View Full Version : Cork AUL 2022/23

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8

Jason Bourne
07/06/2023, 9:14 PM
Gentlemen , the only talk up the northside is pub talk, as always.

fruice
07/06/2023, 10:00 PM
A lot on here is in the ball park being correct but if you are going to suggest Cathedral are too strong you must also tar Shandon with that brush.

We all know the Shandon team are the old Cathedral team that competed very well within the 1st division for years.
But decided hey let’s drop two levels and play below ourselves.

They clearly were too strong for division three and two if they won both leagues with out losing a game in the process.

They aren’t the 1st and won’t be the last but this type of carry on is what kills the whole thing.

Secondly people are quick to run down the AUL but only 13 teams in attendance at the AGM tonight doesn’t really help anyone.

latte2012
07/06/2023, 10:10 PM
It's easy to blow up cathedral celtic here but in fairness it's easy to win trophys with players that are far to good to be playing in 3rd tier football...aul is a disgrace and well gone by its sell by date .league will be lucky to have 25 teams next year...those running it have a lot to answer for too
They can only beat what’s put in front of them and they did that. Not their fault division 1 was so poor this year. A lot of teams in that league seem to be in strange place this season. Richmond team of last season would have given them a right battle in the league. Most of the teams in division 1 would have been division 3 standard a few years ago I think.

Play it out
07/06/2023, 10:28 PM
If Village go then some will go to Cathedral Celtic in particular, Glenthorn, Knocka & Grattan. It would be a real shame for Village to finish. One team clubs have it tough going forward.

Jason Bourne
07/06/2023, 10:49 PM
Iv said all along it could get worse and it has,,,,,,not long left now I'm afraid.

LetItLong11
08/06/2023, 9:06 AM
A lot on here is in the ball park being correct but if you are going to suggest Cathedral are too strong you must also tar Shandon with that brush.

We all know the Shandon team are the old Cathedral team that competed very well within the 1st division for years.
But decided hey let’s drop two levels and play below ourselves.

They clearly were too strong for division three and two if they won both leagues with out losing a game in the process.

They aren’t the 1st and won’t be the last but this type of carry on is what kills the whole thing.

Secondly people are quick to run down the AUL but only 13 teams in attendance at the AGM tonight doesn’t really help anyone.

Nail on the head here, as bad as the AUL are, they cannot do anything about teams folding when they reach a certain level and start from the bottom again a few seasons later.

Disappointing to hear about the attendance at the AGM, again the league cant be faulted for that. Did any of note happen at it I wonder?

A lot of teams flat out the next week or two playing games every 2/3 days. You would fancy Watergrasshil for the County cup and there is a surprisingly a lot of very good teams in the Corinthians cup when you consider it is for teams knocked out in first round of their own cup. Watergrasshill, Shandon, Temple, Cathedral & Blackstone would all fancy their chances.

fruice
09/06/2023, 7:57 AM
Nail on the head here, as bad as the AUL are, they cannot do anything about teams folding when they reach a certain level and start from the bottom again a few seasons later.

Disappointing to hear about the attendance at the AGM, again the league cant be faulted for that. Did any of note happen at it I wonder?

A lot of teams flat out the next week or two playing games every 2/3 days. You would fancy Watergrasshil for the County cup and there is a surprisingly a lot of very good teams in the Corinthians cup when you consider it is for teams knocked out in first round of their own cup. Watergrasshill, Shandon, Temple, Cathedral & Blackstone would all fancy their chances.

The main talk was about the lack of games over the winter months and for clubs to return their entry forms ASAP as they fell they need to restructure the leagues with relegation returning.

AULboy
09/06/2023, 2:08 PM
The main talk was about the lack of games over the winter months and for clubs to return their entry forms ASAP as they fell they need to restructure the leagues with relegation returning.
They need to strengthen premier what ever way they can it’s becoming a one horse race

fruice
09/06/2023, 4:12 PM
I suppose the key to anything is that all teams can be competitive in their own division.
The premier could be the hardest to fix as if one team is a mile ahead of the rest what can you do.

It’s down along where you should be able to achieve more of a balance.

But once again this is where it Is hard the AUL could base it off last season and then a team could be totally different from before and could run away with it.

The clubs should be honest with themselves if this is the case.

But all it takes is it for one club to not be honest and it upsets the whole thing.

The AUL should have the choice to promote clubs or even double promote clubs based on previous years performances.

Unless the club can prove playing personnel has significantly changed

Play it out
10/06/2023, 9:40 AM
Each season is really separate now with clubs folding, no relegation and a fix of leagues needed.

Time to throw all teams on paper and put in order who is strongest to weakest right now and make divisions.

Dr. football
10/06/2023, 1:46 PM
Few points:…

Village not folding.

Why would the cow join village if all ye talk about is how bad the AUL is? Cow have games every week not like AUL 3 games a week then nothing for a month! And let’s be honest the top cow players should be MSL premier! They all have there own reasons why they play business league, each to there own.

Cathedral/shandon is a little wide of the mark too..

Cathedral brought in new manager who brought In new players, older players decided they didn’t want to play for him and they/ old cathedral manager started back up shandon who some had played for before .

Bought clubs have moved on and added some great players it’s a credit to work of both clubs what they have achieved. Shows with a little organisation off the pitch you can get fellas to commit and be successful.

Ballwasthere
10/06/2023, 3:10 PM
Was up watching what I thought would be villages last game, temple had 7 players finished 11-0, the league should have had the cop on to allow the A team to fold and keep the b team in their own league, games like that would turn anybody off football.

From what I was told up there village will not be folding, which is good to see but maybe they would be better off going down to premier A next season if the leagues are being re-structured, same with Glenthorn if I’m being honest from what I seen from them.

Hopefully corkbeg and Springfield kick on from their promising seasons and along with UCC and Grangevale they give coachford a bit of a challenge next season

Something needs to be done about the break from November to February, 3 months with hardly any games is destroying the seasons for a lot of teams, Grattan before the break looked very strong and looked a shadow when they league resumed the last few months

Cathedral came from 2-1 down to beat Kilmichael in an excellent game earlier on, if that team stays together they will have a right tear off the premier A next season

AULboy
10/06/2023, 5:14 PM
If we are being honest a lot of clubs should be forced to make the jump, Watergrasshill could play premier, Cathedral really pushed coachford in the AOH this year and with village in the muck I’d imagine there striker would get a few up to Cathedral Temple and shandon should really be push up to premier a I think both clubs need a bit of work before ready for premier, if I’m being honest the aul commute really needs a big year for the next season to redeem themselves for this year

Dr. football
10/06/2023, 6:51 PM
If we are being honest a lot of clubs should be forced to make the jump, Watergrasshill could play premier, Cathedral really pushed coachford in the AOH this year and with village in the muck I’d imagine there striker would get a few up to Cathedral Temple and shandon should really be push up to premier a I think both clubs need a bit of work before ready for premier, if I’m being honest the aul commute really needs a big year for the next season to redeem themselves for this year

At this stage teams should just be forced to go up it’s not working something needs to change,7 teams in 1 league and 13 in another only causes problems. ( I know one didn’t make it off the blocks)

With no relegation I presume temple will fold the b team and end up premier.

Lot to be said for making knocka start at the bottom but who does that benefit? The rule is ever year they are out they drop a league. How many years are they gone?

1st division should be good with blackstone, shandon going up and blackpool loads a north side derbys!!

Jason Bourne
11/06/2023, 12:21 PM
People would want to have a good look at the Aul and it's teams before they make statements about clubs being this an that.

There was a time when we had Leeside, Kinsale ,Wilton,Park an Grattan as the top 5 clubs in premier an they would all at that time of given any senior club a rattle.

Now , Coachford an Grattan slug it out. There's not much between them on any given day.

The same sides that are being touted as possible premier replacements are the same clubs who have had great seasons in fairness but before that dint cause a ripple in the water.

It's a weak league in general so calling yourself the best team in a weak division isn't exactly impressing anyone .

The Aul have the right to restrenghten the league as it sees fit but putting sides in any division should be based on how solid the club is, and not the mercenarys who have chosen to play somewhere else this season.

Jason Bourne
11/06/2023, 2:22 PM
Are you basing your opinion on experience where you can say you have won leagues that had the Parks,Wiltons,Kinsales, Leesides and Grattan or now.

Hacker
11/06/2023, 5:43 PM
Watergrashill 6 - Bosco's 0 today in county cup.

Watergrashill team are as good of a football team as I seen all year. Outside of Coachford I wouldn't see anyone touching them.

After watching them today I think they would be better placed in premier for next season.

fruice
11/06/2023, 7:17 PM
Watergrasshill will be a key example of the situation the AUL can find themselves in.
A serious side but now clearly operating in the wrong division.

To be fair to them they probably aren’t going to win their division and they have come from being quite weak to very strong in a season.

But my understanding is unless they are agreeable they only have to go to the second division.

Where all signs point they are clearly good enough for a higher level.

Be interesting to see the reshuffle in divisions over the summer!!

SteveSilvermint
11/06/2023, 7:28 PM
Watergrashill 6 - Bosco's 0 today in county cup.

Watergrashill team are as good of a football team as I seen all year. Outside of Coachford I wouldn't see anyone touching them.

After watching them today I think they would be better placed in premier for next season.
I saw cathedral give coachford a right game and ultimately bad ref costed cathedral plus they have done a double I would think you have to win your league for a post like above..I might be proven wrong Tuesday for me cathedral with the personal there on and off the pitch will get stronger and challenge for honours.

Jason Bourne
11/06/2023, 7:46 PM
I would like to think the people in the back round of these clubs are being realistic in recognising that the short term success they are enjoying has not been a steady progression, rather a sudden change of something that has suddenly resulted in players who they normally wouldn't have now playing with their club.

The Aul would be making a massive mistake in promoting sides who have not earned it, however strong they are.

Winning promotion dose not just build teams, it builds clubs and it separates hard work and effort from the blow in sides that start in the pub an fall apart in the pub.

I'd rather a league built on its clubs than a league supported by short term teams .

fruice
11/06/2023, 8:35 PM
I would like to think the people in the back round of these clubs are being realistic in recognising that the short term success they are enjoying has not been a steady progression, rather a sudden change of something that has suddenly resulted in players who they normally wouldn't have now playing with their club.

The Aul would be making a massive mistake in promoting sides who have not earned it, however strong they are.

Winning promotion dose not just build teams, it builds clubs and it separates hard work and effort from the blow in sides that start in the pub an fall apart in the pub.

I'd rather a league built on its clubs than a league supported by short term teams .
To be fair Watergrasshill and Cathedral are in two different situations.
Cathedral are up the divisions and were decent but now have added quality but how long can they hold on to the additions?
And can they get more.

Watergrasshill obviously got a shot of players from some where.

They now are a top team no matter what division they plaY out of as has been seen in al their cup runs both in the AUL and the national competitions.

Watergrasshill have a decent underage structure which will allow them to strengthen internally.

These boys will be a decent AUL outfit over the the next 5 years

Play it out
11/06/2023, 9:33 PM
It is tough to decide what to do.

However, I do feel the short term is massively important to the long term.

It's only a matter of time before a division falls off anyway so best do a reorganisation now.

They way I see it, there's a certain number of clubs who had a good year and were reliable in last year. Then there's your usual teams who plug away hard.

COVID hit things bad too.

How about these? Without any teams dropping out an issue. If they do, put someone else in. Change as well potentially with Knocka and Buttevant mentioned here.

Premier
Coachford
Grattan
Corkbeg
Springfield
City Wadnerers
Village
Grangevale
UCC
Watergrasshill

Premier A
Glenthorn
Temple
Cathedral
Shandon
Donoughmore
Castleview
Killumney
Banteer
Waterloo
Strand

1st
Greenwood
Blackstone
Richmond
Hibernians
And so on

SteveSilvermint
11/06/2023, 10:09 PM
It is tough to decide what to do.

However, I do feel the short term is massively important to the long term.

It's only a matter of time before a division falls off anyway so best do a reorganisation now.

They way I see it, there's a certain number of clubs who had a good year and were reliable in last year. Then there's your usual teams who plug away hard.

COVID hit things bad too.

How about these? Without any teams dropping out an issue. If they do, put someone else in. Change as well potentially with Knocka and Buttevant mentioned here.

Premier
Coachford
Grattan
Corkbeg
Springfield
City Wadnerers
Village
Grangevale
UCC
Watergrasshill

Premier A
Glenthorn
Temple
Cathedral
Shandon
Donoughmore
Castleview
Killumney
Banteer
Waterloo
Strand

1st
Greenwood
Blackstone
Richmond
Hibernians
And so on
I wouldn’t think so the 2 best teams this year coachford and cathedral 1of those 2 for team of the year

AULboy
12/06/2023, 7:12 AM
I wouldn’t think so the 2 best teams this year coachford and cathedral 1of those 2 for team of the year

Have to agree here, Cathedral are very much on track to do a treble, they’ve players there who are excellent and a good all around unit, To just disregard them and say watergrasshill should leap frog over and go straight to premier is not the best of shouts, will be interesting final, that’s if watergrasshill can get past temple on Tuesday no easy task either

fruice
12/06/2023, 8:12 AM
It Watergrasshill are what we claim them to be they will have no problem with Temple.

Then a potential show down between Cathedral & Watergrasshill would be great to see

Hacker
12/06/2023, 10:47 AM

While I would agree with alot of what you have said there the standard of football in AUL has been inserious decline over the last 5 years in particular. With the Premier probably seeing the biggest gap.

There needs to be a big shake up with Teams to their ability level and not dropping 3 or 4 leagues so they can hoover up a few cheap league titles along the way.

Reality for the Premier is that Coachford have to turn up for 2 games a season being Grattan. Everybody else they are able to get through easy without going through the gears.
If there is more competition, in the division it leads to harder games and more chance of them dropping points.

Corkbeg finished 3rd and in the premier and struggled to finish out the season by all accounts i.e. no training for last few months etc. and probably were not the only ones.

It's kind of reminiscing of the Klitcho's in heavyweight boxing sure they were beating everyone in their sight but it strangled the division in terms on competition and interest for the supporter.

While the Coachford scenario plays well for the AUL on the national competition front it's not doing anything for the actual bread and butter AUL season.

Something like what Play It Out has suggested is needed at a time like this.

LetItLong11
12/06/2023, 11:25 AM
I would also agree a big reshuffle is needed. A team should not have an option of declining to go up a division if asked by the league. 5 divisions of 9 and two round league is nearly the best fit. Hard to see more than 45 teams next year. Would be ideal if it could be 4 leagues of 10. 16/18 league games is more than enough, as mentioned teams lost interest very early with the 3 round league.

In relation to the cup left, Cathedral Watergrasshill would be a great final but they could easily be caught somewhere with no time between games. I would imagine Watergrasshill did a bit of celebrating after the cup win so the temple game tomorrow could go either way.

Final point, is there really need for the Corinthians cup? Adding to the back log of fixtures and not even a day out in the Cross. I see the final is on up in Castleview again

Play it out
12/06/2023, 2:16 PM
I think everyone is on board that a reshuffle is needed.

You can see across the board in Cork soccer, 2 years after COVID return, managers and players have moved on.

MSL can rely on their own clubs to regenerate. CBL are fine. AUL needs the forced reshuffle. It's unprecedented. Can't blame AUL for much of the drop outs, etc.

Anyone here that's involved in clubs should be voicing at AGM, delegate meetings, emails, etc. They are certainly open to listening but will need clubs help here.

AULboy
12/06/2023, 2:56 PM
People on this are trying to see the better side of the aul, let’s be Frank the aul is an absolute joke the way they done the cups and fixtures this year, some of ye on this might not like to hear this but the refs and everyone else involved with the aul are scared of some team overtaking coachford it took a few questionable calls to make sure coachford got there place in the aoh cup final and anybody who has played against them this year would admit it as well. The AOH was there for the taken this year and the aul made sure it went when they wanted. I don’t want to be misquoted by anyone on this with them saying I’m discrediting all Coachfords success they’ve been unreal but they also are getting a lot of questionable calls

Play it out
12/06/2023, 4:33 PM
Ah come on now.

I'm someone who has had issues with AUL decisions through the years but I strongly believe that the men there still care.

I don't belive the conspired to Coachfords benefit, crazy.

AULboy
12/06/2023, 6:29 PM
Ah come on now.

I'm someone who has had issues with AUL decisions through the years but I strongly believe that the men there still care.

I don't belive the conspired to Coachfords benefit, crazy.
I was out there that day watching the game, the ref on the day I won’t name him, coachford had a ball about 6 yards over the line and the ref said it was still in play leading directly to the goal, I refuse to believe he did not see how far over the line the ball was. There afraid of Coachford going MSL and there keeping them in the league

SteveSilvermint
12/06/2023, 8:39 PM
I was out there that day watching the game, the ref on the day I won’t name him, coachford had a ball about 6 yards over the line and the ref said it was still in play leading directly to the goal, I refuse to believe he did not see how far over the line the ball was. There afraid of Coachford going MSL and there keeping them in the league
Jim -stand in 1spot -Hennessy..very poor standard of ref is Jim Hennessy…

Play it out
12/06/2023, 8:49 PM
Lads read these forums, I don't think it's nice or appropriate to bash a ref luke that. Whatever ability a ref is at, I'd like to think they're not conspiring for Coachford to win AOH. Mistake or not we all make them be it players, managers, refs or whoever else.

SteveSilvermint
12/06/2023, 9:26 PM
Lads read these forums, I don't think it's nice or appropriate to bash a ref luke that. Whatever ability a ref is at, I'd like to think they're not conspiring for Coachford to win AOH. Mistake or not we all make them be it players, managers, refs or whoever else.
He’s getting 50\60 euro a game that s more then the player in the day he was appalling consistently made the wrong call including not given coachford a blatant penalty didn’t say he conspired… coachford are a fine sides and deserve their success.

latte2012
12/06/2023, 9:58 PM
This is nonsense. The refs have been equally bad for every team this season. Ask any club and they’ll tell you about a crazy decision that went against them. As poor as they are we can’t give out about them too much cos without them there will be no games.

SteveSilvermint
12/06/2023, 10:27 PM
This is nonsense. The refs have been equally bad for every team this season. Ask any club and they’ll tell you about a crazy decision that went against them. As poor as they are we can’t give out about them too much cos without them there will be no games. cod yourself it’s about money with them …

Jason Bourne
12/06/2023, 11:37 PM
Gone a bit off topic lads.

What we whingin about now.

Rigged leagues.
Biased refs.
All conqering sides who will be favoured.
Being the best team in the worst league in Cork and then making out your streets ahead is some pat on the back to ya kid. What a complement to that team.
Reserrected teams who we all should fear.
Doubles an trebles in the worst league in Cork.

The rest of Ireland must be dreading the Fai an MJC draw . Oh please not an Aul team.

Have I missed something.

Completly lost the run of ourselves.

The league is built on promotion an relegation. End of.

Not ,can I get my friends to join this season.

We are creating the issue for the Aul.

When clubs were clubs we didnt have the issues we have now.

I have major issues with the Aul .

But.....

The Aul dose not award a walkover .

The Aul dose not field an illegal player.

The Aul dose not abuse a ref .

The clubs/players do that.

I am all for pointing the finger , but sometimes you have to look at yourself as well.

Ballwasthere
13/06/2023, 4:53 PM
Refereeing is a tough gig, if you’re wrong then you’re wrong, if you’re right you’re usually still wrong in the other teams eyes, Jim’s a nice fella but he’s also human, he could be a bit more mobile on the pitch I agree there should be a fitness test but the reality is that we are chronically low on reffs in every league and age, we wouldn’t have any games if not for them. The lads are genuinely trying their best from what I see, I watch a lot of the CBL and trust me they say the same about their referees.

Ballwasthere
13/06/2023, 4:54 PM
The carry on of some teams lines and players doesn’t help either, some of them aren’t up to standard so it’s the referees fault a lot of the time.
Glenthorn, Knocka, Glen Celtic and Village in particular have been their own worst enemy in terms of reffs going against them with the abuse from their lines.

I would be the first to agree the season went on too long but overall I’ve enjoyed watching this season a lot across all leagues, a lot of the teams seem younger this year so hopefully the standard raises back up in the next few years, try to focus on the positives lads

Jason Bourne
13/06/2023, 9:49 PM
Ard Na Laoi gave Grattan a walk over , they couldn't field a team.

latte2012
14/06/2023, 12:49 PM
Ard Na Laoi gave Grattan a walk over , they couldn't field a team.
Must be nearly impossible for a team with nothing to play for to field a team at this stage in the year.

Jd2793
14/06/2023, 1:58 PM
Must be nearly impossible for a team with nothing to play for to field a team at this stage in the year.

plenty of teams do it. the aul is particularly shambolic at this time of year for teams giving walkovers.

Dr. football
14/06/2023, 3:45 PM
plenty of teams do it. the aul is particularly shambolic at this time of year for teams giving walkovers.

Happens ever league.

Hacker
14/06/2023, 8:54 PM
have many posters seen watergrasshill? have they many lads who'd do a job in msl prem/1st?

Saw them Sunday Right winger got a hatrick and the striker looked very sharp upfront.

Was chatting with a lad in the stand he said they got a few from Fermoy team.

AULboy
19/06/2023, 9:56 AM
Will watergrasshill show there class and come up to temple tomorrow and watch them lift the cup or will they take the easy way out and not show up

JC_GUFC
19/06/2023, 1:27 PM
Hi all,

I know nothing about Cork Junior football but just reading through the thread and ye're saying Coachford are way ahead of the rest - if that's the case why would they not join the Munster Senior League?

Have clubs ever moved from AUL to MSL?

In the last few years in Dublin the AUL there has fallen apart because all their clubs have left to join the Leinster Senior League, even though they have to go down to the 5th Division.

Play it out
19/06/2023, 3:26 PM
Many teams have moved over to MSL.

Many teams over in MSL have brought their junior side into MSL.

It has certainly weekend the AUL.

I feel any club with underage, good facilities and people involved should move over.

Coachford have expressed that it'll take a few years to move up through the divisons in MSL and may be weak by then.

Play it out
19/06/2023, 4:49 PM
Not off hand. But, a club should probably look to what's best for the future and that does look elsewhere. A few clubs have the underage and facilities, stange there hasn't been a movement by them.

Ballwasthere
19/06/2023, 9:00 PM
Park and Leeside bought relegated from 1st division this season.

The 2nd division is we’re most of the AUL teams are and was a spilt league because of the amount of teams in it . One would assume they will have a 3rd division made up of all the old AUL. Teams next season. Beside Kanturk won 2nd division. All seem to be serving. But they have the facilities and under age structure.

Buttevant, pearse and Killreen really have no business in the MSL and should of stayed AUL!

Buttevant didn’t enter a team after the spilt in 2nd division.

Pearse finished bottom of the 2b

Killreen are down to 1 team in the 3rd division of the junior section!

Killreen at the time were clearly the second strongest side in the AUL after Park, for whatever reason it didn’t work out for them, made sense for them at the time but a truly disastrous decision

fruice
20/06/2023, 5:04 AM
Will watergrasshill show there class and come up to temple tomorrow and watch them lift the cup or will they take the easy way out and not show up

It is the right thing to do in most situations but if this is the same Temple that are heading MSL they might think twice about heading up there.