View Full Version : Favourite / Least Favourite City

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

24/09/2005, 9:19 AM
How is it a Kip of a town?have you been here recently?if not,shut the fcuk up!!!
Ive been to Sligo plenty of times and anyone i know who goes to colllege there that i Know can't wait to get home.

Da Real Rover
24/09/2005, 10:11 AM
It may be a kip but whats with all the krustys in your town, i not tryin ta sh!t stir or nothing but why is there so many, by the way i cant wait to get home from galway.

24/09/2005, 11:13 AM
It may be a kip but whats with all the krustys in your town, i not tryin ta sh!t stir or nothing but why is there so many, by the way i cant wait to get home from galway.

Its to do with the fact that MACNAS(one of the biggest arts companies in the world) is based here. Trust me I'd love to go down to the spanish arch some day with a powerhose and either wash them or just force them into the bay, dirty feckers :mad: .

Just to let you know that if you paint the people of Galway with the same brush, your basically calling yourself a krusty also :confused: :D especially if your going to college here !

24/09/2005, 11:36 AM
Fav: Cork, Cardiff-Just for general atmosphere

Least Fav: Dublin-sick of it! Rome-dirty and annoying little men trying to sell things

24/09/2005, 3:04 PM
Sure werent all were born in the same COUNTRY at the end of the day and support the same team whether your from Dublin Cork or wherever
There's only one thing that I agree with Roy Keane about: "Cork first, Ireland second."

24/09/2005, 4:35 PM
Dublin has more of a small town mentality than anywhere I've ever been- people who've moved there are "blow-ins", people who live anywhere else are either "foreign" or "from down the country." The attitude of so many Dubs is encapsulated in Noel King's comment: "I can't see outside Dublin." The problem with Dublin is that its such an almighty sprawl- its actually just a town that got surrounded by a couple of gigantic housing estates and swallowed up a few nearby villages. I've had some great times there, and I have some great friends there, but i just don't like the place. As for it being too big and too hard to get around- absolutely! Madrid has 3 times the population, but in terms of physical size, its a lot smaller and easier to get around. I love the big city mentality, but Dublin is just in a state of confusion as to what it actually is.
Dublin is a grand old place. I like the fact that there are some many people from different backgrounds living there as it offers new experiences and the chance to meet new people, more so then in a city where the majority of people's families have been there for centuries.

24/09/2005, 5:01 PM
There's only one thing that I agree with Roy Keane about: "Cork first, Ireland second."

Small town mentallity

davey
24/09/2005, 8:24 PM
Favourite: Madrid, Krakow, Munich and Lyon (sorry can't choose one! :o )
(Also loved Nuremburg and Wurzburg in germany)
Least favourite: :eek: London, Liverpool, Frankfurt

If you like Glasgow, you'd like Liverpool too. Very similar cities. Lived in Liverpool for 3 years and loved it. Maybe its one of those places you have to get to know before you appreciate it.

Totally agree with Krakow though, amazing place.

My faves - Lisbon, Bangkok (polluted as f*ck but amazing buzz) and Birmingham (gotta stick up for my home town which is getting some stick :mad: ) Love Galway too

Worst - Bristol (booorrring), Bogota (got held up at knife point within 2 hours of arriving) and Newcastle (Great night life? Sure if you like getting turned away from places because you're not wearing a collar. In the 21st century?)

liam88
24/09/2005, 8:36 PM
Favourite-Vatican, Dublin, Cork, London
Least favourite-Birmingham

25/09/2005, 10:47 AM
9th creasing jason mcateer (nothing wrong with that either)

No nothing wrong with it all,in fact it should be complusary

theres only 1 keano.

If only for Number 9 above,yeah,he's Great :D

Partizan
25/09/2005, 2:50 PM
based on places I've been to
Fav: Belgrade (birds, clubs, boozers), Novi Sad, Sofia, Plovdiv, Hasselt (Bel), Limassol, Dublin.

Hate: Limerick.

anto eile
25/09/2005, 2:51 PM
Favourite-Vatican, Dublin, Cork, London
Least favourite-Birmingham

the vatican is crap.what do you find so great about it? ridiculous ban on short trousers and sleeves for women (and men) goiong into the big church thing

Dublin12
25/09/2005, 4:45 PM
the vatican is crap.what do you find so great about it? ridiculous ban on short trousers and sleeves for women (and men) goiong into the big church thing

No no no Anto you're thinking of the nightclub, in Harcourt St,the women are a bit rough alright,covering up is a good thing :D

25/09/2005, 4:56 PM
Favourite: Galway(-United F.C. of course), Valencia and Paris
Least Favourite: Dublin, Athlone, and any place in Donegal :D

25/09/2005, 4:58 PM
Favourite: Galway(-United F.C. of course), Valencia and Paris
Least Favourite: Dublin, Athlone, and any place in Donegal :D
Athlone? A city?

25/09/2005, 4:59 PM
Athlone? A city?Well, yeah sort of. I dont know :confused: Still hate it anyway :D

ccfcman
25/09/2005, 7:19 PM
Yeys: Rejkjavik, wow you need big money but its awesome, Tallinn, Chicago, Cape Town [its an absolute kip in places but heaven in others]

Neys: Dublin, I dont see what the big deal is, i dont find, pollution,depression, traffic, noise or crime attractive.

Want to go to: Perth, I hear good things

Want to avoid: Brummie land, need i start ugh

26/09/2005, 3:44 AM
Best: Dublin, Liverpool, Budapest
Worst: London

26/09/2005, 7:29 AM
Athlone? A city?
well if Kilkenny can claim, why not Athlone? :D

anto eile
26/09/2005, 10:45 AM
No no no Anto you're thinking of the nightclub, in Harcourt St,the women are a bit rough alright,covering up is a good thing :D
was called gigi's last time i was there.dodgy as fvck alright!

Wiseguy
26/09/2005, 11:53 AM

Athlone is nowhere near a city and never will be.Has to be one of the most overrated towns in the country.

26/09/2005, 12:49 PM
these things can only be based on good or bad experiences in a place. So in our own minds when we're doing a tot we should probably deduct two points from a place if we were there on holidays as you were likely to be eating in restaurants and clubbing and pubbing. Likewise add a couple if you were working there.

Favoutites: Limerick, Leeuwarden (Hol), Swansea, Leeds, Belfast, Cork, Brussels.

All very user friendly places with plenty to do and see. Swansea suffers from much of the same lazy, selective bad press Limerick does here and I loved it there. Cardiff might be more picture postcard but Swansea's just such a laugh.

Just spent the weekend in Leeuwarden up in Friesland. I have some friends there and I never tire of the place. Very friendly place and so well kept. They've a civic mindedness over there that we just can't seem to fathom or emulate in this country -unless it's for a tidy towns competition in which case (here) it's all a bit mock and hanging baskety.

Wasn't mad about: Leicester, Southampton, Dublin, Reading.

To be fair to Dublin -my complaint about it has always been that it's just not user friendly -something I noticed a marked improvement upon in more recent visits over the last 15-18 months. The Luas is a help -though it's going to have frottage fettishists from world over flocking to it. But credit where it's due. still a horrifically expensive city by any European standard though. But credit where it's due in other regards....

The other three just seemed a bit lifeless. But again -could've just been the time I was there.

Oh and by the way...

Sligo is NOT a city
Athlone is NOT a city
Kilkenny IS a city ...and a damn fine one too on my experience -though I didn't put it on my list as I was there for fun not play.

sparkey
26/09/2005, 1:40 PM
Fav: Madrid, Galway,
Kip: Glasgow

26/09/2005, 3:18 PM

Errr - because Kilkenny was actually granted City status - unlike Athlone...? :)

26/09/2005, 3:22 PM
Raves : Newcastle, Boston, Havana, Hanoi, Phnom Penh.
Rather-nots : Rotterdam, Hull, Cancun, Miami.

26/09/2005, 3:26 PM
bostons a quality place, lived there for just under a year, great city, european capital of america. boston itself is tiny its the cities outside that are actually waht most people see, so dont be confused. ;)

Dublin12
26/09/2005, 3:29 PM
For all those that slagged off Dublin,go and spend the weekend in Hull and maybe you'll have a rethink ;-)

glentoranfan
26/09/2005, 3:40 PM
Favourite City: Belfast. NO other!

Least Favourite City: I don't know. Monaco is nice for a day, but it is too chlostrophobic and I could not really stick it for long. There are some cities that are right dumps, like in poorer areas of the world and you never go near them.

26/09/2005, 5:51 PM
Forgot to mention Tórshavn. :)

Technically a city as it's a "capital city", but only 12,000 people or so. Still, mad place!

26/09/2005, 6:23 PM
I think Dublin is a great city.
You'll soon find that no matter where you are, life becomes boring once you settle into a routine. For many people, it's a case of the grass being greener.

I've heard so many people come back from Australia saying how great their time was. All they did was temp work and get ****ed. Then they moan about Ireland because they have to face up to their responsibilities.
Spot on Peader. Best post on this subject. (aside from Jerry the saint's simpsons reference!) You have people here saying new york is great but dublin is a kip due to pollution and crime... :rolleyes:

Anyway for me
Great; New york, Barcelona
****eholes; Cork, Glasgow, Liverpool

26/09/2005, 8:41 PM
****eholes; Cork,He was sacked at the start of the season, you can give up the obsession now! :p

26/09/2005, 10:04 PM
Seriously, I've stayed in cork a few times and I've never had a great night. Also think that the chips non Dubs have on their shoulder about Dubs is unreal...

finlma
27/09/2005, 8:13 AM

Simple really - Kilkenny is a city and Athlone is not. Its nothing about claiming to be.

Just check out the result from this season:
July 01 FD Athlone Town 0-1 Kilkenny City

Makes for pleasant reading too.

27/09/2005, 8:48 AM
Seriously, I've stayed in cork a few times and I've never had a great night. Also think that the chips non Dubs have on their shoulder about Dubs is unreal...

That's a little OTT Dodge.

I'm related to Dubs and have a good few friends -Dubs by birth and migration.

There's probably a few stereotypical annoying dubs -be it Anto from Clondalkin or Sorcha from Clontarf -but they're just that -stereotypes.

Went to college in Cork and loved it there. Great town with a great buzz to it.

rebs23
27/09/2005, 8:54 AM

Well Dodge I've lived in Dublin, Galway, London, Sydney and Cork. Of all those places Sydney London and Cork were/are where I most enjoyed myself and had a good standard of living. It's all about personal preferences and I suppose taste. For me the people that choose Galway or Dublin I just don't get it but to say non dubs have chips on their shoulders about dubs is not quite true. You call it chip we call it problems with the continuing centralisation of governement services, infrastructural spending and departments in the dublin region (acting as a subsidy to the dublin economy) etc, etc.
As for never having a good night in Cork maybe it would help if you removed that bag of chips that you seem to have on your shoulder about Cork. You might gain entry to a few more places.

27/09/2005, 9:01 AM
Well Dodge I've lived in Dublin, Galway, London, Sydney and Cork. Of all those places Sydney London and Cork were/are where I most enjoyed myself and had a good standard of living. It's all about personal preferences and I suppose taste. For me the people that choose Galway or Dublin I just don't get it but to say non dubs have chips on their shoulders about dubs is not quite true. You call it chip we call it problems with the continuing centralisation of governement services, infrastructural spending and departments in the dublin region (acting as a subsidy to the dublin economy) etc, etc.
As for never having a good night in Cork maybe it would help if you removed that bag of chips that you seem to have on your shoulder about Cork. You might gain entry to a few more places.
Thanks for proving my point anyway lads. I wasn't talking about the general argument of which City has more to offer potential corporations or any of that ********. I'm talking about when I've gone out in Cork (and Limerick and Waterford; Galway and the smaller towns nowhere near as bad) I've gotten grief from local idiots because I'm from Dublin. Not a huge thing, but would certainly preclude any of the above cities getting into a Favourite place list...

27/09/2005, 9:50 AM
"I've gotten grief from local idiots because I'm from Dublin. Not a huge thing, but would certainly preclude any of the above cities getting into a Favourite place list...
__________________"

i have seen this first hand...

rebs23
27/09/2005, 10:07 AM
Thanks for proving my point anyway lads. I wasn't talking about the general argument of which City has more to offer potential corporations or any of that ********. I'm talking about when I've gone out in Cork (and Limerick and Waterford; Galway and the smaller towns nowhere near as bad) I've gotten grief from local idiots because I'm from Dublin. Not a huge thing, but would certainly preclude any of the above cities getting into a Favourite place list...

And I wasn't talking about the general argument of which city has to offer more etc, etc
It just seems to me Dubs are well capable of having big chips on their shoulders which you have just proved again.

27/09/2005, 10:13 AM

rebs23
27/09/2005, 11:03 AM
:rolleyes: [QUOTE=Dodge]:rolleyes:[/QUOT
Well I suppose this thread was always going to end up like this!

27/09/2005, 11:05 AM
Do you know patsh by any chance?

rebs23
27/09/2005, 11:16 AM
No but given the implication that you have issues with him maybe I should.

27/09/2005, 12:08 PM
"I've gotten grief from local idiots because I'm from Dublin. Not a huge thing, but would certainly preclude any of the above cities getting into a Favourite place list...
__________________"

i have seen this first hand...

um ...ye weren't flipping brass sovereigns at these "locals" and nodding to your bags by any chance were you? :p

27/09/2005, 12:18 PM
im from the country and i have seen fellow "buffs" from home do this, just because they think they will show the dubs a lesson, i have seen this many times, but its usually the same few fellas doing it. it ****es me off big time, but ye cant get involved or ul get a hammering too!

27/09/2005, 12:26 PM
Fookin Jackeens moaning, you should try going around with an english accent - and then having to decide whether to walk away, knock them out or explain your history in a few seconds after they call you an orange bastárd...

27/09/2005, 1:08 PM
Favourite: Cork (Nice, laid back vibe about the centre of the place

Dislike: Galway (full of yuppie's and Americans, those two most annoying of species)
Waterford (Kip with absolutely nothing going for it and right alongside the hovel that is Tramore)
Dublin (Absolutely filthy, rotten dirty and full of beggars, muggers, junkies and other such "characters")

Also although it is not a city I feel an honourable mention should go to Dundalk, an absolute souless hole of a town with absolutely no redeeming features and largely populated by dodgy, ignorant, smelly neo-Republican facist types..... Craptown indeed

27/09/2005, 1:19 PM
im from the country and i have seen fellow "buffs" from home do this, just because they think they will show the dubs a lesson, i have seen this many times, but its usually the same few fellas doing it. it ****es me off big time, but ye cant get involved or ul get a hammering too!

You're scant on detail Paul but I get the impression you're referring to recieving hassle from numptys whilst out socialising outside the capital.

A numpty is a numpty wherever he's from so why not just mention it to a barman or security that you're being harassed by some gobsh|te rather than blaming the town you're visiting for spawning him. It's what I've done on the mercifully few occasions I've felt inclined.

The funniest part is the laughter ...me laughing in numpty/gob****es face as security manhandle him off the premises and he tries to holler back "dis isn't over -don't tink this is over!". Try it sometime -it's a right good laugh. :D

It also refreshes your faith in your fellow Irishmen -wherever they be from.

27/09/2005, 1:32 PM
lionel, im from the west, i was refering to dubs i have seen come down, and being abused by fellow people from my town, the same few usually doing it. It ****ess me off cos it gives the town a bad name for a start, but for those few individuals that have to listen to this sh1te and sometimes getting a few slaps...it doesnt happen in teh nightclub either, it happens where they can hear them speaking and hear the accents i.e. outside/around the chipper after the night has finished.

its not just in the town i am from, i have seen it in neighbouring towns as well. the most annoying thing is, these lads very rarely leave the town, and they would be the last fellas to do it outside their own town.

now do you get me??

27/09/2005, 1:38 PM
Limerick til I die, couldnt agree more on ye re: craptown

27/09/2005, 1:43 PM
Its double-poll time methinks