View Full Version : Favourite / Least Favourite City

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

27/09/2005, 1:45 PM
Limerick til I die, couldnt agree more on ye re: craptown

Myself and two of the lads took in the cup game in Drogheda earlier in the year and travelled to Craptown for a league game recently and were absolutely fookin amazed by the difference between two towns just what, 20 miles apart? Drogheda was a cool, cosmopolitan place with nice, friendly people. Craptown was an absolute hovel full of vicious scumbags. It's seriously wierd :confused:

Speranza
27/09/2005, 1:45 PM
Fave: Derry, Galway, Barce, Dublin, Amsterdam, Glasgow

Least: Belfast - Dullest place I have ever seen. Nothing any tourist would be remotely interested in and a grey drab small city centre.

A whiule back someone said Derry was dull??? One of the only walled cities in Europe, Bogside murals, free Derry corner, siege

27/09/2005, 1:54 PM
Myself and two of the lads took in the cup game in Drogheda earlier in the year and travelled to Craptown for a league game recently and were absolutely fookin amazed by the difference between two towns just what, 20 miles apart? Drogheda was a cool, cosmopolitan place with nice, friendly people. Craptown was an absolute hovel full of vicious scumbags. It's seriously wierd :confused:

Without trying to go too off topic, fair play on that score. Alot of people naively get the two places mixed up as theyre so close but the reality is the two towns and the people of the two towns are worlds apart.

First time ive ever heard drogheda been referred to as cosmopolitan though :D

27/09/2005, 2:08 PM
Without trying to go too off topic, fair play on that score. Alot of people naively get the two places mixed up as theyre so close but the reality is the two towns and the people of the two towns are worlds apart.

First time ive ever heard drogheda been referred to as cosmopolitan though :D
That'd be all the dubs living there... :)

Oh and couldn't agree more on Dundalk. Worst place ever...

27/09/2005, 2:14 PM
lionel, im from the west, i was refering to dubs i have seen come down, and being abused by fellow people from my town, the same few usually doing it. It ****ess me off cos it gives the town a bad name for a start, but for those few individuals that have to listen to this sh1te and sometimes getting a few slaps...it doesnt happen in teh nightclub either, it happens where they can hear them speaking and hear the accents i.e. outside/around the chipper after the night has finished.

its not just in the town i am from, i have seen it in neighbouring towns as well. the most annoying thing is, these lads very rarely leave the town, and they would be the last fellas to do it outside their own town.

now do you get me??

Yes I do ...and it's a problem I'm sure replicates itself all over the place. But it's not your home town's fault that some of it's dwellers dwell in it's pond.
Who's to blame? Well when I'm stuck for someone to blame -I usually blame the GAA -but they appear to have a prima facia alibi on this occasion.

So I'll blame alcoholism, parochialism and ..um ...the GAA? :D

27/09/2005, 2:14 PM
That'd be all the dubs living there... :)

Nah the dubs have been bringing it down lately :p (well has brought my local down anyway :( ).

27/09/2005, 5:15 PM
HOT
Cork: Besides being from there I like Cork for a good few reasons; its big enough to have diversity and be anominous but small enough to get around easily and meet people. It has (almost) everything that bigger cities such as Dublin have but doesnt have that big city agro or rip off. Its also fairly relaxed as cities go. I could go on but Id be here all day!

Paris: I cant understand why people have put it in the hate list, its one of the great cities. Its vibrant, has its own atmosphere, easy to get around, has some of the top cultural attractions in the world, great looking women and a lovely language. Again I could go on.

Amsterdam: Full of temptation and sin, need I say more? :)

London: Like Paris except for the language although Im not sure about the women, its been a while since Ive been there

Strasbourg: Maybe its a bit of Peadar's "Austrailia effect" but its a lovely city for the same reasons that I put down for Cork and Paris, a great mix between the two.

Ciaro: Its been years since Ive been but its a unique city, with an amazine history, peoples and culture. Check it out.

Krakow: Same reasons as Cork + some amazing history & lovely looking women :)

Not
Seoul: Dull as dish water + horrible language.

Dublin: Its got some good points (the Dubs that I know are nice people, but the strangers on the street are usually scum or snobs and more often than not are rude). Its crowded, badly planned, public transport is crap, a total rip off, alot of Dubs see themselves as superior to the rest of the country and are wanna be brits, the city is dirty and polluted, I hate the acccents usually. Seriously over rated by its inhabitants.

Marsailles: Never actually been there, but anyone who follows the football club is a scumbag in my experience. Generalisation of the year there :)

27/09/2005, 5:24 PM
alot of Dubs see themselves as superior to the rest of the country :D Coming from a Corkman.

Thunderblaster
27/09/2005, 5:42 PM
Favourites: Dublin, Liverpool, Derry, Washington DC, Kilkenny. :D

Middle Road: Galway, Limerick, Cork, Belfast, Paris, New York City, New Haven, London, Leicester. :)

Hate: Manchester, Birmingham, Waterford, Baltimore. :mad:

To Pass Comment On: Nicosia, Larnaca, Limassol. :eek:

27/09/2005, 6:02 PM
To Pass Comment On: Nicosia, Larnaca, Limassol. :eek:Like Cyprus then? :D

27/09/2005, 6:15 PM
:D Coming from a Corkman.

Maybe I should have rephrased it "Dubs think they are better than the rest of the country". Down in sunny south Cork, we know we are better than the rest of the country :D

28/09/2005, 8:58 AM
Hate: Manchester, Birmingham, Waterford, Baltimore. :mad:

Jaysis - I heard Manchester's fantastic ...and I'm a Leeds supporter :eek:

Strasbourg: Maybe its a bit of Peadar's "Austrailia effect" but its a lovely city for the same reasons that I put down for Cork and Paris, a great mix between the two.

Forgot about Strasbourg. I was there in 1990 and loved it. Quite German feel to the place despite it's being French. Architecture was unbelieveable. Stood outside it's gothic cathedral and shuffled about to get the best vantage point from where I stood staring at the thing for an age.

A week later I was back home and -as it was the 50th anniversery of the fall of France -they were showing a documentary on the telly where der Fuehrer arrived into Strasbourg. What did he do? Went to the front of the cathedral and stood on the exact spot I did :eek:. My flesh crawled.

28/09/2005, 9:20 AM
who was celebrating the fall of the french???

28/09/2005, 7:48 PM
The English or the yanks? :D

friseal
29/09/2005, 4:31 PM
as an australian who's been to dozens of countries and cities all over the world, i think i'm more qualified than most on this subject......

Love (in order): Paris, Copenhagen, Cork, Galway, Beijing, Kyoto, Perth.

Hate: Dublin, Sydney, Darwin, Brisbane, London.

can't emphasize this enough: i've been living in Dublin since January and it is a ****ING HOLE!

29/09/2005, 6:33 PM
as an australian who's been to dozens of countries and cities all over the world, i think i'm more qualified than most on this subject......

No disrespect but how do you figure that? Judging by most of the replies here, most of us are well travelled. Or is t because you're Australian?

Snoop Drog
30/09/2005, 6:10 AM

can't emphasize this enough: i've been living in Dublin since January and it is a ****ING HOLE!

Wow, an Aussie with a chip on their shoulder? who would have believed it :D

As a Sydneysider I certainly rate this city. Also love Hobart, Chicago and Paris.

Not too fond of Tokyo.

Thunderblaster
30/09/2005, 2:51 PM
Like Cyprus then? :D

No. I'm heading out there next week.:D

Dublin12
30/09/2005, 3:16 PM

Not being funny like but why don't you just leave then,especially as you're such a traveller and the most clued up amongst the lot of us:rolleyes: .I wouldn't stay in a place for 9 months if I hated it as much as you seem to hate Dublin,unless of course you've fallen under the spells of a nice Irish lady;)

30/09/2005, 3:27 PM

I think you are confused Mr Dundee. You must surely be an American!!!!:rolleyes: