View Full Version : Keane Leaves United
JoeSemi
18/11/2005, 12:55 PM
it was the beanpole Crouch that did the damage-not Garcia,as everyone seems to think. get your facts right scouse sŁumbag:mad:
If your adamant it was Crouch then I've just penned a new chant that goes,
'He's big, he's red, he put Keane's career to bed, Peter Crouch, Peter Crouch'........:p
I knew I'd draw this kind of response! The fact I'm from Wexford means that calling me a 'Scouse sŁumbag' holds no relevance. If the boot was on the other foot and a liverpool legend had suddenly walked there'd be posts of a similar nature.
2Olegend
18/11/2005, 1:00 PM
Not the sort of spending the FAI like to see going on at all.
Spot on lionel - They wouldn't have the guts to employ him. I know he was doing his badges, but has he the necessary badges for that level. I know he has a doctorate but i don't think that counts.
Choice between Keegan and Roy? I pick the one who wants to win everything over the walk away one.
18/11/2005, 1:00 PM
Typical Dub jibe.
The man was a living legend. 12 years of loyal service to the cause of United.
A true hero- one i will never forget in all my days of loving this sport.
Keano(July 1993-Nov 2005):)
Keano's only 12? Surely he's a few years left in him so?
Loyalty? ...indeed -so loyal he broke his word to Dalglish having agreed to join Blackburn and did a U-turn on him when MUFC came up with a bigger wad.
and whats this "loyal service to the cause of united"? Are they trying to cure cancer now or something? They're a feckin football club ...and a misnomerically monikered football club at that. Kinda like calling a band the Lone Rangers.
klein4
18/11/2005, 1:09 PM
I think blackburn offered him more money, no?
and barcelona came calling offering him a hell of a lot more money and he stayed...
its sad to see non man u fans comin on and slaggin him off when they would give their right arm for a similar player who actually cared about the club he played for and wasnt just collectin a pay cheque.
A quality player who didnt accept excuses or second best.
Am very proud of the fact that he also happened to be Irish.
finlma
18/11/2005, 1:10 PM
If your adamant it was Crouch then I've just penned a new chant that goes,
'He's big, he's red, he put Keane's career to bed, Peter Crouch, Peter Crouch'........:p
Are you still here - go to the Liverpool forums. We don't care.
I knew I'd draw this kind of response! The fact I'm from Wexford means that calling me a 'Scouse sŁumbag' holds no relevance.
Making yourself sound a bit foolish there. So you dis-associate yourself from Liverpool but yet support the club. Very strange :confused:
If the boot was on the other foot and a liverpool legend had suddenly walked there'd be posts of a similar nature.
There might be on a Liverpool or Manure forum but not on an Irish one.
2Olegend
18/11/2005, 1:13 PM
If the boot was on the other foot and a liverpool legend had suddenly walked there'd be posts of a similar nature.
On hubcaps4sale.com or wherever.. not on an Ireland site. Are you lost?
mandrake
18/11/2005, 1:13 PM
If the rumours are true about him been effectively sacked, then I think the idea of never playing against Utd will go out the window. However I have a sneaking feeling that he could be the next Ireland manager. I just think the FAI will look at the Welsh the Dutch and the Germans and think they were good appointments. Also I think Delaney is a big supporter of Keane and Delaney is effectively calling the shots here. It would be a huge huge gamble. It would get me excited however I could certainly see the flaws in it. However I think we have change as a country from 1986 and I dont want some 2nd rate English manager whose career is coming to a close i.e. Venables, Keegan, Robson etc.
well said nielmcd....
agree with everything, it would be a gamble, would he take it, i'd say he wants to keep playing for a while and as he has retired again from ireland playing, would he come back....
Ah you be quiet Cat will ye. Go and play with your sliotar! :p
That's a great chant JoeSemi. He mighn't be able to hit the onion bag but Crouchy was well worth bringing to Merseyside for that alone!
HE'S BIG, HE'S RED.... HE PUT KEANE'S CAREER TO BED, PETER CROUCH PETER CROUCH... ;)
I can hear it coming from the Kop already!
JoeSemi
18/11/2005, 1:21 PM
Are you still here - go to the Liverpool forums. We don't care.
Making yourself sound a bit foolish there. So you dis-associate yourself from Liverpool but yet support the club. Very strange :confused:
There might be on a Liverpool or Manure forum but not on an Irish one.
Are Scousers people born in Liverpool or not?:confused: I'm a Liverpool fan through and through but not Liverpool born. If you want to call me Scouse then work away by all means sam. No worries!
If you don't care why not ignore my posts then?:)
Aldini98
18/11/2005, 1:24 PM
I'd say it a reference to winning 5 European Cups, unlike Man U :)
18/11/2005, 1:26 PM
Whats this doing in world football?:confused:
Roy is a former Irish international captain and future manager.
18/11/2005, 1:33 PM
The reason I presume it is in world football is because there are a few fools out there who have decided to turn it into a slagging match between Man Utd fans and LIverpool fans rather than discussing the future of and ex irish international and the possibility of him going on to manage Ireland. Both the pros and cons of this should be discussed. However a few people who have posted on this thread, dont seem to have the IQ to discuss such issues.
klein4
18/11/2005, 1:37 PM
then why not just divide it in to two threads one for the ireland related and the other for the " my clubs better than yours" brigade....instead of making people dredge thru the festering swamp that is..."World Football"....shudder!
18/11/2005, 1:37 PM
That doesn't seem like a valid reason to me.
18/11/2005, 1:46 PM
I was just on a Leeds supporters forum where someone asked
Who's going to clean Fergie's c o c k now....?
Oh mmmmmmmmmmercy!!!
Armando
18/11/2005, 1:54 PM
Luis Garcia has become an even bigger legend now having ended Keane's United career. All Hail King Luis!:D
It was a tackle from Gerrard earlier in the half that caused the injury according to Keane himself. He soldiered on for another half hour.
18/11/2005, 2:21 PM
oh my god. I was totally shocked when i hear the news. At the end of the day, it was best for all concerned.
18/11/2005, 2:28 PM
I was just on a Leeds supporters forum where someone asked
Oh mmmmmmmmmmercy!!!
You should be careful about repeatinig libelous statements about a wealth man.
18/11/2005, 3:06 PM
Exactly this should be in the national team forum . i dont know why it isnt.
Old Timer
18/11/2005, 3:09 PM
I'm totaly gutted about the news. A great player and leader for both club and country (here come's the abuse, relax and read on). He had his run in's with the FAI and Mick McCarthy, people are always going to be divided over this. I was on Keane's side, still am. Since the walk out, tell me what has changed with the FAI????? :mad: :mad: :mad:. Still no ground, still no training complex, school of excelance. But thats another day's work.
I'd just ike to say, the man wear's his heart on his sleeve and tell's it like it is. Better have it in your face, then some little s**t going behind your back.
Something is not right in Old Trafford.
I'm not getting into a slagging match with Liverpool fan's, because they make up stupid song's. Any and i mean any club in Europe, would have loved to have Roy Keane. I dare you to deiny it. But unlike some players now, he was loyal to his club and his manager for 12 1/2 years, and that at least earn's the respect of his peer's and fan's. Cantona may have been a more creative player, but not the leader Keane was. He was the one that got them to Barcalona '99, in the Semi-final v Juve, If you look at the video of that game again, it stands out as one of the most outstanding performances of a mid-field player ever. He did get a cup winners medal, but i dont think he reagrd's it too highly, as he was'nt on the pitch for the game. Sad. I dont know about him being a manager, i dont think he has what it takes. But he would be one of the best coaches and motivators in any club. Best of luck to you Roy Keane..... Living Legend
anto1208
18/11/2005, 3:20 PM
Exactly this should be in the national team forum . i dont know why it isnt.
as a wild stab in the dark id say its in world football because MAN UTD sacked MAN UTD'S captain , it is nothing to do with ireland .
18/11/2005, 3:33 PM
Eh in case you didnt notice he played for and captained Ireland. The national team forum should have space for past and future players .
He may have been loyal to his club and manager over the years but it appears he has been effectively sacked for speaking his mind. So much for loyalty.
Old Timer
18/11/2005, 3:59 PM
Sad, Dotsy. IMO Keane (or any player) would not be allowed go on MUTV without Fergie's approval of the script. And Fergie gave the go ahead, probably under pressure from the powers that be. Pity the club was not loyal to Keane, in the same way they were loyal to Rio for eight months. Looks like the old saying ' Give a man enough rope and he'll hang himself'. It's all sketchy now, but i can feel another book from Uncle Eamo on the way... watch this space.:eek: :eek:
hes play for us tomorro against dublin and if we get the play offs..then hes going to real madrid.
p.s. ballack is going to real.
anto1208
18/11/2005, 4:26 PM
the whole ballack thing may be a factor , did nt roy have to be the top paid player or something like that , so if they offer ballack 140 grand a week they'd have to give keane the same , maybe he was ousted to free up some cash .
18/11/2005, 4:29 PM
:confused: I was shocked to hear he left , Maybe a Cork City player in the Future Im sure Rico could fit him in the squad.;)
Would he be good enough to play for City?:D
18/11/2005, 4:31 PM
Sad, Dotsy. IMO Keane (or any player) would not be allowed go on MUTV without Fergie's approval of the script. And Fergie gave the go ahead, probably under pressure from the powers that be. Pity the club was not loyal to Keane, in the same way they were loyal to Rio for eight months. Looks like the old saying ' Give a man enough rope and he'll hang himself'. It's all sketchy now, but i can feel another book from Uncle Eamo on the way... watch this space.:eek: :eek:
Rio's English and Roy's Irish need any more be said?:rolleyes:
the whole ballack thing may be a factor , did nt roy have to be the top paid player or something like that , so if they offer ballack 140 grand a week they'd have to give keane the same , maybe he was ousted to free up some cash .
rio...
18/11/2005, 4:56 PM
some posts here are nothing short of pathetic. i cant stand any Irish person who puts inter english premiership club rivalry before their own countrys team and players.
flawed personality in some ways is roy but without doubt the best player ever to wear the green shirt. couldnt give a damn if he didnt do friendlies etc... he always did it when it mattered unlike a lot of others. proud that he is Irish and proud to have seen him play so many times..... he deserves better than to have a no-use beanpole like crouch being credited with ending his utd club career
some posts here are nothing short of pathetic. i cant stand any Irish person who puts inter english premiership club rivalry before their own countrys team and players.
flawed personality in some ways is roy but without doubt the best player ever to wear the green shirt. couldnt give a damn if he didnt do friendlies etc... he always did it when it mattered unlike a lot of others. proud that he is Irish and proud to have seen him play so many times..... he deserves better than to have a no-use beanpole like crouch being credited with ending his utd club career
totally agree...
im sad i only seen him play in the flesh twice!:(
18/11/2005, 5:16 PM
Well I have to endorse your entire first paragraph. I would argue they should have their passports confiscated and be deported to Ingerland where they would clearly be happier... alas I am not in charge!:D
18/11/2005, 5:18 PM
Roy Keane is was and always will be the finest product ever to come off the production line of the League of Ireland First Division... without a shadow of doubt.
I happen to think Paul McGrath because of his versatility was a better overall player, but Keane was exceptional in an era of nothing special players in the Cross channel Leagues.
Karlos
18/11/2005, 5:35 PM
Roy Keane is was and always will be the finest product ever to come off the production line of the League of Ireland First Division... without a shadow of doubt.
I happen to think Paul McGrath because of his versatility was a better overall player, but Keane was exceptional in an era of nothing special players in the Cross channel Leagues.
I would place both Mcgrath and Brady above Keane as better players.
Don't won't to get involed in any of the other sh*te. All I will say however is I firmly believe Shay Given was the one that got us to the World Cup in 2002 and not Roy Keane all on his own (although he was fastastic for us then, he was not a one man show!)
Metrostars
18/11/2005, 6:27 PM
Last time I checked, footie is a team game. Shay Given or Roy Keane did not get Ireland to the World Cup on their own. The whole team got themselves to the World Cup.
jofyisgod
18/11/2005, 7:13 PM
Hardly a shock.
Glad he's gone. Now maybe everyone will just shut the fcuk up about him and "how great he is".:rolleyes: Hopefully, this will be the final Keane thread on foot.ie...hopefully:)
18/11/2005, 7:23 PM
Hardly a shock.
Glad he's gone. Now maybe everyone will just shut the fcuk up about him and "how great he is".:rolleyes: Hopefully, this will be the final Keane thread on foot.ie...hopefully:)
I doubt it will be the last thread, if you don't want read about one of
Irelands greatest footballers I suggest you go and support England,
I have no doubt you are a big Beckham fan!!
jofyisgod
18/11/2005, 7:29 PM
I doubt it will be the last thread, if you don't want read about one of
Irelands greatest footballers I suggest you go and support England,
I have no doubt you are a big Beckham fan!!
Oh my God...beyond the f'in pale. Why England? So if i don't want to read about an over-hyped individual that automatically makes me a fan of David Beckham.
Are Beckham and Keane mutually exclusive? What did all the ManUre fans do for all those years?:rolleyes:
18/11/2005, 11:20 PM
I have not heard that Roy has retired from football yet. He has only stopped playing for Man U.
Marked Man
19/11/2005, 12:40 AM
couldnt give a damn if he didnt do friendlies etc... he always did it when it mattered unlike a lot of others.
Like in wc 2002?
19/11/2005, 1:55 AM
It's Ferguson who should have got the boot, not Keane. Fergie the red nose reindeer is a complete fool who's lost the plot at this stage. I'm predicting bad times for United, all this has got to have unsettled the players and will probably affect their game. Alex Ferguson is going to ruin Man U, he should have left while he was still regarded as a good manager, now he's just gonna fade away. Muppet!:mad:.
Keane to sign for Celtic within two weeks.
19/11/2005, 8:43 AM
he always did it when it mattered unlike a lot of others. proud that he is Irish ....
Would you like to rethink this one!
FarBeag
19/11/2005, 8:48 AM
Keane is and will always be the best footballer to come out of Ireland.Fcuk ye clowns slagging him off and anyone that does knows nothing about football.
M@ttitude
19/11/2005, 8:53 AM
Fair play to ya Roy, fantastic career!! Go to Celtic now and win a few more trophies. He broke my heart in 2002, and i always hated man u but he's a true firey Irish man who will always be remembered as a legend! and that counts for alot in my book..
Closed Account 2
19/11/2005, 10:12 AM
United are in deep trouble now, the only player they had who actually gave a stuff week in and week out for their team has gone. They've no natural captain or leader on the pitch any more. Rooney's too much of a hot head, Van Nistelroy is a boring, gormless, silent-type and Ferdinand is too dopey (no pun). Neville doesn't have captaincy-class. They were treading water, now they're sinking. Although I dont like the club, feel sorry for the genuine fans, they've lost the only member of the squad who was one of them.
deadman
19/11/2005, 11:13 AM
it's like a wake over at old trafford
http://www.manutd.com
deadman
19/11/2005, 11:15 AM
it's like a wake over at old trafford
http://www.manutd.com
Marked Man
19/11/2005, 12:39 PM
Keane is and will always be the best footballer to come out of Ireland.Fcuk ye clowns slagging him off and anyone that does knows nothing about football.
Brady and McGrath were both better than him. Not to mention George Best.
jofyisgod
19/11/2005, 2:52 PM
Precisely. He left and never looked back...ever:rolleyes:
He might occasionally glance at Ireland on his way out of Manchester, or Saipan...depending on his mood.
FarBeag
20/11/2005, 6:12 PM
Brady and McGrath were both better than him. Not to mention George Best.
For starters Best did not play for Ireland. I am not disputing that either of the others were not good footballers but Mcgrath was an alco and Brady played in a different era. IMO football is better to watch now than it was when Brady played.