View Full Version : Slovakia Away (8th September 2007) - Match Thread
Pages :
[
10]
im flying into vienna airport on the friday with aer lingus.
i found a website a few months ago detailing a bus service that takes you direct from vienna airport to bratislava. i cant find it now!! i recall that you had to pre-book this bus.
has anyone come across any similar services available...and better still, buses that dont require pre-booking...
07/08/2007, 3:59 PM
ahhh get the boat the only way to travel. You arrive in early enough at about 11 so take it easy and get the boat.
Nah, avoiding vienna city centre on the friday. intending to do some sights in vienna on the sunday and monday morning so would prefer to go direct from the airport to bratislava as early as possible..
Sligo Hornet
07/08/2007, 7:48 PM
Nah, avoiding vienna city centre on the friday. intending to do some sights in vienna on the sunday and monday morning so would prefer to go direct from the airport to Bratislava as early as possible..
Don't blame you aidtz....with Neil and Moscow Mule intending to travel on the boat, you would be taking a great gamble with your safety...but mostly with your wallet!!:D
Us "sensible" types will arrive staight into Bratislava early friday morning!;)
jaykay
09/08/2007, 1:24 PM
I was forwarded this link today from tripadvisor.com.
<http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g274924-i1156-k1299601-Ireland_Football_Match_September-Bratislava.html>
Read the last post in the tripadvisor thread.
Anyone else heard negative comments about Bratislava?
Sligo Hornet
09/08/2007, 2:20 PM
<http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g274924-i1156-k1299601-Ireland_Football_Match_September-Bratislava.html>
I've just read that report by "byrnesyireland", and sounded pretty scary alright:eek: However, we don't really know all the facts about his friends and their behavior, plus this seems to be the only "bad" report we have heard.
Also, with the expected Green Invasion to be anything up to 10,000 I suspect "safety in numbers" will outway " local bravado "
citizenerased
09/08/2007, 2:23 PM
Hi all, I have just returned from Bratislava yesterday the 07 August 2007, I went on a stag party with my friends for the august weekend, I was really looking forward to it, the activities we had lined up sounded really good, shooting, bobsleighing, quad biking, off-road driving and so on, they were good, they were very good and I really enjoyed them, however I have one small problem, as I sit here writing this I am finding it difficult to see out through my eyes as I was severely assaulted on my last night there, I went to the hospital yesterday where I received four stitches to my nose as a result of the assault.
It happened in the Dubliner Irish Pub(I am Irish by the way), I would urge any man thinking of going over there not too, I was dragged downstairs in the pub by what I can only describe as two (security staff) ex army men, huge from steroids and crazy from drugs towards a very dark room where they proceeded to kick the crap out of me, I managed to break free and a friend of mine spotted me, he had been looking for me for ten minutes, he was kicked away as he tried to intervene, then he raised the alarm.
The sad thing is, this was not an isolated incident, on our second night there, four of my friends left a nightclub that was on a boat on the Danube, after leaving the nightclub my friends heard a lot of commotion and noticed there were lots of people running in all different directions, then they noticed three of the security staff punching men at random, one French guy was enjoying a burger and was knocked out cold, three of my four friends were assaulted, one of which was knocked unconscious, to give you an idea of what this was like, one of my friends that was there is six foot two and well built, he told me he was never as scared as what he was that night.
As a former resident of East Germany I have seen this happen time and time again, I worked there for five years and have seen many Irish, English, Scots and Welch men being assaulted. It seems that these sorts of men (eastern block, ex army) do this for fun. I can safely say that I will never return to Slovakia.....On a brighter note, I was not permanently injured apart from a scar that I will have on my nose. Since arriving home yesterday I have heard many stories of men being assaulted, one who even had to spend a week in hospital in Dublin when he got off the plane. I hope my story will reach people before they go there.
P.S, I know a fight can break out at anytime but this was systematic assault on a huge scale.
P.S 2 ,I have just received an email from a friend who just contacted FAI(football association of Ireland) head of security who in turn is sending a warning to all the clubs in Ireland who might have fans travelling for the match soon,
Yours truly
Byrnesy post
09/08/2007, 2:24 PM
Thats it I have canceled.
citizenerased
09/08/2007, 2:26 PM
yeah i agree, we will be alright, there will be a shiit load of us..mind u, myself and 3 or lads got chased my a gang of about 15 turks in stuttgart for no reason down a street in the wee hours...scum..lucky for us as we turned at the end of the street there was a gang of about 50 paddies loitering lookin for a boozer...
Sligo Hornet
09/08/2007, 2:36 PM
I've just read that report by "byrnesyireland", and sounded pretty scary alright:eek: However, we don't really know all the facts about his friends and their behavior, plus this seems to be the only "bad" report we have heard.
Also, with the expected Green Invasion to be anything up to 10,000 I suspect "safety in numbers" will outway " local bravado "
09/08/2007, 2:42 PM
A few of my friends had a similar experience to the above in Hamburg. As they were leaving the club they were forced to pay a few quid to the bouncers or end up with a beating.
stiofain
09/08/2007, 7:50 PM
Jesus, sounds like that poor lad had an awful time of it, but having said that, we dont know the full details of his level of toxication or behaviour etc. Personally i have lots of sympathy for the people of Bratislava, Prague, Krakow, etc who have to put up with constant drunkeness in the form of stag parties. To be honest, I'm surprised we dont hear this sort of thing more often.
09/08/2007, 8:31 PM
The sad thing is, this was not an isolated incident, on our second night there, four of my friends left a nightclub that was on a boat on the Danube, after leaving the nightclub my friends heard a lot of commotion and noticed there were lots of people running in all different directions, then they noticed three of the security staff punching men at random, one French guy was enjoying a burger and was knocked out cold, three of my four friends were assaulted, one of which was knocked unconscious, to give you an idea of what this was like, one of my friends that was there is six foot two and well built, he told me he was never as scared as what he was that night.
I can safely say that I will never return to Slovakia.....On a brighter note, I was not permanently injured apart from a scar that I will have on my nose. Since arriving home yesterday I have heard many stories of men being assaulted, one who even had to spend a week in hospital in Dublin when he got off the plane. I hope my story will reach people before they go there.
It appears that these beatings happened at the same time of night. It could happen anywhere, be it Dublin or Bratislava. We hear scare stories all the time of such incidents, at home and abroad.
The best thing to do at night time anywhere, is stay sober, keep your head down, and don't attract attention to yourself. If so, you are at low risk of being attacked. You could still be, but that's not a reason to never go back to a country again.
Saint Tom
09/08/2007, 8:32 PM
Jesus, sounds like that poor lad had an awful time of it, but having said that, we dont know the full details of his level of toxication or behaviour etc. Personally i have lots of sympathy for the people of Bratislava, Prague, Krakow, etc who have to put up with constant drunkeness in the form of stag parties. To be honest, I'm surprised we dont hear this sort of thing more often.
ever been to Dublin?! we were all the rage not so long ago!
Sligo Hornet
10/08/2007, 6:39 AM
It appears that these beatings happened at the same time of night. It could happen anywhere, be it Dublin or Bratislava. We hear scare stories all the time of such incidents, at home and abroad.
The best thing to do at night time anywhere, is stay sober, keep your head down, and don't attract attention to yourself. If so, you are at low risk of being attacked. You could still be, but that's not a reason to never go back to a country again.
On an Ireland Away Trip!.......how does that work?:eek:
10/08/2007, 9:38 AM
On an Ireland Away Trip!.......how does that work?:eek:
stay sober, keep your head down, and don't attract attention to yourself
The best thing to do at night time anywhere, is stay sober, keep your head down, and don't attract attention to yourself.
Thats Schlooomp fairly fcuked so :p
10/08/2007, 11:33 AM
Wait for the headline in the Star or the Herald, Irish fans fear of travelling to Eastern Bloc(sic). Irish fans are in fear of travelling to former communist states, for fear of been beaten up by Gestapo style bouncers who use drunken Irish fans as easy prey for their mindless violence.
Go on lads i have given you a start already.
10/08/2007, 11:38 AM
Wait for the headline in the Star or the Herald, Irish fans fear of travelling to Eastern Bloc(sic). Irish fans are in fear of travelling to former communist states, for fear of been beaten up by Gestapo style bouncers who use drunken Irish fans as easy prey for their mindless violence.
Go on lads i have given you a start already.
And mypost has given them the finishing quote.
A spokesman for someone or other advised travelling Irish fans to "stay sober, keep your head down, and don't attract attention to yourself"
The rest writes itself!
stiofain
12/08/2007, 1:45 PM
ever been to Dublin?! we were all the rage not so long ago!
Dont be silly! I'd have to re-mortgage the house to afford a weekend in Dublin!
onephillyhughes
15/08/2007, 10:35 AM
A lot of Scots have been there in the last 2 years (Celtic and Rangers played Artmedia, and I'm not sure but did Scotland have Slovakia in their group last time round?), could anyone find out from anyone who travelled how they received travelling supporters?
15/08/2007, 10:49 AM
No Scotland had Slovenia. They did play Austria a few months ago and my mate was over there and said Bratislava is a great spot and he had no trouble. My flate mate is also from Slovakia and she said it wil be fine.
onephillyhughes
15/08/2007, 10:58 AM
Sound. Wouldn't say I'm worried but I'd always ask when I hear something like that.
15/08/2007, 4:02 PM
Anybody considering driving between the two?
We are flying Belfast to Prague and were thinking of driving up and down.
onephillyhughes
15/08/2007, 7:23 PM
Anyone flying into Vienna?
Fella told me last night to think about getting the boat down the Danube, it means avoiding possible delays at the border, where sometimes the police can hold you up for 2 hours or more.
Moscow Mule
15/08/2007, 8:31 PM
Anyone flying into Vienna?
Fella told me last night to think about getting the boat down the Danube, it means avoiding possible delays at the border, where sometimes the police can hold you up for 2 hours or more.
OPH
Myself and Mrs MM are flying into Vienna on the Thursday( for cake and tea) then taking the boat down the Danube on the Friday. Boat trip should be more fun than a train.
16/08/2007, 8:31 AM
OPH
Myself and Mrs MM are flying into Vienna on the Thursday( for cake and tea) then taking the boat down the Danube on the Friday. Boat trip should be more fun than a train.
Good cake in Vienna. Haven't tried the tea. The digestives are pure sh!te though
aidz1
17/08/2007, 10:40 AM
the fai got 6000 tickets for this game to satisfy applications.
looking at the way the waiting list on this site has dropped to near nothing, i expect that we will be doing well if 6000 make it over...a lot of lads seemed to have 'double' applied (mick applies for 2 as does his mate paddy) for a better chance of obtaining tickets should the allocation be smaller. when all the applcations were realised, a lot of non-block bookers got sorted with the spares.
6000 irish fans travelling is still be a huge number though..
3 weeks and counting....
17/08/2007, 1:05 PM
But then you have to account for the non-block bookers who don't post on foot.ie. ;)
17/08/2007, 2:09 PM
The best thing to do at night time anywhere, is stay sober, keep your head down, and don't attract attention to yourself.
ya 5k irish are going to stay sobre all night.......ah well its our own fault we didnt do what mypost said.
My flate mate is also from Slovakia and she said it wil be fine.
Is she hot?
Mayo_Bhoy
17/08/2007, 3:30 PM
Quote:
My flate mate is also from Slovakia and she said it wil be fine.
Is she hot?
Yawn. How original:rolleyes:
17/08/2007, 3:43 PM
the fai got 6000 tickets for this game to satisfy applications.
looking at the way the waiting list on this site has dropped to near nothing, i expect that we will be doing well if 6000 make it over...a lot of lads seemed to have 'double' applied (mick applies for 2 as does his mate paddy) for a better chance of obtaining tickets should the allocation be smaller. when all the applcations were realised, a lot of non-block bookers got sorted with the spares.
6000 irish fans travelling is still be a huge number though..
3 weeks and counting....
id say no more than 5,000 max. just not as handy to get to as other venues
DubJohn
17/08/2007, 7:15 PM
Check out the boys in green in Slovakia.. :eek:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mvmoyk1uICs
Mayo_Bhoy
18/08/2007, 2:14 AM
And celtic jerseys amonst them, tut tut, what will the EL fascists say;)
stojkovic
19/08/2007, 1:13 PM
Check out the boys in green in Slovakia.. :eek:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mvmoyk1uICs
Classic stuff DubJohn.
Expect Davy Keogh Says Hello to sue them for breach of copyright.
LeixlipRed
19/08/2007, 2:46 PM
Lads, I'm gonna be in Budapest the day this game is on. Reckon if we turned up at the gate and attempted to get a ticket we'd get in?
seanie mac
21/08/2007, 8:58 AM
Guys, new to this site but thought I'd let you know that there is tickets for the slovakia v Ireland game on sale online at http://www.ticketportal.sk/. Sorry if someone put that link up already. Tickets are 500Sk, 1000SK or 1500SK, which works out at 15euros, 30euros or 45 euros. You're in with the home fans and you have to send them to a Slovak address though so I've sent them to our apartment letting agents. You have to have a bit of faith in that I guess but it's better than paying rip off prices off a tout.
I put this on the czech republic ticket link too.
onephillyhughes
21/08/2007, 10:45 AM
Was talking to an Aussie on Saturday night he mentioned how its 31 degrees there and I was telling him I'm heading over to the football in 3 weeks.
He said its grand, parts of it are rough, prostitutes etc., what you'd expect in most cities. Cheap beer, nice scenery and lots of stag parties and all that stuff but generally its fine, not the 'watch your back!!!1!!!1!!!! one!!1!!' stuff from that fella. He musta been doing something!:P
Mayo_Bhoy
21/08/2007, 12:06 PM
Was talking to an Aussie on Saturday night he mentioned how its 31 degrees there and I was telling him I'm heading over to the football in 3 weeks.
He said its grand, parts of it are rough, prostitutes etc., what you'd expect in most cities. Cheap beer, nice scenery and lots of stag parties and all that stuff but generally its fine, not the 'watch your back!!!1!!!1!!!! one!!1!!' stuff from that fella. He musta been doing something!:P
Eh???:confused:
citizenerased
21/08/2007, 8:44 PM
whats that jibberish?
22/08/2007, 8:28 AM
Yawn. How original:rolleyes:
it wasn't meant to be original it was a question. Just a general question is your flat mate hot?! thsee details are always important and i always ask people when they mention a female friend, its worth finding out so you know whether or not you should bother chatting to them :D jokin obviouslly.
KildareRed
22/08/2007, 12:30 PM
Tickets arrived today.:D:D
22/08/2007, 12:37 PM
Lads, I'm gonna be in Budapest the day this game is on. Reckon if we turned up at the gate and attempted to get a ticket we'd get in?
I reckon you'd have no bother. I doubt if this game will selout.
The Czech game won't sellout either but they are cashing in on the Irish.
22/08/2007, 1:59 PM
I got my tickets today as well.
BradyIsMyHero
22/08/2007, 3:41 PM
Got some tickets from a mate in Bratislava - no bother, plenty available
markmc
22/08/2007, 3:45 PM
anybody got any advice on the cheapest way to get there?
we just booked today with pilgrimsabroad.com! €400 for flights and hotels and transfer between bratislava and prague! flying from manchester. seems to be a great deal!
markmc
22/08/2007, 3:57 PM
i read somewhere here b4 that some are going thru poland, can find the posts now, what polich city is nearest? a few days getting warmed up there might be good
someone told me going via frankfurt hahn with ryanair was pretty cheap.
it totalled €80 to get to bratislava (though flights were about 10 hours apart) a few weeks back. dont know what it is now.
23/08/2007, 9:06 AM
lads it would be a mad way of doing it, hahn is really out in the middle of nowhere, but if ye can do it there is a bar not to far from the airport that has a pool table and what not, plus they have savage tunes belting out a la DORO etc. :D