View Full Version : Tom Cannon F Sheffield Utd b.2002
Pages :
[
7]
seanfhear
31/08/2023, 9:25 AM
You would think that Everton would be having a good look at him, in and around the Everton squad when you consider the dire straights Everton look to be in.
From the outside you would have to think that Everton don't think that Cannon is even a possible England level player ~ ~ That would be even more proven, if Everton sell Cannon even for the figure mentioned ~ Mind you Everton are in a mess, in every which way ~ so ~ Who knows ? ?
joey B
31/08/2023, 9:41 AM
Everton have spent 45 million pounds on 2 strikers in the last 2 weeks,played a winger up front last weekend and didn’t have Cannon in the squad for most of the pre season ,fairly clear they don’t fancy him….
Wonder why he is keen to move and Everton, goalless so far in the PL, would be willing to let go. Seems staying put is the better career choice (i.e. wanting to play at the highest level possible and to play for England ... :-))
Maybe they don't rate him as highly as we think. Like Neal Maupay plays and he's been dog sh*t for Everton and they've just spent £15m on Chermiti, a 19yr old striker from Sporting.
Ellis Simms had a similar half season in the championship last season and he also managed to equal Maupays PL goal tally last season with the bar minimum minutes he got. They sold him for £8m to Coventry.
seanfhear
31/08/2023, 9:59 AM
You'd reckon that most of these Premiership clubs would know what they are doing, but Everton have been a bit of a basket case for years so you'd have some doubts about Everton's judgment on anything.
31/08/2023, 5:06 PM
Norwich will also fancy themselves to be in the hunt for promotion this year, while Everton may be on the opposite trajectory.
No sign of Cannon in either of the main squads this cycle... adios, I think!
Well Crawford has said there's been no changes since June so there's been no movement from his camp or FA about getting his paperwork started regarding a switch yet.
No changes, then, since he said no to another call-up from Ireland.
Did the conversation happen over the summer, I wonder?
Doubt Crawford tried calling him up but just said they were talking. This what he said when asked about Cannon.
"On the matter, Crawford commented: “I’ve been in touch with Tom (Cannon) and there’s no change. He has a lot going on at the minute with his club but he’s in the same place as the last window in June".
Eirambler
31/08/2023, 7:19 PM
That's one hell of a dose of tonsillitis if he still has it now.
liamoo11
31/08/2023, 7:21 PM
Doubt Crawford tried calling him up but just said they were talking. This what he said when asked about Cannon.
"On the matter, Crawford commented: “I’ve been in touch with Tom (Cannon) and there’s no change. He has a lot going on at the minute with his club but he’s in the same place as the last window in June".
How anyone can want this lad back now is beyond me. He is an embarrassment to himself, just make a decision lad. You would think all the time he has spent sitting on Everton s bench would have given him enough time to make the decision
seanfhear
01/09/2023, 12:01 AM
How anyone can want this lad back now is beyond me. He is an embarrassment to himself, just make a decision lad. You would think all the time he has spent sitting on Everton s bench would have given him enough time to make the decision
Everton's bench is a bit like being in a horror movie at the moment. Maybe the fella is suffering from stress ! !
Demesne Lad
01/09/2023, 8:43 AM
Now reported to have been bought by Leicester (£6m + add-ons) - journalist Alan Nixon, quoted in www.goodisonnews.com this morning.
Yeah the Everton correspondent for the Athletic saying a deal is close and a fee of around £7.5m has been agreed.
Eminence Grise
01/09/2023, 9:17 AM
That's one hell of a dose of tonsillitis if he still has it now.
It's possible. It does seem like he has some neck on him.
irishfan86
01/09/2023, 5:46 PM
Sky Sports referring to him on air as a England U-21 international. Pretty cringe.
Eirambler
01/09/2023, 5:56 PM
They must have a clairvoyant on.
seanfhear
01/09/2023, 6:01 PM
They must have a clairvoyant on.
Or maybe Cannon's agent dropped them a note.
samhaydenjr
02/09/2023, 3:28 AM
Move to Leicester confirmed - does that buy us some time?
liamoo11
02/09/2023, 6:33 AM
Move to Leicester confirmed - does that buy us some time?
It's likely going to now be longer before he decides as it will be impossible for him.to have time to think about the issue with all the packing boxes and stuff
Jolly Red Giant
03/09/2023, 10:12 AM
If Everton - who are desperate for goals - are getting rid of Cannon then, from their perspective, he is behind at least two or three dozen strikers who are eligible for the English team. If he wants to play international football (and potentially go to tournaments) then he'd be an idiot not to declare for Ireland - and even then its unlikely he would be anything like an automatic choice, he'd just have less competition.
Eminence Grise
03/09/2023, 10:49 AM
If he wants to play international football (and potentially go to tournaments) then he'd be an idiot not to declare for Ireland
Sadly, right now it's more a case of if he wants to play international football (and still have his summers off) then he'd be an idiot not to declare for Ireland...
Jolly Red Giant
03/09/2023, 11:37 AM
Sadly, right now it's more a case of if he wants to play international football (and still have his summers off) then he'd be an idiot not to declare for Ireland...
Well if he declares for England - unless he improves pretty spectacularly - he will have every summer off for the rest of his career.
liamoo11
03/09/2023, 11:58 AM
If Everton - who are desperate for goals - are getting rid of Cannon then, from their perspective, he is behind at least two or three dozen strikers who are eligible for the English team. If he wants to play international football (and potentially go to tournaments) then he'd be an idiot not to declare for Ireland - and even then its unlikely he would be anything like an automatic choice, he'd just have less competition.
This. He is an idiot
CraftyToePoke
03/09/2023, 2:41 PM
This. He is an idiot
I think he's just English, which to be fair he is, born there raised there in their football culture by ( as I understand it ) parents born there too. The odds are long on an England career but its telling where his heart is that that long shot chance is sufficient to make him step away from us. We know when we pick these lads what the score is at this stage and we shouldn't be crying too much when English people turn out to be English. Mark Sykes took the odds in a different set of circumstances and missed out on our latest squad, he'd be central to NI but he is Irish so he wanted to play for Ireland. Its the same thing broadly.
All that said, we should 100% tell Cannon to pick now, and not hold the door open under the false illusion of dual nationality complexities jargon. We are in a position to do that & it's not being done.
liamoo11
03/09/2023, 2:51 PM
I think he's just English, which to be fair he is, born there raised there in their football culture by ( as I understand it ) parents born there too. The odds are long on an England career but its telling where his heart is that that long shot chance is sufficient to make him step away from us. We know when we pick these lads what the score is at this stage and we shouldn't be crying too much when English people turn out to be English. Mark Sykes took the odds in a different set of circumstances and missed out on our latest squad, he'd be central to NI but he is Irish so he wanted to play for Ireland. Its the same thing broadly.
All that said, we should 100% tell Cannon to pick now, and not hold the door open under the false illusion of dual nationality complexities jargon. We are in a position to do that & it's not being done.
No problem with him.picking england . No problem with him having allegiances to 2 nations. The issue is simply showing disrespect by not mak8ng a devision since June
CraftyToePoke
03/09/2023, 2:59 PM
No problem with him.picking england . No problem with him having allegiances to 2 nations. The issue is simply showing disrespect by not mak8ng a devision since June
He doesn't have allegiances to two nations. He has a career choice luxury afforded to him by ancestry which he has used to leverage himself to where he wants to be - on England's radar.
liamoo11
03/09/2023, 3:06 PM
He doesn't have allegiances to two nations. He has a career choice luxury afforded to him by ancestry which he has used to leverage himself to where he wants to be - on England's radar.
Grand so. That doesn't stop him making his decision public last June regarding which under 21 side he wants to play for
Jolly Red Giant
03/09/2023, 3:09 PM
At 20 he is still a kid - and a kid who has been closeted by Everton for the last 10 years. Players who sign at a young age for big clubs in my opinion take a long time to grow up and realise who they are and what they want to do.
We are fortunate that Brexit has stopped the flow of young Irish kids to British clubs and more of them are staying at home and learning their trade in the LOI - it will mean they will be a bit more mature when they head off at 18 and have a better chance of not being chewed up and spat out by the system over there. Its the opposite for players born in England where, as a result of the club academies, they are very much cotton-woolled from the outside world and many of them haven't a clue what they are doing even when they hit 20 or 21. The stats are startling about the number of academy players who, when they get dumped, end up so disillusioned with football that they stop playing all together. My daughter-in-law has a brother who spent time at Leeds as a 16-17 year old - didn't make it - spent a short while playing in the LOI first division and now, at 24, doesn't play anymore. He had the talent (like so many others) but didn't have the maturity and had to give up playing so that he could grow up.
CraftyToePoke
03/09/2023, 3:15 PM
Grand so. That doesn't stop him making his decision public last June regarding which under 21 side he wants to play for
It does because it loses him his leverage, his switch renders him just another long odds maybe striker like a bunch of others.
That's my whole point of why we should shut that door & stop getting played.
liamoo11
03/09/2023, 3:24 PM
It does because it loses him his leverage, his switch renders him just another long odds maybe striker like a bunch of others.
That's my whole point of why we should shut that door & stop getting played.
What leverage? Leverage to force us to play him with the seniors or leverage for England to pick him for the 21s? I don't see what it matters to us, he has shown us ongo8ng disrespect by not making a decision
03/09/2023, 3:24 PM
Ah it's more complicated than that I think. I said earlier that he'd likely take a few months to consider it. See how the club form goes the first half of the year and see if he's likely to have something to push for. He doesn't need to announce a change just to keep some internet punters happy.
CraftyToePoke
03/09/2023, 3:29 PM
What leverage? Leverage to force us to play him with the seniors or leverage for England to pick him for the 21s? I don't see what it matters to us, he has shown us ongo8ng disrespect by not making a decision
If he didn't have the Ireland option he wouldn't be getting touched up and winked at by England, that leverage. The one him and his people are using.
Eirambler
03/09/2023, 3:41 PM
If he didn't have the Ireland option he'd already be in the England Under 21 squad. They really don't have that many centre forward options at that age group.
liamoo11
03/09/2023, 3:42 PM
Ah it's more complicated than that I think. I said earlier that he'd likely take a few months to consider it. See how the club form goes the first half of the year and see if he's likely to have something to push for. He doesn't need to announce a change just to keep some internet punters happy.
But then we should leave him be regardless of whether he announces he wants to play with us or not. He will still have the option to play for England whenever he wants of we don't pick him. What sort of values are you developing in irish football at all levels if tou allow him to behave in this manner?
liamoo11
03/09/2023, 3:46 PM
If he didn't have the Ireland option he wouldn't be getting touched up and winked at by England, that leverage. The one him and his people are using.
But sure he was always going to be in the mix for an England 8nderv21 striker position they are nearly as weak as us in Central striking roles in that age group. Holding out for that has only got him a Championship move so what's left to be gained? A few caps for the England 21s won't gey him a premier league move unless he scores goals at leicester
03/09/2023, 3:50 PM
But then we should leave him be regardless of whether he announces he wants to play with us or not. He will still have the option to play for England whenever he wants of we don't pick him. What sort of values are you developing in irish football at all levels if tou allow him to behave in this manner?
We can't really afford to leave him be though. He outperformed every one of our forwards last year bar Ferguson.
CraftyToePoke
03/09/2023, 4:01 PM
But sure he was always going to be in the mix for an England 8nderv21 striker position they are nearly as weak as us in Central striking roles in that age group. Holding out for that has only got him a Championship move so what's left to be gained? A few caps for the England 21s won't gey him a premier league move unless he scores goals at leicester
Not until very recently did he show that kind of form. Thing is, you & me agree here, he needs to call this. Maybe a few clips of a hurley would settle him, but then again Tom Cannon doesn't know what a hurley is.
weldoninhio
04/09/2023, 10:45 AM
100%, once you turn down a place in a squad you've made a decision in my opinion. He's made his. Move on and wish him the best with his england career.
Eirambler
04/09/2023, 11:42 AM
There's plenty of evidence from other examples to show that's not necessarily how it always goes though.
Olé Olé
04/09/2023, 12:04 PM
Not until very recently did he show that kind of form. Thing is, you & me agree here, he needs to call this. Maybe a few clips of a hurley would settle him, but then again Tom Cannon doesn't know what a hurley is.
Probably not. He spent summers in Mayo...
Being facetious there. I get your frustration with this guy. I'm not surprised he was given another international window to figure it all out but I'm disappointed he took another window. One more would really annoy me. He had the benefit of the doubt in my book but he's not Grealish level prodigy to be taking such time. And he might get a cap like Bamford so if that is what he wants then he should call it because the longer this goes on the more it looks that way.
seanfhear
04/09/2023, 2:25 PM
100%, once you turn down a place in a squad you've made a decision in my opinion. He's made his. Move on and wish him the best with his england career.
Are you saying we should ~ Fire the Cannon !
The same puns, rehashed or repackaged, are really beginning to get on my wick.
ontheotherhand
04/09/2023, 4:31 PM
Whole thread is shot to bits at this stage.
texidub
04/09/2023, 4:32 PM
I'm still waiting for a pic of him to appear with the caption 'Cannon and ball'
CraftyToePoke
04/09/2023, 4:35 PM
Yet the volleys keep coming.
seanfhear
04/09/2023, 5:03 PM
Hoist by his own petard !
Fixer82
04/09/2023, 6:09 PM
Looks like our eagerness to get him has backfired
Demesne Lad
14/09/2023, 3:55 PM
"Tom Cannon is out with some problems," Leicester manager Maresca told the media today. "I don’t know how long (for)".
Leicester City handed fresh injury blow involving summer signing (footballleagueworld.co.uk) (https://footballleagueworld.co.uk/leicester-city-handed-fresh-injury-blow-involving-summer-signing/)
samhaydenjr
15/09/2023, 1:53 AM
"Tom Cannon is out with some problems," Leicester manager Maresca told the media today. "I don’t know how long (for)".
Leicester City handed fresh injury blow involving summer signing (footballleagueworld.co.uk) (https://footballleagueworld.co.uk/leicester-city-handed-fresh-injury-blow-involving-summer-signing/)
Oh no, he's fallen foul of the TYISIC (Talented Young Irish Striker Injury Curse)! Let him declare for England to save his career, even if he never plays for them!