View Full Version : Odds on Troussier slashed
25/10/2005, 2:01 PM
Brian Kerr - Irish Managerial Legend. End of.
:D :D Leg end more like....
25/10/2005, 2:03 PM
ive opened up a whole can of worms here
but in conclusion - anyone who uses an fai avatar is in general - a complete pr.ck
:D there's nothing like continuing to dig when you're stuck in a hole...
dig :? hole?
fai?
logo?
complete non event
Don Vito
25/10/2005, 2:08 PM
but in conclusion - anyone who uses an fai avatar is in general - a complete pr.ck
So basically you’re saying, unless I follow an Eircom League club I am incapable of making any sensible comment about football, great generalisation there WWS. And I'm a pr!ck, great to get all that cleared up.
Kerr had his chance and he blew it, no other way to look at it. He reminds me of yourself a little bit, unable to take criticism or another point of view, are you sure you’re not related to him?!
Anyway WWS it’s time to put you’re spoon away I've too much work to do.
So basically you’re saying, unless I follow an Eircom League club I am incapable of making any sensible comment about football, great generalisation there WWS. And I'm a pr!ck, great to get all that cleared up.
Kerr had his chance and he blew it, no other way to look at it. He reminds me of yourself a little bit, unable to take criticism or another point of view, are you sure you’re not related to him?!
Anyway WWS it’s time to put you’re spoon away I've too much work to do.
your first sentence makes no sense whatsover and doesnt follow on from anything I posted here.....care to expand - or is it you jumping to conclusions? :rolleyes:
25/10/2005, 2:21 PM
I think you're Kerrs wannabe boyfriend...
Nice retort:rolleyes: You have convinced me with your unerring logic. The EL is lucky to have you as an ardent and obviously intelligent supporter.
Don Vito
25/10/2005, 2:38 PM
your first sentence makes no sense whatsover and doesnt follow on from anything I posted here.....care to expand - or is it you jumping to conclusions? :rolleyes:
The whole:
we are football...I can never take some five match a season Ireland fan seriously
and how I'm "playing" at being an Ireland fan. Don't really see my first sentence as a big jump from that.
Kerr wasn't good enough. The Don has spoken, lets leave it at that and all get back to work before our GNP starts to suffer like our national team (please just WWS just this once can I say our national team and let me an outsider be one of the footbal gang, please!!).
i had to take you of my ignore list for this ! hehe
listen fai heads banter amongst yourselves and throw a big party the next time Ireland gets a manager that loses ONE game in a qualifying series - cos methinks we'll be waiting a long long long time
Tired&Emotional
25/10/2005, 3:10 PM
Nice retort:rolleyes: You have convinced me with your unerring logic. The EL is lucky to have you as an ardent and obviously intelligent supporter.
Spot on Dotsy......sounds like yer man is full of brains!!:D :D :D
is this the best u fai 'suits' can hit back with
"he must be related to Brian Kerr" :D
25/10/2005, 3:42 PM
No I think you're his bitch.;)
25/10/2005, 5:32 PM
I think the new Republic manager needs to be someone who will give it a lash and never, never, never say no. He should also be able to put them under pressure, something which Brian Kerr failed to do. Someone like Ronnie Whelan would have had them reeling.
Sure, he's a nice guy but he couldn't command the respect of the dressing room because he had only ever managed children and Athletic in Dublin who are even worse than children because they only get paid pocket money and are hardly ever on Sky.
Also, Kerr couldn't be trusted with Sir Alex Ferguson's and Mourinho's phone numbers becuase you know he would only give them out to his mates who'd end up ringing them up to slag them off every time they got drunk.
25/10/2005, 6:55 PM
Also, Kerr couldn't be trusted with Sir Alex Ferguson's and Mourinho's phone numbers becuase you know he would only give them out to his mates who'd end up ringing them up to slag them off every time they got drunk.
Where the f**k did this come from?
25/10/2005, 7:35 PM
Where the f**k did this come from?
A reliable, floppy-haired source in Merrion Square - check next week's Ireland on Sunday for further details...
klein4
25/10/2005, 9:26 PM
I think the new Republic manager needs to be someone who will give it a lash and never, never, never say no. He should also be able to put them under pressure, something which Brian Kerr failed to do. Someone like Ronnie Whelan would have had them reeling.
Sure, he's a nice guy but he couldn't command the respect of the dressing room because he had only ever managed children and Athletic in Dublin who are even worse than children because they only get paid pocket money and are hardly ever on Sky.
NOW THATS SARCASM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D :D
Marked Man
26/10/2005, 3:02 AM
Olé Olé Olé Olé
why dont ya buy a wolfe tones tape and do us all a favour
What's wrong with the Wolfe Tones?
Typical Southsider.
Condex
26/10/2005, 8:02 AM
Typical Southsider.
They were over here last week, with the usual 'Chucky R La'(sp) lot in attendance.
If they were playing in the garden I'd close the curtains....
Typical Southsider.
The war is over. Let it be. Give Peace a chance. I am the Walrus not a southsider.
26/10/2005, 10:02 AM
I'd heard the one about the phone numbers, particularly Mourhinos. The tale behind that is that apparently Mourhino and his advisors in Chelski didn't like Brian's working class accent, and always had great difficulty accepting him as an International manager. Probably the same at United.
26/10/2005, 10:41 AM
The war is over. Let it be. Give Peace a chance. I am the Walrus not a southsider.
I saw this hi-larious picture on popular humourous websiste dangerhere.com but it confused me.
http://www.dangerhere.com/gufflog/images/uploads/kerrpicofday.jpg
Pat Kenny is a Northsider, Brian Kerr is a Southsider:confused: OR HAVE YOU FORGOTTEN YOUR ROOTS MR. KERR?!?! :mad:
26/10/2005, 12:26 PM
I saw this hi-larious picture on popular humourous websiste dangerhere.com but it confused me.
http://www.dangerhere.com/gufflog/images/uploads/kerrpicofday.jpg
Pat Kenny is a Northsider, Brian Kerr is a Southsider:confused: OR HAVE YOU FORGOTTEN YOUR ROOTS MR. KERR?!?! :mad:
There's as much rough places on the southside as there is the north. It seems to be a generalisation to call a posh person a southsider and someone with a rough accent a northsider. Sure there was a documentary on RTE yesterday about Fatima mansions and thats southside. Same with D4. Half of D4 is just as bad as most places in Dublin.
Anyway, gone way off topic. :)
26/10/2005, 2:34 PM
Troussier just got the Morrocco job, so I'd say his odds can be totally slashed now...off the board completely!!
Thank god...I never wanted him as new gaffer anyway.
Roll on George Graham...my moneys safe with you!!!
Tired&Emotional
26/10/2005, 3:46 PM
Anyone got the revised/up-to-date odds after Troussier and Grant situations?
26/10/2005, 6:45 PM
There has been a lot said in this thread about LOI supporters and no LOI supports. I think any fair minded person reading this pages will see that there are plenty of people out there that are genuine Irish football supports without been LOI fans. This is for numerous reason
Location, Whether that be in our outside of Ireland.
They also have shown that they are genuine fans by going to all of Irelands games and also been involved in coaching and local and underage level.
It has also been shown that this is a side issue in relation to the appointment and no renewing of Brian Kerrs contract. Somehow WWS has decided to combine the support for LOI and the support for Brian Kerr as the same thing. I feel that these are 2 seperate issues. Not everybody who supports LOI clubs wanted to keep Brian Kerr on after the qualifiers and not everybody who supports the Irish football team solely wanted to get rid of him. IN fact I wanted to keep him right up until the end of the qualifiers. WWS has successfully muddied the waters in order to get a bigger debate going on, that is the support for the LOI.
I dont believe that Brian Kerr did not get his contract renewed due to the fact that his background was in LOI football and that he was based in Dublin. This may have been the thinking of some of the "suits" in the FAI, however, the results that he acheived, 3rd and 4th in 1 and 3/4 campaigns gave them every reason not to renew his contract.
I think every manager should be judged on their results, and by results, I mean where they finish in a group, not how many defeats they have or how many goals they have conceded as these are all stats and ones that dont paint the full picture. A team could go through a whole group undefeated but still end up with only 12 points. THat would not be much use. Football is more than about avoiding defeat. It is also about winning matches and that is something that Brian Kerrs teams have failed to do against any team of not in a game that mattered.
So regardless of what anyones background is, they should be given a fair shot at the job and when their contract is up it should be looked at and seen if they have finished in the top 2 of the group. This is my view for the next manager also and that is before he is appointed.
Oh and before I go lets all sing OLe Ole Ole
klein4
26/10/2005, 9:40 PM
I think the point about the avators was that they show support for an organisation(the fai) as opposed to the national team. why would anyone support them? they are a disgrace so fair comment in my opinion.
Kerrs results were not that bad taken in the context of a very tight group.the positon the team finished in is all relative when there is so little dividing the top four teams.
While an argument could be made for getting rid of him on the basis that you have someone better lined up to bring the team to the next level that goes out the window now that it has emerged that the FAI have nobody whatsoever lined up to take over.
So now we have change for the sake of change. Whatever new guy comes in will no doubt be given the next qualifying tournament to bed himself in so we will be back to were we started. If we are goin to write off the next qualifying group anyway(and that is exactly what will happen) why not have given Kerr the chance? At least he has the best interests of irish football at heart.
As regards the El supporters versus the 'ireland only' supporters. I think it is a valid point to make that someone who is going to support a team week in week out is more of a supporter than someone who goes to maybe 5 games a year. thats just stating the obvious. simple maths really!
The question is if the next Irish manager gets the same results as Kerr but placates the media a bit more and does not interfere too much with the goings on of the gentlemans club at merrion square.....Will they be so quick to get rid of him?????????????
Karlos
27/10/2005, 1:28 AM
I think the point about the avators was that they show support for an organisation(the fai) as opposed to the national team. why would anyone support them? they are a disgrace so fair comment in my opinion.
So I take it you have never worn an Irish shirt that has bourne the crest of the FAI as it shows a support for......... wait for it, not the players who play for our country but infact shows complete and utter undying love for the organisation alone.
It's very simple to understand, the avatar shows support for the team that plays with that crest on their chest for my country - just like another crest shows support for any other team. I've yet to meet anybody wearing a shirt or a crest who has told me, 'i'm wearing this Shels top today not for support of the players but because I support Ollie Byrne' or 'I'm not an Arsenal fan, i'm just a big David Dein fan'. defies logic :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
As regards the El supporters versus the 'ireland only' supporters. I think it is a valid point to make that someone who is going to support a team week in week out is more of a supporter than someone who goes to maybe 5 games a year. thats just stating the obvious. simple maths really! .
Here's some more simple maths for you.........I've spent 35 weeks involved in schoolboy and amatuer football in Ireland in 2005 so far - spending approx 7 hours a week between two training sessions and games......that's 245 hours involved supporting grass roots football.......that's not cheering on a group of players and having a pint with the lads, oh no, that's 245 hours with kids & adults, coaching and developing the game in this country.
In simple terms that's equivilant to watching 160ish eircom league games in one year - simple maths, easy to comprehend and the reason why I won't be preached to by someone attending eircom league matches who suddenly believes they are the life and soul of the game in this country. I'll say it again, those who want to make things change in this country, give up a weekend, do a coaching course and give one hour a week to your local team from here on in. Throwing money at the game through ticket sales isn't the answer..........ticket sales wo't help us qualify for future world cups or provide us with a better standard domestic game to watch.....we'll make a balls of the money as always........first prioity must be to develop better quality players and coaches in this country.
as a side note, I did attend one eircom league division one game in that time this year and that was only becuase I had no training on a thursday thanks to the kid's school play or sumthin being scheduled on a training night (and a nice night I had too at Whitehall with Dublin City! ;) ).
27/10/2005, 2:52 AM
I make a conscious effort to ignore logos, after ripping them off my clothes, finally tonight after all the posts about logos I look at the Fai logo in question, I agree 100%, it is a desperate logo and doesn't represent anything I support. I certainly don't support the administration when I support the Irish team any more than a Rovers fan supported a Kilcoyne's Rovers or a Shels fan an Ollie Byrne's Shelbourne. At least you don't have Byrnes initials on the Shels Logo. But what can I say about the Pats logo, from what I can make out its not a question mark backwards so it must be something representing snakes cast out into the waters. As a confirmed non catholic I wonder what has that fairy tale got to do with the ethos of a football club? :)
klein4
27/10/2005, 9:24 AM
The badge you use has FAI plastered all over it and most poeple who support the Irish team would have negative feelings towards them. I just try and wear something green to the matches rather than be some walking sandwich board for Eircom.
What has managing a team or training a team got anything in the world to do with supporting???
Whatever you do to massage your ego in your own time is your business!
Seems like a rather lame attempt to claim some sort of moral high ground. " oh I teach "the kids" the ways of the force....."
I play five aside twice a week. I didnt know I was doin my bit for Irish football by turning up in the astro park......
27/10/2005, 9:58 AM
Personally I'd be in favour of a badge similar to the rugby badge...the shamrock, plain and simple, but classy looking. All this anti FAI stuff because of a badge is a bit much really. You support who wears the badge, not who designed it.
Karlos
27/10/2005, 12:47 PM
What has managing a team or training a team got anything in the world to do with supporting???
Whatever you do to massage your ego in your own time is your business!
Seems like a rather lame attempt to claim some sort of moral high ground. " oh I teach "the kids" the ways of the force....."
I play five aside twice a week. I didnt know I was doin my bit for Irish football by turning up in the astro park......
It has everything to do with it. You made a statement that Eircom league fans are the 'real' supporters of Irish Football (and as a result must be listened to and have more right to comment.....simple maths you called it!!!! :rolleyes: :confused: )..........I put that in the context that a world exists outside Ericom League football in this country and without that world there wouldn't be an eircom league or an international team.......SIMPLE :confused:
Youth football is a MORE important area of football in this country than the eircom league imo. Fans can watch all the football they want but when they get out, study the game and coach it's a different ball game - one that many 'experts' can't handle. I generally don't listen to experts who can't practise what they preach.
btw.....Playing 5-a-side is fun, recreational and for your development not in fact the development of the youth game in Ireland unless of course we looking at a future international in training in your case?
klein4
27/10/2005, 1:34 PM
em I never once said that
I said that the point made earlier was a valid one based on the amount of games one would got to if you were supporting an el team as opposed to just supporting the national team. simple maths...(altho not simple enough for some)
Some people got all offended and up on their high horses and started to bring in how many pee wee soccer teams they have "coached" to local glory in the south east wexford under 11 league as if that has anything to do with it.The point made by wws was about the ups and downs of life as a supporter.Nothing to do with your one man mission to develop the game in your part of the country.
and while we are on the subject how many internationals have your teams produced??? Did you lose one game this season??? then I think its time you stepped aside and let a better man in. Results dont lie. Possibly someone from Accross the sea.they do things so much better over there.....
27/10/2005, 2:18 PM
Kerrs results were not that bad taken in the context of a very tight group.the positon the team finished in is all relative when there is so little dividing the top four teams.
While an argument could be made for getting rid of him on the basis that you have someone better lined up to bring the team to the next level that goes out the window now that it has emerged that the FAI have nobody whatsoever lined up to take over.
So now we have change for the sake of change. Whatever new guy comes in will no doubt be given the next qualifying tournament to bed himself in so we will be back to were we started. If we are goin to write off the next qualifying group anyway(and that is exactly what will happen) why not have given Kerr the chance? At least he has the best interests of irish football at heart.
As regards the El supporters versus the 'ireland only' supporters. I think it is a valid point to make that someone who is going to support a team week in week out is more of a supporter than someone who goes to maybe 5 games a year. thats just stating the obvious. simple maths really!
The question is if the next Irish manager gets the same results as Kerr but placates the media a bit more and does not interfere too much with the goings on of the gentlemans club at merrion square.....Will they be so quick to get rid of him?????????????
Somone who goes in week in week out are more of a supporter of that club. However I am not sure if you have noticted but this is the national team forum and it is for supporters of the national team. Therefore whatever you do during the week and inbetween internatinoal is your own business. However this is about supporting the national team and thats what we are posting about here. It is irrelevant who you support or how many you games you go to within the context of this thread. I have gone to many LOI games with mates and they have always made me feel welcome have never had the miserable inverse snobbery that some of WWS and yourself have towards non LOI fans. You should be encouraging people to go not talking down to them.
klein4
27/10/2005, 2:39 PM
ehhh
I dont support any EL club, I only support Ireland as does yourself.
So how I am supposed to be engaging in some inverse snobbery is beyond me...
I simply stated that points made by other people earlier in the thread were fair comment,something your posts have done nuthin to convince me otherwise of.....
As for talking down to people...what about the assertion that you cant comment on football unless you are out there doing FAI coaching badges and teaching kids.like that somehow gives you an insight in to the mind of a Ferguson or a Murhino that would be lacking in anyone else.....come on..
I think if there is any snobbery it is eminating from the weekend Gerard Houlliers on this thread and not me...
27/10/2005, 2:39 PM
I have gone to many LOI games with mates and they have always made me feel welcome have never had the miserable inverse snobbery that some of WWS and yourself have towards non LOI fans. You should be encouraging people to go not talking down to them. oooouch!!!! Saucer of milk for NeilMcD....:eek:
I agree with most of your points though. I consider myself a football supporter first and foremost, and to me a football supporter is someone that enjoys the game and shows a healthy interest in a particular club. You don't 'support' a national side, its your birthright, and you get behind them no matter what.
I would be a Limerick FC supporter, but would also class myself as a Man Utd supporter as I have been all my life. I don't 'support' Ireland in the same way, but will always want my country to do as best they can no matter what, and will be 100% unequivocal about this, and as opinionated about it as I wish, whether I go to Lansdowne Road all the time, or watch them in the pub. Neither option makes me more or less Irish, and this business of being a dedicated 'Ireland fan' like they were a club side is twaddle.
havent read many of these posts since yesterday but re kerr: Martin O Neill made most of the points i made myself about Kerr's performance and results in the qualifying campaign - a proper football man, with a great record - calling it as is.
if i add one thing to say on this whole subject it wouldnt be about crests or league v national team fans its just that the new logic that Kerr's results were a sackable offence is not shared by such luminaries as me, martin o neill, alex fergusone, mark lawrenson, roy keane.......i could go on :D
27/10/2005, 2:54 PM
Well joe fair play for you for enjoying and supporting yoru club side however dont call what I do twaddle.
Its my passion go home and away supporiting my country. I dont have a club team that I care passionately about. My national team is the only team that will effect my mood. As I said before not all of us are in the vicinty of a club team that we support and as a result the national team is an avenue for us to go and support a football team that we care passionately about. I would never have a go against anybody supporting a team so I dont see why people should have a go against me and others that support the national team. We are entited to do that and we are entitled to post on foot.ie in the national team thread and not to be talked down to or for our support to be called into question. I say fair play to everybody that does their bit for football in the country and I dont see why people are been so negative towards each other.
27/10/2005, 2:58 PM
havent read many of these posts since yesterday but re kerr: Martin O Neill made most of the points i made myself about Kerr's performance and results in the qualifying campaign - a proper football man, with a great record - calling it as is.
if i add one thing to say on this whole subject it wouldnt be about crests or league v national team fans its just that the new logic that Kerr's results were a sackable offence is not shared by such luminaries as me, martin o neill, alex fergusone, mark lawrenson, roy keane.......i could go on :D
Have to agree with you there WWS, did not see the full qoutes from Martin O Neilll but Kerr did get teh backing from some respected figures within the game.As I said before it was a tight call over Kerr and I would not have been too upset if head been kept on. But I am also of the view that he can have few complaints. However I do think i will try to reserve my judgement until I see who the bring in to replace. So far a lot of the guys that are lined up dont seem to be any sort of improvement for Kerr. The most dissappointing thing about the Kerr Reign was the performances even more so than the results. They did nto show that the good times could come. However I dont have very very strong views on any of this as I am still making my mind up about whether Kerr should definately have gone or not but as I said before, my heart says no and my head says yes.
Karlos
27/10/2005, 2:58 PM
em I never once said that
I said that the point made earlier was a valid one based on the amount of games one would got to if you were supporting an el team as opposed to just supporting the national team. simple maths...(altho not simple enough for some).....
mmmmm......your mssing the point! The point is that wheter it's supporting Shamrock Rovers, Shels or your local team throught coaching or supporting like Home Farm, Kilbarrack United, Trinity Boys, etc you are supporting Irish football. just becuase the Eircom league is a step up in level.....doesn't give it bonus points in being a 'REAL' supporter of Irish football....
He tarred everyone with an Irish Team Avatar as people who go to 5 games a season and know sweet fa about football. That was factually incorrect from the start. There seems to be some holy pot of knowledge that arrives from watching an eircom league game
Some people got all offended and up on their high horses and started to bring in how many pee wee soccer teams they have "coached" to local glory in the south east wexford under 11 league as if that has anything to do with it.The point made by wws was about the ups and downs of life as a supporter.Nothing to do with your one man mission to develop the game in your part of the country, and while we are on the subject how many internationals have your teams produced??? Did you lose one game this season??? then I think its time you stepped aside and let a better man in. Results dont lie. Possibly someone from Accross the sea.they do things so much better over there.....
Firstly I ever mentioned 'glory' at my youth teams....it's a typical reply from someone who hasn't been educated on youth development football. You associate success with results and assumed I was hinting at how successful I have been as a coach. This is the very attitude we are trying to remove from youth football in this country. As Mr. Kerr himself would tell you - youth level is all about development, senior football is about results.... but of course you being an expert you would already know that.
The day that any of my youth teams stop developing their game I will walk away regardless of how succeessful or not they are - the problem has and always will be the association and fixation with results at youth level as if it were senior level. If my men's team fail to get promoted, i won't have a choice, i will be replaced.....that's the nature of the game, ask Mr. Kerr.
p.s. for the record, I haven't personally coached any international players yet as they are only 13 at the moment. My club however have produced over 40 internationals over the years and it was a delight & a pleasure to see young Anthony Stokes, who was at my club with an older team than mine, make his first team debut for Arsenal on Tuesday.
O'Neill says NO, Troussier not available anymore.
When Aldridge & Staunton are not short odds for irish job does releasing Brian Kerr seem such a good ieda?
klein4
27/10/2005, 3:02 PM
"and while we are on the subject how many internationals have your teams produced??? Did you lose one game this season??? then I think its time you stepped aside and let a better man in. Results dont lie. Possibly someone from Accross the sea.they do things so much better over there....."
The above was said in a jokey way in a referance to the people clamouring for kerr to be fired on the basis of his "terrible" results.....surely you recognised that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
27/10/2005, 3:04 PM
But I dont think Karlos was clamouring for Kerr to be fired
27/10/2005, 3:05 PM
however dont call what I do twaddle.Fair point, and in hindsight, I didn't mean to refer to it as such. Apologies all round.
klein4
27/10/2005, 3:08 PM
But I dont think Karlos was clamouring for Kerr to be fired
All them FAI avators look the same!!!!!:) :)
Karlos
27/10/2005, 3:17 PM
"and while we are on the subject how many internationals have your teams produced??? Did you lose one game this season??? then I think its time you stepped aside and let a better man in. Results dont lie. Possibly someone from Accross the sea.they do things so much better over there....."
The above was said in a jokey way in a referance ho the people clamouring for kerr to be fired on the basis of his "terrible" results.....surely you recognised that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
and of course you recognised the irony in my 'haven't coached international players yet' statement.......................the rest however is the truth!! ;)
For what it's worth, initially I felt it would be wrong to appoint Kerr on the basis of his reults and trophies at youth level (if indeed that was the case). However, he deserved a shot for his excellent development work and unfortunetly it didn't work out for a number of reasons - the players being a big one.
It's difficult to make the step up and that's not just for Kerr........see Peter Taylor, Domenech etc as examples. It's a results game at the top top level - sometimes it's luck as much as anything that can do you out of a job but for me and in my humble opionion looling back on his reign, i didn't feel we really progressed in the way we played, the players that were brought through or in fact the results that we had with McCarthy - not all Kerr's fault but he knew the score when he took the job, the buck stops at the boss and the job was made easy for the FAI. I think whoever had been boss would have got the boot, not just Kerr.
I think we need a shake-up either way - wheter that's with a new boss or new players is open to debate....the best outcome is probably a bit of both.
I agree some of the names being associated with the job and their track records aren't the most convincing but sometimes that works in your favour.......I'm sticking however with my choice of Pat Rice with assistant Liam Brady - two excellent coaches - Rice to deal with our 'star' players and brady to replace 'Givens' and act as number two.
klein4
27/10/2005, 3:26 PM
hard to argue with a lot of that but my problem is I think we dont have anyone credible lined up to replace him and I do think we will have to go thru the inevitable settling in period under whatever new manager comes in ....effectively dismissing the next tournament...I think we should have given kerr two more years(which only would have made 4 in all!)
I wouldnt have thought a couple of the performances were anything but muck(cyprus away how are ya!) but a lot of the performances under macarthy were pretty sub standard as well whenever Roy Keane wasnt involved.I thought first 25 minutes against israel at home we played some of the best football we have ever played...( and I know FiFa dont have 25 minute matches to get thru to world cups) but it wasnt all as terrible as people are making out...
Steady on there Neil and Karlos. Those sound suspiciously like well balanced and thought out opinions on the matter:) . Surely that can't be possible from two guys with Ireland avitars;)
Karlos
27/10/2005, 3:33 PM
Steady on there Neil and Karlos. Those sound suspiciously like well balanced and thought out opinions on the matter:) . Surely that can't be possible from two guys with Ireland avitars;)
It must be the drugs I just took!! :eek:
27/10/2005, 3:43 PM
Someone like Ronnie Whelan would have had them reeling..
Jesus :rolleyes:
.........because he had only ever managed children and Athletic in Dublin .
as opposed to whelan managing who exactly ?
Karlos
27/10/2005, 3:45 PM
hard to argue with a lot of that but my problem is I think we dont have anyone credible lined up to replace him and I do think we will have to go thru the inevitable settling in period under whatever new manager comes in ....effectively dismissing the next tournament...I think we should have given kerr two more years(which only would have made 4 in all!)
I wouldnt have thought a couple of the performances were anything but muck(cyprus away how are ya!) but a lot of the performances under macarthy were pretty sub standard as well whenever Roy Keane wasnt involved.I thought first 25 minutes against israel at home we played some of the best football we have ever played...( and I know FiFa dont have 25 minute matches to get thru to world cups) but it wasnt all as terrible as people are making out...
I agree with alot of what your saying here too.....it's a bit of catch 22 in some ways. If we Leave him in charge and we fall on our face again and we've wasted a year.....then we have to then write off the next campaign too and your looking at 3 major tournamants missed. Of course I'm talking worst case scenario here.
In some ways and don't shoot me......the fai couldn't actually do anything right in this instance as either way, the fans or the media were going to get at them. Support does generally seem to be split amongst the fans and it was gonna bite them in the ass if it didn't work out either way.
If and it's a big IF, they have made this descision based soley on believeing that Kerr cannot take this team any further then I'm reltively ok with that provided they honestly feel that way. All in all it shouldn't be forgotten that it's quite possible we could go on and qualify first time with a new man in charge......it's doesn't feel that way for some and history doesn't suggest it but football is a strange one. Back in Paris in October last year I was full sure we'd win that group......look where that one ended up.
The only other questionable thing for me from this campaign was the return of Roy. I don't want to get started on a Roy debate but I'm not sure this helped Kerr in the end. He had a chance to bring through new blood and mould the team if he wanted. If we were sitting here qualified it would have been a master stoke but it didn't exactly work out like that.......I don't think Roy produced anything like he had under McCarthy (alot due to age of course). Just wondering how the return of Roy made certain board members feel and if that coupled with lack of qualification made it easy to remove Kerr on what appear justifiable grounds as far as results go.