View Full Version : Slovakia Away (8th September 2007) - Match Thread
Pages :
[
5]
galwayhoop
10/04/2007, 7:41 PM
has kick-off time been set for the game yet? they usually don't have to set it until 60 days before the game i think. what time of day do the slovaks usually play their games?
reason being we are thinking of flying into budapest on friday and staying the night and then getting the hydrofoil boat up to bratislava on saturday! purely for the novelty factor. the boat leaves about 8am and gets into bratislava at about 13.30.
where is the stadium from central bratislava?
has kick-off time been set for the game yet? ..........
where is the stadium from central bratislava?
The kick off time has not yet been set and the game will most likely be played in Trnava (have a look at the away match thread summary for info :confused: )
galwayhoop
11/04/2007, 9:35 AM
The kick off time has not yet been set and the game will most likely be played in Trnava (have a look at the away match thread summary for info :confused: )
fair play. good info there. didn't fancy trawling through 11 or 12 pages!!
does anyone know what time they usually play though. i am presuming evening!
AidoM
11/04/2007, 10:59 AM
fair play. good info there. didn't fancy trawling through 11 or 12 pages!!
The summary thread :rolleyes:
galwayhoop
11/04/2007, 11:03 AM
The summary thread :rolleyes:
as i said, good info there as i didn't fancy going through 11 or 12 pages here
12/04/2007, 6:50 PM
Staying in the City Hotel myself. The topless bar swung it for me.Rumour has it that Babysis or Green Tribe or even AidoM might be doing a nixer there.
Looks a excellant hotel.Its a little bit out from the city but transport should be cheap.
:eek: I'll leave the table dancing to yourself and the legend that is the boston celtic jacketed one(saw him out watching the cricket in the crowd in the paper!!)
Babysis
16/04/2007, 5:52 PM
Just got confirmation we are staying in the Hotel Rapid - cheap and cheerful.
Is that the one that has the red light outside :o and the chairs in the large windows in the front :eek:
........................ hasty exit :D
Bear Eleven
17/04/2007, 12:08 PM
Is that the one that has the red light outside :o and the chairs in the large windows in the front :eek:
........................ hasty exit :D
Now Now AidoM. Any more remarks like that and it will be early to bed in the City Hotel for you. No Topless Bar for you.Those lovely girls are not like that.
17/04/2007, 1:15 PM
Now Now AidoM. Any more remarks like that and it will be early to bed in the City Hotel for you. No Topless Bar for you.Those lovely girls are not like that.
Sounds like getting to bed early was what he had in mind. :D
17/04/2007, 5:48 PM
Babysis you never told me there was a red light outside that hotel :mad: :D
Babysis
17/04/2007, 5:55 PM
Babysis you never told me there was a red light outside that hotel
I should have known we were in trouble when I saw our hotel was near Bear's hotel.:eek: Strongly worded letters on their way to Bear and AidoM :D
No Joe Dolan for Bear on this trip!!
zenokelly
18/04/2007, 2:45 PM
Cut the crap NOW!
Anyone remember how long before the away matches that FAI supply applications for tickets at the away matches, (or when they will send out applictions for the 2 qualifiers in September)
And I presume it's not much of a risk booking flights now and ending up with no tickets???? is it?
citizenerased
18/04/2007, 3:06 PM
i remember getting the applications at the start/mid of june for the germany match
18/04/2007, 3:15 PM
Cut the crap NOW!
Anyone remember how long before the away matches that FAI supply applications for tickets at the away matches, (or when they will send out applictions for the 2 qualifiers in September)
And I presume it's not much of a risk booking flights now and ending up with no tickets???? is it?
always book flights etc and worry about tickets after it. thats they way you have to play this game.
Paulie
18/04/2007, 3:37 PM
always book flights etc and worry about tickets after it. thats they way you have to play this game.
Bang on. If you're travelling to games on a regular basis you can't afford to wait until you have the match ticket in your hand. If you want the best deals on flights and accomodation, generally you need to book as far in advance as possible (normally we book our trips 10 - 12 months in advance). 9 times out of 10 we have our match tickets by the time we're travelling so generally it works out fine. Having said that this is a very attractive double header and demand will exceed the amount of tickets that the FAI are given.
18/04/2007, 4:11 PM
The match ticket is the least important thing. :D ;)
zenokelly
19/04/2007, 5:06 PM
http://www.worldticketshop.com/tickets/ireland_tickets
If you are very very very stuck for tickets I slightly advise you to use this website.
Is this not illegal?
citizenerased
19/04/2007, 7:19 PM
as a last resort, someone wassaying ya can buy tickets on the slovakian/czech ticket master for the games...hopefully will get sorted through other channels before resorting to touts...
SuperDave
20/04/2007, 11:04 AM
tried the czech ticketmaster & no sign of anything.
that tout site probably doesn't have tickets yet but will take your money on the contingency that they can find tickets, and get you tickets if they find some. if they don't, i don't know what you could do. they probably give you your money back (maybe). it's probably legal if they sell you tickets at face price, but charge an agency or finders fee for the service they are providing, or at least if that's what they say they're doing. anyway, it might not be illegal to sell tickets on at above face value in those countries
zinedineontour
12/05/2007, 8:15 PM
how are people making their way out to Trnava for the game .. I see they have regular trains out but prob have to wait till first train back following morning think its around 5 to get back !!! Trnava better be ready for a few thousand irish spending a night drinking there till first train !!! the train out be great crack the train to game in stuttgart was great crack germans on the train thought we were all mental with the signing on the trian .. cant wait.
RogerMilla
14/05/2007, 9:07 AM
maybe kick off time will be early on the saturday zinedine and we will be able to get back to bratislava for the saturday night session ?
Torn-Ado
15/05/2007, 12:20 AM
Flights to Bratislava are 179 euros one way.
******. Alternative transport maybe.
SuperDave
15/05/2007, 11:42 AM
Flights to Bratislava are 179 euros one way.
******. Alternative transport maybe.
go to expedia, fly into vienna on the friday and back from prague on the following thursday. only £150 (so €225) all in, taxes and all. vienna is only about 15 miles from bratislava.
Or you could try interrailing if you want to combine the whole thing into a holiday.
RogerMilla
15/05/2007, 12:05 PM
last train out of dodge is at 22.40 , hopefully the game kicks off good and early.
Sligo Hornet
15/05/2007, 12:11 PM
last train out of dodge is at 22.40 , hopefully the game kicks off good and early.
Agreed!!......Does anyone know whether Slovakia play a "regular" time ( i.e. afternoon/evening ) for Saturday International matches?:confused:
15/05/2007, 12:44 PM
They kicked off against Slovakia at 8:15 local time on Saturday 2 September last. Same time against the Czechs the following Wednesday. 8:45 kick off against Germany on Wednesday 11 October. 8:15 means a bit of a rush for that last train, but should make it. 8:45 and you won't get there.
Sligo Hornet
15/05/2007, 12:54 PM
They kicked off against Slovakia at 8:15 local time on Saturday 2 September last. Same time against the Czechs the following Wednesday. 8:45 kick off against Germany on Wednesday 11 October. 8:15 means a bit of a rush for that last train, but should make it. 8:45 and you won't get there.
Thanks for the info Stu......assuming it's looking likely to be 8.15pm, can we nominate your goodself to leave the stadium five minutes before the end, in order that you can buy the beers and hold the train doors open for the rest of us?:D
15/05/2007, 12:55 PM
Nuts to that - I'm renting a car.
Now to find a sober driver...
citizenerased
15/05/2007, 3:36 PM
ahh foock that i know im goin to miss that,,,joe maxi!! Maybe, just maybe they have extra trains on match nights, it would make sense...or maybe Green Tribe, and babysis will organise a bus :-)
Torn-Ado
15/05/2007, 3:40 PM
Ah feck it. Stay in Trnava on the lash until 5 or 6 in the morning. I'm sure theres a bar of some sort there and as long as there are numbers, we won't get hassled.
citizenerased
15/05/2007, 6:08 PM
thats true, not a bad plan really ...
15/05/2007, 8:35 PM
ahh foock that i know im goin to miss that,,,joe maxi!! Maybe, just maybe they have extra trains on match nights, it would make sense...or maybe Green Tribe, and babysis will organise a bus :-)
:D We'd be tempted :eek:
Babysis
16/05/2007, 6:56 PM
We'd be tempted :eek:
No we are not:eek: :D
s-side hoop
16/05/2007, 7:25 PM
Trnava is only up the road from Bratislava, horrible town with a team that is followed by knackers! be warned these guys like to fight, and fight they will.
16/05/2007, 8:55 PM
Talk is that this game will be played in the Tehelné Pole Stadium, Bratislava, home ground of Slovan Bratislava which has a capacity of 30000, where as the Malatinsky Stadium in Trnava only has a capacity of 18500.
I think Slovakia are playing France in a friendly in Bratislava on 22 August.
Dotsy
17/05/2007, 12:42 PM
Talk is that this game will be played in the Tehelné Pole Stadium, Bratislava, home ground of Slovan Bratislava which has a capacity of 30000, where as the Malatinsky Stadium in Trnava only has a capacity of 18500.
Where did you hear the game was being played in Bratislava? Good news if it is the case:) .
Sligo Hornet
17/05/2007, 12:48 PM
Where did you hear the game was being played in Bratislava? Good news if it is the case:) .
This would indeed be "good news" on two fronts......firstly a significant increase in the number of tickets likely to be available:) ....and secondly, not having to worry about missing the last train from Trnva after the match!!;)
zenokelly
17/05/2007, 4:23 PM
sent SLovakian FA an e-mail about getting tickets and they told me that tickets for internationals are dealt with through this website : so ill keep an eye on it anyway!!
www.marstravel.sk
17/05/2007, 6:47 PM
Really hope this is the case :)
Saint Tom
17/05/2007, 9:40 PM
sent SLovakian FA an e-mail about getting tickets and they told me that tickets for internationals are dealt with through this website : so ill keep an eye on it anyway!!
www.marstravel.sk
do those silly continentals ever learn :)
RogerMilla
18/05/2007, 12:11 PM
would be a right touch if the game is on in bratislava , would cut out a serious amount of messing !!
Mayo_Bhoy
18/05/2007, 12:40 PM
Help! Having awful problems getting accommodation in Bratislava for 12 of us. Ya ya i know we should have done it ages ago but over a few pints one night last week we decided to go and got good deals with flights etc. but impossible to get a bed. I've tried every agency etc. but no joy, so any suggestions???
Sligo Hornet
18/05/2007, 12:43 PM
Help! Having awful problems getting accommodation in Bratislava for 12 of us. Ya ya i know we should have done it ages ago but over a few pints one night last week we decided to go and got good deals with flights etc. but impossible to get a bed. I've tried every agency etc. but no joy, so any suggestions???
Have tried looking at apartment rental?
shamrock17
18/05/2007, 1:08 PM
the firm we are going with have spare rooms in Bratislava i think? you could try them www.pilgrimsabroad.com
18/05/2007, 1:50 PM
That's what we're doing, much better.
Paulie
18/05/2007, 2:40 PM
Yeah, us as well. Apartments are the way to go.
Mayo_Bhoy
18/05/2007, 3:35 PM
Believe me ive tried everything and not a thing and we are not fussy.
Mayo_Bhoy
18/05/2007, 3:37 PM
the firm we are going with have spare rooms in Bratislava i think? you could try them www.pilgrimsabroad.com
They would hardly do deal just for rooms would they?? I'll email them anyway, nothing to lose. Thanks
Mayo_Bhoy
18/05/2007, 3:41 PM
www.pilgrimsabroad.com
Had alook on their site but cant find any email address or contact details of any kind??? Do you have an email??