Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Cutting out drink

Cutting out drink

I have been drinking less and less on nights out lately and I have to say I am enjoying myself more and more. I have gotten to the point were I am quite happy to go on 2 or 3 bottles of miller and switch to a coke or 7up. I not only seemingly have more money the next day but I also am not hungover and I feel so much better. Add to that the fact I am doing the EXACT same things, and I wonder why bother drink especially as I am finding hangovers getting worse and worse?

So anyone else think they could cut drink out or is there any tee totallers?
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth
    I'm certainly drinking a lot less these days and have to say, there's nothing like waking up in the morning, feeling fresh and free of a hangover.

It's also a real treat to have money in your pocket after a night out.

I find that if I'm out late now, it's such a hassle to get a taxi that I don't enjoy myself because how I'm getting home is usually on my mind.

Cutting out drink?? Why would you like!? Someone close this thread before it gets even more ridiculous

Yeah Peadar, I like getting up on a Saturday morning and strolling round to the shop and being able to get up and just being able to function. If I drink over a certain point, I am lucky to actually be able to speak by 1pm . I am starting to get too busy to be able to afford the time loss. Drinkfeckarse, can you go out on a night and not drink? Or would you deem it pointless? Serious question .

I am starting to get too busy to be able to afford the time loss.
    In the type of project work that I do, I think it is unacceptable to turn up on a customer site with a hangover. It's utterly unprofessional!

There is a serious lack of alcohol free entertainment in Ireland though.

Alcohol free entertainment:

There are plenty of gigs, large and small
    There are many casinos
    There are things like cinema and theatre and comedy
    There is going out with mates to a bar and not drinking
    There is League Of Ireland

Then there are hobbies people might have individually that might contain other option. It all depends on whether or not you are actually willing to be bothered not to drink. I think you can keep well entertained. Worst case senerio, you go for a meal with mates and have a laugh. Its just everything is assumed to require drink

The league is over mate, or do Shels fans still think they've a chance of winning it???

It's hard to go out with your mates and not drink.
    You have to make up some excuse like, your liver is on a stag in Amsterdam, or else they'll never let you away with having a Rock Shandy at €5.40 a pop.

im out about 4 nights a week now, but i find im drinking more soft drinks than just drinking alcohol every night. but tbh if you have 5 or 6 cokes/orange juice and lemonades you dont feel the mae west in the morning either!!! plus its very bad for your stomach to be drinking that much carbonated drink.

I'd echo that about drinking coke or whatever - wake up just as bad as having the equivalent pints imo. (Similar diuretic properties, so same dehydration is my theory).

Don't drink as often as I used, but find it hard to go out and not drink unless I have too (i.e. have the car with me). But have had only one really bad hangover recently, but that was drinking whiskey (quick nips) as well as pints.

When I was going out and getting absolutely hammered several times a week I always found the lack of sleep more of a factor than the amount of drink tbh. Again, my totally unsubstantiated theory is that it's the lack of sleep that becomes harder as you get older, rather than the alcohol.

In my opinion, there's no justification for a person who works in a customer facing role, having the stench of alcohol off their breath.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    In my opinion, there's no justification for a person who works in a customer facing role, having the stench of alcohol off their breath.
    One has always been dealing with customers via email or phone, so beer breath never an issue for my customers.
    Last edited by Macy; 12/12/2005 at 11:37 AM.

I always give up the drink for the month of January - just to prove a point to myself I suppose and to get the body back in shape after the Christmas over-indlugence.

Alcohol free entertainment:

Jaysus man, ye have to mix drink with football !!
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

I don't find it hard to go out and not drink to be quite honest. I usually ignore anyone berating me for not drinking and label them fools. I don't listen to fools let alone bend to their pressure . I was out on Friday. I had 2 pints and a bottle of miller and watched a couple of bands after chatting to my mates for a while. was home at 10:30 ish and got up at 8 on staurday to do some work. Felt great!

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Very rarely. I tend to work at games.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    but tbh if you have 5 or 6 cokes/orange juice and lemonades you dont feel the mae west in the morning either!!! plus its very bad for your stomach to be drinking that much carbonated drink.
    I can only stomach about 2 cokes as can't handle the amount of sugar without accompanying with food.

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    I was just ignoring that, as it was too preposterous. Hate having to drive to games and really miss the pre and post match pints now I live out in the sticks...

Awh you see, I could from a completely different side of things by the looks of it. I start going to games with my dad when I was very young and still do and now I report on the games too. When I am with my Dad I never drank before a game and when I am working at them I don't either so really our match day experiences are very different. I rarely watch a match with alcohol taken

I'm drinking more and more -every day so far this month except for Dec 1st.

Am hungover as I write. Was asleep on the couch at 7pm yesterday evening and said I'd be in bed by 9.30. Phone rang at 8.55."Fancy a low key ale to help crash land the weekend on one engine?", I said no -then yes. 6-7 pints later I got back home stewed but not bladdered and had a glass of wine with herself.

Rough today. I need an intervention. Where the fcuk is Duffman? Ooh-yeah!
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

On more than one occasion I've had to check AERTEL on saturday morning for the score of the match that I was at on friday nite (not very often though) I agree with cosmo its great to have a few pre and post match

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast