View Full Version : Cutting out drink
Gareth
12/12/2005, 9:46 AM
I have been drinking less and less on nights out lately and I have to say I am enjoying myself more and more. I have gotten to the point were I am quite happy to go on 2 or 3 bottles of miller and switch to a coke or 7up. I not only seemingly have more money the next day but I also am not hungover and I feel so much better. Add to that the fact I am doing the EXACT same things, and I wonder why bother drink especially as I am finding hangovers getting worse and worse?
So anyone else think they could cut drink out or is there any tee totallers?
12/12/2005, 9:51 AM
I'm certainly drinking a lot less these days and have to say, there's nothing like waking up in the morning, feeling fresh and free of a hangover.
It's also a real treat to have money in your pocket after a night out.
I find that if I'm out late now, it's such a hassle to get a taxi that I don't enjoy myself because how I'm getting home is usually on my mind.
12/12/2005, 9:56 AM
Cutting out drink?? Why would you like!? Someone close this thread before it gets even more ridiculous;) :p
Gareth
12/12/2005, 10:11 AM
Yeah Peadar, I like getting up on a Saturday morning and strolling round to the shop and being able to get up and just being able to function. If I drink over a certain point, I am lucky to actually be able to speak by 1pm :). I am starting to get too busy to be able to afford the time loss. Drinkfeckarse, can you go out on a night and not drink? Or would you deem it pointless? Serious question :).
12/12/2005, 10:20 AM
I am starting to get too busy to be able to afford the time loss.
In the type of project work that I do, I think it is unacceptable to turn up on a customer site with a hangover. It's utterly unprofessional!
There is a serious lack of alcohol free entertainment in Ireland though.
Gareth
12/12/2005, 10:24 AM
Alcohol free entertainment:
There are plenty of gigs, large and small
There are many casinos :)
There are things like cinema and theatre and comedy
There is going out with mates to a bar and not drinking :)
There is League Of Ireland
Then there are hobbies people might have individually that might contain other option. It all depends on whether or not you are actually willing to be bothered not to drink. I think you can keep well entertained. Worst case senerio, you go for a meal with mates and have a laugh. Its just everything is assumed to require drink :)
12/12/2005, 10:28 AM
The league is over mate, or do Shels fans still think they've a chance of winning it??? :p :D
It's hard to go out with your mates and not drink.
You have to make up some excuse like, your liver is on a stag in Amsterdam, or else they'll never let you away with having a Rock Shandy at €5.40 a pop.
12/12/2005, 10:29 AM
im out about 4 nights a week now, but i find im drinking more soft drinks than just drinking alcohol every night. but tbh if you have 5 or 6 cokes/orange juice and lemonades you dont feel the mae west in the morning either!!! plus its very bad for your stomach to be drinking that much carbonated drink.
I'd echo that about drinking coke or whatever - wake up just as bad as having the equivalent pints imo. (Similar diuretic properties, so same dehydration is my theory).
Don't drink as often as I used, but find it hard to go out and not drink unless I have too (i.e. have the car with me). But have had only one really bad hangover recently, but that was drinking whiskey (quick nips) as well as pints.
When I was going out and getting absolutely hammered several times a week I always found the lack of sleep more of a factor than the amount of drink tbh. Again, my totally unsubstantiated theory is that it's the lack of sleep that becomes harder as you get older, rather than the alcohol.
12/12/2005, 10:57 AM
In my opinion, there's no justification for a person who works in a customer facing role, having the stench of alcohol off their breath.
One has always been dealing with customers via email or phone, so beer breath never an issue for my customers.
finlma
12/12/2005, 11:01 AM
I always give up the drink for the month of January - just to prove a point to myself I suppose and to get the body back in shape after the Christmas over-indlugence.
12/12/2005, 11:01 AM
Jaysus man, ye have to mix drink with football :eek: !!
Gareth
12/12/2005, 11:02 AM
I don't find it hard to go out and not drink to be quite honest. I usually ignore anyone berating me for not drinking and label them fools. I don't listen to fools let alone bend to their pressure :). I was out on Friday. I had 2 pints and a bottle of miller and watched a couple of bands after chatting to my mates for a while. was home at 10:30 ish and got up at 8 on staurday to do some work. Felt great!
Gareth
12/12/2005, 11:03 AM
Very rarely. I tend to work at games.
but tbh if you have 5 or 6 cokes/orange juice and lemonades you dont feel the mae west in the morning either!!! plus its very bad for your stomach to be drinking that much carbonated drink.
I can only stomach about 2 cokes as can't handle the amount of sugar without accompanying with food. :(
I was just ignoring that, as it was too preposterous. Hate having to drive to games and really miss the pre and post match pints now I live out in the sticks...
Gareth
12/12/2005, 11:15 AM
Awh you see, I could from a completely different side of things by the looks of it. I start going to games with my dad when I was very young and still do and now I report on the games too. When I am with my Dad I never drank before a game and when I am working at them I don't either so really our match day experiences are very different. I rarely watch a match with alcohol taken :)
12/12/2005, 11:29 AM
I'm drinking more and more -every day so far this month except for Dec 1st.
Am hungover as I write. Was asleep on the couch at 7pm yesterday evening and said I'd be in bed by 9.30. Phone rang at 8.55."Fancy a low key ale to help crash land the weekend on one engine?", I said no -then yes. 6-7 pints later I got back home stewed but not bladdered and had a glass of wine with herself.
Rough today. I need an intervention. Where the fcuk is Duffman? Ooh-yeah!
12/12/2005, 11:30 AM
On more than one occasion I've had to check AERTEL on saturday morning for the score of the match that I was at on friday nite:eek: (not very often though) I agree with cosmo its great to have a few pre and post match
12/12/2005, 11:32 AM
Always been dealing customers via email or phone for me, so never an issue for me tbh.
I pity your customers, I really do! :rolleyes:
If you're not still drunk, try to read my post and use common sense!
I pity your customers, I really do! :rolleyes:
If you're not still drunk, try to read my post and use common sense!
Sorry, hungover...*
*jesus that was bad... :eek:
Babysis
12/12/2005, 11:38 AM
I drink alot less than I used to. I was drinking too much with the company I worked with. Really bad drinking culture in recruitment.
I gave up booze in the January when I was at uni. Stuck to only water for one month, and went clubbing 2-3 times a week. Although I felt better the next morning, I would not want to go clubbing stone cold sober again.:eek:
12/12/2005, 11:39 AM
I cut out all drink for a month just to prove to myself i could do it, wasnt as hard as i thought it would be drank lucozade instead but too much of that made me feel unwell. was good to save money too! but of course as soon as i had done the month i was back drinking agian. even more worrying i tried to do the same with caffeine but wasnt able to.
12/12/2005, 12:03 PM
I cut out all drink for a month just to prove to myself i could do it, wasnt as hard as i thought it would be drank lucozade instead but too much of that made me feel unwell. was good to save money too! but of course as soon as i had done the month i was back drinking agian. even more worrying i tried to do the same with caffeine but wasnt able to.
I used do this once a year and will attempt again in january. I did it in 1998 when I was 24 years old, playing in a band and drinking heavily most nights of the week. No drink, no smokes (only smoke when drinking anyway). I didn't massively increase the exercise I was doing. Think I used jog once a week and played indoor once a week as well. I ate like a fcukin' horse for the entire month and I LOST 16lbs. No bullsh1t.
Did it again in 2003 (by which time I was 29) but exercised a bit more -sadly only lost 4lbs. That's the old metabolism slowing down.
Tried it again in October just gone as I particularly wanted to stop smoking (as I said -only when I've a drink in my hand). I lasted till October 5th.:(
12/12/2005, 12:13 PM
Drinkfeckarse, can you go out on a night and not drink? Or would you deem it pointless? Serious question :).
Yes I have done on a few occasions but I have to be honest and say I didn't enjoy myself as much as I would have when having a few beers. Didn't enjoy watching others getting p!ssed and laughing at stupid sh!te that you wouldn't laugh at sober etc.
12/12/2005, 12:15 PM
I did a 10k run at the weekend, and quit drinking 6 weeks ago to help me train for it. I've given up drinking for Lent every year since I was in 3rd year in college, so it'll be 6 years in a row next Lent. Going out sober doesn't really bother me, and I have the car so I'll have no problems getting home. It's all a matter of willpower.
finlma
12/12/2005, 12:25 PM
I needed the Sunday night sleeping pill last night. I always seem to get the horrors after a heavy weekend of boozing. The sleeping pills work wonders.
Gareth
12/12/2005, 12:28 PM
Pretty much willpower. People find they don't have an excuse for their behaviour if sober :) Doesn't bother me. I am going to attempt drinking 3 drinks at my xmas party and stopping. Should be interesting to see if I crack!
12/12/2005, 12:39 PM
People find they don't have an excuse for their behaviour if sober
beer the cause of and solution to all of lifes little problems. it is good being able to say you only did it cos you were drunk. trust me there have been certain times when the only thing ( to get you out of a very very tight situation ) you can say is you only did it cos you were drunk ;)
in fairness though, ye do have far better craic after a few beers and out for the craic.
babydol
12/12/2005, 2:45 PM
I gave up drinkin for over a year while I was pregnant then feedin. Didn't mind goin without the alcohol at all. could still sit down the pub witht my mates and have a laugh without it.
Back on the drink now though and probably WAY too much of it but i guess i'm just makin up for lost time! :p
blueviking1980
12/12/2005, 4:25 PM
Gave up booze completly when I was 21 between May 31st to September 13th 2002 (back on it birthday).. lookin back, givin it up durin Ireland's World Cup was a feat Im still pretty proud of. I wasn't even a big drinker to start with.. say a 2-3 pint guy... havin said that, bout 2 months into my 'experiment' I felt I could climb walls & run blocks all day.
I agree that it's great waking up fresh & alert as ya like in the mornin... plus the fact that ya have a healthier wallet too.. ;)
I haven't ruled out a comeback or at least not sinkin 4-5 EVERY time I go out & feel it's the only way to have ultimate fun. I'll either have a couple like the old days, have a few on special occassions only (not includin a 'Fri Night' :) ), have a want for a limit, or.. give it up entirely & change my lifestyle surroundin it. i.e. Workin out. Dependin on my mood & circumstances... :D
12/12/2005, 4:49 PM
There's nothing worse than going out to the pub with a few lads and them all p!ssed and you sober cos they talk such sh!te. That's why, ya have to drink if yer going out!:p.
harpskid
12/12/2005, 5:43 PM
I've found myself drinking a lot at weekend's since the footy season finished.
Went yesterday evening with a mate for a pint - just the one I told myself - and at half two this morning I crawled in :o
Totally wrecked today, plus me exams start on Thursday:eek:
Drumcondra Red
12/12/2005, 7:23 PM
There are plenty of gigs, large and small
There are many casinos :)
There are things like cinema and theatre and comedy
There is going out with mates to a bar and not drinking :)
Everything you've discribed there envolves drink!!! :confused:
Agree completly!!!
I gave up drinkin for over a year while I was pregnant then feedin. Didn't mind goin without the alcohol at all. could still sit down the pub witht my mates and have a laugh without it.
Back on the drink now though and probably WAY too much of it but i guess i'm just makin up for lost time! :p
It was good training for the Meet Up :D
Gareth
12/12/2005, 9:50 PM
Everything you've discribed there envolves drink!!! :confused:
Yes roy, keep taking the tablets :) You drink in the cinema yeah? (drink meaning alcohol by the way roy :))
12/12/2005, 10:04 PM
There's nothing worse than going out to the pub with a few lads and them all p!ssed and you sober cos they talk such sh!te. That's why, ya have to drink if yer going out!:p.
thats very true drunk people dont realise how annoying they are!
12/12/2005, 10:53 PM
I'm actually drinking more and more these days.
There's nothing better than falling out of bed on a saturday morning and having to go to a game for your amateur side and run around like a headless chicken!!:D
babydol
14/12/2005, 8:53 AM
It was good training for the Meet Up :D
There were other people (not naming names, GARETH) who were way drunker than me at the christmas meet up! So leave me alone!!;)
Gareth
14/12/2005, 8:57 AM
Excuse me Babydol, I was not that drunk, I was just not well. Was I not talking to you perfectly right up to the point of my departure? :)
Well I am in work and everyone is hungover bar me. I feel the power.
babydol
14/12/2005, 9:00 AM
Excuse me Babydol, I was not that drunk, I was just not well. Was I not talking to you perfectly right up to the point of my departure? :)
Well I am in work and everyone is hungover bar me. I feel the power.
And talking, and talking and talking.......
Plus that lovely txt message at six in the morning when i was just climbin into bed! That because you were sick too? :D
Wiseguy
14/12/2005, 9:22 AM
And talking, and talking and talking.......
Plus that lovely txt message at six in the morning when i was just climbin into bed! That because you were sick too? :D
Aaahhh being drunk and having a mobile phone in your posession,the curse of the drunk:eek: .I now leave mine at home everytime i go on the batter.It stops me waking up the following morning feeling guilty and trying to figure out why:cool: .
Its awful, but most of the time I end up sending messages to everyone except the person I am trying to send it too. Tried to leave it at home, but then there was the trouble of ringing for taxis.... and others with no crdt or dead batteries
thankfully i don't get that urge to pick up the fone when drunk to do that sort of thing.i'm usually knackered and just want to hit the hay.
Wiseguy
14/12/2005, 9:30 AM
Its awful, but most of the time I end up sending messages to everyone except the person I am trying to send it too. Tried to leave it at home, but then there was the trouble of ringing for taxis.... and others with no crdt or dead batteries
I used to think it was a great idea to ring ex girlfriends or possible future girlfriends at 4 in the morning.
Move into Town.No Taxi required and living 122 steps from your favourite pub has many benefits.
I used to think it was a great idea to ring ex girlfriends or possible future girlfriends at 4 in the morning.
Move into Town.No Taxi required and living 122 steps from your favourite pub has many benefits.
Sure maybe the will take I.O.U's as payment too eh? Sure you used to haunt us Wiseguy on the phone of yours :eek: :D
Wiseguy
14/12/2005, 9:44 AM
Sure maybe the will take I.O.U's as payment too eh? Sure you used to haunt us Wiseguy on the phone of yours :eek: :D
Bloody Students:D
14/12/2005, 9:47 AM
Would it spoil it for you if I said that he sent me a text too? :p
Aaahhh being drunk and having a mobile phone in your posession,the curse of the drunk:eek: .
Totally agree - pain in the hole - always dread looking at my sent box the following morning :o