View Full Version : SRFC v DCFC
22/11/2005, 4:58 PM
Are you joking? John83, poster here, standing right beside me had nuts thrown at him when we scored our equaliser by a group of 3-5 scangers. It happened once, which is once too many. There doesn't need to be any arrests for it to have happened. For God's sake, we're the ones who would be fined for your fans behaviour. I find it odd that you seem to only consider it a problem if it happened on a grand scale, more than once and contained arrests. Supporting Rovers too long perhaps?
I can see the Herag Headline now: "Rovers nut-ters in Belfield rampage!!!!!" :D
Over the last 10+ years at Rovers games, I have been hit with stones, and had missiles of varying degrees aimed in my, and other Rovers' fans general direction. I have witnessed riots and near riots, in other matches. That was what you would call a problem. I have been branded a "Judas" by a Home Farm fan after we played them post-Collins last season, for no reason. :confused: The only thing I heard being thrown at UCD, was the sound of pins dropping.
While the disgraceful behaviour of nut-throwing :rolleyes: cannot possibly be condoned, it is not rowdy, not hooliganism, not a reason for arresting fans, nor a fining offence. Get over it, will you? All you're doing is taking a leaf out of Longford's anti-Rovers paranoia book.
All joking aside, fans of every club have a right to watch football without having ANYTHING being thrown at them.
Strangest one I experienced was wee boys firing chocolate at us in Cobh. Sore enough it was too. :(
22/11/2005, 8:25 PM
Support your team, hate your rivals.
What's the point in having your rivals playing in a different league?
DC is a rival to nobody...
Exactly! They're a pointless club that no one enjoys going to watch.
There were already enough clubs in Dublin without this ridiculous venture.
At least with Rovers, there is rivalry, there is passion and the fixtures are entertaining.
Buller
22/11/2005, 8:44 PM
Well said Peadar... I'm 99% in agreement, as i'm sure most people on this forum would agree with aswell, with the exception of bohs and the 3 home farm posters....:rolleyes:
Rovers must be in total disarray altogether, are DCFC just a better team than them now?
22/11/2005, 9:24 PM
I can see the Herag Headline now: "Rovers nut-ters in Belfield rampage!!!!!"
Over the last 10+ years at Rovers games, I have been hit with stones, and had missiles of varying degrees aimed in my, and other Rovers' fans general direction. I have witnessed riots and near riots, in other matches. That was what you would call a problem. I have been branded a "Judas" by a Home Farm fan after we played them post-Collins last season, for no reason. :confused: The only thing I heard being thrown at UCD, was the sound of pins dropping.
While the disgraceful behaviour of nut-throwing :rolleyes: cannot possibly be condoned, it is not rowdy, not hooliganism, not a reason for arresting fans, nor a fining offence. Get over it, will you? All you're doing is taking a leaf out of Longford's anti-Rovers paranoia book.
As I said, just because your experiences as a Rovers fan has lead you to see a lot worse than nut throwing it does not excuse what is a wrong act in principle. When you throw stuff at opposition fans you have crossed the line between rivalry and banter. Considering the fact it was a meaningless game against a club you have no hostilities with I find it ridiculous anyone felt the need to do it. I didn't ask for fans to be arested or clubs to be fined, I am simply holding it up as very recent first hand example of pointless unrpovoked knacker behaviour by your fans. What exactly is your point here? You can't defend it and I am not asking for anyone to be hanged here, why are you going so mad about it?:confused:
22/11/2005, 9:25 PM
Rovers must be in total disarray altogether, are DCFC just a better team than them now?
On the looks of that match, clearly. Not to say Dublin City are a decent side in any way.
ps bohs
22/11/2005, 9:35 PM
If Dublin City do go up will they play their home games in Whitehall or in Tolka Park.:confused: I think they should have them in Whitehall. I've never been there, but I was at Tolka and thats a dump of a place. They don't even have lights in the toilets. I guess someone forgot to pay the ESB bill.
have you ever been to santry
22/11/2005, 9:45 PM
I couldnt make the game tonight but i was delighted to hear the result and i'll be along Friday to watch DCFC put the final nails in Rovers coffin
C'mon DCFC
PS. do you like my new sig :D
22/11/2005, 10:06 PM
can anyone there tell us what the crowd was like? Particularly if there were any "nuetrals" there....
chippie0001
22/11/2005, 10:08 PM
can anyone there tell us what the crowd was like? Particularly if there were any "nuetrals" there....
Initially was told the crowd was around 1,100 but later about 1,800 or so.
22/11/2005, 10:14 PM
There was about 150 in the Des Kelly stand and the Jody was about 3/4 full though cannot be entirely sure if all the gaps were filled as people were standing. At the start of the game the Jody was only half full. My estimate is 2,000 maximum. Was there many neutrals? Well I know of 4 UCD fans being there myself included. I saw a few Bohs fans but a lot of people in the Des Kelly stand were without colour so they could have been Dub City or neutral. City's most vocal singing group numbered about 30. Couldn't tell you how the break up of the Jody went but at least half the stand looked green.
Roverstillidie
22/11/2005, 10:33 PM
there was at most 100 fans in the shed, at least 10 of whom were burberry wearing bohs scrotes. hardly the hoards that some here were predicting.
CHF's biggest ever game and they couldnt manage 100 fans. :rolleyes:
seemed to be a few neutrals there alright. about 1900 at the game.
some consolation from a poor result was we were truely awful and they were at their best. they got 2 goals from speculative shots, 1st was a cracker, 2nd keeper made a mess of. 1 or 2 half chances from set pieces, but that was it.
we lost midfield and were still very unlucky. o'connor hit the post and the ball just wouldnt break in the box for us. CHF looked very vunerable to players like sparky and billy boy running at them.
worrying to be behind, but we cannot play that badly again and CHF celebrating at the end was a very, very unwise move.
22/11/2005, 10:47 PM
Of course they were going to celebrate... And how do you know thats the best they could play?
Ringo
22/11/2005, 10:59 PM
there was at most 100 fans in the shed, at least 10 of whom were burberry wearing bohs scrotes. hardly the hoards that some here were predicting.
CHF's biggest ever game and they couldnt manage 100 fans. :rolleyes:
seemed to be a few neutrals there alright. about 1900 at the game.
some consolation from a poor result was we were truely awful and they were at their best. they got 2 goals from speculative shots, 1st was a cracker, 2nd keeper made a mess of. 1 or 2 half chances from set pieces, but that was it.
we lost midfield and were still very unlucky. o'connor hit the post and the ball just wouldnt break in the box for us. CHF looked very vunerable to players like sparky and billy boy running at them.
worrying to be behind, but we cannot play that badly again and CHF celebrating at the end was a very, very unwise move.
lol :D no goals from play and a dubious peno ,cop on, you were $hite, and we shouldn't have celebrated?, Fcuk off
Roverstillidie
22/11/2005, 11:18 PM
lol :D no goals from play and a dubious peno ,cop on, you were $hite, and we shouldn't have celebrated?, Fcuk off
no-one said you couldnt celebrate, just i think it was a silly thing to do at half time, and will motivate the hoops no end in training.
as was said on the other thread, stonewall peno. ill assume you hadnt a view, watch the highlights.
you were poor, but we were awful and you only won with a lucky late goal. our pace caused you allsorts of problems, if we get any grip on midfield we will win handy. but if we let the game develop into a kick and run physical game again, id worry
and well done taking out our player of the year within 10 mins. and giving him the treatnent 5 mins later. and people wonder why kicker is hated?
Roverstillidie
22/11/2005, 11:20 PM
:D is anyone else getting google ads for beer nuts and macadamia processing? :D
22/11/2005, 11:21 PM
In fairness, there was nothing dubious about the penalty, it was a reckless tackle. The remainder of the quoted post was b0llocks (the players trotted over to acknowledge the support, as they do before and after every game; in fact, the most OTT celebration of the night was perpetrated by Junkie Molloy, who went tearing away slobbering all over his shirt as though he'd just settled a Champions League final :rolleyes: ), but you could have gleaned that in advance by glancing at the avatar. Aside from the penalty, I think Rovers had two chances in the entire match - Cottsy's shot against the bar (effected by a hitherto undetected left foot) and a tame header which Brendan fielded comfortably. By contrast, I think we fashioned at least four clear goal-chances; McGill's near-post header which skidded inches wide early on, Robbie Collins' cut-in-and-drive which barely cleared the crossbar, and a couple more goalmouth scrambles in the second half.
Top marks to whomever (inadvertently) clobbered Barry Murphy. He never moved for the first goal and his replacement f*cked up royally on the second.
Derek
22/11/2005, 11:43 PM
no-one said you couldnt celebrate, just i think it was a silly thing to do at half time, and will motivate the hoops no end in training.
same old same old, excuses.
It may also motivate us in training
you were poor, but we were awful and you only won with a lucky late goal. our pace caused you allsorts of problems, if we get any grip on midfield we will win handy. but if we let the game develop into a kick and run physical game again, id worry
I think we played very well, maybe you just can not give credit for the way we beat you.
and well done taking out our player of the year within 10 mins. and giving him the treatnent 5 mins later. and people wonder why kicker is hated?
What?:confused:
To be honest it was a god awful match and a god awful performance and pathetic behaviour towards the end...
:mad: all round.
22/11/2005, 11:47 PM
Sorry for pounding you on the shoulder when the second goal went in, Derek. I kind of lost it a bit. :o
22/11/2005, 11:49 PM
To all the DCFC/Shams haters. The simple fact is Dublin won tonight. If they win on Friday than they deserve it. If Shams win on Friday then they'll deserve it. Whoever wins the play-off overall deserves to be in the Premier, regardless of how many supporters they have or weather they create an atmosphere or not, FACT!:)
Derek
22/11/2005, 11:51 PM
Not going to bother going tonight but if its close I might head over on Friday. Think Rovers will walk it myself
The only walk Rovers will be doing is a few long walks next season down to Kilkenny and up to Monaghan cause they will have no money for bus fairs in the first div:)
Derek
22/11/2005, 11:56 PM
Sorry for pounding you on the shoulder when the second goal went in, Derek. I kind of lost it a bit. :o
I can't talk about the matter any more, it is with my solicitor:rolleyes:
It was great, the pounding was great, the game was great, the win was great, the team saying hello after the game was great, Brendan Kennedy giving me a wave was great, the flares were great, seeing Rovers in disarray was great, the silent Rovers fans at the end was great, beating Rovers was great and I'll tell you if we pull this off it will be great and on the performance I think we are in with a shout, GREAT.
Derek
22/11/2005, 11:59 PM
To all the DCFC/Shams haters. The simple fact is Dublin won tonight. If they win on Friday than they deserve it. If Shams win on Friday then they'll deserve it. Whoever wins the play-off overall deserves to be in the Premier, regardless of how many supporters they have or weather they create an atmosphere or not, FACT!:)
I agree with you sligoman, thats how the game works and all the bullsh!te talk does not change the result.
22/11/2005, 11:59 PM
It was great, the pounding was great, the game was great, the win was great, the team saying hello after the game was great, Brendan Kennedy giving me a wave was great, the flares were great, seeing Rovers in disarray was great, the silent Rovers fans at the end was great, beating Rovers was great and I'll tell you if we pull this off it will be great and on the performance I think we are in with a shout, GREAT.
Don't you mean "super"? :confused:
Derek
23/11/2005, 12:02 AM
Don't you mean "super"? :confused:
I was tring to expand my vocabulary
23/11/2005, 4:20 AM
just because your experiences has lead you to see a lot worse than nut throwing it does not excuse what is a wrong act in principle.
Was it wrong? Compared to our previous experiences, nut-throwing doesn't even register as disorder, never mind hooliganism.
I find it ridiculous anyone felt the need to do it.
I also find it ridiculous that a poster here felt the need to make it an issue.
I didn't ask for clubs to be fined,
Er, yes you did. See below.
For God's sake, we're the ones who would be fined for your fans behaviour.
You can't defend it, and why are you going so mad about it?
There is nothing to defend, as this is not an incident. No arrests were made, because it is at best, a trivial matter. Ì'm going mad about it because, here we have a case of another club's fans looking to make a big deal about a non event regarding our fans. Longford started it, and look at the anger that has caused between them and us. You shouldn't be going down the same road.
23/11/2005, 4:45 AM
Afraid so. :(
I don't think neutrals actually realise exactly how bad our team really is. We have several players playing for us who are so poor, that they wouldn't even get into a first division side. I know most of them are little older than kids, but they are really, really bad players, who can't perform relatively simple tasks such as kicking the ball, passing it to their team-mates, clearing their lines, challenge for headers, creating chances, etc, etc. Most of them are beyond improvement, in both their short and long-term development. The only thing they are able to do, is get suspended.
[QUOTE=Sheridan]In fairness, there was nothing dubious about the penalty, it was a reckless tackle. QUOTE]
o.K.;) . he certainly made the most of it. Looked like he'd been shot. Thought holding us back for 10 mins was stupid. Just gave the Rovers scum , time to run around and wait for us. As i was coming out some of them were running towards the gate with scarves over their faces. Good Garda presence, prevented any trouble. Will have to keep them in on Friday, 0n the river side. It’s a pity this type of thing goes on in the League.
Breifne
23/11/2005, 9:39 AM
4 years is long enough to see whether a club is going to garner some sort of support or not. DCFC have 20- 30 loyal fans at best?
Dublin City had over 100 people in Athlone last weekend, not sure but i would guess that that would beat the travelling support for a lot of eircom league sides. We had a decent crowd in the Des Kelly stand last night, albeit with a few floaters there, but i'd estimate that we had about 200/250 of our own established supporters. (hopefully more liked what they saw and will stay with the club)
All we are looking for is the opportunity to grow the club, and not be put down at every opportunity.
We aren't looking to rob existing fans, we are looking to collect new eircom League fans, surely this should be the aim for every club.
Breifne
23/11/2005, 9:55 AM
As I have earlier stated, there is no such club as "Dublin City". Whether they call themselves Home Farm (Everton/Fingal/Dublin City), they are still Home Farm. Under their fake title, they play at the same ground, have the same colours, the same ethos, and the same fan base as before, so they are in reality, Home Farm.
Okay lets do a quick survey:
Club Colours
Home Farm: Royal Blue and White
Dublin City: Sky Blue & Navy
Verdict: Different
Home Ground
Home Farm: Own Whitehall
Dublin City: Rent Whitehall
Verdict: Dublin City play out of Whitehall for a number of reasons, including its smaller so a better atmosphere, better surface, nicer bar and very importantly, its cheaper than any of the rental alternatives in Dublin.
Ethos
Home Farm: Focusing on the Schoolboy aspect of things, developing players, have a couple of junior/intermediate sides, but aren't the main focus of the club.
Dublin City: Senior Football is the priority of the club, also fielding an U-21 side.
Verdict: Completely different in its focus.
Fan Base
Home Farm: Parents and family of the players
Dublin City: A small group of enthusiastic supporters has been garnered bit by bit over the last few years. although there is probably about 10/15 people who are a hang over from the Home Farm days.
Verdict: Dublin City has attracted new supporters through its identity as a City wide club.
Reality
Home Farm are a hugely successful Schoolboy and Junior side who have a host of Internationals in their illustrious past.
Founded by Don Seery (Ronan's Father) and Brendan Menton Snr. they have collected many national titles at numerous levels, including an FAI Senior Cup.
When Home Farm decided to pull out of Senior Football, there then head of the senior set up Ronan Seery, decided that he would take on the mantle of running the club. He rented Home Farm's facility to play in, recruited a manager, players and Dublin City was born.
Yes, Dublin City and Home Farm have extremely close ties, but they are not and never where the same thing. Every Dublin City fan would love to have Home Farm's history and heritage, but we don't we are now creating our own.
In 5 seasons, we have challenged for promotion for the first three years, finally winning the title in 2003. a number of factors saw us relegated in 2004, and now we are 90 minutes away from securing our top flight status again. Not bad for a nothing club.
23/11/2005, 10:14 AM
As a neutral last night I thoroughly enjoyed the game. DCFC were clearly the better side and deserved to win. Frankly I was very disappointed with Rovers especially having got the equaliser I expected them to push on and win the game. They were pushed back for the remainder of the game.
I still don't think this tie is over though. Tolka is hardly home advantage for DCFC and they will be heavily outnumbered supporter wise. Rovers will hardly be as bad again. DCFC looked a much better side than that which drew with Limerick a few weeks back and they may not play as well again.
23/11/2005, 10:17 AM
Come on DCFC
MAKE ROVERS HISTORY
23/11/2005, 10:35 AM
I still don't think this tie is over though. Tolka is hardly home advantage for DCFC and they will be heavily outnumbered supporter wise.
Won't be that big a difference now all the Pats/Bohs/Shels etc wiil jump on the bandwagon
23/11/2005, 10:49 AM
Won't be that big a difference now all the Pats/Bohs/Shels etc wiil jump on the bandwagon
Home Advantage or not They have scored 2 AWAY goals
Rovers need to Score 2 to stay up
Roverstillidie
23/11/2005, 10:53 AM
Dublin City had over 100 people in Athlone last weekend, not sure but i would guess that that would beat the travelling support for a lot of eircom league sides. We had a decent crowd in the Des Kelly stand last night, albeit with a few floaters there, but i'd estimate that we had about 200/250 of our own established supporters. (hopefully more liked what they saw and will stay with the club)
anyone can get 100 fans to athlone if the club pay for the bus. 100 supporters travelling for free is hardly a boast.
and if you think there were 250 in the des kelly, you are on a different planet.
23/11/2005, 10:56 AM
Home Advantage or not They have scored 2 AWAY goals
Rovers need to Score 2 to stay up
In case you haven't noticed, away goals in this tie, DO NOT COUNT. So we only need to score 1 goal to stay in the league.
23/11/2005, 11:09 AM
In case you haven't noticed, away goals in this tie, DO NOT COUNT. So we only need to score 1 goal to stay in the league.
I was under the Impression that they did!!
I know this was the case when bohs played cobh in 2000
but because of the fact that we scored 6 in cobh in the first leg it didn't come into the equation
23/11/2005, 11:10 AM
Top marks to whomever (inadvertently) clobbered Barry Murphy.
No problem whatsoever with the result last night - the best team won. Or rather the only team on the pitch won but that comment is a disgrace. Barry spent most of last night in A&E in the Mater after having his ankle stamped on.
mchurl
23/11/2005, 11:12 AM
No problem whatsoever with the result last night - the best team won. Or rather the only team on the pitch won but that comment is a disgrace. Barry spent most of last night in A&E in the Mater after having his ankle stamped on.
agree totally no one should set out to take ut a player deliberatly.
Also i think dcfc are in total control now as rovers defense is diabolical and they will have to score a minimum of 2 goals as dcfc will definty score
23/11/2005, 11:22 AM
It is the norm these days, but in this country away goals have never decided LOI games in any competition, not even when the Cup semis were over 2 legs.
It's one thing being relegated on GD, however, it would be terrible to lose a promotion/relegation spot on away goals, in a LEAGUE game.
23/11/2005, 11:27 AM
It is the norm these days, but in this country away goals have never decided LOI games in any competition, not even when the Cup semis were over 2 legs.
It's one thing being relegated on GD, however, it would be terrible to lose a promotion/relegation spot on away goals, in a LEAGUE game.
Fair Point: It would be a shyte way to be relegated, but are penalties any better
I stand corrected so ........Check the oven and see if my humble pie is ready yet:D
Dotsy
23/11/2005, 11:28 AM
Okay lets do a quick survey:
Club Colours
Home Farm: Royal Blue and White
Dublin City: Sky Blue & Navy
Verdict: Different
Home Ground
Home Farm: Own Whitehall
Dublin City: Rent Whitehall
Verdict: Dublin City play out of Whitehall for a number of reasons, including its smaller so a better atmosphere, better surface, nicer bar and very importantly, its cheaper than any of the rental alternatives in Dublin.
Ethos
Home Farm: Focusing on the Schoolboy aspect of things, developing players, have a couple of junior/intermediate sides, but aren't the main focus of the club.
Dublin City: Senior Football is the priority of the club, also fielding an U-21 side.
Verdict: Completely different in its focus.
Fan Base
Home Farm: Parents and family of the players
Dublin City: A small group of enthusiastic supporters has been garnered bit by bit over the last few years. although there is probably about 10/15 people who are a hang over from the Home Farm days.
Verdict: Dublin City has attracted new supporters through its identity as a City wide club.
Reality
Home Farm are a hugely successful Schoolboy and Junior side who have a host of Internationals in their illustrious past.
Founded by Don Seery (Ronan's Father) and Brendan Menton Snr. they have collected many national titles at numerous levels, including an FAI Senior Cup.
When Home Farm decided to pull out of Senior Football, there then head of the senior set up Ronan Seery, decided that he would take on the mantle of running the club. He rented Home Farm's facility to play in, recruited a manager, players and Dublin City was born.
Yes, Dublin City and Home Farm have extremely close ties, but they are not and never where the same thing. Every Dublin City fan would love to have Home Farm's history and heritage, but we don't we are now creating our own.
In 5 seasons, we have challenged for promotion for the first three years, finally winning the title in 2003. a number of factors saw us relegated in 2004, and now we are 90 minutes away from securing our top flight status again. Not bad for a nothing club.
Good post. Interesting stuff in it I didn't know about. I hope we beat you on Friday but fair play you were the better team last night. I have no problem with DC. They entered the league under the rules so have as much right to be in it as any other team. If you beat us or draw on Friday you deserve promotion, end of.
23/11/2005, 11:29 AM
Good post. Interesting stuff in it I didn't know about. I hope we beat you on Friday but fair play you were the better team last night. I have no problem with DC. They entered the league under the rules so have as much right to be in it as any other team. If you beat us or draw on Friday you deserve promotion, end of.
At last a bit of sense and civility : fair play
23/11/2005, 11:33 AM
it'd be daft if away goals were to decide the outcome of this one given the two teams involved
It wouldn't be just daft it would be down right fcuking hilariously Ironic
so much so in fact that Alanis Morisette would probarbly feel compelled to write a song about it:D :D :D
Juz the Hoop
23/11/2005, 11:41 AM
Firstly no problems with the result. Better team won on the night no complaints. We still have a chance and the fact away goals dont count is a blessing no matter how small it is.
However I have to say this If we go down on friday on the pitch we'll deserve to off the pitch we'd be a bigger loss to the premier division than CHF would be a gain for the premier division. Lads that is a fact. im dissapointed with some of the reactions of the chf fans. Ringo youve been bitter all year so im not surprised there but sheridan that comment about Barry Murphy was sickening call yourself a football fan hurry up back to tarquin. Briefne good post but no matter what it will take a long time for dcfc to be recognised as a club of their own, wheather thats a good or bad thing I dont know.
Still friday is another day. Where there's hope
JUZ
23/11/2005, 12:20 PM
Was it wrong? Compared to our previous experiences, nut-throwing doesn't even register as disorder, never mind hooliganism.
Eh, yes it was wrong. Throwing anything at opposition fans is wrong. As I said, just because you have seen worse doesn't make this right.
I also find it ridiculous that a poster here felt the need to make it an issue.
In light of the discussion about the need for added security at our ground, given you're the only club's fans I've seen throw stuff at us in our own ground it is relevant.
Er, yes you did. See below.
You're taking my post out of context. You were asking who was fined. I was alluding to the fact that this was pointless as we were fined for behaviour of Bohs fans the other week.
There is nothing to defend, as this is not an incident. No arrests were made, because it is at best, a trivial matter. Ì'm going mad about it because, here we have a case of another club's fans looking to make a big deal about a non event regarding our fans. Longford started it, and look at the anger that has caused between them and us. You shouldn't be going down the same road.
As I say, as a Rovers fan you have lost scope. Your argument is that it needs to be of a grave or very serious magnitude before it is worth discussing. I think that in itself says something. I'm not making a big deal of it, I simply highlighted the incdicent in this discussion and you took offence to me even mentioning it.
23/11/2005, 12:26 PM
You didn't play Bohs in 2000 - you were runners-up in the league in 2000!;) Waterford-Kilkenny was 2000, Bohs-Cobh was 1999 I think. UCD played Athlone in 2000/01 which went to extra time and penalties and I remember asking about away goals during extra time and being told there wasn't any. So it looks like away goals haven't counted for the duration of the play-offs. Which, for a league which ten years ago didn't recognise goal difference, makes sense.
monkey magic
23/11/2005, 12:34 PM
so your saying a draw over the two legs is enough for ye to stay up??
thats a more stupid suggestion than the away goals idea.
surely the game would then go to extra time/penalties?