View Full Version : 2023 UEFA European Under-17 Championship

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6

13/03/2023, 6:48 PM
can we draw Italy, since we faced them in the qualifiers?

Nearly sure we can.

JR89
13/03/2023, 7:09 PM
can we draw Italy, since we faced them in the qualifiers?

Yeah teams can draw the other team which also qualifed from their elite phase group.

BOOMSHAKALAKA
13/03/2023, 9:03 PM
I disagree - results at these age groups are absolutely important - but they shouldn't be achieved to the mutual exclusion of player development. Ireland in the past decade and a half have performed super well at 17s and 19s. We've been dismal at 21s and our failure to compete at that age group has absolutely been a factor in the failure to progress positively at senior level.

In my view, results are not important at this level or anything up to senior level. Player development is far more important. Yes, better coaching will probably lead to better results but reaching major tournaments and so on should not be the main priority. Developing technical ability, style of play, tactical acumen and so on are the essentials. And crucially, this should be spread to a large number of players. Youngsters develop at different speeds. You're denying players opportunity to develop by only picking the best 11 at their age group. Picking from a larger base of players will more than likely make results worse but in the long term, it will create a larger player base to select from who've received top level coaching and experienced playing at an elite level. This should also be replicated at all underage club level. Forget results until they become seniors.

Jd2793
13/03/2023, 9:14 PM
you are ignoring the experience these kids get at tournaments , which is pretty invaluable at their age. i heard something from a guy from Belgiums FA about the u17 game they played vs us in tallaght in 2019. he said that high stakes game with both teams needing a result (Ireland win, Belg draw) to go through infront of 5k fans was about the equivalent of those lads getting 10 games in belgium.

BOOMSHAKALAKA
13/03/2023, 9:28 PM
you are ignoring the experience these kids get at tournaments , which is pretty invaluable at their age. i heard something from a guy from Belgiums FA about the u17 game they played vs us in tallaght in 2019. he said that high stakes game with both teams needing a result (Ireland win, Belg draw) to go through infront of 5k fans was about the equivalent of those lads getting 10 games in belgium.

No, I'm not. I've already said that:

Brilliant stuff. Results really shouldn't matter too much at this age group but more games at an elite level can only help. We're doing some things well somewhere.

There needs to be some balance but only selecting players to try to qualify for tournaments instead of developing a wider crop is very short sighted and detrimental to a nations overall development. A player might be big for his age and give a higher chance of winning a game at u17 but a player sitting on the bench or at home might have more potential to make it at senior level.

elatedscum
14/03/2023, 12:40 AM
There needs to be some balance but only selecting players to try to qualify for tournaments instead of developing a wider crop is very short sighted and detrimental to a nations overall development. A player might be big for his age and give a higher chance of winning a game at u17 but a player sitting on the bench or at home might have more potential to make it at senior level.

I don’t think that really happens though. I'd imagine that could be true younger when players are going through puberty - but it’s not like a player like Kevin Zefi or Andy Moran or Joe Hodge wouldn’t have made the u17s due to being smaller at that age group. Besides, often those issues of physicality are more issues at senior level (eg Connor Ronan and Jack Byrne who played at every underage level growing up but there are legitimate concerns about their physicality)

Managers make mistakes with their squads and generally they want to pick the best players but I’ve never really thought a big lad is only getting in because he’s big. Both Niall McAndrew and Romeo Akachukwu are big physical units - but so was Declan Rice at that age - they both have ample ability. Thinking back to the 2019 u17 side mentioned above, I was critical of Sean Kennedy, Roland Idowu and the third keeper being picked ahead of Mipo Odubeko, Mazeed Ogungbo and Dej Sotona - 4 years later and I still don’t understand it at all - but it wasn’t for those 3 lads lacking physicality - Ogungbo was called up to the 19s 3 months later, Mipo was and is a physical unit and Sotona was lightning quick. Looking back, maybe Dara Costelloe should have been brought in as well - but he was player senior football at age 15 for Galway - so once again, I’d doubt physicality was the issue.

Same with the 19s - I’d question some players called up - but I’ve never felt the issue was a shortsightedness. 99 times out of 100, if you pick the best players available for the best positions, you’re picking the right squad.

Take Dara O’Shea, plenty thought he was a physical specimen who wouldn’t have the footballing ability to play internationally, whereas Conor Masterson was the footballer, who once his body developed had the ability to play at a far higher level. Masterson got back injuries which really limited him and O’Shea became a better and better technical footballer relatively late, playing in a good academy - with outstanding mentality and work rate. Overall, pretty good that we didn’t ditch him for Conor McCarthy or Liam Scales or Luke McNally.

It’s so hard to map how Player A is going go from underage football to senior football, all you can do is identify your really high potential players and give them opportunities to develop. And we do that well.

Razors left peg
14/03/2023, 1:57 AM
It's OK to say results don't matter for u12s. When you are playing international football at u17 results absolutely matter. Learning how to win and the resilience to get there even when its hard couldn't be more important.

That winning goal today in injury time only happened because 2 players were cool under immense pressure. That's a skill in itself.

BOOMSHAKALAKA
14/03/2023, 6:51 AM
I don’t think that really happens though. I'd imagine that could be true younger when players are going through puberty - but it’s not like a player like Kevin Zefi or Andy Moran or Joe Hodge wouldn’t have made the u17s due to being smaller at that age group. Besides, often those issues of physicality are more issues at senior level (eg Connor Ronan and Jack Byrne who played at every underage level growing up but there are legitimate concerns about their physicality)

Managers make mistakes with their squads and generally they want to pick the best players but I’ve never really thought a big lad is only getting in because he’s big. Both Niall McAndrew and Romeo Akachukwu are big physical units - but so was Declan Rice at that age - they both have ample ability. Thinking back to the 2019 u17 side mentioned above, I was critical of Sean Kennedy, Roland Idowu and the third keeper being picked ahead of Mipo Odubeko, Mazeed Ogungbo and Dej Sotona - 4 years later and I still don’t understand it at all - but it wasn’t for those 3 lads lacking physicality - Ogungbo was called up to the 19s 3 months later, Mipo was and is a physical unit and Sotona was lightning quick. Looking back, maybe Dara Costelloe should have been brought in as well - but he was player senior football at age 15 for Galway - so once again, I’d doubt physicality was the issue.

Same with the 19s - I’d question some players called up - but I’ve never felt the issue was a shortsightedness. 99 times out of 100, if you pick the best players available for the best positions, you’re picking the right squad.

Take Dara O’Shea, plenty thought he was a physical specimen who wouldn’t have the footballing ability to play internationally, whereas Conor Masterson was the footballer, who once his body developed had the ability to play at a far higher level. Masterson got back injuries which really limited him and O’Shea became a better and better technical footballer relatively late, playing in a good academy - with outstanding mentality and work rate. Overall, pretty good that we didn’t ditch him for Conor McCarthy or Liam Scales or Luke McNally.

It’s so hard to map how Player A is going go from underage football to senior football, all you can do is identify your really high potential players and give them opportunities to develop. And we do that well.

Yes, I was only using that as an example of someone who could be left behind but my opinion is that the net can be too small in identifying players with potential. They usually get selected very young and stay in the set up throughout the age groups. Others who would flourish under high level coaching have been left aside. Give a larger number of players the opportunity and critically, give them actual game time and it will be more beneficial long term. Treat any results achieved as a bonus rather than a requirement.

BOOMSHAKALAKA
14/03/2023, 7:00 AM
It's OK to say results don't matter for u12s. When you are playing international football at u17 results absolutely matter. Learning how to win and the resilience to get there even when its hard couldn't be more important.

That winning goal today in injury time only happened because 2 players were cool under immense pressure. That's a skill in itself.

Obviously people disagree with me on this but I just think that's completely the wrong attitude. You're limiting the pool. The more players who get game time and learn skills like dealing with pressure the better. Coaches should be focused on developing key skills both physically and mentally rather than being tied down with result expectations. That's even for the u21's. You're more likely to develop a higher number of elite players by giving a higher number the opportunity. But I've made my point and I don't think anyone will change their opinion so I'll leave it there.

14/03/2023, 9:45 AM

That winning goal today in injury time only happened because 2 players were cool under immense pressure. That's a skill in itself.My God, what a goal it was too. Superb finish. Who provided the pass? That's just the kind of player we need at Senior level. From the moment he got the ball he had one thing in mind: attack the space between the lines and find a pass. There was real purpose and commitment. Just recycling the ball was never on his mind.

Razors left peg
14/03/2023, 9:54 AM
My God, what a goal it was too. Superb finish. Who provided the pass? That's just the kind of player we need at Senior level. From the moment he got the ball he had one thing in mind: attack the space between the lines and find a pass. There was real purpose and commitment. Just recycling the ball was never on his mind.

It was Naj Razi, on the books at Shamrock Rovers you'll be glad to hear

14/03/2023, 10:02 AM
Not sure if it's been mentioned on the thread yet - the top five teams from the finals in Hungary(all four semi-finalists and the winner of a play off) will qualify for the FIFA U17 World Cup in Peru in November

14/03/2023, 10:05 AM
Great finish for the second goal too.

Eirambler
14/03/2023, 10:53 AM
Not sure if it's been mentioend on the thread yet - the top five teams from the finals in Hungary(all four semi-finalists and the winner of a play off) will qualify for the FIFA U17 World Cup in Peru in November

It always irritates me how few qualification places there are for European teams at underage World Cups and the Olympics, which is mostly Under 23. Completely devalues these tournaments I think.

14/03/2023, 11:13 AM
In my view, results are not important at this level or anything up to senior level.
I'm open to different perspectives, but I absolutely disagree with this ^^^ in the international/continental context. Results are absolutely important, as they have consequences underage as they do at senior level. I don't know about player rotation in the initial qualifying stage, but I do know that generally speaking the first qualifying round stage is a doddle for Ireland, as we get handy groups based on past performance.

Player development is far more important. Yes, better coaching will probably lead to better results but reaching major tournaments and so on should not be the main priority. Developing technical ability, style of play, tactical acumen and so on are the essentials.

You're forgetting (or perhaps not) that these players will have been examined in depth in the player development squads for the past 5/6 years at this stage. Just about every county now has academies that take in players from a very wide base from 11 yrs of age. It is virtually impossible for a kid to go under the radar these days. The one mitigating factor is the late development - be that physical, technical or mental development. And there is no accounting for that.

And crucially, this should be spread to a large number of players. Youngsters develop at different speeds. You're denying players opportunity to develop by only picking the best 11 at their age group. Picking from a larger base of players will more than likely make results worse but in the long term, it will create a larger player base to select from who've received top level coaching and experienced playing at an elite level. This should also be replicated at all underage club level. Forget results until they become seniors.

That does happen at club level. Remember this isn't club level - it's international football, whether you agree or not. It would be fundamentally wrong - to the players picked, and to the players not picked - to select for the international squad (not team) players who are unfit at that time to be playing at that level. We breed success* at 17s and 19s. We have not bred success at 21s and it is a gap that we've struggled forever to address. It has only been with the change in focus at schoolboy level (and it's not perfect, by a long shot), that we've built squads and large squads at that of players who can hold their own at 21s level as shown in the past two campaigns.

Success breeds success.

*Success for a country like Ireland is relative - qualifying for finals in the short term is success.

yurt
14/03/2023, 11:23 AM
But I've made my point and I don't think anyone will change their opinion so I'll leave it there.

If a handful more people on this forum could follow your lead here it'd be a much better place. So many threads get derailed with people trying to win a pointless, unwinnable argument. You've made your point, something I understand but don't agree with. Leave it there.

I couldn't believe the finish when I saw the video of the winner. I read that was his first touch as well, unbelievably cool to have such good technical ability under those circumstances.

The aim for this team should be world cup qualification. Clubs here should be signing these lads up to 3/4 year contracts now because their valuation will shoot up if they perform on these big stages.

14/03/2023, 11:26 AM

Some day a commentator is going to make an awful spoonerism.

14/03/2023, 11:29 AM
If a handful more people on this forum could follow your lead here it'd be a much better place. So many threads get derailed with people trying to win a pointless, unwinnable argument. You've made your point, something I understand but don't agree with. Leave it there.

I'm around the forum long enough to remember when it was a better place, when it was worth engaging with. i'll leave it there.

18/03/2023, 10:48 AM
Under-17s progress in spite of the stark lack of adequate support for Irish club
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/2023/03/18/under-17s-progress-in-spite-of-the-stark-lack-of-adequate-support-for-irish-clubs/
(Paywalled article, the usual workarounds will work around it)

JR89
18/03/2023, 11:54 AM
Article is probably based off this tweet. NI, Andorra, and Luxembourg are the other four but NI have started up a national academy and Luxembourg have been doing that for the last twenty years with underage teams often involved in the youth leagues in Germany.

liamoo11
02/04/2023, 11:29 AM
Draw for the tournament tomorrow https://www.uefa.com/under17/news/0278-15f20e415294-07dd5c035c72-1000--2023-u17-euro-finals-draw-monday/

liamoo11
02/04/2023, 11:31 AM
https://www.uefa.com/under17/news/027f-17a61873c502-34f6fc7a9988-1000--2023-under-17-euro-finals-meet-the-teams/ bit of info on how the teams qualified

JR89
02/04/2023, 11:47 AM
The top five teams from this qualify for the U17 WC in Peru at the end of the year.

JR89
03/04/2023, 2:41 PM
Moore came on as a sub against Ukraine and Cyprus. Only turned 16 last week.

JR89
03/04/2023, 3:47 PM
Good draw for the U17s who have avoided a big team from either Pot 1 or Pot 2. Have been drawn with hosts Hungary, Wales, and Poland.

03/04/2023, 3:47 PM
Ireland drawn against hosts Hungary, Wales, and Poland.
https://www.uefa.com/under17/news/0278-15f20e415294-07dd5c035c72-1000--u17-finals-draw/

Poland finished second behind Portugal in Elite Group 5 on six points, after defeating Slovakia and Czech Republic, and losing to group winners Portugal.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2023_UEFA_European_Under-17_Championship_qualification#Group_5_2

Wales topped Elite Group 2 with five points, after beating Scotland and drawing with Iceland and Montenegro.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2023_UEFA_European_Under-17_Championship_qualification#Group_2_2

Group winners and runners up go into the quarters. Looking at the other groups, we did alright!

Group A: Hungary (hosts), Republic of Ireland, Poland, Wales
Group B: Serbia, Spain, Italy, Slovenia
Group C: Portugal, France (holders), Scotland, Germany
Group D: Croatia, Netherlands, Switzerland, England

Olé Olé
03/04/2023, 4:33 PM
Ireland drawn against hosts Hungary, Wales, and Poland.
Poland finished second behind Portugal in Elite Group 5 on six points, after defeating Slovakia and Czech Republic, and losing to group winners Portugal.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2023_UEFA_European_Under-17_Championship_qualification#Group_5_2

Wales topped Elite Group 2 with five points, after beating Scotland and drawing with Iceland and Montenegro.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2023_UEFA_European_Under-17_Championship_qualification#Group_2_2

Group winners and runners up go into the quarters. Looking at the other groups, we did alright!

If this were a senior tournament we would have got the best group we could be in.

elatedscum
03/04/2023, 10:49 PM
Moore came on as a sub against Ukraine and Cyprus. Only turned 16 last week.

I get a bit confused between Matthew Moore and Matthew Murray, both of Cork City. I think Moore was the midfielder and Murray the winger? Saw them both for the first time in the Victory Shield - thought both were good but not so as impressive as guys like Orazi

JR89
03/04/2023, 11:33 PM
I get a bit confused between Matthew Moore and Matthew Murray, both of Cork City. I think Moore was the midfielder and Murray the winger? Saw them both for the first time in the Victory Shield - thought both were good but not so as impressive as guys like Orazi

Bingo, Moore plays midfield while Murray is the winger. Matthew Moore captained the U16s for the Victory Shield I believe.

04/04/2023, 11:09 AM
Related to this, Peru will not host the U17 World Cup this year
https://www.fifa.com/about-fifa/organisation/media-releases/peru-withdrawn-as-host-of-fifa-u-17-world-cup-2023-tm

The move was made given the inability of the host country to fulfil its commitments to completing the infrastructure required to stage the tournament. Despite a very positive working relationship between FIFA and the FPF, it has been determined that there is now not sufficient time to secure the required investment and complete the necessary work with the Peruvian government ahead of the tournament start date.

Eirambler
04/04/2023, 4:48 PM
Maybe we could step in? Aviva/Tallaght/Turner's Cross and Thomond would surely be enough for something like that. It's a shame we don't try to host more youth tournaments.

Razors left peg
04/04/2023, 5:34 PM
Maybe we could step in? Aviva/Tallaght/Turner's Cross and Thomond would surely be enough for something like that. It's a shame we don't try to host more youth tournaments.

We dont help ourselves when we do host sometimes. The u21 game at Turners Cross was fantastic. Full house, great atmosphere and good playing surface. But the 3 games for the U19s in Wexford were awful. The pitch looked like it doubled as a cow pasture in between games. The grass was far too long and you could see the players were struggling on it. Watching the games I thought the pitch was the biggest factor of why we didnt play to the best of our ability in those games.

liamoo11
07/05/2023, 2:59 PM
This starts in the next 10 days or so. Kone Doherty hasn't played for Liverpool soccer he got reinjured in the qualifiers, he has actually played very little since before Christmas with injury after such a great first 3 or 4 months of the season

JR89
11/05/2023, 3:18 PM
FAI have announced that the games will be shown live on RTE.

Wednesday, May 17 | Poland MU17 v Ireland MU17, Hidegkuti Nándor Stadium, Budapest, KO 3.30pm

Saturday, May 20 | Ireland MU17 v Wales MU17, Pancho Arena, Felcsút, KO 3.30pm

Tuesday, May 23 | Ireland MU17 v Hungary MU17, Pancho Arena, Felcsút, KO 7pm

11/05/2023, 3:18 PM
Squad to be announced tomorrow: https://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/all-you-need-to-know-ireland-at-the-u17-euros

Where to watch
All games will be shown live on RTÉ

liamoo11
11/05/2023, 5:19 PM
FAI have announced that the games will be shown live on RTE.

Wednesday, May 17 | Poland MU17 v Ireland MU17, Hidegkuti Nándor Stadium, Budapest, KO 3.30pm

Saturday, May 20 | Ireland MU17 v Wales MU17, Pancho Arena, Felcsút, KO 3.30pm

Tuesday, May 23 | Ireland MU17 v Hungary MU17, Pancho Arena, Felcsút, KO 7pm

Fair play to rte. The hurlin types won't be happy

JR89
12/05/2023, 12:35 PM
Ireland Men’s Under-17 Euro Squad

Goalkeepers: Joe Collins (Bohemians), Jason Healy (Waterford)

Defenders: Stanley Ashbee (Hull City), Daniel Babb (UCD), Jake Grante (Crystal Palace), Kaylem Harnett (Wexford FC), Cory O’Sullivan (Shamrock Rovers), Ade Solanke (Shamrock Rovers)

Midfielders: Romeo Akachukwu (Waterford), Rhys Bartley (St. Patrick’s Athletic), Luke Kehir (St. Patrick’s Athletic), Matthew Moore (Cork City), Danny McGrath (Bohemians), Taylor Mooney (Bohemians), Freddie Turley (Shamrock Rovers)

Forwards: Mason Melia (St. Patrick’s Athletic), Matthew Murray (Cork City), Ike Orazi (Shamrock Rovers), Nickson Oksoun (Bohemians), Naj Razi (Shamrock Rovers)

Eirambler
12/05/2023, 12:48 PM
Must be the most home based players we've ever sent yo a tournament finals - 18 out of 20? Great chance to put themselves in the shop window for a transfer to Europe or to Britain once they turn 18.

12/05/2023, 1:18 PM
Must be the most home based players we've ever sent yo a tournament finals - 18 out of 20? Great chance to put themselves in the shop window for a transfer to Europe or to Britain once they turn 18.
We really need to move away from that sort of attitude tbh. Far better for their development and Irish football in general to move at 21 or so, with a couple of years' senior football (including some European games) under their belts, and for a proper transfer fee.

Eirambler
12/05/2023, 4:01 PM
Only if we have the facilities to properly develop them, which we don't. There's an argument that going over at 18 instead of 16 might help some players, as they can finish school, be more ready at 18 to leave home and hopefully play some first team football while they're still in Ireland. It will maybe suit some more than others, Evan Ferguson being the obvious example of someone who was better going when he did.

But for most players with top level potential staying in Ireland until 21 likely means they'll miss too much development coaching to ever claw it back and reach their full potential. So, realistically, nearly anyone who is good enough needs to be leaving at 18. Just the way it is unfortunately.

12/05/2023, 4:35 PM
And we won't have the facilities to develop them properly while we let them go on the cheap as soon as they're old enough to flee.

There will always be an exception (like Ferguson) who can make an impact much earlier. But by and large it's not something we should aspire to for everyone. The most recent transfer windows have shown it's never been easier to move from the LoI to England, and going over at 21 straight into a first team (after 3-4 years of first team football) can't be much worse than spending the time in an academy.

Eirambler
12/05/2023, 4:51 PM
Realistically the ones going over straight to first team football at 21/22 are going in at League 1 level at best (Andy Lyons got a few months at the bottom of the Championship but he's going to League 1 now too). So they're already playing catch up at 21 and, even if they're good enough to eventually reach the top flight won't get there until 24 or 25 at best.

The stats are out there in terms of the hours of football contact available to those that go compared to those that stay, and they don't make for pretty reading. We can't hold back a generation of players because it might help us develop better facilities somehow, and we couldn't even if we wanted to. Players who get the opportunity will go if they want to, and they do want to.

They're two separate issues, create setups in Ireland that allow players to reach their full potential at home and then players will be happy to stay on. But, as things stand, these lads are absolutely playing for a possible better future overseas in this tournament.

elatedscum
12/05/2023, 5:03 PM
Disappointed that Shaun Wade and Trent Kone Doherty didn't make it. Not sure if it's injury or what. Two really exciting attacking wingers.

I’d prefer Dodd or McAndrew over Bartley. I wonder whatever happened to Gabriel Gartside-Kelly and Cian Morling.

12/05/2023, 5:26 PM
Disappointed that Shaun Wade and Trent Kone Doherty didn't make it. Not sure if it's injury or what. Two really exciting attacking wingers.

I’d prefer Dodd or McAndrew over Bartley. I wonder whatever happened to Gabriel Gartside-Kelly and Cian Morling.

Niall McAndrew and Trent Kone-Doherty miss out through injury. Mentioned in FAI press release.

12/05/2023, 5:28 PM
Realistically the ones going over straight to first team football at 21/22 are going in at League 1 level at best (Andy Lyons got a few months at the bottom of the Championship but he's going to League 1 now too). So they're already playing catch up at 21 and, even if they're good enough to eventually reach the top flight won't get there until 24 or 25 at best.

The stats are out there in terms of the hours of football contact available to those that go compared to those that stay, and they don't make for pretty reading. We can't hold back a generation of players because it might help us develop better facilities somehow, and we couldn't even if we wanted to. Players who get the opportunity will go if they want to, and they do want to.

They're two separate issues, create setups in Ireland that allow players to reach their full potential at home and then players will be happy to stay on. But, as things stand, these lads are absolutely playing for a possible better future overseas in this tournament.

The bit in bold is arguably the reason we are the in the state we are in with facilities. Constantly kicking the can down the road has left us behind most of Europe in terms of facilities and youth structure.

We're proving that we're getting it right on the pitch, with coaching and development of players. Contact hours are gradually improving, but facilities and full time coaching staff are still lagging behind and I think it needs sorted sooner rather than later.

I'm not sure who's being held back either, I'd rather see a lad staying in Ireland until 21 and making a good career for himself at League One level rather than being churned out by the English academy system and being lost to football altogether.

elatedscum
12/05/2023, 6:28 PM
Niall McAndrew and Trent Kone-Doherty miss out through injury. Mentioned in FAI press release.

reptracker on twitter is saying that Wade and Kelly are both injured as well. Makes a lot of sense. Basically just leaves Anto Dodd as the only lad missing out.

Fair play to Ade Solanke. Saw him play the two games against Latvia for the 15s at left back and centre back. There's never been an u15 to play for Ireland in the u17 championships. Can't think of anyone who even played a qualifier. Speaks to what a unique achievement that is

liamoo11
12/05/2023, 6:44 PM
We really need to move away from that sort of attitude tbh. Far better for their development and Irish football in general to move at 21 or so, with a couple of years' senior football (including some European games) under their belts, and for a proper transfer fee.

I think it depends how they are treated. Look at ferizaj at shamrock rovers this season has been a write off so far for him no sign rovers are prioritising his development , he would be better off in a top academy if that's going to continue

12/05/2023, 7:44 PM
I think it depends how they are treated. Look at ferizaj at shamrock rovers this season has been a write off so far for him no sign rovers are prioritising his development , he would be better off in a top academy if that's going to continue

Is there some sort of rule that says he must play? He's been playing with the under-19 side there. How are they not prioritising development? The lad is just turned 18..

liamoo11
12/05/2023, 8:19 PM
Is there some sort of rule that says he must play? He's been playing with the under-19 side there. How are they not prioritising development? The lad is just turned 18..

Exactly there is no rule just like there was no rule that celtic should have played connell in their side. All professional clubs will do what's best for them not individual players. That's why it's wrong to think players staying in the loi is going to be superior to moving to the UK , one sub bench is the same as the other. Under 19 loi football is not developing fetizaj that's for sure

liamoo11
12/05/2023, 8:22 PM
Ireland Men’s Under-17 Euro Squad

Goalkeepers: Joe Collins (Bohemians), Jason Healy (Waterford)

Defenders: Stanley Ashbee (Hull City), Daniel Babb (UCD), Jake Grante (Crystal Palace), Kaylem Harnett (Wexford FC), Cory O’Sullivan (Shamrock Rovers), Ade Solanke (Shamrock Rovers)

Midfielders: Romeo Akachukwu (Waterford), Rhys Bartley (St. Patrick’s Athletic), Luke Kehir (St. Patrick’s Athletic), Matthew Moore (Cork City), Danny McGrath (Bohemians), Taylor Mooney (Bohemians), Freddie Turley (Shamrock Rovers)

Forwards: Mason Melia (St. Patrick’s Athletic), Matthew Murray (Cork City), Ike Orazi (Shamrock Rovers), Nickson Oksoun (Bohemians), Naj Razi (Shamrock Rovers)

I see melia is on for pats first team tonight