View Full Version : Rovers Fans
If anyone of these lovely minor clubs were at the match, you'd understand the point of the thread.
Otherwise as such events are not publicised, you can never know what actually what went on and what it was about. There are 1,493 people in Ireland who would understand this thread. Some people are juxtaposing the same old clichés to the same drivel about crediting other fans, specifically ad ordinarily Rovers fans.
I was going to point that out Terry, but I thought I'd wait and see how long he took to work it out from my login! (Here's a clue Redgav- look at the second word)
08/11/2005, 1:37 PM
Who were the 2 good looking cork young ones walking in front of the jodi?!:D
RedGav and Peadar
redgav
08/11/2005, 1:40 PM
not how irrelevant supporters of other clubs are.
More praise please...
:D tut tut - the hypermentalist pc brigade will be burning effigies of you for that one
RedGav and Peadar
Well I would've, anyway................;)
Passive
08/11/2005, 2:15 PM
Now to the really relevant question: Who were the 2 good looking cork young ones walking in front of the jodi?!:D
NY Hoop, you're disturbed. Those birds were around 12. Even Manic da Hoop said they were too young, and he's basically a League of Ireland Gary Glitter.
That said, I still would have...:)
redgav
08/11/2005, 2:30 PM
I was going to point that out Terry, but I thought I'd wait and see how long he took to work it out from my login! (Here's a clue Redgav- look at the second word)
ahhh . the penny drops ..You are a football fan , as opposed to a fella from galway that has a harp making business ..I get it now
Still doesn't take from the fact that your b!tchin and moanin makes thousands of wives jealous
bigmac
08/11/2005, 2:31 PM
From my experience at the RSC, I have never seen missiles been thrown when we've been there. I have also never heard of any such incident there in the past.
Think it was a cup game, not sure how many years ago, and coming out the gates after the game the guards went to close the gates to keep the Rovers fans inside (no idea why). I almost got caught inside with my father and when we were outside coins started flying over the fence into the crowds outside. Nobody was hurt and it didn't escalate, but it's the only time I've ever been in a situation like that.
Wrong! The fact that the fans own the club, allows us to take a hardline stance against any incident involving the club's fans.
I agree, but my point was that as fans who own the club, you can't wash your hands of the minority and say "it's up to the club to ban them" because the fans are the club.
Speranza
08/11/2005, 2:35 PM
Fair play Rovers.
People have to remember that it is easy for fans to travel in big numbers when they are at the top and be noisy i.e us but we also done this when we were down were rovers are now.
Rovers fans are passionate and a credit to the league. The new board are clearly making efforts to eradicate the scum so talking about them is just old news.
Singing til you are hoarse does not make you a "proper fan". I sing every match I attend but it doesn't make me btter than any other fan who forsake the Premier****e nonsense that pollutes this country for their local side.
If anyone of these lovely minor clubs were at the match, you'd understand the point of the thread.
Otherwise as such events are not publicised, you can never know what actually what went on and what it was about. There are 1,493 people in Ireland who would understand this thread. Some people are juxtaposing the same old clichés to the same drivel about crediting other fans, specifically ad ordinarily Rovers fans.
Spot on
Rovers fans were outstanding last night. I would love (or hate ;) ) too see how other fans would react to what went on last night if it was their own team.
Their team was in deep trouble, their manager didnt have a clue, the players looked like they were never even given a plan A, the Ref was poor, they were playing a clearly better team but they put on a great showing that left City fans who normally have no grá at all for Rovers very impressed
bigmac
08/11/2005, 2:52 PM
Singing til you are hoarse does not make you a "proper fan". I sing every match I attend but it doesn't make me btter than any other fan who forsake the Premier****e nonsense that pollutes this country for their local side.
Good point Speranza, my father's been going to Waterford games since he was snuck in under the turnstiles in Kilcohan as a kid. He never stands up, ("i paid for a seat, why would i stand up?") rarely sings, but anyone who thinks he's not a proper fan needs his head examined. Proper fans turn up for leagu cup games against Rockmount Celtic, and go to games no matter what division or league position the club is in. If you want to know how many real fans your club has, then you can only base it on the lowest attendance figure of the season.
Roverstillidie
08/11/2005, 2:54 PM
peader, colm, thanks for the kind words, always appreciated. ignore the bitterness from the rest who are unhappy with not being mentioned in relation to a rovers cork game :confused:
sizeable crowd for a monday in that weather. just a pity whorisky decided to be a silly ****
08/11/2005, 2:57 PM
If you want to know how many real fans your club has, then you can only base it on the lowest attendance figure of the season.
spot on bigmac.
08/11/2005, 3:11 PM
The thread may have been started to congratulate Rovers fans but a Cork fan chose to insult the fans of most of the league's clubs. The rest of us probably shouldn't have bothered reacting, but it's a public forum and we've every right to do so if we feel like it.
And much like yourself ... Cork fans would have a right to express their thoughts, it works both way .... City fans are tired of people giving out when they are losing a debate/argument someone will jump it and blame Cork fans, sometimes in threads where a Cork fan hasn't even posted, Cork fans are probably tired about he comments like "and there was 30,000 at the cross"
Granted most Cork fans wear it fairly well .... but just the fact that you are getting shirty over someone suggesting your club doesn't travel in big numbers then City fans have the right to get p!ssed off too or at should at least have the right to ACTUALLY be guilty of something before someone gets to blame them :p ..... anyway .... it is a total generalisation.
The fact is that many people from a lot of different clubs are sick of listening to some of the garbage that some Cork fans have been coming out with over the last few years. As has been pointed out before- ultimately we're all small clubs and crowds overall in the league are woeful.
That is not Corks fault .... dont try and hinge that on Cork fans ... any fan in the league can make an observation ... so why not Cork fans ??
And just for the record ... i am not directing that at you Galway Harps ..... its really to all the fans who see fit to take things out on Cork fans the minute things aren't going their way.
thomas
08/11/2005, 3:14 PM
A Cork fan ran onto the pitch after they scored their second goal against Rovers, in full view of their own fans. What will happen to him? :confused:
Well he got turfed out and met the constables for a cup of tea in fitzgibbon street afterwards.
It was the 'proper fans' stuff that I was getting annoyed about, and in fairness it isn't just Cork fans who are guilty of it.
And I never said anyone couldn't make an observation!
As for redgav- has it ever occured to you that you may have a problem with women?
Roverstillidie
08/11/2005, 3:37 PM
[QUOTE=Galway Harps]It was the 'proper fans' stuff that I was getting annoyed about, and in fairness it isn't just Cork fans who are guilty of it.
[QUOTE]
no its not. a coule of cork fans, who have no particular love of rovers, were so impressed with us last night they came on here to compliment our fans who were defiant in the face of the abyss last night and a predicitible whine eminates from the smaller clubs. 'were great too, notice us' :rolleyes:
this has been discussed elsewhere recently. the site is dying on its arse because keyboard warriors with nothing to say hijack interesting threads with pure garbage. if you have nothing to contribute to a discussion about last nights events, download a song or something. just go away.
08/11/2005, 4:04 PM
This thread is very similar to another one recently...Cork fans syaing how great they are and how most other clubs don't have "proper" fans.:rolleyes: .I remember when we used to play Cork in the premier and yee used to have 10-20 fans...where was the great rebal army then?:confused: .I wonder would yee bring 250 fans to Monaghan in a first divison match...doubt it!.I read the 4 pages and 3 Cork fans thought they were high enough to have a dig at Galway...whatever we bring an away support of 30-50 to alot if not most away games and we would have a massive support if we were in Europe and top of the league.So stop talking as if yee have been around for years....yere support has only got big in the last 3 years,maybe 5.
Derry are the best fans in Ireland...always have brought a large away support even when they were ****e...not a bunch of bandwagon supporters like Cork...shams always bring a big support to.
DERRY FOR THE LEAGUE!!!!!!!!!!
So now you're telling me what I was annoyed about- that's a neat trick!
08/11/2005, 4:16 PM
yere support has only got big in the last 3 years,maybe 5.
Our increase home attendances coincided with our switch from Sunday to Friday for home games. Sunday was difficult for a county with such a great GAA heritage.
Derry are the best fans in Ireland...always have brought a large away support even when they were ****e
Last Monday Derry had no more than 30 in Belfield.
Last night we had about 300 in Dalymount.
I've been to loads of Derry games in the last few years where 30 was their average away support.
No team in Ireland travels as much as Cork City FC.
Until Waterford got promoted, Longford was our local Derby.
You're a little club with tiny support. That's something you need to deal with, not me.
08/11/2005, 4:21 PM
You're a little club with tiny support. That's something you need to deal with, not me.
Ya whatever.As i said before yere all a bunch of bandwagon supporters...yee had a **** support for years until yee got good.I guarantee Galway would a large support if we were in yere position but if yee want to think that yee were always massive...fair enough.
BTW why did you feel the need to have a dig at GUFC i was just stating the obvious.It seems to be a common trait among "some" CCFC supporters to slate other clubs.Who are you to have a go at us?:confused:
Just to point out i have nothing against Cork or there fans but "some" posters are from Cork are posting an incredible amount of crap.
Roverstillidie
08/11/2005, 4:25 PM
mods, the point has been made, lock the thread before it gets totally hijacked by the galway boys. unbelievably petty.
lads, thanks for the words of support, and thanks to billy and rico who came over to us to applaud us. we arent each others favourites, but last night puts some good will in there.
i partially retract my 'i hate all corkies' statement of yesterday. ;)
08/11/2005, 4:26 PM
BTW why did you feel the need to have a dig at GUFC i was just stating the obvious.
I was just stating the obvious too Conor.
This thread was about Rovers fans last night. If you weren't at the game then you don't know what we're talking about so please go and get wound up elsewhere. You've nothing significant to contribute here.
08/11/2005, 4:28 PM
mods, lock the thread before it gets totally hijacked by the galway boys. unbelievably petty.
. ;)
:confused: What once were not all praising yee the thread should be locked.It is obvious this went off topic before the "galway boys hijacked":rolleyes: the thread.
08/11/2005, 4:30 PM
i partially retract my 'i hate all corkies' statement of yesterday. ;)
We know you love us, deep down somewhere. ;)
Respect to Kenny for his sporting gesture after the game. He apologised to Colin and Rico and shook hands with the other City players. I think everyone knew there was no malice in his clash with Colin anyway but it was a big thing to come back out and make his peace in front of everyone.
08/11/2005, 4:31 PM
It seems to be a common trait among "some" CCFC supporters to slate other clubs.Who are you to have a go at us?:confused:
Just to point out i have nothing against Cork or there fans but "some" posters are from Cork are posting an incredible amount of crap.
Can you not just single out those posters .... instead of tarr all with one brush ?? I swear .... it would actually be easier and you're argument would hold up better aswell.
Bald Student
08/11/2005, 4:32 PM
Lads,
The thread went off topic in the fourth post.
Yeah fair play to Rovers fans last night, they were excellent.... I maintain that only them, us and maybe Derry have the only sets of proper fans in this league.
Contrast them with Bohs last week or Waterford the other night who were pathetic.
Chatting about it in Doyles after the game and we were all commenting on what a weird fcuked up turn of events had taken place.... one week City fans are battering Bohs "fans", the following week City fans are applauding Rovers fans out of the ground!!
Anyway, I'll say it again fair play Rovers. I hope ye stay up and Waterford go down.Like someone said earlier, most teams have good supporters, some have more than others.
08/11/2005, 4:33 PM
I was just stating the obvious too Conor.
This thread was about Rovers fans last night. If you weren't at the game then you don't know what we're talking about so please go and get wound up elsewhere. You've nothing significant to contribute here.
Las time i checked free speech was allowed even to people who talk complete ****e like you.So if i have something to say,i'll say it.;)
08/11/2005, 4:37 PM
mods, the point has been made, lock the thread before it gets totally hijacked by the galway boys. unbelievably petty.
I cant just lock it for that !! :)
Its only until someone draws blood .... then we'll lock it !! :p
Roverstillidie
08/11/2005, 4:38 PM
:confused: What once were not all praising yee the thread should be locked.It is obvious this went off topic before the "galway boys hijacked":rolleyes: the thread.
no, its not that you arent praising rovers fans, you arent even talking about them in the first place. you werent at the game, you saw none of what went on at the game, yet you are going on and on about some nonsense that is irrelevant. stick to the topic or **** off, no-one wants to hear snide comments about whether cork fans are bandwagon jumpers. start a thread on it if it matters that much to you.
you read like a 3 year old who has just been introduced to their new younger sibling. jumping up and down shouting 'mummy, look at me'. or in this case 'galway fans are great too'.
every second thread gets hijacked by some small club chip on shoulder type because they werent mentioned in the same breath as rovers and cork and i have a pain in my arse with it.
its my new mission, spam busting on foot.ie :D
Partizan
08/11/2005, 4:40 PM
The bitching, moaning, whining and egotistical nature of your average
C/\wkie is a joy to behold.
Now come on Derry :D
08/11/2005, 4:50 PM
The bitching, moaning, whining and egotistical nature of your average
C/\wkie is a joy to behold.
Now come on Derry :D
Wibble Wibble !! :p
ccfcgirl
08/11/2005, 5:00 PM
Fair play to Rovers fans last night .It felt weirde leaving the ground with so many Rovers supporters wishing us well in the League .No trouble between both sets of fans and good banter was had .(Even the langer chants when i was heading to the chipper van was sung in good faith;) )
Speranza
08/11/2005, 5:09 PM
Last Monday Derry had no more than 30 in Belfield.
Last night we had about 300 in Dalymount
Conor and everyone else ignore this bull. Last monday was Halloween night without doubt the biggest night of the year in Derry and one of the biggest celebrations in Europe for the date. It also wasn't a bank holiday.
The truth is that if Cork where in the situation we were in a few years ago or Rovers at the minute then they would have very little support.
Blaming the increase in attendance on a switch of nights is foolishness typical of some poster on here. We have switched nights before and its been to blame for a max fluctuation of 200-300 supporters.
08/11/2005, 5:26 PM
Agree with ya 100% Speranza.I'm not going to bother replying to the post by the shams fan who just summed up all that i was going on about.
Come on Derry win the league!
Mental Man
08/11/2005, 5:54 PM
Its bloody disgusting to see the egotistical nature of certain supporters on this message board knocking supporters of other clubs for expressing a view in which they are entitled to do just because in their eyes they belong as they see it to a "small club" and dont theoretically exist.
Some clubs this year have been to hell and back mine more so in trying to keep things going and it was down to supporters of these so called small clubs who do trojan work in keeping the club they love afloat.
It got so bad down in waterford 1 night that we got together and went out to a few housing estates trying to sell lotto tickets in order to pay wages that week and i am even up to now paying to go to see my team play at every game even though i am a season ticket holder.
Shame on those ignorant muppets who knock supporters of other clubs just beacuse they are not " a big club " , call yerselves League of Ireland supporters, Ye make me want ta spew.:mad: :mad:
Arguments like this only gives Barstoolers and other enemies of the EL ammunition to fire at it when we are trying to some to protect a league that is under so much threat these days.
Cop yourselves on and grow up!!!!!!!!!!!!
Roverstillidie
08/11/2005, 6:08 PM
Mental, no-one is denying that, but what the hell relevance is that to a thread about last night?
Seriously?
Cork say rovers fans were to be commended and 5 pages later you are busting a blood vessel because a cork fan didnt say galway fans are best.
what a phenomenal waste of time and energy.
this thread was about rovers and cork, now its about chips on certain fans shoulders that no-one ever complements them.
some of the nonsense on this thread sums up why this site is losing visitors and relevance.
1 9 2 8
08/11/2005, 6:11 PM
I remember not so long ago when Cork only got 900 "proper fans" at a home league game:p .
Mental Man
08/11/2005, 6:19 PM
I understand perfectly what you are saying lad, but to see some of the comments on here about supporters of other clubs not being in the same class as certain supporters from big clubs makes me boil.
I dont want to go on any further or else i will be on valium.
If you want to know who in my years of going to games up and down the country who i personally found to be the nicest bunch of supporters in the land i will say honestly iy has to be Derry fans.
What a great bunch of supporters and i hope ye win the league because ye deserve it and dont go on harpin about how great a club ye are,they just go about their business and play great football.
They are a credit to the league and fair play to them.
I saw them applauding the blues of the pitch up in derry 2 weeks ago and gave Pat dolan a standing ovation, i was gob smacked and had a lump in my throat and i will be shouting for them at the final game against cork.:p
Roverstillidie
08/11/2005, 6:31 PM
you are 1 of the good guys MM, and you are to be respected for what you have done for your club.
but half these posters are kids on a wind up, and are being a pain in the arse for the sake of it.
its not unreasonable to say certain clubs have a different type of support
FYI RoverstilIDie- I follow Finn Harps, not Galway.
Noone is looking for anyone to say they're great too, a lot of people are sick of being dismissed as second class eircom league fans by certain people. It was Colm who did this in this thread and people had every right to react to it. If ye wanted to have a nice wee love-in the thread should not have contained such references or else should not have been in the general eL section but in either the Cork or Rovers forum.
Incidentally, fair play to them, but Rovers aren't the only club that have ever stuck with their team through tough times- Galway's support the year they got relegated was superb and I remember Bohs fans being brilliant before during and after losing a cup final to Shels.
08/11/2005, 6:41 PM
FYI RoverstilIDie- I follow Finn Harps, not Galway.
Noone is looking for anyone to say they're great too, a lot of people are sick of being dismissed as second class eircom league fans by certain people. It was Colm who did this in this thread and people had every right to react to it. If ye wanted to have a nice wee love-in the thread should not have contained such references or else should not have been in the general eL section but in either the Cork or Rovers forum.
Incidentally, fair play to them, but Rovers aren't the only club that have ever stuck with their team through tough times- Galway's support the year they got relegated was superb and I remember Bohs fans being brilliant before during and after losing a cup final to Shels.
If it was Colm who started it in your opinion ... why didn't you say Colm, instead of labeling every Cork fan, i haven't read so i could be wrong but didn't Colm say he didn't mean anything by it ??
Lads ... maybe people are over reacting a small bit, but equally people should try and stop making certain comments and avoid such flare ups ..... but it think it is mad to say there cant be a discussion of what went on after a game without everyone wanting it moved off to another forum. It was the only game on last night too !!
its not unreasonable to say certain clubs have a different type of support
That is getting closer to the point of the thread...I wonder how many games regular Cork fans have been at this season where they have won that comfortably in the end and the opposition fans have stayed and didn't leave for 10 minutes afterwards........?
As to a point made earlier, Derry fans do not have a big support when they're badly...when they came to Richmond and we beat them 5-1, there were very few to my recollection - 4 or 5 and their drum - the season they were in the play off. This is the point of the thread....but again only people who were there will realise it.
Speranza
08/11/2005, 7:01 PM
It's a pity that we don't have the archive of posts as during the last two seasons when we were **** we were voted best fans in the league by posters on this site. I don't want to flaunt about our fans but DFX you are talking rubbish.
I am not doubting that you are great fans, however getting voted here does not prove your theory, speranza. I have nothing against Derry and personally I hope they win the league solely based on thinking they are better team overall, imo...
I also remember last season at Richmond on the night of our protest not seeeing very many, more than the time above, but not hoardes as one person would have you believe earlier in the thread...nothing wrong with the amount you brought, just wasn't as big as some obviously think here..
08/11/2005, 8:47 PM
When we beat you 4-1 you had only about ten you had about 50 for the second game , but still not near as big as what we brought to ye !
this has all been discussed before and it's just like you to bring it up to get a reaction.Where was yere away support in Terryland last year:confused: ......just leave it Rogue Trader will ya!
Roverstillidie
08/11/2005, 10:23 PM
this has all been discussed before and it's just like you to bring it up to get a reaction.Where was yere away support in Terryland last year:confused: ......just leave it Rogue Trader will ya!
pain in the hole when people come on here and talk absoulte horsesh.it, isnt it :rolleyes:
08/11/2005, 10:47 PM
pain in the hole when people come on here and talk absoulte horsesh.it, isnt it :rolleyes:I agree that it shouldn't be brought back up again but who are you to say that all that is "horsesh.it"? Were you at either of our matches in the Showgrounds of Terryland?:confused:, if not then you cant really comment;)
BohsFans
08/11/2005, 10:55 PM
Yeah fair play to Rovers fans last night, they were excellent.... I maintain that only them, us and maybe Derry have the only sets of proper fans in this league.
Contrast them with Bohs last week or Waterford the other night who were pathetic.
Chatting about it in Doyles after the game and we were all commenting on what a weird fcuked up turn of events had taken place.... one week City fans are battering Bohs "fans", the following week City fans are applauding Rovers fans out of the ground!!:D
Anyway, I'll say it again fair play Rovers. I hope ye stay up and Waterford go down.
That's funny because I heard what happened you last week Colm! :D
BohsFans
08/11/2005, 11:01 PM
Check my posts over the last year or so and you'll see that I'm a big fan of what the 400 club are doing
but there aint even 400 in the 400 club!! :D