View Full Version : Keith Long

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

ger121
03/09/2022, 5:34 PM
FWIW Dundalk renaming their stadium, "until the end of the season", is VERRRRRRRRRRY Bohs behaviour.

What’s your view on the renaming of football clubs?

03/09/2022, 7:45 PM
What’s your view on the renaming of football clubs?

Not a fan of it at all Ger. It's why I hope Treaty stick with their current name and don't bow to sticking Limerick in there again.

nr637
05/09/2022, 9:11 AM
What potential club would Keith Long end up at, if he was to get back into managing again?

It would have to be a Dublin team, as I reckon he won't move very far from his home!

Dermobohs
05/09/2022, 9:17 AM
Well he is pat declines son in law so I can see bray happening.

Dermobohs
05/09/2022, 9:18 AM
Well he is pat declines son in law so I can see bray happening.
Pat devlin that should be, although maybe…..,

D24Saint
06/09/2022, 5:19 PM
https://www.buzz.ie/sport/bohemians-too-political-roddy-collins-27909853

Roddys take on the situation at Bohs.

06/09/2022, 6:44 PM
"countless Bohs fans have contacted me about the position, urging me to return to the club"

Hahahaha. Same old Roddy- spend spend spend spend is the way forward

06/09/2022, 6:57 PM
How far can Roddy count exactly?

Philosophizer
06/09/2022, 9:46 PM
I read that article earlier today and could barely believe my eyes. He's calling for "real and meaningful change at Bohs"... Does he not realise the club was a mess for ages and this is the first time in about 10 years that the club is in a healthy position?
Roddy genuinely seems to believe that investing in the future through things like academy and facilities is wrong and you should blow all your cash on the 1st team. Unreal!

placid casual
06/09/2022, 11:46 PM
Unfortunately for the rest of us watching on, even boez are not that stupid that they'd take back the unemployed plasterer as manager.

2 Year Contract
22/09/2022, 8:30 AM
Pender, Perth and Richard Dunne all linked with the job. Fingers crossed it’s Dunne as he’d produce some of the funniest moments of the three IMO :D

https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/9447256/richard-dunne-bohemians-manager-job-derek-pender-vinny-perth/

ger121
22/09/2022, 8:32 AM
Pender, Perth and Richard Dunne all linked with the job. Fingers crossed it’s Dunne as he’d produce some of the funniest moments of the three IMO :D

https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/9447256/richard-dunne-bohemians-manager-job-derek-pender-vinny-perth/

Dunne won’t be able to find his way to Dalymount so you can count him out.

GUFCghost
22/09/2022, 11:26 AM
Considering his entire time at Bohs and not just the latest ****show, what do Bohs fans make of him?

Seems like he's good at working with young players, which might make him a good fit at Galway United. However, last time I took a quick glance at a potential GUFC manager's career highlights I was severely disappointed

joey B
22/09/2022, 12:21 PM

Bohs fans would be pretty underwhelmed with that list,apparently Jim McGuinness applied for it aswell,I’d say there’s more chance of me getting !!!

ger121
22/09/2022, 2:18 PM
Bohs fans would be pretty underwhelmed with that list,apparently Jim McGuinness applied for it aswell,I’d say there’s more chance of me getting !!!

What’s your views on climate change, poetry, woke culture and everything non-football related?

Jd2793
22/09/2022, 2:51 PM
vinny perth lol

DCSIL
22/09/2022, 4:06 PM
https://www.buzz.ie/sport/bohemians-too-political-roddy-collins-27909853

Roddys take on the situation at Bohs.

Copied to save an (https://www.buzz.ie/sport/bohemians-too-political-roddy-collins-27909853)yone clicking on it.

I have not applied to become the new Bohemians (https://www.buzz.ie/all-about/bohemian-fc) manager and I won’t be doing so.
In the days that have followed Keith Long’s departure from Dalymount Park, countless Bohs fans have contacted me about the position, urging me to return to the club.

It ain’t happening. Right now, I would not get the freedom and support from the Gypsies board to turn the club into trophy winners and that would frustrate me.
Back in September, 1998 I received a phone call from a senior Bohs official to ‘come in and give a hand’ in the wake of Joe McGrath’s exit.

I was happy to do so and by the end of that season I had steered the team to Premier Division survival via the play-offs.
When I left Bohs in June, 2001, we had won the double, finished as FAI Cup runners-up and beaten Kaiserslautern and Aberdeen away from home in the Uefa Cup.

Structure

Could Bohs emulate such success in the near future? Yes. Will it happen? No, due to the way that the club is currently operated.
Any organisation that makes social inclusivity and its local community key elements of its structure must be applauded and Bohs do so much great work in Phibsboro and Dublin’s northside.
But somewhere along the way, the club has forgotten that being a successful football club is its primary objective. Winning trophies is now a secondary issue.
Bohemians is a club that is now too political and this is wrong. To me, it seems that the least important thing there is football, with no ambition to win silverware.

The new boss faces a tough task in changing the culture up in Dalymount. Here’s what he needs to do to win the battle.
He must keep the young players that the club continues to develop by banging his fists on the boardroom table and ensuring that the club finds the money to keep them on longer and more lucrative contracts.
Since last December, Bohs have lost Georgie Kelly, Andy Lyons, Ross Tierney, Dawson Devoy, Promise Omochere, Jack Moylan and Sean Grehan. This is simply not good enough for a club of Bohs’ stature.
But this culture has been there for decades. When Billy Young was in charge during the early to mid-eighties, Jacko McDonagh, Paul Doolin, Terry Eviston, Kevin Brady and Liam O’Brien all left for Shamrock Rovers to become key members of their four-in-a-row title-winning run.
It’s the job of the manager to secure these great young talents and sign experienced stars — not being cosy with the board and being buddies with the directors.
Keith was there for eight years — no trophy to show for his efforts. It amazes me that he was offered a new four-year contract last year.
Wrong emphasis

For me, the emphasis is all wrong at Bohs, so even if I received a call from their board, I would not go there.
The Hoops are setting the standards in Dublin and right across the League of Ireland (https://www.buzz.ie/all-about/league-of-ireland).
But Bohemians can be just as big a club as Rovers. Now, they’re content with beating them in derby games as happened on Friday night.
How far are Bohs behind Rovers? 10 to 20 years.
If the Bohs board is brave and takes the correct approach they will appoint a boss that only sees winning football matches and silverware as his brief, with everything else irrelevant.

https://i2-prod.buzz.ie/incoming/article27910092.ece/ALTERNATES/s615b/0_inpho_00804858.jpg

This will bring him into conflict with the board but so what?
The sale of young players, the €1.7 million received from Wolves when Matt Doherty (https://www.buzz.ie/sport/matt-doherty-spurs-lowest-point-26633603) moved to Spurs two years ago and strong ticket sales have left plenty of money in the club’s kitty.
So it should be invested in keeping the best young players there when offers arrive in from Shamrock Rovers (https://www.buzz.ie/all-about/shamrock-rovers-fc) and Britain.
There has been a lot of sympathy extended to Keith in the past few days over the platter exodus but it doesn’t wash with me.
He should have put a gun to the head of the board and told the directors ‘if they go, then I go’.
Did Shelbourne (https://www.buzz.ie/sport/damien-duff-shelbourne-daft-recruitment-26261750) keep trying to buy Glenn Crowe when I was Bohs boss and he scored an incredible 25 goals when we won the league? Of course they did but they didn’t get him when I was in charge.
The same applied to Kevin Hunt, while I refused to budge with the board when it kept stalling on my bid to sign Trevor Molloy from St Patrick’s Athletic (https://www.buzz.ie/all-about/st-patricks-athletic-fc). We got him in the end.
My belligerence didn’t go down well and I remember one director telling me that if ‘I kept my head down I had a job for life’.
Nonsense

Nonsense, I wanted success, not a job for life and every manager must think this way.
It’s 2009 since Bohs last won the Premier Division crown and 12 months before that since the FAI Cup was last claimed by the club. Since 2009, the Setanta Sports Cup was won in 2010.
Bohs fans have been hoodwinked for the past 12 years.
It’s time for real and meaningful change at Bohemian Football Club, not just the arrival of a new first team
manager.

|

ontheotherhand
22/09/2022, 5:35 PM
Ian Ryan is on the list as well according to McDonnell. Bit disappointing to be honest. The other 3 would be gas. Can't imagine they are seriously being considered. Maybe Pender would turn out ok but Perth and Dunne? They can do better surely.

22/09/2022, 5:39 PM
McDonnell was also mentioning a guy who was an assistant coach at AIK Stockholm for a while, and the Huddersfield academy (I think). Sean O'Shea. Most recently he's been doing private coaching in Dubai. Can't see him getting it though.

RealJohn91
22/09/2022, 6:16 PM
Can't see Dunne or Perth getting the job, Pender with Croly as "manager" would be the safe option with them both under contract. Even though he's a legend I think most Bohs fans would prefer a fresh start from the previous era. Seems like a big step up for someone like Ryan but he's going to get a decent job soon enough anyway with his reputation growing so we might take the punt on him. Have a feeling it'll be someone off the beat and track who isn't immediately apparent.

2 Year Contract
22/09/2022, 6:17 PM
Dunne won’t be able to find his way to Dalymount so you can count him out.

Maybe not but the club climate officer would surely give him a lift to and from matches on his rickshaw. Reading between the lines it does seem Dunne is interested anyways based on this interview

https://twitter.com/vmsportie/status/1573011085006872581?s=46&t=F3-_KC-zhswmBcWKPuYlNQ

ger121
22/09/2022, 7:59 PM
Maybe not but the club climate officer would surely give him a lift to and from matches on his rickshaw. Reading between the lines it does seem Dunne is interested anyways based on this interview

https://twitter.com/vmsportie/status/1573011085006872581?s=46&t=F3-_KC-zhswmBcWKPuYlNQ

The Climate officer is only allowed use the company rickshaw for off-field activities. Plus Dunne weighs a Ton anyway. I’d suggest hiring a camel or elephant but that wouldn’t fit in with our animal welfare officer or Vegan chef’s beliefs.

RealJohn91
23/09/2022, 10:45 AM
Looks like Sean O'Shea is in pole position according to the reports going around. He definitely has an interesting background in coaching if nothing else.

nr637
23/09/2022, 10:51 AM
Can't see Dunne getting the job, after retiring in 2015 he settled in Monte-Carlo with his wife and kids :confused:. Unless his circumstances have changed, the travelling arrangements would not be practicable or suitable for both parties!

23/09/2022, 12:08 PM
Looks like Sean O'Shea is in pole position according to the reports going around. He definitely has an interesting background in coaching if nothing else.

I wouldn't be particularly impressed by his experience if I were hiring him. The stint at AIK, depending on exactly what he did there, is about the only senior level experience he has. He was running camps for kids in Dubai. He'd be a good assistant for someone maybe. Or a First Division manager.

Philosophizer
23/09/2022, 12:22 PM
I wouldn't be particularly impressed by his experience if I were hiring him. The stint at AIK, depending on exactly what he did there, is about the only senior level experience he has. He was running camps for kids in Dubai. He'd be a good assistant for someone maybe. Or a First Division manager.
He would be high risk all right.
He could be like Giovagnoli, who was actually surprisingly competent - got Dundalk to the group stages and won a cup, or he could be completely incapable.

ger121
23/09/2022, 12:35 PM
He could be like Giovagnoli, who was actually surprisingly competent - got Dundalk to the group stages and won a cup, or he could be completely incapable.

I actually like Giovagnoli. Did well at Dundalk during a pandemic and with basket case owners. The players seemed to like him too. I wonder did he ever get his badges.

Jd2793
23/09/2022, 1:02 PM
ian ryan is the man for bohs

28/09/2022, 2:17 PM
I actually like Giovagnoli. Did well at Dundalk during a pandemic and with basket case owners. The players seemed to like him too. I wonder did he ever get his badges.

Still hasn't got them but is working towards them

ToberonaTornado
28/09/2022, 2:56 PM

He's great craic and very passionate - the type of fella you'd love to sit down with and have a beer and order tapas etc.. but he's no coach.
That team basically coached themselves.

ian ryan is the man for bohs

Yup
Showing up the brighter ones.

Olander
28/09/2022, 5:27 PM
I don't get the obsession with Ian Ryan.

Admittedly he took over an awful Wexford team last year and there was definitely signs of improvements under him (that wouldn't have been hard), he made a few good signings like Moylan etc, but they still finished rock bottom in the First Division. He was appointed in May.

Fair enough you might say, they showed signs of growing a bit, certainly there was a level of improvement in their performance, but I don't see how people can not call this season a woeful underachievement for Wexford and Ian Ryan?

When you assess the First Division, it's incredibly poor and weakened. Ryan has undoubtedly been given a bigger budget this season, which has allowed him to assemble a strong side with a few eye-catching signings.

They're currently 6th in the First Division, and will almost certainly not get a play-off spot. Over half the Division gets a place in the play-offs and they could not achieve that, I would say their outlay is bigger than Treaty United and certainly not a million miles off Longford Town, they're not paying players pennies this season.

They do play a good brand of football and in fairness, they knocked Sligo out of the cup, which was an impressive feat, albeit the game was sandwiched between European games for Sligo, but they still had to take advantage of that and they did.

But the league is the bread and butter. I would've thought, at the very least, a play-off spot was the minimum expected for Wexford this season, they've fallen a good deal short of that.

Based off that, I haven't seen a great deal from Ryan to suggest that he would be in any way suitable for a job like managing Bohs yet.

There's a huge hype around him for some reason, and I don't see how it's warranted.

Jd2793
28/09/2022, 5:33 PM
I don't get the obsession with Ian Ryan.

Admittedly he took over an awful Wexford team last year and there was definitely signs of improvements under him (that wouldn't have been hard), he made a few good signings like Moylan etc, but they still finished rock bottom in the First Division. He was appointed in May.

Fair enough you might say, they showed signs of growing a bit, certainly there was a level of improvement in their performance, but I don't see how people can not call this season a woeful underachievement for Wexford and Ian Ryan?

When you assess the First Division, it's incredibly poor and weakened. Ryan has undoubtedly been given a bigger budget this season, which has allowed him to assemble a strong side with a few eye-catching signings.

They're currently 6th in the First Division, and will almost certainly not get a play-off spot. Over half the Division gets a place in the play-offs and they could not achieve that, I would say their outlay is bigger than Treaty United and certainly not a million miles off Longford Town, they're not paying players pennies this season.

They do play a good brand of football and in fairness, they knocked Sligo out of the cup, which was an impressive feat, albeit the game was sandwiched between European games for Sligo, but they still had to take advantage of that and they did.

But the league is the bread and butter. I would've thought, at the very least, a play-off spot was the minimum expected for Wexford this season, they've fallen a good deal short of that.

Based off that, I haven't seen a great deal from Ryan to suggest that he would be in anyway suitable for a job like managing Bohs yet.

There's a huge hype around him for some reason, and I don't see how it's warranted.

they've outplayed cork in 3 games we've played against them yet somehow only have a point to show from it. They were excellent against dundalk in the cup too. I think the way he wants his team to play will be helped by going to a bigger team with better players. Wexford look a lot better this year than they did for his spell at the end of last season.

For me anyway the "process" is good with ryan but hes not got the outcomes to show for it this season in the league
He did make one glaring error this year and that was starting the season with paul hunt as GK. Awful player who cost them a lot of points before he was dropped.

Being completely honest with you i'd take him at cork in a heartbeat

Olander
28/09/2022, 5:44 PM
Yes that was naive of him, it was like as if he blew his entire budget and forgot that he had to sign a proper goalkeeper. That Alex Moody seems promising, but raw, he's probably been overexposed to first team football this season and should've been a number two.

I acknowledge they do play good football, we've drawn against them twice in Terryland this year, but I still cannot just say "it's about the process", it's also about results. At the end of the day, he's got well-backed this year. They've lots of players down from Dublin etc, and they're not just a point or two off the play-offs, they're well short of it, and a few clubs who have weaker or comparable squads to Wexford have pipped them to the play-offs.

Ryan definitely still has a lot to learn, he may have a bit of promise, I wouldn't take that away from him, but this year ultimately has been an underachievement for Wexford. The table never lies.

wonder88
28/09/2022, 6:01 PM
Big difference in the Galway and Wexford playing budgets, but not much difference between the two sides in the two games in EDP this year. I actually feel that the standard in the First Division is reasonable this year. Bohs is one of the biggest jobs in the league, so it is fair to say that Ian Ryan's CV so far means that there would be a big gamble involved in going for him.

Olander
28/09/2022, 6:19 PM
No comparison is being made between Galway United and Wexford.

I'm speaking solely on what surely would've been expected at Wexford this season.

I'm actually a bit shocked that they couldn't get a play-off spot, and what baffles me more is the people that have such a high opinion of Ryan considering he's achieved virtually nothing in the game and fallen short of expectation this year when he's had his own squad in place and been well-backed, that can't be excused.

A lot of faith is being placed in his promise as a manager.

placid casual
28/09/2022, 8:12 PM
Ah give it to vinny perth . Please.
Gwan Gwan Gwan Gwan Gwan

Jack B
29/09/2022, 7:02 AM
Thought Long came across well on LOI Central.

Philosophizer
29/09/2022, 7:59 AM
Thought Long came across well on LOI Central.
He came across extremely well. Similar to when I heard Bradley giving an interview a while back (on Off the Ball I think) my respect for the man has gone way up. A class act.
I also thought it was v clear that he's positioning himself to become a DOF at some stage in the future - possibly if that position is created at Bohs.

oriel
29/09/2022, 11:39 AM

One of the local podcasts (The Pressbox) did live show last month, and flew him over as a special guest, he talked very well, obviously scatting on how p6 turned out, but winning the cup and getting to group stages was some achievement. First LOI manager to achieve that in same season.

Never once managed DFC in front of fans, what a horrible way to have managed a club.

That 2020 cup final was unreal, real winter day, you could hear all of the players, even McMillan's first goal hitting the post and going in, strange times indeed, but a great win !

joey B
29/09/2022, 11:52 AM
He came across extremely well. Similar to when I heard Bradley giving an interview a while back (on Off the Ball I think) my respect for the man has gone way up. A class act.
I also thought it was v clear that he's positioning himself to become a DOF at some stage in the future - possibly if that position is created at Bohs.

Spoke well,seems a decent fella also seemed to resent a little bit the off field stuff getting more attention than the stuff happening on the field,think he’ll be back in the game before long,maybe a promoted team next year would tap into his experience….

30/09/2022, 12:39 PM
He's great craic and very passionate - the type of fella you'd love to sit down with and have a beer and order tapas etc.. but he's no coach.
That team basically coached themselves.

Yup
Showing up the brighter ones.

I think that's harsh on Filippo, if you speak to any of the players involved in that squad they really enjoyed his training methods and he seemed a good man manager as well. He's working towards his pro license now and I think he could go on to be a good manager

ToberonaTornado
02/10/2022, 2:03 AM
I think that's harsh on Filippo, if you speak to any of the players involved in that squad they really enjoyed his training methods and he seemed a good man manager as well. He's working towards his pro license now and I think he could go on to be a good manager

The man almost relegated us ffs!
Even the bloody,stupid yanks copped that situation on after a period of blindly sticking by him.

A decent guy no doubt..... and we'll leave it there.

ger121
02/10/2022, 8:02 AM
Even the bloody,stupid yanks copped that situation on after a period of blindly sticking by him.

Did you not finish 3rd in his first season? Not sure how he got you nearly relegated the next season, officially, he was not in charge at the start of it and was gone within the first couple of months. There was nearly the whole season left to climb the table. A bit harsh.

02/10/2022, 10:53 AM

Could argue Vinny almost relegated ye, some of your worst performances that season came under Vinny (losing to 9 man longford). Filiipo outlined at the live show he did how limited his involvement was once the yanks decided to install keegan as a puppet manager.

02/10/2022, 12:37 PM
Filippo gave a version of events that showed him in the best possible light? Ah well, nothing else to see here then. :)

joey B
04/10/2022, 9:27 PM
https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/alan-reynolds-turns-down-chance-to-become-new-bohs-manager-42040858.html

Alan Reynolds turned down the Bohs job…..

ger121
05/10/2022, 9:46 AM
https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/alan-reynolds-turns-down-chance-to-become-new-bohs-manager-42040858.html

Alan Reynolds turned down the Bohs job…..

I heard we wanted him to give up the U21 gig and he said no, so we said see you later.

05/10/2022, 12:13 PM
I heard we wanted him to give up the U21 gig and he said no, so we said see you later.

It's not a full-time role, so whoever has it would need another job, but I understand why you mightn't want your manager having a second role.

Happy he's staying us, brings experience to what's a young enough management team we have. He does seem to enjoy living in Derry too.

05/10/2022, 9:35 PM
It's not a full-time role, so whoever has it would need another job, but I understand why you mightn't want your manager having a second role.

Happy he's staying us, brings experience to what's a young enough management team we have. He does seem to enjoy living in Derry too.

Had forgotten that this is his second spell as a coach with Derry City. When was his first spell? I cant place him!

bohsmug
05/10/2022, 10:10 PM

Keith Long was full time so I would assume the next manager will be too.