View Full Version : Longford Town, please forfeit future European games
student
29/07/2005, 12:02 PM
Sorry Rochey seems like i made the exact same point as you, at almost the exact same time. Great minds..............
steveyg2004
29/07/2005, 12:16 PM
The third placed team would have mauled the nobodys Longford played home and away.
And if your cat was your mother......etc etc :rolleyes:
Here's one for you - Glentoran would have mauled Shelbourne had we been fit and in season and our players hadn't of gone on holiday. :D :p
29/07/2005, 12:21 PM
And if your cat was your mother......etc etc :rolleyes:
There's no Ifs about it, they would have. So having a go at Bohs european results this year like they wouldn't have done better was daft whoever said it.
29/07/2005, 12:23 PM
An absolute thundering disgrace. Second year in a row as well. Liechtenstein and Wales and there's someone here who says losing 5-1 is not being played off the park :mad:
Who you gonna blame for the result? Rovers fans?
I sincerely hope you dont win OUR cup again cos this humiliation is embarrassing for aeverybody connected to the league. How can we attract barstoolers with a result like this? 1 step forward and 2 back..........
FARCE
hoops1
29/07/2005, 12:26 PM
hilarious stevyg
Glentoran wouldnt even maul queens ladies hockey team
My old man could run faster than chris walker and hes 65
(my old man that is) walker is only 61
The lad who went only holidays is the cleverest up there
he knew what would happen!
The whole lot of them should have went on holidays
well at least there defence got an extended two week
holiday becasue they certainly never turned up against shels
fosterdollar
29/07/2005, 12:35 PM
From the Indo:
"At half time it looked as though they were coasting against Welsh Premier League side Carmarthen Town, with their hosts needing to score three times in the second half to progress"
"Within four minutes of the restart a comical goal brought Carmarthen back into it when Gary Lloyd's hooked cross bounced twice in the Longford area before trickling past O'Brien into the corner of the net. Then, after 65 minutes, the constantly dangerous Thomas again escaped the Longford defence and was pushed to the ground by Sean Dillon. Referee Prades awarded the spot kick after consulting with his linesman."
"O'Brien tried to dribble the ball past Nathan Cotterall just inside his own half but he was dispossessed and the Welsh sub strode unchallenged to roll the ball home and leave Longford's European dreams in tatters."
So, in first half we were playing resonably well. A 'comical' goal started off the carmarthen run, followed by a peno. They finished by capitalising on a Digger c0ck up. I'm NOT making excuses but it looks (to me) like we gave it away rather than Carmarthen playing us off the field.
29/07/2005, 12:36 PM
Ah, that's alright then.
fosterdollar
29/07/2005, 12:38 PM
If you're gonna talk about it, might as well get it right rather than throwing around bull$hit rhetoric as has been done all morning.
Soper
29/07/2005, 12:41 PM
Just saw the goals on bbc wales news............... :eek:
jofyisgod
29/07/2005, 1:41 PM
hilarious stevyg
Glentoran wouldnt even maul queens ladies hockey team
My old man could run faster than chris walker and hes 65
(my old man that is) walker is only 61
The lad who went only holidays is the cleverest up there
he knew what would happen!
The whole lot of them should have went on holidays
well at least there defence got an extended two week
holiday becasue they certainly never turned up against shels
Woah, use punctuation please. Full stops are on the keyboard, use them instead of enter.
If you're gonna talk about it, might as well get it right rather than throwing around bull$hit rhetoric as has been done all morning.
True.It's happened. Over. Now what can be done to sort this out. From Town's point of view, maybe a change in the way the team approach games? :)
From the eL-maybe a change in the way Euro spots are doled out? Any viable suggestions?
ThatGuy
29/07/2005, 1:48 PM
From the Indo:
So, in first half we were playing resonably well. A 'comical' goal started off the carmarthen run, followed by a peno. They finished by capitalising on a Digger c0ck up. I'm NOT making excuses but it looks (to me) like we gave it away rather than Carmarthen playing us off the field.
Three cheers for Longford then :rolleyes:
ThatGuy
29/07/2005, 1:49 PM
Question for everyone. Should Rangers fans be claiming that ****** shouldn't be allowed into Europe, because of their five nil defeat the other night???
Its the exact same thing.
People are only joking about that ffs :rolleyes:
fosterdollar
29/07/2005, 1:57 PM
Three cheers for Longford then :rolleyes:
Dear ThatGuy,
Your ideas intrigue me. I'd like to subscribe to your newsletter.
:rolleyes: yourself
ger121
29/07/2005, 2:01 PM
From the Indo:
I think that's what most people think anyway. 2-0 up from the 1st leg, scores at 1-1, 45 mins left. Throwing it away about sums it up alright
ThatGuy
29/07/2005, 2:02 PM
When anyone comes out with a classic "I'm not making excuses" post like yours filled with excuses you are inviting saracstic responses. Last night Longford Town embarassed both themselves and the thousands of people who bother going to Eircom League games. There is no excusing a 5-1 defeat to any team in the Eircom League, let alone a poor team from a league as diabolical as the Welsh league.
fosterdollar
29/07/2005, 2:17 PM
When anyone comes out with a classic "I'm not making excuses" post like yours filled with excuses you are inviting saracstic responses. Last night Longford Town embarassed both themselves and the thousands of people who bother going to Eircom League games. There is no excusing a 5-1 defeat to any team in the Eircom League, let alone a poor team from a league as diabolical as the Welsh league.
Who's denying that? I think these feelings have been expressed by one and all quite clearly. I am merely trying to discuss the game itself.
Anyway, this has all come from a simple point i made saying that it didn't seem that we were played off the pitch. What do you find so terrible about that? FFS, it's the same, or worse maybe, that we got beaten purely because of our own incompetence. That's as embarrassing as all the rest of it. But claiming we were played out of it by simply looking at the result would suggest that it is you, rather, that hasn't a clue about football. I don't believe that you don't by the way but will you quit the attack for one minute and, without stating the obvious in every single post, maybe we can have some sort of logical discussion about the game and its impending fallout.
No one is making excuses for fcuk sake :mad: :mad: .Fosterdollar said that from the report it seemed that we werent played off the pitch but instead handed it over(which is exactly what happened if any of you idiots seen the match let alone just do the basic thing of reading a match report)and some of you bitter nit picking ****s decided to jump at the oppurtunity to abuse a fan who allready is feeling the lowest of the low.A fluke goal,a dubvious penalty and our keeper atempting to dribble by an attacker 20 yards from our goal.None of you have any idea the pain and embarassment us town fans are feeling at the moment so fcuk off,we do not need ye to remind us of how bad that result was last night if you really care that much send a letter to the club addressed to the management and players,infact maybe you should do that because i want them wasters to know exeactly how much they have ket us down.
hoops1
29/07/2005, 2:39 PM
Bosco cop on you muppet mmmm( double meaning there)
get a grip of your little mind
so what! you lost a EUROPEAN tie against a crap side! so what!
beats getting beating by a first division side 5-1
which happened regularly when you were in the first division.
if you had to put up with the crap us hoops have over the years you would
know what feeling low is.
29/07/2005, 2:45 PM
Where do you start? We never showed up. Didnt look interested from the off. Our defence was a shambles. 5 goals were EASILY avoidable, Carmarthen didnt have to work hard to go through, we handed it to them on a plate.
And to the rest of ye on here going mental at us.....We know as fans thatwe fcuked up last night, no-one is denying that, so just lay off, we just thought we were through.
btw, FAO, Reiteor and dcfcsteve, I think I took a picture from behind of ye 2 :o I will post it up later.
I don't think m/any posters are attacking the Longford fans, more the team and management for their performance. We are all well aware of how low you must feel today, and none of this is intended to absue your fans, rather let off steam about yur management and players. :)
In a similar vein; I would just like to apologise if anything I said caused offence to any fans, that was certainly not the aim. That said, if any of the players or a certain Mr Matthews read this, I hope you choke! ;) :)
steveyg2004
29/07/2005, 3:07 PM
Listen, how simply can I put it.....
None of you here, absolutely none of you, have a right to denigrate your Cup Winner's performance in Europe in the way that you have done. What is the most pathetic thing, absolutely shocking in fact, is that so many "fans" first reaction is to humiliate Longford as a football club further rather than supporting them and their fans at this time. Shocking. If I was a Longford fan, I'd tell you all to 'shove your co-efficients up your a.rse'. :mad:
hoops1
29/07/2005, 3:12 PM
well your hardly going to join in, seen
as though your boys took one hell of a beating also!
29/07/2005, 3:14 PM
it must be really terrible to be a longford fan at the mo' :( i was ****ed with the players but its only 1 game. better luck next season.
Vitruvian Man
29/07/2005, 3:21 PM
On the one hand...Let he who has not sinned cast the first stone.
Nearly all of our clubs have registered pathetic results in European competitions and the ones who haven't didn't because they were too shiite to qualify for Europe in the first place.
But, on the other hand, everybody else gets lacerated when they bring shame on the League so maybe Longford fans need to swallow a bit of that famous Derry "Oil" and it will filter down to the clubs management and players who are the real culprits here.
Longford are also taking the heat off Shels and Cork who also didn't exactly cover themselves in glory either.
so what! you lost a EUROPEAN tie against a crap side! so what!
beats getting beating by a first division side 5-1
which happened regularly when you were in the first division.
What do you mean so what!It was obviously important enough and ment enough for you to come on and give out about it.Getting beat by a first division side is nothing especially when we were in the first div and were never expected to win anything.I'd rather get beat by drogs on sunday(and i hate drogs) 10-0 then lose the way we did last night,european games are the most important of the season.We should have never lost last night and i'm ****ed off with our manager and players for somehow making it happen.I was even more dissapointed because i knew i'd have to put up with people like you for the rest of the year reminding us of the result.
if you had to put up with the crap us hoops have over the years you would
know what feeling low is.
And do you see me complaining about you're misfortunes
Clones Road Cas
29/07/2005, 3:50 PM
Forfeiting the FAI cup spot to the league winners is not the plan. At least it should not be a plan that anyone outside of Cork, Bohs and Shells fans would want to sign up to.
Firstly you will destroy much of the appeal of the FAI cup overnight. part of the glamour of that trophy is that it is not always won by the big 3 or 4 clubs in the league. Anyone here remember watching UCD v Everton. Plenty of times the Irish team in the UEFA / Cup Winners did as well as any of the other of our Euro reps.
I know co - efficients are all very important to some of you guys, but the logical conclusion of this is a three team play off to see who gets the spots every year, because only the full time teams are gonna qualify via the league. If those teams qualify and progress in Europe it will further build on the funding imbalance in the game domestically thus ensuring that Longfords, Waterford etc never qualify via the league route.
Most of the clubs which are supported by fans who have abused longford on here have embarressed the league. Does any one remember a certain Maltese disaster. Hardly a powerhouse of football.
Hard luck to the longofrd fans, your players and manager let you down. It happens, but do ya know what, you've gotten good value for money out of them in the domestic game in the last few seasons. They'll come good yet on foreign soil. At least ya didnt spend a couple of million to be beaten by 5, unlike Celtic.
At least ya didnt spend a couple of million to be beaten by 5......
......ahhhh feck off.....it was no more than 1.9 million....and most of it was the food budget.....
hoops1
29/07/2005, 4:08 PM
bosco
read back my posts i never once slagged of longford, only that lad who said
they werent outplayed. its the fans whingeing and moaning as if you were some kind of european super power.which gets on my knockers!Not to mention your good self talking about PAIN and embarrassment.what would you knoe about pain! Talk about overreacting and lack of perspective. Sure couple years back there was more players than fans at your matches
Albert
29/07/2005, 4:36 PM
well Hoops 1, I dont know what to make of your posts cos they sound like you ar slagging us off but considering the miserable days thats in it I THINK what you are saying is that its only a game and we have nothing to be embarrassed about? compared to Rovers pains of the last few years :D In which case its a welcome comment! and may I say we are gutted we KNOW we are better and thats why it hurts, yes we let all down not by being out of our depth but by messing up.
and can I add that I DO genuienly hope Rovers get all their problems sorted, if your pain has been worse than ours today then I do feel for you guys!
hoops1
29/07/2005, 4:46 PM
the voice of reason prevails at last!
i wasnt slagging longford off at all just one or two fans that are losing the run of themselves
some were even saying Matthews should be sacked! silliest comments ever by
fickle, short sighted fans with little understanding of longfords history!
I respect fans that come out and say we were bad,crap beaten by the better
team
but to lose 5-1 and try and make it seem like a close or unlucky performance
gets my goat!
Lads,the most dissapointing aspect of longfords exit from my point of view was that they were given every advantage possible going into the tie.
They were in mid-season and fully match fit thanks to summer football,they were seeded thanks to the efforts of other clubs in europe the last few years and they beat carmarthen 2-0 at home with,from what i heard,was an excellent performance, and they just throw it all away in the 2nd leg!!defies belief :eek:
W'ere always saying that when it comes to irish clubs in europe w'ere in this together,and we are,but for longford to throw the advantage they got thanks to other clubs out the window is disrespectful to the efforts of other clubs and not helpful for our leagues image,and no amount of excuses about being unlucky and complacency can change that
higgins
29/07/2005, 8:34 PM
Firstly I think Cork are getting off a little too easy in all of this :) Longford got ZERO last night and so did Cork!! Anyway lets talk about Longford,,
I dont think its 1 bad result and everyone hops on them. It started last season when they lost to a poor side. YES I know they are in the Swiss second division but thats exactly the point they are in the f**king swiss 2nd division.
Then over the past year Matthews keeps coming out with this negative small club up against the world crap. Before Europe this year he is keen for the players to show what they are made of and not to disgrace themselves. You should have learned your lesson last season but you didnt :(
To the game itself. How is letting the ball bounce twice in your own box?? for the first goal, a silly peno and the keeper trying to round someone not you being played off the park! Its up to you not to do those things. They also scored two more didnt they.
Its not the result that gets me but more the attitude of Longford and Matthews.
Your problem is that your too nice on him. He should walk away now for that. Your basically allowing him to keep up what he is doing ..
How many full time players are at Longford?
and do you know roughly how much per week your wage bill is? as you seem to have some decent players and player that are able to keep the ball on the ground.
We did what we had to do,no more,no less....just enough :)
29/07/2005, 9:57 PM
How many full time players are at Longford?
and do you know roughly how much per week your wage bill is? as you seem to have some decent players and player that are able to keep the ball on the ground.
AFAIK, we have NO full time players. I would think our average wage is probably in the €300-350 region.
wexford boy
29/07/2005, 10:11 PM
How in gods name can a rovers fan come on this site and slag another club off.They are an absoulute joke.There not even fit to be a football club.Getting so far in the red and needing the court to wipe out all those "loans" is a disgrace.You dont even have a home ALL your squad can leave on a free so you have no right (weather you have apoligised or not)to comment on another club.As for longford i say good club under achieving squad decent manager take it on the chin and make all these morons eat there words.
green-blood
29/07/2005, 10:23 PM
Whether dear boy, weather is all that wet stuff outside right now.
young doyle has gone to Reading so why are we listening to the rantings of a Wexford man (oops boy) on soccer??!!!??!! :p
oh btw rovers FANS put all that sh!te rite
Dyl10
29/07/2005, 10:25 PM
You dont even have a home
Thats a bit of a personal attack isn't it :p
Sonic
29/07/2005, 10:47 PM
From the Indo:
Dip **** you werent at the game so stop talking ****e. We were completely totally and utterly played off the park by a team the ****test team we could have have drawn against. MATTEWS OUT!!
btw
I would like to apologise to the derry and bohs fans who travelled up to carmathen to watch that shi*e. Ye deserve a medal each
Dyl10
29/07/2005, 10:51 PM
MATTEWS OUT!!
Do you not think that is a bit harsh after all the silverware he has brought and if what someone said earlier about the average wage being 300-350 then he should be commended for getting into europe in the first place
Bosco
29/07/2005, 11:09 PM
bosco
read back my posts i never once slagged of longford, only that lad who said
they werent outplayed.
Fair enough,i was just defending fosterdollar when you and thatguy jumped at him for saying that we werent totally outplayed.For the last time he was not making excuses but pointing out that we gave them 3 goals in that game as i've mentioned before.We deserved to lose,nobody doubhts that.
its the fans whingeing and moaning as if you were some kind of european super power.which gets on my knockers!
It doesnt take a european superpower to prevent a team 6th in the welsh league from scoring 3 goals in 45 mins and i presume you dont just mean town fans but the shels,cork,bohs,waterford,limerick etc fans.Longford should have won last night and didnt and i have no doubht that this time next year we will still be getting reminders.
Not to mention your good self talking about PAIN and embarrassment.what would you knoe about pain!
Isnt pain part of being a football fan.What because rovers fans have been through so much it is not possible for any other fans to feel pain.I know that ye have gone through alot of pain and i have alot of respect for rovers fans but get a grip would ya
some were even saying Matthews should be sacked!silliest comments ever by fickle,short sighted fans with little understanding of longfords history! Peolpe calling for matthews to be sacked is not new,his ability has been questioned all year and now this result may tip him over the edge.He has done wonders for the club but people are getting sick of his hoofball negative tactics.I've always stood up for matthews but there is going to be a serious shake up and if matthews leaves i will accept it.Short-sighted fickle fans!,sure every club has them ;) but fortunately i'm not one of them and dont for a second question my knowledge of the clubs history.
I respect fans that come out and say we were bad ,crap beaten by the better team but to lose 5-1 and try and make it seem like a close or unlucky perfromance gets my goat!
You find one town fan who doesnt think that we were bad,crap and beaten by the better team or one fan who thinks we we unlucky or that it was a close performance and i'll give you a medal.
Good luck to rovers in the rest of the season.
Sonic
29/07/2005, 11:40 PM
Do you not think that is a bit harsh after all the silverware he has brought and if what someone said earlier about the average wage being 300-350 then he should be commended for getting into europe in the first place
Try doubling that wage by 2 or three and you are closer to the actual sum. :cool:
30/07/2005, 12:41 AM
Now I was dissapointed and angry with Longford's result as well but the fact is that they they won the cup, they earned the right to be there, there is no point in saying how other teams would have done because it was Longford who won the cup and deserved to be there. Shocking result, lets just hope Cork and Shels can rack up more Co-ef points eh :)
This result was a kick in the pants and it's up to Longford to correct these mistakes, I dont see enough of Longford in action to really judge the situation but I'd imagine that if Longford don't manage to impress over the remainder of the season then Mathew's will be gone.
ger121
30/07/2005, 6:52 AM
While I am very surprised that Longford got knocked out, to be honest our record in the UEFA Cup is very poor. Cork were the 1st team to win through a round since Bohs beat Aberdeen in 2000. Taking away intertoto cup matches. The only teams to win a round in Europe over the last 5 years is Shels, Bohs, and Cork, if I'm not mistaken that was Cork's 1st victory in the main tournaments since they beat that Welsh club in 1993/94?? The last club besides the three mentioned above to win a tie was Sligo Rovers and that was nearly 10 years ago. Despite some wins and draws from the other clubs in ties the bulk of the co-efficient since 2000 has come from Shels and Bohs, if we really want to move up the table we really need all our clubs performing in europe on a regular basis.
30/07/2005, 10:19 AM
Try doubling that wage by 2 or three and you are closer to the actual sum. :cool:
So you think our average wage is about €600-700 :confused: Get off the drugs man :rolleyes:
Dyl10
30/07/2005, 11:20 AM
Someone else posted the wages! I just took it for granted they were in the know ;)
ye a 14 yr old kid guessing. Yes man you think Barry Fersuson is on 300 a week. Back to school for you. Its at least 600..
30/07/2005, 2:22 PM
ye a 14 yr old kid guessing.
Píss off :mad:
Yes man you think Barry Fersuson is on 300 a week. Back to school for you. Its at least 600.
Are you generally stupid? I said the AVERAGE wage is about €300-350. Ferguson is probably on €500-600 a week. But you have to take into account the likes of Gary Murphy and Cassin who would bring the AVERAGE down.
30/07/2005, 3:10 PM
ye a 14 yr old kid guessing
It makes no difference what age he is,he could still be right and 14
bluemovie
30/07/2005, 3:13 PM
Firstly I think Cork are getting off a little too easy in all of this :) Longford got ZERO last night and so did Cork!!
I can't believe I'm defending Cork, but they did their job. That's what two-legged ties are about. If you win 2-0 away, you don't have to win the home leg. I'm surprised no Cork fans have mentioned that this was how Liverpool started their Champions League campaign last year (2-0 away followed by 0-1 at home). It's bad enough having to suffer my own club at the moment without investing emotionally in Irish clubs in Europe only for Longford (yes the players, not the fans) to humiliate the League. Maybe now refs will stop bending the rules for them as they have in the last two cup finals.
Are you generally stupid? I said the AVERAGE wage is about €300-350. Ferguson is probably on €500-600 a week. But you have to take into account the likes of Gary Murphy and Cassin who would bring the AVERAGE down.
Look two players wont bring the average wage bill of a strong team of 23 players down to 300 euro a week DETOWN.