View Full Version : Longford Town, please forfeit future European games

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

Lux Interior
30/07/2005, 10:27 PM
Haven't read all the posts on this thread but the leading sentiment is pretty arrogant.

If all Irish clubs were to 'forfeit' their Euro places, we'd have zero rep each year ..... f**k, after this year's debacle, there should be similar cries for Glens to give it up!!!!

Longford earned their right to compete on this stage, they f**ked up, time to move on.

East Belfast Longford SC

30/07/2005, 10:30 PM
East Belfast Longford SC
Love it :D :D :D

Lux Interior
30/07/2005, 10:51 PM
Love it :D :D :D

Best away trip of last season ....

Including the League title win.

Anvil Bar, erm, 'Loyal' :D

Stanley Chan
30/07/2005, 10:56 PM
Another member of the East Belfast Longford Town Loyal with Lux!!

Unfortunatley I didnt have such a nice time, worst trip of my life, worst pain Ive been in of my whole life!!

All thanks to the Anvil Bar :(

Longford deserved to be there, yeah they ****ed up, but they'll learn and move on!!

Lux Interior
30/07/2005, 11:02 PM

The Anvil Bar will be forever remembered for the birth of the Chrissy Morgan song.

Most Glens I know have a soft spot for de Town.

Except Dean Fitzgerald ;)

Stanley Chan
30/07/2005, 11:07 PM
It got its first airing in the Anvil (after being evicted from the Longford Arms), but its real birth was on Stanley Chans party bus from the Park Avenue :cool:

Lux Interior
30/07/2005, 11:10 PM
The lyrics were only being perfected there (along with 'We'll Win Setanta' :eek: ) .... a few demoes at the back of the bus but the first full-throttled versions were in The Anvil.

Stanley, after Tommy Mac sorts the boys out for Derry City, can we not arrange a Flancare visit?

I'm bored with the new season already - and we've only played one home friendly :(

Stanley Chan
30/07/2005, 11:13 PM
Was onto Tommy Mac today, its def on, Ive to get it sorted which game, give him notice etc!

Yep Flancare sounds an option to, considering I didnt get enjoy my last visit, Ill have a look at their friday night fixtures (best for me pal with work etc) and get back to you!!

(Shels game also in pipelines, owe a lad a favour down there. If they continue in Europe its on)

Will be in touch!

30/07/2005, 11:17 PM
Anvil Bar, erm, 'Loyal' :D

The Anvil is the job !!

I think it is becoming THE favourite spot for anyone that travels there ... Greats spot ... we all cant be wrong !! :p :D

Lux Interior
30/07/2005, 11:23 PM
The Anvil is the job !!

I think it is becoming THE favourite spot for anyone that travels there ... Greats spot ... we all cant be wrong !! :p :D

Bring on the AIL!!!!!

Another season drinking in the **** bars of North Belfast'll kill me :p

Lux Interior
30/07/2005, 11:25 PM
(Shels game also in pipelines, owe a lad a favour down there. If they continue in Europe its on)

[/QUOTE]

Shels again ..... I won't be driving THIS time :(

Stanley Chan
30/07/2005, 11:27 PM
Looks like Longford Bohs is on for the lads next Saturday!!

If all goes to plan boys, look out for a few Glenturn polos about Flancare, make sure you say hello!!!

Its ok Ill drive to Tolka Lux, if someone finds me a good parking spot!!

Lux Interior
30/07/2005, 11:29 PM
Looks like Longford Bohs is on for the lads next Saturday!!

If all goes to plan boys, look out for a few Glenturn polos about Flancare, make sure you say hello!!!

Its ok Ill drive to Tolka Lux, if someone finds me a good parking spot!!

Hold fire on that drive, Stanley.

Surely some of the boys on here can offer appropriate public transport routes/details.

Taxi? :D

Stanley Chan
30/07/2005, 11:46 PM
To much supr-bock for you tonight :D

Anyway, back to the Longford bashing.......next person to slate 'de town' is getting a nutting from Lux :D

Lux Interior
30/07/2005, 11:49 PM
To much supr-bock for you tonight :D

Anyway, back to the Longford bashing.......next person to slate 'de town' is getting a nutting from Lux :D

Just the 3 (so far).

I'm a pacifist, SC, my days rioting with Blues have long snce gone :)

Stanley Chan
30/07/2005, 11:55 PM
Just the 3 (so far).

I'm a pacifist, SC, my days rioting with Blues have long snce gone :)

Leave it to us young pups :cool:

Lux Interior
31/07/2005, 12:03 AM
Leave it to us young pups :cool:

Ive a feelin' it'll be the over-30s standing last, if we get to Flancare next weekend.

:cool:

Stanley Chan
31/07/2005, 12:05 AM
Ive a feelin' it'll be the over-30s standing last, if we get to Flancare next weekend.

:cool:

This young pup still has to fall early!!

Dont tar me with Henson and the Bottle Openers brush!!

Lux Interior
31/07/2005, 12:07 AM
So, Longford dudes ....

Any room in your stand for a few disillusioned Glenmen?

BohsFans
31/07/2005, 1:33 AM
We all saw how the 3rd placed team in the league last season faired in Europe this season. :rolleyes:

That's way out of line and should be withdrawn!
1. Belgian league is ranked way higher than el or the LOW
2. We only lost 3-2 on agg, NOT 5-3
3. It didn't count towards the coff. so it shouldn't really matter too much to other supporters.

BTW as cup winners in recent seasons havn't Dundalk and Bray lost something like 10-0 on agg??

BohsFans
31/07/2005, 1:42 AM
Where do you start? We never showed up. Didnt look interested from the off. Our defence was a shambles. 5 goals were EASILY avoidable, Carmarthen didnt have to work hard to go through, we handed it to them on a plate.

Idiots :rolleyes:

Before the first leg the papers were full of quotes from Longford management and players saying they weren't gonna be complicant and learn from the mistake of Vaduz last year.
I don't believe the not turning up thing one bit.
Longford don't have the ability to play in Europe full stop, with the exception of quality players like Keego, Paisley and Baker.

First mistake was a throw back to the old days, getting the boat to the game, THE F UCKIN BOAT FFS!
Also the Welsh team were a bunch of amateurs, they were trying to get a convicted football hooligan out of jail to play up front for them against Longford
Finally I couldn't be happier for Barry Ferguson, saw him havin a good cry after the game, C UN T :mad:

31/07/2005, 8:52 AM
I don't believe the not turning up thing one bit.
were you there?

with the exception of quality players like Keego, Paisley and Baker.
Shows what you know if you think Keego and Dessie are "quality players".

First mistake was a throw back to the old days, getting the boat to the game, THE F UCKIN BOAT FFS!
1) We don't exactly have a money tree growing out in Flancare, so it was the cheaper option.
2) There is no airport near Newtown, so why fly to Cardiff and then have to drive miles?

31/07/2005, 8:53 AM
So, Longford dudes ....

Any room in your stand for a few disillusioned Glenmen?
Too much room :o Bring your whole crowd if possible, Fill up Flancare Pk a bit :o :D

Xlex
31/07/2005, 9:49 AM
First mistake was a throw back to the old days, getting the boat to the game, THE F UCKIN BOAT FFS!:mad:

Suggest an alternative form of transport.

Newtown is roughly equal distance from Birmingham, Cardiff and Holyhead. Personally speaking, I took the boat, very comfortable and your not as packed up as being on a plane. The check-in times for a boat and luggage are excellent too. It's a very enjoyable method of visiting wales and I have absolutly no time for anyone who begrudges LT their choice of travel.

ThatGuy
31/07/2005, 12:00 PM
For you guys who need it spelt out for you, the "forfeit" comment was sarcasm.

31/07/2005, 12:02 PM
I've travelled to Wales a number of times on the fast ferries and they're a great way to travel. They've far more room than aircraft obviously and given that there are no airports particularly near that ground it was a perfectly reasonable decision.

Longford got a terrible result- but they earned the right to participate fair and square. I think a lot of people rate our league a hell of a lot higher than they should- it's not too long ago that our super-duper European Giant professional outfits were getting crap results too. Shels barely managed to get past an Icelandic midtable last year and it's not too long since they lost at home to a team from Malta on live TV. Every club that's particpated in Europe has got bad results- now is that because the clubs in question let us down or because our league is of a very poor standard?

The cup represents a chance for every club to dream of the chance of getting into Europe. And that's the way it should be. Some people on this board seem to think that we should basically put the same teams into Europe every season so they can get the hang of it. Sod that- if we had a better league we'd get better results, simple as that. Even the best, most professional teams in the country on their best days aren't capable of matching even modest European teams for technique and passing ability. That's what's depressing, and that is what people should be worrying about.

LukeO
31/07/2005, 12:40 PM
Píss off :mad:

Are you generally stupid? I said the AVERAGE wage is about €300-350. Ferguson is probably on €500-600 a week. But you have to take into account the likes of Gary Murphy and Cassin who would bring the AVERAGE down.

You really are deluding yourself if you think Longford's average wage bill is €300-350, cop on to yourself. There is absolutely no way its anywhere near that low. I would imagine even the likes of Harps or Waterford wouldn't even have a wage bill as low as that. :rolleyes:

higgins
31/07/2005, 2:16 PM
If you lads are saying that some of the players are on 600 or 700 euro a week then why are they not full time? You also say you have NO fulltime players at Longford. I didnt know that :eek:

Apart from that the reslut in Wales was the worst one ever in my opinion. Saying Shels and Pats etc got bad results in the past doesnt take away from it. Losing to a Welsh team in 2005, 5-1!! Whats done is done but you didnt learn from your mistake last season and from comments by Longford Town fans now it appears you have not learned it this time either.

Am I right that your team was clapped off the pitch it Wales?

You should have beat them off the pitch in Wales. Your negative useless manager is to blame. Why you accept that your no better then a cup win and finsh 5th in the league side I'll never know. No other set of fans would defend what went on. Matthews appears to be one big idiot.

Sonic
31/07/2005, 2:23 PM
If you lads are saying that some of the players are on 600 or 700 euro a week then why are they not full time? You also say you have NO fulltime players at Longford. I didnt know that :eek:

Apart from that the reslut in Wales was the worst one ever in my opinion. Saying Shels and Pats etc got bad results in the past doesnt take away from it. Losing to a Welsh team in 2005, 5-1!! Whats done is done but you didnt learn from your mistake last season and from comments by Longford Town fans now it appears you have not learned it this time either.

Am I right that your team was clapped off the pitch it Wales?

You should have beat them off the pitch in Wales. Your negative useless manager is to blame. Why you accept that your no better then a cup win and finsh 5th in the league side I'll never know. No other set of fans would defend what went on. Matthews appears to be one big idiot.

They most certainly did clap them off the absolute complete and utter wastes of space. Clapping that sh*t was one of the worst aspects of it for me.Aside from I and a few other bright souls the rest seem to think Matthews is a good manager they are completely deluded but I dont care im sick to death giving out about him. They are never going to listen! :mad: :( :o

Feech
31/07/2005, 5:09 PM
It started last season when they lost to a poor side. YES I know they are in the Swiss second division but thats exactly the point they are in the f**king swiss 2nd division.

Give over.

Vaduz are far from a poor side and have a budget of about €3 million.

31/07/2005, 5:13 PM
Who had never ever won a game in Europe before.

LukeO
31/07/2005, 6:36 PM
Give over.

Vaduz are far from a poor side and have a budget of about €3 million.

True, but Mathews went into the games expecting a walk in the park, having not even gone to watch them play before. If you're going to represent your country on an international stage, the least you can do is aproach the game in a profesional manner, Longford didn't against Vaduz.

Feech
31/07/2005, 7:46 PM
True, but Mathews went into the games expecting a walk in the park, having not even gone to watch them play before. If you're going to represent your country on an international stage, the least you can do is aproach the game in a profesional manner, Longford didn't against Vaduz.

I happen to know that Longford had Vaduz watched before they played them. Which is what you would expect them to do.

So what if they'd never previously won in Europe - they only got promoted to the Swiss NLB 4 years ago. There's a first time for everything.

Until a few weeks ago Longford had also never won in Europe!

higgins
01/08/2005, 1:43 PM
Vaduz are rubbish ..

They cant get into the Swiss 1st Division :)
Imagine that!! for a team that are decent. Do you think if Shels drew a team from Switzerland in the Champions League or UEFA Cup that they could expect to get hammered?? and that would be from a team in their top division!

Vaduz are a poor side and their results in Europe and their league shows this. As I said before Shels beat FC Chiassio or whatever way they spell it 4-1 when we were pre season and they are swiss 2nd division team.

It all goes again to prove the lack of ambition at Longford that they are happy to lose to s 2nd division swiss side. The only team you could get worse then Vaduz is possably a Welsh cup runner up :confused:

Feech
01/08/2005, 2:28 PM
"Vaduz are a poor side and their results in Europe and their league shows this"

Well, without meaning to be rude, I do know a lot more about Swiss football than you.

Vaduz were in the playoffs the last 2 seasons in a row - this would suggest they are the 12th best team in all the Swiss leagues.

Beating a team in a friendly to be honest, doesn't mean a lot unless you are Brian Kerr.

When Bohs beat Spurs in a friendly would you use that to say Bohs would finish ahead of Everton in the Premiership?

You could, but you'd be stupid to do so......

01/08/2005, 3:19 PM
Obviously Longford were not pleased to go out to Vaduz but anyone who follows European football very closely would not have been surprised. They're a club who have made massive progress recently and have plenty of internationals and European experience. For the 2nd year in a row they've progressed a round now.

BohsFans
02/08/2005, 1:25 AM
Suggest an alternative form of transport.

Newtown is roughly equal distance from Birmingham, Cardiff and Holyhead. Personally speaking, I took the boat, very comfortable and your not as packed up as being on a plane. The check-in times for a boat and luggage are excellent too. It's a very enjoyable method of visiting wales and I have absolutly no time for anyone who begrudges LT their choice of travel.

FLY

getting the boat smacks of minnowism!

BohsFans
02/08/2005, 1:32 AM
were you there?

Shows what you know if you think Keego and Dessie are "quality players".

1) We don't exactly have a money tree growing out in Flancare, so it was the cheaper option.
2) There is no airport near Newtown, so why fly to Cardiff and then have to drive miles?

1. No I wasn't there, but it's generally a stupid excuse used by crap managers FACT!

2. No one has a money tree, but you still were able to afford to sign 2 (?) players in the transfer window

02/08/2005, 12:32 PM
How in gods name can a rovers fan come on this site and slag another club off.They are an absoulute joke.There not even fit to be a football club.Getting so far in the red and needing the court to wipe out all those "loans" is a disgrace.You dont even have a home ALL your squad can leave on a free so you have no right (weather you have apoligised or not)to comment on another club.As for longford i say good club under achieving squad decent manager take it on the chin and make all these morons eat there words.

Clown. We have every right to comment on that result. You have no right to comment on something you obviously know nothing about. When one of the longford players calls it a disgrace I dont think further comment is needed. They have let down the credibility of the league and IMO there is no excuse for that.

The Sheliban
03/08/2005, 6:00 AM
Far too much talk about shame / embarrassment to the league. All teams are entitled to a bad result. Who are Longford an embarrassment to? The Eircom League fans in the face of the Premiership barstoolers? Those same Eircom League fans who were hoping Deportivo beat Shels 10-0 last year?
I remember everyone jumpingup and down claiming we'd shamed the league by losing 1-0 at home to Hibs of Malta 2 years ago. Fact was, they barely got out of their half for 91 minutes, and then hit us a sucker blow. No shame. Just the way football goes sometimes.
Kenny didn't deserve the boot last year, and Matthews doesn't deserve it now.

04/08/2005, 11:41 AM
Yeah Steaua, they're no Welsh league side are they.

Don't even try and compare them, that's f'n pathetic, which is what Longfords result still is.

04/08/2005, 12:42 PM
Yeah Steaua, they're no Welsh league side are they.

Don't even try and compare them, that's f'n pathetic, which is what Longfords result still is.
I agree, Cop on, Carmarthen v Steaua, no contest.

ThatGuy
04/08/2005, 12:48 PM
Steau will possibly be in the Champions League. No comparison between the sides.

fosterdollar
04/08/2005, 12:50 PM
Shelbourne have disappointed themselves and possibly some other eL fans but they have not embarrassed the league whatever about our result.

04/08/2005, 12:58 PM
Of the last 20 champions league/European Cup finals Steau have played in twice as many as Man Utd, Chelsea & Arsenal put together.

There is no comparison with a Mickey Mouse Welsh side.

04/08/2005, 2:16 PM
Whats pathetic is the abuse other fans gave us in the wake of our nightmare last week. I thought it was particularly ignorant and spiteful at the time to come on to this board and abuse us for what was already a very, very painful experience.

You will note today that no one (myself included) abused you, your fans or your team in the wake of you being dumped out of the Champions League. I commiserate with you and all the fans that travelled to the game.

Nobody abused you, the fans. They were having a go at the team and Matthews. And there were plenty of Longford fans who were (rightly) making the exact same points.

As you'll see in the Steaua match thread, Fenlon and some of the players are getting alot of stick from fans across the country, and those people are spot on, and the Shels fans are agreeing with them.

04/08/2005, 2:35 PM
I haven't commented on the 5-1 defeat until now but i was amazed Matthews had the check to show his face on RTE last night for Shels game.

A 5-1 defeat in Europe is bad enough but losing to 6th place Welsh team was a shameful display by the Longford Town team. Almost as bad as the 10-0 aggregate lose Pats had to the Macedonians.

The Longford Town team should apologise to the eircom league.

Xlex
04/08/2005, 2:49 PM
I haven't commented on the 5-1 defeat until now but i was amazed Matthews had the check to show his face on RTE last night for Shels game.

Very surprised at that. How did he fair, did ever look like the black pot?

The Longford Town team should apologise to the eircom league.

They should not, that's bull.... The only people that deserve an apology are their supporters and the people to work hard to enable LTFC survive, nobody else. They have apologised through Digger, time to move on.

BTW, totally disagree with Cop On, for the record.

Xlex
04/08/2005, 3:51 PM
What exactly do you disagree about ??

The general opinion that Shelbournes loss equaltes to ours. Telling Shels fans their very quiet this morning. Resurrecting this thread.

Sonic
04/08/2005, 5:16 PM
I haven't commented on the 5-1 defeat until now but i was amazed Matthews had the check to show his face on RTE last night for Shels game.:eek:

I nearly split my sides when he went on saying how poor defending will be punished at this level. What was he sayoing to ferguson last week. Oh yeah he was to busy licking his @rse. BTW how could anyone even try to compare Towns defeat to the steaua game. Steaua would **** all over carmarthen like we SHOULD have.