Best of luck, DC.
Make Rovers History!
EireBadBoy
22/11/2005, 12:23 PM
No way can we have two DCFC's in the Premier!! That would fry my head. :D
C'mon Rovers!!!
22/11/2005, 12:28 PM
If we go down, there will be 11 Premier Division chairman sh-itting themselves at the prospect of gate receipts collapsing from hosting Home Farm next season.
Get over yourself! Rovers bring the smallest gate for a league Dublin derby game in Belfield since...Rovers in 2003 and you figure we're going to be "sh-itting" ourselves as the prospect of our gate receipts "collapsing"?! Over the last few years, Bohs have consistently brought the most to Belfield. In the first round of games this year, the four Dublin teams were about equal. But then add in the extra security we need for Rovers games and the fact that it's the only game we need a Gardaí presence at and we'd almost be better off having Home Farm in the Premier!
I have nothing but respect for the way Rovers fans have taken over their club, but a fair few of them need a reality check every now and again. And again and again and again...
Firstly have to laugh at the gypos wanting us relegated.
Ah come on - were you not hoping to see them go down when they were in the play-off in 1999 (or so)?!
manic da hoop
22/11/2005, 12:41 PM
But then add in the extra security we need for Rovers games and the fact that it's the only game we need a Gardaí presence at and we'd almost be better off having Home Farm in the Premier!
What complete and utter rubbish. :rolleyes: I noticed at least two or three Garda at Belfield last Friday - What the hell were they doing there and what were they expecting??? If your club officials choose to lay on extra secuity for when we visit then it is your own stupid fault. Throw your money away needlessly if you so wish, and keep believing that the next time we all head out to Belfield we'll all run amok and leave a wave of destrution in our wake. Who do you think you are: Longford:confused:
22/11/2005, 12:42 PM
City have existed what, 4 seasons now? They are not Home Farm. It's a new entity with a new identity.
As I have earlier stated, there is no such club as "Dublin City". Whether they call themselves Home Farm (Everton/Fingal/Dublin City), they are still Home Farm. Under their fake title, they play at the same ground, have the same colours, the same ethos, and the same fan base as before, so they are in reality, Home Farm.
LFC in Exile
22/11/2005, 12:42 PM
So, lets get rid of promotion and relegation altogether. Those clubs with the most fans form the premier division and those with less go to the first. We'll just forget about those points and goal difference nonsense. :rolleyes:
LFC in Exile
22/11/2005, 12:46 PM
they play at the same ground, have the same colours, the same ethos, and the same fan base as before, so they are in reality, Home Farm.
Same ground? Does that mean they weren't home farm when they played at Tolka?
Same colours? Home farm wore blue and white - DC wear the light blue of Dublin GAA (you know the ones that Bohs copied).
Same ethos? HF's ethos is schoolboy/player development. Do DC have an underage structure? Is that where they got Carlton Palmer and Efan Ekoku?
Same fan base? Fair enouigh. They both have the same fan. :)
Keeping taking the tablets. :ball:
22/11/2005, 12:46 PM
What complete and utter rubbish. :rolleyes: I noticed at least two or three Garda at Belfield last Friday
Which surely backs up my point?!
I'll grant you I was exaggerating a little bit about the cost. That was to balance mypost's ridiculous exaggeration of the calamitous effect of Rovers' relegation on every club's gate receipts.
Do you think Rovers fans are angels who never get into any trouble ever and that Gardaí are never needed at Rovers games? If so, you've got your head further in the sand than I thought. I assume we were expecting very little - hence only two or three Gardaí - but it's still more than we expect for any other club.
22/11/2005, 12:47 PM
Same fan base? Fair enouigh. They both have the same fan. :)
Is that Mickey or Tommy? Wasn't it Tommy stopped going to the games?
[One Red Army reference before anyone calls the kettle black!]
22/11/2005, 12:49 PM
What complete and utter rubbish. :rolleyes: I noticed at least two or three Garda at Belfield last Friday - What the hell were they doing there and what were they expecting??? If your club officials choose to lay on extra secuity for when we visit then it is your own stupid fault. Throw your money away needlessly if you so wish, and keep believing that the next time we all head out to Belfield we'll all run amok and leave a wave of destrution in our wake. Who do you think you are: Longford:confused:
Seeming as even the small number that turned up managed to throw something at us for no reason, something I've never seen happen at Belfield, it's hardly complete and utter rubbish.
Under their fake title, they play at the same ground, have the same colours, the same ethos, and the same fan base as before, so they are in reality, Home Farm.
Um, how do they have the same ethos? Was Home Farm not a club with a big amateur ethos and a role of developing players along the lines of UCD? Whereas Dublin City seem to be a more professional and market orientated club. Also, discussing this before with their fans on this board, most if not all DC fans were not Home Farm fans. Did you put any thought in that post?:confused:
22/11/2005, 12:49 PM
Patsh, can you post an insult about someone without saying "little man" and adding a smiley as if you are cracking yourself up? Is it possible?
Is it possible you could stick your head any farther up your own h*le?
Is that possible, little man?
:D :eek: :p
ThatGuy
22/11/2005, 12:50 PM
Is it possible you could stick your head any farther up your own h*le?
Is that possible, little man?
:D :eek: :p
Very witty Patsh. Well done.
22/11/2005, 12:51 PM
Add him to your ignore list, ThatGuy. Much better!
22/11/2005, 12:52 PM
Very witty Patsh. Well done.
Why thank you, you are sooo kind.
22/11/2005, 12:52 PM
Add him to your ignore list, ThatGuy. Much better!
See, going to college can improve your intelligence!
22/11/2005, 12:53 PM
See, saved whatever puerile rubbish was in those two posts! Superb service.
22/11/2005, 12:54 PM
Comparing them to Kildare is ridiculous why? So what if the initial euphoria of having a club that represents your local area drew in bigger crowds? At the end of the day both Dub City and Kildare have similar crowds only Dublin City are a club that is doing more on and off the park. What will you be saying when your Kerry club goes the same way of Kildare? Bring in a Mayo club? So what if DCFC don't have a ground? Neither do our champions Cork City. As long as they have a fixed home to rent then that's good enough.
No they dont. Kildare are getting more crowds than CHF did in the premier division.
The Kerry club will bring more to the league than CHF ever will. That should be obvious.
BTW I'm not one of those who thinks that UCD shouldnt be in the league.
[/QUOTE]You're assuming a lot there. Firstly, you're assuming we care about you. We don't.
LOL take a look at gypoweb.
"Live TV"? Is that supposed to be exciting or something? Who gives a shít whether a match is on "live TV" or not?
Eh more coverage means more revenue:rolleyes:
Most football fans I know don't think mathematically. You can go in for the "ah no eL club has the right to turn down money, blah blah blah" if you want, but it simply doesn't matter. The season is over for us, those who care about this non-event would rather see Rovers fúck off to Cobh and Monaghan, for the rest of us it's an afterthought, if we remember we might check the score at half time in the Champions League football..[/QUOTE]
Well the ones you know probably didnt even go to school. It is simple economics and for a club like yourselves with mounting debt problems you have to think of finances. Quick example: you play us next season twice at dalymount, we bring maybe 1500 at €15 a head, or we get relegated and CHF bring their one man and his dog routine. Do you follow?
Afterthought? My you lot are more deluded than ever.
LFC your consistent anti Rovers posts means you cant see the point we're making. For the umpteenth time IF WE LOSE NO COMPLAINTS. But if you kept up thats not what we're saying:rolleyes:
See, saved whatever puerile rubbish was in those two posts! Superb service.
Unfortunately,you being an admin/mod I have to put up with yours.....
22/11/2005, 1:03 PM
No they don't. Kildare are getting more crowds than CHF did in the premier division.
The trip to Kildare next season will be an eye opener so!
Per the attendances thread here, Kildare are actually about matching Dublin City this season, let alone when DC were in the Premier.
I still think they have potential, but there's something seriously wrong down in Kildare at the moment. They've failed in a big way to make the impression people thought they would, or even that they started off making.
No they dont. Kildare are getting more crowds than CHF did in the premier division.
AM, no they aren't. The last match Kildare played against Galway there was an attendance of 94 which included the 2 juvenile teams that were the half time entertainment !!!
22/11/2005, 1:08 PM
If your club officials choose to lay on extra secuity for when we visit then it is your own stupid fault. Throw your money away needlessly if you so wish, and keep believing that the next time we all head out to Belfield we'll all run amok and leave a wave of destrution in our wake.
Just an addendum to that comment - I would imagine having Gardaí at the Rovers games could well be required by our insurance policy, in which case it's wouldn't be a case of us throwing money away, but rather your own reputation costing us money.
22/11/2005, 1:09 PM
Seeming as even the small number that turned up managed to throw something at us for no reason, something I've never seen happen at Belfield, it's hardly complete and utter rubbish.
More accusations!! I was there, and I saw nothing thrown.
Back it up with evidence. What was thrown? When? How often? How many Rovers fans were arrested for the incident(s)? Then you can say it's "complete and utter rubbish".
Was Home Farm not a club with a big amateur ethos? Whereas Dublin City seem to be a more professional and market orientated club.
They are still an amateur, ambitionless club. Where is all this professionalism all of a sudden??
discussing this before with their fans on this board, most if not all DC fans were not Home Farm fans.
Right, so where are the mass hordes of new Home Farm fans then?? How many of these new recruits will go to the play-offs?? They have zero fan base, and always will have zero. There are clubs playing Junior football, who have a bigger support than Home Farm, ffs. :rolleyes:
22/11/2005, 1:16 PM
AM, no they aren't. The last match Kildare played against Galway there was an attendance of 94 which included the 2 juvenile teams that were the half time entertainment !!!
You've proved my point. CHF dont even get 94. Granted Kildares crowds have come down but they have potential.
22/11/2005, 1:19 PM
Just an addendum to that comment - I would imagine having Gardaí at the Rovers games could well be required by our insurance policy, in which case it's wouldn't be a case of us throwing money away, but rather your own reputation costing us money.
Understand why there would be cops at the game but why have goons outside searching peoples bags on the way in?
22/11/2005, 1:22 PM
More accusations!! I was there, and I saw nothing thrown.
Back it up with evidence. What was thrown? When? How often? How many Rovers fans were arrested for the incident(s)? Then you can say it's "complete and utter rubbish".
Eh what? Are you joking? John83, poster here, standing right beside me had nuts thrown at him when we scored our equaliser by a group of 3-5 scangers. It happened once, which is once too many. There doesn't need to be any arrests for it to have happened. For God's sake, we're the ones who would be fined for your fans behaviour. I find it odd that you seem to only consider it a problem if it happened on a grand scale, more than once and contained arrests. Supporting Rovers too long perhaps?
They are still an amateur, ambitionless club. Where is all this professionalism all of a sudden??
You said they have the same ethos. The ethos of Home Farm has been outlined for you here and it is not similar to Dublin City unless you would care to outline properly how it is. How can you call them ambitionless when they're always striving to improve their situation?:confused:
Right, so where are the mass hordes of new Home Farm fans then?? How many of these new recruits will go to the play-offs?? They have zero fan base, and always will have zero. There are clubs playing Junior football, who have a bigger support than Home Farm, ffs.
Well ask them will you? I don't go to their games. Perhaps you've gone to many Home Farm and Dublin City games over the years and have photographic memories of both fan bases. How else would you know if they have the same fanbase? If this isn't the case then I suggest you go and ask their fans on their forum and they'll tell you whether they supported Home Farm or not.
Comparing them to Kildare is ridiculous why?
Probably not what youmeant but Kildare went through all the proper procedures when applying to the league. DC didn't. Thye just took HF's place.
22/11/2005, 1:29 PM
Probably not what youmeant but Kildare went through all the proper procedures when applying to the league. DC didn't. Thye just took HF's place.
I've always assumed they bought the legal entity that was HF and changed it to DCFC. They wouldn't need any procedures then would they? Or if they are something new then why do people call them CHF?
bigmac
22/11/2005, 1:31 PM
Can't hold DC responsible for the way the league is run though. They indicated an interest, the league told them how to go about it and they did what they were asked to do - how can that be their fault?
I've always assumed they bought the legal entity that was HF and changed it to DCFC. They wouldn't need any procedures then would they? Or if they are something new then why do people call them CHF?
Seery is quick enough to distance himself from HF. HF junior section still alive and DC rent Whitehall from HF. So HF still up and running but no longer a member of the el. Two separate clubs. One of which did not apply to join the league.
They're called CHF to keep Seery from believing he;s fgonna get the EuroSuperLeague franchise for Dublin.
They're a worthless club who bring nothing to the league and I hope they win promotion this week.
22/11/2005, 1:38 PM
They're a worthless club who bring nothing to the league and I hope they win promotion this week.
22/11/2005, 1:38 PM
So essentially you are saying DCFC are a new entity that were given their place by the FAI in a dodgy manner and not the continuation of the legal entity of Home Farm FC?
22/11/2005, 1:42 PM
I'm not sure if I can be arsed going to the Shed, the view from there isn't great, might go to the Jodi instead. Is there a neutral 'want to laugh at Rovers but not really want to play CHF next year' section?
Unfortunately,you being an admin/mod I have to put up with yours.....
He's not actually. You can ignore him., I'd recommend it. :D :p
22/11/2005, 1:44 PM
I'm not sure if I can be arsed going to the Shed, the view from there isn't great, might go to the Jodi instead. Is there a neutral 'want to laugh at Rovers but not really want to play CHF next year' section?
Ah go on, I'll be there.
He's not actually. You can ignore him., I'd recommend it. :D :p
A handy option often used in real life.:D
harpskid
22/11/2005, 1:51 PM
[QUOTE=Schumi]I'm not sure if I can be arsed going to the Shed, the view from there isn't great, might go to the Jodi instead. Is there a neutral 'want to laugh at Rovers but not really want to play CHF next year' section?/QUOTE]
If there's such a section, Ill be there
Drumcondra Red
22/11/2005, 1:54 PM
Might just go to Friday's game...
So essentially you are saying DCFC are a new entity that were given their place by the FAI in a dodgy manner and not the continuation of the legal entity of Home Farm FC?
Yep. Wouldn't be surprised if Seery faxed the FAI saying we've taken HFs place, with the FAI just accepting it.
Not going to bother going tonight but if its close I might head over on Friday. Think Rovers will walk it myself
22/11/2005, 2:06 PM
Is this a serious post?
Care to elabourate?:confused:
22/11/2005, 2:22 PM
Skimmed lightly over this thread, pausing only to chuckle at the inevitable confusion which ensues whenever Shams' reality intersects with our own. I'm thinking of forwarding the thread to NASA as conclusive proof of extraterrestrial intelligence - God knows some of the logic at work here didn't originate in our solar system.
Not too nervous about tonight. We've an outside (maybe 30%) chance of winning the tie, but the important fact is that, twelve months on, Shams are reaping the rewards of their perfidy, while Dublin City has picked itself off the canvas and arrived at the gates of the Premier once more. Don't think we're ready for promotion just yet (I know I couldn't stomach another season of Keelyism, which may yet transpire if we go up), but as long as we give a good account of ourselves, I shall be quite content. Three high-intensity games in six days will prove too arduous for First Division players, I fear.
Get over yourself! Rovers bring the smallest gate for a league Dublin derby game in Belfield since...Rovers in 2003 and you figure we're going to be "sh-itting" ourselves as the prospect of our gate receipts "collapsing"?! Over the last few years, Bohs have consistently brought the most to Belfield. In the first round of games this year, the four Dublin teams were about equal.
Well I can only speak for what clubs brought to Turners Cross and tbh we only got one decent away crowd and that was Derry the other night.
However, Rovers brought more than any other Dublin team, they brought over 150, Bohs brought at most 100, Pats and Shels only brought about 50 and UCD brought 3!
I'd take Rovers 150 for the atmosphere and rivalry anyday over the 1 or 2 Dublin City might bring.
Eh what? Are you joking? John83, poster here, standing right beside me had nuts thrown at him when we scored our equaliser by a group of 3-5 scangers. It happened once, which is once too many.
:D :D :D
Nuts ffs? How did you survive such a brutal attack??!!
22/11/2005, 2:27 PM
Some one threw nuts at him, call the riot squad!
I've seen similar posts on here before from UCD fans, "some bold boys looked at me sideways" or "a Rovers ruffian didn't wash his hands in the w.c.".
Rovers have a problem, but it helps no one if people are so desperate for hysteria that they hype up non-events like this.
Someone threw nuts:eek:
Typical, unacceptable behaviour is highlighted and you want to brush it away as small stuff. Sorry, I won't bother you until the object is metallic, sharp and of sufficient weight. Preferably if it damages the eye. Sorry to disturb you, you can kindly bury your head back under the sand now.
Could have been serious if they were Coconuts.
Not so serious if they were peanuts.
22/11/2005, 2:31 PM
Could have been serious if they were Coconuts.
Not so serious if they were peanuts.
How about if they were the dog's nuts? Would that be good or bad? :confused:
22/11/2005, 2:33 PM
I'd take Rovers' 150 for the atmosphere and rivalry any day over the 1 or 2 Dublin City might bring.
So I take you agree with me in disagreeing with mypost's comments that you'd be "shi-tting yourselves over the prospect of gate receipts collapsing from hosting Home Farm next season."
Understand why there would be cops at the game but why have goons outside searching peoples bags on the way in?
Probably because we were fined the previous week after Bohs fans brought a till roll into the ground and threw it onto the pitch, so just wanting to avoid that again.
So I take you agree with me in disagreeing with mypost's comments that you'd be "shi-tting yourselves over the prospect of gate receipts collapsing from hosting Home Farm next season."
Well our gate reciepts wouldn't collapse obviously but we would get a much smaller crowd if it was DC instead of Rovers.
We'd get around 5000 for a Rovers game but only 3000-3500 for DC game and the atmosphere at the Rovers game would be far better too.
22/11/2005, 2:39 PM
Well our gate reciepts wouldn't collapse obviously but we would get a much smaller crowd if it was DC instead of Rovers.
I agree. My point is that mypost thinks the massive Rovers bring thousands to games and enable the pauper clubs to survive whereas really they're not much bigger than any of the other Big 4 Dublin clubs at this stage. Not that you'd find a Rovers fan around who'd admit to that.
LFC in Exile
22/11/2005, 2:42 PM
How do you ET is a Rovers fan?
He looks like one. :) :)
22/11/2005, 2:50 PM
What kind of nuts were they? Cashews, peanuts, malaysian curry peanuts, garlic peanuts, smoked beer nuts, bbq nuts, wholenuts, chestnuts, butternuts, hazelnuts, walnuts, pine nuts, crunchy nuts, gourmet nuts or pistachios?
Were they dry roasted, lightly salted, roasted in oil, smoked, spicy or unsalted?
WELL?!
Drumcondra Red
22/11/2005, 2:55 PM
Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!!! Nuts! Fantastic!
LFC in Exile
22/11/2005, 4:13 PM
What kind of nuts were they? Cashews, peanuts, malaysian curry peanuts, garlic peanuts, smoked beer nuts, bbq nuts, wholenuts, chestnuts, butternuts, hazelnuts, walnuts, pine nuts, crunchy nuts, gourmet nuts or pistachios?
Were they dry roasted, lightly salted, roasted in oil, smoked, spicy or unsalted?
WELL?!
You weren't in 'Best in Show' by any chnace? Would explain a lot. :)