View Full Version : Who is your favourite comedian?

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

fosterdollar
16/01/2006, 8:06 AM
Jimmy Carr
Ricky Gervais
Richard Prior
Ben Elton's stand up used to be good

17/01/2006, 9:18 PM
I went to see Karl Spain in Sligo tonight. Top class:). I printed out this old pic (http://homepage.eircom.net/%7Elfcsc/LIMERICK1980.jpg) of him(he's the mascot) and handed it to him:D.

Fair play for doing that sligoman !! :cool:

18/01/2006, 12:10 PM
Fair play for doing that sligoman !! :cool:Ah, it wasn't hard to do really cos it's only a small theatre and I was in the front row so I just handed it to him and he looked at it and laughed. Then passed it around the audience too:D, it eventually made it's way back to me again:p.

20/01/2006, 3:30 PM
Roddy Collins

20/01/2006, 11:23 PM
Roddy Collins

Nah ... you are going off topic there i'd say, its more about comedians, not clowns !! :eek: :p

11/02/2006, 12:54 AM
Jason Byrne is fecking deadly, went to see him tonight.

Anyone know much about a guy called David O'Doherty? Probably gonna see him next month so will he be worth it. Any good?

12/05/2007, 5:10 PM
Went to see PJ Gallagher in Sligo last night, obviously I knew he was good before hand with Naked Camera and that but the man really is pure funny. Anyone else here see his stand up act? What ye think?

theleprechaun
13/05/2007, 2:33 PM
i know this is plural, but apres match. a howl!

jorge
13/05/2007, 7:04 PM
Richard Prior.

stann
13/05/2007, 7:48 PM
Going to see Reginald D Hunter in Kilkenny this year, as he was a brilliant surprise last time out, and he's on with Dara O'Briain who is just excellent live anyway.
My favourite stand-up comic won't be at Cat Laughs this year though, Sean Lock. Pure genius!

13/05/2007, 8:21 PM
Dylan Moran anyone??

Monster cracked me up

The new one isn't as good though........

Neish
13/05/2007, 10:02 PM
Dylan Moran anyone??

Monster cracked me up

Absolute quality. By far the best Irish comedian IMO
My fav bits
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RK0t-U_yOCY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AZWZZRZDcSQ
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eAMtKpOTuM4

inexile
14/05/2007, 12:09 PM
Jason Byrne is fecking deadly, went to see him tonight.

Anyone know much about a guy called David O'Doherty? Probably gonna see him next month so will he be worth it. Any good?

i saw him in vicar st a while back opening for tommy tiernan, very funny indeed, really enjoyed him

citizenerased
15/05/2007, 3:41 PM
Think Jason Byrne is absolutely muck..Favourite is Ricky Gervais, Tommy Tiernan used to be deadly but has gone seriously down hill, Like Jimmy Carr also,,

Bernard Manning and Roy Chubby Brown?? Racists the pair of them

anto1208
15/05/2007, 3:56 PM
Poor old tommy teirnan has gone pretty poor recenctly allright . Jimmy carr is ok in short bursts but an hour of just jokes gets boring very quickly .

both Jason and ed Byrne are just idiots far from funny

ricky gervais is good live , Dylan moran is class , but paul Merton is probibly the funniest bloke around at the moment has been for a long time .

Erstwhile Bóz
16/05/2007, 1:26 PM
i saw him in vicar st a while back opening for tommy tiernan, very funny indeed, really enjoyed him
Saw him upstairs in the International about five years ago and he was doing pretty much the same stuff he was doing on telly recently.

Also saw him crossing Baggot Street with a girl on his arm and he dresses like that (i.e., bloated sk8er boi) in real life. :eek:

16/05/2007, 1:31 PM
Bill Hicks, then Dylan Moran, then Jerry Seinfeld

30/05/2007, 2:45 PM

Anyone catch The Modest Adventures of David O'Doherty (http://www.rte.ie/tv/modestadventures/index.html) on RTE last night? Dublin to Galway (well two-thirds of the way...) on a bike - funny stuff :D

ALWAYS carry a spare tube.

01/02/2008, 11:16 AM
We were having this discussion on the Harps forum.

My favourite Irish comedian is Tommy Tiernan and overall Bill Bailey (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=plTVUfQeV5M&feature=related) would be my choice. Others mentions were Dylan Moran, Rich Hall, Jason Byrne and Jimmy Cricket.

Just wondering what the foot.ie communities opinions were.

01/02/2008, 11:18 AM
I've a few but at the moment have to say I like Andrew Maxwell's brand of dry Dublin humour

01/02/2008, 11:19 AM
I like Andrew Maxwell, Tommy Tiernan would be a favourite too although I'm not sure about his recent stuff...wasnt as good for me

placid casual
01/02/2008, 11:27 AM
Jerry Sadowitz
michael mee
michael redmond
karl spain(for his brother on here)

Rocky77
01/02/2008, 11:35 AM
Bill Bailey is first class. I also like Jimeoin and Lucy Porter.

Newryrep
01/02/2008, 11:43 AM
Bill Bailey is first class. I also like Jimeoin and Lucy Porter.

Friend of a friend used to go out with her at university, was in her company a couple of times, it wasnt obvious she was a comedienne

Rocky77
01/02/2008, 11:45 AM
Really? She's a bit tasty mind, always reckoned she'd be a bit of a goer.

Bondvillain
01/02/2008, 11:51 AM
I concur. Funny, and possibly a goer. Yum.

01/02/2008, 11:53 AM
Irish comedians I like would be Tiernan, Maxwell and Dylan Moran above all else.

International it would Bill Hicks, Chris Rock, Bill Bailey and Jerry Seinfeld (yes I like his standup)

Bondvillain
01/02/2008, 11:54 AM
Anyway, While I'm here:

Tommy Cooper.
Bill Bailey.
Dara O Brian.
DYlan Moran.
Rich Hall.

Peter Kay was a breath of fresh air 8/10 years ago, but he's just a Peter Kay tribute act now. S'ppose if it aint broke, don't fix it...

gee wizz
01/02/2008, 11:58 AM
Eddie Murphy--raw/delirious as good as it gets,should have stopped at them.
Jason Byrne
Tommy Tiernan
Chris Rock

Sligo Hornet
01/02/2008, 12:08 PM
Really? She's a bit tasty mind, always reckoned she'd be a bit of a goer.

....is she Indian?

THE BEST......Tommy Cooper!

Lev Yashin
01/02/2008, 12:10 PM
tiernan should be put out to pasture at this stage, there is only so much shouting and swearing i can take, ive grown tired of him
Dylan moran i love, andrew maxwell looks like he is very funny but ive only seen him on the panel so i cant say much about his stand up,
I was very surprised by jerry sienfeld's stand up...it was hilarious

I get the point about peter kay being a tribute act of himself these days and thats why i'd love to see him write more phoenix nights (not max and paddy)

But Bill Bailey is just genius the mixture of music and comedy with out moronic novelty songs is brilliant

Anyway thats my 2 cents worth!

01/02/2008, 12:13 PM
tiernan should be put out to pasture at this stage, there is only so much shouting and swearing i can take, ive grown tired of him
Ditto

andrew maxwell looks like he is very funny but ive only seen him on the panel so i cant say much about his stand up,
I

Got his DVD in my crimbo stocking and have watched it a few times, took a while to grow on me but have to say it's class

Dricky
01/02/2008, 12:26 PM
Bill Bailey

Have to say Andrew Maxwell is top regarding Irish acts he has a very very strange thought process and one i find to be miles ahead of his peers in Ireland.

Bill Hicks

Dara O'Brian (not as good at poking the open wound like maxwell but still V good)

Patrick Kielty is a great example of Irish comedy gone wrong

Wolfie
01/02/2008, 12:50 PM
A list with a blatant disregard as to whether they are currently alive (or not). You can live forever on DVD.

Irish - Andrew Maxwell, Dylan Moran, Dave Allen and Dara O'Brian

International - Richard Prior, Rob Newman, Billy Connolly, Peter Kay, Frank Skinner, Ronnie Barker, Spike Milligan, Peter Cook, Peter Sellers

01/02/2008, 12:55 PM
Oh I forgot John Delaney and Roddy Collins and of course our very own Bluebeard

jamie m
01/02/2008, 12:59 PM
know he is more famous for his tv work but always liked steve coogans character based stand up,

TheBoss
01/02/2008, 1:02 PM
Frankie Boyle for me is really funny at times.

SaucyJack
01/02/2008, 1:18 PM
Patton Oswalt, check Youtube for his stuff, hilarious.

01/02/2008, 1:19 PM
Yeah Frankie Boyle is very good on Mock the Week. Just saw Steve Hughes last night and it was the best comedy gig I have seen in years.

Hitman
01/02/2008, 2:01 PM
Daniel Kitson's the best I've seen.

stann
01/02/2008, 2:12 PM
Andrew Maxwell is definitely the best of the Irish at the moment, although Dara O'Briain is consistently good, specially live. I mean really consistently. I saw him twice in one night last year and he was brilliant both times! :D
Also Karl Spain is hilarious just as a straight stand up, especially when in front of an English audience.
Love Frankie Boyle in stand up and Mock the Week too. F**ker will say anything!
And Steve Hughes also brilliant. "I was an angry young man, but you've got to eat." :D

Rather than rehash more names that have been posted before, many of which are top notch (but Eddie Murphy?? Seriously???!!!), some of the best lesser known acts that ye should definitely check out if you haven't already include Michael McEntyre, Simon Evans, Rhod Gilbert, Mark Watson, Reginald D Hunter, We Are Klang, Stewart Francis, Glenn Wool, and the brilliant Ben Bailey.

Wolfie
01/02/2008, 2:24 PM
Frankie Boyle for me is really funny at times.

Good call - Frankie Boyle is hilarious.

01/02/2008, 7:20 PM
Bill Hicks is a legend, top man

Tommy Tiernan too

Peter CooK. I will never forget when he was doing a skit on Clive Anderson show years ago, pretending to be england football manager...pure genius

ramsfan
01/02/2008, 8:10 PM
saw dara o briain recently, never really watched him on tv but live he was excellent.

jimmy carr is definitely my favourite

deecay
01/02/2008, 9:28 PM
PJ Gallagher,Karl Spain and Jason Byrne are very good live

Really liked Neil Delamare but he was poor live,Tommy Tieren is the most overrated comedian ever.

John Collery is my favourite,hes a local and MCs at the main comedy place in Sligo

01/02/2008, 9:48 PM
John Pinette

onceahoop
01/02/2008, 10:41 PM
Daire O'Brian and P.J. Gallagher

Rovers fan
01/02/2008, 10:45 PM
neil delemare, dara o'brian and reuben. I absolutely hate ed byrne!

01/02/2008, 11:48 PM
George Carlin.

"Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that."

"The very existence of flamethrowers proves that sometime, somewhere, someone said to themselves, “You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I’m just not close enough to get the job done.”"

03/02/2008, 8:53 PM
Jim Carrey. Watch some of his stuff from Living Colour and you'll see how funny he is. Here's (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2y6rMwJYEIo) a classic Seinfeld ****-take.