View Full Version : Dublin City aims for Europe

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

Bald Student
10/01/2006, 6:38 PM
Your the one who's being semantic here.I think we both are and that's the point. We agree 100% on the actual facts of what happened we only disagree on wheather DCFC should call itself a new club. I believe they can because when one club splits in two, one of the two clubs must be 'new'. You believe thay can't because there is still a direct line linking the current DCFC team to teams that played decades ago. I think this discussion is a semantic one because we agree on the facts we only disagree on what language should be used to describe them.

Ringo
10/01/2006, 6:56 PM
I think we both are and that's the point. We agree 100% on the actual facts of what happened we only disagree on wheather DCFC should call itself a new club. I believe they can because when one club splits in two, one of the two clubs must be 'new'. You believe thay can't because there is still a direct line linking the current DCFC team to teams that played decades ago. I think this discussion is a semantic one because we agree on the facts we only disagree on what language should be used to describe them.

Thats grand ,so we all agree now that Dublin City is a new Club, great.

Gerrit
10/01/2006, 7:13 PM
What DCFCSteve is trying to say I think, is that -despite the fact they kept the Home Farm moniker- the junior side is the actual new club in theory. Of course you can question if that was not just an administrative trick to avoid Dublin City having to be re-elected... Who splits off from who, that's the main question.

I could be wrong, but the current LSL club Drumcondra FC (who play at the grass field opposite of Tolka Park) are also somehow linked to Home Farm and Dublin City, aren't they?

Dr.Nightdub
10/01/2006, 7:32 PM
I could be wrong, but the current LSL club Drumcondra FC (who play at the grass field opposite of Tolka Park) are also somehow linked to Home Farm and Dublin City, aren't they?

:eek: Noooooooooo!!! Bad enough that we had two Home Farms at one point, now we're gonna have two Continuity Home Farms?

Gerrit
10/01/2006, 7:53 PM
:eek: Noooooooooo!!! Bad enough that we had two Home Farms at one point, now we're gonna have two Continuity Home Farms?

The re-foundation of Drumcondra FC (as a split-off of Home Farm or not, I don't know) was before the rise of HF Everton/Finglas/DCFC , or at least so I was told by one of their players who regularly drank in Tolka's social club.

Bald Student
10/01/2006, 7:57 PM
one of their players who regularly drank in Tolka's social club.That's something I'd be more worried about. I hope it stops when the new season starts!

Gerrit
10/01/2006, 8:58 PM
I refered to a Drumcondra FC player, not a DCFC player. Drumcondra FC from the LSL, players at that level are supposed to drink at games, that's their core motivation for playing ;)

10/01/2006, 10:10 PM
Thats grand ,so we all agree now that Dublin City is a new Club, great.

Ahhhh - no...

If you read the previous page, you'll see that Bald Student agrees you became a new club in 1995 - when the junior side of Hoem Farm split from you and you became Home Farm Everton; then Home Farm Fingal in 1999, and then finally Dublin City in 2001.

So at the very least everyone agrees that you've existed since 1995 and had previous Home Farm mainfestations.

Even Maynard agreed ! :D

blueviking1980
10/01/2006, 11:49 PM
Anybody know why this has spilled to 6 pages & countin? We seem to be goin in circles with questions & answers mostly. Dublin City FC are a force to be reckoned with, now if that's not 'new'.. I dont know what is... :D

Seriously though, for a football club with valiant ambitions & a mere 4 yrs of semi-success behind em could be a contributin factor of other fans slaggin us. Im I wrong? Is there also a hidden threat innervasion? If the other fans had to change situations & like us they found a team that started up & felt it was the team to support I wonder would they change their tune. Speakin of which,

dcfcsteve... any chance of givin us our Molly back? ;)

11/01/2006, 12:30 AM
Anybody know why this has spilled to 6 pages & countin?

Because Dublin City fans are fantasists, and refuse to accept the clear fact that your club is mor than4 years old.

Seriously though, for a football club with valiant ambitions & a mere 4 yrs of semi-success behind em could be a contributin factor of other fans slaggin us. Im I wrong? Is there also a hidden threat innervasion?

Ireland faces a greater threat of amphibious invasion by the Swiss navy than Dublin City poses a footballing threat to the other Premier Division Eircom League clubs :D And there you go again with the Great Gatsby-esque delusion of being only 4 years old. Hello !!! You go back AT THE VERY LEAST to 1995 as Home Farm Everton. Keep up....:o And what's "innervasion"...?

Ther reason why you get so much slagging is that Seery's been whorring the whole 'brand new club' ballax around so much for his own marketing purposes that Dublin City fans themselves have bought into the delusion hook, line and heavy-bit. If you weren't all spouting deluded sh!te, you wouldn't get the abuise. Simple as.

dcfcsteve... any chance of givin us our Molly back?

Happily. Now what the feck is it......? :D

blueviking1980
11/01/2006, 1:03 AM
Our song Molly Malone that u's lot somehow have... :mad:

That was meant to be "Innervation"... long day, stop.. :o

Ringo
11/01/2006, 7:09 AM
Because Dublin City fans are fantasists, and refuse to accept the clear fact that your club is mor than4 years old.

Ireland faces a greater threat of amphibious invasion by the Swiss navy than Dublin City poses a footballing threat to the other Premier Division Eircom League clubs :D And there you go again with the Great Gatsby-esque delusion of being only 4 years old. Hello !!! You go back AT THE VERY LEAST to 1995 as Home Farm Everton. Keep up....:o And what's "innervasion"...?

Ther reason why you get so much slagging is that Seery's been whorring the whole 'brand new club' ballax around so much for his own marketing purposes that Dublin City fans themselves have bought into the delusion hook, line and heavy-bit. If you weren't all spouting deluded sh!te, you wouldn't get the abuise. Simple as.

Happily. Now what the feck is it......? :D

is it not a bit like saying that the Pd's were founded in early 1900's , because it is a continuation of Sinn Fein? They are not a new Party, etc.

11/01/2006, 8:14 AM
Anybody know why this has spilled to 6 pages & countin?

As I've said before its because Dublin City are obviously now the Big Club in Dublin :eek:

Ringo
11/01/2006, 8:22 AM
As I've said before its because Dublin City are obviously now the Big Club in Dublin :eek:

Roddy Collins thinks its the best club to invest in , according to the Star on Sunday:eek:

11/01/2006, 10:42 AM
is it not a bit like saying that the Pd's were founded in early 1900's , because it is a continuation of Sinn Fein?

To quote the guy from the Amstel Ad : "Ahhhhhh - no !"........

If the PD's had kept all Sinn Fein seats etc, then your example would work. But then it would've clearly been just a name change.

A better example would be when Labour in Britain decided to become 'New Labour'. New name, same party, same position as before.

Or an even better example would be when Sean Coombs decided to become 'Puff Daddy', and then 'P Diddy'. They weren't 3 different people - just 3 different names for the same thing....

Stop the self-delusion guys - this is getting very tedious....

11/01/2006, 10:44 AM
Roddy Collins thinks its the best club to invest in , according to the Star on Sunday:eek:

Well Roddy's usually right, and has proven himself to be shrewd when previously advising people on where to invest in football (e.g. Carlisle).... ! :eek:

Breifne
11/01/2006, 12:32 PM
If the PD's had kept all Sinn Fein seats etc, then your example would work. But then it would've clearly been just a name change.

A better example would be when Labour in Britain decided to become 'New Labour'. New name, same party, same position as before.

Think you just under cut your entire arguement.
New Labour was a name change. There was one party before, there was one party afterwards.
Home Farm splitting into the schoolboy / junior club and the entity now known as Dublin City for Senior football was one club becoming two clubs.

The wool pulled over the eyes i spoke off earlier was in regard to the initial breakaway, Ronan obviously felt that his options were easier to tell a few white lies to the eircom League at the time. he must have, he got away with it. I'm sure that if you had to investigate the entry of every club into the national league at the time of their entry it would have some suspect dealings.

this was done ten years ago, and Dublin City are now in the league, deal with it.

Calendar of events

Home Farm compete in Schoolboy / Junior & Senior Competitions

Home Farm compete in Schoolboy & Junior Competitions
Home Farm Everton (breakaway section) compete in Senior Competitions

1995-2001
Home Farm compete in Schoolboy & Junior Competitions
Home Farm Everton change name to Home Farm Fingal and eventually Dublin City.

2001 - present
the breakaway section (new club) compete moderately successfully in the eircom League as Dublin City.

Dublin City have their roots in Home Farm, this is undeniable, but they are a completely different club to Home Farm now.

Home Farm retained ownership of ALL assets, Dublin City rent Whitehall from Home Farm. Therefore seperate club.

Ringo
11/01/2006, 12:39 PM
To quote the guy from the Amstel Ad : "Ahhhhhh - no !"........

Or an even better example would be when Sean Coombs decided to become 'Puff Daddy', and then 'P Diddy'. They weren't 3 different people - just 3 different names for the same thing....

Stop the self-delusion guys - this is getting very tedious....

it was a split , wiith Home Farm. They own Whitehall, we just rent it, they can't take back the licence. the company that has the licence has no connection with home farm.

Maynard
11/01/2006, 2:10 PM
This is f@cking madness...I think we've found a person who actually spends more time thinking about Dublin City then any of the season ticket holders on this site...very, very sad. I guarentee you the year that Dublin City FC finish 2nd in the Premier Division and win the League Cup I won't give 2 sh1ts about any newly promoted club that is no threat to me whatsoever. I PROMISE!

11/01/2006, 2:24 PM
1995-2001
Home Farm Everton change name to Home Farm Fingal and eventually Dublin City.

So can all the deluded DCFC fans and your arch-fantasist CEO please, please, PLEASE stop pretending that your club is only 4 years old and had no existence prior to 2001!!! It's very clear that you've been the same club since at least 1995, and it's very, very dull to pretend otherwise.

Dublin City fans are the Eircom League's eqivalent of Luke Skywalker in 'The Empire Strikes Back' - dangling over the edge of a precipice and refusing to accept the factual reality that Home Farm 'Darth Vadar' Everton is their father.... :)

Just accept your history, and then we can all get onto discussing interesting topics instead. Phew.....

11/01/2006, 2:48 PM
I'm sure that if you had to investigate the entry of every club into the national league at the time of their entry it would have some suspect dealings.

An absolutely absurd comment. How can you be so sure ??

The current make-up of the Eircom league owes its roots largely to the expansions in the League that occured in the 1980's, and the changes since then - listed as follows :

NEW ENTRANTS TO EIRCOM LEAGUE/LEAGUE OF IRELAND

1984 : (All due to Expansion)
Cork City, Longford Town.

1985 : (All due to Expansion)
Bray Wanderers, Cobh Ramblers, Derry City, EMFA (now Kilkenny City), Monaghan United, Newcastle United (later Newcastle West, now defunct).

1990 :
St James's Gate (Now defunct, took place of Newcastle West).

1996 :
St Francis (Now defunct, took place of St James' Gate).

2003 :
Kildare County (took place of St Francis).

That's 11 clubs who've joined our currently 22 team league over the last 22 years, 9 of which still remain.

So which of those particular entries into the league had "some suspect dealings" involved with it ? (And for the jokers - Derry gaining special dispensation from FIFA was hardly a suspect dealing) ?? :confused:

The only even vaguely suspect dealings from amongst the above related to a club LEAVING the league - not joining. St Francis 'merged' with/was swallowed by St Pats in 2002 them at very short notice without giving the League any notice of their intentions - meaning that there were only 11 clubs competing in the Premier Division for season 2002/3.

To try to give legitimacy to Seery's underhand tactics by claiming that every other club in the league is there through some sort of dodgy dealings is clearly absurd and pathetic.

Coincidentally - to follow your arguements through - are St Pats no longer the same St Patrick's Athletic they've always been, purely because St Francis Fc allegedly 'merged' with them in 2002....?

Bald Student
11/01/2006, 4:07 PM
Coincidentally - to follow your arguements through - are St Pats no longer the same St Patrick's Athletic they've always been, purely because St Francis Fc allegedly 'merged' with them in 2002....?Keep up Steve, we covered this example earlier:

As an analogy, UCD's Men's and Women's clubs are currently administrated seperately. If we were to merge at some point in the future it should not affect UCD's league position,

11/01/2006, 4:23 PM
Keep up Steve, we covered this example earlier:

Sorry BS - but you're completely wrong here.

UCD's male and female teams can NEVER be technically viewed as the same thing. They compete in completely different spheres, and under current footbalkling rules cannot have the same players in any way. What you do administratively is therefore irrelevant - it may be of note to lawyers and Office Managers who worry about such things, but whetehr or not your women's team is being adminsitered alongside the men's team would change not one bit your senior team, it's sphere of competition, its operations, or its continued existence. Just like the Junior part of Home Farm splitting off from the senior part of Home Farm made no difference to the senior club.

From what your saying - any time an Eirom League club gains or loses a junior team, a female team, a disabled team, whatever, then the senior team MUST be treated as an entirely new entity ! It's previous history, tropjhies etc is no-longer relevant, as Year Zero starts at that point ! That's clearly ridiculous.....

Conversely - St Pats and St Francis were direct competitors operating in the same sphere of competition (senior Irish football). A merger between those 2 CANNOT just be dismissed as the same as an internal administrative change involving 2 parts of exactly the same body !

Bald Student
11/01/2006, 4:39 PM
From what your saying - any time an Eirom League club gains or loses a junior team, a female team, a disabled team, whatever, then the senior team MUST be treated as an entirely new entity ! It's previous history, tropjhies etc is no-longer relevant, as Year Zero starts at that point ! That's clearly ridiculous.For the record, I said the exact opposite. Apart from that we're in agreement.

Breifne
11/01/2006, 10:31 PM
Just like the Junior part of Home Farm splitting off from the senior part of Home Farm made no difference to the senior club.

I'm giving up, not wasting any more time on this joker, he obviously hasn't read any post by anyone except himself. He has the basis of his argument completely scewed.

It was the senior section which was the breakoff. Home Farm (who won the FAI cup in the 70's i think, not sure, don't care i have nothing to do with them.) are in the same boat as St. James Gate. They left the National League and now compete in the Leinster Senior League.

The entity now known as Dublin City (led by the former Home Farm CEO Ronan Seery, who was disappointed when Home Farm decided to pull out of the eL and decided to go it alone as Home Farm Everton) was established at this point and admitted to the national league. Maybe the wool was pulled over someones eyes at this stage. I don't know. Was DCFCsteve at the league meeting. Has he got a copy of the minutes of that meeting. I don't know what happened. Any problem which anyone can have with our existence is solely to do with what happened at this meeting.

11/01/2006, 10:48 PM
The entity now known as Dublin City (led by the former Home Farm CEO Ronan Seery, who was disappointed when Home Farm decided to pull out of the eL and decided to go it alone as Home Farm Everton) was established at this point and admitted to the national league.

Excellent - so we're all in agreement then.

Dublin City was set-up in 1995 under the name of Home Farm Everton. So the club DID start life as Home Farm (albeit the 'Everton' and 'Fingal' varieties), and the club DIDN'T begin in 2001/2, as Seery and a lot of your fans seem to believe and claim. End of story.

Finally we're all there.:D I prounce this therapy session over- the truth is out and the delusion ends. :D

Now, what say we try and get to the bottom of Crop Circles next.....? :p

11/01/2006, 11:13 PM
Regardless of their origin, I'd say this is a make or break year for Seery FC. Without a significant increase in attendances (and not just away fans) surely the penny will drop with El Presidente? ie that its hard enough to get fans and scrape by when you have a history like Bohs, Shels, Pats and Rovers (and to a lesser extent UCD), never mind building a franchise from scratch.

The biggest shame, as pointed out above, is that he didn't put his money and his personal commitment into one of the big 4 Dublin clubs which have a history, a fanbase and a realistic prospect of long-term survivial.

Bald Student
11/01/2006, 11:36 PM
Regardless of their origin, I'd say this is a make or break year for Seery FC. Without a significant increase in attendances (and not just away fans) surely the penny will drop with El Presidente? ie that its hard enough to get fans and scrape by when you have a history like Bohs, Shels, Pats and Rovers (and to a lesser extent UCD), never mind building a franchise from scratch.

The biggest shame, as pointed out above, is that he didn't put his money and his personal commitment into one of the big 4 Dublin clubs which have a history, a fanbase and a realistic prospect of long-term survivial.Brilliant, I can see seven more pages being added to this thread.

1. UCD was founded (depending on who you talk to) well over 100 years ago and has just as much history as any of the other clubs you've named. Highlights include winning the World University Championships, being the first western sports team to tour China in about 40 years, being the biggest adult club in europe for about 20 years now and generally being better than Trinity.

2. You're going to have to tell us which teams you mean when you say the 'big 4 Dublin clubs'. My league table tells me that that puts UCD 3rd, or 4th if you count Bray.

(That last comment was just to make sure the thread did indeed get to 14 pages.)

12/01/2006, 12:50 AM
Brilliant, I can see seven more pages being added to this thread.

Watch out Tottywatch.... ! :D

12/01/2006, 2:18 AM

Another thread on the non-existence of a fake "club". Just as well that it only takes up 4 pages so far on my PC. :)

Home Farm (who won the FAI cup in the 70's i think, not sure, don't care i have nothing to do with them.)

As a Home Farm fan, it has a lot to do with you. 1975, remember then??

Saying that is like I saying that our 6 cups in a row in the 60's has nothing to do with me. I wasn't a Rovers fan at the time, I didn't go to the matches, I wasn't even born then, but as a Rovers fan, it is automatically a part of my/our history.

2003:Kildare County (took place of St Francis).

St Francis 'merged' with/was swallowed by St Pats in 2002 them at very short notice without giving the League any notice of their intentions - meaning that there were only 11 clubs competing in the Premier Division for season 2002/3.

Wrong, I'm afraid Steve. In summer 2001, Pats and Francis merged, and Francis duly left the league. There were a full 12 teams playing in the Premier Division in the 2001/02 season, however, there were just 9 First Division clubs, vying for one promotion place. Everyone else in the division had a week off, when originally due to play St. Francis that season. The situation most affected promotion-chasers Waterford United, who had the misfortune to finish their season one week before everyone else, because of the anomaly. Kildare County played their first league game in July 2002.

I'm giving up, not wasting any more time on this
...a lot like your club will have given up on Premier Division survival next season, by about the end of April.

12/01/2006, 6:42 AM
Good to hear - better you lot and ronan seery doing what you're at than doing that.

Like ffs I would love if both UCD and Dublin weren't in the Premier League, and a couple of other teams with big support from around the country got promoted.

But they're there on merit - if 2 clubs with sh!t support can do it, I can't see why its not possible for the likes of Finn Harps, Galway, Craptown, etc to do it? :confused:

Dublin City are here on merit, so live with it and hopefully other clubs from around the country can learn a thing or 2 from them get promoted, send the both down (no offence dublin or UCD supporters ;) )and we've more country teams with decent suppot in the Premier League

Not only are UCD and Dublin City in the Premier Division on merit they are also two of the better run clubs in the EL , not to mention in Dublin. Don't forget Hoops fans, you are in the First Division purely because your previous board were a bunch of dishonest gobsheens( which is why the 8 points were deducted)!

monutdfc
12/01/2006, 9:07 AM
being the biggest adult club in europe for about 20 years now
eh??? explain please

12/01/2006, 9:49 AM

1. UCD was founded (depending on who you talk to) well over 100 years ago and has just as much history as any of the other clubs you've named. Highlights include winning the World University Championships, being the first western sports team to tour China in about 40 years, being the biggest adult club in europe for about 20 years now and generally being better than Trinity.

2. You're going to have to tell us which teams you mean when you say the 'big 4 Dublin clubs'. My league table tells me that that puts UCD 3rd, or 4th if you count Bray.

(That last comment was just to make sure the thread did indeed get to 14 pages.)

1. I don't enjoy watching football in grounds with small attendences and consequently poor atmosphere. If I did, I'd watch games in the local park more often as its cheaper.

2. Bray is in Wicklow and big isn't defined by League position.

12/01/2006, 10:34 AM
Wrong, I'm afraid Steve. In summer 2001, Pats and Francis merged, and Francis duly left the league. There were a full 12 teams playing in the Premier Division in the 2001/02 season, however, there were just 9 First Division clubs, vying for one promotion place. Everyone else in the division had a week off, when originally due to play St. Francis that season. The situation most affected promotion-chasers Waterford United, who had the misfortune to finish their season one week before everyone else, because of the anomaly. Kildare County played their first league game in July 2002.

Apologies MP - my feck-up on the dates and the division. Embarassing, given that I have the tables from 2001/2 and 2002/3 sitting in-front of me :o

I really should start those remedial reading classes again.......!:)

12/01/2006, 10:56 AM
While not getting into an obsessive state about CHF I think any sane fan would agree that they would be better served in the LSL. This is not about point scoring or personal abuse its just that no club should have been let into the league with no support especially from the capital. Five clubs in Dublin is enough and should never be added to.

CHF, St Francis and St James Gate should have never been in the league in the first place.

The only way to rectify this is to deny CHF a league place next year and replace them with a country club. But before this is done this country club will have to fulfil certain conditions such as potential crowds, business plan and proper facilities. Instead of the old way of the nod and wink which is how CHF came into being.

12/01/2006, 11:13 AM
The only way to rectify this is to deny CHF a league place next year and replace them with a country club.

Ny Hoop, in fairness you're talking total sh!te there!!

It would be stupid if the EL decided to relegate a club because of their location ffs.

Easy solution is for the country clubs to be run better than Seery and Dublin city and therefor they'll get relegated naturally. Or maybe the other clubs dont have it in them!

12/01/2006, 11:24 AM
Ny Hoop, in fairness you're talking total sh!te there!!

It would be stupid if the EL decided to relegate a club because of their location ffs.

Easy solution is for the country clubs to be run better than Seery and Dublin city and therefor they'll get relegated naturally. Or maybe the other clubs dont have it in them!

Cosmo read my whole post please. Not relegate them but out altogether not because of their location but because of their lack of support. What other properly run league in the world would admit a club with no support?

I was referring to replacing them with a well run country club. For example the Kerry side or Castlebar Celtic etc. Thats not "****e" it makes sense.

12/01/2006, 11:29 AM
Cosmo read my whole post please. Not relegate them but out altogether not because of their location but because of their lack of support. What other properly run league in the world would admit a club with no support?

I was referring to replacing them with a well run country club. For example the Kerry side or Castlebar Celtic etc. Thats not "****e" it makes sense.

I agree with ye that theres too many dublin teams but ffs ye cant relegate a club because of their location or lack of fanbase (we'd be the laughing stock of football :D ). If a club with f**k all fans stay in the Premier League it doesnt say alot of the clubs that with fans that go down :(

12/01/2006, 11:55 AM
Cosmo again I didnt say relegate I said out, gone, finished, not in the league. We are the laughing stock of football cos they are IN the league.

bigmac
12/01/2006, 12:01 PM
For example the Kerry side or Castlebar Celtic etc.

Is that the Kerry side that wouldn't enter the league cup because of prohibitive costs? It's all very well saying that we should let in other teams instead of DC but these other teams don't seem to want to be in the league! Why not just leave DC in the league and bring in 2 new clubs to the first division. If DC truly aren't viable then they won't last in the premier and one of the other teams can take their place.

Anyway, why attack DC over doing their utmost to get into the league? If you're not happy with what the FAI/EL did then surely you should blame them?

12/01/2006, 12:01 PM

Not necessarily. Success and being run properly don't always equate in football - particularly in the short-to-medium term.

Clubs can be badly run yet do much better than other clubs that are well-run - simply because a philosophical cornerstone of badly-run football clubs seems to be a willingness to gamble on future success. Spending money you don't have, or need to borrow, on the future promise of glory/returns. Well-run clubs don't take such risks.

For example - Leeds United spent 5 years as a Top 5 Premiership club in England, and were less than 90mins away from a Champions League final. At the time no-one realised that this was all being funded speculatively. There were other much better-run clubs in the English Premiership at the time who didn't share that level of success - some of whom were relegated. Eventually the Leeds bubble burst, as gambles often fail - but it proves the point that doing well doesn't always mean you're well run. Just like not sharing success doesn't necessarily mean youre badly run. Clubs with small fan bases could be run exemplary yet never, ever win anything as a result of living within their means.

Also - 'country' clubs have to work harder just to stand still, as they don't have the benefit of location for away fans. I'll guarantee you that Dublin City will receive a higher income from away fans this season than AT LEAST HALF the rest of the Premier Division will. That's got nothing to do with how well run they may be, and everything to do with location. They could be propped-up financially by income from away fans, purely through being Dublin-based.

Now - I'm not saying Dublin City are badly run, as I simply don't know what their finances look like. But there are question marks over them and a number of other Premier Division clubs who people suspect are spending beyond what their fan-base would suggest is appropriate/sensible. Living off hand-outs from wealthy benefactors (e.g. Seery) is not a sustainable means of existence, and could also be considered as evidence of living beyond your means. No doubt Dub City fans will attack me for saying that, but they know as well as I do that there is a lingering suspicion amongst fans on all of this.

12/01/2006, 12:05 PM
Anyway, why attack DC over doing their utmost to get into the league? If you're not happy with what the FAI/EL did then surely you should blame them?

BigMac - read the previous posts.

The EL/FAI cannot be held to blame, as they weren't asked to do anything other than accept yet another name change from Home Farm/Seery.

Seery is the one who pulled a fast-one - claiming a name change for what he now says was actually a totally new entrant into the league. Was that perhaps because he knew if he'd asked for his club to be elected, as per the stipulated procedure, he would've been unlikely to succeed....?

12/01/2006, 12:22 PM
Is that the Kerry side that wouldn't enter the league cup because of prohibitive costs? It's all very well saying that we should let in other teams instead of DC but these other teams don't seem to want to be in the league! Why not just leave DC in the league and bring in 2 new clubs to the first division. If DC truly aren't viable then they won't last in the premier and one of the other teams can take their place.

I gave those 2 clubs as examples. Bringing in more clubs into the league is a complete no no. There are simply not enough players or fans to go around.

Am not attacking CHF for getting into the league. It was the league clubs at the time who voted them in who are to blame.

12/01/2006, 12:23 PM
Am not attacking CHF for getting into the league. It was the league clubs at the time who voted them in who are to blame.

Thats my point - Ye cant just chuck a club out of the league because ye suddenly decided that they have no supporters or that theres too many clubs in area (imagine fulham been told that :D )

Been admitted in to the league in the first place is another matter, but they're here now so people should just deal with it ;)

12/01/2006, 12:28 PM
Thats my point - Ye cant just chuck a club out of the league because ye suddenly decided that they have no supporters or that theres too many clubs in area (imagine fulham been told that :D )

Been admitted in to the league in the first place is another matter, but they're here now so people should just deal with it ;)

Suddenly decided?? Hardly. it was blatantly obvious if they were taking Home Farm's place that they would have no fans before a ball was kicked.

Your comparison with Fulham, a club with history and thousands of fans is ridiculous.

The only way to "deal with it" is by showing them the door.

Ringo
12/01/2006, 12:28 PM

It will be interesting to see what support Rovers will have in the First division. A lot of long Journeys in the First Division

12/01/2006, 12:31 PM
It will be interesting to see what support Rovers will have in the First division. A lot of long Journeys in the First Division

Bring it on. We'll always be there as we've proven year in year out.

12/01/2006, 12:32 PM
Suddenly decided?? Hardly. it was blatantly obvious if they were taking Home Farm's place that they would have no fans before a ball was kicked.

Your comparison with Fulham, a club with history and thousands of fans is ridiculous.

The only way to "deal with it" is by showing them the door.

Only put the fulham comparison because they've a sh!t fanbase for Premier League and in a city with loads of teams (as that was your main point :confused: )

So now its new clubs with no history shouldnt be allowed into the league?

Look I'm not disagreeing with ye on the point that theres too many dublin clubs in the Premier League and I would love to see both them and UCD to go down. However ye cant just chuck a team out of the league because they have a poor fanbase, too many teams in the region, no history, etc (or whatever reason like that :eek: !!)

12/01/2006, 12:33 PM
Bring it on. We'll always be there as we've proven year in year out.
But of course, seeing as you don't make an effort against lesser-supported teams, you'll spend most of the season in silence...;)

12/01/2006, 12:36 PM
However ye cant just chuck a team out of the league because they have a poor fanbase, too many teams in the region, no history, etc (or whatever reason like that :eek: !!)

St James Gate.