View Full Version : Bohs Stewards

01/11/2005, 10:13 AM
For the most part, I thought they did a great job last night. They had to deal with smoke bombs and a few pitch invaders as well as a big crowd of visiting fans but there was no heavy handed tactics or over the top reactions.

Credit where credit is due.

It's a shame the Gardaí couldn't police the perimeter properly.

01/11/2005, 10:41 AM
The Bohs stewards have always been the best I've come across.
Always found them polite!

01/11/2005, 10:46 AM
Fair Play
our stewards are generally mild mannered and jovial
but on occasion they like everyone else can be muppetts
thanks for your kind words though

ps cork fans were super last night(except for a couple of idiots......we've all got them):) fair play

01/11/2005, 12:37 PM
Few people on the pitch was handled properly as was only small number & no malic intended. Few idiots celebrating with advertising hoarding wasn't made a big issue by stewards which is to their credit.

01/11/2005, 12:41 PM
Just on this steward love in, they stewards dealing with Patts fans on Friday were excellent. Knew we were having a laugh, and treated us accordingly

01/11/2005, 12:46 PM
Have to agree, even when they were moving us along twenty minutes after full-time, they were patient and polite.
TBH though, as has been said, we've come to expect it at Bohs.

01/11/2005, 2:16 PM
Thats why there called B.E.S.T
Bohs Event Security Team

Philo
01/11/2005, 2:35 PM
Have to agree, even when they were moving us along twenty minutes after full-time, they were patient and polite.
TBH though, as has been said, we've come to expect it at Bohs.

Yeah great stuff from the Cork fans yesterday. Funny how we can let Cork fans sing away without any problems long after the match had ended but Rovers are still crying about the time 50 or so kids were taunting them (at their home match) with "Bohs til I die", forcing them to cause a crowd crush and invade the pitch.

01/11/2005, 2:43 PM
Yeah great stuff from the Cork fans yesterday. Funny how we can let Cork fans sing away without any problems long after the match had ended but Rovers are still crying about the time 50 or so kids were taunting them (at their home match) with "Bohs til I die", forcing them to cause a crowd crush and invade the pitch.

Funny how you didnt put the cork fans onto the unsafe connaught st side. Still crying?:rolleyes: Dont think so.

Roverstillidie
01/11/2005, 3:22 PM

i was at that game with a couple of mates who wouldnt be huge EL fans. i told them about the bohs keyboard warriors 'version' of events and they were highly amused.
just to remind those who werent there, 50 or so bsc wouldnt leave the stand because they knew we hads to stand in the rain until the last of them left. a teenage girl tried to leave the rovers end, she was muscled back into the connaught by a cop and this caused a flare up. so 30 hoops ran onto the pitch to, ahem, 'help' the gardai clear the stand. which they did. in record time.
and it wasnt us who were crying about that incident.
and just out of interest, who do you know what the 50 bsc who shat themselves as they legged it were singing?

and if you cant tell the difference between leaving cork fans to sing after the game and making us stand in the rain on that ****hole with no access to toilets, food or drinks, you are more deluded than the average gypo

Philo
01/11/2005, 4:31 PM
1. It was NOT the BSC in the Jodi after the match - just the young lads up the back of the steps of F&G who are always there.

2. I know what they were singing because I was at the back of the Jodi taking down flags within feet of them. "Going down" was also sung.... oooh, how provocative.

3. It was Rovers' home match - any problems with security on the day were Rovers' problems.

4. Of course they legged it from the stand. With Rovers casuals coming across the pitch at them, the last thing they wanted was a fight because they are not the BSC.

5. We are able to have Cork fans in the same stand as us and that's a good thing. Shame the same can't be said for Rovers.

6. "30 Hoops"? See video (http://www.iol.ie/~bohsfc/roversinvadepitch.wmv)

7. Note bright skies and absence of rain in above linked video.

8. Stop believing your own bullshít.

01/11/2005, 4:47 PM
Yea Bohs stewards are great during a match, where do go afterwards though

Philo
01/11/2005, 4:49 PM

Home?

01/11/2005, 4:51 PM
Home?

The second the final whistle goes? Maybe they shoud clear away the home fans first and then go home?

Philo
01/11/2005, 4:58 PM
It's tricky to clear all home fans when there are three bars in the stand where members and supporters drink after games. Cork fans were also made welcome in the bars and many took advantage.

Bomb Landsdowne
01/11/2005, 5:50 PM
Fair play to the girl steward who tackled one of the pitch invaders. Fiesty young one.

redgav
01/11/2005, 6:18 PM
must echo the thoughts and comments of some of my fellow city fans
bohs stewards are a level above some of the other aways I've visited
Derry was also very very good but bohs is my favourite away of the season

To put it in context ,that was my 3rd trip to Dalymount this season,the two against bohs and the one against rovers.
Against bohs , we entered through the same entrances as home fans,stewards were friendly and professional,there was no seperation between both sets of fans - in fact yesterday there were so many city fans that 50-60 of them spilled over into the bohs section and it was very much mixed,duing the game kids were stopped from walking past us and we went to the bar before and after the game and had some very good chats with some of the locals ,and got a burdocks hassle free

At the Rovers game ,we were made to enter the connacht street side, forced by a over bearing steward to walk in city shirts hats and scarves,past the whole stand ,with gangs screamin abuse and pointin at us ( was not a nice feeling),we went down to teh same corner as per normal,had a section of stand covered in platic sheeting( not the today fm fella:D ) to segregate us .We had some old 45 year + scumbag hurl abuse at us for singing the "don't get injured you won't be paid " and "kilcoyne is our hero" songs and wanting to claim us .,we had gangs of rovers shirted kids walking on our flags and spitting at us ,all the bars were closed ,was verbally abused and threatened in full earshot of stewards at the chiper,and after the game we were escorted out of the ground via the shopping centre exit by 2 guards

theres NO comparrison between both sets of security or fans (those muppets outside the ground are not included in that obviously)

01/11/2005, 7:14 PM

They'd have no authority outside the ground though in fairness?

The BSC are easily dealt with anyway! Muppets!:D

02/11/2005, 12:17 AM
Cork fans were also made welcome in the bars and many took advantage.

And its the job !! :p
Best away ground for us anyway !!

02/11/2005, 7:16 AM
RedGav, you forgot to mention the three 'youths' who had to be forcibly removed from our section, maybe four or five minutes after ten or twelve of us informed the stewards that they weren't city fans.

Fair play for that video link Philo, nice day for it alright ;)

02/11/2005, 9:04 AM
Cork fans were also made welcome in the bars and many took advantage.

There's nothing like beer for €3.70 a pint to get me into a bar. :D

They'd have no authority outside the ground though in fairness?

Yeah Colm, that's the job of the Gardaí.

02/11/2005, 10:10 AM
I thought Rovers game at Dalymount was well stewarded but then again i came in late & walked around the Connaught St side. When the junkies were thrown out (stewards did good job) we had some sort of official come over afterwards to ask if everything ok.

ThatGuy
02/11/2005, 10:45 AM
i was at that game with a couple of mates who wouldnt be huge EL fans. i told them about the bohs keyboard warriors 'version' of events and they were highly amused.
just to remind those who werent there, 50 or so bsc wouldnt leave the stand because they knew we hads to stand in the rain until the last of them left. a teenage girl tried to leave the rovers end, she was muscled back into the connaught by a cop and this caused a flare up. so 30 hoops ran onto the pitch to, ahem, 'help' the gardai clear the stand. which they did. in record time.
and just out of interest, who do you know what the 50 bsc who shat themselves as they legged it were singing?

and if you cant tell the difference between leaving cork fans to sing after the game and making us stand in the rain on that ****hole with no access to toilets, food or drinks, you are more deluded than the average gypo
I sympathise with Rovers over this issue as they should have been let out in my opinion as the majority of the Jodi Stand had left, but you are doing yourself no favours when you fill out your argument with blatant lies.

bohs til i die
02/11/2005, 11:32 AM

1. It was not BSC in the stand. There was a fairly small group of Bohs fans who were nearly all wearing colours. I was at the front of the Jodi so therefore saw EXACTLY what happened.

2. We have video evidence which PROVES your figure of 30 is well underestimated.

3. A few younger lads ran, and a few parents with kids left for obvious reasons. There was still 100+ Bohs fans who stood and laughed at you and your mates on the pitch as you beat a hasty retreat when confronted by the Gardai

4. The toilets aside, Bohs are not responsible for providing Shamrock Rovers fans with food and drink when you are at HOME. It was a Bohs away game. Bohs always endeavours to have a chip van on Connaught Street for fans when that side is open.

5. It wasnt raining on June 3rd, the night of the pitch invasion.

02/11/2005, 2:36 PM
jesus this thread is turning into the widgery tribunal

Roverstillidie
02/11/2005, 2:36 PM
I really couldnt be bothered with thid crap again, but a quick point or 2.

they werent wearing colours, they were squaring up to the cops. whether they were bsc are not is irrlevant, they were burberry clad scrotes who were trying to act hard.

if bohs arent reponsible for our well being at our 'home' matches, why do they insist on pocketing all the proceeds form the chip vans etc and refuse to allow us bring in our own? we would be more than happy not to have to eat burdocks slops, but you insist its him or nothing. you cant have your cake etc.

the tiolets aside? you proud of the fact away fans have to use this?

http://www.srfcultras.net/season2003/bores01/bores04.jpg

it was raining all night, will i go to gypoweb and find the thread that laughed at us having to stand in the rain like lemons while your heros did danced the conga in the jodi?

its tiresome lads, your casuals made a show of themselves, end of. and our lads got their flag that night too.....

02/11/2005, 2:51 PM
Agreed the facilities are shyte
but if you lot didnt act like animals you wouldn't have to use facilities like that and would be welcomed into the jodi like every other club
i agree that we have some muppets but come on the only **** that ever happens with bohs fans is against your lot were as the ultras are notorious for causing trouble every where u go
sort the scum out and come enjoy the facilities on the jodi side

02/11/2005, 2:53 PM
Why do these threads always get hijacked by Bohs v Rovers "discussions"?

bohs til i die
02/11/2005, 2:59 PM
I really couldnt be bothered with thid crap again, but a quick point or 2.

they werent wearing colours, they were squaring up to the cops. whether they were bsc are not is irrlevant, they were burberry clad scrotes who were trying to act hard.

if bohs arent reponsible for our well being at our 'home' matches, why do they insist on pocketing all the proceeds form the chip vans etc and refuse to allow us bring in our own? we would be more than happy not to have to eat burdocks slops, but you insist its him or nothing. you cant have your cake etc.

the tiolets aside? you proud of the fact away fans have to use this?

http://www.srfcultras.net/season2003/bores01/bores04.jpg

it was raining all night, will i go to gypoweb and find the thread that laughed at us having to stand in the rain like lemons while your heros did danced the conga in the jodi?

its tiresome lads, your casuals made a show of themselves, end of. and our lads got their flag that night too.....

1. I was standing at the front of Block F. Most of the guys there wore Bohs colours of some description. Some were wearing Bohs t-shirts etc so they wouldn’t necessarily stand out as Bohs ‘colours’. How can you be so sure they weren’t wearing colours, and how can you question people who were within 20 yards, while you were 100 yards away. The guys in F/G were not squaring up to the cops either, that’s another of your blatant lies. Some werent wearing colours but that doesn’t automatically make them members of the BSC.

2. Burdocks have a deal with Bohs which entitles Burdocks to cater for all spectators at any event in Dalymount Park. It’s a commercial deal.

3. Well if it was raining then you should have brought an umbrella.

As for the flag, It wasnt stolen that night because it was in Dalymount the night of the Intertoto cup game two weeks after this Rovers-Bohs game.

Philo
02/11/2005, 3:07 PM

At least you're happy to associate with Rovers' firm and are proud of their actions. Bohs fans have no time for the BSC and everyone knows it.

Shame you still cling on to your lies and bullshít... at least it reinforces the point I made about how refreshing it was to have genuine supporters like Cork City's in the stand with us on Monday.

Roverstillidie
02/11/2005, 3:08 PM
Agreed the facilities are shyte
but if you lot didnt act like animals you wouldn't have to use facilities like that and would be welcomed into the jodi like every other club
i agree that we have some muppets but come on the only **** that ever happens with bohs fans is against your lot were as the ultras are notorious for causing trouble every where u go
sort the scum out and come enjoy the facilities on the jodi side

the ultras cause trouble?

back that up or edit....

as for bohs only casuing trouble against rovers, i think the wider reading public here will see that for the ****e it is

Roverstillidie
02/11/2005, 3:13 PM
At least you're happy to associate with Rovers' firm and are proud of their actions. Bohs fans have no time for the BSC and everyone knows it.

but do you? name one other club in this country that allowed a hooligan flag to fly and then on the clubs official website demanded it back? bear in mind you are a members club. bohs credibility on this is dubious to say the least. banned anyone recently?

i am not associated with the rovers hoolies, but the bsc flag getting lifted was hilarious. trophies come with the territory.

you are talking out of your arse

Philo
02/11/2005, 3:40 PM
It was hilarious... and is still treated as hilarious (http://gypsiesweb.proboards48.com/index.cgi?board=Waffle&action=display&thread=1120417777)by Bohs fans. The vast majority of us are delighted that embarrassing flag is gone - now what's your point?

The flag issue was put on the website because at the time it was thought Rovers broke into a locked area of Dalymount to get the flag - abuse of tennancy. That's now known not to be the case and no one really gives a shít.

Yes, bans are in place and are being enforced. The BSC can do nothing in the ground without getting a ban. If only the Gardai treated the matter as seriously as Bohs then nothing would happen outside the ground either. The FAI and An Garda Siochana rejected a plea from several clubs including Bohs and Cork City to set up a national hooligan database.

We'd love to able to put all away fans in a separate, covered stand with catering and toilet faciltities but the club isn't exactly rolling in money at the moment... no Irish club is. To that end, our ground is your ground whether either set of fans likes it or not. Until you produce a ground of your own you're in no position to comment on the state of facilities at Dalymount. No other club in the country has the same complaint so I suggest the problem lies on your side of the fence and not with Bohs. Would it really kill you to be honest for once?

Fair play to Cork City fans once again.

BohsFans
02/11/2005, 3:51 PM
if bohs arent reponsible for our well being at our 'home' matches, why do they insist on pocketing all the proceeds form the chip vans etc and refuse to allow us bring in our own?

because we own the ****in ground, count yourself lucky that you can even play your games there!!

02/11/2005, 3:57 PM
listen scumbag till i die I dont give a fcuk what u call ur hooligan element
FACT is rovers have a serious hooligan element that the club is better off without If you didn't have them you wouldnt be forced to stay on the connaght st side while us civilised human beings enjoy a pint in the bar
cop on you know your club has the worst reputation for scum in the league

02/11/2005, 3:59 PM
You're all correct, City fans are brilliant!!:D :D

I'm interested to see just how far off topic this can go :confused:

Roverstillidie
02/11/2005, 4:00 PM
It was hilarious... and is still treated as hilarious (http://gypsiesweb.proboards48.com/index.cgi?board=Waffle&action=display&thread=1120417777)by Bohs fans. The vast majority of us are delighted that embarrassing flag is gone - now what's your point?

The flag issue was put on the website because at the time it was thought Rovers broke into a locked area of Dalymount to get the flag - abuse of tennancy. That's now known not to be the case and no one really gives a shít.

Yes, bans are in place and are being enforced. The BSC can do nothing in the ground without getting a ban. If only the Gardai treated the matter as seriously as Bohs then nothing would happen outside the ground either. The FAI and An Garda Siochana rejected a plea from several clubs including Bohs and Cork City to set up a national hooligan database.

We'd love to able to put all away fans in a separate, covered stand with catering and toilet faciltities but the club isn't exactly rolling in money at the moment... no Irish club is. To that end, our ground is your ground whether either set of fans likes it or not. Until you produce a ground of your own you're in no position to comment on the state of facilities at Dalymount. No other club in the country has the same complaint so I suggest the problem lies on your side of the fence and not with Bohs. Would it really kill you to be honest for once?

Fair play to Cork City fans once again.

you forgot to mention rovers in the list of clubs that proposed the database. funny that.

the thread to poxweb doesnt exactly start off as a self parody, does it? you went mental at the time and you still havent explained how and why the official bowezzzz website demanded its return?

we dont want to be in loyal orange phibsboro no more than most of you want us there, but to say we arent entitled to toilet facilities because we have no home ground is typical of the narrative that comes from the fans of the big pub. your ground literally fell apart around you and no-one can criticise your lack of ambition because... well its the home of irish football blah blah.

you cannot charge people 3,000 people e15 to stand in an uncovered stand with 1 chip van and whine when they object.

i agree, fair play to cork, the way they restrained themselves when some of the scurvy bsc squared up to them was admirable.

and can the mods please ban block g wa.nker if he types FACT again. what a pillock and what a spectacular way to miss the point.

BohsFans
02/11/2005, 4:01 PM
I'm interested to see just how far off topic this can go :confused:

Why don't moderators do their job around here:confused:

02/11/2005, 4:04 PM
Why don't moderators do their job around here:confused:

This would be the first post to have a warning issued on if they did.

listen scumbag till i die I dont give a fcuk...

02/11/2005, 4:12 PM
FACT is rovers have a serious hooligan element

FACT is BSC are worse than any Rovers fans. BSC only attack women, kids and people who are on their own and run a mile when it kicks off. Cowardly scum of the worst kind.

02/11/2005, 4:16 PM
FACT is BSC are worse than any Rovers fans.

Unfortunately though Colm, they usually hang around outside the ground so the Bohs stewards and the club itself can do little. The Gardaí are responsible for these areas but seem to ignore the threat until something happens.

bohs til i die
02/11/2005, 4:34 PM
you forgot to mention rovers in the list of clubs that proposed the database. funny that.

the thread to poxweb doesnt exactly start off as a self parody, does it? you went mental at the time and you still havent explained how and why the official bowezzzz website demanded its return?

we dont want to be in loyal orange phibsboro no more than most of you want us there, but to say we arent entitled to toilet facilities because we have no home ground is typical of the narrative that comes from the fans of the big pub. your ground literally fell apart around you and no-one can criticise your lack of ambition because... well its the home of irish football blah blah.

you cannot charge people 3,000 people e15 to stand in an uncovered stand with 1 chip van and whine when they object.

i agree, fair play to cork, the way they restrained themselves when some of the scurvy bsc squared up to them was admirable.

1. we have had a crowd over 1500 on Connaught street 5 times in 5 years [Rosenborg, Shels twice, Spurs, Borisov]. Facilities arent acceptable but finance dictates that nothing can be done any time soon.

2. Cork fans from what I have found out werent exactly angels in this and while what happened was wrong, it wasnt exactly WW3. It happened outside the ground and although thats no excuse there isnt a lot Bohs can do. The FACTS are that 700 Cork fans were able to watch the game, enjoy our facilities in the Jodi and apart from a few minor incidents it was a good day for thema t least.

Who is in charge of Rovers security these days?

Philo
02/11/2005, 4:34 PM

Actually the first post in the thread includes this line "It was a BSC flag, but thats irrelevant" suggesting that the post starter does not care for the BSC or their flag. The issue was the perceived abuse of trust by our tennents in stealing property from a secure area in Dalymount. This is also why the official website carried the story. As soon as it became clear that the flag was left lying around for anyone to find by some casual idiot the case was rightly dropped. Excellent use of the "pox" as a non-sequitur insult.

but to say we arent entitled to toilet facilities because we have no home ground is typical of the narrative that comes from the fans of the big pub.

I didn't say that. I said we can't afford to build an away stand with facilities to fully cater to all our visitors' needs. I also said that it's a shame that only one club's fans have to use that stand by FAI/Garda order and those fans are Rovers.

Rovers is also the only match where our own security team have to work in conjunction with FAI stewards and Gardai inside the ground.

I remember paying £8 to stand on an uncovered terrace at Santry on a freezing cold January Sunday, soaked by driving rain and swamped by fog, with no chipper van at all and only a scoreline of 4-6 affording any form of comfort.

02/11/2005, 4:43 PM
only a scoreline of 4-6 affording any form of comfort.

I heard you left at 4-1??? :confused: :D

Philo
02/11/2005, 4:49 PM
I heard you left at 4-1??? :confused: :D

No - I just went off in search of the people handing out Activ8 chewing gum at half time.

I can clearly be seen in the TV footage celebrating Mark Rutherford's winner wearing my Armani jeans, RL polo, Stone Island jacket and Aquascrotum cap!

BohsFans
02/11/2005, 4:58 PM
This would be the first post to have a warning issued on if they did.

I was refering to this getting seriously off topic!

02/11/2005, 5:21 PM
Can someone please put this thread out of my misery? Please? Rovers and Bohs rowing over how many casuals you fit on the head of a pin is like Republicans and Loyalists arguing - totally pointless. We think we're right and they think they're right. End of discussion.

02/11/2005, 5:27 PM
Can someone please put this thread out of my misery?

But I'm enjoying people saying how great Cork City fans are. :D

You entertain us next Monday and I'm sure we'll be posting good things on Tuesday again. No reason why we wont.

02/11/2005, 5:34 PM
You entertain us next Monday and I'm sure we'll be posting good things on Tuesday again. No reason why we wont.

Peadar - If we get 3 points out of Friday's game in Richmond, we'll entertain you alright. Personally I want Cork to win it for Rico's sake and because Cork are by far the best footballing team in the country. Plus, your 2nd league title won't put any of our records under imminent threat. Oh, and if Derry win it, Bohs might sneak into the Inter Two Bob.

03/11/2005, 7:37 AM
2. Cork fans from what I have found out werent exactly angels in this

Bullsh!t.

Whatever was started, no matter how minor, was started by little scumbags from your side loitering in the alleys around your stadium waiting for City Fans on their own to walk by.

Do you expect people to lie on the ground and take a beating or do you expect them to defend themselves?