View Full Version : Who is your favourite comedian?
12/02/2005, 4:37 PM
Went to Karl Spain in Sligo last night, and tought he was hilarious, I have also seen Pat Shortt, Jon Kenny, Tommy Tiernan, Joe Rooney, Bernard O' Shea and they are all very good. So who do you think is the best Irish comedian?
Here's a few for you in case you cant remember any :D (I like all of these) : Pat Shortt, Jon Kenny, Karl Spain, Ed Byrne, Colin Murphy, Brendan Grace, Tommy Tiernan, Dara O' Brian, Joe Rooney, Bernard O' Shea, Andrew Maxwell, Neil Delamere, I know there's plenty more but cant remember. So who do you think?
Ruairi
12/02/2005, 5:02 PM
went to see Joe Rooney with Eanna, we got hammered cause the gig was on at midnight and ended up heckling him for the whole thing caus ehe was using the exact same material that he used the last time i saw him.
didnt think karl spain was funny at all (yes karl we know you're fat GET OVER IT), saw tommy tiernan a couple a months ago and didnt think he was great, saw dara a briain and thought he was hilarious, and obviously apres match are at the top of the pile.
there's a comedian out there called Ruben, he mimes out sketches, he's absolutely brilliant
12/02/2005, 5:43 PM
seena good few of them when the riverside hotel in sligo done their comedy nights a few years ago . from all of them the most memorable was des bishop most of the rest were average enough tho pat o donnelll ? cant remember his name he was in father ted he was eoin mac love , he was good too , seen tommy tiernan in the IT here a couple of times he was really good both time so im gonna say tommy tiernan with des bishop a close second.
12/02/2005, 6:13 PM
I seen Karl Spain a few weeks ago in college and he was on The Panel last week and told one of his jokes again word for word..talk about learning off by heart.
Anyway Dylon Moran (the guy from Black Books) is my favourite.
Here here.
Seen him in Letterkenny last year laughed my arse off but could remember anything he said when i left
harpskid
12/02/2005, 7:14 PM
For me Tommy Tiernan would be top of the pile, with Des Bishop close second.
Didn't like Karl Spain at all, at all!! Dara O Braian is good as well as are Ed Byrne and Colin Murphy.
Saw Tommy Tiernan in vicar street on thursday, totaly class best show i have seen for a while, saw Dara O Braian and a couple of others a year or so a go in london
12/02/2005, 8:03 PM
des bishop
Ya I seen him too and he was very funny but he is American so I did'nt say it cos the topic is Ireland's best comedian :rolleyes: :D
12/02/2005, 8:18 PM
good point there but i would consider him irish very insightful comedian but i just wonder would he be as funny if he was born as some of his act has the factor of " oh look its an american doing irish accents perfectly" having said that he is very good :)
13/02/2005, 11:45 AM
"ding dong" denny o reilly :rolleyes:
aberharp
13/02/2005, 3:06 PM
i reckon tommy tiernan is the best
13/02/2005, 6:19 PM
Mine too. He's superb. The more he talks the more off the wall and bizzare the stuff he comes out with is and his delivery is excellent.
Saw Michael Mee before and though he was very good, he's great at taking the **** out of lawyers especially.
Only saw Karl Spain once but thought he was very good.
I was on Eurika with Dara O'Briain before he was funny. I was at a birthday party when I was 10 where Ruben was the entertainment, he's come on a bit:D
Ruairi
13/02/2005, 6:28 PM
I was on Eurika with Dara O'Briain before he was funny.
i was on eureka when that git with the beard was doing it... tadhg or summat...
13/02/2005, 8:21 PM
Michael Mee
he has a good languid style but i saw him on some programme a couple of years ago and he was good then again on the late late show last year and he was doing all the same jokes again . the one about meeting the woman of his dreams and about all the different problems he would have naming a son given his surname is mee. :o needs new material.
13/02/2005, 10:34 PM
Who's in the house ??
Jebus in the house !!
14/02/2005, 7:15 AM
thought Dara O'Briain's gig in Edinburgh two years ago was top class. Was wearing a Longford Town kit there at the gig, and got dog's abuse from the fcuker all night... and him being from Bray and all... :)
Jason Byrne is my personal favourite.
Neil Delamere is very good doing the stand up - saw him a couple of years ago at Kilkenny and he was brilliant.
Colin Murphy would be another favourite, although last time I saw him do stand up alot of the stuff was the same as the previous year.
Ed Byrne has returned to form as well in recent years - he's even dropped the "Sit Down/Students" gag at last
Tommy Teirnan is also excellent.
Dara O'Briain is also surprisingly good live, for a Bray FFer.
I actually think Des Bishop is good too, but I got a bit sick of seeing him at every Bud gig, when I was on that list.
Although he doesn't do much stand up now (mainly one man shows), Owen O'Neill was excellent when I saw doing the straight stand up. His one man show about his soon the footballer was very good too, but doesn't really count.
14/02/2005, 8:34 AM
Jason Byrne is my personal favourite.
Thats a bit harsh isn't it? I know playing with $H€L$ ain't easy, but give the guy a chance..
:rolleyes: :D :D
carrickharp
14/02/2005, 8:41 AM
Kevin McAleer :D
14/02/2005, 8:42 AM
I've always found Jason Byrne to be about as funny as arse cancer.
Saw him at Kilkenny last year and was embarrassed for him. Dom Irrera hauled him out in front of the audience for nicking his gags (which he'd been blatantly doing ...-on the same bill as the guy ffs!!!) and Irrera made him look like a rank amatuer.
Michael Mee is class, likewise Karl Spain and Tommy Tiernan.
Never really seen Jason Byrne do gag's as such - more improv stuff, audience interaction etc.
ollie
14/02/2005, 11:16 AM
Never really seen Jason Byrne do gag's as such - more improv stuff, audience interaction etc.
yeah the time i saw him he just messed around on the stage for about half an hour before he went into his material.thought he was very funny.everything seems to be spur of the moment stuff.
saw tommy tiernan in the opera house before xmas-funny but not as good as his dvds. des bishop was very good when i saw him also.
14/02/2005, 11:42 AM
Don't like Jason Byrne or Ed Byrne.
I never really liked the other brother, Gay..........:p
14/02/2005, 12:40 PM
No Ardal O'Hanlon? (Not just plugging him 'cos I work for his brother! :D )
Never thought much of Tommy Tiernan - saw the ad for his video and it was just him making silly noises on stage.
Dara O'Briain's certainly up with the best. Enjoy a bit of Brendan Grace as well at times. Probably a legacy of weekends down at my grandparents in Tipp when there was only him and one Carry On film in the video collection!
14/02/2005, 1:02 PM
I love Tommy Tiernan myself.
04/03/2005, 9:55 AM
Bernard O Shea is the one to look out for in my book. He seems to be very original and does not do the usually "we are irish aren't we mad routine that a lot of the comedians do"
Anybody else seen him yet and agree
joey B
04/03/2005, 10:02 AM
Tommy tiernan is brilliant saw him on the late late show one night and was ****ing meself laughing ,the Cork gags were hillarious. :D
I think colin murphy is awful ever see the blizzard of odd. RUBBISH!
04/03/2005, 10:06 AM
Yeah I agree Tiernan is brilliant the best Comedian by a long shot as seen by his numerous sell outs at Vicar St. Pretty established at this stage though. Its good to check out the up and coming comedians
04/03/2005, 12:09 PM
Tommy tiernan is brilliant saw him on the late late show one night and was ****ing meself laughing ,the Cork gags were hillarious. :D
I think colin murphy is awful ever see the blizzard of odd. RUBBISH!
The blizzard of odd was fantastic, I'm gutted it's gone now.
anto1208
04/03/2005, 1:01 PM
karl spain is very good but id say that .
ed burne is the only comedian that puts me in a bad mood ,not in the slightest bit funny
04/03/2005, 6:30 PM
Anybody else seen him yet and agree
Yes he is very good alright. A great talent!
SligoRoversfan
04/03/2005, 7:08 PM
tiernan is overated,pat shortt is a legend!!!!!!
04/03/2005, 8:47 PM
I was at "Live at Jouglers" in Camden not so long ago and it was THE best comedy i have ever seen. There were medi-units waiting in the wings for people who split their sides laughing. There were five acts on and all got better as they went along and the comparé (spelling?) who introduced each act was brilliant and worth the money alone. What a great night .... except for Bob .... Bob was this guy who was sitting at the front, who made a horrible, horrible mistake of heckling at the start .... lets just say after the second guy it became apparent that he was a marked man .... oh sweet jebus ..... learn the lesson people .... shut you fúckin' mouths at least until the end anyway.
They serve beer in pitchers aswell ..... can get nasty if you get the rounds mixed up, something like ten pitchers for eight people .... hard work :D
06/03/2005, 1:40 AM
I went to school with Des Bishop at St Peter's College in Wexford and I have to say I'm delighted that he is doing so well.
He's a genuine, decent, hard-working fella and he has a very kind nature and a big brain. He is mad about Ireland, our culture and the language and history. He put many a pupil (and teacher) to shame with his knowledge and I'm just happy that he has come through and achieved so much. Good luck to him, he's not the big brash Yank that people have made him out to be. He helped me a lot when I was feeling down and 12 years on I'll never forget it.
People in Sligo might not agree with ya there, when they are getting a burger anyway !! :eek: :)
06/03/2005, 2:25 AM
People in Sligo might not agree with ya there, when they are getting a burger anyway !! :eek: :)
What's that meant to mean? :confused: Is this the Kian Egan thing?
07/03/2005, 8:55 AM
Is this about his minimum wage work experience thing in a certain fast food outlet where we as a nation showed what a bunch of *****s we really are when we've a few scoops in us?
I thought that was in Waaaaaaaaaaterford?
And besides what did he do but hold up a mirror that we don't like to see our reflection in.
onenilgameover
08/03/2005, 8:53 AM
Jaysus you know the Apres Match Lads are on the way out when they only get one mention on a irish football forum...
Barry Murphy from them is Ireland's best comedian by a long way for me....
Tommy Tiernan isn't at all funny...ye just wanna give a a right good kick in the balls and make em stop talking..Did this this strange fat ugly bloke from Naaavan can't remember his name but he was good....
08/03/2005, 4:09 PM
Jaysus you know the Apres Match Lads are on the way out when they only get one mention on a irish football forum...
Have to agree. I haven't seen much from them in a long time, though some or all of them are in I, Keano. Are they still on after internationals?
Tommy Tiernan isn't at all funny...ye just wanna give a a right good kick in the balls and make em stop talking..
Again, agreed completely.
I'd rate O'Brien above the lot of them. Was Ed Byrne ever funny?
Who slagged off Murphy? He's delightfully cynnical and sarcastic.
Delemare's okay on the Panel, but I've seen him do standup thrice, and he's been average at best. Spain is just rubbish.
harpskid
09/03/2005, 7:31 PM
I was at "Live at Jouglers" in Camden not so long ago and it was THE best comedy i have ever seen.
This has its' own show on paramount 2 on Sky. It's hillarious.
Some great comedians are featured on it!
Ive been hooked to the tv lately and ive watched paramount and realised how funny it actualy is.
My favourite at the moment has to be Lee Evans.
carrickharp
05/01/2006, 2:25 PM
Billy Connolly.
ThatGuy
05/01/2006, 2:27 PM
Billy Connolly
Larry David
Dane Cook
Denis Leary
Richard Pryor
Ricky Gervais
Dermot Morgan
hamish
05/01/2006, 2:29 PM
Billy Connolly
Denis Leary
David James:D
05/01/2006, 2:30 PM
Ricky Gervais
Peter Kay
Tommy Tiernan
finlma
05/01/2006, 2:52 PM
Billy Connolly, Tommy Tiernan, Peter Kay
Dricky
05/01/2006, 2:53 PM
Bill Hicks
RIP
What a genius, Long before the shouter like Tommy tit came along this was the leader of the pack. Have his sketches on cd, favourite is still the army, their new missiles and the first Iraq war.
That and Bibles in the hotels
Classic.
Bill Bailey is another of my favourites.
05/01/2006, 3:06 PM
RIP
What a genius, Long before the shouter like Tommy tit came along this was the leader of the pack. Have his sketches on cd, favourite is still the army, their new missiles and the first Iraq war.
That and Bibles in the hotels
Classic.
Another Bill Hicks fav of mine was the trucker(Reginald Denny?) being attacked by the rioters:D