View Full Version : Town 2025
22/04/2025, 3:09 PM
As bad as we were for the first 30 mins of the second half, and by god we were bad, I actually think we deserved a point out of it. We should have been ahead at HT, Campbell missing a sitter amongst other decent chances/opportunities that we didn't make the most of. Athlone were desperate too, but I still think on the overall balance of play we didn't deserve to lose. Delighted to get the equaliser in the end, a lovely goal it was too.
But christ, that first half an hour of the second half was as bad as I've seen in a long, long time.
Would agree that LWS on the right brings a bit of extra quality. Be great if he could stay fit now and if we could get Norris back on the left too. Be much more threat with those two fit and firing. Anyone know when he's due back from injury?
Norris not that far away fwiu, second half yesterday was as bad a performance as I've seen from any Town team, had two athlone players not fallen over each other it was game over. I don't think anyone was under any illusions after that we got out of jail and have to improve and quickly. My worry is how we've gone from being hard to play against to looking so wide open in midfield and defence in last two matches. LWS made a huge impact yesterday, if we can get him and Norris back hopefully Murtagh can get more service as he's proven he's our best striker. Manny James isn't making enough impact off the bench to push for a start, barely touched it after coming on yesterday.
23/04/2025, 4:58 PM
I'm not close enough to it in recent years to know the ins and outs of who decided what and when, and so these are genuine questions. What kind of team would we able to put out based on our current budget if we were training in Longford? And are the facilities at the ground away from the main pitch sufficiently up to scratch to be training on at night a few times a week? If they're being used for the first team where do the academy teams train?
23/04/2025, 10:43 PM
I'm not close enough to it in recent years to know the ins and outs of who decided what and when, and so these are genuine questions. What kind of team would we able to put out based on our current budget if we were training in Longford? And are the facilities at the ground away from the main pitch sufficiently up to scratch to be training on at night a few times a week? If they're being used for the first team where do the academy teams train?
I wouldn't know the inside and outs of budgets but I know what the likes of Dundalk are paying players and we are lightyears away from it. Hard to know with the likes of Bray they clearly spent big last season but lost a lot of those players and have a mods youthful team now. Wexford and Harps both youthful but still have some experienced PD players on their books. Cobh spent massive. Even Kerry are now housing players so we definitely appear to have one of if not the smallest budget.
The back pitch doesn't have floodlights and astro only 7 aside size so pretty much a NR for first team training.
I do think we'll see the club attempting to do more in the community in the not too distant future. You only have to look at the events being run this weekend in honour of the late Cian Nearl and Cian's Kennels to see the club want to reach out more and support causes like this which can only be a positive.
24/04/2025, 11:20 AM
That's good news about Norris. Would definitely help us to have a threat on both wings for sure.
With regards the budget, we're surely the smallest in the FD by a long way?
I don't know the full details or licencing requirements regarding underage and women's teams, but wasn't there something brought in a few years ago where they (underage/women's) were made a requirement for licencing purposes, rather than a nice-to-have/optional extra? Each of these teams costs a nice whack to run each year I'm sure.
From the outside looking in (and I could be completely wrong on this, open to correction), it just seems our whole club budget of €X per year has probably stayed in or around the same as it has been for years, but we now have to run 6 (I think) teams from the budget, rather than the 1 or 2 we used to have to run. This has then had a knock-on affect on our ability to sign players for our first team.
Again, that's my guess on things looking from the outside, could be miles off the truth there.
24/04/2025, 7:55 PM
Yeah it's definitely a licencing requirement to have underage LOI teams on the men's side of things. Not sure on the women's but wouldn't surprise me. It's hard to see a long term future in the LOI the way things are going to be honest, and that's not a criticism of those keeping the show on the road.
24/04/2025, 11:50 PM
The third tier could be a good jolt for us to wake ourselves up from this slumber we've been in the last few seasons or it could effectively be the end of us, difficult to know.
25/04/2025, 9:14 PM
Again I feel like I need to say I'm not close to how things are operating day to day but it's hard to see where more money comes from. The town is a struggling town, and the wider county isn't exactly booming either. So I imagine there's no big queue of sponsors knocking on the door. I've no interest in any fly by night "investors" coming in and taking control either, so it's hard to see how things improve.
MoydowMonty
26/04/2025, 7:54 AM
I've a genuine fear that the club won't be around in 10 years. Maybe I'm overthinking it. But like you say it's hard to see investment coming in anytime soon. The 3rd tier is on the way and we've been dancing around those bottom places recently since we still haven't really seen the same boom that other clubs have had since covid.
I'd expect attendances to drop even firther in 3rd tier cuz that's what people are like in this county. JH can't keep the show going forever either, we're blessed to have him even now when we're struggling.
I hate being negative that way, but it's very worrying to me what the future holds for the club
26/04/2025, 7:56 AM
I'd sadly agree.
MoydowMonty
26/04/2025, 10:48 PM
The Cian Neary stuff that was done tonight was a nice touch, and I'm happy that the effort was put in there as stuff like this is what fans would like to see more of.
6 games now without a win though. After that Treaty win I thought we'd be a bit better off by this point, but most games have been decisive losses. Kinda gave Dundalk something to think about at least in the first half but offered SFA in the second.
26/04/2025, 11:10 PM
A poignant night with the Cian Neary tributes. As I said in a recent post I think you'll really see the club make in roads in the community over the next few months.
As for the performance, another non showing in a second half. Flat as a pancake. Team seems to have lost its grit from early in the season. Worrying
That's good news about Norris. Would definitely help us to have a threat on both wings for sure.
With regards the budget, we're surely the smallest in the FD by a long way?
I don't know the full details or licencing requirements regarding underage and women's teams, but wasn't there something brought in a few years ago where they (underage/women's) were made a requirement for licencing purposes, rather than a nice-to-have/optional extra? Each of these teams costs a nice whack to run each year I'm sure.
From the outside looking in (and I could be completely wrong on this, open to correction), it just seems our whole club budget of €X per year has probably stayed in or around the same as it has been for years, but we now have to run 6 (I think) teams from the budget, rather than the 1 or 2 we used to have to run. This has then had a knock-on affect on our ability to sign players for our first team.
Again, that's my guess on things looking from the outside, could be miles off the truth there.
I think you might be correct - costs have gone up, but income has at best stood still.
I suppose if you asked us in money terms how far are we off having a team consistently competitive in the first div, its probably about 100k a year. So where would you get that is the question. Improved gates would give you some of that, maybe an extra 20 or 25k, but hard to see where the rest comes in.
Probably need to have at least one other non football source of income.
A poignant night with the Cian Neary tributes. As I said in a recent post I think you'll really see the club make in roads in the community over the next few months.
As for the performance, another non showing in a second half. Flat as a pancake. Team seems to have lost its grit from early in the season. Worrying
We gave a good account of ourselves in first half, but the gap in quality in the second half was vast and once first went in was just a question of how many.
To be fair I wasnt expecting anything from last night, be a bit more hopeful for the Wexford game.
27/04/2025, 7:52 PM
I've a genuine fear that the club won't be around in 10 years. Maybe I'm overthinking it. But like you say it's hard to see investment coming in anytime soon. The 3rd tier is on the way and we've been dancing around those bottom places recently since we still haven't really seen the same boom that other clubs have had since covid.
I'd expect attendances to drop even firther in 3rd tier cuz that's what people are like in this county. JH can't keep the show going forever either, we're blessed to have him even now when we're struggling.
I hate being negative that way, but it's very worrying to me what the future holds for the club
Agree, in terms of being a LOI club anyway. It's such a great facility out there but there just isn't the population to make money out of it. The club would be dead 20 years ago without JH and a few others but it's not sustainable to keep relying on individuals covering the shortfall year after year after year. To be fair the club have, from what I can tell, run a tight ship for a long time now with wages always being paid, no huge debts being run up, but every year gets more expensive.
MoydowMonty
27/04/2025, 11:27 PM
Agree, in terms of being a LOI club anyway. It's such a great facility out there but there just isn't the population to make money out of it. The club would be dead 20 years ago without JH and a few others but it's not sustainable to keep relying on individuals covering the shortfall year after year after year. To be fair the club have, from what I can tell, run a tight ship for a long time now with wages always being paid, no huge debts being run up, but every year gets more expensive.
If relegation happened I'd like to see a shift to more of a local angle. Start having the squad predominantly Longford, Roscommon, Leitrim, Cavan, Monaghan etc players. And have the odd few from outside. Because I just can't see how the Dublin reliance would be sustainable in the 3rd tier. Plus those lads would have options presumably for the teams in Kildare, Meath, other Dublin clubs etc. Why would they come to Longford at that point, and wages would be reduced in 3rd tier most likely.
Would that win a few more people over to go to games, hard to know.
Mind you I think we should be giving our lads more of a shout this season already. If this is going to be a quiet season like it's turning out to be, at least give the likes of Manny and Flood Norton more a chance to make an impact and show that the academy can produce players at LOI/3rd tier level. If those lads end up leaving cuz they're not getting enough game time I'd be sick. Because I'm beginning to think if we're going to get clapped most weeks using these Dublin lads, what have you to lose from giving academy lads a look in. Always thought Callun Warfield should have got more of a look in before he moved on for example
If relegation happened I'd like to see a shift to more of a local angle. Start having the squad predominantly Longford, Roscommon, Leitrim, Cavan, Monaghan etc players. And have the odd few from outside. Because I just can't see how the Dublin reliance would be sustainable in the 3rd tier. Plus those lads would have options presumably for the teams in Kildare, Meath, other Dublin clubs etc. Why would they come to Longford at that point, and wages would be reduced in 3rd tier most likely.
Would that win a few more people over to go to games, hard to know.
Mind you I think we should be giving our lads more of a shout this season already. If this is going to be a quiet season like it's turning out to be, at least give the likes of Manny and Flood Norton more a chance to make an impact and show that the academy can produce players at LOI/3rd tier level. If those lads end up leaving cuz they're not getting enough game time I'd be sick. Because I'm beginning to think if we're going to get clapped most weeks using these Dublin lads, what have you to lose from giving academy lads a look in. Always thought Callun Warfield should have got more of a look in before he moved on for example
In the past that was a local or not local debate, but it is more nuanced now as we have our own underage pathway. Looking at other clubs they do try and get some of their younger lads, 16/17 years olds into squads - Goodness from Longford was a sub for Rovers in Europe and I think in some league games this season, aged 17, Finn Harps have a few of their younger boys playing too.
One other issue for us is the competition for the best young talent both male and female, where the highest rated young players from our league are signing for other clubs.
28/04/2025, 1:07 PM
To continue this debate why are we paying a FT wage to a certain club official? Thats not sustainable. That wasnt done in our glory years. If we were generating the crowds then yes I would 100 % support this. It defies logic to say the least. At least if that practice stopped then they could make a dent in having to pay for the damage down to the ground resultin from storm Ewoyn.
No way you could run the club without staff anymore. I'd say every other club has a few paid non playing staff.
The club plays 7 games and I would guess 20 plus training sessions a week, think of all thats involved with that, let alone all the offield stuff that has to be done.
TownManForever
28/04/2025, 2:18 PM
Do you think that lad getting paid is being paid 100,000? Every club has minimum 3/4 full time staff for off the pitch stuff. We’re lucky we even have one!
28/04/2025, 5:42 PM
I heard at the weekend that he's no longer in that role. I have no idea how true that is though, nor do I know whether he was or wasn't doing a good job to be honest.
28/04/2025, 9:34 PM
You so realize that in our glory days we essentially had 1 team to run? There are now 5 or 6 men's underage teams and two girls underage teams. You do also realise a third of the clubs in the first division have just fallen foul of not doing their paperwork correctly around transfers, I've no doubt had we not had an individual who was fully trained and competent in the practice of ITC and player registration that we would have also ended up with a likely points deduction.
Ive said for a few years now that I'd be willing to accept a few years of finishing at the bottom if it meant the club was going to focus on building stronger structures off the pitch. More full time or at least paid staff is the only way to achieve that.
TownManForever
29/04/2025, 11:49 AM
Do you think that chap was on €100,000?
29/04/2025, 11:35 PM
Furthermore to the current discussion, did anyone else see the figures coming out of Sligo's AGM last night? Their budget for this year is 2.4 million. We haven't a prayer
MoydowMonty
30/04/2025, 7:57 AM
I'd love a promotion run as much as the next person but I just know if it did happen we'd get just absolutely stomped. There's no competing with those resources. And the solidarity money all going to the premier clubs doesn't help. I know the premier clubs aren't rich as such but for lack of a better word, "the rich get richer" in this case.
I'd be curious to see one of the other part time clubs go up and just see how they fare. UCD were the last ones up there but I don't count them (sorry but not sorry). I'd like to see a Wexford or Bray mixed in with those full time teams to see how bad it gets. It could be even worse than our 2021 or UCD's 2023
30/04/2025, 10:10 AM
With the way things are going the team coming down is always going to walk the division barring any financial meltdown. Agree that any of the part time teams going up via play offs would be whipping boys. It's a problem for the league. They're probably hoping it gets addressed by the "investors" pumping money into the smaller teams but how sustainable is that?
30/04/2025, 11:19 AM
Fully agree with that. I think our sad reality is going to be once the third tier comes up that us managing stay in the first division will be viewed as a successful season. If we go down there's absolutely no guarantee we come back. There would be clubs in the LSL paying out bigger wages than us for some players
MoydowMonty
30/04/2025, 11:19 AM
Total crapshoot. Athlone look like they're about to get their new overlords in, so jury is out on them. Cobh had and lost their new owners.
I wouldn't know how attractive Longford Town would be to external investors. I also have concerns about our current sponsors, does their lack of presence on the jerseys this year indicate they're pulling out? Pure speculation mind
30/04/2025, 1:59 PM
Total crapshoot. Athlone look like they're about to get their new overlords in, so jury is out on them. Cobh had and lost their new owners.
I wouldn't know how attractive Longford Town would be to external investors. I also have concerns about our current sponsors, does their lack of presence on the jerseys this year indicate they're pulling out? Pure speculation mind
Have to agree with you on this. Theres nothing attractive in Longford any more. The clubs location out of town doenst help things at all imo.
30/04/2025, 2:48 PM
Have to agree with you on this. Theres nothing attractive in Longford any more. The clubs location out of town doenst help things at all imo.
Disagree, unlimited space to develop the ground, if the car park was tarmacked (i know that would cost a bomb) it could be rented out for any amount of uses. The sad reality is Longford is one of the poorest town's in Ireland and the population means we are never going to compete unless some fella comes in and decides he has unlimited funds to burn.
30/04/2025, 5:27 PM
If the town of Longford had ever really boomed it could have been a very smart move to get all that land in terms of developing income streams. Unfortunately it never really did and the location does feel a little remote for non football amenities to be developed. Still a great site for football activities if there was unlimited funds for developing pitches, lighting etc. And the club deserve enormous credit for what they have managed to do with basically no government funding over the years.
I wouldn't be so pessimistic. If the club is by and large run within its means then there is a model there to work from. The next stage will be adding the remaining other teams, I think we end up with 10 teams, and the off field staff to run an organisation that big and growing income to pay for that. Downside being no change on the 1st team front until that is in place and paying for itself.
01/05/2025, 11:19 AM
I wouldn't be so pessimistic. If the club is by and large run within its means then there is a model there to work from. The next stage will be adding the remaining other teams, I think we end up with 10 teams, and the off field staff to run an organisation that big and growing income to pay for that. Downside being no change on the 1st team front until that is in place and paying for itself.
That's one point I have been making, I think it's clear several clubs in the LOI are spending WAY beyond their means, I think there will be a bit of a reset down the line.
And has happened numerous times before. Sligo, a bottom half Premier Club spending 2.4m, and unlikely any other prem club below that - Droga, Waterford maybe. But I dont see where they get 2.4m in an average year. Match day income still by far and away the most important source, but would they be getting 1m from that? Even if they are, 1.4m in other revenue, hard to see where you earn that.
02/05/2025, 2:47 PM
Sligo do incredible fundraising, not sure where the others get it from. Probably covered by their owners in some way.
MoydowMonty
02/05/2025, 6:17 PM
Let's get off the negative subjects for a minute. I'm looking for a video of *that Town fan*. If you've been going to Town matches for any length of time you just know who this person is. I don't wanna name him because I don't know if he'd like that. But if you've ever sat in the main stand, you know who I'm talking about, and you've certainly heard him too. He's the clubs greatest fan.
I'm looking for a clip of him that was doing the rounds a few years back. I'm fairly certain it was at this mad game against Galway where we'd a man sent off but won 3-2 https://youtu.be/Hu1rKHe-tyU?si=QzmEJjtoLnRvFXwr
There was a good clip of him going off waving his arms and giving the 2 fingers and everything lol. But I can't find it and I've looked through Twitter and everything I can think of but no luck. Does anyone know the vid I'm on about? I need to see it again and have it in my life
02/05/2025, 6:22 PM
Let's get off the negative subjects for a minute. I'm looking for a video of *that Town fan*. If you've been going to Town matches for any length of time you just know who this person is. I don't wanna name him because I don't know if he'd like that. But if you've ever sat in the main stand, you know who I'm talking about, and you've certainly heard him too. He's the clubs greatest fan.
I'm looking for a clip of him that was doing the rounds a few years back. I'm fairly certain it was at this mad game against Galway where we'd a man sent off but won 3-2 https://youtu.be/Hu1rKHe-tyU?si=QzmEJjtoLnRvFXwr
There was a good clip of him going off waving his arms and giving the 2 fingers and everything lol. But I can't find it and I've looked through Twitter and everything I can think of but no luck. Does anyone know the vid I'm on about? I need to see it again and have it in my life
Ask and you shall receive https://x.com/AmirZaky11/status/1807726650441781637/video/1
MoydowMonty
02/05/2025, 8:42 PM
Fantastic. That man is an absolute gem. If he's at a match you get your money's worth from him alone
03/05/2025, 4:06 PM
He's a hugely loyal supporter. Not so much a supporter of match officials usually though.
03/05/2025, 5:51 PM
He's a hugely loyal supporter. Not so much a supporter of match officials usually though.
I have something in common with him so! I know that supporter years. Hes a fierce character!
That was a a fully deserved 3 points. First half was poor, Wexford lightly beeter but second half I thought we were much the better team and created a number of good chances and great to get a late winner.
03/05/2025, 8:57 PM
Cracking finish from young Manny. Love the effort these young lads put in, fair play to them and Wayne.
MoydowMonty
03/05/2025, 9:15 PM
That first half was a pile of sh**e. From both teams
Fully deserved it on the 2nd half though. Was absolutely sick that we give away a poor goal but we didn't let the heads drop. Cracking finish from Manny. I still think he deserves a chance to start and show what he can do. Think it's nonsense that he hasn't played more than 30 mins in a game this season. I'll admit though that George and Murtagh linked up well together tonight.
While we're talking about him, the man himself was in the stand tonight and he was in flying form. I put the win down to him
MoydowMonty
04/05/2025, 12:09 PM
I heard at the weekend that he's no longer in that role. I have no idea how true that is though, nor do I know whether he was or wasn't doing a good job to be honest.
Just on this, I don't see his name in the match program. I suspect that could be true now. But not sure what that really means going forward. Whether they're looking for a replacement or not
04/05/2025, 2:38 PM
Just on this, I don't see his name in the match program. I suspect that could be true now. But not sure what that really means going forward. Whether they're looking for a replacement or not
It is true as someone messaged me on facebook thats hes definitely departed.
MoydowMonty
09/05/2025, 11:16 PM
Disappointing tonight. Just far too easy for UCD to play, made them look like prime Barca at some points. Not closing them down enough and not enough fight to get the ball back. They hit the bar 4 times as well. Blessed to even get a point
09/05/2025, 11:20 PM
Absolutely woeful second half performance. Not the first time saying that this season. At least Dan Norris is back.
Looking forward to tomorrow. Strange seeing 4 teams stuck on bottom on 13 points. Tonight I would expect Bray to beat Athlone, and Treaty to beat UCD, but can see Kerry getting the 3 points at home to Wexford, which would have Wexford back in that scrap at the bottom of the table too. If we could get the 3 points tomorrow would put us in the mix for the playoffs. !
16/05/2025, 1:31 PM
I think the next 3 games before the break are crucial and could likely shape the 2nd half of the season for us. 3 winnable games, but you also wouldn't be completely shocked if we lose all 3, especially with 2 of them being away and us being unable to win away from home.
6/7/9 points (optimistic I know, but definitely attainable too) would set us up to at least be in the mix after the break. Alternatively, 0/1 points from the 3 games and it's probably season over before we get to June.
I'd love to see us be a little more positive in possession. We were so negative against UCD last week, who are no world beaters themselves. A bit more of a positive attitude could definitely see us pick up more points I believe, as outside the top 3, there's a fag paper between the other 7 teams. Big few weeks ahead.
17/05/2025, 10:58 AM
I think the next 3 games before the break are crucial and could likely shape the 2nd half of the season for us. 3 winnable games, but you also wouldn't be completely shocked if we lose all 3, especially with 2 of them being away and us being unable to win away from home.
6/7/9 points (optimistic I know, but definitely attainable too) would set us up to at least be in the mix after the break. Alternatively, 0/1 points from the 3 games and it's probably season over before we get to June.
I'd love to see us be a little more positive in possession. We were so negative against UCD last week, who are no world beaters themselves. A bit more of a positive attitude could definitely see us pick up more points I believe, as outside the top 3, there's a fag paper between the other 7 teams. Big few weeks ahead.
Agree with positivity in possession shout. E everything was back last week and then an eventual aimless hoof. I'd actually like to see a more aggressive press out of possession, we sit off teams far too much.
17/05/2025, 4:29 PM
Agree with positivity in possession shout. E everything was back last week and then an eventual aimless hoof. I'd actually like to see a more aggressive press out of possession, we sit off teams far too much.
Yeah 100%, parking ourselves on the edge of the box is just a disaster waiting to happen every game. Teams are generally not good enough to play the ball around at the back without mistakes, but we still give them free reign to do it. A bit more pressure on them and we could definitely profit from it.