View Full Version : 2022 Kits

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

03/12/2021, 7:24 PM
New green Harps away for 2022 released this evening.

2 Year Contract
03/12/2021, 7:28 PM
Far too plain for me. On the opposite end of the spectrum to the Harps home jersey this year which had far too much going on on it :D

Burnsie
03/12/2021, 9:14 PM
most leagues wouldn't allow a change kit that will presumably look identical to the home kit to people who are colour-blind

EatYerGreens
03/12/2021, 10:29 PM
most leagues wouldn't allow a change kit that will presumably look identical to the home kit to people who are colour-blind

That doesn't make sense surely. Isn't colour blindness about confusing red and green anyway ?

EatYerGreens
03/12/2021, 10:30 PM
Sounds like Harps have got in on the Club Poet trend.

Will they announce a Climate Change Officer next? Or at least a 'Red Diiesel' one ?

03/12/2021, 11:02 PM
That doesn't make sense surely. Isn't colour blindness about confusing red and green anyway ?
There is blue-green colour blindness as well, although it's quite rare. Red-green is the most common alright

sbgawa
04/12/2021, 3:41 AM
Love the idea of launching it with a kid instead of a player. Nice touch.
not wild about the jersey .

04/12/2021, 4:22 AM
There is blue-green colour blindness as well, although it's quite rare. Red-green is the most common alright

I like that 3rd Harps top. I hope the 3rd kit due to be launched by Dundalk is along those lines and with little fuss.

Yeah colour blindness is a bit mad if ye happen to know someone who has it. blue.green.red, different combinations and some people actually have no colour perception. It could seriously start being a consideration in kit designs in due course - Cork and Sligo having to change which kits they play each other in in the future maybe - dont know how the referees will cope with the prematch stress. As much as it sounds like a 1st of April thing, in a few years Ireland V Wales in rugby probably wont be played in green and red shirts - colours would clash like this for red/green colour blindness.https://static01.nyt.com/images/2015/11/14/sports/football/14COLORS1/14COLORS1-facebookJumbo.jpg?year=2015&h=549&w=1050&7e306f6d731d4b0c37638262f3dd1ada&k=ZQJBKqZ0VN

(silly info, the Londoner picked that picked red and green for stop and go for traffic lights caused plenty of unintentional grief for down the line....and the first example used blew up killing a traffic copper too. and then there is Tipperary Hill and the upside down ones...major political incident on Anglo-Irish stuff in the US).

Finlay Harp
04/12/2021, 6:55 AM
No red diesel but a green one and poitin officer will hopefully be in place before the season starts.

Neish
04/12/2021, 8:04 AM
Far too plain for me. On the opposite end of the spectrum to the Harps home jersey this year which had far too much going on on it :D

There is no pleasing some folk

EatYerGreens
04/12/2021, 11:14 PM
and poitin officer will hopefully be in place before the season starts.

Good to see Oliie being given extra responsibility :D

2 Year Contract
05/12/2021, 12:17 PM
https://twitter.com/bfcdublin/status/1467151102370009089?s=21

Very fitting for Bohs to include a 'Whipping Boys' song title on next seasons jersey, in tribute to their decade of trophyless years

05/12/2021, 12:47 PM
In normal English doesnt that actually mean 'we need everybody else'?

*maybe 'we need somebody else' is more accurate and does probably fit better!

05/12/2021, 4:18 PM
Love Whipping Boy. A bit weird for Bohs to be picking a song about domestic abuse though, no?

placid casual
05/12/2021, 7:18 PM
It's not a climate officer they require it's an education officer.
Fu**in cretins!!🤡🤡.

007,licence to kill ambition.

Northsider
07/12/2021, 9:36 AM
Nice jersey, I give it 8 out of 10.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/12/2021, 9:41 AM
It’s awful

D24Saint
07/12/2021, 9:56 AM
Jaysus that Bohs shirt is horrendous. Why do people have to try and be so clever these days and therefore make a mess of things. They should stick to the traditional black & red stripes and just play around with it year on year. It’s like the time we moved to a pure red shirt & sleeves, I hated it.

boynemunich
07/12/2021, 9:59 AM
Jaysus that Bohs shirt is horrendous. Why do people have to try and be so clever these days and therefore make a mess of things. They should stick to the traditional black & red stripes and just play around with it year on year. It’s like the time we moved to a pure red shirt & sleeves, I hated it.

Just too many shirts are released these days so making them new and unique is a tough job. Has resulted in lots of clubs breaking away from their traditional kits, Barca, Juve and now Bohs off the top of my head. That jersey is fine as a third kit.

D24Saint
07/12/2021, 10:06 AM
Just too many shirts are released these days so making them new and unique is a tough job. Has resulted in lots of clubs breaking away from their traditional kits, Barca, Juve and now Bohs off the top of my head. That jersey is fine as a third kit.

It’s perfectly fine for a training top type of thing. The Pats shop had something similar a few years back. It’s ok to play around with training & away/third shirts but with home shirts I love the traditional colours & style.

DCWA
07/12/2021, 10:07 AM
I know nothing of the musical reference but that is a very nice top.

07/12/2021, 12:52 PM

Ditto, that all red effort from Pats was awful. Looked liked a Shels shirt:eek:

refjohn
08/12/2021, 12:10 PM
Derry away on O'Neills site

https://www.oneills.com/uk_en/derry-city-fc-away-jersey-light-sky-shadow-white-adults.html

sbgawa
08/12/2021, 12:14 PM
I'm a stickler for tradition so i really don't like that Bohs jersey , for me Bohs are black and red stripes just like Rovers are Green and white hoops.
Rovers are having a huge sale in the shop of the current home jersey so I'm assuming new one coming, i wont be happy if they go down this Bohs trendy route.

DCWA
08/12/2021, 12:43 PM
Derry’s away no longer on O’Neills as they put it up q day early mistakenly. A shame because the club had done very well to prevent any significant leaks and it’s a nice top, they have tried something different and done it well so fair play.

Images are widely available now anyway of screengrabs from O’Neills online shop so cat is out of the bag.

08/12/2021, 1:47 PM
Yeah colour blindness is a bit mad if ye happen to know someone who has it. blue.green.red, different combinations and some people actually have no colour perception. It could seriously start being a consideration in kit designs in due course - Cork and Sligo having to change which kits they play each other in in the future maybe - dont know how the referees will cope with the prematch stress. As much as it sounds like a 1st of April thing, in a few years Ireland V Wales in rugby probably wont be played in green and red shirts - colours would clash like this for red/green colour blindness.https://static01.nyt.com/images/2015/11/14/sports/football/14COLORS1/14COLORS1-facebookJumbo.jpg?year=2015&h=549&w=1050&7e306f6d731d4b0c37638262f3dd1ada&k=ZQJBKqZ0VN

I'm red/ green colour blind. It's mainly between shades of reds and greens that I don't see the difference, and then Dark Red v Dark Brown v Dark Green. Red v Green on a pitch I don't recall an issue, either between teams or the team in green and the pitch!

sbgawa
08/12/2021, 2:23 PM
I'm red/ green colour blind. It's mainly between shades of reds and greens that I don't see the difference, and then Dark Red v Dark Brown v Dark Green. Red v Green on a pitch I don't recall an issue, either between teams or the team in green and the pitch!

I remember watching a snooker programme called Pot black years ago when the Telly was in black and white, you always had to keep an eye on the green when it left its spot as it looked like the reds

08/12/2021, 2:29 PM
Pot Black was actually commissioned (by David Attenborough) to make you go out and buy the new-fangled colour TV sets.

"For those of you who are watching in black and white, the pink is next to the green" - Ted Lowe.

08/12/2021, 3:38 PM
I remember watching a snooker programme called Pot black years ago when the Telly was in black and white, you always had to keep an eye on the green when it left its spot as it looked like the reds
Actually, depending on the set of balls, snooker was one of the places I had an issue with Green v Brown, and sometimes Brown v Red.

Orange on green can be more of an issue - hence I couldn't be a train driver as the line maintenance "hi viz" colour is Orange. Anyway, to continue way off topic, the optician can drop in red lenses and then I can see all shades of all colours!

08/12/2021, 5:22 PM
Actually, depending on the set of balls, snooker was one of the places I had an issue with Green v Brown, and sometimes Brown v Red.

Orange on green can be more of an issue - hence I couldn't be a train driver as the line maintenance "hi viz" colour is Orange. Anyway, to continue way off topic, the optician can drop in red lenses and then I can see all shades of all colours!

As obvious as it is i'd not though of snooker as problematic. Also with mention of red lenses helping, it would make more sense for me now that World Rugby and and sports that follow dont restrict the use of certain colours - surely apps/filters on various devices etc could be developed if not done already, that would sort the issue for this cohort of tv audiences without mandating a change to playing colours used in jersies. At live events I dunno, can red contact lenses be used Macy, though possibly issue with the varying degrees of the condition and the change of other colours then? (thanks for that nugget of info though - maybe smart contact lenses that can adjust for normal colour perception and red/green preception should be patented!!).

09/12/2021, 12:35 PM
I'm not an optimologist, but red lenses would feck up other aspects of the vision! Fix one problem, cause others.

EatYerGreens
09/12/2021, 12:48 PM
New Derry shirt : Derry City FC Away Jersey 2022 | oneills.com (https://www.oneills.com/uk_en/derry-city-fc-away-jersey-light-sky-shadow-white-adults.html?nosto=frontpage-nosto-3)

09/12/2021, 6:34 PM
Unusual looking jersey. Didnt think shadow white was such a colour!

markc1184
11/12/2021, 7:35 AM
New Drogheda Utd jersey.

https://www.facebook.com/291992044182588/posts/4582313361817080/?sfnsn=mo

D24Saint
11/12/2021, 8:30 AM
New Drogheda Utd jersey.

https://www.facebook.com/291992044182588/posts/4582313361817080/?sfnsn=mo

That’s a nice shirt by Umbro. Their stuff has improved leaps and bounds in recent seasons.

total hoofball
11/12/2021, 12:53 PM
New Shels home shirt

https://shelbournefc.ie/shels-reveal-2022-home-jersey/

Knocklyonhoop
11/12/2021, 9:23 PM
To be fair, most of Bohs recent jerseys have been a nice kit (even if I hate them). But that yoke is horrendous.

derry away is nice

EatYerGreens
12/12/2021, 1:34 PM
That’s a nice shirt by Umbro. Their stuff has improved leaps and bounds in recent seasons.

Agree that's a good shirt for what are always tricky colours to work with.

The last couple of Drogs away shirts have been nice too.

EatYerGreens
12/12/2021, 1:36 PM
New Shels home shirt

https://shelbournefc.ie/shels-reveal-2022-home-jersey/

Controversial pattern. Looks a bit like something O'Neills would do.

total hoofball
12/12/2021, 4:26 PM
Controversial pattern. Looks a bit like something O'Neills would do.
Nothing looks controversial compared to Bohs 2022 christmas jumper shirt but it's another ticking the box trend of early 90's pattern ridden shirts that have stunk in football in recent years, if it was mostly plain red it would have been one of our nicest with that homage on the sleeves to our 1999-2001 shirt

2 Year Contract
13/12/2021, 9:16 AM
Bohs away jersey seems to have been leaked on sportsfile. Its actually pretty nice, I’d say their fans will be happy with it anyways

https://www.sportsfile.com/id/2129442/

joey B
14/12/2021, 3:14 PM
Smashing kit from Waterford

https://mobile.twitter.com/WaterfordFCie/status/1470785956424949767

EatYerGreens
14/12/2021, 4:26 PM
Smashing kit from Waterford

https://mobile.twitter.com/WaterfordFCie/status/1470785956424949767

I think that's pretty ugly personally.

14/12/2021, 4:50 PM
I don't think I've seen one really nice kit in this thread yet to be honest. Looking like a fairly uninspiring catalogue season ahead of us!

14/12/2021, 7:35 PM
I personally think thats the best Waterford jersey that I have seen from them in years. I love the design of it.

14/12/2021, 9:07 PM
Designs seem to me to be following a 1990's trend. I like retro shirts (do we call the '90s retro...ugh getting old!), but of the simpler pre mid 80's(?) designs that didnt mess with the basics too much. Dundalk FC - White jersey, crest and sponsor, with a black sleeve and collar trim, black shorts and black or white socks. 2nd kit a reversal of home colours, play around a bit with a third kit. We've done the Dundalk GNR kit, maybe a version of our early Dundalk FC kit of white top and blue shorts could crop up.

EatYerGreens
14/12/2021, 9:28 PM
Designs seem to me to be following a 1990's trend. I like retro shirts (do we call the '90s retro...ugh getting old!), but of the simpler pre mid 80's(?) designs that didnt mess with the basics too much. Dundalk FC - White jersey, crest and sponsor, with a black sleeve and collar trim, black shorts and black or white socks. 2nd kit a reversal of home colours, play around a bit with a third kit. We've done the Dundalk GNR kit, maybe a version of our early Dundalk FC kit of white top and blue shorts could crop up.

Fashion does tend to repeat itself every 20yrs or so.

joey B
14/12/2021, 11:01 PM
The Waterford kit seems to have gone down well with the locals down there which is the main thing I suppose….

2 Year Contract
15/12/2021, 7:56 AM
Really like that Waterford jersey, best new jersey I’ve seen for next season. All the new Umbro jerseys are excellent actually

15/12/2021, 10:08 AM
Having seen the green Harps one in the flesh I think it's a lovely shirt and a nice alternative to Ireland shirts for us as Umbro seem to consistently make a balls of those. I do like the Waterford one as well.