View Full Version : Town 2025
MoydowMonty
21/12/2024, 1:16 PM
How are we now
Happy Christmas to ye. I came across this forum randomly and I think it's time to get some Town talk going again here now that the dust has settled on 2024, as well as a couple of years of inaction here from what I can tell.
So what are we hoping for from Town's 2025 ? I'm personally just hoping we pick ourselves up after last season and not be dancing around the bottom place again, maybe a dark horse run for 5th. But I'm not holding my breath on reaching playoffs. Really depends on what the squad looks like. I hope the squad doesn't get gutted again like Winter 2022, but I also can't blame any of them for wanting to leave after how 2024 went.
Seeing the likes of Cobh and Kerry get good backing and making big signings will add to the challenge too. So I'm not sure what to expect from us at the moment
21/12/2024, 2:35 PM
How are we now
Happy Christmas to ye. I came across this forum randomly and I think it's time to get some Town talk going again here now that the dust has settled on 2024, as well as a couple of years of inaction here from what I can tell.
So what are we hoping for from Town's 2025 ? I'm personally just hoping we pick ourselves up after last season and not be dancing around the bottom place again, maybe a dark horse run for 5th. But I'm not holding my breath on reaching playoffs. Really depends on what the squad looks like. I hope the squad doesn't get gutted again like Winter 2022, but I also can't blame any of them for wanting to leave after how 2024 went.
Seeing the likes of Cobh and Kerry get good backing and making big signings will add to the challenge too. So I'm not sure what to expect from us at the moment
Yeah Im rather worried not one signing or resigning announced yet. And Kerry FC have serious money being pumped in too. And Cobh a major investor in the market. The lack of noise from club rather worries me to say the least I will leave it till last minute and then decide!
MoydowMonty
21/12/2024, 3:37 PM
Yeah Im rather worried not one signing or resigning announced yet. And Kerry FC have serious money being pumped in too. And Cobh a major investor in the market. The lack of noise from club rather worries me to say the least I will leave it till last minute and then decide!
Think only us and Athlone have no signings announced if I'm not wrong.
And like the season kinda starts in less than a month if you count the Leinster Senior League. I see Wixted, O'Connor and Serdeniuk are showing up as unnattached in the FAI connect app, whether that means they're officially gone or not I'm not sure.
Another small aside is no jersey on sale yet. I wouldn't mind but ideally you'd have them out before Christmas to help with sales.
24/12/2024, 12:25 PM
Heard yesterday that Kyle OConnor has left us to go to Athlone Town. Its not confirmed yet though. Theres talk that the chairman may be quitting according to my source which explains the lack of news coming out of the club these days!
MoydowMonty
24/12/2024, 2:35 PM
Theres talk that the chairman may be quitting according to my source which explains the lack of news coming out of the club these days!
Just to clarify, this is the Longford Town chairman you're on about? That would certainly be a big change. He's been there for a long time
As for O'Connor, while his 2024 wasn't as strong as his 2023, I'd still rather have him. He'd be a real loss
I also see Adeyamo and Hery don't have the club attached to their names on FAI Connect anymore, they would more huge losses if they're indeed gone
25/12/2024, 3:05 PM
Just to clarify, this is the Longford Town chairman you're on about? That would certainly be a big change. He's been there for a long time
As for O'Connor, while his 2024 wasn't as strong as his 2023, I'd still rather have him. He'd be a real loss
I also see Adeyamo and Hery don't have the club attached to their names on FAI Connect anymore, they would more huge losses if they're indeed gone
Yeah correct. Dont want Adeyemo or Hery as they were superb for us towards end of last year!
MoydowMonty
25/12/2024, 7:55 PM
Definitely. Adeyamo as the top scorer and Hery our most creative player last season. They'd be missed if they're indeed gone.
We finally have some sort of lift off on the signings front at least. O'Shea, Norris and Slater. All good re-signings.
I hope that's the start of a rake of announcements over the next couple of weeks
Keen2win
27/12/2024, 7:25 PM
Will see how the first few games go but likely to be down the bottom again. The club is at its lowest ebb in c. 30 years.
Interesting JH is apparently off, but he might hang around. Can see LTFC getting demoted to the new tier II in a few years - unless there's some changes round the place. Not keeping Anthony Elding an absolute disgrace and worst decision of them all. Where are all the 17s players we won our first ever national league title with a few years ago??? This thing of Dublin managers training in Dublin, never watching the academy, with Dublin players who can't make the 5 or 6 Dublin teams is getting very outdated. Just my opinion
MoydowMonty
27/12/2024, 9:25 PM
Can see LTFC getting demoted to the new tier II in a few years - unless there's some changes round the place.
See this is a serious worry I have too. What would happen with the club if we dropped another tier? Suddenly you're not even in the LOI technically. You surely can't charge the same prices as you were. Attendances would drop once again. So right there you'd have a fair hit to income.
Would we still look to recruit lads from Dublin or rely more on a local team as it's a lower level? Hard to say. But it would be even less attractive to recruit the kind of players we've been signing the last few years in 3rd tier
And you just know what people's attitude to the club is like around the county as it is. If the club got relegated from the first division, they'd really dig the boot in (course the same people would be straight along the bandwagon for a playoff or a big game).
I might be overthinking it but I just feel like it could be fatal for the club to drop to the 3rd tier.
Keen2win
28/12/2024, 9:07 AM
Hopefully it all comes good for the club
28/12/2024, 10:29 AM
Not sure where the JH rumours have come from, if he was off today or tomorrow we wouldn't have made any re-signings, he's definitely not going anywhere this season.
He did say at the dinner dance he can't go on forever and he said it was disappointing to see how volunteer levels had really dropped off and how it's the same faces keeping the club alive year or year, maybe people are reading into that but I think he was just pointing out the obvious that in its current form the club simply can not compete at the top end of the table anymore that we desperately need more people to get involved with the club.
Good to see the town thread back active
28/12/2024, 12:35 PM
TBH if we are relegated to 3rd tier I couldnt see us having Dublin based players. It would be all local I imagine. I think that interest would drop too. Whether that would lead to better relations with the local league is up to them I imagine?
Thats a huge blow that Hery has gone to Athlone.
MoydowMonty
28/12/2024, 1:34 PM
About 2 years ago they had a call out for volunteers. I put my name down as did 3 lads I know. Not one of us heard back. If we didn't hear back how many others didn't either? Don't be crying out for volunteers then not bother to respond to those who offer to help
I'm hoping that I'll get a house near home in the coming years and then I'd look to see can I volunteer some way. But I was a bit peeved off at the time by what I said above.
And aye, that Hery move is a kick in the teeth. He definitely won't be the last key player to depart either
29/12/2024, 12:37 AM
What's all this on here about Elding lately and how he should be either managing the first team or running the entire club? Why did he last a handful of months at Sligo after he left us? If he's the second coming of our lord and saviour why hasn't he had a job in the LOI yet?
29/12/2024, 10:38 AM
Ok that's your opinion
No different to your opinion that he's the next Pep Guardiola, maybe he is and he'll end up leading Mayo FC into the new third tier in a few years and doing an amazing job but until then there's no basis to be saying that the club made a huge mistake in not appointing him as manager or CEO.
I still feel our biggest mistake in recent years was letting Daire Doyle go.
29/12/2024, 6:38 PM
Is there any chance we can keep this thread from descending into the same rabbit hole every other town related discussion seems to go down these days, some genuinely interesting points raised in the opening posts.
Hopefully some more player next week, while the likes of Athlone and dundalk have been very busy theres plenty of clubs who have been quiet too such as harps, bray and treaty so hopefully we can steal a march on a few of them and maybe mix it for a top six finish next season as opposed to another scrap to avoid wooden spoon
Keen2win
30/12/2024, 12:47 AM
Personally don't think it's worth falling out over just basing it on the League title win - purely football.. the 17s done very well last year under a different manager too and he should be kept on also of course. That's 2 crops of players that will hopefully make their way into first team but at present it doesn't seem to be happening much.
anyway onwards and upwards we should all support the current management they definitely deserve their chance too. Maybe I was too harsh with my words, is any decision in football disgraceful it's only a game!!?
30/12/2024, 9:13 AM
Personally don't think it's worth falling out over just basing it on the League title win - purely football.. the 17s done very well last year under a different manager too and he should be kept on also of course. That's 2 crops of players that will hopefully make their way into first team but at present it doesn't seem to be happening much.
anyway onwards and upwards we should all support the current management they definitely deserve their chance too. Maybe I was too harsh with my words, is any decision in football disgraceful it's only a game!!?
No falling out here, genuinely interested in your opinion on it. I used to go out and watch the academy teams and give them a bit of coverage when I lived at home, I know the players used to love seeing live updates of their matches and getting the experience of doing an interview after games but I don't get home too often now outside of match days so you're better clued in than me about talents coming through.
Tbf to Wayne and I suppose Hendo too, the likes of Gilly and Emmanuel James got plenty of opportunities last season and did ok.
I actually think the addition of women's teams has been brilliant, at the recent dinner dance it was fantastic to see so many young girls up receiving their awards and clearly loving being a part of the wider club, the aim seems to be getting a senior team in place at some point which can only help the club grow further but it will also add even more expense which kind of links in with earlier discussions here, it's becoming next to impossible for us to compete without some serious money coming in from somewhere
01/01/2025, 12:06 AM
Catching up on this thread. As the nominated moderator, try not to get into personal arguments please but I do note everyone took a step back in the end so thanks everyone. On JH leaving, I think he'll never leave the club in the lurch but at the same time he's probably not that far off retiring at this point and it's natural to be looking around and saying I won't be here forever. The problems as others have said is that the league is moving on rapidly in terms of both minimum commitments and player costs and we simply don't have the population and support to sustain a much higher budget. Even our glory years of 20 years ago almost ended with us going bankrupt.
01/01/2025, 11:28 AM
Delighted to see Eric Yoro re-sign. Looked like he couldn't tie his own laces in his first few games but he really grew into the shirt as he played more games. Hopefully get him a good partner at the back and we can try and improve our woeful defensive record from last two seasons. I would like to see another keeper brought in to challenge Halwax.
MoydowMonty
01/01/2025, 11:50 AM
Happy enough with George signing back. Not his fault he never got a proper chance last season.
Definitely need another keeper, I wasn't a bit sold on Halwax 2nd half of last season, always a fear of a clanger happening.
Wixted has signed for Athlone I see, not a huge loss imo but others might disagree
01/01/2025, 2:09 PM
Wixted looked a revelation when he first arrived, very hot and cold after that. Dean George got a bad injury last year as opposed to constant niggles so he's worth another go. Kyle O'Connor just announced by Athlone, he never hit the heights of 2023 last season but will need replacing all the same.
At the moment we've no out and out striker signed up (wonder what story with Adeyemo is?) and we've got the bones of a defence. Going to have to be a flurry of activity soon or we are in trouble me thinks
MoydowMonty
01/01/2025, 2:48 PM
O'Connor still a loss, even if his 24 wasn't as good as his 23.
Adeyamo has no club name attached to his name on FAI Connect. And I've been watching it closely last few weeks. O'Connor, Wixy and Hery were all unnattached last few weeks and they've officially changed clubs now. So I'm assuming the worst that Adeyamo is also leaving. Serdeniuk is also unnattached on the app too. Everyone else is still under LTFC, but I assume not all will be staying on.
01/01/2025, 11:15 PM
I'm probably the guiltiest of all for building Victor up into being this superstar for us, truth is he was a grand player but that's it. Lower rung of First Division is his level (I appreciate that's where we are).
The bigger concern is who are we going to replace these lads with.
MoydowMonty
02/01/2025, 1:01 PM
Well there's one I wasn't expecting. Adeyamo is off to Iceland it seems according to transfermarkt https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jordan-adeyemo/profil/spieler/595665
And an article https://fotbolti.net/news/02-01-2025/irskur-soknarmadur-i-aegi-stadfest
Can't say that was on my bingo card
02/01/2025, 1:10 PM
Well there's one I wasn't expecting. Adeyamo is off to Iceland it seems according to transfermarkt https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/jordan-adeyemo/profil/spieler/595665
And an article https://fotbolti.net/news/02-01-2025/irskur-soknarmadur-i-aegi-stadfest
Can't say that was on my bingo card
Thats a huge blow to us that JA is gone. It was thanks to him that we got off bottom spot.
02/01/2025, 9:42 PM
I can't understand the ridiculous stick he got from town fans last season, was at a game in Bray last year where he was getting absolutely hammered every single touch he took. He was the only player we had in last two seasons who knew where the net was. He missed plenty of big chances to but the concern now is how you replace a proven goal scorer on a seemingly shoestring budget.
As I said in previous posts we've got a Skelton back four, one keeper and no striker. I'm worried
MoydowMonty
02/01/2025, 10:19 PM
He got stick because he could be fierce lazy at times. Many a time I'd get annoyed that he wouldn't chase a ball down. And he'd get caught at least 3 or 4 times for offside a game (often very avoidable).
But he did score 10 goals for a bottom table side so I couldn't complain much once ue was doing that. Another huge loss. I can't see George putting up those numbers, he has never done that for any previous side he has played for. Manny James I hope will stay on, but I wouldn't expect those numbers out of him yet either. So it's not clear yet where the goals will come from
02/01/2025, 10:24 PM
He was an awful man for being caught offside alright. Think he was offside 5 times one night in space of a few minutes and I didn't hear one player hammer him, can only imagine if there was someone like Stephen rice in midfield what his reaction would be
MoydowMonty
09/01/2025, 8:40 AM
I see Emre Topcu is listed under the Town on FAI Connect after leaving Drogs. I'm 95% certain his name was unattached when the season was over, so I hope I'm right that he's coming back. Thought he did quite well in that loan spell.
Only 6 players signed now with LSC starting in 10 days. We could be seeing a few trialists out for those games
MoydowMonty
14/01/2025, 2:04 PM
Emmanuel James and Fran Campbell re-signed. Happy with those (particularly Manny for the local angle) but would be good to start seeing some new faces in. We don't necessarily want the squad from last season that was scraping 2nd last
MoydowMonty
15/01/2025, 11:29 AM
And Shane Elworthy is now unattached on FAI Connect. That one would really sting if it's accurate
15/01/2025, 3:22 PM
And Shane Elworthy is now unattached on FAI Connect. That one would really sting if it's accurate
Thats a huge blow!
At long last we have made our first new signing.
https://ltfc.ie/2025/01/manny-milongo-signs-for-2025/
Also on the Kerry FC forum here it was mentioned that Kerrys Andy Spain has signed for us. Whether its true is another story...
MoydowMonty
15/01/2025, 5:05 PM
Also on the Kerry FC forum here it was mentioned that Kerrys Andy Spain has signed for us. Whether its true is another story...
I remember the name when he played for Athlone alright, but I've no real opinion of him. Would take him though, need to get more new faces in now.
Also mid January and still no jersey, I don't know what's going on there. Whether it's Macron ****ing about or not.
16/01/2025, 2:11 PM
I remember the name when he played for Athlone alright, but I've no real opinion of him. Would take him though, need to get more new faces in now.
Also mid January and still no jersey, I don't know what's going on there. Whether it's Macron ****ing about or not.
Yeah and no word on a sponsor either. The silence from our club is rather deafening to say the least. You are afraid to make a comment publically these days withone someone hanging you.
16/01/2025, 3:51 PM
Know nothing of the new lad we signed from Drogheda yesterday but after speaking to a few people who know him they describe him as a big physical centre half. Should Spain sign as well then we certainly have plenty of options there. With O'Connor gone id imagine O'Shea will move to LB.
MoydowMonty
16/01/2025, 3:51 PM
Yeah and no word on a sponsor either. The silence from our club is rather deafening to say the least. You are afraid to make a comment publically these days withone someone hanging you.
What's that craic with sponsorship? I didn't think there was any issue there. When the fixtures came out, it said Bishopsgate as our ground, so I didn't have any reason to think there was an issue with sponsorship.
They don't usually say before each season who the main sponsor is either. But maybe there's something going on I don't know about
17/01/2025, 1:35 PM
What's that craic with sponsorship? I didn't think there was any issue there. When the fixtures came out, it said Bishopsgate as our ground, so I didn't have any reason to think there was an issue with sponsorship.
They don't usually say before each season who the main sponsor is either. But maybe there's something going on I don't know about
I am on about a sponsor on the front of the jersey like in previous years!
MoydowMonty
17/01/2025, 2:42 PM
But is there anything to say it won't be Bishopsgate? Like are they not still the main sponsor? I know it wasn't on last seasons jersey but I assumed that was just a one off because of the centenary occasion.
Speaking of kits, I do wonder is it Macron messing the club about with the 2025 kit. They had shamrock rovers kit out very lively and prompt. Maybe they're fobbing Longford off cuz we're not rovers size. At least that's what I want to believe, I'm giving the club the benefit of the doubt here. Doesn't make sense to wait this near to season to have it on sale, and well after Christmas
Elworthy lining out for Malahide United. End of an era. What a servant, owes absolutely nothing to the club. He'll be missed. I hope the club remember to thank him in a post. They've a recent history of not mentioning players leaving after being there years
18/01/2025, 3:25 PM
But is there anything to say it won't be Bishopsgate? Like are they not still the main sponsor? I know it wasn't on last seasons jersey but I assumed that was just a one off because of the centenary occasion.
Speaking of kits, I do wonder is it Macron messing the club about with the 2025 kit. They had shamrock rovers kit out very lively and prompt. Maybe they're fobbing Longford off cuz we're not rovers size. At least that's what I want to believe, I'm giving the club the benefit of the doubt here. Doesn't make sense to wait this near to season to have it on sale, and well after Christmas
Elworthy lining out for Malahide United. End of an era. What a servant, owes absolutely nothing to the club. He'll be missed. I hope the club remember to thank him in a post. They've a recent history of not mentioning players leaving after being there years
Never considered that with the centenary kit honestly didnt know about that. I heard elsewhere that a new jersey is being issued but have no idea for the delay?
Yeah sorry to see Elworthy leave us. Have to agree with you on not mentioning players leaving.
MoydowMonty
18/01/2025, 5:30 PM
Less than month to the season now, bit of a p1ss take of a delay with those jerseys.
On the plus side, nice that Manny gets a goal in friendly win over shels
MoydowMonty
20/01/2025, 7:13 AM
According to Twitter, Gilly Priosti lined out for Sligo in their friendly against Athlone at the weekend. Barely got much of a chance last season despite having nothing to play for by summer. Bit disappointed as I thought he had something about him anytime I saw him, and Sligo clearly think so too.
The club also haven't said anything ( on Twitter at least) about the win against Shels or that there was even a match on, 2 days after the fact. This is basic stuff and it really irks me
20/01/2025, 1:48 PM
According to Twitter, Gilly Priosti lined out for Sligo in their friendly against Athlone at the weekend. Barely got much of a chance last season despite having nothing to play for by summer. Bit disappointed as I thought he had something about him anytime I saw him, and Sligo clearly think so too.
The club also haven't said anything ( on Twitter at least) about the win against Shels or that there was even a match on, 2 days after the fact. This is basic stuff and it really irks me
What really irks me is the lack of communication from club over last while. Its as if they dont give a damn about the support base. Wait until the pyramid system fully runs. That will treat them some manners.
MoydowMonty
20/01/2025, 5:22 PM
It takes 30 seconds to write a post saying we had a friendly against Shels and local lad Manny got the goal. If this was a one-off I wouldn't mind but there's countless examples of these. I still think they should have said something about the Dylan Hand mess up too rather than pretending it never happened.
Looks like you were right about Andy Spain, he's down with us on FAI Connect. Good few CBs now
21/01/2025, 11:59 AM
Nice tribute on the Town website to Elworthy for the service he’s given over the years. Might keep the moaners quiet for a day or two.
Town Legend
21/01/2025, 1:51 PM
You would have to wonder if it wasn't mentioned here or elsewhere, would an Elworthy tribute have been put out!!!
MoydowMonty
21/01/2025, 2:56 PM
Nice tribute on the Town website to Elworthy for the service he’s given over the years. Might keep the moaners quiet for a day or two.
It's not moaning for the sake of moaning (for myself anyway).
The club have had a recent history of just not giving updates on things they should be putting out or being very slow. And it's frustrating.
They never even mentioned Sam Verdon left the club. Presumably something happened there behind the scenes, but considering he was there for many seasons, scored several big goals, was the captain at the time etc etc they should have said the bare minimum which was that he was leaving and Elworthy was taking over captaincy. Instead they said nothing.
That's just one example, there's plenty other examples I could rattle off.
I'm glad they gave a farewell to Elworthy, he's a Town legend and deserved it. And it's good they finally mentioned the shels friendly. Because this is basic stuff that every club should be doing. There's zero reason not to do it, and it keeps fans onside.
Bray have garnered a negative reputation since the Cabo takeover of not being transparent with fans (amongst other things granted) and I don't want Town to end up like that.
22/01/2025, 3:10 PM
Didnt realise Jamal Ibrahim has resigned for us from Athlone?
MoydowMonty
22/01/2025, 3:39 PM
Didnt realise Jamal Ibrahim has resigned for us from Athlone?
He joined back last July, but was never featured in a single squad for the rest of the season. I thought maybe he had left again without saying anything. But apparently it was injury according to this https://ltfc.ie/2025/01/jamal-ibrahim-re-signs-for-2025/ (https://ltfc.ie/2025/01/jamal-ibrahim-re-signs-for-2025/Only)
Only took them 6 months to mention that.
He has a bit of proving to do imo, thought he was underwhelming in his first spell under Hendo
MoydowMonty
24/01/2025, 4:09 PM
Well to offset the ****e news of the wall at Bishopsgate being destroyed by the storm, it looks like there's some signings according to FAI Connect.
Josh Giurgi is now down as a Town player, last seen in Hendo's first season before he went to Maynooth last year. Guess he's back for another crack. There's also Osaza Irhue from Drogheda who was playing regularly for their u-20s. Maybe he'll only be going to our own academy, not sure.
At this point I presume Topcu, Hand, McCarthy and Fay will be returning as their names are still under town and also appeared in the shels game last weekend. Still not sure what the craic with Chambers is