View Full Version : Cork AUL 2022/23

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8]

Jason Bourne
20/06/2023, 9:01 AM
In the 30 years there has not been a single Aul club that has made any sort of serious dent in the MSL. If anything it has actually been a disaster of a move. The facilities got better an the clubs got worse. The MSL 2nd division is a who's who of teams that left for the promised land only to arrive in the desert.

AULboy
20/06/2023, 9:08 AM
It is the right thing to do in most situations but if this is the same Temple that are heading MSL they might think twice about heading up there.

I’m sure Watergrasshill do not care if Temple are heading to the MSL, the reason I asked the question is with the cup final being on Sunday would they risk playing the game

Play it out
20/06/2023, 10:01 AM
Watergrashill can use the game as prep for cup final or give lads a run. It may be useful for a number of reasons.

Lads, those clubs are still best served where they have gone. They are with other teams with good facilities, lads get to play cup games against excellent teams. Like anything, if teams are languishing they need to go a step further and push.

Nothing stopping a team putting in an AUL side too.

Dr. football
20/06/2023, 8:06 PM
Watergrashill can use the game as prep for cup final or give lads a run. It may be useful for a number of reasons.

Lads, those clubs are still best served where they have gone. They are with other teams with good facilities, lads get to play cup games against excellent teams. Like anything, if teams are languishing they need to go a step further and push.

Nothing stopping a team putting in an AUL side too.

Inishvilla And Killreen are both junior now how can you say it’s worked out for them

Dr. football
20/06/2023, 8:07 PM
I see Grattan looking for a manager again, with Knocka starting back up could this impact them?

fruice
20/06/2023, 8:58 PM
Park got promoted but I think they’re the only ones who have moved recently who have had any success whatsoever, Killereen was a disaster.

Kanturk, Macroom, Inishvilla, Pearse & Carrigtwohil all moved recently and will not be getting out of the bottom division anytime soon, the grass isn’t always greener. None of those teams were ever really going to challenge for the AUL premier either so it was a strange one

My guess is that the clubs in MSL are more likely to get grants because they can’t be happy middling in the bottom division of any league

Did Kanturk not get promoted in the last week or so?

Play it out
20/06/2023, 9:56 PM
They still play on better pitches. Get ready in better facilities. Have far less chance of games called off, walkovers, no refs showing and anything else. It's the interest by club members drives success of a club and not the association.

Corinthians, Ringmahon, Douglas Hall and all the big clubs have had decades of underage and have grown hugely with their facilities. Clubs that have gone over in last 10 years then need to aim for similar. They were never just going to get to the top end.

If Coachford went MSL, GAA would have a bigger impact as lads interest would not be same as they aren't winning as much anymore. I still feel they should go if they want to grow. It mite seem a long way away, but, take 20 years time, Coachford and any club wouldn't want to be relying on AUL football.

Move over, do what you can on pitch. Needs a huge committee effort, academy coaching and pathways. Win the AOH now and be left fall behind football clubs in next decade or make the jump if Committee interest is there to grow? I'd move.

Jason Bourne
20/06/2023, 10:10 PM
It's hard to decide to push on . Lots of factors at play. Coachford are looking at all the other small town clubs who have tried to push on but it has to have back up an I think they don't. The catchment area for City clubs allows them the ability to survive an turnover players , the country sides don't have that unless they pay an Coachford tried that in years gone by.

Country sides need to move through the divisions an stick together which they can do , but the city sides are built on turnover , buddies an pubs,,,,,Grattan will change manager because its arguably the hardest job in junior football cause they start the season wanting to win everything an know they are up against it straight away,,,,,, Coachford are ahead, Grattan ain't fading away ,,,,,,,be an interesting season to come.

donaldihno
21/06/2023, 8:19 PM
Did Kanturk not get promoted in the last week or so?
Yeah Kanturk got promoted to the 1st division

I’ve been involved with Kanturk the last 2 years when we went MSL from AUL
It’s the best decision the club has ever made

Better games,better facilities,better organisation

Our last year in AUL we were going up to pitches with glass on the pitch ,which isn’t the AUL fault

AUL were very good for Kanturk down the years
It was just the right time to move and best decision we’ve made as a club

ExplainThis
22/06/2023, 10:48 AM
I think one of the key factors in clubs having long term success in MSL is the underage set-up. You need to have to that feeding into the senior team every few years to have any sort of hope of long term success.

Like mentioned above, City clubs have less issues when it's very easy to poach, look at players coming from other under-age set-ups etc. A short spin across the city and you'll pass 20 clubs!

A club like Kanturk for example works very hard to keep the underage teams going year on year, and when you're competing with GAA in a country town, odds are these young fellas won't keep playing once they get to 16-17. They do well to get maybe 2 lads that might keep playing beyond 19-20 years of age with the club.

When people question Coachford's decision whether to go up or not, this is a huge factor to consider.

Play it out
22/06/2023, 11:09 AM
They can go now while strong with a passionate commitee or go when they have to when these people go.

Success is fantastic but you've to look at what's best for the future. What are both leagues likely to look like in 10 years for the current under 12s and around that age for all clubs?

fruice
22/06/2023, 12:12 PM
I suppose the key for any club moving is to be sure the grass is greener on the other side.

Change has started to happen in the AUL is it too late who knows.

Cork is obviously a huge county so there will always be plenty of teams maybe not as many as before but a lot.

Ballwasthere
25/06/2023, 12:21 PM
Watergrasshill beat Cathedral 4-3 in a great game, good showcase for the AUL.

Both teams would be comfortable in the premier division

Average Baller
26/06/2023, 9:48 AM
Well done to Watergrasshill yesterday, cracking game and what a great season for them. They have the ability to go above and beyond what Coachford have done in the AUL. I hope they’re playing in Premier or Premier A next season. Playing week in week out at a higher level will only help them in terms of competing in the national & provincial competitions, which they’re well capable of going deep in.

fruice
26/06/2023, 5:53 PM
Be interesting to see what Watergrasshill do they are clearly more than good enough to go up the divisions.

But ultimately it will be up to them do they go up through the divisions or do they take a double or even a triple promotion.

I genuinely can’t see them going any higher than division 1 next season.

Jason Bourne
26/06/2023, 10:09 PM
MOD EDIT: Don't bother posting if that's your level.

fruice
28/06/2023, 6:27 PM
Just looking at the numbers for next year and what I’m being told and what finished playing this year, this is what the AUL will look like next season.

Premier 10 Teams *
Premier A 8 Teams
1st Division 7 Teams
2nd Division 9 Teams *
3rd Division 11Teams *

Total 45 Teams.*

I have an * in Premier as Temple are supposed to be going MSL

I have * in Division 2 with Temple due to go MSL and the possibility of Watergrasshill going up more divisions

I have * for Division 3 as I’m told two new teams are to join but you never know until they play their 1st game.

latte2012
29/06/2023, 11:34 AM
Do Temple have an underage setup?

Play it out
29/06/2023, 11:49 AM
Temple had 7 players v Village and 12 nil at half time, can't see MSL taking them without underage.

latte2012
29/06/2023, 1:48 PM
Temple had 7 players v Village and 12 nil at half time, can't see MSL taking them without underage.

I was thinking the same. Hard to imagine MSL accepting them. Especially considering how bad some of the other clubs that made the move have been the past few years.

fruice
29/06/2023, 3:30 PM
They don’t have an underage structure and as from what im told from a good source they are looking to leave whether they get accepted is another thing.

Being realistic they pulled a stunt last season the A team left mid way through the season with some of their A players ending up with other clubs.

The rule book states the B team should become the A team in this situation.

The B team wanted none of it so they cobbled together an “A” team for the remainder of the season so as to let the B team where they were.

If they don’t go MSL be interesting to see what the AUL do with them as you would find it hard to see them putting down another season like they did in the Premier this year and will the B team just end up in the premier in the long run.

AULboy
30/06/2023, 7:26 AM
They don’t have an underage structure and as from what im told from a good source they are looking to leave whether they get accepted is another thing.

Being realistic they pulled a stunt last season the A team left mid way through the season with some of their A players ending up with other clubs.

The rule book states the B team should become the A team in this situation.

The B team wanted none of it so they cobbled together an “A” team for the remainder of the season so as to let the B team where they were.

If they don’t go MSL be interesting to see what the AUL do with them as you would find it hard to see them putting down another season like they did in the Premier this year and will the B team just end up in the premier in the long run.

I don’t get where the slating the B team is coming from. Watergrasshill benefited from temples A team going under they got 2 managers and 2 players who started for them out of it. The B team had nothing to do with the A team folding and fair play to all the lads who knew they were in with a chance to win the league so they all made sure they played there games with the A team so that they’re on team wouldn’t be compromised. A lot of ye must remember Temple B first game playing premier they lost 2-1 to coachford as the games started coming they obviously had a less strength A team but each and every person on there B team done everything they could do keep that A and B team going for the season. I remember earlier in the year ye were all praising country clubs for not jacking it in when times got tough but now that temple done it they pulled a stunt and cobbled together a team. Give praise where it’s due

fruice
30/06/2023, 8:44 AM
I don’t get where the slating the B team is coming from. Watergrasshill benefited from temples A team going under they got 2 managers and 2 players who started for them out of it. The B team had nothing to do with the A team folding and fair play to all the lads who knew they were in with a chance to win the league so they all made sure they played there games with the A team so that they’re on team wouldn’t be compromised. A lot of ye must remember Temple B first game playing premier they lost 2-1 to coachford as the games started coming they obviously had a less strength A team but each and every person on there B team done everything they could do keep that A and B team going for the season. I remember earlier in the year ye were all praising country clubs for not jacking it in when times got tough but now that temple done it they pulled a stunt and cobbled together a team. Give praise where it’s due

I have previously said fair play to the lads that stepped in to the A team and took those beatings.

But when you talk about country clubs holding the whole thing together they are literally down to the bear bones they haven’t the luxury of putting out a second team that’s winning a league title these country clubs are keeping the show on the road.

And when I referred to cobbling a team together I don’t think I’m far wrong after the time the A team were supposedly gone they Then played 14 game’s losing 13 drawing 1 conceded something like 70 goals and scoring around 6 and played one game with 7 players whilst this is admirable surely this is a cobbled together team.

And you speak of players and management heading to Watergrasshill at what point of the season did this happen?

Play it out
30/06/2023, 8:51 AM
I wouldn't be one to praise them either.

AUL obliged the A team for weeks.

Look at the state of what they left in the Premier. B team should have went as A team.

Who wants to play against 7 players in the top division? Every game in that teams should hope points are up for grabs and that others slip.

They didn't field teams legally in it either but a blind eye turned.

I bet if and when they're not allowed in to MSL that they'll come running back to AUL.

They don't want to go by AUL rules, they won't want to agree to MSL rules. People there won't put in the work to go MSL.

What a shame for what a big club it was.

AULboy
30/06/2023, 9:10 AM
So the B players should be penalized for the poor management of the A team. It’s in the rules that if a team folds the B team take their place. That didn’t happen the A team was supposed to fold with 4-5 days left in the window where players could move, Temples B team managers stepped in and signed players so there own season wouldn’t be ruined. I agree it’s a joke that they went out with 7 players in the premier division but they done that because there main focus was on there own league witch they won so I bet every one of there players couldn’t care about the beating there A team got this year.

fruice
30/06/2023, 9:53 AM
So the B players should be penalized for the poor management of the A team. It’s in the rules that if a team folds the B team take their place. That didn’t happen the A team was supposed to fold with 4-5 days left in the window where players could move, Temples B team managers stepped in and signed players so there own season wouldn’t be ruined. I agree it’s a joke that they went out with 7 players in the premier division but they done that because there main focus was on there own league witch they won so I bet every one of there players couldn’t care about the beating there A team got this year.

And I don’t doubt that B didn’t give a dam about the A team but there in lies the problem Temple are not a club they are two teams playing out of the same pitch they aren’t a club.

Rules were certainly bent to keep the A team going because if they didn’t field a team on even one more occasion they B team would have been gone ,as they would have been forced to come up to the premier division.

How many players had the A team for a finish?

And you mentioned the management and players heading to Watergrasshill which point in the season did this happen?

Dr. football
30/06/2023, 4:58 PM
Temple b confirmed to be going senior MSL on there Facebook page and looking for a manager.

I know what happened last was a joke but this seems a little crazy!

latte2012
02/07/2023, 2:21 PM
Temple b confirmed to be going senior MSL on there Facebook page and looking for a manager.

I know what happened last was a joke but this seems a little crazy!

Best of luck to em. Hope they do a better job there than they did last season with their A team. I presume they will have one junior team…

Gunnerozil81
02/07/2023, 8:33 PM
On a positive note, what new teams are supposed to be joining the league

Play it out
03/07/2023, 2:33 PM
Knocka Celtic

I wonder what division they will be put in.

You wouldn't want it easy for them but they don't deserve a shot at Premier after folding. Premier A? At least there has Cathedral.

Gunnerozil81
03/07/2023, 7:19 PM
Be interesting

Jd2793
04/07/2023, 8:35 AM
surprised they are letting a new club in. all the talk was they'd be trimming back teams in the 2nd division next year. temple dont sound reliable at all, will be interesting to see what interest they have in completing games if they have nothing to play for come march time.

fruice
04/07/2023, 9:56 AM
The AUL must be sorry they let them away they’re messing around with the two teams last season…. oh well no point looking back they are the MSL’s problem now.

I heard of Knocka, a new south side of the city team and an east cork team don’t know how much will actually happen but that’s the rumours

Jd2793
04/07/2023, 11:18 AM
do people expect watergrasshill to keep a hold of their players?

Play it out
04/07/2023, 12:32 PM
I'd imagine the Watergrasshill lads had a really enjoyable year with 2 cups and a MJC run.

Looking how fit they are, they probably play GAA too so I'd imagine it suits them. Somebody mentioned here that a lot of players came from Fermoy, I can't see a huge appeal to go back after this season.

04/07/2023, 4:52 PM
New thread there for new season lads.