View Full Version : Slovakia Away (8th September 2007) - Match Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12

23/08/2007, 9:06 AM
got tickets for both games today cant wait roll on this day fortnight.

shaneker
23/08/2007, 6:56 PM
Slovakia tickets arrived today!

Still no joy on the Czech front though...anybody seen any Czech websites selling any of their share?

Where is everybody sat? We're in the 'ASL' section seats 39 and 40 (should be right on halfway line).

stojkovic
23/08/2007, 8:55 PM
i read somewhere here b4 that some are going thru poland, can find the posts now, what polich city is nearest? a few days getting warmed up there might be good

Krakow is the nearest. About six hours on a train I think.

Dallasirish
24/08/2007, 1:13 AM
We did Pilgrims abroad.com and they still have flights and rooms available at a reasonabe rate.... by FAR the best option!

Fr. Joe
24/08/2007, 1:23 PM
Anyone got a Stadium seating plan for this one just to check out where the tickets are?

SeanieBoy
24/08/2007, 3:20 PM
Hi there,

Does anyone have any recommendations for accommodation in Bratislave?

I have tried a few apartments, but they are booked out.

Would appreciate your help.

Thanks,

Sean

24/08/2007, 3:27 PM
seanieboy, i was booked into this place but cancelled yesterday:

hotel Baronka however this is about 20 mins from the main square on tram so might not be the best place if just on a wee wee ( p word is blocked ) up, but its very nice from what ive heard.

I am now in hotel incheba, which is £18 for the night for two of us, however we have to share the bathroom with one other crowd in a triple room, but this place is dead centre and only 5 min talk across the bridge and we are in the square and wherever else!

SeanieBoy
24/08/2007, 5:30 PM
Thanks Paul, I'll check that out.

seanieboy, i was booked into this place but cancelled yesterday:

hotel Baronka however this is about 20 mins from the main square on tram so might not be the best place if just on a wee wee ( p word is blocked ) up, but its very nice from what ive heard.

I am now in hotel incheba, which is £18 for the night for two of us, however we have to share the bathroom with one other crowd in a triple room, but this place is dead centre and only 5 min talk across the bridge and we are in the square and wherever else!

shamrock17
24/08/2007, 7:27 PM
Hi there,

Thanks,

Sean

www.pilgrimsabroad.com have rooms in bratislava try them

25/08/2007, 1:56 AM
Check the match thread and the summary threads.

Thread merged.

Beavis
25/08/2007, 3:31 PM
According to BBC forecast it was 30C in Bratislava today and 25C predicted for Monday week (10 days is as far as it goes).
The shorts are coming out...

AidoM
25/08/2007, 7:08 PM
According to BBC forecast it was 30C in Bratislava today and 25C predicted for Monday week (10 days is as far as it goes).
The shorts are coming out...

This year's unused sun cream :mad: being packed :)

bigball
27/08/2007, 1:41 PM
Lads is the Slovakia Koruny widely used or is it better to bring euro. also does anyone know the availability of ATM machines? or is johnny cash ur only man!

Bear Eleven
27/08/2007, 1:45 PM
Bring Euro's or get your money from ATM's.Went to AIB to get Slovak money the other day and they said they didn't do it.

dublinwanderer
27/08/2007, 2:46 PM
yeah i was told the same in aib, but bank of ireland will order it in for you.

soylent green
28/08/2007, 9:53 PM
Not to get people too worried but I got the following warning from my cousin living in Slovakia:

1.Avoid police and nightclub staff. Bratislava is NOT a place to get into a situation at night. You can get mugged easily by the bouncers believe me. Old trick your mates get in,someone gets hit and a large drinks bill is presented to you as a way out. Anyway worst case syndrome but it does happen.

2.Take 2900sk (100eur approx) from hole in wall in airport.That will give
you enough loose notes.

3.Taxi to centre should be no more than 900Sk max max.700 is usual.

But the best bits of Slovakia are the food,vbeer and castles. Oh and
people outside Bratislava.Very friendly.

AidoM
29/08/2007, 8:29 AM
Not to get people too worried but I got the following warning from my cousin living in Slovakia:

1.Avoid police and nightclub staff. Bratislava is NOT a place to get into a situation at night. You can get mugged easily by the bouncers believe me. Old trick your mates get in,someone gets hit and a large drinks bill is presented to you as a way out. Anyway worst case syndrome but it does happen.

Sure isn't it the churches that people will be visiting.:eek: The museums and places of historical interest will be a magnet for those Irish culture
vultures. :D :rolleyes:

29/08/2007, 8:59 AM
anyone bringing any music in the hope the pubs might play it like irish tunes etc?! Im going to bring a line out and an ipod which has a good few irish tunes on it, in the hope i might persuade some barman to put it through their speaker system ( assuming they have speaker systems :D )

Babysis
29/08/2007, 9:03 AM
anyone bringing any music in the hope the pubs might play it like irish tunes etc?! Im going to bring a line out and an ipod which has a good few irish tunes on it, in the hope i might persuade some barman to put it through their speaker system ( assuming they have speaker systems :D )

I brought Cd's for the coaches in San Marino, but the driver of the little bus enjoyed them so much he asked if he could keep them :D

Bear Eleven
29/08/2007, 9:25 AM
Aidom Does this mean we cannot go to the nightclub in the hotel.

29/08/2007, 9:28 AM
what "sorta" songs? rebel ones?

Babysis
29/08/2007, 9:42 AM
what "sorta" songs? rebel ones?

The sort of songs were a good mix. the pogues, the dubliners, some of the old world cup songs, some wolftones - Just the usual stuff.

If you can, add "Good looking woman" to your MP3 player - it got a great reaction in San Marino (Just ask bear eleven)

AidoM
29/08/2007, 11:26 AM
I brought Cd's for the coaches in San Marino, but the driver of the little bus enjoyed them so much he asked if he could keep them :D

I think I might have the second set - will check and post. Happy Bear :o if Daniel played :D

Dr. Ogba
29/08/2007, 12:56 PM
Bring Euro's or get your money from ATM's.Went to AIB to get Slovak money the other day and they said they didn't do it.

A mate of mine just rang Thomas Cook on Grafton Street and they do Slovak money. You'll prob need to order now as it takes about a week to get. Also they're expensive b*stards (charge 2%) so i'm just getting a small bit of cash to have when I arrive then gonna find the nearest ATM machine!!

Babysis
29/08/2007, 1:42 PM
Mslelf and GT have ordered our currency and are picking itup from Shannon airport Bureau de Change on the Friday morning. Handiest option for us.

AidoP
29/08/2007, 2:25 PM
Hi there,

Thanks,

Sean

Me and a few lads from Munich are staying at this place:

http://www.turist.sk

Booked our places a couple of weeks ago and a mate of mine booked his place last week so could be more places available. Make sure you get them to send you confirmation just in case. Got our match tickets today and they are whack smack in the middle of the home fans end. The guy told us this before we got the tickets but we went ahead anyway. As regards tickets for the Czech game we need 4 but no luck yet :-(

AidoM
29/08/2007, 2:40 PM
Aidom Does this mean we cannot go to the nightclub in the hotel.

I will have to check it out to make sure that it's totally unsuitable for little innocent you. :p On completion of that I shall be in church hearing your confessions :eek:. Hopefully I'll get away in time for the match (even in Prague) :rolleyes:

Bear Eleven
29/08/2007, 3:48 PM
I will have to check it out to make sure that it's totally unsuitable for little innocent you. :p On completion of that I shall be in church hearing your confessions :eek:. Hopefully I'll get away in time for the match (even in Prague) :rolleyes:

Bless me father for what i about to receive from AidoM.

AidoM
29/08/2007, 4:10 PM
Bless me father for what i about to receive from AidoM.

Sheets and sheets and sheets and ............of labels with your penance printed on them :eek: :o :p

soylent green
29/08/2007, 9:43 PM
Is there any Friday night football in Bratislava? Might be a second division game. Anybody know. I enjoyed the Stuttgart Kickers game on the eve of the Germany v Ireland game last year.

29/08/2007, 9:55 PM
Mslelf and GT have ordered our currency and are picking itup from Shannon airport Bureau de Change on the Friday morning. Handiest option for us.
You'll get money in the airport on arrival handy enough - why bother going to the Bureau de Changes before hand? Never figures that one out!

Sligo Hornet
30/08/2007, 7:38 AM
Is there any Friday night football in Bratislava? Might be a second division game. Anybody know. I enjoyed the Stuttgart Kickers game on the eve of the Germany v Ireland game last year.

Was that the one in the Shlossplatz with the FOUR balls!:D

Babysis
30/08/2007, 8:48 AM
You'll get money in the airport on arrival handy enough - why bother going to the Bureau de Changes before hand? Never figures that one out!

I know, but I dont want to arrive on Friday night and have to find a cash machine etc. I just wanted a small bit to ensure we have cash on us when we land for the taxi and a few drinks that night :D

Paulie
30/08/2007, 9:16 AM

The Irish U21's are playing Portugal live on Sky on Friday evening so I'd say that's what most people will be watching.

AidoM
30/08/2007, 1:03 PM
..........I just wanted a small bit to ensure we have cash on us when we land for the taxi and a few drinks that night :D

Will you be buying :p :rolleyes:

Bear Eleven
30/08/2007, 3:39 PM
Will you be buying :p :rolleyes:

That would be a first for them.

AidoM
30/08/2007, 3:56 PM
That would be a first for them.

Miracles may not only happen in Lourdes :D

30/08/2007, 6:06 PM
Will ATM cards work as normal in Slovakia and Prague or should we be getting money changed?

stiofain
30/08/2007, 6:20 PM
Will ATM cards work as normal in Slovakia and Prague or should we be getting money changed?

I've ordered some Slovakian/Czech money to bring with me. In theory, there is no reason why your card shouldnt work out there but to be on the safe side, i'm going to take some with me. For San Marino in Feb i thought it would be fine to just bring myself along and get some cash out on my arrival in Bologna. It was just my luck that my card wouldnt work in the bloody machine (the chip on the card had become slightly damaged in my wallet). Fortunately i had taken some sterling with me just in case so i was able to get by. I'd have been seriously fecked otherwise as i was travelling alone.
As i say, theres no reason why your card shouldnt work out there, but i dont think its a bad idea at all to get your money before travelling.

30/08/2007, 7:47 PM
It's a bit awkward though for a double header. I wouldn't trust myself with over a grands worth of Slovak and Czech currency.

30/08/2007, 7:50 PM
I've ordered some Slovakian/Czech money to bring with me. In theory, there is no reason why your card shouldnt work out there but to be on the safe side, i'm going to take some with me. For San Marino in Feb i thought it would be fine to just bring myself along and get some cash out on my arrival in Bologna. It was just my luck that my card wouldnt work in the bloody machine (the chip on the card had become slightly damaged in my wallet). Fortunately i had taken some sterling with me just in case so i was able to get by. I'd have been seriously fecked otherwise as i was travelling alone.
As i say, theres no reason why your card shouldnt work out there, but i dont think its a bad idea at all to get your money before travelling.

thats really funny, cos it sounds like something that would happen me. I am still sure though the panic buttons set in when the card wasn't working :D

Can ye imagine going up to someone ( paddy) saying, is there any chance you could give me some money? :)

Rebel11
31/08/2007, 8:05 AM
ATM's in Prague will be fine just try to use them the once do as every time you use them you get hit with a nice charge as i found out the hard way.

Dotsy
31/08/2007, 10:10 AM

Been to Prague many times and never had a problem using my AIB Banklink card there. I am sure Bratislava will be the same.

AidoM
02/09/2007, 8:41 PM
I think I might have the second set - will check and post. Happy Bear :o if Daniel played :D

No luck with second set :(

02/09/2007, 8:45 PM
ATM's in Prague will be fine just try to use them the once do as every time you use them you get hit with a nice charge as i found out the hard way.
Standard charge, I assume? About E3 per E100 withdrawn?

Green&whitearmy
03/09/2007, 5:47 PM
is there a meet up place organised for all the fans in bratislava??

KoemansCC
03/09/2007, 6:46 PM
Follow the link for location...Its called Hviezdoslavovo (http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=UTF8&hl=en&msa=0&msid=108219430653687794972.0004390dbd08f3cf98180&z=14&om=1) Square...

AidoM
03/09/2007, 8:34 PM
Follow the link for location...Its called Hviezdoslavovo (http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=UTF8&hl=en&msa=0&msid=108219430653687794972.0004390dbd08f3cf98180&z=14&om=1) Square...

Is this the place recommended by Mento :confused:

KoemansCC
03/09/2007, 8:41 PM
Yep...also recommended in YBIG

AidoM
03/09/2007, 8:51 PM
Yep...also recommended in YBIG

Mento = YBIG :confused: :D