FAI Block Booker account holders.
We have not been informed by the Slovakian Football Association where the match will take place but normally they play their International fixtures in the Tehelne Pole Stadium in Bratislava which has a capacity of 30,085. Under UEFA regulations the FAI are only entitled to 10% for the game.
Application forms will be distributed to FAI Block Booker account holders shortly.
As demand is expected to exceed supply, not all applications will be successful.
Yours sincerely,
Ticket Office
Football Association of Ireland
24/05/2007, 3:29 PM
I got the same for both games even though I am a block booker.
It wouldn't be the case that eircom League block bookers are treated as less important than others on the list, would it:confused: Surely the FAI wouldn't do something like that...? :rolleyes:
Sligo Hornet
24/05/2007, 3:32 PM
Yeah I have received the same "Dear John" letters for both matches!:(:(
24/05/2007, 3:45 PM
I think everybody will get this letter whether they are a block booker or not as a point of info. If you are not a block booker dont expect a form and if you are , do a expect a form is the way I would read it.
zenokelly
24/05/2007, 4:50 PM
I sent an e-mail a couple of weeks ago stating that I was a block booker through ShelbourneFC and if I would also get preference,, and they replied saying that only block-bookers directly through the FAI shall get preference. Not looking good!!!!
Just sent an e-mail complaining about this, won't make any difference, will it?
zinedineontour
24/05/2007, 5:28 PM
From that can we take it that the game looks likely to be in Bratislava not Trnava ?
24/05/2007, 6:53 PM
I wouldn't take anything from that tbh. They probably know as much as us as to where the game will be.
Sligo Hornet
25/05/2007, 6:03 AM
Anyone know the name of the scouse printer who organised the "extra" tickets for Athens?;)
SuperDave
25/05/2007, 7:10 PM
I got the same for both games even though I am a block booker.
It wouldn't be the case that eircom League block bookers are treated as less important than others on the list, would it:confused: Surely the FAI wouldn't do something like that...? :rolleyes:
well those near the top of the fai waiting list who took tickets for croke park (i'm at about 1,000 on the waiting list) aren't being offered the chance to apply for tickets. i reckon there should be no bother getting in the home end though.
citizenerased
28/05/2007, 9:33 AM
slovakian fans are known for causing agro though so im not sure if irish fans will be let in that end to be honest..
SuperDave
28/05/2007, 11:50 AM
slovakian fans are known for causing agro though so im not sure if irish fans will be let in that end to be honest..
if we outnumber them 2-1 throughout the stadium, it mightn't be an issue, especially if they lose away to germany next.
Nolimits
28/05/2007, 3:21 PM
well those near the top of the fai waiting list who took tickets for croke park (i'm at about 1,000 on the waiting list) aren't being offered the chance to apply for tickets.
How do you find out where you are on the list?
citizenerased
28/05/2007, 5:30 PM
Just mail them with your details and they will tell ya what number you are
reder
29/05/2007, 11:18 AM
Lets hope to god the game is not in Trnava. They have a very nasty ultras group who will cause trouble. Do not sit in the home end if we play there.
I really dont think the fact the we might outnumber the Slovaks is gonna help you when it comes to trouble. I cant really see Dolly and Dicky who travelled with Abbey travel digging in to save your ass, can you. The police over there will probably knock the hell out of you also.
Bratislava aint much better from what I have heard. All in all, I think this is an away game at which we should all be in the away end only.
On tickets. I honestly, dont know what to do. I am a BB and am submitting an application but expect nothing from the FAI as the travel agents are obviously going to get most of the tickets in our end (even though the dont get the from the FAI of course). They are selling their packages with guaranteed irish section tickets already.
Sligo Hornet
29/05/2007, 11:39 AM
Does anyone know whether there was any trouble at recent home matches?
citizenerased
29/05/2007, 12:24 PM
i know there was serious ructions when they played england a while back...just have to wait and see i guess
29/05/2007, 12:32 PM
I've never seen anything but good reports from Celtic fans that went to Bratislava a couple of years ago. No trouble, cheap drink, nice girls...
Sligo Hornet
29/05/2007, 12:39 PM
i know there was serious ructions when they played england a while back...just have to wait and see i guess
Well that's not really "news".;)................was there any reported trouble when Slovakia played Germany last Autumn...........anyone know what the attendance was......how many German fans there?:confused:
SuperDave
29/05/2007, 1:11 PM
that's because they consider the english hooligans to be the top dog hoolies in europe and wanted to test themselves. it's the kind of place where if you want trouble you can get it but if you keep your head down you should be grand.
Collyontour
29/05/2007, 1:32 PM
I've never seen anything but good reports from Celtic fans that went to Bratislava a couple of years ago. No trouble, cheap drink, nice girls...
Sounds good to me. Lets face it, there's going to be a lot of people going over without tickets, (probably myself included) and we'll have to try and get tickets for the home end if necessary. What are the other options? Watch in a bar? I think the FAI should consider giving some priority to the fans who go to all the away games and who aren't BBers as well. Giving tickets to BBers makes sense but it makes me sick seeing so many sponsors and travel agents getting so many. The prices of some of the package holidays are an absolute joke and at the end of the day, the FAI have a responsibility to show some loyalty to us as well
29/05/2007, 1:43 PM
yeah I said before they should have a seperate list for away games and home games. I am going to take a ticket in the home or away end, I dont care. I think we are a totally different type of supporter than the Engerland fans.
citizenerased
29/05/2007, 2:01 PM
The FAI dont know the meaning of the word..the have sold us fans out repeatedly...hopefully it will work out it nearly always doesk, a ticket is bound to fall in my lap...cant wait..not too far away now!!
RogerMilla
29/05/2007, 2:08 PM
i agree , if i cant get an away end ticket then i'll get a home end one, not travelling over there to miss out !!
29/05/2007, 3:15 PM
On tickets. I honestly, dont know what to do. I am a BB and am submitting an application but expect nothing from the FAI as the travel agents are obviously going to get most of the tickets in our end (even though the dont get the from the FAI of course). They are selling their packages with guaranteed irish section tickets already.
Travel Agents do not get tickets from the FAI apart from Ray Treacy who gets a limited allocation being the official travel agent.
Any other travel agent selling tickets has sourced them from the home country. You'd be far better off going without a ticket and dealing with local touts than buying vastly overpriced packages,
LuckOfTheIrish
29/05/2007, 4:58 PM
Check this out...two nights accomodation and match ticket for Slovakian end for €114....hope is safe cos iv booked it:eek:
http://events.activitybreaks.com/?currency_mode=EUR
Moscow Mule
29/05/2007, 5:53 PM
yeah I said before they should have a seperate list for away games and home games. I am going to take a ticket in the home or away end, I dont care. I think we are a totally different type of supporter than the Engerland fans.
I haven't heard of any trouble in previous games but not everything gets widely reported. Let's hope their geography is sound and they appreciate that the English morons are a million miles away from us. I'll take a ticket anywhere and we will show the locals that we want to party with them and not inspite of them. Counting the days!
Received my application form for tickets for this match in the post today :). I am a Block Booker.
The category is "Irish Section". The venue and the price is TBC (to be confirmed). :confused:
Application to be returned by 22nd June and "successful applicants will be notified of the number and price of ticket/s allocated in due course"
ccfcgirl
29/05/2007, 8:27 PM
Anybody making there way from Cork?
Doesn't everyone want to get out of Cork :eek: :p :D
Mayo_Bhoy
30/05/2007, 2:54 AM
Check this out...two nights accomodation and match ticket for Slovakian end for €114....hope is safe cos iv booked it
I just booked this as well for 12 of us. Were you on the huddleboard earlier???
RogerMilla
30/05/2007, 7:48 AM
I just booked this as well for 12 of us. Were you on the huddleboard earlier???
jaysis lads a 2 star hotel in bratislava !! at least you'll have company with the rats and the roaches !!
Sligo Hornet
30/05/2007, 8:03 AM
Check this out...two nights accomodation and match ticket for Slovakian end for €114....hope is safe cos iv booked it:eek:
Based on what they say on this site..." Hotel is only 30 mins walk to stadium".......it looks increasingly likely that the game WILL be in Bratislava!:)
The package states match tickets " Slovakian side"....does it state a particular section of the stadium?...This info would be very useful for others, like myself, who will look to get "Home End" tickets, but would prefer to buy in areas of the ground where "Fellow Greens" have already secured seats......safety in numbers etc!!;)
30/05/2007, 10:55 AM
[QUOTE=Sligo Hornet;695352
Tbut would prefer to buy in areas of the ground where "Fellow Greens" have already secured seats......safety in numbers etc!!;)[/QUOTE]
Do we all have to have voted for Trevor Sargent.
Sligo Hornet
30/05/2007, 11:22 AM
Do we all have to have voted for Trevor Sargent.
I don't usually bring politics into this type of discussion....but hey...when begging for tickets...whatever it takes Neil!!!
Mayo_Bhoy
30/05/2007, 1:03 PM
jaysis lads a 2 star hotel in bratislava !! at least you'll have company with the rats and the roaches !!
ffs it's a football trip with a gang of mates. Id say you would be great crack.
Sligo Hornet
30/05/2007, 1:13 PM
Cracking good pub in the centre of Bratislava!!;)
citizenerased
31/05/2007, 10:29 AM
Im assuming that if aload of lads get that package, there will be safety in mubers..as they will have bought a bulk of seats in close proximity...goin to book it now foock it!!
SuperDave
31/05/2007, 5:25 PM
flights still available on expedia for about €210 inc all taxes and charges
dublin-amsterdam-vienna
and prague-paris-dublin
£141.40 is the price given. i can't get cheaper, so if you still have no travel booked this is probably best. i'm still not sure if i can go though, which is why i have nothing booked yet and am still looking.
(out friday, arrive 19:45, close enough to bratislava and depart 16:20 thursday back 22:05 in dublin)
Sligo Hornet
31/05/2007, 7:13 PM
flights still available on expedia for about €210 inc all taxes and charges
dublin-amsterdam-vienna
and prague-paris-dublin
£141.40 is the price given. i can't get cheaper, so if you still have no travel booked this is probably best. i'm still not sure if i can go though, which is why i have nothing booked yet and am still looking.
(out friday, arrive 19:45, close enough to bratislava and depart 16:20 thursday back 22:05 in dublin)
Finding somewhere to stay in Bratislava at this stage will be the biggest test........apart from getting match tickets of course!!:D
SuperDave
31/05/2007, 8:11 PM
Finding somewhere to stay in Bratislava at this stage will be the biggest test........apart from getting match tickets of course!!:D
err... hostelworld.com has places for about €30 per person per night in en-suite twin rooms. only about €18 for dorm rooms. now there were cheaper a while back, but still a few beds about that site for the desperate (and the cheapskate students among us ;) )
31/05/2007, 9:47 PM
Gonna try and update the summary thread when I get back after the weekend, by the way. Keep the info coming - I haven't forgotten!