View Full Version : Ireland's next Manager
17/10/2005, 1:33 PM
I thought this was supposed to be an objective discussion of who is best for the job and not who's the nicest person.It's nothing got to do with that. I dont think he's up to the job, as I said, he's past it in my opinion
colster
17/10/2005, 1:41 PM
It's nothing got to do with that. I dont think he's up to the job, as I said, he's past it in my opinion
I disagree. I think United have stood still. Chelsea have moved onto a different level. You can't afford to lose any games now where before you could still win the league after losing 5/6 games. Chelsea are a freak. If Abramovich hadn't bought them out it would still be United and Arsenal vying for the title with Liverpool and Chelsea close on their heels.
Anyway, who would you bring in?
17/10/2005, 1:46 PM
Fergie pours more cold water on the story
http://breaking.tcm.ie/2005/10/17/story225841.html
Ferguson: Republic rumour is 'nonsense'
17/10/2005 - 14:38:43
Alex Ferguson has again insisted he is not about to become the new Republic of Ireland coach.
Speculation has been mounting that the Manchester United manager could be appointed as successor to current incumbent Brian Kerr in the summer, following the Republic’s failure to qualify for the World Cup.
Former Old Trafford favourite and Ireland international Denis Irwin has reportedly claimed there has been contact between Ferguson and the Football Association of Ireland (FAI).
However, Irwin has assured Ferguson he did not make the comments and the United boss stated firmly his current managerial job will be his last.
“I don’t know where these things start,” said Ferguson.
“Denis has told me he has not spoken to anyone and doesn’t know where it has come from.
“It is the usual nonsense. I made the point last week, after this job I'm finished.
“It is important to clarify this. Ireland have already got a manager. I don’t think it is nice to be linked to a job that someone is already in.”
colster
17/10/2005, 1:50 PM
I wonder if all this hype about the FAI talking to Ferguson is actually true. Maybe he was asked about his thoughts on a possible successor rather than him being asked if he would take the job?
17/10/2005, 1:52 PM
Anyway, who would you bring in?Definetely Martin O'Neill and failing that then Roy Keane could do it.
BaZmO*
17/10/2005, 1:55 PM
“It is important to clarify this. Ireland have already got a manager. I don’t think it is nice to be linked to a job that someone is already in.”
Kerr is not the manager, his contract terminated at the end of the campaign.
I wonder if all this hype about the FAI talking to Ferguson is actually true.
Isn't Delaney (or his Father) a close friend of Fergie?
B.
colster
17/10/2005, 2:08 PM
Definetely Martin O'Neill and failing that then Roy Keane could do it.
Martin O'Neill yes, I'd prefer him to Ferguson but I don't think Keane should be given it yet. We need a proven experienced manager. Having said that I don't think O'Neill, Ferguson or Keane would take the job.
colster
17/10/2005, 2:09 PM
Kerr is not the manager, his contract terminated at the end of the campaign.
Isn't Delaney (or his Father) a close friend of Fergie?
B.
Yes, maybe they were just asking him for advice/opinion on possible successors. Didn't the Scottish FA do the same before they appointed Walter Smith.
CraftyToePoke
17/10/2005, 3:41 PM
what about ranieri? he's lookin for work at the moment.:cool:
Adrianovic
17/10/2005, 3:44 PM
If Alex Ferguson was the next Irish manager he'd be a blinding appointment, and anyone that says different should really have a look at this record. When did Ireland become such a great footballing nation that we could look down our nose at a manager who has won more Premiership titles and FA Cups than I can count and a Champions League trophy?
He's a good manager, end of.
The question is would he want the job, and would he take it? I'm thinking no.
There has been rumours in the past that he has influenced the retirement of some players from international football, I find it hard to believe that he'd take up this job at this stage. Also, are we presuming that he would do it on a part time or a full time basis? I can't see him leaving United, however he could potentially do it part time - yet I couldn't see the Glazers going for this.
If you're looking to possibilities that may lead him to be interested in the job, then you might say that he has taken Man Utd as far as he can and may look for a way out. International football is about the only thing he hasn't done, and Ireland may be his best option in terms of this. Ferguson may also not be too happy with the influence of the Glazers at Old Trafford and want to move away from them, and vice versa. Or perhaps he wants to go into semi-retirement, and would see the Ireland job as one he couldn't really fail at, as we qualify for tournaments so seldomly, plus he would only work once a month.
I can't see it happening, although I wish it would.
Ade
17/10/2005, 4:55 PM
MON is the only man for the job. Used to providing miracles, intelligent and knows his football. Pay him 5 million euro's if that is what it takes.
Bobby Robson is too old, he couldn't tell the difference between some of his black Newcastle Utd players!!!
Fergie can't be arsed, he wants to win the European cup with Utd again and then he'll set off to the sunset. Plus we cannot afford him.
Kenny? Lord give me strength............he has no clue about the modern game, we'd be better off with John Barnes.
17/10/2005, 6:12 PM
sounds like TABLOID LIES once again
Turns out it isMORE LIES :mad:
Fergie as manager, Keane as Assistant, perhaps?
The Legend
17/10/2005, 6:54 PM
How about Bobby Charlton? Ha, only messin, O' Neill... and if not, we might as well give Kerr another 2 years...
18/10/2005, 2:02 AM
I would find it hard to believe that Delaney has not some names up his sleeve. I don´t think Kerr´s record on its own is enough to get the vote of no confid. Delaney would have to have some alternative in order to strengthen his hand. As I don´t support or have any interest in Man U. I have no idea if Fergusen is suitable but I note that he is a big John O´Shea fan which I would have thought would have ruled him out of most Irish fan´s agendas.
He doesn´t look too healthy eithir but if he was prepared to go down to the crossroads and sell his soul in exchange for qualification then I might consider his cause with some favour.
18/10/2005, 7:53 AM
what about ranieri? he's lookin for work at the moment.:cool:
I'm not sure if you were being sracastic, but I think Ranieiri would be a very good candidate. Duff played great under him, he'd allow our players to express themselves & he trusts youth. You'd fear for some of his substitutions mind you!
The Tribune hit the nail on the head when it identified that Kerr has done very little to make this team his own. Fresh ideas are needed & Ranieri certainly isn't short in that dept.
Alan Curbishlee
Young manger, doing well with a team of limited resources.
Mentioned many times as a future England manager, this could be a good stepping stone for him.
I’m not sure if he would leave Charlton though.
They have to get an ambitious young manager who has to go out a prove something.
No use looking at the likes of Daglish, what did he ever do without money !!!!
18/10/2005, 8:50 AM
Thats a fine list of names ye have there but what has any of them done for Irish football or what interest has any of them shown in it for that matter. Are ye prepared to pay the wages they'll be looking for or will our under-age national teams pay for it? Can say what you like about Kerr but he is employed on the cheap and works his socks off for what he is paid. None of them will be prepared to take the job on what Kerr earns and will certainly treat the job as a part-time appointment. And none of them have demostrated a passion for Irish football to the same extent Kerr has. I say keep Kerr, out with Don Givens and boycott the Irish Independent.
18/10/2005, 9:06 AM
Folks
The bottom line is thanks to coming 4th in the group and missing out on the play-offs the FAI is fecked big time financially speaking. So they may be forced to offer Kerr a new deal cause they will not be able to afford a decent foreign based alternative.
The only affordable ones would be EL managers in the short term, and while I have the height of respect for most of these guys it is doubtful if the pampered overpaid Premiership ( mostly reserve) players who wear the green jersey would.
18/10/2005, 9:10 AM
Deschamps is a good suggestion how about the ex Real coach Del Bosque?
He won the Champions League and had to work under a chairman who would not let him sign defenders. John Delaney would be a cake walk compared to that :)
18/10/2005, 9:12 AM
Wasn't Deschamps up for the French job before Domenech got it? It might have been Blanc, but I'm certain the players wanted him over Domenech
18/10/2005, 9:22 AM
Just to remind people that Martin O'Neill is paid a salary of £500,000 by Celtic for an apparent "consultancy" role. Kerr gets £330,000.
18/10/2005, 9:30 AM
Bobby Robson seems to be the choice after Fergie/Keano duo, and that's never going to happen.
He may be an ex-England manager, but he has a fair record, respect, and huge knowledge of the game.
WHat ye think !!!!
Ah Bobby Robson. The man with his head in his hands in Euro '88 as England lost all 3 games in their group. Plonker. He doesn't half waffle and reminds me of David Pleat :eek: .
Forget about any current Premiership manager - financially it just wouldn't be rewarding enough.
Dalglish hastened the decline of Liverpool. His success at Blackburn was bought.
John Aldridge might not be too bad an option if Martin O'Neill can't take the job. Had reasonable success at Tranmere and would be well respected by the players and fans alike.
Stekelly
18/10/2005, 10:23 AM
Thats a fine list of names ye have there but what has any of them done for Irish football .
What had Gus Hiddink done for Korean football before gettng the job?
18/10/2005, 10:59 AM
I'm not sure if you were being sracastic, but I think Ranieiri would be a very good candidate. Duff played great under him, he'd allow our players to express themselves & he trusts youth. You'd fear for some of his substitutions mind you!
The Tribune hit the nail on the head when it identified that Kerr has done very little to make this team his own. Fresh ideas are needed & Ranieri certainly isn't short in that dept.
TINKER MAN ?? no tinkering for me thanks ...
we need a manager who is proven at working with players who dont have a lot of ability and a team with little resources
silentbob
18/10/2005, 11:55 AM
i'm going to throw this name out there and see what people think but what about.......................Steve Staunton??? Has won a hatful of caps for Ireland, played in 3 world cups,and was our captain for a period of time. He would also be a big motivator, something which people think is missing in the current regime. I know his only coaching experience is currently with Walsall but you never know, stranger things have happened!! Any thoughts?
colster
18/10/2005, 12:03 PM
i'm going to throw this name out there and see what people think but what about.......................Steve Staunton??? Has won a hatful of caps for Ireland, played in 3 world cups,and was our captain for a period of time. He would also be a big motivator, something which people think is missing in the current regime. I know his only coaching experience is currently with Walsall but you never know, stranger things have happened!! Any thoughts?
Of all the ex-players being mentioned I'd take Staunton. He'd be a bit of a gamble having no management experience. How about as an assistant to another manager with him taking over later.
What would you think about George Graham?
18/10/2005, 12:03 PM
I take it by your name that youre joking about Staunton's motivational powers. Unless our players are mind-readers they're not going to get much motivation out of Stan.
Hither green
18/10/2005, 12:11 PM
Don't know if you've seen the Beeb's quite lengthy thoughts on it.
Kerr comes out fighting
By John Haughey
Four days ago, Brian Kerr's position as Republic of Ireland manager looked akin to a dead man walking.
The Irish World Cup qualifying campaign ended with a whimper after two lamentable performances in four days against Cyprus and Switzerland.
The media were already talking about the Dubliner's reign in past tense, with the usual suspects being trotted out as possible successors.
But heading into Tuesday's Football Association of Ireland management meeting - which many have mooted as P45 time for Kerr - matters now do not quite seem so clear cut.
One thing is clear, Kerr is not going without putting up a hell of a fight.
He appeared before the Irish nation on RTE's Late Late Show on Friday night when he rolled up his sleeves to put up a combative defence of his reign before a noticeably sympathetic audience.
Two opinion polls over the weekend in the Dublin media also suggested more than 70% support for Kerr remaining in the Republic post.
While some experts have rubbished opinion polls and chat show appearances, the reality is that events over the weekend have helped Kerr's cause and made it that bit more difficult for the FAI to sack him.
It seems clear that the FAI's chief executive John Delaney is not Kerr's biggest admirer but the Waterford man will just have one vote like the other nine men on the association's board of management.
Possibly Kerr's best hope of survival is the likelihood that the list of genuine candidates will prove as uninspiring for the FAI as for many of the rest of us.
It stretches credulity to suggest that Martin O'Neill or Sir Alex Ferguson are going to be interested in taking on the Republic of Ireland job - probably at any stage in their careers but certainly at a time when the cupboard appears to be so bare in terms of quality Irish players.
There is also the small matter that Brian Kerr is paid around £330,000 per year - considerably less than the wages O'Neill and Ferguson have commanded in recent years.
That level of salary is also unlikely to impress Kenny Dalglish - who, in any case, is apparently not keen on the idea of having to subject himself to a job interview.
As for David O'Leary, the Aston Villa boss may manage the Republic one day but he has made it clear he sees his immediate future in club football.
So as was the case after Mick McCarthy's departure, the two Robsons, Sir Bobby and Bryan, have again been mentioned in dispatches.
FAI chief Delaney is apparently a great admirer of West Brom manager Bryan, but after keeping the Baggies in the Premiership last season the former England captain is unlikely to be tempted by the Irish job at this stage.
By all accounts, Sir Bobby remains mustard keen to get back into management but he has already ruled himself out of contention for the role.
That leaves names like John Aldridge and Ronnie Whelan in the lower reaches of the betting.
However, with all due respect, the managerial CVs of the two former Liverpool stars will probably inspire less confidence among the FAI decision-makers than the current incumbent's.
In a sense, Kerr could therefore hang on to his job by default with the fact that the FAI would not have to stump up big money to retain his services, also a factor that should not be overlooked.
But then again there is the deterioration in the Republic's performances over the past year and the fact Kerr's side have failed to beat a team in the top 80 in the world rankings in a competitive fixture since his appointment in January 2003.
Roy Keane's retirement will only increase the widespread feeling among the Irish public that you cannot make a silk purse out of a sow's ear - which again could play in Kerr's favour as the FAI officials sit down to make their decision.
The dead man walking could yet earn his reprieve.
JimmyR
18/10/2005, 12:11 PM
I detect some hesitancy there, at least we have something to work on.
18/10/2005, 12:20 PM
The only affordable ones would be EL managers in the short term, and while I have the height of respect for most of these guys it is doubtful if the pampered overpaid Premiership players who wear the green jersey would.
It's not about whether the players repect a coach or not, the coach has a lot to answer for.
In this group, we threw away 3 critical leads. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to know that you take the game to the opposition, and not interfere with the side when in front, i.e. let them play, instead of insisting they must defend their lead at all costs. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to get your side to play good football, instead of aimlessly firing "Hail Mary's" forward for the sake of it, especially when you don't have the players to do it.
It also doesn't take an Einstein coach to know that you sub a forward for a forward when 2-0 up after half an hour, not a midfielder. You do that when 2 up with 15' to go, not after half an hour. You don't disrupt the shape of the side, by playing players out of position either. That's not about respect, they are basic coaching techniques.
Kerr made those basic mistakes, which cost us qualification. He, and he alone must take the blame for the failure to qualify, and face the music.
18/10/2005, 12:35 PM
Paul Osam.
Meets all the criteria.Guided Pat's youth team to a cup final and Has a great sense of humour...what more do you want.
Irish_Praha
18/10/2005, 12:50 PM
Have the FAI said when they will go public with the results of their discussions today? Has there been a press conference arranged for an announcement?
StuttgartVet
18/10/2005, 1:13 PM
This sorry mess comes down to a fundamental point - Should the FAI get rid of Kerr no matter who comes in to replace him? At the moment it looks like this is what the FAI are going to do!
If MON was available I would jump at the opportunity - if the choice is Bobby Robson / Kenny Dalglish etc stick with Brian
I hope the FAI have enough cop on to know who we are getting
Bluetoff
18/10/2005, 1:20 PM
Philippe Troussier, knows the game worldwide, and he's 25/1 with Paddypower, surely worth a tenner.
CraftyToePoke
18/10/2005, 2:31 PM
No,i wasnt joking but i realise it's a long shot and it would be a risky one even if he did somehow end up in the hot seat,but if they are going to look to a continental coach then i suppose he might come into the reckoning,he knows our players too,having worked in england which other continental candidates may not. but while id say finances will dictate a less glamorous appointment i dont think he is any bigger a risk than an ex-player unproven in management for example someone like Staunton or Keane.
anyway,i know id pay good money to see the twinkle eyed tinkerman have a phonetic blast at amhrain na bhfian.:D :D that would be quality:ball:
silentbob
18/10/2005, 7:07 PM
I take it by your name that youre joking about Staunton's motivational powers. Unless our players are mind-readers they're not going to get much motivation out of Stan.
No im not. I remember watching a documentary on the irish team before, I think it was in a match we were playing against lithuania and he was really giving it loads in the dressing room before the match. Also he wasnt short of a few words before any of our games in Japan/South Korea 2002. I'd have no problem with stan taking the job at all if kerr isnt offered a new deal. Why Not? Klinnsman had no experience when he took over Germany, and Van Basten the same when he took over the Dutch, both experienced internationals..........just like stan!!
dr_peepee
18/10/2005, 7:27 PM
M O'N would be my choice for obvious reason but I'd say it's higly unlikely.
But considering how quiet he's been on the matter as opposed to Robson, Ferguson, O'Leary etc my hope has grown ever so slightly.
I'd rather keep Kerr though over people like Peter Reid, Joe Kinnear, Bobby Robson and some of the other names mentioned.
Dublin12
18/10/2005, 9:07 PM
I can see Kenny Dalglish taking the job,the salary would suit him compared to alot of the other names doing the rounds.I don't think this would be a good move as I feel the game has passed him by,imo it's either him or Troussier.Anyone know what the odds on Dalglish are?
dalglish is 12/1 and troussier is 25/1
http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=show_type_by_main_market&category=SOCCER&ev_class_id=115&id=3266
Dublin12
18/10/2005, 9:13 PM
It's gonna be Dalglish isn't it:confused:
18/10/2005, 9:16 PM
It's gonna be Dalglish isn't it:confused:
Wonder if he will bring his mate Hansen as Assistant. That would really pis* off Lawro!
Dublin12
18/10/2005, 9:18 PM
Wonder if he will bring his mate Hansen as Assistant. That would really pis* off Lawro!
Or John Barnes!:eek:
18/10/2005, 9:19 PM
i think i should get the job . my cv lists winning the world cup with germany , getting to group stages of the champions league with sligo rovers , winning 5 consecutive la ligas with real madrid and winning the champions league with lazio. all this in championship manager but i see no reason why i cant translate this success into a real life setting.
I also feel that I deserve to once again manage my country, having previously wont the world cup 3 times with them, as well as winning the champions leageue 4 times with sligo rovers.
However, my lack of experience in la liga may swing it in favour of Gustavo
18/10/2005, 9:27 PM
how is it inevitable ?
Well he's gone now.
18/10/2005, 9:28 PM
Well I got Rochdale to the Premiership in the space of 5 seasons,so I know all the sh!ty Irish players in the lower leagues who I can pick ahead of the Eircom Leagues finest....just what the FAI are looking for.
18/10/2005, 9:46 PM
good point u have there!
i can see call ups for daryl clare et al on the way if The Stars has his way!
highlight100
18/10/2005, 11:03 PM
has to be roy evans or the peoples choice big ron atkinson (wonder would eoin hand come out of retirment)
18/10/2005, 11:17 PM
http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=show_type_by_main_market&category=SOCCER&ev_class_id=115&id=3266
Of this list, the only ones I wouldn't get angry about are O'Neill, Burley and Cruyff.
Peter Reud FFS?!?!?