View Full Version : Cork AUL 2022/23

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8

ExplainThis
08/05/2023, 9:55 AM
Bourne living up to their name with cryptic messages! :D No point making posts like your last two without giving context. Much rather see a post like Silvermint say it as they see it about a refereeing performance. To be fair if we made a post for every poor display this thread would be 30 pages! Not an easy job....

Where's wolly
08/05/2023, 4:47 PM
Having being involved with clubs in the AUL for over 20 years today I heard what I thought was the biggest wind up ever! Having contacted someone involved with a club it's been confirmed true.

The AUL wish to want to play the City Challenge Cup final up in Castleviews Pitch.

Having looked at all other finals this year where 6 of the 9 will be played in Turners Cross, 1 played in St Colemans park and another in The Markdyke this isn't right at all

From an AUL point they'd strongly want to consider an alternative.

latte2012
09/05/2023, 12:48 PM
Having being involved with clubs in the AUL for over 20 years today I heard what I thought was the biggest wind up ever! Having contacted someone involved with a club it's been confirmed true.

The AUL wish to want to play the City Challenge Cup final up in Castleviews Pitch.

Having looked at all other finals this year where 6 of the 9 will be played in Turners Cross, 1 played in St Colemans park and another in The Markdyke this isn't right at all

From an AUL point they'd strongly want to consider an alternative.

Wow! If true that’s appalling. What keeps fellas interested throughout the season is the possibility of “a day out at the cross”.

Where's wolly
09/05/2023, 2:15 PM
I'm aware the AUL made a complete mess up by only booking Turners Cross for 5 or 6 finals and from what I'm hearing that's definitely out as its booked out etc. But as you mentioned, it's all about "the day out" and the buzz of having friends and family members come and watch and playing on a decent surface for a change lol. There's better playing surfaces in some AUL pitches than Castleviews Pitch ffs ?. I would imagine whatever 2 clubs get to the final will be kicking up a huge fuss over this and rightly so. Shocking from AUL to even have considered this

fruice
10/05/2023, 10:07 AM
To be fair this isn’t the AUL’s fault the Munster FA are calling the shots in Turners Cross.

Where's wolly
10/05/2023, 2:02 PM
But Castleview? Really.. Sadly my playing days are long over but if I was still playing and that's what was suggested I'd be disgusted. They simply have to do better if you ask me, St Colemans Park, The Farm in Curraheen, The Markdyke arena all alternatives. Even a decent MSL pitch, Blarney United, Ringmahon Rangers bith far better playing surfaces than up in Castleview.

AULboy
13/05/2023, 6:25 PM
To be fair this isn’t the AUL’s fault the Munster FA are calling the shots in Turners Cross.
The cup they are on about being played in Castleview is the City Challenge cup, the equivalent to this cup is the Country cup witch is being played in St Coleman’s park. As it stands it looks like two north side clubs are gonna be in the final. The attractive thing about the AUL is that ever club has numerous changes to play out in the cross why is it the country cup can be played in a stadium but the city cup is just put up in castleview

Jason Bourne
14/05/2023, 11:05 PM
Sorry lads really really have to apologise for the lack of clarity .

I have been away with work.

The Aul and Cork in general is a small place and I'd of thought the Grattan /Glenthorns 8 min league game was common knowledge.

The league game lasted 8 mins , one side had 7 players for 7 mins an lost a player through injury in the 8th minute.
It took me 30 minutes to get there . An it was over in 8 mins.

It's knowones fault , it is what it is ,,,, its done now.

A hero of mine left us this week ,,,,,

has passed on,,,,,

a ledgend of a player ,,,,

a gent of a man ,,,,

a really special guy ,

I personally will miss him ,,,,

He was the best striker I have ever played against .

the Aul an Cork football has lost one of the really good guys ,,,,,,,,RIP a friend , top top man. We spew enough ****e on this from time to time,,,,,,let's not do that now

RIP my friend Greenmount , Temple an basketball on the Northside is a lesser place for you leaving ,,,say high to Bob's an Pops .

Where's wolly
16/05/2023, 12:26 AM
Exactly my point. When was the last time a AUL final wasn't played in a stadium of sorts? I know there was a final in the Markdyke Arena the other day but that at least has a small stand and a beautiful playing surface. I still can't believe the AUL even considered Castleviews Pitch for a final. Makes a mockery of it and looks very poor on the organisations part

Play it out
16/05/2023, 10:48 AM
I assume Grattan will get the points as it was Glenthorn's fault for game not finishing?

Fair play to those who turned out. I'd imaging with that little numbers, they had lads who just didn't bother showing up. You'd think a B team whould help that situation. Will Glenthorn, Village & Temple strengthen in the summer? All had dissapoinitng league campaigns.

Jason Bourne
16/05/2023, 8:41 PM
Corkbeg 2 Coachford 1 tonite.

Thursday nights game should be a belter.( no pun intended:) )

Coachford have Corkbeg at home
Springfield away twice.

Plus the Aoh final, which I personally think will be a cracker V a really good Watergrasshill side.

Grattan have Village away an Glenthorn home an away.

Great to see the league finish like this ?

latte2012
17/05/2023, 1:29 PM
Corkbeg 2 Coachford 1 tonite.

Thursday nights game should be a belter.( no pun intended:) )

Coachford have Corkbeg at home
Springfield away twice.

Plus the Aoh final, which I personally think will be a cracker V a really good Watergrasshill side.

Grattan have Village away an Glenthorn home an away.

Great to see the league finish like this ?

Mad the way the fixtures were done this season. Coachfords last 4 games in the league against the 2 same teams. I think there was teams first 2 games of the season were back to back fixtures against each other too.

Hard to see coachford slipping up again tho. Keeps the title race interesting anyway. Hope watergrasshill win the AOH. Great for a club like that to win something big, a club that could have easily folded like others when the going got tough.

Play it out
17/05/2023, 3:56 PM
Multiple games close together serve absolutely no good, bring potential for negativity. Spreading them out would help.

Play it out
18/05/2023, 7:34 PM
Plenty of talk of a game abandoned last week in Leghanamore. Terrible abuse of the referee by Greenwood by all accounts. Multiple red cards including commitee members. No place for it. AUL to surely take the appropriate action against Greenwood. The cup final abandonment was a disgrace by teams. If people are that worked up then keep it away from the games.

ExplainThis
19/05/2023, 9:15 AM
Fixtures throughout the season have had no logic to them. Like mentioned above, there's been multiple examples of teams playing each other consecutively and other things like that. This surely can and should be avoided.

latte2012
19/05/2023, 11:32 AM
Fixtures throughout the season have had no logic to them. Like mentioned above, there's been multiple examples of teams playing each other consecutively and other things like that. This surely can and should be avoided.

Pure laziness with arranging the fixtures. AUL needs to do better.

Jason Bourne
19/05/2023, 1:24 PM
Tis a bit of a joke to be honest , it's common knowledge and completly wrong .

fruice
20/05/2023, 7:50 AM
The cup they are on about being played in Castleview is the City Challenge cup, the equivalent to this cup is the Country cup witch is being played in St Coleman’s park. As it stands it looks like two north side clubs are gonna be in the final. The attractive thing about the AUL is that ever club has numerous changes to play out in the cross why is it the country cup can be played in a stadium but the city cup is just put up in castleview

I suppose maybe they said they would leave the County Cup Final be played in the county if they could only get it once!!!

It’s all to do with availability these stadiums are hard to get and being minded more and more all the time.

The carry on in the AOH Cup Final certainly hasn’t helped things

SteveSilvermint
20/05/2023, 4:36 PM
Sorry lads really really have to apologise for the lack of clarity .

I have been away with work.

The Aul and Cork in general is a small place and I'd of thought the Grattan /Glenthorns 8 min league game was common knowledge.

The league game lasted 8 mins , one side had 7 players for 7 mins an lost a player through injury in the 8th minute.
It took me 30 minutes to get there . An it was over in 8 mins.

It's knowones fault , it is what it is ,,,, its done now.

A hero of mine left us this week ,,,,,

has passed on,,,,,

a ledgend of a player ,,,,

a gent of a man ,,,,

a really special guy ,

I personally will miss him ,,,,

He was the best striker I have ever played against .

the Aul an Cork football has lost one of the really good guys ,,,,,,,,RIP a friend , top top man. We spew enough ****e on this from time to time,,,,,,let's not do that now

RIP my friend Greenmount , Temple an basketball on the Northside is a lesser place for you leaving ,,,say high to Bob's an Pops .
You left out red city I personally knew him playing 3 seasons in same side as him I echo all you posted the man was class

Hacker
20/05/2023, 6:03 PM
Bweeng 3 Bosco 4 after extra time.

Great fighting spirit by Bweeng after a rough start in the first half 3-1 down to bring it to extra time.

Hacker
21/05/2023, 7:38 PM
Hearing rumours of Knocka back in the AuL next year?

Can anyone confirm?

AULboy
22/05/2023, 11:50 AM
But still the north side clubs falling in the muck again to the hands of the AUL they would want to really take a good look at the committee and make some changes this coming year, the aul is becoming less and less attractive to play in and it’s becoming more and more prevalent with the decisions they are making

fruice
22/05/2023, 6:51 PM
Whilst the AUL is at fault in certain situations.

The north sides biggest problem is that some of them arent clubs they are teams.

They have no structures in place when they hit hard times they are gone as they have no real set up or plan to keep the whole thing going.

Any in some cases they don’t have any interest to keep the show on the road.

They then reappear a few later or even the following season under another name.

They are good time Charlie’s
It’s a joke it stops genuine clubs from progressing.

Which I think is all wrong.

Play it out
22/05/2023, 9:03 PM
Knocka Celtic will be like Blarney Street and with similar personal involved. Where do you put them?

AULboy
23/05/2023, 7:35 AM
Whilst the AUL is at fault in certain situations.

The north sides biggest problem is that some of them arent clubs they are teams.

They have no structures in place when they hit hard times they are gone as they have no real set up or plan to keep the whole thing going.

Any in some cases they don’t have any interest to keep the show on the road.

They then reappear a few later or even the following season under another name.

They are good time Charlie’s
It’s a joke it stops genuine clubs from progressing.

Which I think is all wrong.

While I agree with you that it’s a joke teams can come in and out as the please, I work with a lad who plays for Temple B and threw out this season he has told me 4-5 times where the aul have sabotaged there season weither intentionally or not and every single one of those players on that B team since January have all stepped in and played with the A and B team to keep there team alive, if ye want more detail on how the aul have not done this team any favours I can elaborate

latte2012
23/05/2023, 8:55 AM
While I agree with you that it’s a joke teams can come in and out as the please, I work with a lad who plays for Temple B and threw out this season he has told me 4-5 times where the aul have sabotaged there season weither intentionally or not and every single one of those players on that B team since January have all stepped in and played with the A and B team to keep there team alive, if ye want more detail on how the aul have not done this team any favours I can elaborate
How is it the AUL fault if the b team had to step up and play for the a team. Sounds like the a team was full of good time Charlie’s. They had no problem filling both teams when they were winning a couple of seasons ago. Some of these north side teams could learn a thing or two from the county teams on how the keep going when the going gets tough.

fruice
23/05/2023, 9:02 AM
For the sake of clarity do elaborate because from the outside looking in Temple seem to have plenty of their own problems.

LetItLong11
23/05/2023, 9:51 AM
Have to agree with the above that teams folding and starting up again a season or two later is a joke. Plenty teams struggling for numbers at the moment with nothing to play for but still get a team out on the pitch.

In relation to Temple B, have the rules for A & B status changed that they can play their B players in the A team and not lose their B status?

The AUL really do not help themselves, I heard over the weekend that the Bweeng Boscos County cup quarter final should never have been played as Bweeng had never played Banteer Bs in the first round! Will be very interesting to see what they do with that one now, will they just put Boscos playing Banteer Bs in the quarter final now!?

latte2012
23/05/2023, 9:54 AM
Have to agree with the above that teams folding and starting up again a season or two later is a joke. Plenty teams struggling for numbers at the moment with nothing to play for but still get a team out on the pitch.

In relation to Temple B, have the rules for A & B status changed that they can play their B players in the A team and not lose their B status?

The AUL really do not help themselves, I heard over the weekend that the Bweeng Boscos County cup quarter final should never have been played as Bweeng had never played Banteer Bs in the first round! Will be very interesting to see what they do with that one now, will they just put Boscos playing Banteer Bs in the quarter final now!?

The fixtures have been a mess in fairness. I saw that bweeng were down to play banteer in the second round and the down to play boscos in the quarter final too. Unless banteer decided they no longer wanted to play but that seems unlikely.

ExplainThis
23/05/2023, 12:41 PM
Would be interesting to hear how their seasons were sabotaged by the AUL?

It's a hard slog for any club putting out 1 team at times, not to mind 2. Maybe just another example of a Club biting off more than they can chew as the season progresses. Over past 2 months I think a lot of teams are just about fulfilling fixtures.

AULboy
23/05/2023, 1:06 PM
Would be interesting to hear how their seasons were sabotaged by the AUL?

It's a hard slog for any club putting out 1 team at times, not to mind 2. Maybe just another example of a Club biting off more than they can chew as the season progresses. Over past 2 months I think a lot of teams are just about fulfilling fixtures.

Temple B we’re told they must finish there A team fixtures while not being allowed sign 1 player who has already signed for a club despite the transfer window being open, They signed a player from the cow got confirmation of the signing that the player was allowed to play, the said player then played in there 3-0 win in the aoh over Grangevale temple were then removed from the aoh by the aul saying the player wasn’t signed, In there League cup the AUL called the game off to give temple a free week and coachford apealed it rules said the league couldn’t call off the game so temple were removed from the cup and coachford were into the next round.

Play it out
23/05/2023, 1:15 PM
That cup game that shouldn't have been played sounds a huge mistake.

I've also heard of teams getting massive favours in terms of weekends off that brings the competition into an unfair category.

Some teams are getting far more away games than home games too in 3 round leagues.

Average Baller
23/05/2023, 8:55 PM
Was at Shandon 2 Los Zarcos 2 in division 2 tonight, think that officially promotes both Shandon and Blackstone but those 2 teams on show tonight are by far the best in the division. Los Zarcos just given themselves too much to do too late in the season after a few slip ups. Amazingly their next game is also against Shandon, some of the fixture scheduling in the AUL is beyond ridiculous.

Jason Bourne
23/05/2023, 9:18 PM
I was told once , if it smells like it an it looks like it , probably a good chance it is what ya think it is. We can't all be wrong .

fruice
23/05/2023, 9:34 PM
Was at Shandon 2 Los Zarcos 2 in division 2 tonight, think that officially promotes both Shandon and Blackstone but those 2 teams on show tonight are by far the best in the division. Los Zarcos just given themselves too much to do too late in the season after a few slip ups. Amazingly their next game is also against Shandon, some of the fixture scheduling in the AUL is beyond ridiculous.

It theory it doesn’t Blackstone must still bear Glenthorn B to be sure but that will be no problem.

Ya a few bad draws cost Los Zarcos
I think you are right Los Zarcos and Shandon are the top 2 in the Division but Blackstone won a lot of games by a goal and did enough to get promoted.
Shandon were a better team than Los Zarcos last year but now I think they are very much on par.

Shandons lack of legs in places is starting to show.

But in saying that they will be more than able in division 1

Play it out
23/05/2023, 9:39 PM
In all divisions, multiple games between the top sides have been left to the last part of the season and back to back

Imagine, no relegation to top it off!!!

Jd2793
23/05/2023, 9:41 PM
For the sake of clarity do elaborate because from the outside looking in Temple seem to have plenty of their own problems.

heard temple are going MSL any truth to that?

Jason Bourne
23/05/2023, 9:59 PM
MSL Junior is the rumor.
That Grey Goose may not even lift off next season.

Lads will talk in pubs , get all riled up an say we are getting back together but the reality is then someone has to be a grown up and take responsibility an then it all falls down.

There's a reason certain clubs are there the longest,,,,there more orgainsed,,,, the waifs an strays stay for a bit an win a league an a cup an have a glorious few seasons an there called United or Celtic something an then its back to a few pints an come on we call it something else an start again,,,,,but I suppose that's what the Aul has all been built on all these years.

The Northside is at a bit of a crossroads,,,,lots of clubs emerging an getting stronger an a few falling back , tis the way football goes , be interesting to see what happens .

fruice
23/05/2023, 10:13 PM
In all divisions, multiple games between the top sides have been left to the last part of the season and back to back

Imagine, no relegation to top it off!!!

To be fair they had to do the no relegation as they needed to try and balance the divisions out.

Clubs refused promotions it was to only way to counter act this

Jason Bourne
23/05/2023, 10:55 PM
Look , sometimes your only option is a bad option.

Ya have to just get on with it an hope ya come out the other side better ,,,,but you have to learn from it or else its pointless.

We at least are here fighting the fight for the Aul .

We do care .

It's just it seems to fall on deaf ears.
Pity really

LetItLong11
25/05/2023, 10:10 AM
Temple B we’re told they must finish there A team fixtures while not being allowed sign 1 player who has already signed for a club despite the transfer window being open, They signed a player from the cow got confirmation of the signing that the player was allowed to play, the said player then played in there 3-0 win in the aoh over Grangevale temple were then removed from the aoh by the aul saying the player wasn’t signed, In there League cup the AUL called the game off to give temple a free week and coachford apealed it rules said the league couldn’t call off the game so temple were removed from the cup and coachford were into the next round.

That divisional game does sound like it was harsh on Temple. There seems to be plenty errors in relation to most the cups!

In relation to Temple going MSL, are teams able to switch over again? I thought MSL were trying to cut down on teams and even this year I heard there might be a few teams who wont get their application renewed.

You would imagine if it was open again for teams to move that Coachford would surely make switch at this stage?

Average Baller
25/05/2023, 11:12 AM
Any word on Greenmount for next season lads? Will they be back? Be a shame to lose them entirely.

latte2012
25/05/2023, 11:55 AM
Hard to have any sympathy for temple. The behaviour of their sideline and players is embarrassing. Definitely wouldn’t be tolerated in the MSL.

fruice
25/05/2023, 12:36 PM

Some parts to that story don’t add up the rule book works both ways and if the AUL were in breach of the rule book Temple have to right to appeal.

The thing I couldn’t figure in the Temple situation was we all heard the A team was gone and by the rule book the B team replaces them and the B team becomes the premier team and the lower ranked team folds.

This was obviously put to Temple ,the B team says screw that we are staying put in division 3.

Temple then put together a thrown together A team which took some awful hammerings.
Fair play to those boys that stepped up in to this situation.

If temple don’t go MSL won’t this all play out again next season and if not the teams will have to come together and play premier anyway.

And costing other clubs some success in league 3.

latte2012
25/05/2023, 8:01 PM
Can anyone make out what’s going on with the county cup? Looking at the fixtures and banteer v bweeng to play in the second round after bweeng getting knocked out last week by boscos ??

Hacker
25/05/2023, 8:56 PM
Taken from the below website.

https://www.corkaul.com/2023/05/aul-fixtures-from-2nd-june-to-8th-june.html

Tuesday 6th 7pm ko;
County Cup S/F;
Bweeng/CFCBanteer B/ Boscos v Hibs/Churchville/Ard Na Laoi, Vtba, S Madine.

Looks like Bosco's and Bweeng could be doing it all over again.

Surely Bweeng have to be out at this stage. Dont know the situation with Banteer they shouldnt be screwed either if they are not at fault.

Banteer v Bosco's would seem like the logical choice in this situation.

But who knows

latte2012
25/05/2023, 9:44 PM
Taken from the below website.

https://www.corkaul.com/2023/05/aul-fixtures-from-2nd-june-to-8th-june.html

Tuesday 6th 7pm ko;
County Cup S/F;
Bweeng/CFCBanteer B/ Boscos v Hibs/Churchville/Ard Na Laoi, Vtba, S Madine.

Looks like Bosco's and Bweeng could be doing it all over again.

Surely Bweeng have to be out at this stage. Dont know the situation with Banteer they shouldnt be screwed either if they are not at fault.

Banteer v Bosco's would seem like the logical choice in this situation.

But who knows

bweeng were beaten fair and square by boscos already. Giving them another crack at it no matter the circumstances seems crazy. But then again the whole thing is crazy ? why would banteer not be in it? They were in the semi of the AOH. Surely would fancy the county cup for themselves.

Jason Bourne
25/05/2023, 9:50 PM
The most important thing to have as an Aul team is not players , money or facilities,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,it's a sence of humor.

Hacker
26/05/2023, 6:19 AM
bweeng were beaten fair and square by boscos already. Giving them another crack at it no matter the circumstances seems crazy. But then again the whole thing is crazy ? why would banteer not be in it? They were in the semi of the AOH. Surely would fancy the county cup for themselves.

Agreed giving Bweeng a second bite of the cherry seems a bit mad allrite.

Not saying Banteer shouldnt be in it. I dont know the situation for their game against Bweeng.

Did they forfeit or did the AUL plain forget about them.

Play it out
26/05/2023, 8:41 AM
Serious change in mentality from AUL to stop these errors. Clubs and the people involved are very passionate. It's their whole week, takes up serious time. To be messed around with mistakes, chaotic fixtures and a lack of commitment to their responsibility is not acceptable.