View Full Version : Armenia V Republic of Ireland - Saturday, 4th June 2022 - 2022/23 UEFA Nations League

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7

29/05/2022, 2:54 PM
Its fancy new coaching speak. Kenny is a nightmare for it. My other favorite new one is the midfield "pivot".

Or even better “double pivot”.

Most football terminology/commentator speak drives me up the wall. Phrases which should be banned are “Two banks of four” “Get in behind” “Played it into an area.” I’m sure there’s more, but that’s just off the top of my head.

30/05/2022, 7:38 AM
Jaysus, some of ye are easily annoyed. Football speak is full of clichés, and always has been. What harm that people have a slightly more complex jargon available to them than "the Teddy Sherringham role"? Their meaning is clear enough if you pay any attention at all. I'm sure your grandad was yelling at a cloud about the terms "back four" and "midfield". Any formation after the WM is the tool of the devil. In my day, a playmaker got 45 minutes and 85 rods to the Melton Mobray pork pie, and that's the way I likes it darn it.

30/05/2022, 11:06 AM
Is it though? I keep hearing that Ronaldo doesnt work at United because he doesnt press enough (nonsense arguement btw). Jack used to pick the likes of Tommy Coyne just so he could press from the frontFacing criticism of his goal return rate in his early Ireland games Aldo once said "we work so hard upfront my legs are worn to stumps".

30/05/2022, 6:56 PM
Any guesses/preferences on line up?

Baz
Collins
Duffy
Egan
Christie
Cullen
Hendrick
McClean
Ogbene
Obafemi
Robbo

though you'd have to think he'll find a spot for Coleman (possibly back 3 instead of RWB). I know that Lampard loves him but he had some awful appearances for Everton in the last stretch. At least 3-4 bad mistakes in the last 3 games. I fear that he is done at this level, as a top player, but we definitely need his leadership and personality.

gally
30/05/2022, 7:09 PM

Baz
Collins
Duffy
Egan
Christie
Cullen
Hendrick
McClean
Ogbene
Obafemi
Robbo

though you'd have to think he'll find a spot for Coleman (possibly back 3 instead of RWB). I know that Lampard loves him but he had some awful appearances for Everton in the last stretch. At least 3-4 bad mistakes in the last 3 games. I fear that he is done at this level, as a top player, but we definitely need his leadership and personality.

Cullen suspended for first game, hoping Knight/Molumby might play CM.

seanfhear
30/05/2022, 7:30 PM
Facing criticism of his goal return rate in his early Ireland games Aldo once said "we work so hard upfront my legs are worn to stumps".
In fairness to Aldo ~ ~ He was willing to do that while being at Liverpool ( playing at the top level ) ~ ~ There would be some that wouldn’t be willing to do it playing at that club level. They might think it was Not for them.

30/05/2022, 7:36 PM
Cullen suspended for first game, hoping Knight/Molumby might play CM.

Knight looks our brightest midfield prospect to me and I think he should be starting. Touch of quality about him on the ball.

30/05/2022, 8:15 PM
I'm still wondering how to balance the squad out over four end-of-season games.

Armenia should be the easiest game of the four, but if we don't win it then we've really set ourselves up for a crap campaign. So do you go full strength to win this game, knowing that means you'll probably need to rotate the squad in the harder games? Or do you field a slightly weaker team here and keep some of the others back for the harder games, but in doing so increase the risk of slipping on the banana skin? (We saw how the Lithuania game went, and these are a good bit higher-ranked).

If Coleman's form is starting to drop at PL level, I'd have him in for this one. Similarly McClean is hardly going to start all four games so you've got to choose which ones he plays. Does Obafemi want to play all four with his injury worries? He seems half decent, so while it'd be great to tie him right from the outset, I'd keep him back for the other games. Hamilton might be a bit of a risk against Ukraine/Scotland, but so do you start him here?

Probably similar calls all around the park. I don't envy Kenny plotting out the week tbh.

30/05/2022, 8:21 PM
Knight looks our brightest midfield prospect to me and I think he should be starting. Touch of quality about him on the ball.

He is class. Kenny had been playing him in one of the three front roles though which is why i left him out as i would love to (selfishly) see that front 3 get some time together against Armenia!

I dont see him as like for like for the suspended Cullen - but could be wrong there. Not sure we have a totally natural replacement for Cullen actually.

30/05/2022, 8:23 PM
I'm still wondering how to balance the squad out over four end-of-season games.

Armenia should be the easiest game of the four, but if we don't win it then we've really set ourselves up for a crap campaign. So do you go full strength to win this game, knowing that means you'll probably need to rotate the squad in the harder games? Or do you field a slightly weaker team here and keep some of the others back for the harder games, but in doing so increase the risk of slipping on the banana skin? (We saw how the Lithuania game went, and these are a good bit higher-ranked).

If Coleman's form is starting to drop at PL level, I'd have him in for this one. Similarly McClean is hardly going to start all four games so you've got to choose which ones he plays. Does Obafemi want to play all four with his injury worries? He seems half decent, so while it'd be great to tie him right from the outset, I'd keep him back for the other games. Hamilton might be a bit of a risk against Ukraine/Scotland, but so do you start him here?

Probably similar calls all around the park. I don't envy Kenny plotting out the week tbh.

Good points all round. Re: Coleman, i was thinking this might be the one to allow Billy Ray to get his international bearings again.

JR89
30/05/2022, 8:29 PM

Baz
Collins
Duffy
Egan
Christie
Cullen
Hendrick
McClean
Ogbene
Obafemi
Robbo

Only way Christie is starting ahead of Coleman is if Kenny wants to have him fully fit for the two home games. We saw how the three games in a single window affected our squad so we'll have to do some rotation. Probably a bit of luck that Cullen can't play the first game so, even if it's a ridiculous decision that two yellows can rule you out for a game 8 months later in a completely different competition.

Bazunu
Collins - Duffy - Egan
Coleman - Hendrick - Hourihane - ???
Ogbene - Robinson - Knight

It's more than likely gonna be the team that started against Belgium with Coleman replacing Doherty, Collins in at RCB, and Hourihane replacing Cullen. Hourihane has started the last two friendlies Cullen hasn't, and while long term the position Hendrick plays will probably be Knights I wouldn't be moving him from the front three even with Cullen out.

As for LWB, Kenny has said both lads are coming in with injuries, and I think it's gonna come down to whoever is fittest come the first game and they'll rotate both lads each game. Coleman also came in with a groin twinge though Kenny said he'll be alright for Armenia.

31/05/2022, 2:51 AM
As for LWB, Kenny has said both lads are coming in with injuries, and I think it's gonna come down to whoever is fittest come the first game and they'll rotate both lads each game.
Manning might be in with a shout for the first game to give the other two more time to get right for the bigger games.

JR89
31/05/2022, 11:51 AM
Manning might be in with a shout for the first game to give the other two more time to get right for the bigger games.

Both lads have been training with the rest of the squad so look ready to go but Manning already being in the squad Kenny has his concerns about one or both even seeing out the window without picking up injuries. And I'd say that's Manning's best chance of seeing any minutes.

I'm certain the other times he was called up with McClean and Stevens also in the squad we only named 3/4 CBs and had him in as fifth choice given he was playing their for Swansea.

Hopefully next season Bagan further pushes on and Adaramola can make a breakthrough at club level or get a loan. Need one of these young lads breaking into the squad over the next 18 months.

Diggs246
01/06/2022, 9:48 AM
The DM is a big question for teh Armenia game. We have relied on Josh Cullen and he has been great
He isn't around on Saturday and I'm not sure we have a replacement. Jeff will start but will he go with Conor Hourihane who isnt very good or try Knight there. which might open a spot for Ofafemi in the attacking three.

01/06/2022, 10:07 AM
Molumby surely? He's not the most mobile player, but he can sit deep and spray the ball around

Diggs246
01/06/2022, 11:00 AM
Molumby surely? He's not the most mobile player, but he can sit deep and spray the ball around

He hasn't been good for us at senior level. I would say kenny would be afraid to throw him in

He was a complete lunatic in some of the games I saw, fouls galore and and running around out of position

elatedscum
01/06/2022, 11:34 AM
not sure i'd start Jeff. Since the last international break, he's played a total of 68 minutes of football and was unused in 7 of 8 games.

I think our best midfield pairing is by far Cullen and Hendrick right now and I'd love to have them starting together for the last 3 games. Give him 30 minutes off the bench against Armenia, 60-70 minutes against Ukraine and see how he is for the Scotland game.

We should have enough about us to get past Armenia with two of Molumby, Hourihane and Knight in those holding roles. For arguments sake:

Bazunu

Coleman
Egan
Duffy
Collins
McClean

Knight
Molumby

Ogbene
Obafemi
Robinson

You'd worry about Coleman playing too many games, with Christie not really involved much so far under Kenny, but I don't think you'd want to remove too much experience from the side

Diggs246
01/06/2022, 11:38 AM
not sure i'd start Jeff. Since the last international break, he's played a total of 68 minutes of football and was unused in 7 of 8 games.

I think our best midfield pairing is by far Cullen and Hendrick right now and I'd love to have them starting together for the last 3 games. Give him 30 minutes off the bench against Armenia, 60-70 minutes against Ukraine and see how he is for the Scotland game.

We should have enough about us to get past Armenia with two of Molumby, Hourihane and Knight in those holding roles. For arguments sake:

Bazunu

Coleman
Egan
Duffy
Collins
McClean

Knight
Molumby

Ogbene
Obafemi
Robinson

You'd worry about Coleman playing too many games, with Christie not really involved much so far under Kenny, but I don't think you'd want to remove too much experience from the side

The Jeff situation is unusual, he hasn't been playing for his club for quite some time, including in the last two or three international windows, but amazingly he has been excellent.
So I would be shocked if he was dropped

Jd2793
01/06/2022, 11:49 AM
hendrick has been excellent needs the minutes so i see no reason to drop him here. hourihane/molumby in the 6 dont know who he'll go for.

01/06/2022, 11:56 AM
There's going to have to be a decent amount of rotation, I can't see much more than the keeper and maybe one or two centre backs playing all 4 games. If there's a few carrying knocks coming in then it makes no sense to start them in the Armenia game. Probably no harm this is the game Cullen is suspended for, he'll be needed more in the other games and should be ok to start the three of them. I'd say Christie and Molumby have a good chance to start. I wouldn't be surprised to see Manning here ahead of McClean, I think McClean is the one they'll want to have fully fit for the later games so won't risk, although Stevens is back now too and would be ahead of them both if he's fit enough. Ogbene and Ebosele offer some versatility, both have played at wing back on a regular basis at club level so might be able to do a job at certain stages if called on. Obafemi seems most likely to get a run among the new forwards in the squad and Armenia might be the right game to do it. I think Hamilton and Ebosele are most likely players in the squad to see no game time. Kenny likes Molumby and I think he might get in for the Armenia game. He had a good end to the season at club level and offers a lot more dynamism, although it's probably at the expense of some shape and organisation compared to the safer option of Hourihane.

For Armenia I think we might see;
Bazunu

Christie
Duffy
Egan
O'Shea
Manning

Molumby
Hendrick

Ogbene
Obafemi
Knight

Diggs246
01/06/2022, 12:01 PM
I would go with this.

Bazunu

coleman
Duffy
Egan
collins
Manning

Knight
Hendrick

Ogbene
Obafemi
Robinson

01/06/2022, 1:02 PM
I don't think he'll play Knight and Hendrick at the same time unless Knight is among the front 3. Hourihane, as unfashionable as he is here, is probably the safer bet.

JR89
01/06/2022, 1:27 PM
Knight would be wasted playing deeper in midfield, and we haven't looked good whenever we play with three actual forwards rather than a Knight or McGrath as one of the three. We don't have the midfield two to get away with playing three forwards.

Hourihane mostly likely will start since he started against Lithuania and Molumby didn't play a single minute that window. Could feel Molumby offers more energy in midfield but Knight would be there to drop in and help out if Hourihane starts.

Olé Olé
01/06/2022, 2:54 PM
I'd be shocked if Knight plays at the base of midfield. Playing him further forward is what allowed us to play two against Belgium. His pressing, his availability for the ball and general movement all are serious helps to us, and that is going forward- going backwards he shows immense effort too.

That's not to say he might not end up there or play there in the future. He may well do in another formation or if there is a player like him that can play further forward in his present position.

Jd2793
01/06/2022, 3:15 PM
dont think knight has many of the attributes needed to play in that position at the base of midfield. kenny seems to like going 343 vs "weaker" nations id expect him to line out like that saturday, games tend to be a bit more open.

Razors left peg
01/06/2022, 4:21 PM
I think Molumby played well in the last few games of the season for West Brom so he'd be my choice. I think that Kenny will pick Hourihane though. Hendrick has been excellent for us so I think there is no doubt that he plays regardless of how his club situation went recently.

We really need the likes of Coventry, Kilkenny and Smallbone to kick on sooner rather than later to give us better options. If you could replace Browne and Hourihane with 2 of those lads the midfield options would start looking better.

02/06/2022, 10:06 PM
Looks like Cullen has been cleared to play by UEFA on Saturday.

https://twitter.com/KennysKids/status/1532483575668477953?s=20&t=q_-mkjDkE3E2Qs6TKNUeEg

irishfan86
02/06/2022, 10:13 PM

https://twitter.com/KennysKids/status/1532483575668477953?s=20&t=q_-mkjDkE3E2Qs6TKNUeEg

That's good news but my favourite part is the idea of Obafemi playing through the middle. I've got really high hopes for him -- genuinely lethal pace and has shown recently he can be clinical as well.

Eirambler
02/06/2022, 10:21 PM
Starting Obafemi at centre forward would be interesting. But would likely mean either Robinson or Ogbene being dropped as Knight will surely start in one of the three attacking positions to help out the midfield. Probably Robinson dropping out in that case.

Razors left peg
02/06/2022, 10:37 PM
Great news that Cullen has been cleared to play, but is there an argument not to start him anyway? With 4 games in such a short space of time its hard to imagine any player will play every game and Armenia might be the 1 game we can rotate more.

Ukraine have 5 games in 2 weeks so they could be knackered by the last game too

Eirambler
02/06/2022, 10:41 PM
I think with Cullen it's a case of if he's available you play him. The drop off from him to the next best option in his position (Hourihane?) is too big to justify leaving him out.

Razors left peg
02/06/2022, 10:46 PM
I think with Cullen it's a case of if he's available you play him. The drop off from him to the next best option in his position (Hourihane?) is too big to justify leaving him out.

I agree, I think Cullen is the most important player in the squad when you look at the options to replace him

samhaydenjr
03/06/2022, 2:28 AM
That's good news but my favourite part is the idea of Obafemi playing through the middle. I've got really high hopes for him -- genuinely lethal pace and has shown recently he can be clinical as well.

Really looking forward to seeing him as well (although there's always the possibility that he may take a few games to settle in) - just to show how good his recent run was - it led to him being joint-fourteenth top scorer, which sounds alright, but it looks even better when you realise that his goals per 90 minutes over the season was fifth-highest and was probably second only to Mitrovic over the last few months

03/06/2022, 6:33 AM

What's happened there? He's either suspended or he isn't surely? You don't get dispensation 48 hours before a game.

Not a complaint mind; just seems strange

Edit - to answer my own question, he was suspended for a Nations League game because of two yellows in WC qualifying, which is a different tournament entirely.

Kenny isn’t entirely sure what prompted the turnaround and FAI officials suspect FIFA incorrectly interpreted Cullen’s situation as a red card, as his bookings both came against Luxembourg (in two different games).

Unusual error for FIFA to have made given there was nine months between the two games

https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/top-midfielder-josh-cullen-available-for-ireland-after-ban-lifted-following-administrative-misunderstanding-41715774.html

Jd2793
03/06/2022, 6:50 AM
that cullen news is a big boost in saying that is it a stretch to expect him to play 4 games? he is our most important player alright but 4 games in that space of time seems like a big ask. obafemi is an interesting one, i wouldnt be shocked to see him on the bench tomorrow and start the other games. kenny says hes improved with his back to goal but i wonder would kenny prefer robbo up top given armenia will likely sit off us, hes decent at drawing defenders out who want to sit in. wouldnt be against obafemi starting but i think the other games will suit him better.

irishfan86
03/06/2022, 6:59 AM
Gotta start Obafemi. Just get him on the field ASAP to put any rumours to bed about a potential switch and move on. He’s earned a start IMO given his excellent club form — need to get him properly integrated with Kenny’s system, this work should have already been under way.

03/06/2022, 7:13 AM
I don't think he's going to run away between the Armenia and Ukraine games in fairness.

I'd prioritise him for the games against good teams. Maybe bring him off the bench if tomorrow isn't going well (like against Lithuania or away to Luxembourg)

Olé Olé
03/06/2022, 7:16 AM
I do think that Robinson and Knight off Obafemi would be a nicely balanced forward line. Great pace ahead of the ball in Obafemi. Great pace behind the ball in Knight. Robinson able to pick up pockets and create chances for himself and others.

My issue there is I don't fancy dropping Ogbene. The beauty of this break is, however, that there are 4 games. So there is ample opportunity to try out these combos because players can't play every game. We have variations like that up front. Molumby, Hendrick and Cullen should see plenty of each other in midfield. O'Shea, Collins, Egan, Duffy and Coleman at the back. Lenihan needs a look. Is it just Christie and Coleman for right wing back? Festy? A few things like that would be nice. Hogan, Keane and Hourihane I'm not all that fussed on seeing, however. Browne and Manning I have my doubts over.

On that point, the squad is gaining more depth at last. Doherty, Idah, Omobamidele to come in. Dunne, Ronan, Sykes are capable of pressurizing some of the lads there.

Eirambler
03/06/2022, 9:12 AM
I don't think we'll see as much rotation as people maybe think, I don't see why someone like Cullen or Knight at their ages couldn't play the four games.

Different for the likes of Coleman who will probably need to be rotated in and out, but most of the younger lads should be fine here.

03/06/2022, 9:38 AM
Gotta start Obafemi. Just get him on the field ASAP to put any rumours to bed about a potential switch and move on. He’s earned a start IMO given his excellent club form — need to get him properly integrated with Kenny’s system, this work should have already been under way.

I don’t think he’ll start. I do expect to see him come off the bench though.

03/06/2022, 10:12 AM
I don't think we'll see as much rotation as people maybe think, I don't see why someone like Cullen or Knight at their ages couldn't play the four games.

Different for the likes of Coleman who will probably need to be rotated in and out, but most of the younger lads should be fine here.
I wouldn't underestimate the June factor. A lot of guys coming off the end of long hard seasons and if nothing else, their clubs may not want them playing four more games in June.

There was a stat after the CL final that Spanish clubs have won the last 17 European finals they've played against non-Spanish sides - La Liga just isn't as competitive as the Premier League/Championship and so Spanish sides' players are markedly fresher coming towards the end of the season.

I don't think everyone in the squad is going to get a start, but I could easily see the entire starting trio tomorrow sitting out one of the other games for example.

03/06/2022, 10:17 AM
I think it's going to have to be a case of rotation or early use of subs, and from what we know of Kenny he's very reluctant to use subs early in competitive games. The midfield, wing back and forward positions are all a big ask to play 4 games close together and with some significant travel involved which will impact recovery.

Diggs246
03/06/2022, 10:17 AM
I think teh LWB is the only position up for garbs (Also maybe Oshea for Collins, but I doubt it)

I think he will go with Baz, Coleman, Duffy, Egan, Collins, Manning, Jeff, Cullen, Robinson, Ogbene, Knight

Eirambler
03/06/2022, 10:34 AM
I wouldn't underestimate the June factor. A lot of guys coming off the end of long hard seasons and if nothing else, their clubs may not want them playing four more games in June.

There was a stat after the CL final that Spanish clubs have won the last 17 European finals they've played against non-Spanish sides - La Liga just isn't as competitive as the Premier League/Championship and so Spanish sides' players are markedly fresher coming towards the end of the season.

I don't think everyone in the squad is going to get a start, but I could easily see the entire starting trio tomorrow sitting out one of the other games for example.

Clubs wouldn't want them playing at all if they could avoid it, but they can't really have much of a say here. These are competitive games so the associations have first call here. It doesn't matter whether the games are played in September, November, March, June, whenever, it's always the wrong time according to the clubs. Some of our lads - Collins, Duffy, Hendrick etc. haven't exactly been overworked during the season just finished either.

JR89
03/06/2022, 10:53 AM
I do think that Robinson and Knight off Obafemi would be a nicely balanced forward line. Great pace ahead of the ball in Obafemi. Great pace behind the ball in Knight. Robinson able to pick up pockets and create chances for himself and others.

My issue there is I don't fancy dropping Ogbene. The beauty of this break is, however, that there are 4 games. So there is ample opportunity to try out these combos because players can't play every game. We have variations like that up front. Molumby, Hendrick and Cullen should see plenty of each other in midfield. O'Shea, Collins, Egan, Duffy and Coleman at the back. Lenihan needs a look. Is it just Christie and Coleman for right wing back? Festy? A few things like that would be nice. Hogan, Keane and Hourihane I'm not all that fussed on seeing, however. Browne and Manning I have my doubts over.

On that point, the squad is gaining more depth at last. Doherty, Idah, Omobamidele to come in. Dunne, Ronan, Sykes are capable of pressurizing some of the lads there.

Yeah was thinking about the front three last night after Kenny's comments about Obafemi viewed as a CF rather than a wide forward and if you were to stick him in at CF who would partner him. Had the same thoughts that Knight and Robinson would probably work best but find it hard to justify Ogbene not starting.

03/06/2022, 11:09 AM
Some of our lads - Collins, Duffy, Hendrick etc. haven't exactly been overworked during the season just finished either.
Some haven't, but more of them have. It definitely takes its toll.

third policeman
03/06/2022, 12:54 PM
Yeah was thinking about the front three last night after Kenny's comments about Obafemi viewed as a CF rather than a wide forward and if you were to stick him in at CF who would partner him. Had the same thoughts that Knight and Robinson would probably work best but find it hard to justify Ogbene not starting.

The really radical approach would be to play Ogbene and Festy as wingbacks, Knight in midfield, Parrott behind Obafemi and Robinson to play in pockets and link the play. It would be a very radical statement of intent about our future identity and also accommodate many of the players who we currently see as having a long term future in the team. Put in Cullen and maybe Coleman as captain at right CB with Collins and Egan. It’s obviously risky and not going to happen, but I’d love to see a team with kind of pace and fluidity.

Olé Olé
03/06/2022, 1:10 PM
I don't see the point in playing Ogbene wing back. He played there for much of the season at club level but they came around to Kenny's way of thinking and put him in the forwards. I hope he stays there to maximize his impact there for the future.

elatedscum
03/06/2022, 2:34 PM
The really radical approach would be to play Ogbene and Festy as wingbacks, Knight in midfield, Parrott behind Obafemi and Robinson to play in pockets and link the play. It would be a very radical statement of intent about our future identity and also accommodate many of the players who we currently see as having a long term future in the team. Put in Cullen and maybe Coleman as captain at right CB with Collins and Egan. It’s obviously risky and not going to happen, but I’d love to see a team with kind of pace and fluidity.

Jesus, that's some team:

Bazunu

Ogbene
Coleman
Collins
Egan
Ebosele

Cullen
Knight

Robinson
Obafemi
Parrott

I'd admire your ambition to get 6 attacking players into the side. I suspect it'd all come to pieces but I admire the effort.

JR89
03/06/2022, 2:37 PM
Ogbene is wasted at wingback and Rotherham got away with playing him there in league one because defensively they were the strongest team and could cover him defensively. Didn't have to commit as strongly in defensive but when he did come back and end up with the ball he was recieving it too deep rather than being in the final third of the pitch where he could try get in behind the defence.