View Full Version : Longford Town, please forfeit future European games
ThatGuy
28/07/2005, 10:13 PM
Liechtenstein and now Wales. And what a defeat it was tonight. :rolleyes:
Good enough for the most unwelcoming bunch of six-fingered banjo players I suppose. Pity they have to drag the name of the league down with them.
You know well that bar-stoolers won't be talking about Shels and Steau, and how an Irish side has a chance of progressing against the '86 champions of Europe. No, they won't be talking about Cork progressing either. They will be talking about the absolutely humiliating 5-1 thrashing by a joke of a team from a joke of an (ahem) country.
Though when you travel by a bloody boat what do you expect :rolleyes:
Partizan
28/07/2005, 10:20 PM
how about we forfeit Longford instead. :D
28/07/2005, 10:22 PM
I think that's a bit harsh
28/07/2005, 11:33 PM
Liechtenstein and now Wales. And what a defeat it was tonight. :rolleyes:
For Christ's Sake - will you just let it drop about FC Vaduz ffs - they were, and still are, a decent side fool
No excuses for last night though - Longford just didn't turn up.
If I were you - I'd be more worried falling off my barstool wondering where the next pint of overpriced stout is coming from...
Dyl10
28/07/2005, 11:35 PM
I think that's a bit harsh
I ****in dont :mad: Lets Hope Drogs or Bohs win the cup this year and not Longford(Cup specialsts me arse)
Vitruvian Man
28/07/2005, 11:50 PM
That Longford result is as bad as any of the humiliations brought on the league over the years - for shame.
And to think there are some numb-nuts here giving abuse to Bohs for going out to a team from a league ranked a full 30 places above us on the co-efficient ladder.
28/07/2005, 11:53 PM
was talking to a member of the f.a.i tonight and he thinks its a great idea just to give longford 5,000 euros just to give up their place
they are a disgrace to the eircom league
read it............LONGFORD ARE A DISGRACE
Dyl10
29/07/2005, 12:16 AM
read it............LONGFORD ARE A DISGRACE
Personally i wouldnt take it that far and to be fair yous where beaten tonight too albeit not demolished but yous didnt help the coefficents. But ye jesus hopefully its not on the back page of the paper tomorrow, Hopefully the just give a little corner about the match 8 pages in :)
I don't know who to agree with more - thecorner or VitruvianMan.. :mad:
I never thought I'd see a result from 45 minutes that remotely gets near to the 4-6 to Boez at Morton......
Maybe just maybe this is it... :mad:
There is no excuse.
29/07/2005, 2:27 AM
Just in the door from the Carmarthen game.
The word 'woeful' doesn't even come close to describe how Longford were tonight. They just didn't turn up for the 2nd half. Not a single man played with any heart.
If Stephen Kenny got the boot for Bohs losing to Levaida, Alan Matthews should get a bullet for a thrashing at the hands of a very, very weak Welsh team.
Still can't catually believe it happened.....
Carmarthen Town had an average home crowd of 381 in the 04-05 League of Wales season.
According to Pineapple Stu's figures, that puts them ahead of Cobh Ramblers in terms of support.
If Cobh beat Longford 5-1, it would not be the end of the world (or would it?) :)
Hibs4Ever
29/07/2005, 6:21 AM
Disgraceful result :mad:
29/07/2005, 6:42 AM
pathetic result, pathetic club, :mad:
longford do us all a favour and give Europe and the fúcking cup a break :mad:
sorbothegreek
29/07/2005, 7:04 AM
Here, no one knows more than us right now exactly how bad that was. 500 people went over, paid good money and had to watch that ****e. Believe it or not, were not impressed either. Now to the toss pots throwing 'banjo wheezes', your only showing your level of intelligence, not really worth responding too. To the rest, if some of your teams had the ability to have beaten us in the cup then this wouldn't have happened. Seemingly they didn't.
Final word. Were far from impressed and there'll be no excuses from any reasonable Town fan..
swinfordfc
29/07/2005, 8:22 AM
Longford, i'm sorry to say this but that was a disgrace - i wont allowed ye in europe again 3-1 with 45 minutes to go and..........yea fall apart 11 players are a disgrace to wear that jersey :mad:
since the EL started to turn Pro that is the worst result we have had, even in context of years gone by its up there with the most cringe worthy results.
Liectenstein? Wales? the bar stoolers have plenty of ammo now nice one Longford
FC Vaduz had crowds between 600 and 5000 last season, better than most eL sides.
http://www.fcv.li/english.htm
The Leichtenstein thing is a red herring , they are a Swiss side.
EMBARRASSMENT TO LOI :mad:
fosterdollar
29/07/2005, 9:41 AM
EMBARASMENT TO LOI :mad:
Good point. Well made. Spelling commendable.
jofyisgod
29/07/2005, 9:43 AM
Good point. Well made. Spelling commendable.
The sentiments ring true, though. Shocking, to say the least. I couldn't believe my eyes. Any Longford fans care to give their views?
EMBARASMENT TO LOI :mad:
irony anyone :D
It was a terrible result for Longford all right, but the reaction is a little ott.
It's not Longford's fans fault, so I don't know why they are being asked to defend it.
The culprit is surely Matthews, his total lack of ambition and negative, sterile view of football was bound to punished eventually.
fosterdollar
29/07/2005, 9:55 AM
The sentiments ring true, though. Shocking, to say the least. I couldn't believe my eyes. Any Longford fans care to give their views?
I wasn't at the game. I appreciate the grounds there is for anger/disappointment/whatever but, as was pointed out by someone, what has been posted generally is boot in the head when you're down type stuff. FFS, do any of them really think they are being constructive in their 'criticism'? An rock's report in the town forum is pretty good and seems to give an insight into how the result came about. From it, i'm taking that we weren't even played off the field. We just stood back and handed it over. Yeah, it was a Longford boo-boo and we were representing more than just ourselves. Bad day for us. Thanks to reitoir and the others who rallyed round for us, even turned up at the game last night. I'll take their views over jorge's any day.
hoops1
29/07/2005, 10:03 AM
you werewnt even played off the field????????
im sure you were all over them NOT
god damn lucky they werent all over you if they beat you 5-1 if they did it would have been 10-1
the same thing is happening the Rovers we are really the best them in the league but get beaten every week!
what are you talking about?
another example of a fairweather fan who hasnt a clue about football
and will disappear as soon as Longford are back in there rightful place
the first division
jorge
29/07/2005, 10:03 AM
I was well too harsh,I just thought youse had it wrapped up after y the away goal.
29/07/2005, 10:10 AM
if some of your teams had the ability to have beaten us in the cup then this wouldn't have happened.
Actually, that is a very reasonable point. Longford earned the right to embarrass Irish football. If you don't like it: tough. Or perhaps you want to argue that in future all European comptetition should be automatically forfeited to Cork or Ollie.
fosterdollar
29/07/2005, 10:13 AM
you werewnt even played off the field????????
im sure you were all over them NOT
god damn lucky they werent all over you if they beat you 5-1 if they did it would have been 10-1
the same thing is happening the Rovers we are really the best them in the league but get beaten every week!
what are you talking about?
another example of a fairweather fan who hasnt a clue about football
and will disappear as soon as Longford are back in there rightful place
the first division
1-1 at HT is hardly being played off the field. If you took the time to actually find out the facts from the game you'd see how the goals came about - and that it was nothing to do with being outclassed. I haven't seen rovers setting the world alight with their performances against the town. In fact, i remember dalyer being a pretty dismal night for you. So before you put carmarthen up on too high a pedestal i'd remember how you fared out against their longford underdogs. I reckon you guys would be better placed in the first division. In all fairness.
LFC in Exile
29/07/2005, 10:15 AM
On a more important point than kicking Longford, I think giving a Euro spot to the cup winners is wrong. Last years other finalists were Waterford - just imagine!
With the importance of coefficients now it is too much to risk a weak team going through to Uefa Cup, and finishing third in league is a sign of a better side than winning cup. By all means give Inter-toto to cup winners (though I am not sure that can be done( - but definitely take Uefa off cup winners. In all the nonsense about Liverpool going into Champions League Uefa made point that its up to natioanl associations to decide how qualification for euro competitions is decided so do it from next season. Champions in CL and next two in UEFA. :ball:
29/07/2005, 10:19 AM
On a more important point than kicking Longford, I think giving a Euro spot to the cup winners is wrong. Last years other finalists were Waterford - just imagine!
With the importance of coefficients now it is too much to risk a weak team going through to Uefa Cup, and finishing third in league is a sign of a better side than winning cup. By all means give Inter-toto to cup winners (though I am not sure that can be done( - but definitely take Uefa off cup winners. In all the nonsense about Liverpool going into Champions League Uefa made point that its up to natioanl associations to decide how qualification for euro competitions is decided so do it from next season. Champions in CL and next two in UEFA. :ball:
Seconded :p
29/07/2005, 10:22 AM
finishing third in league is a sign of a better side than winning cup.
We all saw how the 3rd placed team in the league last season faired in Europe this season. :rolleyes:
liamon
29/07/2005, 10:27 AM
.... Uefa made point that its up to natioanl associations to decide how qualification for euro competitions is decided so do it from next season. Champions in CL and next two in UEFA. :ball:
I thought that the second UEFA cup spot exists because the UEFA cup and Cup Winners Cup were merged. In that case, can you actually choose to remove the cup winners from the competition? It may not be that simple.
If some one has the time to read the rules on UEFA.com, I'd be interested to hear what the official line is.
By the way, the condemnation of Longford is way over the top. They won the Cup and deserve to play in Europe. It's not that long ago that CCFC used to get beaten in Europe every year either. So, lt's not get so high and mighty after one decent run in the Intertoto and a rubbish performance last night.
sullanefc
29/07/2005, 10:27 AM
In fairness to Bohs they were up against a decent side that play in a decent league.
Longford won the cup fair and square. They may play with 11 men behind the ball and boring tactics but it doesn't say a lot about our league that nobody could beat them. It would also take away from our cup if there was no Euro place going with it.
ger121
29/07/2005, 10:31 AM
We all saw how the 3rd placed team in the league last season faired in Europe this season. :rolleyes:
Yeah against a team from a country ranked far higher than either team Longford or Cork faced. We should have won better at home but it was always a 50-50 tie.
republic
29/07/2005, 10:34 AM
After last year's humiliation in losing to the side of a mountain, you would have thought it couldn't get worse. Unfortunately, it did. Much, much worse.
I don't really care if Longford humiliate themselves. What I do care about is the effect it will have upon the profile, respect and perception of the eL among supporters, the general sporting public and, yes, even the so-called barstoolers. What an utter humiliation Longford have visited upon the eL. Despite the best efforts of Shels, Cork and other clubs over recent seasons, Longford seem determined to single-handedly wreck all the good work. In the unlikely event they qualify for European competition again in the future they should be given a pay-off and told to politely go away.
And to think Matthews has the nerve to appear on national television and pontificate on other clubs and players. He should hang his head in shame and get his own house in order....
Partizan
29/07/2005, 10:36 AM
kind of similar reaction I felt when I got off the plane from bulgaria and was told that I would have to spend another 12 months living in Limerick. :D
29/07/2005, 10:51 AM
What an utter humiliation Longford have visited upon the eL.
Jesus, I know the weather's miserable, but can we lighten up a little?
It's only Longford!
fosterdollar
29/07/2005, 10:53 AM
Jesus, I know the weather's miserable, but can we lighten up a little?
It's only Longford!
67 posts and no avatar - it's easy for him to say it.
hoops1
29/07/2005, 11:02 AM
I know that Rovers are a bad side but you put up with it,its what being a fan is all about but that statement that Longford werent played off the pitch defies belief!
i suppose ****** were unlucky aswell? in your little dream world!
steveyg2004
29/07/2005, 11:06 AM
This is what I said on the Longford forum, I make no excuses for re-posting it here for the benefit of some horribly pathetic little individuals on this thread. :rolleyes:
Wise up, what some people are displaying is the sort of elitist attitude that has seen the 'minnows' of Europe marginalised from the big teams. European places are earned, and there seems to be a little too much fascism on here about improving 'the co-efficient'. Of course it is a priority but I think the only fans with the right to tear into Longford Town and their players are the Longford fans themselves - It's not really any other fans place to say they 'disgraced' the Eircom League etc
Also lads, may I just say....I and many other Glentoran and Linfield fans will be rooting for you all the way in the League Cup (not sure if you are still in the FAI Cup), and would love to see Longford back in the Setanta Cup next season......seems to me there's alot of jealousy of your great wee club and their domestic achievements around these parts, from fans of clubs who were once a force but are now sh*t. ;)
fosterdollar
29/07/2005, 11:10 AM
I know that Rovers are a bad side but you put up with it,its what being a fan is all about but that statement that Longford werent played off the pitch defies belief!
i suppose ****** were unlucky aswell? in your little dream world!
I take it you still haven't read any match reports then.
29/07/2005, 11:19 AM
very difficult to come up with anything(positive) this morning.
was'nt there, but sounds like the lads thought they had it won at half time and eased off in concentration and going forward.
.................gutted
29/07/2005, 11:20 AM
The third placed team would have mauled the nobodys Longford played home and away.
ThatGuy
29/07/2005, 11:26 AM
I take it you still haven't read any match reports then.
Who needs to read the match report, the result speaks volumes. Longford lost 5-1 to a team from Wales. A 1-0 would be unlucky, 2-0 unfortunate perhaps, 3-0 maybe just one of those days, but there are no excuses for a 5-1 defeat to a side like that.
hoops1
29/07/2005, 11:30 AM
if the match reports said anything about Longford not being outplayed or 5-1 not being a fair reflection
it was probably written by Alan Matthews wife
5-1 is never unlucky or not deserved for the winner or the loser
29/07/2005, 11:36 AM
There's no excuse for it. It was a total and utter disgrace, but hardly unexpected given the "tactics" that braindead sack of **** matthews likes to employ. I fell really sorry for the Longford fans, they must be gutted. They should turn their attention to running Matthews out of town ASAP.
fosterdollar
29/07/2005, 11:42 AM
I haven't seen one person try to excuse it thus far.
29/07/2005, 11:46 AM
67 posts and no avatar - it's easy for him to say it.
Eh? :confused:
Rochey
29/07/2005, 11:52 AM
Definitly think the stick longford are getting is a bit much. All you people going on about the coefficient longford won the first leg and therefore got the same coefficient points as Cork so unless cork can get a draw or win in the next round they'll still end up on the same points. So they had a bad night that **** happens look at ****** no excuse but does that mean that ****** should never play in Europe again!!! Longford earned their right to play in Europe. I know the likes of Cork and Shels think they should have an automatic spot above everyone else in the league but they dont thank god.
Rochey
29/07/2005, 11:53 AM
Why did it block out "c e lt ic" there stupid thing
student
29/07/2005, 12:00 PM
They should turn their attention to running Matthews out of town ASAP.
Yeah thats right sack the guy who has won four cup competitions in the last two years.
Question for everyone. Should Rangers fans be claiming that ****** shouldn't be allowed into Europe, because of their five nil defeat the other night???
Its the exact same thing.
Personally i hope Longford win the cup again this year and go on to shut you all up in Europe next year.