View Full Version : Heimir Hallgrmsson
Pages :
[
8]
08/03/2025, 9:59 AM
Both Ireland managers on the late late show last night
Segment lasts 13 minutes, which isn't nearly enough time to go into any great detail with either manager
Kielty has the advantage of being a football fan, compared to Tubridy, who had no interest in the game
ZvosKCz8HY4
rebelmusic
08/03/2025, 5:24 PM
Completely agree. What's the point in having them on to ask them 3 questions each? Argh RTE drives me completely bonkers
Grafter
08/03/2025, 5:48 PM
Did Heimir ever move to Ireland after...?
Eirambler
08/03/2025, 5:55 PM
Completely agree. What's the point in having them on to ask them 3 questions each? Argh RTE drives me completely bonkers
They probably thought they'd be accused of gender bias if they only had Hallgrimsson on. The Late Late is never going to be the place for an in depth interview anyway, it's not that kind of show any more, but likely feeling compelled to go for that kind of setup makes it an even bigger waste of time.
10/03/2025, 3:37 AM
Lads, this is a thread on Heimir Hallgrimsson.
10/03/2025, 2:58 PM
Off topic posts moved to current affairs
Eirambler
13/03/2025, 4:36 PM
Have to say I thought Hallgrimsson conducted himself well and with a lot of dignity in his media appearances today. On one side he has clearly done a huge amount of work behind the scenes in terms of expanding his knowledge of the playing pool over the winter - both his squad selection and his opening comments in the press conference today show this.
Also he handled his responses to the various comments by Stephen Bradley over the winter very well, an almost "kill him with kindness" approach that he comes out of very well and leaves Bradley, if anything, somewhat embarrassed by the whole thing. He had to deal with it twice in his press conference and then Tony O'Donoghue lead with it in his RTE interview (which probably says more about O'Donoghue than anything). Hopefully Bradley will now stay in his own lane going forward, he's clearly out of his depth dealing with Hallgrimsson.
Razors left peg
13/03/2025, 4:38 PM
Every clip I see online seems to be his reply to Bradley's comments. You're right he handled it well but such BS that it was such a focus for discussion
rebelmusic
13/03/2025, 10:46 PM
Tony O'Donoghue is the epitomy of 'got-ya' sports journalism. It's like he's in a time warp where he thinks Eamonn Dunphy is in the wings to pounce on his 'brilliant' tough questions. What he did to Kelleher when get motm last year was the final straw for me. I think RTE has done a decent job on panelists since the old guard retired but this fossil is still hanging around and needs to go.
Razors left peg
25/03/2025, 3:09 PM
Curious to peoples views on Hallgrimsson singing the anthem the other night. Its not a big issue or anything, but Ive seen a bit of chatter on the socials about it and how great it was.
Last summer I remember seeing Martinez singing the Portuguese anthem and I thought it was typical of him, in that hes a complete bluffer and it was a way to try ingratiate himself to the Portuguese fans. To me Martinez comes across as they type of fella in the corporate world that is crap at his job but is great at managing upwards and constantly gets promotions based on how hes seen by his bosses rather than the people that work for him. Seeing him singing the anthem just came across to me as so inauthentic.
Now skip forward to Sunday night and we see Hallgrimsson do the same thing. They cynic in me thought immediately that it seemed like something Canham would ask him to do. Canham for me comes across in the very same way as Martinez, but it might be my bias to even consider Canham having a role in it!
The most likely answer is that Hallgrimsson is just a very nice man and he thinks its a nice thing to do, and it is .... kinda! But I cant help but feeling that singing another countries anthem is a bit of a step too far.
Maybe no one cares, and as I said its not an important thing either way.... but not every topic on a forum has to be too serious!
25/03/2025, 3:24 PM
In the least agressive way possible, who cares? It's a song. It's part of the pre-match ritual to help psych up the team and the crowd, and if he wants to join in then what's the point of analysing it for microagressions and third-rate drama?
Razors left peg
25/03/2025, 3:32 PM
In the least agressive way possible, who cares? It's a song. It's part of the pre-match ritual to help psych up the team and the crowd, and if he wants to join in then what's the point of analysing it for microagressions and third-rate drama?
Whos looking for drama? Ive said its not a big deal but just interested in peoples opinions. You dont care, thats your opinion and thats cool. Ive seen threads where players get attacked for not singing the anthem.
Its just a topic I found mildly interesting, you dont. Grand!
25/03/2025, 3:43 PM
Whos looking for drama?
This you?
They cynic in me thought immediately that it seemed like something Canham would ask him to do. Canham for me comes across in the very same way as Martinez, but it might be my bias to even consider Canham having a role in it!
25/03/2025, 3:44 PM
I didn't realise that he did. My opinion is the same as it was for every other manager from outside the country, it's nice if he does sing it, and if he doesn't, I'm not bothered.
Before the England game in September, I met up with Russel, the host of the England fans podcast I was on, and he asked me if the new manager singing, or not singing, the anthem, was an issue. I said we've had managers who have sung, and not sung, the anthem, and I don't recall it ever making a difference to a result.
Razors left peg
25/03/2025, 3:53 PM
This you?
Now whos the one looking for drama. I gave my thoughts on it and suggested that it crossed my mind that it was a Canham thing but realistically it was just probably Hallgrimsson being nice.
Jesus, this is a benign a subject as possible. I even said not every topic on a forum has to be that serious but you cant help yourself as usual. If something pops up that you dont think you should be on the forum you immediately want to shut it down.
We are in a week where there is very little football now after the internationals. A very insignificant thing happened at the game that I had a thought about and all I wanted to do was to maybe generate a bit of chat on here... you know the thing that there has been talks about how to try improve on a forum that doesnt have as much traffic as times past.
Heres an idea John, if you didnt think its a topic even worth engaging in dont! But dont go accusing me of trying to start drama when you are the one doing so
It always impressed me when 1G or 2G recruits cared enough to learn it and sing it - same for managers. I wouldn't be cynical about it and would take at face value. Whether it was orchestrated or resulted from him now loving the EIRE, its nice to see.
elatedscum
26/03/2025, 4:33 AM
Pretty he said when appointed that he had done it before, presumably with Iceland and Jamaica but wasnt sure if it would be possible or how long it would take given its as gaelige. So pretty sure its not a Canham idea
texidub
26/03/2025, 6:06 AM
Pretty he said when appointed that he had done it before, presumably with Iceland and Jamaica but wasnt sure if it would be possible or how long it would take given its as gaelige. So pretty sure its not a Canham idea
Haven't time to look it up now, but like yourself am pretty sure HH has spoken about it already and in those terms...
Eirambler
26/03/2025, 4:19 PM
If you were the FAI you'd be considering extending Hallgrimsson's contract at some point between now and September, wouldn't you? Because the last thing they would want is another eight month long manager search, or every game in the World Cup qualifiers becoming a referendum on the manager's future.
I'm not sure what the reason was that he only got a contract for one campaign to start with, but the association seems to have stumbled into a very competent appointment here - also he seems to toe the party line for them and doesn't charge a fortune for his services. Given the tough Nations League group we got, he arguably couldn't have done any better up to this point.
I can't really see who else they could appoint for the same money that would be an obvious improvement. Wouldn't be surprised if we hear in the near future that his contract has been extended up to Euro 2028, assuming he's happy to continue (which he likely would be, with us having such an advantageous qualification route).
Razors left peg
26/03/2025, 4:21 PM
If you were the FAI you'd be considering extending Hallgrimsson's contract at some point between now and September, wouldn't you? Because the last thing they would want is another eight month long manager search, or every game in the World Cup qualifiers becoming a referendum on the manager's future.
I'm not sure what the reason was that he only got a contract for one campaign to start with, but the association seems to have stumbled into a very competent appointment here - also he seems to toe the party line for them and doesn't charge a fortune for his services. Given the tough Nations League group we got, he arguably couldn't have done any better up to this point.
I can't really see who else they could appoint for the same money that would be an obvious improvement. Wouldn't be surprised if we hear in the near future that his contract has been extended up to Euro 2028, assuming he's happy to continue (which he likely would be, with us having such an advantageous qualification route).
Anything that keeps JOS from getting the job Im all in on :)
samhaydenjr
27/03/2025, 12:04 AM
No,I wouldn't extend it. True, there haven't been any unexpected failures, but there haven't been any unexpected successes either. The four wins were nice, but (from what I hear in Canada)they were four workmanlike/ugly wins against two teams we should be beating.
I think the extension should wait until after the group games, at least. If Halgrimsson gets us to the playoffs, or close, then sure, extend his contract to Euro 28 at that point
CraftyToePoke
27/03/2025, 1:21 AM
No,I wouldn't extend it. True, there haven't been any unexpected failures, but there haven't been any unexpected successes either. The four wins were nice, but (from what I hear in Canada)they were four workmanlike/ugly wins against two teams we should be beating.
I think the extension should wait until after the group games, at least. If Halgrimsson gets us to the playoffs, or close, then sure, extend his contract to Euro 28 at that point
Workmanlike wins V equals is where we're at and probably will be for a while more. They are also things we haven't managed in some time. If he got us anywhere near playoffs from where he found us, he'll have options.
If, and I accept, it is a big If, he was Canhams early April guy all along, then we know HH will explore his options, will talk to other Associations, will wait on the best available position for him & will leave others waiting while that plays out, will travel and is ambitious.
So, do you stick or twist, speculate or wait & see.
Do you risk his stock suddenly rising out of our reach.
We've been losing for so long, do the basics he's delivering look more than they actually are ? Or is the feelgood & the evidence of players being worked on the beginning of something noteworthy ?
Does he even want a new contract ?
Is it short because that's all we could get him to sign ?
rebelmusic
27/03/2025, 10:57 PM
On the contract, we've made the early renewal mistake with way too many managers so no thank you. Let's see how he does in the qualifiers.
On the anthem bit. He seems to be a very genuine person and he publicly stated that it's something managers should do so hats off to him. Between moving here, going to LOI games, learning the anthem..well that's more than half the FAI have done and every foreign manager we've had.
Martinez is a clown so agree with your original assessment RLP but I wouldn't conflate him with HH.
samhaydenjr
28/03/2025, 12:16 AM
Workmanlike wins V equals is where we're at and probably will be for a while more. They are also things we haven't managed in some time. If he got us anywhere near playoffs from where he found us, he'll have options.
If, and I accept, it is a big If, he was Canhams early April guy all along, then we know HH will explore his options, will talk to other Associations, will wait on the best available position for him & will leave others waiting while that plays out, will travel and is ambitious.
So, do you stick or twist, speculate or wait & see.
Do you risk his stock suddenly rising out of our reach.
We've been losing for so long, do the basics he's delivering look more than they actually are ? Or is the feelgood & the evidence of players being worked on the beginning of something noteworthy ?
Does he even want a new contract ?
Is it short because that's all we could get him to sign ?
At this stage, I think the correct answer to all of your questions is "er... Maybe?"
rebelmusic
12/06/2025, 10:17 AM
This latest from Bradley makes me think how he whined about HH is incredibly hypocritical. I don't see how it's fine for him to publicly declare he wants to 'manage at the highest level' but when HH essentially says the European games could open the door for LOI players to play at a higher level he's ostracised
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/stephen-bradley-says-left-ireland-35376066
I dunno. I respect what Bradley has done with Rovers but the man is exhausting
Fixer82
12/06/2025, 10:52 AM
Bradley is painful. Can't be dealing with him. I liked him but the more he speaks the less I like him.
Respect to HH for learning the anthem but I don't think a manager needs to do that. Especially if he's not from the country.
I don't think I'd sing another country's anthem if I was managing them. But big respect to him for putting that work in
Eirambler
13/06/2025, 1:57 PM
I think the honest truth is that some of the most high profile managers in the League of Ireland are just not the nicest individuals unfortunately.
seanfhear
13/06/2025, 2:34 PM
I think the honest truth is that some of the most high profile managers in the League of Ireland are just not the nicest individuals unfortunately.How many of the " best " sports managers are nice people, I'll wager not too many.
Alex Ferguson ~ A Bully, certainly when it suited him, especially in his early days when that was pretty much par for the course.
Brian Clough ~ Certainly could be a Bully if he took against you, he ruled clubs like a dictator if the entire truth be told.
Is Jose Mourinho a nice man ~ ~ I don't think so, and I'd say a good few in soccer would agree with men.
What's that about nice guys finishing, second / last ?
Edit ~ You probably have to be pretty duplicitous with, players / agents / other, at times any !
Eirambler
13/06/2025, 3:19 PM
True, but Duff and Bradley seem particularly nauseating these days for some reason.
How many of the " best " sports managers are nice people, I'll wager not too many.
Alex Ferguson ~ A Bully, certainly when it suited him, especially in his early days when that was pretty much par for the course.
Brian Clough ~ Certainly could be a Bully if he took against you, he ruled clubs like a dictator if the entire truth be told.
Is Jose Mourinho a nice man ~ ~ I don't think so, and I'd say a good few in soccer would agree with men.
What's that about nice guys finishing, second / last ?
Edit ~ You probably have to be pretty duplicitous with, players / agents / other, at times any !
Ron Atkinson was a lovely chap..........
Terry Venables seemed a genuinely likable person. (big name but maybe not one of the "best" managers, in truth)
rebelmusic
13/06/2025, 4:53 PM
It doesn't bother me if he's not nice to be honest, it's the hypocrisy that annoys me.
My respect for HH continues to grow. He even has Tony Donoghue gushing at him during interviews.
ontheotherhand
13/06/2025, 5:40 PM
Good to see Bradley is annoying the right people. Long may it continue.
Eirambler
13/06/2025, 5:43 PM
Not sure if Heimir Hallgrimsson is one of the "right people" you're referring to, but Hallgrimsson had him on toast anyway.
ontheotherhand
13/06/2025, 5:44 PM
Sure he did. Josh got his call up which will help out with our future fee. Bradley got his sit down and apology. All good from our end.
13/06/2025, 6:46 PM
Jesus Christ this is absolutely ****ing pathetic reading on this forum.
Razors left peg
13/06/2025, 9:08 PM
Jesus Christ this is absolutely ****ing pathetic reading on this forum.
Nothing wrong with saying Bradley is a bit of a tool who just sounds whiney and bitter when talking about Hallgrimsson. Hes done well with Rovers, but considering his budget relative to the rest of the league Im not sure hes done an amazing job. Im delighted he didnt get near the Ireland job and I doubt he ever will
ontheotherhand
13/06/2025, 9:15 PM
And that pretty much sums up this side of the forum. There is a reason nobody new joins it.
Enjoy your echo chamber folks.
Razors left peg
13/06/2025, 9:26 PM
And that pretty much sums up this side of the forum. There is a reason nobody new joins it.
But what's the issue with saying you disagree with someone and don't particularly like him. Just because he's in LOI doesn't mean he cant be criticized
Fixer82
13/06/2025, 10:56 PM
But what's the issue with saying you disagree with someone and don't particularly like him. Just because he's in LOI doesn't mean he cant be criticized
Exactly. Not criticising someone for being a tool just because they’re in LOI would be fairly inauthentic
14/06/2025, 8:50 AM
An echo chamber is somewhere you couldn't present an opposing opinion. You just haven't bothered, instead preferring to cast shade.
14/06/2025, 9:00 AM
Yeah, I have to say I'm not quite sure what's behind the sentiment in Kingdom and ontheotherhand's posts here. Though certainly nobody's stopping them from expressing contrary views.
Eirambler
14/06/2025, 2:06 PM
So basically, you came in to the discussion to have a dig at a few people, and when you didn't like the responses you ran away crying again. Mature stuff.
Ironically much of this discussion was had before Duff and Bradley decided to make even bigger tits of themselves than usual last night.
ontheotherhand
14/06/2025, 3:13 PM
So basically, you came in to the discussion to have a dig at a few people, and when you didn't like the responses you ran away crying again. Mature stuff.
Ironically much of this discussion was had before Duff and Bradley decided to make even bigger tits of themselves than usual last night.
The responses were as expected. Very enjoyable and predictable. Job done, just as it was for Bradley.
14/06/2025, 3:24 PM
Make a point or get lost. This vague snideness is pathetic and borderline trolling.
ontheotherhand
14/06/2025, 3:52 PM
Make a point or get lost. This vague snideness is pathetic and borderline trolling.
There are points there but you must have missed them. The responses are as childish as expected but it's the internet. Bradley is annoying the right type of person and he got what he wanted. That seems to upset people for whatever reason. Heimir also came out of it well TBF. Probably learned a bit about the Irish football landscape which will help him.
Bradley annoys everyone, even quite a few of the Rovers fans! Duff is a pain in the tits too - angry little fella.
ontheotherhand
14/06/2025, 6:51 PM
Bradley annoys everyone, even quite a few of the Rovers fans! Duff is a pain in the tits too - angry little fella.
His comments about Desmond certainly did but I think you're exaggerating there a bit Stu. He's well loved at Rovers. At least by the majority but that's football. Isn't perfect but he's usually bang on the money.
Duff......is wearing a bit thin at this stage. Thought it was entertaining enough last season but he seems to have cracked. The hill antics against yous were.....pathetic and last night was bizarre even by his recent standards. Don't think he came out of the Heimer clash very well at all either. Whereas Heimir did.
I have never exaggerated, never ever in my entire life!
Yeah it’s absolutely confirmation bias anytime I see a Rovers fan criticize him “there ya go, see, even his own fans can’t stand the rat!”. Duff is laughing stock territory though the way he carries on. Even with a league title in his honours list. Little gremlin. I possibly (actually, definitely) dislike him more!
ontheotherhand
14/06/2025, 7:17 PM
I have never exaggerated, never ever in my entire life!
Yeah it’s absolutely confirmation bias anytime I see a Rovers fan criticize him “there ya go, see, even his own fans can’t stand the rat!”. Duff is laughing stock territory though the way he carries on. Even with a league title in his honours list. Little gremlin. I possibly (actually, definitely) dislike him more!
I saw two bohs fans on twitter say Bradley was a class act over the weekend and I'm still processing it. It's...just...not...right.
Yeah it's a bit sad how much Duff has fallen apart. I could see why people didn't like him from the get go but it was, as I said, somewhat entertaining and some of his views on the FAI and Irish football in general were useful. Now....it's looking like he might have lost his mind. Incidentally the Bradley/Duff spat this weekend got more engagement than the whole international window according to McDonnell. I suppose that's...something? 😂
14/06/2025, 7:42 PM
My 2c. I think Duff yoyo's between occasionally making very useful points about the state of Irish football, using his profile to bring attention to things he believes needs to change and then the other stuff. He has been a huge boost for the league generally, he's definitely a mad man, this level of intensity about anything isn't good for a person but I think most of his carry on is to take attention away from his players, it's all screaming Jose. I thought his interview with Richie Sadlier last year was a good insight to his mentality, he's a good guy at the heart of it I would imagine. The pro level of the sport is a sitcom with some football in between, so I wouldn't take much of what anyone says very seriously, let alone get worked up enough to dislike anyone.
I do wish Bradley was a bit happier, I think he uses negatives to motivate himself, a never ending siege mentality no matter how well things are going, and look he's been through some really tough events in his life, and has a sick child, so I cut him a lot of slack for his general demeanor. I would agree that his general results with Rovers have been on par with budget/expectations for much of his time there, except at the beginning where he managed to cling in to the job, and build something very succesful. I also think he deserves praise for last years Euro run. It will be very interesting to see how things pan out this year, I'm sure he still has much to improve on if he's going to be an International manager one day, but he is still only 40/
I think they were both too hasty to take shots at Heimir, and were better off sticking directly to comments re the top level of the organization, and hopefully we're past that now.
I am not as convinced of Heimer as some others here, but I think he's doing ok, and seems like a very decent, capable man who I only wish well. The individual players and depth is continuing to improve, we will have a decent shot in September if we can put close to our best squad together.